reviews for: listing #16017 - Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia House rental

Rustic Cottage, 4 Bedrooms, WiFi, Terrace Level Gameroom
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  High Point
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $100 - $275 /nt
    $900 - $1,925 /wk

sort by:

August 2014 Stay at The Rustic Cottage

Review submitted: August 21, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

My immediate and extended family stayed at The Rustic Cottage for a week in August and to say we enjoyed ourselves would be an understatement. The house is clean and welcoming. All of the basic amenities were provided and then some. The game room especially provided entertainment when we had one day of rain. The house/property is big enough for everyone to spread out, but small enough to feel cozy. Our days were spent lounging on the docks by the lake, swimming and utilizing the game room...but one could also choose to sneak away for some reading or a nap without being disturbed. Our nights were spent in the main room, huddled around a fire, playing card games or watching movies together. It was truly the relaxing vacation we were all looking for. And as our week was winding down, we unanimously decided that we will be returning in 2015. Thank you, Dianne for sharing your wonderful home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Clean, Deep Water

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: June 21, 2014

We had a great time! We all loved staying at The Rustic Cottage and we swam a TON! Boating at SML was a wonderful experience. Clean deep water like that is hard to find. We sincerely enjoyed our vacation!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Had A Blast!

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

Thank you so much Dianne! We had a blast and everyone agreed, the house is beautiful and made for a perfect week. We would love to come back later on in the summer and definitely coming back again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend!

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

This wasn't my first stay at the Rustic Cottage and it definitely won't be my last. It was the perfect setting for celebrating a birthday weekend with friends. The floating dock was great for spending time by the water, and it was nice to have the paddleboat there to use, as well. When we wanted to take the fun inside, the pool table, air hockey, ping pong and foosball made it that much more exciting. My friends only wished that I had shown them this gem sooner. I look forward to coming back in the next couple months!

Owners response: Thank you for coming to The Rustic Cottage. It was our pleasure to host your perfect birthday weekend. We look forward to your next visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A great place to kick back for the weekend.

Review submitted: May 6, 2014   Date of arrival: May 2, 2014

A perfect location for a getaway. Great lake access with a quiet cove to give you all the relaxation you need. Fun activities in the house for once the sun has gone down.

Owners response: Thank you for coming. We have lots of guests tell us that they like our little cove and our terrace level gameroom. We hope to see YOU again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Overall nice.

Review submitted: April 29, 2014   Date of arrival: April 14, 2014

We found the cottage to be clean and in good order. We enjoyed the game room downstairs when we weren't fishing. There is not a ton to do if your not into the lake scene, so come prepared to relax. There is a grocery store fairly close by and a few eateries. We came for the fishing which was not one right after the other from the dock. We caught some black bass and a few pan fish, but that was about it. It may have been a little early in the season though to be fair. My only criticism is the sliding glass doors. We made a lot of trips from the cottage down to the lake and these doors are old and move very poorly. It is after all the "Rustic Cottage" so I guess expecting too much would be wrong. It was a good get away for my son and I, but my wife was a little bored. She did take an hour drive to the Roanoke mall, as this is the closest big city.
We were also able to take our Jack Russell Terrier, which was nice.

Owners response: Thank you for coming to The Rustic Cottage. So glad you got to get away and enjoy some family time together and with your little dog. Everyone seems to enjoy the terrace level game room and fishing in the lake. I will make sure those sliding glass doors are looked at to see if we can make them slide a little easier. You should make your next trip to Smith Mountain Lake during the summer when everything around the lake is booming. Thanks again for staying with us. Dianne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: April 25, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

Thank you for allowing us to stay at your house. We were all very happy with the accommodations and had a great time. The weather couldn't have been better!

I will keep your information here in case we decide to go to the same area again next year!

Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Property!

Review submitted: April 9, 2014   Date of arrival: April 4, 2014

We enjoyed very much our visit. The property is beautiful, nestled in the woods, sloping into a quite cove in the lake. It is near a marina, however the area is not highly commercialized...it is perfect for a quiet get away.

We saw several white tailed deer within feet of the cottage.
The home was very clean and had all of the necessities. There was no additional fee for linens as with other properties. The owners were very prompt in replies to questions we had.

We hope to be able to come again!

