reviews for: listing #155097ha - Sharks Cove, Hawaii rental

Sunset Beach House
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  4
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

You get more what you pay for!

Review submitted: April 3, 2013   Date of arrival: March 19, 2013

The owner of the house went out of her way to accommodate us! She's the m?st pleasant lady to conduct business with. She genuinely cares for her clients.
The house is definitely more than what you'd expect for your money. Its location is super convenient, right on the beach, but close to a grocery store and a highway. There's Waimea Bay a few mins away - one of the best beaches in HI that's children friendly, and also Shark's Cove in front of the house - a great snorkeling location. If you're into surfing - there's Bonzei Pipeline, most famous surfing location just a few mins away up the shore. There are surf shops located minutes away from the house.
Our favorite part about the house was its size and the view. The house is very specious, with a very big kitchen. There was a washer/dryer machine that was used quite frequently.
There's a bed outside on the patio that I slept on at night, an amazing experience I won't ever forget. While we were in HI it rained for 2 days, but we didn't mind just staying inside the house. Very comfortable with amazing ocean view where we saw some great whales every now and then.
Definitely coming back to Northshore, and hopefully this house will be available again for rental!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Amazing Location with Amazing Views

Review submitted: February 14, 2013   Date of arrival: January 5, 2013

The Ke Kiki Beach house is awesome. We stayed there for 1 week and loved it. The best thing about the house is the view onto the ocean where we saw many whales every morning -- some of them very close and actually jumping out of the ocean making enormous splashes. We also saw beautiful rainbows, dolphins, shorebirds, and amazing sunsets. The location of the house is also fantastic. All the best beaches are within a 20 minute, walk, 10 minute bike ride using the house bikes, or a 5 minute drive. We especially liked Bonzai, Wimea and Sunset Beach. When we were there, the waves were enormous and it was thrilling to watch the surfers go through the pipe. The supermarket and coffee shop are also a 5 minute walk away which is great since we cooked all of our meals on the gas bbq on the lanai.

The house was clean when we arrived, the beds are comfortable and clean and there are plenty of basics (pots/pans, smoothie maker, grill, plates, glasses, etc) to get you by the week. Listening to the ocean waves at night was also a nice way to fall asleep.

The owner is also great and we kept close contact with her if we needed anything. I highly recommend this spot. The north shore is far better than waikiki since there is hardly any commercial development, the beaches aren't crowded, and there are far less tourists so you get a real feel for living on the north shore.

This spot is definitely a five star location and the price although expensive is far less than any of the other 2 br beach front properties that I found in the Sunset beach area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 10

 

Ke Iki Beach House

Review submitted: March 6, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

We have been visiting the islands for 25 years and without question, this is our favorite spot! This is the 'real' Hawaii ... local flavor, easy access to 3 of the most beautiful beaches in all of Hawaii (Waimea, Pipeline and Sunset). The house is as good as the photos ... no surprises. We loved the master bedroom with the view of the ocean and we slept like babies in the king-size bed. The house was very clean, good internet access, and a big TV if you got tired of the view.
Watched the whales from the lanai each morning and enjoyed the sunsets at night.

Counting the days until we return!

Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Local Life

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This place really gave us an inside look into local life on the North Shore. For us it beat every single tourist attraction in the city. The layout of the house is beautiful in every way. Just down the road we saw sea turtles and over at the bay dolphins. We look forward to coming back someday- it breaks our heart to leave the North Shore after staying here. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We love this place!

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

You can really see whales from the deck. Comfy beds, cool breezes with fans and a great couch outside. This is our new favorite place to stay on the North Shore and ww will be back next year.

Mahalo!
Joe and Liz
Pleasanton, CA

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

DO NOT RENT A HOUSE FROM THIS OWNER

Review submitted: January 26, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

We signed a rental contract with the owner and paid in full prior to arrival however when we arrived at the house there were other people staying in it. When I phoned the owner, she admitted her mistake however did not rectify the situation, was extremely rude and put down the phone. As it was peak season on the North Shore of Hawaii there was no alternative accommodation available in the area and we were subsequently stranded with nowhere to go after we had travelled all the way from Australia for our annual family holiday. Based on another review posted where she also double booked another traveller, it is clear that the owner has a habit of doing this to unsuspecting travellers like ourselves and as such I would strongly recommend against booking this house or any other house associated with this unscupulous owner

Owners response: Yes, we made a terrible mistake the booking for the guest and this we readily admitted and tried to rectify. We immediately refunded his money, found him an alternative accommodation superior to our own, and offered this traveler compensation for his troubles. It was the middle of the high season, and we ourselves are very frequent travelers and know exactly how awful a situation like this can become.

