reviews for: listing #16114 - Wintergreen, Virginia House rental

Hot Tub/Steps to Eagles Swoop/WiFi/Grill/Ski In/Guest Pass
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Wintergreen Resort
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $450 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,300 /wk

sort by:

Great Getaway

Review submitted: January 6, 2014   Date of arrival: December 18, 2013

Perfect location.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We were so happy to have you stay with us. We hope to see you all again!

Happy New Year!
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fall Foilage

Review submitted: October 22, 2013   Date of arrival: October 18, 2013

Our stay at Eagle's Swoop was fantastic. We spent the days hiking and visiting the local arts, wineries and breweries. Our evenings were very relaxing in front of the fireplace and soaking in the hot tub in the cool, crisp air. The beds were very comfortable and kept us rested for the next day's events. We would definitely return to Eagle's Swoop!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We really appreciate how well you took care of our home!! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Summer at Wintergreen

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Eagle's Nest. This home is ideally located to enjoy the tremendous amenities at Wintergreen. It is well maintained, cozy and has everything you need for your stay. The owners, Deb & Joe, made sure that we had everything we needed and were extremely fast to respond whenever we contacted them.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hi Michelle,

Thank you so much for your review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you again soon.

Take care,
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Charlottesville Skiiers

Review submitted: March 12, 2013   Date of arrival: March 6, 2013

Very nice house, and great access to Eagle Swoop. Well equipped kitchen, and lots of games and things to do if you get stuck inside due to weather, like we did!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

wonderful adult weekend getaway!

Review submitted: March 11, 2013   Date of arrival: March 1, 2013

The home was perfect.! Location was awesome, walked right onto slope! The home was a perfect size for us and the updated bathrooms were lovely. Plenty of movies, condiments, and the Wii with games was a plus! No compaints and the home was just as decribed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Presidential Stay

Review submitted: February 19, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

A fantabulous weekend with snow to top it off! Our family enjoyed our stay with cozy accomodations and great access to the slopes. The fireplace, leather couches, and choice of movie classics really close out a perfect day on the slopes. A soak in the hottub really brought out the kinks too! Eagles Nest is a home away from home. The daughter had her own loft and computer access to keep up with fb friends, while mom and I enjoyed relaxing by the fire. The walk to the slopes was about 25yds (much shorter than the parking lot) and with the snow we received, we were able to ski right to the house! We highly recommend a stay here. Clean, Cozy, and quick access to everything, even the store is less than a mile down the hill for that one item you forgot to pack! We will be back!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: You all are the perfect guests!! We hope to see you again soon. Thank you so much for staying with us an enjoying our home at Wintergreen!

Take care,
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review of Eagle's Nest

Review submitted: February 7, 2013   Date of arrival: January 11, 2013

This is a great property, in a great location. I went with a group of friends and had a great time. There are lots of options for different activities since you're on the resort so some people can ski, others can stay at the cabin and enjoy the hottub or you're also close enough to explore Charlottesville and wineries. The cabin is fully equipped with everything you'd need and the beds are really comfortable. It's a great place and I would definitely go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Nicki,

Thank you so much for your review! It was so nice to have you back with us. We hope you have a wonderful New Year!

Enjoy!
Deb & Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Family from NC

Review submitted: January 31, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Eagle's Nest is fabulous! Perfectly located to ski slopes. Home is clean, well maintained and has a wonderful cozy feeling! The hot tub is great for tired ski legs after a long day on the slopes! I have stayed other places at Wintergreen but none measure up to Eagle's Nest!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Vivian,

Thank you so much for your kind comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again.

Take care,
Deb

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Eagle's Swoop House

Review submitted: January 3, 2013   Date of arrival: December 30, 2012

We had a great time at Eagle's Swoop! It was our first time to spend any time at Wintergreen so it was nice to explore the area. The home was very close to many of the activities that we were interested in and the listing and photo descriptions were quite accurate. The kitchen was well equipped with items that we needed, the property was clean, sofas were very comfortable and the views were scenic. The owner was very helpful and quick to answer my emails. It had recently snowed/iced so it was a little tricky getting into the house since nothing had been shoveled- you really had to be careful. Some ice melt would have been helpful. The fireworks display was impressive - we only had to walk a short distance to the ski sloops to see the full view. We used the van service a couple times which was so helpful since parking was limited during the busy holiday/ski season. While we didn't dine in the restaurants at Wintergreen, we did go to the Plunge for some snow tubing which was super fun! We had a delicious lunch at the bottom of the mountain at Devil's Backbone. We only used the hot tub one time because the water temperature was too high for us and there was a layer of foam on the water (not sure what would have caused that). We were a little hesitant to stay in too long.
Overall, our experience at Eagle's Swoop was really good. I would highly recommend this house to our family and friends. We'll definitely come back again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Slope-side Home!

