reviews for: listing #15779 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Grand Mediterranean with Ocean Views, Hot Tub, Sunset Patio
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Mesa
  • sleeps  11
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $479 - $669 /nt
    $2,800 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Beautiful house but some issues

Review submitted: January 4, 2014   Date of arrival: December 29, 2013

The house and location is great! It has a beautiful view of the ocean, which was great to watch sunsets. The photos do not do the place justice. We enjoyed our time together with friends, but unfortunately, there were some issues that made our vacation less than perfect.

(We have stayed in many other VRBOs, so we are comparing to our stays in those.)
The property was clean, however, the laundry bags from the previous tenants stayed on our door step the entire time of our stay. The trash bins were full when we got there and no one came to put it out like stated. Each bathroom had one roll of toilet paper and we had to provide the rest during our stay. This would have been good to know before hand. Also, the main reason we rented this house was for the hot tub, but when we arrived it was not heating up. When I called the supervisor because the owner was on vacation, she told me the previous tenants also complain of this issue, but no one was sent to check it out. I finally contacted the owner and was told someone would come fix it, but no one did during our stay.

Owners response: Sarah, we're so sorry the hot tub could not be fixed during your visit. Because of New Year's Eve/New Year's Day, the need for a part and your short stay it was not possible to repair the hot tub. Since your visit we've hired a new spa company that we believe will be more responsive.

Our rates are lower than many homes in Santa Barbara because we don't provided unlimited paper products - one extra in addition to that on the roll. I'm so sorry that policy reduced your comfort in the home.

Our goal is to create joy and wonderful memories and clearly these issues took away from that for your group.

We hope to host you another time and wish you a happy and healthy year ahead.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Well Placed

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 8, 2012

My family stayed here during my wedding at the Fess Parker's Doubletree Hotel. It was seven minutes to the hotel and the house provided a nice place for our small reception dinner the night before. The house was clean and laid

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Views and Comfort

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2011

This was a really nice place. The beds were comfortable and the layout worked well for our group of kids and adults. The house has enough parking for three or four cars (had a problem with that on a previous visit) and is about three minutes to downtown - easy trip. We went downtown several times, did Farmer's Market on Tuesday, Sea Center, shoppping, Courthouse (beautiful when you go up in the clock tower) and ate out - favorite restaurant was Palazzio (tons of food).

The house has a great back patio with dining table, benches and fire pit...we watched the sunset a couple nights...amazing.

If I had to give one suggestion it would be to change the full size bed in the one bedroom to a queen.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Wanted to get away from the Bay Area for Thanksgiving. First time in a rental. Were very pleased. We ate out a lot - great restaurants in Santa Barbara -but for the few meals we had at "home" we were surprised the kitchen was stocked well. Regular cooking items, also staples including flour, spices and that kind of thing. Made fewer trips to the market. Seven of us total. We had plenty of room and made great memories. We're planning to go back for Nov 2012. Nice views too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you all had a great time. Looking forward to seeing you in early December for your friend's wedding.

Thanks for staying with us!

Lynn and Scott

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 24, 2010

Wanted to get away from the Bay Area for Thanksgiving. First time in a rental. Were very pleased. We ate out a lot - great restaurants in Santa Barbara -but for the few meals we had at "home" we were surprised the kitchen was stocked well. Regular cooking items, also staples including flour, spices and that kind of thing. Made fewer trips to the market. Seven of us total. We had plenty of room and made great memories. We're planning to go back for Nov 2012. Nice views too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2011

Less than a mile to downtown SB and the courthouse where I had my wedding. My family stayed in this home and it was perfect for the four nights. My nephews played ping pong, my parents loved the hot tub and everyone loved the sunsets and patio - we used it a lot.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Glad you guys had a great time and that everyone had a favorite piece of the home. We love helping guests make memorable stays. Congratulations on your marriage. Hope Fiji was perfect. ;-)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

From the Guest Book: "Great views, comfortable furnishings, love the layout, kids enjoyed ping pong and parents the hot tub. Relaxing trip, great accomodations, fond memories. Thanks for providing a wonderful home-away-from home."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

March 2010

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

Great home with nice views and plenty of room for the 12 of us. We had a great time during our weekend trip - just girls this time! We spent most of our time downtown (quick drive btw), but loved hanging out in the backyard watching the sunset and visiting when we were home. The beds were comfortable the house was clean and we are looking forward to another stay in July. Thanks Mesa Rentals!

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Warm Home, great location

Review submitted: January 30, 2009   Date of arrival: October 16, 2008

Had a lovely stay; clean, well-stocked, convenient, very comfortable place. Loved patio with filtered ocean view and sunsets. Four mintue drive to downtown, Wharf and Marina. Quiet neighborhood, very relaxing.

Gracie!

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review