Please read through the rest of the reviews for any of our properties and you will find that we have hundreds of excellent reviews from people all over the world. We have made thousands of vistors to our properties very happy, and we hope this very upset traveler’s accusations do not scare you away from renting one of our places. Please read our reviews and you will find that we had one other such booking mistake in all the years we’ve rented our properties, and you can read how we handled this issue and decide for yourself if we are “unscrupulous” and “rude”. The review is title "Beautiful holiday sanctuary" and we still received 5 stars.

We’ve also changed our booking procedure so that we provide an additional confirmation 30 days before your booking to avoid any such problem with new bookings.

Sincerely with Aloha

Helpful votes: 23 / 24

 

modern, nicely appointed, convenient to all of north shore

Review submitted: May 11, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

halfway through our stay and having a great time. fairly new home, nice touches, great value for the price. close to waimea and sunset beach and pretty much all of northshore. comfortable beds, nice kitchen, top notch bathroom, internet access, we couldn't ask for more. thanks Yuki for the great stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Love it

Review submitted: April 24, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2010

Loved it so much, we are going back again. Great location and house.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous North Shore Home!

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

This home is awesome! Perfect for my husband and I, two boys (ages 2 & 4) and mother-in-law. The house is modern and clean. The beds are so comfy! The views are amazing, oh the sunsets! Yuki (owner) and Jeanine (caretaker) are so nice. Even though the weather didn't cooperate a few days, the lanai was a perfect place to hang out. We loves exploring the tidepools every morning. Sharks cove has incredible snorkling (every fish imaginable, eels, seals and TURTLES!) So close to Weimea Bay too. Should we return to oahu, I know where to stay. Thanks so much for making our trip so memorable. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: January 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 8, 2010

We have twice stayed at Yukis Bungalow and once up stairs. The bungalow is just perfect , absolutely clean and comfortable, right smack dab in the middle of heaven. No need for a car everything is either a few minutes walk away or use the bikes to ride down the path to Ted Bakery or maybe just to lounge back on any of beaches. Up stairs has an incredible ocean view, the sunsets are amazing. The neighbourhood is awesome, everyone we found to be really firendly. Yuki is great, always there to make sure everythings 100%.
I have no doubt we will be back yet again.

Bill and tAMMY

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: January 14, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

Of the 4 houses we have rented along Ke Iki beach, this is our favorite. The location is great and the views are spectacular. Quick walk to Shark's cove and Foodland. Easy walk to beach access and short bike ride to Pipeline. All the finishes in the house are very nice and beds are incredibly comfortable. Loved sitting on the deck to look at the ocean and watch the sunset. It was very comfortable for a family of 4.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Won't come back

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 8, 2010

House was decent. Location to sandy beach was too far set back and undesirable. Location to conveniences was good. Toilet leaked and blinds didnot work in living room. Extra effort to hook up with internet service. Owner was irritable and difficult to work with.

Owners response: Apologies, but this is a malicious posting by a disgruntled guest who caused damage to our property. Also, being negligent by not locking up the bike, it was stolen. Please note this posting is factually incorrect, and that all our other reviews are “5 of 5” rating. Thanks for your understanding.

Helpful votes: 17 / 21

 

Even better than shown :)

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

Great property - great layout - great deck!

Beach is steps away and somewhat secluded (supervised / lifeguard beaches within walking distance) - surf was big when we arrived - fun to watch a dozen or more surfers from the deck.

House is nice (better than pics shown) - our ONLY recommendation would be to have some of the privacy vegetation trimmed a bit to give a better view of surf.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: September 23, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

My girlfriend and I were upgraded (from the bungalow) to the beach house, because of a double-booking, leaving us very surprised and pleased! The house was clean, airy, comfortable, decorated well, and in the perfect spot for swimming. We just walked out over the lava rocks and jumped in to snorkel with the sea turtles. This was our first Oahu experience and we would love to return to watch the Pipeline in winter. The owner was available, friendly and communicated well with us from start to finish. Mahalo-- it was a great vacation!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful holiday sanctuary