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 27, 2012

My friends and I rented this property for a few days after xmas and it was perfect. It was spacious, comfortable and had a terrific view of the mountains. Also, the hot tub was fantastic--the perfect addition to the house. Most importantly, it is just steps from Eagle Swoop, making skiing so easy.

I would absolutely recommend this to families or groups of friends looking for a weekend get away spot!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eagle's Swoop weekend retreat

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

My wife and I just enjoyed a great weekend retreat in Eagle's Swoop. We found the house exactlty as advertised. It was perfect for us, but would have easily accomodated another couple, or a larger family. The two master bedrooms were comfortably furnished. The loft would have been a great adventure for kids. The house is well equipped and attractively furnished. There was a ample supply of firewood. The hot tub was a great way to soak out the kinks from our 1 1/2 drive from Richmond. The appliances in the kitchen are first rate. There were other houses nearby occupied but we never heard any other activity. Our intention was to be sedentary all weekend and we succeeded. For those looking for easy slope access during ski season, the walk would have been about 150 feet to slopeside. We got exactly what we were looking for in Eagle's Swoop. We'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wow! What's not to love and where to start!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

The mountains, the trees, fresh air and your beautiful home - Thanks for the gift of this all too short holiday!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place in the summer too!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 20, 2012

Thanks for all the extras inside the house like the games, movies and Wii. Found some great hikes and the lake was great too.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'd love to come back!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 28, 2011

I like the cool stairs, the Wii, and the Toy Story 3 bedroom. We've had a great time and we'd love to come back soon. My brother loved the wonderful selection of movies and toys. Just right for kids! My mom likes the games to play and my dad likes all the things that we get to do. Just right!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The experience was unforgetable!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Eagles Nest and we have to be back! The experience was unforgetable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is beautiful!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 9, 2012

We had a great weekend here. Your home is beautiful!! This home will always be special to us because this is the place where our two kids learned to ski :) And by the second day they were skiing the bottom half of Eagles Swoop.

The hot tub was awesome after a long day of skiing. Its just what the "old" people needed. :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a fabulous time at your house!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: February 7, 2012

Everything we could possible need was here. The hot tub was just the ticket after a long day skiing. Felt like the house of old friends. Thanks so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Nicest house we have rented in Wintergreen!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

When I decided to take my 2 boys 7 & 8 on a guys weekend to ski (giving my wife a break) we knew we wanted to try "one of those cool houses on Eagles Swoop".

This is easily the nicest house we have rented at Wintergreen! Everything was clean and well organized, and the boys loved the loft. We also used the hot tub (twice) and cooked dinner in the kitchen one night. The Wii was also a hit! I even enjoyed reading some of my favorite passages from mere christianity while Mario was racing on the TV.

We hope to be back next year - hopefully there will be more snow (but at least the runs open this trip were decent).

Warmly,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Really great beds! Thanks for the details!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: December 18, 2011

Well equipped cozy house. We enjoyed our time together very much! Really great beds, thanks for the details.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an eventful trip!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 28, 2011

We barely got up the mountain in the snow Friday night! What a beautiful sight on Saturday morning when we woke up! 2 inches of snow in October with ice all over the trees! Not what we expected! Sunday was a gorgeous day! We enjoyed your house. The kitchen was greatly stocked! We might be back.

Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Everything was fantastic!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 23, 2011

From the monent we walked in the door everything was fantastic. The mountain view, the stars in the sky, the cool clean air. Thank you for making our 1st Tough Mudder a great success!!

The hot tub saved our old brittle bones. Thank you for providing everything we needed to be part of a beautiful place.

Thank you so much!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Your home is the perfect family get away!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We have 4 children who loved the "Buzz Lightyear" loft filled with movies and toys. We spent most of our time hiking the wonderful trails close by and playing baseball in the fields.