Owners response: Thank you for coming to stay at The Rustic Cottage. We try to be prompt in replying to all of our guests and provide them with all the necessities. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return visit! Dianne

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Fit

Review submitted: March 17, 2014   Date of arrival: March 14, 2014

Dianne,


Thank you so much for a perfect long weekend! The house was beautiful and a great fit for our group. I hope you find everything the way it was.




Thanks again,

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Birthday Weekend

Review submitted: March 11, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We had a wonderful time. Hopefully we can return soon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope To Come Again

Review submitted: December 20, 2013   Date of arrival: December 13, 2013

Dianne,

Thank you again for the use of your beautiful home. We left everything as stated in the book and hope to return again in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Weekend

Review submitted: December 3, 2013   Date of arrival: November 27, 2013

Thanks Dianne. The house was wonderful and we enjoyed the Smith Mtn Lake area, including stopping at the local vineyard open house on Saturday! It was special to reconnect with my brother and sister-in-law and their family plus the added bonus of our daughter and son-in-law from Chicago.

A lovely weekend --

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Weekend on Smith Mountain Lake!

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: November 1, 2013

We loved the property. It was very clean and better than our expectations. The only issue we had was that it had a very strong dog odor, mostly in the upstairs master bedroom (on the carpet). The home was otherwise maintained well. My encouragement would be to replace the carpeting, due to the odor.

Owners response: Thank you for coming to The Rustic Cottage. We get a lot of LU parents. Until this review, we were unaware of any dog odor in the house. We pride ourselves on a clean, clean house. We will get the problem taken care of right away! Thanks for letting us know. Dianne

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wedding Planning Retreat

Review submitted: November 6, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Thank you so much Dianne, it was lovely! It was just the kind of rest and relaxation we needed in the midst of all the wedding planning. The place was gorgeous and we truly loved it. Thank you so much again. We would stay there again in a heartbeat :)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Memorable Time

Review submitted: November 3, 2013   Date of arrival: October 24, 2013

Thank you for letting us stay at your cottage. We had memorable time. Visited several local wineries, Smith Mountain Lake Park and went to Gross' apple orchard. Also did some fishing off the pier but did not have much luck. We will be visiting again next year in the fall. We did not look forward to coming back to the City after seeing how quiet it is at the Lake. You will be hearing from us again next year as we will make arrangements to come back to Smith Mountain Lake.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cozy Interior

Review submitted: October 15, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Hi Dianne,

We had a fantastic time over the weekend! Even with the rain, everyone enjoyed the beautiful location and the cozy interior of your home. We are definitely interested in renting your home for a week in August 2014.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House Worked Great!

Review submitted: September 30, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

We had a great time staying at SML over the weekend! The house worked great - there was plenty of room, and we're looking forward to booking with you guys again in the future. We're thinking a weekend get away or two in the future.

Thank you so much for your hospitality and for allowing us to stay in your vacation home over the weekend!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Weeks Next Time

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 12, 2013

We truly enjoyed ourselves in your home. The kids enjoyed the game room and swimming off the docks. This our first time ever coming to Smith Mountain Lake and we have already decided we are definitely returning next year. Hopefully we will be able to stay TWO weeks next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'll Be Back!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 15, 2013

Another wonderful time at Smith Mountain Lake!! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spacious!

Review submitted: August 7, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

House was spacious and game room is great! Good location and always something to do. Will definitely return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Definitely Coming Back

Review submitted: July 12, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

We had a great time at the house. The kids didn't want to leave. We are definitely coming back next year.

Thank you again for allowing us to rent your home

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Vacation

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Thank you for a wonderful stay! We had a great vacation! God bless you and your family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous Time!!!

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 22, 2013

Thank you for letting us rent your home for the week. We all had a fabulous time!! Had a pretty good storm blow threw

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cove Was Perfect!