Review submitted: July 3, 2010   Date of arrival: May 21, 2010

After looking through countless of Hawaiian beach front house offerings we decided for 4 nights at Ke Iki Beach House. Most of the offerings in Oahu we found were either old and crappy-looking or ridiculously expensive. This house seemed to be a relatively good value.
Communications with the owner went smoothly initially and we were sent a clear and not overly complicated contract promptly.
Upon arrival a rather unpleasant surprise awaited us, as the house was occupied by other people. We contacted the owner and she was very upset to discover that a double booking had been made for the first of our 4-day stay. Fortunately we quickly came upon agreement that we'd return to Waikiki for the night to Trump hotel where we stayed at the night before and that the owner would cover making the booking and paying the expenses. Within half an hour we received a confirmation that things were taken care of which upon arrival proved to be the case. The next day we returned to the beach house and found that the owner had left us two nice presents to make up for the booking error. That was really nice! Considering the professionalism with which the situation had been rectified as best as possible we decided to let bygones be bygones and enjoy the remainder of our stay.
The house itself was exactly as advertised. It was clean and very well maintained. The location of the house is not directly on the beach but one row down, but because of the high construction the ocean view from the house is simply awesome. Note that the beach front is very rocky and it takes a few minutes walking on the rocks to either left or right to get to the very nice sandy beach.
The amenities were good including a complete kitchen and two comfortable beds in separate rooms. The flat screen tv, dvd player and wireless internet worked flawlessly. There is no audio system or sound dock in the house, but if you want to play music you could of course use the dvd/tv combo for that. Because of the rainy weather we didn’t get to try the bicycles or the bbq. Please note that the house does not have airconditioning except in the second bedroom, which is on the street side. This room doesn't have the great view and is noisy because of the all night traffic. We would advise the owner to add a second air conditioning units to both the living room and the other bedroom as this would greatly improve the living conditions during the summer and turn this property into one of the nicest places to rent on Oahu.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

More that you can possibly imagine.........

Review submitted: December 10, 2009   Date of arrival: December 1, 2009

This place was so perfect. We stayed for a week and blended in with the locals by riding the bikes up and down the coast, enjoying breakfast at Ted's Bakery, or just watching the huge waves roll in all day. The property was very clean and well kept. Bed were extremely comfortable and sleeping with the windows open was perfect. No sound machine can match it! The view from the balcony is amazing. Thanks again for sharing such a paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

This place was a paradise to stay at. Wonderful view, great walk to the beach, fantastic accessories inside the house. Tricia is great to work with and made it so easy. If you are thinking about staying in Waikiki please re-consider and stay here. It is worth the drive and the town is very nice to tourists. I reccomend this place for people over the age of 25.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

We could not have asked for anything better!! We felt like we were at home! The house is PERFECT! Great views, beds, etc.
This is our first time to Hawaii and will not be our last!
The bikes were alot of fun to have. Thanks for making our honeymoom GREAT!
P.S. WE went to Waikiki for two nights....Could not wait to get back to the North Shore and this GREAT house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

perfect honeymoon!!!

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 4, 2009

WOW!!! We LOVED our stay Ke lki Beach House!! We got there after dark so to wake up the fist day and see the great views!!
The house is so clean, homey and done with great taste! Everything was there that we needed (t.p. , papertowels beach towels etc) which made it really feel like home!! The location was great, it was off the main road and it was so peacful. We splet with the windowns open so hearing the sound of the waves was GREAT!!
Everyone on the Island is SO nice!! It was great ride bikes on the bike trail go snokeling right down the street!
We miss the island alot and cant wait to come back to this same house!!
Ps the bed are GREAT!!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

Fabulous! Loved this place. Great amenities - bikes,grill, beach mats,etc. Felt like the owners really wanted us to enjoy this place, which we did. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 18, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

I love this house and I want it as my own. I could spend all day and night on the Lanai! I was able to take some amazing photos of whale friends that were out in the distance. The kitchen, bikes and Gear that Tricia provided were all super and way better than expected.
Thanks again!
Ke Iki is the Best!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 30, 2009   Date of arrival: April 30, 2009

Incredible. We saw whales daily, the tradewinds we perfect, the house was situated ideally. I already can't wait to return.

Thank you for making this home a rental. No one will believe how nice this was.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Thanks for a great stay. Perfect for honeymoon, plus having our baby son stay too. Great privacy, romance and family memories. Don't miss Saturday market at the local school,$1 dvd's at foodland,waimea bay and sunset beach,TCM ch 44, the blender makes the perfect daiquiri's!!! Hawaii has been a great break away filled with many memories of our 1st family holiday together. Lots to do plus lots of relaxing just what we needed.
Mahalo

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

This is my Paradise!