It was a perfect time to come. The leaves were beautiful, and the kids carved pumpkins in the Nature Center. We would love to come again!

Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We'd love to come back!

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: October 9, 2011

Wow, what an amazing location! We enjoyed the stay alot! The fall foliage is contributing to the majic. We'd love to come back, wonder how convenient the winter would be? Let's find out!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an Amazing Place

Review submitted: October 17, 2012   Date of arrival: July 24, 2011

Thank you for a wonderful girls weekend! Even with the heat, this was a beautiful retreat for a Texas girl. What an amazing place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing cabin feel in a winter wonderland

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

This house was simply amazing. It is perfect for couples, friends and for families. It offers everything you need for your home away from home. Although the kitchen is small, the proximity of the grill to the kitchen makes up for it. The lighting is great and the home is fully stocked with all the supplies you will need. The best part is everything in the home works just as it is advertised. Also, the owner is sweet and will make herself available to you. If you are going to Wintergreen, I highly recommend this home. I wish we could have stayed longer.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your comments. We hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Like Being At A Friend's House!

Review submitted: February 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 5, 2012

We highly recommend The Eagle's Nest. It had everything we could possibly need, including a fantastic hot tub. How perfect is that after a long day on the slopes?! There was plenty of games for the kids to keep them busy, while the adults could lounge around the fireplace with plenty of seating. The views were awesome and the slopes were a few steps through the woods. It really felt like we were staying in the house of friends, warm and inviting. We definitely plan on returning to Eagles Nest again next year. Great Place!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like home!

Review submitted: February 5, 2012   Date of arrival: February 2, 2012

Just left Eagles Nest after a long weekend. Home is well equipped and literally only steps to the slopes. Besides the location, the hot tub was our favorite part! We hope to come back next year!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us. We hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 14, 2007

Our visit this week was a lovely time of relaxation, golf and great food! Your home is just that "HOMEY"! Your have put in an amazing amount of thought into providing comfort and convenience for your guests. Well stocked kitchens and extremely comfy beds and sofa make for a wonderful vacation. Thank you. We all enjoyed your hot tub on a cool mountain afternoon. Thanks for the opportunity to have such a relaxing, beautiful week.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: August 5, 2007

We had a great time at your mountain home. We fit a lot into a short three day trip. Hiking, biking, swimming and lots of good eating was the order of the day. The kids loved the loft and all the games. The couches and beds were very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

We had such a lot of fun! This house is so cozy! The slopes were icy, but we skied all day long then we came back and soaked in the hot tub. My little brother Michael loves dyour Toy Story items. He loves Buz and Woody. Skiing was great!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2007

We love your cozy house and rented it for the ski-in and out. SO convenient! We did have good snow as weather is very cold. The house is well stocked in every way and the beds were so comfy! We will be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

Dear Deb & Joe,

Thanks for sharing your house with us - it was very cozy. The weather was warm, but we did get 3 days of skiing in - love the ski-in, ski-out! Your home is well stocked and had lots of amenities. The hot tub was great for the sore muscles after skiing. What a great way to start the New Year! We will be back to Wintergreen - really enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2006

Dear Deb & Joe,
We've stayed at a lot of places here but this is the nicest. The leather couches made us way too lazy. They are really comfortable. Obviously you guys put a lot of love and care here and really do extra things for your guests that we never see. We will definitely be back!!! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 5, 2006

Hi Guys!
We had a total blast staying in your home! We have been coming to Wintergreen for 25 years and this was the BEST! We have stayed almost in everything Wintergreen has to offer but your house by far was fabulous-o-! Our kids didn't even want to leave the loft to go skiing. Tell Parker? that his room rocks. We will definitely rent your home again. Thanks for sharing it with us. You can tell your house is really a home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 4, 2006

Wow! What a BLAST! We love your place....great access to slopes and so comfortable. You have it stocked with everything and it's so beautiful. Thanks SO much - we will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

Our annual visit to Eagle's Nest for Presidents Weekend was wonderful as always. There certainly was an abundance of snow. In fact, we couldn't get to the hot tub it was so deep on the deck. The 3 skiers and 1 snowboarder all had ideal conditions. The one grandmother (me) decided it was wise to retire from skiing about 6 years ago - so I relax and enjoy the house, scenery and family. Your house works well for us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: December 20, 2010

