reviews for: listing #158604vb - Nosara, Costa Rica rental

Playa Guiones Beachside Villa Tropical Paradise, Private path to Surf
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 210 - $ 465 / night
    $ 1,324 - $ 2,980 / week
  • sleeps  12
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Everything We Dreamed It Would Be

Review submitted: June 19, 2014   Date of arrival: June 8, 2014

I booked Villa Belitza for 8 night, and just arrived back home. There were 5 adults, 4 teens, and 1 baby in our group. First Hans is the best, he communicates ina timely fashion and he is so nice and easy to work with. He is the property's biggest asset! The house is everything you want it to be. Not once during our stay did we not have something we needed. We are low key and not terribly needy, but Ramon the caretaker was so pleasant and nice and helpful as well, even though we didnt need anything. The hosue was clean, it was safe, it was spacious, it was heaven! Nosara is a remote palce, and it is a tropical nature setting. So you get bugs and animals and mud and such....if you are expecting 5 star treatment stay at a resort to the north. Honestly and genuinly on a scale of 1-10 this place was a 10! My only worry is people will read this and want to book it and take the dates I want for next year! Thanks Hans!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Location

Review submitted: April 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 13, 2014

We rented Villa Belitza for ten days with two families (four adults and four teenagers). The villa is very comfortable with a nice pool and a great shaded outdoor space. The location is excellent, very close to the beach, surf shops, yoga studios and there are 10-20 restaurants within walking distance. Playa Guiones is a little off the beaten path, but is very beautiful and well worth the journey. It was one of the most relaxing vacations that we have ever had. Hans is a pleasure to deal with and is very responsive.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: March 10, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is the ideal place for any type of vacation. I stayed in one of the units for an extended weekend with my boyfriend, and we had a fabulous time. The house was beautiful, extremely clean, and in close proximity to the beach and town's shops/restaurants. The beach can be reached through a short, private pathway through the jungle - which was really cool. Also, the natural beauty of Nosara can be experienced within the privacy of the backyard. The pool, lounge chairs, and palapa, made the backyard feel like a private resort. Throughout our stay, we explored various restaurants, bars, and yoga classes - all within walking distance of the house. Overall, we had great time and will plan to stay here again if we return to Nosara.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Place in Guiones!

Review submitted: March 5, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2013

My friends and I planned a 2 week trip to Costa Rica and spent the first week in Guiones before heading further south to Santa Teresa for the second week of our trip. This place was absolutely amazing! Everything was clean and so well kept. The pool, private path to the beach, and all of the monkeys we saw made the experience really amazing. Having access to all three sections of the house was really awesome! It allowed us to spread out when it was time to get some rest after we'd all hung out together all day. The surf in Guiones was head high+ all week. Hans was a pleasure to work with. Thanks so much, we'll definitely be back!!! - Pura Vida

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect spot in Nosara!

Review submitted: January 9, 2014   Date of arrival: December 27, 2013

We just returned from a fantastic visit to Playa Guiones which was made all the better with a stay at Villa Belitza. The beautiful home was even better than expected from the description and photos. The private trail to the beach, plenty of room for two families, mid-week cleaning, availability of a cook to prepare a couple meals for our group; I really can't say enough about how perfect this home was. When sitting by the pool, you felt as if you were in your own private world. The surfers in our group were thrilled with the proximity to the beach and the availability of decent boards to rent within walking distance. One highlight of our stay was a midnight swim New Years Eve under fabulous stars and fireworks, surrounded by phosphorescence in the water. Truly magical! I would highly recommend Villa Belitza and the owners will make sure your stay is a great one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect place for beach lovers to stay

Review submitted: December 29, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

Our stay at Villa Belitza was amazing. The location can't be beat, walking distance to one of the most beautiful beaches with great swimming and surfing. We had two families traveling together and the property allowed us all to stay comfortably. The property was roomy, clean and Hans responded quickly to any inquiries we had. The pool was maintained well and and the gardens around it came with iguanas, parrots, and howler monkeys! We did not rent a car while we were at Villa Belizta and really did not need one since the location is so awesome. There are many restaurants, bars and shops within walking distance. We highly recommend Beach Dog Cafe, Harbor Reef and Campesinos. Plus if you don't want to go out, you can get pizza delivered from Il Basilico. The caretakers, Ramon and Magaly couldn't have been nicer and even prepared a fantastic lobster and fish dinner for us when we arrived Saturday. They also gave us some good local tips and arranged for transportation to and from a zip line adventure we had planned at Miss Sky. If at all interested in zip lining, do it at Miss Sky!! The morning adventure is best since it includes a hike to the waterfall. If you are looking for a fantastic trip to paradise, Villa Belitza is a great place to do it. We would definitely stay there again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great stay at Villa Belitza!

