reviews for: listing #15840 - Kihei, Hawaii Condo rental

Ocean Breeze Hideaway Maui Oceanfront Condo
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Kihei
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $230 /nt
    $1,120 - $1,540 /wk

sort by:

Everything you need

Review submitted: June 18, 2014   Date of arrival: May 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Ocean Breeze Hideaway, it is a quite, relaxing place to stay. The only problem is there is no air con which can make it feel a bit hot and sticky, there are fans provided and leaving the door open gives a nice breeze. The condo is well equipped and the beds comfortable. Being on the ground floor it's nice to be able to walk out onto the grass area and pool. The 5 head shower is great.There is a decent Indian Restaurant in the building which is handy. The condo is well positioned for getting to most places. The owners reply quickly by email if you have any questions before you go and are at the end of the phone if needed. If we are lucky enough to revisit Maui we will return to Ocean Breeze Hideaway.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your time and effort in writing your great review. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and we look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family vacation

Review submitted: February 25, 2014   Date of arrival: February 9, 2014

My husband and I recently returned for our family vacation in Hawaii. We spent the first week in Maui for a business meeting prior to the kids joining us. It was great to get to know parts of the Island prior to their arrival. Menehune shores and the ground floor beachfront condo was a great location for all the activities we wanted to do. It was a convenient walk to town on the beach or on the street. Whale watching right out your front door and steps to the pool and beach. We returned to the rainy Washington weather and already want to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're delighted you and your family enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write your great review. We appreciate it, and hope to accommodate you again on a future stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

What an amazing condo in Maui

Review submitted: February 16, 2014   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

We stayed in this condo for 4 days and couldn't believe how amazing it was! The view was out of this world...the walk to the beach took a minute and it was centrally located to the things we wanted to do while visiting Maui. There was plenty of space for the 4 of us and the owners were helpful and responsive when I had questions. And when I found out we were leaving a day earlier than expected, they refunded us 1/2 a day. I would definitely stay here again and have already recommended it to several friends.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay, and sincerely appreciate your telling others about our condo. We hope to be able to accommodate you again. Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Mighty fine!

Review submitted: January 28, 2014   Date of arrival: January 10, 2014

Have stayed at this propery four times now over the last 9 years. The fact we keep coming back speaks for itself. The unit is tastefully decorated, functional, and well cared for. This location on the island is superb for virtually any activity one cares to engage in, and unless you're in a hammock it's tough to sleep any closer to the Pacific.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your great review! We're so happy to welcome you back on your fourth stay with us, and we look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We love Maui!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our two weeks in Maui were wonderful .... The condo was perfect. We always love ground floor locations, and this one was steps from the pool and the ocean. Every conceivable water toy, cooler, beach chair, boogie boards were at our disposal. Well equipped kitchen -- we appreciated the spices and condiments left behind. We added to the inventory. As a bonus, there's a wonderful Indian restaurant on site, which we enjoyed twice. We'd be happy to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for your wonderful review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at our oceanfront condo. Our heart's desire is to provide a beautiful, comfortable home away from home for our guests, with all the amenities needed for a memorable vacation. We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Breeze Hideaway: A Home in Paradise!

Review submitted: August 20, 2013   Date of arrival: August 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway. The condo was very clean and was in a beautiful spot. We had awesome sunsets every evening. It felt like home! Thanks Bob and Sande for a wonderful stay in Paradise!! Mahalo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent stay at Ocean Breeze Hideaway

Review submitted: May 12, 2013   Date of arrival: April 28, 2013

Great location within the complex. Easy access to pool, beach and BBQ area. Great for small children to play in the grassy area just off the lanai and to swim in calm lagoon right beside the complex. Location is right on the beach, with the ocean just a few steps from the lanai. It is a bit far away from restaurants and shops of Kihei, but only a short drive. The condo was equipped with all the needed supplies, including beach chairs, toys, umbrellas, coolers, etc. Owners were readily available if there were any issues arising during the stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A little slice of heaven on Maui

Review submitted: February 9, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We are a family of two adults and two small children and from the moment of our arrival we were captivated by this fantastic, clean, spacious and exceptionally well-equipped condo by the ocean. Everything was precisely as advertised and there were many little touches that helped make our stay even better - the large supply of towels and the ensuite laundry, for instance, and also the helpful guide to local restaurants. The resort itself is clean and quiet, the beach is perfect for little ones, and the location in Kihei can't be beat. Mahalo Bob and Sande!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An ideal vacation unit

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2012

What could be better than to be in a two bedroom condo on the beach on Maui? Everything was just as we had expected and even more. Sande and Bob are the ideal landlords, our every wish was answered promptly and with great pleasure. We would recommend this unit to everyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely perfect!

Review submitted: October 23, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

We had the most amazing time in the condo. We had all the comforts of home, the owners took every attention to detail. We loved the views from the condo, the sunsets were spectacular. The swimming and nearly deserted beaches were so lovely. The pool was so clean and warm! This is, by far, our favorite vacation destination and accommodation on the island of Maui.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent... thats all I can say!