Review submitted: June 3, 2013   Date of arrival: May 31, 2013

We had an incredible time and thank you very much for allowing us to stay there for the weekend. The cove where the lake house was located was perfect for our weekend and the paddle boat was so much fun to ride around in. Thank you! We are already talking about coming back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a treat! We're coming back!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

We only have amazing things to say about this place! We needed a place big enough to accommodate 8 people (our boys ages 14, 12, 10 and 7 month old baby, my In-laws, my husband and I) and this house was perfect for us. There was more than enough beds but we would recommend bringing an extra pillow if you like two because each bed only had one.
There was plenty to do for everyone. From the basement game room with pool, ping pong, foosball and air-hockey to the water front access for fishing, swimming and relaxing on the dock. The paddle boat was a fun and unexpected surprise and was enjoyed by the boys for fishing.
The kitchen was fully stocked with all the cook ware needed to cook a full meal and the central air conditioning worked well to cool down the upstairs.
There are a couple of stores close by including a grocery store so you don't have to worry about dragging a lot of stuff with you (like we did). We tried Lago pizza on Friday night which was good.
We had a blast and are already making plans to come back again!

Owners response: We are so happy that you and your family had a great time at The Rustic Cottage. It is our goal to help you and your family have the best Smith Mountain Lake vacation possible. We thought there were some extra pillows in the closet and will certainly check on that and having extra pillows available. Please let us know when you are ready to return. We will be ready to host you and your family again! Thanks so much!! Dianne and Fred

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Are Coming Back!

Review submitted: May 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 3, 2013

We had a terrific time and look forward to doing it again. Thanks.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Spot

Review submitted: May 2, 2013   Date of arrival: April 8, 2013

This was the perfect spot for 8 golfers to hangout! The cove is beautiful. We all had a fantastic time and the weather was perfect Friday thru Monday.

Thanks for sharing your cabin.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House Was Perfect!

Review submitted: April 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 26, 2013

Dianne,
I just wanted to let you know the house was perfect for our weekend. Thank you for the extra time, we really appreciated it. Hopefully, we will be able to stay there again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Are Coming Back!

Review submitted: April 24, 2013   Date of arrival: April 19, 2013

Dianne,

They guys had a great time!!! They are already talking about coming back next year!!

We are thinking of making a family trip there possible over the summer too! I really appreciate the availability and all the help getting the guys settled in!

Everyone said the place was great and just right!

Thanks again and we look forward to revisiting!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Thanks for sharing your lake house. We had a great time despite rain one day. The kids loved all the games downstairs...pool, air hockey, and table tennis! A few tournaments were won and lost to great fanfare! We are looking at lake proprieties for ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Suited Our Needs

Review submitted: March 26, 2013   Date of arrival: March 22, 2013

Thanks so much! We enjoyed our stay. The cabin was lovely and suited our needs perfectly!

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: March 4, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for allowing us to enjoy your beautiful home!! It was such a peaceful and relaxing weekend, with a lil play time in the game room, I am the air hockey champ!!! We will definitely be coming back in the future, hopefully for more than a weekend! Thank you again, and your home is beautiful!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

Thank you! The place was perfect and we really enjoyed our time there.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful!

Review submitted: January 16, 2013   Date of arrival: January 3, 2013

Thank you for letting us stay, it was really beautiful!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Accomodations

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Thank you for a beautiful place to stay at SML. The accomodations were exceptional and we look forward to coming back. The Russells (Burlington, NC)

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 30, 2012

We had a wonderful time, thank you so much for letting us stay in your wonderful cottage. We will definitely be back one day!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Enjoyable!

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: October 18, 2012

Dianne, We did have a great time of R&R this past weekend. The cabin suited exactly what we needed. All went well and was very enjoyable!

Thank-you, Ruth

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Can't Wait To Come Back

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: September 28, 2012

Had the "best" time here this weekend. Having 4 children and no wifi is usually an issue...but not here! There was so much for them to do. Fishing, swimming, and paddle boat was where they spent 90% of their time and happy to do so. Quiet, peaceful, and not to mention absolutely gorgeous sitting outside on the deck! We have all agreed this is going to be where we take summer vacation now instead of Outer Banks.

Thank you so much for having such a great little piece of heaven and for sharing that. Can't wait to come back and stay for a week or two!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thoroughly Enjoyed Our Visit

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 7, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our visit to SML! Thank you!! Also, I wanted to say how much I appreciated the children's books you had on your book shelf. Our 5 yr old daughter was very happy to find them, and read them many times during the week. It was a pleasure for all of us since most of them were new to her.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Will Definitely Recommend

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: August 31, 2012

Thank you! We had a great time and will definitely recommend it to our friends! Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very Relaxing

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 25, 2012

We had a nice time at SML. Very relaxing and refreshing which is what we needed.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fun Week

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: August 11, 2012

Although our week was short, it was fun! The State Park was great and the Homestead Creamery was amazing! We enjoyed our SML stay! We agree with others that the washer is quite small. But other than that it has been great. (Note from owners: we plan to replace the washer this fall with one with a larger load capacity).