Review submitted: August 22, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

My buddies and I (six of us) just returned from renting a nine night stay at Villa Belitza. Everything was as described. We found the location perfect for a bunch of old surfers who once 30 years ago, camped on the ground, but now enjoy and can afford nicer settings. One of the best things is the proximity to the surf. With this prime location, anyone who wants to surf a dawn patrol can go and those who may wish to sleep in can do that as well. Other places require that everyone comes and goes as a group in a car or van. We chartered a half day fishing trip and came back with over thirty pounds of fresh wahoo, tuna, dorado and mackerel steaks and fillets. Needless to say, we ate like kings for the rest of the trip. The outside area was perfect as the large table meant poker every night and the other two tables put together made for alfresco dining. I brought over a dozen bottles of spices and left them there for others to use. I hope that becomes a tradition, because it really makes a difference when making all your meals at home. We only ate out the first and last nights, just a short walk to the Harbor Reef hotel and restaurant. The pool was an extra benefit, being able to shower off at the pool shower and plunge in after surfing was great. Hans was a good host, not having ever met him yet, but he was quick to come back to any e-mails with answers to my questions. The six of us plan to make another surf trip in 2015 and will certainly book Villa Belitza again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Back again!

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Villa Belitza? is the best vacation rental we came across in Nosara. This was our second time to Nosara and we liked Villa Belitza? so much we had to stay again. Coconut Harry's and Dog Beach Cafe down the road is all you need for great food and board rentals! The path to the beach makes it easy access to dawn patrol. Hans is a pleasure to work with and ?Villa Belitza? has everything you need for your next tropical paradise.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: This review was submitted by David Abbott (Albuquerque, NM) and not by us. We requested correction from VRBO, but they did not respond.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Location...Amazing outdoor living space

Review submitted: April 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

As a group of 10 we had a wonderful stay at Villa Belitza! The location couldn't have been better - very private. The pool, outdoor living space, wildlife, vegitation, and access to the beach was fantastic. Hans was great to work with and very helpful. He arranged a cook so that we had a traditional Costa Rican meal ready when we arrived. The food was so good that we asked them to prepare two other meals during our stay and the price was very affordable. One of the most relaxing vacations I've had in a long time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

beautiful home, incredible location

Review submitted: March 25, 2013   Date of arrival: March 16, 2013

amazing place. was wonderful, all help was great, and even better. Hans was very helpful!
was us with kids ages 2,4,6 and 9- met all our needs.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise is the only way to describe this place...

Review submitted: March 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

7 of us rented this lovely place for. 2 week hiatus from the Canadian winter. The pictures didn't really do it justice. The grounds and the pool are gorgeous, private, and provide direct access to the beach, which is a serious benefit. The service provided by the pool manager and the staff was great, including a home-cooked meal for 7 that could have fed 16.... We couldn't have been happier and look forward to many years of repeat visits!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a wonderful place!

Review submitted: September 19, 2012   Date of arrival: September 4, 2012

Fantastic place for a vacation! My wife and I have never been to Costa Rica before and thoroughly enjoyed our recent trip. This is such a beautiful country with very friendly people. We felt totally safe there. Villa Belitza was great and much more than we could have ever expected; beautiful, exactly as the pictures show, comfortable beds with memory foam pillow top mattress, very clean, quiet, extremely private and well maintained. We were there for a total of nine days. The area restaurants had some of the finest food we have ever had. Our next door neighbors at VB were surfers from Kauai and they said the surfing was terrific. The Villa has a new private pathway directly leading to the beautiful local beach from the back side of the pool. Sightseeing was fabulous and having a chance to see all the wildlife in such a beautiful tropical setting was beyond belief. We were there during the recent big earthquake (7.6 strength). With the length and force, we expected to see extensive damage to the house and pool but there was not even a tiny crack anywhere! The most that happened was a book fell on the floor, a nightstand drawer came open and then a cup on the nightstand fell into the open drawer. Earthquakes there are rare with the last big one happening over 50 years ago. The Costa Rican electric utility company had the power restored in about six hours which is much sooner than it usually takes our local St Louis power company to get the job done. Hans and his lovely wife Belitza treated us as family and took care of us as with everything we needed. We are looking foreword to returning soon and plan to make Villa Belitza our choice in the near future. I have been recommending Villa Belitza to everyone. 5+++ stars!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Place!!! I highly recommend Villa Belitza to anyone planning a trip to Costa Rica!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family and I had an amazing time at this beautiful and private Nosara beach home. We plan to make this an annual family trip and are so glad that we found this little gem. You will have a great time at this amazing home and enjoy the ultimate Costa Rican lifestyle with the large outdoor eating/entertaining area and pool. The surf was very good right out front while we were there and the sunsets were spectalular every night. Monkeys came across the trees on the outer edge of the property frequently and really made us feel like we were living in the rainforest, while being just a short walk from the beautiful Nosara beaches. Hans was a pleasure to work with and we are already planning our next trip, you will not regret staying here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Retreat Near Beach! Excellent location!