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

The condo was in an excellent spot to all amenities, the pool was very clean and very well maintained (as all the grounds within the complex). being a ground floor condo the pool was within a stones throw and the tiny beach to the right a wonderful little spot. Bob and Sande were superb guests making sure we had everything we needed for our stay. The Condo was wonderfully clean and spacious and had the most fantastic view from the Lanai. I would recommend this condo to both my family and friends young or old. We had a truly fantastic holiday and would not hesitate in re booking the condo for our next visit.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are delighted that you enjoyed your home away from home and appreciate all the kind comments.
We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Stay in Kihei

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 13, 2012

They have everything you need. ground floor, so it takes seconds to be at the beach or pool. The pool area has a BBQ. The ceiling fans helped it stay nice and cool even when it was flat and hot out. plenty of towels and kitchenware. I cant think of anything bad to say, maybe the tv is small, but who is watching much tv on vacation.
Thank You Bob and Sandy

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

the texas gang

Review submitted: July 16, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2012

it was the most beautiful view you could ever ask for. Having breakfast every morning on the lanai with our best friends looking at the other end of the island and the ocean was magnificent. The condo was wonderful. We would end the evenings again on the lania with a nice cold drink and talking about what fun we had during the day and planning our next trip back.

We loved it, and will be back!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent location and facilities

Review submitted: August 1, 2011   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

The location of the condo was terrific providing easy access down south to Wailea, up north to Lahaina and out east to Paia and Hana. Our boys loved the pool and the small beach just outside the gate where they spent several early mornings looking for hermit crabs and shells. Being on the first floor of the condo made pool and beach access easy. Our family also enjoyed playing shuffle board located just outside the condo patio. Having the full kitchen made it easy to prepare breakfasts and dinners. The outdoor grill near the beach was perfect for grilling steaks. We appreciated the extra fans that were provided and the food cooler which we took to the beach one day. Overall it was a very relaxing and enjoyable vacation. Thanks again for providing such an excellent place to stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: We thank you for your kind comments. We hope to see you again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Beautiful relaxing location with a million dollar view

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: April 17, 2011

Our first time in Maui, we chose the Ocean Breeze Hideaway on recommendation from friends who had previously stayed at the condo. At first I was worried that we were a little far from the main part of town, but soon realized that it was only a few minutes by car and the location was quieter, with a long stretch of beach for morning walks.

Upon arrival, a bowl of fresh tropical fruit and a vase of flowers was there to welcome us. The condo is well outfitted, especially with lots of linens, towels and beach accessories. The in-suite laundry was very welcome after a day at the beach. The master bedroom has a queen bed, and faces onto the lanai and grounds; the 2nd bedroom has twin beds and is at the front of the condo. There are two full bathrooms, one with a bath and shower combo, and the other with a shower. The kitchen has full size appliances, plenty of dishes and small appliances, including a blender for making yummy tropical drinks. There were small amounts of some staples in the condo, but you may need to supply your own salt, pepper, sugar, plastic wrap, foil etc. unless the previous guests left some behind. I suggest bringing small packages of condiments etc. (ie from fast food restaurants) to avoid having to buy full size and throwing away any leftovers. We enjoyed breakfast on the lanai every day, and used the bbq's on several occasions for dinner. The common bbq area is very clean and well maintained, with picnic tables adjacent and overlooking the ocean. The grounds are immaculate, and the pool area is just a few steps from the lanai. We enjoyed many afternoons unwinding poolside before dinner.

The condo is not air conditioned but the ceiling fans and breezes kept us comfortable. We never found it too hot.

The adjacent beach is great for walking off those big breakfasts, but we preferred Kamaole for swimming etc. Wailea and Big Beach are a short drive (hint - take Piilani Hwy rather than S Kihei Rd to avoild traffic snarls), and Kam Beaches are only a few minutes from the condo (we preferred Kam 1). Shopping is close by, both along S Kihei Road and the Safeway mall on Piilani, where there's also an Outback steak house and other eateries. For golfers, there is a nice course also on Piilani, just a few minutes from the condo.

Bob and Sande were very helpful throughout the booking process and during our stay (just a phone call away if we needed anything). We very much enjoyed our stay at Ocean Breeze Hideawy, and hope to return.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Ocean Breeze . . . perfect location, great view and wonderful breezes!

Review submitted: June 26, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

We love our stays on Maui at Ocean Breeze Hideaway's Oceanfront Condo. The bang for the buck is tremendous!
The fully equipped condo is centrally located on Maui and the oceanfront location makes it the perfect starting point for daily adventures. Just hanging out at the condo is very relaxing. The owners have thought of everything to make our stays very comfortable. We really enjoy all the "stuff" provided by the condo owners that you need to enjoy the beaches of Maui ~ ~ beach towels, beach chairs, ice chest, umbrella, beach mats and even a huge selection of books to read.
The kitchen is perfect for fixing meals for when you want to eat in. From the condo lanai there are views of the West Maui Mountains and Maalalea Bay. The roof top deck is perfect for sunsets that last forever.
When you want to eat out, there are numerous very good restaurants within a 5 drive or a 15 minute stroll. A grocery store is near by........we love that convenience. We highly recommend you rent a car via the Ocean Breeze website. The car rental rates are great!

We can't wait to return. Thank you Sande & Bob for making your Maui home our Maui home-away-from-home! .See you next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review