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beautiful Lake House!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We enjoyed our week here. The house was very clean and comfortable. Beautiful weather!
We went boating and fishing every day. We also hiked at SML State Park and at Peaks of Otter. What a great vacation! Saw a little bear cub crossing the road at SML State Park.

This is a beautiful lake house!

Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sharing Info About The Rustic Cottage

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 8, 2012

Hello Dianne- one of my co-workers had a friend who stayed at your cottage at SML and had a wonderful time. I was sent the link and I can see why. I am interested in renting the cottage. Can you please let me know the availability as well as cost and amenities of the cottage per night?

Thanks and I look forward to hearing from you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Never Had A Better Time

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

Guestbook Review from a child guest.

I have never had a better time than this. I got all the things I wanted. I got to play pool, and air hockey, and pingpong, and also foseball. It was the best week I have had.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Memories

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: August 1, 2012

We were here since Monday and had a great time. The place was beautiful and spacious. The place had everything we needed. Thank you so much for the use of your place. My family and my Mom had a great time and made some great memories.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Quiet and Peaceful

Review submitted: August 3, 2012   Date of arrival: July 25, 2012

Dianne: We enjoyed your home so much during our stay. It was quiet and peaceful. We especially enjoyed the game room, watching the fish at the dock, and our visit to the nearby vineyard. This was a much needed getaway for us and I am sure we will be back! We wish the weather would have cooperated a little more so we could have spent more time outside, but there was a positive side to that too. Hearing the rain at night definitely made for a peaceful nights sleep! Thanks again for sharing your home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Fishing Vacation Ever!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Diane, we had a wonderful time this past week! The weather was not great, be we got by. We had two or three pretty bad storms in the middle of the day, with some lightning real close. But we never lost power. My son and I had the best fishing vacation ever!!! We caught 17 Stripers!! That is the best I have ever caught in one week!! I will get the fish pictures to you as soon as I can. Thanks for letting us stay at your cottage.!! Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

not as nice as the pictures

Review submitted: July 26, 2012   Date of arrival: July 14, 2012

Our family enjoyed the lake but can't say as much for the house. It looked good in the pictures provided online but looks were deceiving. The house needs alot of work especially in the basement. There was alot of mold and termite damage in the basement that was very visible and odorable. The beds were so uncomfortable that we had to purchase eggcrates for all of them to sleep. The curtain upstairs was so light in color that the neighbors light shined through it all night. The shower from upstairs leaked water to the downstairs but was fixed while we were staying there. There were ants in the downstairs bathroom. The steps leading down to the boat dock were so uneven and on a steep hill without a handrail that my mother in law had to call it short week and return home because she was unable to make it down there, back and forth. It would have been alot nicer if we had access to the boat house so we could store fishing poles, tubes and such so we didn't have to carry them back and forth. The cleanliness of the house was all but that. The floors were filthy from the time we arrived there and the rugs on the floor looked like they had never been cleaned. It's a shame because it was nicely decorated but needed a little more upkeep and cleaning. Like I said at the beginning don't go by the pictures provided online. Those must have been taken years ago because it didn't get in this horrible shape overnight! Very disappointed!

Owners response: I was very surprised by this review. We stopped by the house on the Saturday afternoon, shortly after these guests had arrived. We were there to replace the broken air hockey table and the guests had arrived a little early and were getting settled in. While the guys were putting together the new table in the basement game room, I chatted with the guests several different times inside the house for the hour or so we were there. The house smelled and appeared to be very clean. Each guest was very complimentary of the house and never once mentioned any uncleanliness or problems. In fact, I thought they went into great detail telling me how nice everything was and how they had stopped by earlier in the year when they were in the area to check out the house and neighborhood.
I received a call from the guest at 10:30pm on Wednesday evening letting me know that there was a problem with the drain in the upstairs shower. We had a very pleasant conversation and everyone seemed to be having a great time. I promptly called my plumber at 8am the next morning and the dispatcher gave me a 2pm appointment. I called the guests and let them know about the plumber appointment and to make sure it was okay for the plumber to enter the house. The guest was very nice, told me that they would probably be out on the lake, and we chatted about the things they had been doing and the fun they were having. After the plumber left, I called the guest again to let them know the problem was fixed. Not once did the guest mention any of the problems in the review.
I take all reviews very seriously and will personally be checking on each unsatisfactory item mentioned in this post. Since I actually talked to this guest on several occasions and even received a nice email from them on Thursday evening and NONE of these problems were EVER mentioned, I feel as this negative review came out of left field. I can only ask future guests to read several of the other reviews and see how many, many other guests and repeat guests have left with very positive impressions of The Rustic Cottage. Thank you. Dianne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Just what we needed and some!

