reviews for: listing #15527 - Turks and Caicos, Caribbean House rental

Antille Villa
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Leeward
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $3,900 - $3,900 /wk

sort by:

Way Overpriced...

Review submitted: February 1, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

I can confirm what the previous reviewer wrote. This place needs some serious maintenance! Screens all torn making mosquitos at night a problem. There was something wrong with the water system, the pump was constantly going off and on, very disrupting to the person trying to sleep in the room next to it. The drain pipe to the showers was clogged and water from the extra small upstairs shower (the only one that had any hot water pressure) ended up flooding the master bathroom coming up through the bidet. There was no hot water pressure downstairs. Rat poison everywhere (watch out if you have kids). We ended up driving to other beaches as the access to the one nearby was as described by previous person, and several in our family didn't want to scale the rugged rocks with dangerous rusty wire sticking out. Minimal pots and pans, we had to rotate in order to cook our dinner.
The pool was nice tho.

Owners response: Since these guests stayed at the house, we have continued to make improvements. We have installed a stronger water pump to ensure stronger water pressure throughout the house. The clogged drain that they refer to was cleared during their visit. All screens have been re-checked to ensure that they are in proper condition. In addition, we have installed new flooring, new bedding, have increased utensils in the kitchen, have repainted throughout and enhanced the area around the pool In addition currently new concrete walls and sidewalks are being installed around the house.

Rat poison (actually mouse poison) was placed throughout the house to ensure that there are no pests. We have advised the persons responsible for pest control to ensure that such poisons are put in more discreet locations.

As to the 3 steps down to the beach, they were damaged in a late fall storm. These steps are located at the public access to the beach. We, and other owners in the area have advised the appropriate authorities to have these steps repaired.

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great villa for large families

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

We enjoyed our stay at this house. Our stay was restful and relaxing, and the villa is located on a large, relatively private lot, well landscaped. Many large trees/palms.

The house is large, five bedrooms, and is especially suited for large families.

We especially enjoyed the outside covered sitting area, my wife cannot take the sun, and in the evening, the area is lighted, which made it a wonderful area to sit outside at night.

The pool was great and well-used by us.

The beach was great, and only a short walk away, and one can walk for miles on the beach. Swimming is perfectly safe at the location of the villa

The manager of the house was always available for any concerns, requests or questions we had.

Restaurants, a casino, and stores are nearby, as is the marina. From the marina, we could travel to neighboring islands.

We really enjoyed our stay. This house is especially suitable to large families that want to enjoy the beach and the outdoors.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 10

 

Wonderful Place for Family

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: November 17, 2010

We stayed at this property in November 2010 and absolutely loved it. It is a large house, five bedrooms, suitable for large families quite near the beach.

What we especially liked is the outdoor covered sitting area. My wife cannot take the sun and spent most of her day there. This area is lighted at night, and provided an nice area to sit in the nighttime.

The pool was great and much used.

The house is relatively private, on a large lot, landscaped with large trees and much vegetation.

It took us only a few minutes to walk to the beach, which is one of the nicest beaches we have ever seen. One can walk for miles along it, and it is perfectly safe to swim where the villa is.

Any concerns or requests were immediately handled by the manager of the villa.

The villa was near the casino (which I frequently visited!), restaurants and stores. The marina was also nearby from which we arranged trips to neighboring islands.

We would especially recommend this house for large families wishing to enjoy the beach and the island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 9

 

Disappointing

Review submitted: January 18, 2011   Date of arrival: December 23, 2010

First the good points: the first floor is spacious and well laid out. The deck and pool are the best attributes of the villa.
Now the bad: We weren't met at the airport, as promised. The caretaker finally showed up after someone called him. The villa was supposed to have internet access - it didn't. It had a DVD player; however it wasn't hooked up and didn't have cables. The screen door was broken and allowed mosquitoes to come in. The barbecue didn't have a propane bottle. These two items were fixed after we called the owner in Canada. The kitchen cabinets were dirty and had roaches and ants in them. The upstairs rooms were small with a slanted ceiling, which made it difficult for tall people. One of the rooms had a skylight where the sun poured in all day and made it very hot. A screen also was broken in one of these rooms and we had to use coils to keep the mosquitoes away. Very little pressure in the downstairs showers. The closest access to the beach was down some stone stairs that were cover by wire mesh making them impassible for children and seniors.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

NOT AS ADVERTISED

Review submitted: January 17, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

We spent 2 nights here with young children. The place is really a beach shack and not a house. The place was not clean and we had spotty electricity and water that turned into no water. Our children got eaten alive as the house did not have screen windows in key areas. Also, the stairs are not safe for kids. There is also some sort of rodent problem as there was rat poison throughout the house. The beach access was not as advertised as there is a washed out retaining wall that has created a treacherous entry into the beach and ocean with exposed metal barriers. Also, no phone or internet as advertised. Needless to say, this was a huge vacation destroying experience and now the owner will not refund any of our money. Will never use Homeaway again.

Here is a video of the water problem http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oRtEaiUflX8

Owners response: This particular renter has been untruthful, or misleading, in the comments he made:

1) Firstly, he neglected to mention that his payment bounced right after he arrived. It would appear he never intended to pay the full amount for his stay even before he arrived
2) Even though they only stayed for two days, they left the house in a disgusting mess, with garbage everywhere
3) They caused damage, including damage to a lounge chair which it appeared they were jumping on, and markings on the walls
4) The lack of water and electricity they talk about was due to an island-wide power failure that occurred on January 1, 2011, which lasted for two hours.
5) Contrary to their claims, there is no rat or mice problem in the house, but as prudent owners, we always take measures to ensure that there will not be a problem in the future.
6) These renters were advised prior to their departure that there were heavy rains on the island prior to their arrival, meaning that there was a heavy sandfly problem throughout the island at that time. This is only a problem outdoors in the evening and can be avoided with proper repellent
7) Their comments regarding the beach is the first negative comment we ever heard regarding the beach. This beach is considered one of the top 10 beaches in the world. To protect the beach, and ensure its future, the Government on the Island protects parts of the beach with walls at the dune level.
8) All windows in the house have screens
9) Contrary to their comments, this tenant was provided with a phone, and was advised prior to departure there was not internet in the house. (The house, however, now has internet)

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review