reviews for: listing #155016ha - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Monkeys, Toucans, and Ocean View Sunsets, all from a Luxurious Villa Hideaway!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 175 - $ 225 / night
    $ 1,100 - $ 1,393 / week
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Wonderful Setting, Comfortable Home

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 3, 2013

The home was spotless and truly furnished with all amenities, including a fully stocked kitchen. It was nice to even have coffee with sugar and sweeteners for our first morning! The pool was a welcome respite from the warm weather, the home is comfortable, the washer and dryer (with detergent!) was appreciated, and the quiet setting ideal. The home sits on a ridge overlooking the ocean and beautiful sunsets, and is a short drive to the beach at the bottom of the ridge. Not far away are more activities, including two national parks, natural beaches, zip-line opportunities, and don't miss the horseback ride to the local falls. The home was truly equipped for the comfort of its guests and nothing was overlooked!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

As close to heaven as you can get

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

What can I say about this wonderful place.From the time we got there to the time we left was absolutely fabulous...When we first got there and Martin directed us up the mountain I was a bit concerned but once we arrived the view and villas were absolutely beautiful....The accommodation were great and felt just like home, in fact I wish it were my home...Everything you needed was there and I have to commend whoever designed the house, fit right into the mountain and with beautiful wood finishings.Martin was great, always there right away when we needed him and very helpful with all our activities...We rented a 4 wheel drive which I would recommend to anyone who is stay there as it is quite a steep grade up...Listened to the monkeys all day and had the visits from the Toucans in the morning and the evening...Lots of insects which in turn gave us great entertainment and laughs outside on the deck and by the pool...Pool temperature was great as it was quite warm weather and the pool was very refreshing..Lots of cool looking frogs and geckos.All in all a perfect way to finish off out 2 week stay in first time visited Costa Rica...Made some great home cooked meals where we found everything we needed in the kitchen...Beds comfy and Kevin and I didn't even need the a/c just a nice breeze through the screen at night...Loved Dominical and ate several times at the Soda right down town best chicken vegatable soup ever...Would definitely come back maybe bring a few more people and book both places....Dean you have a great place and I hope to be back in the future...Pura Vida!!!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

"Excellent", as posted on "Trip Advisor"

Review submitted: March 5, 2012   Date of arrival: December 24, 2011

The pictures do not do this property justice. Clean, relaxing, indulgent, and perfect! Martin is the perfect host and caretaker and the owners are responsive and helpful. We would definitely stay at Villas Escondrijo again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Absolute Paradise

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 27, 2011

Although a bit late, we wanted to submit our experience at Villas Escondrijo. We visited the Villas back at the end of March, beginning of April and we got to meet Dean, his wife and son. It was definitely a pleasure! They are very nice people. Staying at the Villas was a true adventure. The view is absolutely gorgeous and we really enjoyed the animals, flowers and nature that surround them. The Villas are very clean although you do need to watch out for tiny friends (ants) that will come visit when you leave any food out. Also, it was a bit difficult to sleep at night due to the toad orchestra that showed up almost every single night. Hainer, the gardener, was a very nice man that was willing to help and assist in anything and at all times. We do regret not having met Rosemary and not having her as our hostess We read in previous reviews that she was a very nice lady and a big help when it came to tour suggestions. Unfortunately, I think there was a lack of attention from our hostess and no suggestions or guidance was given. Being our first time in Costa Rica, it would have been nice to have received support in this aspect. Nevertheless, our experience at the Villas was pleasant! A couple of suggestions are: roundtrip transportation from the airport to the Villas (we got a bit lost in our way there), a restroom upstairs and a restroom outside by where the pool area is, some lighting thru the front yard by the pool and, last but not least, having the option for tourists to pay extra to have a person cooking for them. Overall, we would definitely recommend the Villas, especially if you are an adventure seeker. Thank you Dean and family for the opportunity to use your beautiful Villas.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: As a property owner, we are always happy to hear that people enjoyed thier stay at our Villas, and welcome comments about their adventure.
March, 2011 was our new manager's (Martin) first month, and being new, wasn't sure about that "fine line" between giving guests their privacy, and seeing to their needs. We have received great comments about him from recent guests!
Being a "rental home" we can not offer some of the services of a Hotel, such as airport pick up, or cooked meals, instead, we provide a true "Costa Rica" experiance that you will not get staying in a hotel.