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

Hello! We are sad to be "home"
We had a wonderful time and enjoyed your lovely home!
Did you decorate? LOVE IT!!

We are looking at renting around my birthday!

Thank you!
Jamie and Steven


Well maintained lake home.
Plenty of linens and dishes
We loved the deck off the master bedroom!
Surprised how close it was to the boat ramp
Great spot with no boat traffic
Anyone looking for live bait, under the far side of the bridge across from the boat ramp. ;)

Owners response: We are so glad you had a great time and found The Rustic Cottage to meet your needs. We work hard at maintaining our home and look forward to your return. Thanks for coming. Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Just Love It Down Here!

Review submitted: July 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

Thank you so much for the use of your home this week. The week has been very relaxing and the weather was great! We enjoyed the daily visits from the gray cat & ducks. We just love it down here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What A Treasure!

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

We had a blissful vacation at SML. The house fit our needs nicely and the weather was wonderful. What a treasure this area is at times we felt like we had the lake to ourselves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

So Sad Our Week Has Ended

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Thank you for sharing your lake house with us this week. It is beautiful. We have enjoyed it and are sad our week is ending now. The house, gameroom, beautiful view, and peaceful time were well needed and enjoyed. The boat and jet ski rental were great too, and added to the fun times we have had this week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Needed Break from School

Review submitted: June 28, 2012   Date of arrival: April 27, 2012

We can't thank you enough for letting us rent for the weekend. It was a much needed break from school right before finals. The house is absolutely beautiful and we all had a wonderful time! We hope we can come back for years to come.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect

Review submitted: June 27, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

My Brother, His Wife their 2 year old, My Oldest Brother and I stayed at the house. It was for my Dad's wedding, we had a blast at the house. My Neice Loved the Staris--We got quite the workout going up and down with her. My Brother and Sister in Law Loved the game tables.
My favortie part was going down to the lake with a book and a chair and sat out in the quiet by the water reading.
We hope to come back sometime to stay longer and enjoy the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming Lauri. We are glad you had a great time at The Rustic Cottage. We look forward to hosting you again. Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Something for Everyone

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: June 9, 2012

What a beautiful setting for a family vacation! The lake was fabulous, as was your home. Everyone was very comfortable and totally happy, both young and old alike. We all had great fun on the pontoon boat which we rented for the week. The guys loved fishing off the dock and the gals loved shopping at the local antique mall. We all adored the friendly gray cat from next door. We had a cute raccoon visit our deck each evening and saw lots of deer, squirrels and bunnies in the area. Smith Mountain itself is beautiful, as is the lake. Your home was a perfect place for our family to enjoy being together in a lovely and relaxing location.

The Donahue and Albino Families
from Tennessee and Maryland

Owners response: We are so glad that you had a great vacation at The Rustic Cottage. We agree that this is the perfect place for families to enjoy being together. Thank you for coming. We hope to host you again. Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place to stay

Review submitted: June 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. Beautiful location on the lake...lots of entertainment options in the basement...great porches and atmosphere outside. Good stuff.

Owners response: We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We agree that the location is beautiful. The basement gameroom seems to be a "hit" with all of our guests. We look forward to hosting you again. Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A+++++

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 10, 2012

We just returned today from a wonderful stay at the Rustic Cottage. Oftentimes pictures make rooms look more spacious than they really are - I would have to say in this case the opposite is true. The rooms were very spacious, the house was extremely clean and well kept, the game tables in the basement were added fun, the surroundings were peaceful, the deck was delightful. There was a Food Lion 8 minutes away for stocking up on food. Dianne was extremely prompt in answering any questions I had, and very graciously allowed me to change my mind twice about bringing our pet. I highly recommend this house!! Thanks Dianne - it was great! :-)

