reviews for: listing #15654 - Yachats, Oregon House rental

Dream catcher
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $175 /nt
    $650 - $1,050 /wk
    $2,000 - $4,500 /mth

sort by:

A Gnome Away from Home

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 30, 2014

Staying at the Dreamcatcher is like having your good friends let you use their beach house with its very own gnome to watch over the property. The house is very comfortable for a large group with plenty of space for everyone to spend time together or for small groups to enjoy activities separately. Some of our favorite activities while staying in Yachats include: visiting Cape Perpetua Scenic Area and hiking up to the Giant Spruce; Seal Rock Beach at lowtide; Yaquina Head Outstanding Natural Area; Heceta Head Lighthouse Viewpoint; shopping at antique malls and thrift stores from Newport down south to Florence.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved it!!!

Review submitted: March 31, 2014   Date of arrival: March 24, 2014

We had such a great time in this house! It was clean, roomy, comfortable and fully stocked with household items like garbage bags, laundry detergent and dish soap so that we had everything we needed. We had 8 people in our group and there was tons of room. The walk to the amazing beach was only about a minute. Honestly, we cannot say enough good things about this house. Thank you so much for sharing your vacation rental with us. We can't wait to plan our next trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

not quite what i expected

Review submitted: December 24, 2013   Date of arrival: December 24, 2013

the house itself is fine, although the stairs are ridiculously steep, the corkscrew was broken, and there is still sand in the hot tub. biggest issues are that the easy beach access described is not available anymore - signs are posted to stay off the bank due to erosion, and we had to walk along highway before finding a new path. listing doest describe that it is RIGHT ON 101, so there is a lot of road noise. most annoying part is the heat though - there is a small woodstove for the living room, but the other rooms have small baseboard heaters that are loud, and ineffective when the house has been empty for weeks and its cold enough to frost outside.

Owners response: Sometimes during the winter months it is necessary to remove the steps to the beach because of the winter storms. The steps will go back in at spring break. I have never had anyone complain about baseboard heaters being noisey before. As far as noise from the highway, all the living is out the back of the house and is not a concern to most people.

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Awesome house; AMAZING deal

Review submitted: October 20, 2013   Date of arrival: October 14, 2013

The Dreamcatcher house was perfect for our last minute beach trip. Yachats is easily the best spot on the Oregon coast and staying at the Dreamcatcher made the experience even better. The house itself is awesomely unique with a number of different rooms, large sky windows, and little nooks & crannies everywhere. While there is not a doubt in my mind the house would easily accommodate 8-10 people, the two of us + dog still felt at home and cozy the whole time. Now the best part of it all; the fair and honest price. No hidden fees, extra charges for pets, or other random rental add-ons that many places I've seen on VRBO have. We thank the Haun family for sharing their house with us and we will be back again regardless if it's a week-long retreat with friends, or just another last minute getaway for us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your response,
Harry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Birthday beach weekend

Review submitted: September 27, 2013   Date of arrival: September 13, 2013

Beach was within walking distance as described. It was a very private beach which we enjoyed. The house was clean with most of the amenities we would need. Enjoyed the hot tub. Overall good experience. We would recommend the seafood place in Yachats next to Toppers if you're looking for clam chowder, oysters or clams. Our youngest loved the burger as well, although pricey for a burger.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review,
Harry

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

the dream catcher

Review submitted: August 23, 2013   Date of arrival: August 16, 2013

Overall we had a great stay. The only feedback I would give is that I had to re-wash all the towels before we used them. They were put away wet, so they were very smelly. The hot tub had a lot of sand in it. otherwise were were very happy.

Owners response: We have acquired a new housekeeping staff and there have not been any new problems that I am aware of.
Harry

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Family Of 6

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

The house had a nice setting, but was very dirty when we got there. We had to clean out the moldy coffee pot, the hot tub was filthy and the house didn't look like it was cleaned before we got there. Also was upset when my kids turned on the T.V. and porn was on. If it had a good cleaning I think it would be great, short walk to the beach and a fun back yard for kids and dogs. Probably will not be staying here again though.

