reviews for: listing #15687 - Lake Lure, North Carolina Cabin rental

Smoky Bear Cabin
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $135 - $165 /nt

sort by:

Best view from the perfect deck

Review submitted: January 24, 2014   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

We took my parents to Smoky Bear Cabin for a relaxing weekend and it was wonderful. The cabin is very homey, with lots of comforts and a great fireplace (cut wood was even supplied for us). It was nice to stay in a VRBO that had nice furniture and decorations instead of the tacky cheap home furnishing other owners offer for the same money. It made a difference. We played pool, soaked in the hot tub, and surfed the internet. The best part was the back porch which happened to overlooking the perfect view of the mountains and valley. Thank you for such a beautiful place.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

love it

Review submitted: November 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 31, 2013

This was our second visit to smoky Bear Cabin this year and enjoyed ourselves greatly once again. Our cells didn't work at all which made it that much better. This place is just wonderful for getting away and forgetting about the every day hustle and bustle. We were even fortunate to catch the last of the fall colors. Thank you Monica and David

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ultra relaxed

Review submitted: March 30, 2013   Date of arrival: March 21, 2013

We loved this place. The views are magnificent and the cabin was secluded yet easy to get to. The hot tub was better than most found in rentals. Being able to bring our old dog along was a plus. She found the rug in front of the fire place to be a piece of dog heaven.
The owners are quick to respond and easy to work with. Couldn't have asked for a better stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 19, 2013   Date of arrival: March 15, 2013

We wanted to take the family and get away from everyday life and we could not have picked a better place. Cabin was everything it says and more, hard to put into words how relaxing it is looking out over the valley and the incredible sunsets. Cabin was stocked with everything we needed and is very well maintained. If your looking to get away from the normal tourist spots and wanting seclusion you can not go wrong with this place. Thanks for letting us into your home and look forward to planning our next stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Amazing Cabin with Amazing Views

Review submitted: November 21, 2012   Date of arrival: November 16, 2012

This cabin was everything it promised and more! You can tell the owners really take the time to make your experience awesome. It was very well stocked with just about anything you could want or need. My husband and I went for a "quick" weekend getaway so we had no desire to explore too far away from the cabin. It was just the Rx we needed!! The views were awesome and I highly recommend the hot tub at sunset. Just sitting there watching the colors of the sky changing was relaxing in itself. It was so peaceful and beautiful that it reminds you to stop and enjoy the simple things in life. The fact that you can take your furry babies with you is such an added blessing. Ours are use to the beach so this was a whole new adventure for them. If you haven't taken your dog to the mountains before, make sure you have their leashes - the smells overwhelm them and they just want to investigate everything!! Don't forget their favorite bed in front of the fireplace! I wish I could post pictures!! You will not regret renting this cabin, it's just perfect.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: November 13, 2012   Date of arrival: November 9, 2012

This cabin is perfect for a romantic getaway. Very clean and the view is amazing. The pictures do not do it it justice. We will be staying here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful weekend getaway

Review submitted: October 25, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

We had a very relaxing weekend here, in this very comfortable, clean and welcoming home. The kitchen is well stocked, plenty of towels, extra pillows and blankets. Wonderful view into the valley and sunsets across the Blue Ridge Mounains. We hiked chimney rock and went horse back riding nearby. Lake lure would be another fun destination. You are pretty far from most things here, by that was the plan for us anyway! Highly recommend for a mountain retreat.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Love, Love, Love it

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: July 7, 2012

The pictures of the cabin and view do not do this home justice. The cabin is extremely homey and comfortable and everything you need will be there for you. The hot tub overlooking the mountains is wonderful. The view is outstanding and picture worthy for your own home collection. Making this pet friendly is great. My little furry friends had a ball exploring a new surroundings although we didn't let them go very far because you are in the mountains and forest. The cabin is extremely clean and well taken care of. Monica is great to work with and will answer all questions in a friendly and helpful manner. I have recommended this to others and hope they take advantage of the cabin.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

great place to stay!!

Review submitted: August 12, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

we had a great time my family and I loved the cabin. kids had an awesome time they played pool and played outsid all day long, while see we were on the porch looking at the fantastic view. grilling, picking blackberries going for walks you can do anything on the mountain. you wont see any civilization till you drive into town. make sure to plan your events ahead of time, it takes a while to get off mountain but it's well worth the view, also set your gps at the bottom of the mountain so you don't get lost :), monica and her husband were great to deal with any questions you had their always there to help. if we ever go back to north carolina we know we would come back to the smokey mountain cabin.

thanks for having us

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Heaven on Earth

Review submitted: May 22, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Our vacation at Smoky Bear cabin was restful and memorable. The views are breathtaking and the amenities made it even more enjoyable. We relaxed and spent quality family time in a setting that is unlike any we've experienced before...
We also enjoyed trips to Lake Lure and Asheville where there are many scenic spots, quaint shops and excellent restaurants. A wonderful vacation experience! We recommend this to anyone wishing to get away from it all.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Love it!

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

We had an amazing time at Smoky Bear! The view from the Hot tub was breathtaking!
The cabin was beautifully decorated and had all the amenities any one could ask for. We will be recommending this cabin to all of our friends. This is a perfect location for a romantic getaway, or to enjoy with your friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review