reviews for: listing #15620 - Marathon, Florida House rental

Walk to Sombrero Bch, Privat Pool, Hot Tub, Fisherman'S dock
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Sombrero Beach
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,390 - $2,300 /wk

sort by:

Perfect Marathon Vacation spot

Review submitted: February 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

We found Neil’s (the property owner) Marathon rental listed on Home Away website. We contacted Neil and he could not have been more accommodating.

The house was extremely clean and very well maintained. The layout was perfect for two traveling couples. The property has the privacy to enjoy the pool and the hot tub. The home is close to the beach, shopping and a large choice or restaurants from the Stuffed Pig, to the Plaza Grill. We really enjoyed the Island Seafood restaurant for dinner.

Neil provided us with many suggestions for activities and dining. He checked in with us to make sure that all was going well with our stay and he offers a number of items for the house use that we did not have to purchase. (Paper towels, dish soap, laundry detergent).

We would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to enjoy Marathon or the Florida Keys area. Key West and Key Largo are easy convenient drives as this property is centrally located.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anyone can rent you their house, I provide a resort with concierge services.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amenities, Privacy, Quiet, Oh My!

Review submitted: February 8, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Gorgeous and quiet Sombrero Beach is just a few minutes walk from this wonderful house located right on a quiet canal. We caught the sunset there nightly, and walked there every morning. Lush plants, trees, and beautiful landscaping make you feel like you're on your own island. The neighborhood was quiet, the backyard was filled with a large heated pool (with color changing light that even adults love!), a hot tub above the deck, and a porch off the master bedroom to view the sunrise every day. The house had everything we needed (lots and lots of towels, space, blender, dishwasher, fans and A.C., decks, fishing area off dock, private yards, quiet/barely there neighbors, etc), and Neil gave us all the information we could possibly need while touring the area. It was like having a personal concierge. Neil is a fantastic person to rent from with a great sense of humor. This house and neighborhood are closely located to beaches, restaurants, and parks, yet far enough from the hustle and bustle of Rt. 1 that you forget there are people around! We highly recommend this wonderful home that has everything for the most reasonable prices around, best service, and comfortable rental transactions between renter and owner. Enjoy!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Anybody can rent you their house, but when you rent my house, you get a vacation package. My house is more like a resort, lushly landscaped, and furnished with everything you'll need. I take care of my guests, and they especially like my list of local restaurants. I highlight the ones that my family prefers - so you'll get good food, at a good price, in an unbelievable waterfront setting.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Awesome time!

Review submitted: May 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Had a great time with 5 other people. Plenty of room, Pool was great! Boys enjoyed fishing off of the dock. Master bedroom has beautiful ocean view, sunrise in morning and at night the moon and stars are spectacular. My only problem was that I was attacked by no see ums!! A couple other people had a few bites, but none as severe as mine. Use bug spray dillgently! Fun time will be had by all in Marathon.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Best vacation ever!

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We have been to Cancun, Punta Cana, and Jamaica, and I can honestly say I will never leave the US again after this vacation. The sand and water steps from the house were amazing. The private pool area surpassed my expectations. I fully expected a tiny dipping pool, only to be pleasantly surprised by a normal sized pool beautifully flannked with palm trees! The back dock kept our kids busy for hours fishing. They were catching fish right and left, cool fish we had never seen before. The house was very clean and way more spacious than the photos appear. EVERYTHING we needed was there--beach chairs, beach towells, linens, and even snorkeling gear! AMAZING price for this AMAZING home. We rebooked for next year just days after arriving. There will be NO disappointed faces if you stay here. I have always dreaded the trip to the grocery store, but not here because it was literally two minutes down the road. I was so happy. The grill is great. The hot tub was wonderful. I have nothing but positives to say about this rental. Great communication with the owner, as well. He seems wonderful. :)

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

SunSeeker

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Just spent another week in Paradise near Sombrero Beach at Neil's house. Everything was fantastic, better than he describes it. The backyard pool area was very private - with tropical plants on all sides. At night the kids bounced between the hot tub and the pool, with a little bit of fishing out at the dock - you could see the fish swimming in the canal below! Neil gave us a list of his favorite restaurants, all were excellent. We loved the Sunset Grill - kids swam in the pool, while we enjoyed ourselves at the Tiki hut. Sombrero Beach was great, a close walk, so we usually went there in the mornings, and stayed by the shaded pool in the afternoon. Overall it was a fun family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

SunSeeker

Review submitted: December 12, 2011   Date of arrival: November 20, 2011

Just spent another week in Paradise near Sombrero Beach at Neil's house. Everything was fantastic, better than he describes it. The backyard pool area was very private - with tropical plants on all sides. At night the kids bounced between the hot tub and the pool, with a little bit of fishing out at the dock - you could see the fish swimming in the canal below! Neil gave us a list of his favorite restaurants, all were excellent. We loved the Sunset Grill - kids swam in the pool, while we enjoyed ourselves at the Tiki hut. Sombrero Beach was great, a close walk, so we usually went there in the mornings, and stayed by the shaded pool in the afternoon. Overall it was a fun family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Time in Marathon! House was perfect!

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Great location. Marathon is a great place to stay. We had 2 families, never felt crowded in this house. Pool was very nice. Intercoastal fishing. and beach within walking distance! don't feel like we missed a thing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review