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: July 26, 2012

Everything exceeded our expectations! The place was well kept with a nice pool, relaxing hammocks, etc. Close walking distance to beach and cafes. Beautiful surroundings with monkeys climbing in the trees in the backyard. I will definitely stay here again

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Search around and get more for less!!!!

Review submitted: April 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

Hans was flexible regarding pricing before we arrived. That being said that was the end of the flexibility.
When we arrived the pool was dirty and cloudy, the floor of the master room was so dirty we actually swept up a baggy of debris including a needle. The coffee pot was left with coffee in it, the freezer in the other unit was frozen solid no room for nything. There were things that happened that were beyond the owners or managers control. The water heater went out the internet was being affected by the telco.
The house is not well kept you will find ripped screens, a very large chip in the pool tile, doors that do not close, the air conditioning is for the bedrooms only. There is no air conditioning in the living room which doesnt make for a comfortable stay. Doors that wont close or line up. Water pressure very low and shower heads very clogged.
Believe it or not I'm not really hard to please. The thing that bothered me most was Hnas response to our concerns after we arrived home. He would not take responsibility for any of the issues and was convinced that I was just trying to extort money from him.

Owners response: Isaac rented our house in February for 3 couples and 2 teenagers. His initial inquiry asked for a discounted rate which we extended. A few weeks prior to the arrival date he wanted to cancel the reservation if we didn’t discount another $800.00 from the confirmed reservation. At that time we should have let him cancel not knowing what kind of a character he would turn out to be. My wife and I were the last people staying at the house before the group’s arrival. Two units had already been cleaned and the “Master Suite” was about to be finished by the maids. We witnessed ourselves that every room was clean and ready for the guests. Also the pool was clean and clear. A brand new water heater which broke during our stay was replaced by early afternoon, which is the normal check-in time. During his 7 day stay, Isaac complained about 2 problems. After 2 days he called our property manager about the pool getting cloudy. She came right away with the pool guy. Within 2 hours the pool was ready to be used again. The second call was for a toilet they broke and a clogged shower head in the “Studio” which again was fixed and replaced right away. At this time the property manager observed that the couple took 2 blue ice packs out of the mini fridge’s freezer compartment in the “Studio”. Later she found out that they must have used a knife or another sharp object and cut the Freon line beyond any repair. Unfortunately we never asked for a security deposit from Isaac to get reimbursed for the $250.00 loss.The phone company replaced cables on the street and there was no phone and Internet service for 2 days. Our property manager was nice enough to lend him her personal mobile broadband USB stick. After his departure, Isaac send email saying that he was not pleased with his stay and in his own words asked me ”what I am going to do about it”.I politely apologized for any inconvenience and answered that we took care of the problems in an efficient and timely matter and offered him the same discounted rate for a future stay. In response I received another email threatening, in his words “leaving a realistic view on VRBO”. He send a pic showing dried leaves, dirt and paint chips from the pool deck,claiming his wife swept this up inside the “Master Suite”.This fabricated pic and the misrepresentations left in his review convinced me about his true intentions and I hope the readers of this review will see through this too. The group immediately afterwards left a 5-star review!

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Family

Review submitted: February 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 11, 2012

We stayed at Villa Belitza from 2-11-12 thru 2-20-12. It was a family trip to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary with my husband's mother, sister and family and nephew and fiancee. It was perfect for us having the individual units within the house and the common area where all doors lead out with the pool and the bbq and eating area. The house is as close as you can get to the beach-the jungle is right there with monkeys and other creatures coming upon the patio(totally harmless!). The house is an easy walk to the beach and to the Beach Dog Cafe as well as to the Harbor Reef Resort where many of our friends were staying. The house has wifi but while we were there it did not work in the Jr Suite. I think that can be corrected. We got a cook which is available upon request. That was the best decision we made. She prepared traditional CR food and went to cheaper markets in town to buy the groceries. She made enough for 2 meals a day. She was easy to talk to in my broken Spanish and it added some CR culture to our trip. Our friends who stayed elsewhere complained about the price of the food at the restaurants, which was equivalent or higher to California restaurant prices. The cook totally was intuitive and prepared for us what she thought we would like.We gave her a big tip! Would love to go back to Villa Belitza.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what I was looking for!