Cheers,
Dean.
www.villasescondrijo.com.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica Paradise

Review submitted: May 5, 2011   Date of arrival: April 23, 2011

This was an amazing and beautiful way to introduce ourselves to Costa Rica. The Villas are incredibly beautiful, clean and well equipped. We found everything to be better than advertised, from the views, the wildlife, activities available, and amenities. Simply outstanding.

After an easy 3 hour drive from San Jose, we met Martin at the Roca Verde (excellent beach location & food) for the short but steep climb to the villas. He introduced us to the amenities and the general layout. Martin proved to be very helpful yet unobtrusive. His recommendations for local activities were excellent.

The villas themselves are immaculate, clean, and remarkably well stocked with basic provisions: coffee, barbecue, pool, laundry etc. There is a television, but I don't know if it works; too much other stuff to even care! The kitchen is small, well-equipped and very useful. Shop at the local mercadito for basics, travel 10 kilometers south for a larger and better stocked store with an actual meat counter.
Dominical is a funky and fun place to surf, drink, and hang. Try the seared tuna (tuesdays) at Tortilla Flats, very tasty if a bit more touristy than the local Sodas.

Highlights of our stay: the flora and fauna! (Don't forget to have binoculars!) Stunning views from every vantage of the house, frequent visits from Toucans, monkeys, iguanas, and amazing frogs serenading us to sleep every night. We spent time at Hacienda Baru for jungle walks, butterflies and orchids as well as an educational and fun afternoon on the zip-lines. The horseback trip to Nauyaca Falls was outstanding. Great food, and a gorgeous waterfall and swimming hole. Take Eric up on his offer to climb the falls and leap into the pool, you won't regret it.

Overall, this is one of the most fun and beautiful places we have ever visited. The Villas are outstanding! Beautiful and friendly folks wherever we went. Many many activities and lots of time spent just enjoying the house and pool.

Thanks Dean, Jay and Martin for a memorable stay. We can't wait to return. Glowing recommendations to everyone we can share with.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Villa Escondrijo ... a true paradise

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 24, 2010

Help!!! I'm having a horrible time acclimating back to the Colorado winter!!!! It was such a beautiful and fun and wonderful Christmas week in Costa Rica!!!! What a great time we had. It was wonderful. The villas were beautiful and we had the BEST time ever!!! We couldn't have been more pleased with the Villas Escondrijo ... they were beautiful, and comfortable for our family's stay. I simply couldn't stop taking pictures of the gorgeous flowers and sunsets from the patio and decks. The pool was beautiful and a welcome oasis after a fun day of adventures. Rosemary was wonderful and very helpful as well. We would definitely recommend a stay at this oasis for anyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome stay

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

Dean, We would like to thank you for the most amazing stay at Villa Escondrijo! Your villas are beautifully decorated, the pool was such a treat, and we were in awe everyday of the wildlife that came to visit! We saw not only the howler monkeys, but a white faced monkey, a sloth, iguanas, toucans that fed daily, geckos, and quite a variety of frogs. It was every bit true to the description! We even had fun on the rope swing in the nearby waterfall. The boys surfed twice daily. We even experienced an outstanding zip line nearby. We hope to visit again very soon! Thank you for this amazing experience!
Grace - Thousand Oaks, CA

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love Villa Escondrijo!

Review submitted: May 27, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

We love Villa Escondrijo!!! We will miss waking up each morning to bird songs and sipping our coffee while watching the ocean and the jungle. Absolute Paradise. A true escape from the "real world" Highlites, surfing, parks, sunset, surfers, food and just hanging out and reading in the Villa. We hope to be back again soon. Kristen and Matt, Washington DC (Just Married)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

We loved being there more than anything.