Great house and location. You have the best stocked kitchen of any place we've ever stayed! Unfortunately we didn't get the chance to use the hot tub....always on the slopes! Will definitely recommend to friends. Merry Christmas!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay! Hot tub and Buzz Lightyear bedroom definite hits! Kitchen was stocked so well, we didn't need anything extra. Wildlife was fun to watch. Your home provided us the relaxing weekend we needed! We hope to return next year. With warm regards and many thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: September 6, 2010

Thank you for sharing your wonderful house in a beautiful spot. We had perfect weather for this Labor Day Weekend, for which we thank you as well. The house was fully stocked - you should note the WI-FI in your VRBO listing. It was a big plus to get some work done and research restaurants and vineyards. Hope to stay again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: July 6, 2010

We had a wonderful time here on the mountain. I feel we didn't even scratch the surface. Our boys loved the loft and Playstation and we loved the house and the quietness all around. We'd love to see it in the winter!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

We had a wonderful 25th Anniversary Weekend here. Loved the off season guiteness. The hot tub was great after our hike up to Crabtree Falls. Soft Big bed was so comfortable. Everything we needed was here. I forgot my hair dryer and found one in the bathroom. We hope to come back soon and maybe bring the kids.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Thank you for opening your mountain home to us! We had an amazing time and enjoyed all of the amenities - from the range of appliances in the kitchen to the hot tub. You had it covered for fun from breakfast to evening!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Thank you so much for letting us enjoy your beautiful home! We all had an amazing time on the ski slopes and loved the easy access to Eagle's Swoop! We also greatly enjoyed the hot tub and the public pool on the rain day we had Sunday. This was our 5th year staying in your wonderful home and we would love to stay again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2012   Date of arrival: January 4, 2010

Thanks Deb & Joe, we had a delightful week in you lovely home. Bitterly cold and fierce winds for skiing but cozy and warm inside by the fire. Something here for everyone it seems, tubing was fun and the hot tub was a real treat. We hope to return again next season.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for a skiing family

Review submitted: January 17, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

I stayed at Eagles Nest for a weekend with my two sons (7 and 8). The house was perfect. The boys loved the upstairs loft bedroom with the two twins, and the Wii game was definitely a big plus. I thought that the bathrooms were quite nice - definitely upgraded from others I have seen, and the kitchen was very well equipped. The furniture and carpeting was obviously very new and all was very clean and well maintained - including the hot tub which we used twice.

I have stayed several times at Wintergreen in a variety of homes and condos, and this one was the most comfortable and well appointed that we have seen.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad your boys enjoyed our boys loft. We really appreciate how well you took care of our home during your stay. We hope to see you again next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

New Years- do not recommend

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 27, 2011

This is our 7th visit to wintergreen and our first time using VRBO in WIntergreen, we have used it elsewhere before with happy results. While this home is a nice house very close to skiing- only a few steps across the parking lot, there were quite a few things we did not care for. There is no clear view of the slopes, you cant sit on the deck and watch the skiiers go down, the view is blocked by other houses and lots of trees. There is no place to put your ski equipment or snow gear in this house, no mudroom or foyer or storage shed. The house is cluttered with personal items from the owner. The cabinets and fridge were so full of personal food items there was no place to put the food we brought for the trip. We had to pile it on the counters, which left little room for food preparation. There were medications or vitamins of some sort in the fridge in ziplock bags, lots of personal items in the bathroom cabinets and junk drawers throughout the house full of odds and ends. The appliances and furnishing are very old with the exception of the newer sofas and carpet. Be aware that although the house is advertised to sleep 8- there is only enough seating for 6 at the table and no pull out sofas, so two twin beds, and two king beds. We enjoyed our trip because we love wintergreen, but I would not return to this property and I would not recommend this house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great MLK Weekend in your lovely home

Review submitted: February 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

What a perfect spot at Wintergreen. We had a great time - you made us feel so welcome and everything that we could possibly need was there. Your home was so neat and clean and in a perfect location. The ski-in/ski-out location worked really well for our teenagers. We'd love to return next year. Thanks!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2011

What a GREAT get-away we enjoyed at Eagle's Nest! It
is BEAUTIFUL and had everything we needed! It
couldn't have been more convenient to the
intermediate ski slope, tube park and zip line. I hope
we can come again soon!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

What a wonderful place to stay. We could not have asked for more. The kids loft was a hit for my girls. The hot tub was the bonus we were looking for. Everything was clean and well stocked. The beds were oh so comfy, too! The owners were excellent to work with. May everyone who stays here have a much fun as we did.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

Your home was perfect for our girls' weekend in Wintergreen. The cottage was so warm and inviting and was well-stocked with everything we could need (kitchen appliances, DVDs, guidebooks).