Review submitted: April 7, 2009   Date of arrival: March 18, 2009

My boyfriend and I along with another couple went here for a weeks vacation. We had them most amazing time! The house was beautiful inside and out. The accomodations were fastastic! Everyday we watch beautiful sunsets from our deck and every morning we saw whales and dolphins in the ocean. The locals were friendly every place we went and it made our stay so enjoyable. This place is my paradise and I can't wait to visit again someday. The house had everything we needed to make the stay so enjoyable. We are already looking into when we will return!!! I would recommend this paradise to anyone! Simply put, it's wonderful!

Recommended for: girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2009   Date of arrival: April 6, 2009

This house was absolutely perfect for a quiet vacation. Beautiful on the inside and great views from the deck. We saw whales and dolphins every morning a great way to start the day. This house is perfect for two couples to stay for a week or two. We were able to mix it up with locals. It is sad to leave such a laid back lifestyle here on the north shore. We will leave the north shore with great experiences and memories to share! Thank you so much for this opportunity.
Mahalo!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 5, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Absolutely Amazing!
The house could not have been any better. The view from the patio is great we watched whales and dolphins jump ever morning! The sunsets were beautiful over the ocean. We can't wait to come back next year!
Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Ke Iki Beach House, Best Place on the North Shore

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 9, 2009

If you go on one vacation in your life visit the North Shore of Oahu and stay at the only place worth staying, the Ke Iki Beach House. The house was amazing, modern, and full of everything you need to have an amazing vacation. It is close to everything you worth seeing including Waimea Bay, Sharks Cove, the Polynesian Cultural Center, Kualoa Ranch, and everything else on the North Shore. Although the pictures accurately represent the lay out of the house, you can't understand the beauty of the house or the view until you have stayed there yourself. I can't wait to visit again and stay at Ke Iki Beach House.

The neighborhood was quiet and safe and the neighbors were very nice as well. Management was very helpful and informative before, during, and after our trip.

All in all it was the best trip I have ever been on and would do it again tomorrow if possible.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

North Shore Paradise

Review submitted: February 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 25, 2009

We had a wonderful stay at the Ke Iki Beach House! The house was beautiful, peaceful and simply and tastefully decorated. Our 2 weeks was not long enough! Excellent location: we walked to Foodland and/or the Sharks Cove Grill everyday, snorkelled ant Shark's Cove, walked to various beaches, and rode the beach cruisers to Ted's Bakery. I can't praise the beautiful bike path enough, and it is just steps away from the front door! We were without a car the entire time and we never felt the need for one. The public buses run about every half hour, so the few times we decided to go into Haleiwa, we took the short and scenic bus ride. Excellent house, location and customer service! Highly recommended!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

This house really gave us an inside look into local life on the North Shore. For us it beat every single tourist attraction in the city. The layout of the house is beautiful in everyway. Just down the road we saw sea turtles and over at the bay...dolphins. We look so forward to coming back someday-It breaks our heart to leave the North Shore after staying here!
Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beachfront Paradise

Review submitted: January 15, 2009   Date of arrival: January 12, 2009

This was a wonderful house so close to the water! We enjoyed our stay and will come back to this house every time we come back to the islands. Very nice inside and so close to the bike path we never had to use a car. Aloha!

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Excellent!

Review submitted: January 5, 2009   Date of arrival: January 3, 2009

I am pleased with my stay at this beautiful, peaceful, immaculate, and comfortable vacation rental which has included VERY friendly and professional customer service.

Not only has the rental been remodeled, but it has been remodeled by someone with excellent taste. Very modern with all the amenities including trouble free wireless internet. The shower is lovely, the beds are big and comfortable, and the lanai is great for whale watching while enjoying a drink or eating a meal that was cooked on the grill.

I was also happy that there are two brand new cruiser bicycles to ride to the Foodland and Starbucks which are about a 3 minute ride down the bikepath. Shark's Cove is literally a few minutes walk and Waimea and Sunset are not very far either.

The house and property are well maintained and in a quiet and safe neighborhood. I felt safe and secluded and slept well every night.

I will recommend this rental to any friends and family that come out this way. Five Stars!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

WE LOVE THIS PLACE!
You really can see WHALES from the deck. Comfy beds, cool breezes with the fans and a great couch outside. This is our new favorite place to stay on the North Shore and we will be back next year.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review