Review submitted: May 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

My husband and I took our two teenage girls to Costa Rica for a week of fun and adventure and we were not disappointed. They loved all of the adventure that was available close by Dominical, but ultimately they would ask, "When can we go back to our Villa?" They (and we) TOTALLY loved Villa Escondrijo!
First of all, we were greeted by the manager, Rosemary, who showed us to the villa; where she had left us a huge plate of fresh fruit that we enjoyed throughout our stay. She was totally helpful in every way, booking tours for us and even helping us find a church on Sunday. She seemed very sincere in making sure we had a great vacation, but at the same time, respecting our privacy.
When we walked into Monkey Villa, it seemed we were the first tenants to ever use it. It was so clean and new and the pool was crystal clear. It is every bit as beautiful as the pictures and more.
We learned that in Costa Rica, it is essential to have your own washer and dryer because clothes can get ruined if they stay wet for more than a day. We were SO glad to have that luxury in the villa!
The beds were comfortable. (a big plus)
The upper patio is huge with an amazing view of the jungle and ocean!
I loved that it was up the hill and into the jungle a bit. It made me feel very safe, but it is still only minutes away from groceries, internet cafe, post office and restaurants.
We woke up each morning to hundred's of birds singing (howler monkeys sometimes) and went to sleep to the songs of frogs that sounded like wind chimes.
Rafting the Savegre with "Iguana Tours" was our favorite tour. "Playa Ventanas" was our favorite beach (we rented boogie boards in town). The horse back ride to the Nuayaca Falls was really fun, but the horses were way broken down and I felt sorry for them. The tour is worth taking. I just wish they would get some new horses or use mules instead. It would also be a great hike. The falls are amazing!
Mostly, we loved the flowers and beauty around the grounds of the villa. We got some great photos.
Thank you Dean and Jay and Rosemary! We are already telling all of our friends about you and the villa.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Awesome Jungle Experience!

Review submitted: May 8, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

We had a fantastic holiday at the Villas! They are well appointed and the Manager - Rosemary - is full of
helpful information and assistance. There is much to see and do, and a lovely pool to relax by and just
enjoy the jungle sounds. Beautiful birds and butterflies are plentiful, and even the elusive green tree frog
is a "local resident". Be sure to watch for "lizzie" sunning herself on the edge of the infinity pool.
These very clean Villas are just like the pictures, and all the information offered is a true reflection of
what you will find. A definite recommendation for anyone considering a Jungle Adventure!!
Rosemary will assist you in your choice of tours and restaurants, as well as beaches, markets,
internet access, and any other questions you may have.
Bravo Dean and Jay!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: August 22, 2009   Date of arrival: August 7, 2009

After a 4 hour ride through the mountains (not too difficult & beautiful views) we arrived in Dominical to find Gary and Donna waiting for us at the San Clemente to escort us up to the villa. Even the blinding rainstorm couldn't diminish the beauty of Casa Del Sonador. The pictures don't do it justice. We rented both villas for the week and I've never stayed at rental properties that were so well equipped. They've thought of everything. All those things you buy when at a rental and then throw away at the end were there: laundry and dish soap, coffe & tea, seasonings, zip lock bags, etc. Gary and Donna even had had fresh baked banana bread and chocolate chip cookies waiting when we arrived. The villas were spotless and really comfortable and the landscaping is gorgeous. It definately takes a 4X4 if you are staying here, but if you're in this part of Costa Rica you need one everywhere.
We didn't spend much time at the villas though. So much to do in the area: zip lining, horseback riding, whale watching. We found our favorite beach, Playa Ventanas (just past Marina Belleno), and tried to get there for low tide to explore the amazing caves. We couldn't end our day without jumping in the "blue pond", a swimming hole at the bottom of a waterfall just down the road from the villa. Try the rope swing, it's a blast! We also spent a day at Manuel Antonio. Despite what all the guide books say, it is almost completely paved now and didn't take any more than 45 minutes to get there. We loved the wildlife in the park but were more than happy to leave this overbuilt, overtouristed area and head back to our bit of paradise. If you want to feel as if you're in an American resort area go to Manuel Antonio or Jaco. If you want deserted beaches and pristine rainforest, come to Dominical. That's not to say that you are isolated here. We found that Dominical and Uvita have just the right amount and type of restaurants to satisfy anybody: Thai, Italian, Mexican, Sushi, Burgers and Wings and of course lots of local favorites. We especially loved La Fogata in Uvita for the roasted chicken.
I have to mention the wildlife. We woke up every morning to Toucans circling the villas and resting in the trees. In the hills all around the villas we found troupes of howler monkeys, a sloth and pizotes. Butterflies, iguanas and all types of birds are everywhere. It's definately a jungle out there!
This trip is perfect for adults and kids.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 12

 

Outstanding

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 5, 2009

We have just returned from our trip to Costa Rica and our 1 week stay at the Parrot Villa. Words just really cannot express the beauty and serenity that we experienced. The description of the villa is really just a foregleam of what was to come. Every day was an adventure and revealed something new. We were impressed with the lush tropical landscaping which literally surounds the villa.
It was a veritable private resort!
Toucans visited the tree beside the house the first day as did a coati mundi. Howler monkeys were heard everyday and of course we would be remiss if we did not mention the gracious hospitality of our hosts, Gary and Donna. We hope to return soon and we tell everyone about our wonderful experience!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Fabulous Views, Privacy, Tropical Ambiance!