Owners response: We have acquired new housekeeping staff and have had now new issues with cleanliness. However, guests should call housekeeping or myself with issues, when they arise. As for the porn I have no idea how that is even possible because we have family programing. We do have HBO.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

We Loved it!!!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Overall, we loved this place. Lots of room to lounge, plenty of sleeping space, and secluded. A few things were not available at least in eyes view.. There was no toilet paper or hand soap in any of the bathrooms, after snooping we found the supply cabinet in the garage unlocked so we did help ourselves. Kitchen was limited on cooking utensils, some were just very worn and ready to be tossed. The hot tub wasnt working or so we thought after snooping around we found a fuse that you had to plug in to use and remove to turn off, instructions on this and how to care for the tub would have been very helpful...few minor things in our book but we would definetely stay here again....Just a fun note the backyard is home to at least three rabbits that we were able to see and observe, which the kids absolutely loved and tie the trash cans shut, we thought the culprit would be raccoons we actually woke to a black bear in the trash can one morning...

Owners response: We have new housekeeping now and have resolved supply concerns and hot tub issues. If people have problems they should call housekeeping or myself immediately and the problems will be taken care of instead of putting it in a review. We aim to please but we can't fix what we don't know about,
Harry

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

decent for one night

Review submitted: July 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 12, 2012

we only stayed for one night, but the home was not fully cleaned from the last people who stayed before us. it wasn't terrible, but the following things were not clean. we emailed the owner and got no response. i also called the housekeeper (who left her number on the refrigerator) to ask what we were supposed to do without any toliet paper and she never returned my call. i would not stay there again, unless i was assured the cleaning would be done properly ahead of time

1. No toliet paper in either bathroom.
2. No handsoap in either bathroom.
3. Kitchen garbage can was out in the middle of the back yard.
4. There were beer bottles all over one of the front porches.
5. The dishwasher was full of dirty dishes.
6. The kitchen sink was dirty, had clearly not been cleaned since the last guests.
7. The dryer was full of wet towels.
8. There was a note in the dining room that said there was a special towel to use to dry off the dog and a sheet to cover the furniture, however, there were no sheet or towel.

Owners response: Our previous cleaning people left without notice so we had to find another housekeeper immediatly. Unfortuanatly they were caught in the middle of this. We refunded the cleaning fee and the damage deposit to these people. We now have excellent people to take care of things.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Weekend at the beach

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 5, 2012

Overall, the Dream Catcher house was great! The house is not actually in Yachats, but about 3 miles north of town. There is enough parking for 2-3 cars, excellent beach access, well stocked kitchen, and the house was very clean. The beach near the house is very wide and unobstructed so it allowed for lot of walking potential. One thing to watch out for is that the stairs to the second level are quite steep for families with small kids should be careful. The only hitch the entire weekend was that the previous renters had taken the key with them when they left. The cleaning crew (who were very nice people!) let us into the house and the owner called a locksmith immediately to help get new keys made (the locksmith on the other hand did not call back when he said he would, forgot about the appointment, and was unaccommodating in setting up a new appointment).

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing!!

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time! The house was spectacular...very charming and clean! The beach access was perfect as was the distance to where we were traveling to once we got to Oregon! We had 4 adults and 5 kids 6 & under and there was plenty of room for us all to enjoy ourselves and not feel a bit cramped! Would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a great place to say!

Owners response: Thank you

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great vacation home

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 6, 2012

Loved this house. Great location. Lots of room for our family, our dog and my parents. The girls loved having their own rooms! As mentioned in another review, the stairs in the house are very steep so they may be hard to manage for very young children or someone that has a hard time with stairs. Lots of little nooks and crannies to hide out in or just finding a spot to be alone.

It was a close walk to the beach, nice to get out of the wind at the house as it was very protected. The house is close to the road but very secluded. Very private back yard. Hot tub was great to have. Steps to the beach are a little rustic but very functional. Loved the beach. Great beaches for long walks.

Some very minor issues when we first arrived but nothing that we couldn't manage. Owners are great to work with. Hoping to be able to visit here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend!

Review submitted: March 15, 2012   Date of arrival: March 9, 2012

Nice place, amazing number of rooms and crannies in the house and yard. Unbelievably close to the pounding surf and still somewhat sheltered from storms.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great getaway

Review submitted: February 28, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

this is a great place to get together with family and friends. our 2 families which was 4 adults & 4 kids between the ages of 4 & 8 had plenty of room to hang out. The house was very clean and located within a short walk to the beach. it felt very private even though thee are other houses near by. access to the beach is kind of tricky but doable. just be careful cause it can be kind of slick. the owners were very helpful from the beginning of my inquiry into the property. Definitley would recommend to anyone who has family. its also a great place to bring with you mans best friend. great price, great location, great place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing home and beautiful setting

Review submitted: February 4, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

My daughter and I took a 5 day trip to the coast. This home was so cozy, perfectly accommodated kitchen, easy walk to the beach, delightful hot tub setting and great price for it all. We will definitely stay here again!