Owners response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Rustic Cottage. We try to give all our guests "red carpet treatment". Everyone loves the basement gameroom and the surroundings are very peaceful. We hope to see again! Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Lovely lake cabin

Review submitted: April 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 6, 2012

The owner was very accommodating in allowing us a last minute rental and in arranging for us to arrive the next day. The cabin was spotless, with an ample supply of sheets and towels. The setting was beautiful, right next to the lake with its own jetty. The children really enjoyed the games room and we also went out each day on the pedalo, and the children swam in the lake ( they had their shortie wetsuits on mind you!) The weather co-operated wonderfully and we were able to visit the surrounding area. One suggestion is that there was only enough cutlery for 1 place setting each (for 6 of us) with 1 fork short, which meant for a lot of washing up, so more cutlery might be a good idea. Other than that very minor point it was great, good value for money, and we really appreciated the visit and would highly recommend to others.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the kind review. We try hard to please all of our guests. While we have no idea what happened to the missing fork, we have purchased a brand new set of silverware. Everyone seems to enjoy the game room and pedal boat. We hope you get to come gain. We love having guests like you. Dianne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

All that and more

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

We found this place to be all that it promised and more! Looked just like the pics on line. Clean, decorated just the right amount without being cluttered or hard to clean and maintain, wonderful little "cabin touches". Kitchen very well stocked. Furniture in living area did not feel or appear grungy and comfortable to relax on. Beds comfy and I liked having the option to use the sheets, wash, and put away. Grill was reliable, and gas there in a back up tank. House and land were easily negotiable by my elderly parents who were with us. Owner was great to work with us for a last minute rental. Don't want to make it sound tooo good in case you want to use it the same weekend we will, cause we definitely plan to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful House

Review submitted: March 12, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2012

Hi Dianne,

I couldn't speak more highly of your lovely home. Thank you so much for renting it out! The view was amazing, and the house was wonderful. I'll look through our pictures and try to find some good ones to post!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Exactly what we needed

Review submitted: February 26, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

The place was perfect for us. It had everything you could possibly need from the kitchen to the game room down stairs. Which by the way was a big hit with our family! Thank you so much Dianne for the use of your place and for the quick responses to our questions. It truly was a memorable week that my family truly enjoyed and my mom too! I would recommend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for coming. I know it was a LONG way from upstate New York. Yes, our basement gameroom has been a hit with all our guests. Hopefully, you will visit us again. Dianne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Lake Getaway

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

This home was the perfect choice for our weekend away. We had four adults and four children--plenty of space for all! And the kids lived in the game room. It was lovely to have some quiet adult time upstairs. The owner was fantastic about our last-minute booking, answering all emails promptly and even recommending some local restaurants. The home was clean and had everything we needed. The kitchen was very well stocked. The view was beautiful, and we got to enjoy the lake on a warm day, and then see the trees covered in snow. Grocery stores and restaurants are very close by. We would definitely recommend this property to other families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for coming to beautiful Smith Mountain Lake. We try to answer all guests questions in a timely manner and help everyone have the best getaway or vacation possible. Hope to see you again!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Delightful Snow

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 18, 2012

We had a wonderful time, and the snow was a delight...what a beautiful sight to see it falling over the lake! Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Coming Back This Summer

Review submitted: January 3, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Thank you so much! We had a great time(New Years Weekend). Already making plans to come back in the summer!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Rustic Cottage

Review submitted: December 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

We had an absolute wonderful time! The house was even nicer than pictured and the lake views are beautiful. We used the house for a family Christmas get together on one day of our trip and there were 20 people there at one time. There was more than enough room for everyone to visit and the kids throroughly enjoyed the game room all day, which worked out wonderfully because it was cold and rainy all day.

Absolutely a wonderful property to stay in at any time of the year. We will definitely return, hopefully this time in the summer so we can use the lake and the paddle boat!

Owners response: Thank you for coming and spending your Christmas holiday with us. We are delighted that your family enjoyed their get-together for one day of your trip. Everyone that comes seems to enjoy the basement gameroom with the pool table, ping pong, air hockey, and fooz ball tables. We look forward to hosting you again in the summer!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Cozy Little Cottage

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 11, 2011

Thank you so much! We had a great time here. It is a very nice cottage. The nature is beautiful.