We loved beginning every morning by relaxing on the deck and then enjoying the nearby trails, wineries, farmer's market, and the lake. Thanks again for making our stay so enjoyable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 13, 2009

Every year my friends and I take a ski trip and I have yet to go back to the same place twice. After staying at your place and LOVING it, we will most certainly be back next year, if not even sooner. Your house was beautiful, the views were stunning and we had everything we needed - not to mention a good set of black diamonds 10 ft away. Thank you for your hospitality; we can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 9, 2008

This house was perfect for a girls time away. The furnishes are great, and the kitchen although small is very well equipped. The deck and view are very nice. Would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2008

We had a wonderful time in this home. The house was so comfy and cozy!!! The kids LOVED the loft... You have thought of everything!! Thank you again, and when we are ready for a snowy vacation, we know where to go!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home in Feb. of 2008. We especially loved the hot tub and fireplace. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 18, 2008

Beautiful home!!! Wonderful views and very comfortable beds. All that we needed was there. We look foward to coming back next year. Thank you!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 11, 2008

we enjoyed a wonderful long weekend at your home. it is beautiful and in awsome location for us since we were snowboarding. we will pass the word on about your wonderful rental and we will rent again in the future. take care and thanks for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2007

Deb and Joe
Thank you for the use of your home. It is November 2nd and we chose to use Map Quest and Yahoo Maps, Beware when they say left at Blue Ridge Parkway, you will be going the wrong direction! But, if you have the time you will end up in George Washington National Forest where the views are spectalular. I can not even describe the vibirant colors. Now, back at Wintergreen, finally we are here at your ever so accommodating home where you have thought of the necessary things that people tend to forget to bring. Your home is very cozy and spacious at the same time. The hot tub was very relaxing and the views added to the ambious that surrounded us. Pure relaxation! We did enjoy a wonderful lunch at the Edge Restaurant that also had spectacular views and choice to cook out on the grill the rest of our stay. I must say you have a well stocked kitchen in both cooking utensils, dishes and spices. I would recommend your home and hospitality to anyone looking for a wonderful get away weekend, week or how ever long. We will look forward to coming back and maybe visiting a different season to breath in the beauty of this part of the country. Thanks again Deb and Joe!!!!

Your 4 guests from Cincinnati, Ohio and 1 guest from Poquoson, Virginia.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2007

Warm wonderful home! Thank you for sharing! Much appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2007

Deb, we had a great time. Your home is beautiful and so Cozy. It felt like home, and so nice to have everything you needed -towles, kitchen items/spices, and great location to the slopes. I also liked the check out time.It gave us time to ski in the morning and come back to pack up. We are already planning our trip for next year, so you will be hearing from me. Thanks!.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2007

Our stay was short but we and our guests thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and your home. Especially the convienience to ski in/out. Look for us again in the future.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 10, 2007

Beautiful home with everything you could ask for. It is hard to find a place where the beds are comfortable, the kitchen is stocked with everything to cook with, and the kids even had movies, games and a computer. Short walk to the slopes. We will stay again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 2, 2007

Fantastic place. Easy to rent. If you are there for skiing or just enjoying the mountains any time of year this is the place. Landlord makes it easy to rent and asks for very few things to do prior to leaving. My whole family likes to ski and snowboard and this is the way to go. Easy, short walk(very short)to blue level slope, very easy access from there to green slopes. Very comfortable well appointed home, hot tub, huge grill, great appliances. I have stayed everywhere in Wintergreen and you can't do better than here. It's got everything. In fact this is the kind of place that really has it all.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 27, 2006

What an amazing trip! The cabin is fantastic. You could spend all day and night there--making yummy dinners in the gourmet kitchen, soaking in the hot tub, or playing games by the fire. But there's also so much to do nearby. Great restaurants, hiking trails, and wineries kept us busy and entertained all weekend. It was a much needed break from the real world!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 25, 2006