Owners response: Thank you very much, please come again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Worth it!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

This house was everything it said it would be....and a great bargain for 9 people and a dog!
The staircases are very steep and would not be easy for people who struggle with that or toddlers.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great house in Yachats

Review submitted: August 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

My family of four stayed with another family of four and there was plenty of room. the house was clean and spacious and had a great layout. We appreciated the fact that the 2 masters were on different floors and not right next to each other for a little privacy. It would have been great if it was oceanfront but the backyard with a swing and hot tub made up for it. None of us had been to Yachats and it was a great town. Had a little trouble finding a pizza restaurant but in the end we highly recommend Heidis. the locals are nice and it was only about a half an hour to the dunes. The house had about 100 childrens movies which was a huge help putting over stimulated kids to bed. All eight of us highly recommend this house and we plan on going back. Thanx.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nice House, Poor Communication

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

I rented this for a weekend and the house was great. Nice and cozy and accommodating. HOWEVER, I left my purse at the house and emailed the owner on several occasions asking for a plan of action. No response. I happened to have my debit card on me, so I emailed them another time just requesting a deposit back which they said would be done, and they wouldn't respond to that, either. So overall I would recommend staying elsewhere if possible. The owners of the house aren't willing to make refunds they claim to make. It also frustrates me that someone else posted a review saying how quick their return came and how slowly they've handled my whole situation.

Owners response: This was an unfortunate error on my part. I initially attempted to send a refund to this renter, however I must have done something wrong. I have since sent it again and it seems to be going thru. We normally send refunds within a day or two.
As for the purse, I immediatly contacted the cleaning company via email and they were looking for the purse and would send it to the renters if they could find it. I assumed that it was taken care of.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Comfortable home to unwind at!

Review submitted: January 2, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

The home was very unique in its shape and layout which makes for some irregular sized rooms and hallways upstairs. The living room is very comfortable and does not seem crowded even with 8 people. Beach access was tricky, but manageable. The beach is not very wide here which makes it impossible to get to the sand during high tides. You have to go north or south to find a beach to play on. Very close to the highway 101, but road noise was not noticable. Owners were very nice to work with and helpful when we had an issue with a tv and programming (even on a holiday). We would recommend this home for everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We enjoyed this house very much!

Review submitted: November 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 22, 2010

My children(11 and 16) loved this house. It is quiet and cosy, big enough. You're really close to the beach. A pretty house and a very nice location! You'll like it for sure!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: November 10, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

When we arrived at this home we found it to be very clean and well supplied. We had all of the comports of home available to us and the home was accurately described so there were no unpleasant surprises. The stairs to the beach had been removed for the winter but you could still access the beach provided you have some athletic ability. Just a couple of blocks away was easy beach access and the beach is stunning. Miles of sand and we were the only ones on the beach. The property was very private due to trees and vegetation that was well maintained. Being that there were only two of us there were several rooms that we didn't even use as the house was very spacious. The location was perfect because you could go north or south and be close to some of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. We found it to be close to all the best restaurants as well. We ate in restaurants all up and down the coast but our favorite was a short drive to the Luna restaurant in Yachats. This is not a true ocean front property but what you lose from not being able to watch waves crash onto the beach you gain by having total privacy and that includes the Hot tub area. We were very pleased with this rental and plan to come back. I suppose I have to complain about something and our worst complaint is that there was no coffee grinder and we had to buy one. That really is the worst we could come up with. I am not a trusting person when it comes to transactions over the internet but the transactions were smooth and secure and I was surprised to get my deposit back so fast. Over all it was the best of experiences.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Dreamcatcher home was a dream for my family

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: August 25, 2009

Thanks for sharing your home! My family enjoyed every moment. THe home very clean, nicely maintained. and My kids loved it too!
Very serene, and private.
I would recommend this home for families and couples!
What a good experience as a first time renting a home via the Internet!! Easy!
Great attractions from the dunes to teh shoping to the fantastic ORegon Coast there is lots to do..
We will be back,

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great place

Review submitted: June 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 23, 2008

Awesome place for the price. We've stayed there twice and will come again.The beach is just a walk away and the house has all you need to enjoy your time.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review