I'd like to thank you for your thoughtfulness when it comes to your guests. There are some little details that felt nice to have: Flashlights, kitchen gadgets. The design is very nice, too. (I mean the interior design).

The paddle boat was lots of fun. The game room is fun. The books, puzzles, kids' books, banana letter game were a nice touch.

We would like to come back in summer. And we will surely share information about this cozy little cottage with our family and friends.

Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Thanksgiving!

Review submitted: December 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

We had a great time celebrating Thanksgiving here. The weather was perfect and we really enjoyed watching the sunset from the deck, and even took the paddle boat out for a bit. We also had a blast in the game room - played a lot of pool and ping pong! The one small improvement we would make would be coat hangers - there were only two for the whole house!

Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments, Lindsey. Coat hangers seem to grow legs and walk away...but we will get some more put in all the closets. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to hosting you again. Dianne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What A Sweet Cottage

Review submitted: November 22, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

What a sweet cottage! Even though we can't swim and boat etc...it has been exceptionally lovely with the fall colors, mountain views, and sunlit lake.

We missed the chili festival because...really...why would anyone want to leave such a quaint little cove. Looking forward to the the warm fire tonight.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Martinsville Race Weekend

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We had a wonderful time! Your home had everything we could possibly want or need and the location was great. We are already talking about renting for next summer. Thank you. (Lansdale, PA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Pre-Deployment Family Get Together

Review submitted: October 20, 2011   Date of arrival: October 6, 2011

We had a lovely weekend with our family at you lake house. We always like to get together before we ship one off to deployment (this is our family's 8th war deployment and hopefully our last). It was a very relaxing weekend. The pool table was very busy! Our granddaughter liked the paddleboat.

Everyone would like to return for a longer stay so maybe we will be back at the end of this deployment.

I also told my boss about our stay. He is think about getting together with his grown children for a fishing vacation.

Thank you.

Carole (New Bern, NC)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Honeymoon

Review submitted: October 17, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

Thank you for letting us stay at your wonderful home! We enjoyed the visit, and especially appreciated the paddle boat and all the games downstairs.

Thank you!

Nick & M (Tobyhanna, PA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous for a Family Getaway

Review submitted: October 7, 2011   Date of arrival: October 3, 2011

We had a fabulous time at "The Rustic Cottage" and enjoyed every minute! Looking forward to being back again next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We are so glad you had such a good time and we look forward to hosting you again next year. Thanks for coming! Dianne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place To Relax

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

Dianne,

Thank you once again for everything!!!

It was a perfect place to relax...

The boys and I had a great time and enjoyed your wonderful place...

We did the laundry and made sure the house was cleaned and free of any trash.

Thank you once again,

Chris (Newport News, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Cabin Was Great!

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: September 11, 2011

Your cabin is great. We were able to relax and have an enjoyable time. (Fredericksburg, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Water Was Wonderful!!

Review submitted: September 12, 2011   Date of arrival: August 28, 2011

The water was wonderful!! Our grandchildren spent all their time in the water. We had a great time. Thanks for the opportunity. (Petersburg, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

YouTube Video of Great Time at SML

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Dianne...we had a great time and posted a youtube video of our dog, Sawyer, enjoying Smith Mountain Lake. The video has been posted on your Facebook Page - The Rustic Cottage. Thanks, Bob (Alexandria, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Rented Two Lake Houses

Review submitted: August 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Hi Dianne and Fred,

All 22 of us had a wonderful time and the concensus is that we will definitely do Smith Mountain again. The house on Lakewood and yours were easily accessable from dock to dock. The paddle boat was a great taxi and got used consistently rather than walk or drive, however, the younger ones swam back and forth a lot. Lakewood house had a great covered dock and it held the entire older generation while the young ones swam and dove to their hearts content.

Your place is a great vacation cottage,and we truly enjoyed our stay. Our son with 5 children and one on the way thinks your place would be perfect for his family by themselves, sometime in the coming years, for a dream vacation.