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 19, 2008

My husband and I stayed at Casa del Sonador shortly after its completion and we absolutely loved it. The views from the rancho were spectacular and we spent every day there enjoying the views, the birds and the monkeys in the hills above! We also spent a lot of time lounging in the beautiful infinity pool. We never wanted to leave. But when we did, we found so much to do in and around Dominical....the owners shared with us their favorite restaurants, shopping areas and excursions so we were never at a loss for what to do. The villa (we stayed in Parrot Villa) was spotless and beautifully appointed and I can recommend Casa del Sonador -- and Dominical -- wholeheartedly! I am ready to go back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Tropical Getaway

Review submitted: January 26, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This is the perfect place to stay on your tropical getaway. The cost is low for such clean, quiet, luxurious quality, with all the amenities you could ask for. You're right in the middle of thick natural rain forest with beautiful views of the ocean, and only minutes away from the beach, Tico shops, restaurants, grocery markets, and local activities. I highly recommend the horseback riding to Nauyaca Falls and the zip-lining through the trees, if you're up for adventure and sightseeing. I also love relaxing and had some of the best times of my vacation just hanging out at Casa del Sonador; wading in the oh-so-awesome infinity pool overlooking the ocean or snuggling up on the comfy balcony couch. The large balcony and pool are covered so, come (warm) rain or shine, you can spend the entire time outside enjoying the weather, the scenery, and all the Costa Rican critters. Right from the villa we saw the most beautiful butterflies, birds, and even monkeys!
The owners are very friendly - living on a separate part of the property, they're close enough to help with any requests, and far enough away to give you the privacy you want. The kitchen has everything, so we were able to have coffee every morning and stay in and cook breakfasts and dinners for ourselves anytime. It was also great to be able to do laundry while we were there. It felt so safe and serene that we could even leave our bedroom sliding glass door open at night, so we could hear the rain forest sounds and feel the warm breezy air while we slept.
I love this place, and can't wait to go back soon!
As the Costa Rican Ticos say - Pura Vida (pure life)!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great place to relax!

Review submitted: December 25, 2008   Date of arrival: April 5, 2008

Casa del Soñador near the little village of Dominical, Costa Rica was a beautiful place to spend a week where we had the time for total relaxation and comfort. The villas (there are two located on either side of the infinity pool and covered patio area – they called it the Rancho) appear to be identical except a mirror image of each other. The name Parrot and Monkey villas appear to come from the beautifully carved doors off the kitchen area. That was the only thing I could see that was different in each one. We happened to stay in the Monkey villa when we were there.

There were four of us to share one villa and we had ample room. We each had our own bedroom and bathroom. The only thing we shared was the kitchen and dining area upstairs and the large balcony where we had views of the ocean and some great sunsets.
I could see where a group of 4 couples would have a great time if they occupied both villas. Oh yes, there were 4 barstools that were around a little round bar table in the middle of the pool. It was comfortable to sit in the water and enjoy our afternoon drinks while watching the sunsets.

There were lots of birds flying from tree to tree as well as some beautiful little green parrots and colorful toucans. In the morning we could hear a group of howler monkeys as they made their way through the jungle area nearby.

The constant temperature (around 80º F) made it ideal to sit out and do nothing!

I would definitely go back to these very well kept and maintained rentals. I thought the weekly rate was quite reasonable based on the high quality of the property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Best Vacation Getaway

Review submitted: December 21, 2008   Date of arrival: May 2, 2008

We stayed for a week at Casa Del Sonador in May and it was outstanding. We were a little nervous, not having been before, but this was the best vacation and I am glad someone suggested this place to us! The view from the villa balcony is amazing, so relaxing to watch the unforgettable sunsets. The villa was very clean and everything was well maintained. The pool was clean and fun with the infinity edge and bar. There were rafts for us to use and outdoor furniture (lounge chairs, etc). We actually saw monkeys up in the trees one day while we were in the pool. The owners were friendly and made some great dinner and beach suggestions (we went to a beach nearby with lots of caves) and they were very helpful when we had questions. This was our first trip to Costa Rica and we will definitely be back to the villas. We highly recommend Casa Del Sonador.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review