reviews for: listing #15552 - Surfside Beach, Texas House rental

Casa del Mar -- Surfside, Sun, Sand, Rest & Relaxation!
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $900 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Awesome Family Vacation

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

We spent 3 days in this wonderful home for my husbands birthday. A few of our children and grandchildren were able to make it and everything was perfect.
The kitchen was very clean, well equipt with what we needed and so much more.
There is a little grocery store just across the road that is pretty well stocked so that was nice.
We also spent quite a bit of time on the beach, which is just steps away from the house. The kids and the dogs just loved it.
There is not one bad thing I could say. Ricardo was very helpful in answering all my questions since this was our first time at Surfside. He was great... We will definetely be back.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Casa del Mar - Very Nice

Review submitted: August 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

The house was very spacious, well laid out, and very clean. Accessories, TV, and WI-FI were very good. AC and water filter were great. The 2 balconies were very nice.

The walk to the beach was very easy ... and the 2nd row house view was very nice to the beach and the inter-coastal waterway. The beach was very nice.

We all had a great time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Perfect vaca even with monsoons!

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 9, 2012

The house has every amenity you can imagine,and then some. We had monsoons every day, but so warm totally enjoyed the beach. Lots of seaweed on the beach, but it's the ocean. Walked the beach everyday and it was never overcrowded...even on the weekend. Ricardo answered every question. Can't say enough. Gorgeous views from the decks. Walmart 10 minutes away in Lake Jackson. Def bring movies cause most channels were religious or spanish. This is the perfect house for large family gatherings. Never felt crowded. LOVED IT!! Husband has walking issues, but he could enjoy the ocean from the decks or I drove to the beach through beach access up the road. 13 yr and 19 yr old both had a blast body surfing. Family vacation on the coast crossed off the bucket list, but will do again. Thanks for the use of your gorgeous home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

recent guest

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

the house was excellent and ricardo was there for any problems but after we booked stay we was told to bring a metal rake cause the beach was nasty and that it was u acutally needed a bulldozer and as we was there we was told that they passed a law to stop removing seaweed off the beach it was the worst vacation ever my son could not even play anywhere close to the beach cause it was so nasty and the mosquitos was horrible around the house and every u went beacause of all the seaweed so basically he had to play inside the whole time i would deffentially pay the extra and go to galveston next time but did love the house and we had to go atleast 3 miles to try to do any fishing on the beach and it also had a very bad sewage smell at all times we spoke to a state trooper who said they was disposing hospital waste into ocean also.... so very nice house if u want to stay in most of ur stay but very discusting surriounding....

Owners response: Surfside is a healthy beach and as a healthy beach with a healthy eco-system, there are periods when the beach will be full of seaweed as explained in the rental contract and when this period will be is impossible to predict. This is only for a short period every year. The reason we are not allowed to clean up seaweed is because it builds up the sand dunes which in turn protect the houses. The "sewage smell" is the natural decay of the seaweed which again is around for a very limited number of days per year. Surfside beaches are amongst the cleanest in Texas, Surfside has been ranked the #1 beach getaway in Texas many times, the beaches are cleaner, and much wider than any beach in Galveston. The picture of the beach in the website is taken directly from our balcony and that is what the beach looks like for the vast majority of the year. If you read the other reviews you'll notice that all other reviewers mention how clean the beach is.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: October 23, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2011

This property has EVERYTHING you need on vacation. It has many ameneties, a great
location, clean, privacy, safety, and the decks give you beautiful beach views.
A quick walk to a very clean and quiet beach was a daily ritual.
We loved having drinks on the deck and grilling fresh seafood.

The showers have great water pressure. The kitchen was well stocked with pots & pans, utensils, glasses, coffee maker, dish towels, crockpot, etc.
There are several spices to use as well. We only used the queen bed which was very comfortable.
The only thing we needeed to bring was sheets and towels.

There's a convenience store and a couple of restaurants a mile or two away.
A grocery store, walmart, and many restaurants are located in Lake Jackson about 6 miles away.

Ricardo is very professional yet friendly and helpful. He responded to every request very quickly.

I would highly recommend this property to all of my friends and family.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful Weekend

Review submitted: July 26, 2011   Date of arrival: July 8, 2011

We had a wonderful time. The house was great with more amenities than we ever used. It was clean and inviting. The kitchen was well stocked. There was lots of room. We were at max but we always felt like we had privacy if we wanted it and room to move around and just be relaxed. A great spot with easy beach access and lots to enjoy!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Loved It

Review submitted: July 5, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

I've stayed at several places at Surfside beach and this was one of the best places ever. Very, very clean. Also the kitchen very well stocked with dishes and untensils. The bathrooms were wonderful. Everything seemed so brand new and nice. The beach access was very easy and all the views were excellent. I have refered several friends and I'm sure they will be renting this unit also. Can't wait to go back when I can stay longer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your kind review, we are glad that our home lived up to your expectations and hope to have you back soon. Ricardo and Maria

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfect Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: May 22, 2009

Rest and relaxation are words that truly describe the very essence of this idyllic beach house; a perfect getaway from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Our family has been vacationing here for several years, making it a summer tradition. The house sits one row back from the beach, offering easy access to the sand and surf; yet allowing for privacy. The upper sundeck, one of our favorite places, allows you to see miles of coast line while enjoying the ocean breeze---a wonderful way to start each day. If you’re looking for relaxation, a chance to build sandcastles, or perhaps just take a quiet walk along the surf; this is the perfect place to make those memories that last a lifetime.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review