Thanks so much! Joyce (Cary, North Carolina)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Just wanted you to know that we enjoyed our stay at the Rustic Cottage. (Warrenton, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 11, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We just got here and we are already having so much fun! We got here, threw on our bathing suits, and jumped into the water. We came here last year and HAD to come back again this year. It is a great place to come and relax. (Newport News, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 18, 2011

We LOVED everything about our stay here, literally everything! The game room, the lake, the bedrooms, the little boat...EVERYTHING!! We came here with my family, my Mom, Dad, Grandma, Grandpa, my 2 brothers, and my sister. My siblings and I went in the lake everyday. Thank you very much!! It was awesome. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 23, 2009

Our 2nd time here - everything familiar. Appreciated the upgraded kitchen and improved treads going to the basement. The hammock was a real nice addition. We enjoyed our stay and it was exactly what we needed in a vacation. (from Cental New York)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We had such a great time. Your cabin was perfect. Loved the wooded setting and the dock. Rented a boat and went watersksiing, tubing, fishing. SML is a beautiful area and we are already talking about coming back again next summer at the same time. Hopefully your cabin will be available again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 9, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We had such a great time. Your cabin was perfect. Loved the wooded setting and the dock. Rented a boat and went watersksiing, tubing, fishing. SML is a beautiful area and we are already talking about coming back again next summer at the same time. Hopefully your cabin will be available again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 13, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. The games in the basement are nice and we enjoyed the paddle boat and the lake. It is a good size house in a great location. (Portsmouth, VA)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 30, 2011

We washed and dried the sheets and towels and folded them before leaving. We enjoyed your beautiful home. Thanks again. (Roanoke, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

We enjoyed our stay. You have a very nice house on the lake. Thank you again. (Florence, SC)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Coming Back Next Spring

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I just wanted to follow up after our stay in your vacation rental. Everyone had a good time and the place was what we expected based on the website. All in all, it was a fine house. My family enjoyed our stay. We would certainly stay again and hopefully we will do this trip again next spring. Until then, thank you and God bless.

Owners response: We are so glad that you and your family had a good time at The Rustic Cottage. We hope you enjoyed our newly remodeled kitchen and look forward to hosting you again next spring.

Thanks for coming. Dianne & Fred

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 16, 2011

I just wanted to follow up after our stay in your vacation rental. Everyone had a good time and the place was what we expected based on the website. All in all, it was a fine house. My family enjoyed our stay. We would certainly stay again and hopefully we will do this trip again next spring. Until then, thank you and God bless. (Ruther Glen, VA)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We all enjoyed our relaxing stay at your cabin. Catherine (Fayetteville, NC)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: December 31, 2010

We all had a relaxing stay at your cabin! Catherine, Fayetteville, NC

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

We had a great time at the rustic cottage. We had great weather and the trees were so colorful. Only wish the fish were biting! Maybe next time. We had a great time and would to come back again! Thank you for letting us stay at your SML home. Tammy (Angier, NC)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 21, 2010

We had a great time at the rustic cottage. We had great weather and the trees were so colorful...only wish the fish were biting. Maybe next time! We had a great time and would love to come back again! Thank you for letting us stay at your SML home. Tammy (Angier, NC)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

We had a great time. The house had everything we needed and the location was great. We will definitely consider coming back again next year. (Newport News, VA)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a blast!

Review submitted: September 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

Thank you! We had a blast. We will definitely be back. (Crozet, Va)

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

This location was a halfway point between our Rhode Island and Illinois families. The cottage was great. We found ourselves in the lake several hours a day to escape the heat. We all had fun in the game room - mostly playing pool. The accomodations were perfect for our group of 8. Our first trip to SML will be remembered.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for Sharing

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 9, 2010

Thank you for sharing your cottage. We enjoyed the lake and the wonderful view. (Shepherdstown, WV)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Incredible Satisfaction

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

I found you at Home Away on the internet simply by choosing the home with the most reviews. Just reading a few, I knew it was right, and now I know it was righter than right. This was my first visit to SML and your accomodations were exactly the dream I had of it, made real. Thank you kindly for the incredible satisfaction and all you offer those of us who visit, hopefully, again and again! Cheers, Jonathan (Newport News, Va)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Location

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 24, 2010

This location was a halfway point between our Rhode Island and Illinois family. The cottage was great. We found ourselves in the lake several hours a day to escape the heat. We all had fun in the game room - mostly playing pool. The accommodations were perfect for our group of 8. Our first trip to SML will be remembered.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks for Sharing

Review submitted: August 17, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

Thank you for sharing your cottage. We enjoyed the lake and the wonderful view. (Shepherdstown, WV)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review