Review submitted: January 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

This place was awesome. The entire property can be rented out or you can rent one of the three "houses." My friends and I rented out the entire thing. The inside decoration and accomdation in general were great, but it was the "backyard" and pool area that really have my heart. It makes you feel very secluded and the scenery and the pool are just beautiful. It feels like you are in the jungle, and that is probably because you are. Everyday around sunset monkeys could be seen walking across the trees in the backyard. this was possibly my favorite part. Also, there is a very close little jungle walk to the beach, maybe 1/4 mile of total walking. This will take you to the main beach which surprisingly had really fun surf. I would recommend this place to anyone, from families, to couples, and friends. I had an amazing time and will definitely be visiting again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House, Great Location

Review submitted: January 7, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2008

Super nice house with pool, short walk to the beach. Great place to stay if you want to be able to surf or go to the beach. Would highly recommend to anyone. I'll be going back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Costa Rica!

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 4, 2007

Stayed here for a week back in 2007. It was awesome. Super close to the beach. have to drive a bit on a dirt road when coming from the airport, but after that you are in an awesome community, and a sweet house.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great beach house

Review submitted: December 24, 2011   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

I stayed at this Villa last summer. It was clean and excellently maintained. It was great to walk to the surf and come back to jump in the pool. We did not rent a car, so the convenience of the town and beach close by was excellent. I recommend it to anyone. Go and you'll have a great time!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Definitely going back

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 9, 2011

This house is amazing. Pretty much everything you could ask for and then some. Huge rooms and beds with air conditioners inside if you need to get out of the heat, outdoor pool with an outdoor shower and lounge chairs to relax on. Walking distance to great beaches with plenty of surf. Great to relax with friends, family and whoever else you want to bring along. Oh and there's a full kitchen and maid service to come clean up after you! Not to mention Playa Guiones is conveniently located very close to the newer Liberia airport which limits the very long drive to/from San Jose. There's plenty to do in and around Nosara/Playa Guiones...it is Costa Rica after all so you can't go wrong.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great getaway for the surf, sun and

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2009

In the mornings we were able to walk out to the beach and were greeted by good surf and sun at Playa Guinones. Afterwards we enjoyed ourselves relaxing by the pool and watching the monkeys climb by in the trees every afternoon.
We had a great time staying at Villa Belitza, everything was clean and well kept. We even did a canopy tour in Nosara one of the days that was amazing. I hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Surf trip 2011

Review submitted: August 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2011

We took this trip to celebrate a friend's 43 birthday. There were 9 of us in total and we had a blast. The house is clean and has a great set-up for hanging out after multiple surf sessions. We enjoyed the grill and outdoor area and were fortunate enough to catch a large tuna which made for a killer dinner. The house is well built and a short walk to the ocean and restaurants. We had vehicles rented which was nice to get to the other side of the town where a lot of the better restaurants are but still ate 2 meals a day at Casa Toucan which is money in the bank! We will return to Nosara and would rent this house again in a heartbeat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful home & great location

Review submitted: August 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 4, 2011

We stayed at Villa Belitza this past week and had the most amazing vacation. First of all, the house is beautiful, comfortable and provides pretty much everything you will need for your stay. There is a washer and dryer which was great for our large group. Having the pool was perfect, we brought pool floats (and left them at the house for the next guests to enjoy) and spent lazy days and nights in the pool. The backyard is beautiful with the landscaping and views of wildlife. It has a great location and is walking distance to:

Harbor Reef Hotel - great food and very friendly staff
Coconut Harry's - we took our surf lessons with them and also rented surf boards and chairs from them for the week
Beach Dog Cafe - unfortunately was under construction while we were there, but when they're open would probably be a great place to stop for lunch or breakfast burritos
Casa Toucan - fantastic for breakfast, lunch, dinner and drinks!
Mini Market - in town, but great for stocking up on snacks and drinks

It's also only a short walk to the beach and to town where you have additional shops and places to eat.

I would highly recommend staying at Villa Belitza. The property manager, Victor, was so amazing and helpful throughout our stay. The only minor complaint I would have was that the phone and Internet stopped working our second day there (we think due to a short power outage), so it made it a little tough to research places to eat and activities. However, Victor was so helpful and helped us make reservations with Miss Sky for a ziplining adventure and recommended several great restaurants. He went above and beyond what we expected and was so friendly! The mid week maid service was also a nice surprise we had forgotten about.

We can't wait to go back to Villa Belitza in the future!

A few tips/recommendations for future visitors:
Don't forget your flashlight as there is little street light on certain areas of the roads.
Make sure you make it to the beach for sunset.
Rent a car with 4WD for your trip into Nosara.
Try some activities like ziplining or a surf lesson.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2008   Date of arrival: July 18, 2008

Our stay at Villa Belitza was fantastic. We enjoyed seeing monkeys and parrots in the back yard and being so close to the beach. The swimming pool was awesome.The housekeepers were very kind and courteous. We can't wait to return!!! Dave Rosseau and family Melbourne Beach Fl.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review