Dear Deb and Joe,
We had such a wonderful family time at your home in Wintergreen. We enjoyed the use of the hot tub, grill and fireplace. The beds were inviting and comfortable and the loft and spiral steps were perfect for the younger folks we had with us! The deck around your home was so nice because we had no steps to worry with when carrying things in and out. We thank you for preparing for our stay there. Everything was perfect when we arrived. We hated for our few days to end. We hope to make a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: October 17, 2006

What a wonderful home in a beautiful spot at the top of Wintergreen. We were there when the leaves were about at peak, breath taking views. It was in the 30's at night so we made use of the fireplace and hot tub. The home was cozy and comfortable, and had many amenities. Wish we could have stayed longer. Next time we come back we'll bring the kids for skiing as you can ski in/out from the home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: September 12, 2006

We found the house well stocked, positioned,inviting and comfortable. The area is great for families, lots of activities within the resort and nearby. The house is perched up on a hill over a slope, in deep shade and it was most enjoyable just sitting on the porch over a meal or a book. Thanks for letting us use your house, we felt at home and enjoyed our stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2006

Our stay was very relaxing and the house was great. It was close enough to walk to the main resort and we watched 4th of July fireworks on the ski slope just outside our door. The real plus was the kid friendly envmt! There were plenty of toys, games, movies for the evenings & rainy days. We enjoyed our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2006

My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay at your home for my graduation weekend. My 6 yo son reported that he would like to stay in your home forever!! Everything was fabulous...many special touches and everything was appreciated.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 9, 2006

LOVED IT!! We have stayed in almost everything Wintergreen has to offer and by far we loved your house the best. Everything was so clean and neat. The house is so well stocked. The kids really enjoyed the loft and the beds are so-o comfy. We are already planning our trips for next year to rent your place. Thanks for sharing your awesome home!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2005

We enjoyed a wonderful fall weekend at Eagle's Nest. Our family has been taking a fall weekend mountain trip since our daughters were small. Now a son-in-law has joined us as well as our other daughter's boyfriend. We all agreed this was a great place to stay. The proximity to the summit enabled leisurely walks with a cup of coffee to enjoy the view of the mountains. Sitting in the hot tub while snowflakes were in the air will be a memory to cherish. Having the linens and towels provided was a great convenience! Everything we needed was available at this home. The information notebook on Wintergreen helped us choose some hiking trails. This was our first trip to Wintergreen and we can't wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2005

Thanks so much for allowing us to stay in your home. Your home is so beautiful and the furnishings are some of the best I have ever seen. They truly do give a nice cozy atmosphere. The hot tub was awesome and the amenities at the resort are outstanding. Our kids had a wonderful time here and truly enjoyed the loft. Your home is stocked with everything a person could ever need. Thanks for everyting!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2005

The house was wonderful! Great furnishings and kitchen. Wonderfully comfortable beds and the hot tub after a day of skiing was to die for!My girls loved the loft. We'll be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 2, 2005

We just got back from a wonderful long weekend at Eagle's Nest. I am thrilled that we found your place to stay! The beds were big and comfy and the atmostphere is cozy. Quick access to the slopes made it a breeze for skiers and non-skiers to remain in contact and fueled up. Thanks for the awesome stay at Wintergreen. We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 20, 2005

Our family had a great time at Eagle's Nest skiing -- it's so convenient to the slopes that the kids could easily come and go as they wanted, which made it relaxing for Mom & Dad! Very comfortable and nicely furnished home with everything we needed. We would definitely stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2005

Deb and Joe, thank you so much for letting us stay in your cozy Wintergreen home. It was very convenient and affordable for a nice short vacation. Thanks again. I hope you will have us again next year. Maybe even golf this spring!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 30, 2005

Deb and Joe...Just a note to let you know how much our family enjoyed being at Wintergreen.Your home was very nice and the weather was perfect for skiing.We hope to return again to Eagle's Nest...Earl and Jane Brinkley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2005

Deb & Joe,

Just a quick note to let you know how much we enjoyed our stay at your home at Wintergreen. The kids had a great time skiing, especially with the convenience of the house to the slopes.
I did better in the hot tub!
The house is decorated beautifully, and everything was first class. The next time someone asks about a rental at Wintergreen, I can tell them, I've found the perfect place. We look forward to staying with you again.

Benjy Powell
Danville, VA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 24, 2005

Dear Deb and Joe:

We had an awesome time at Wintergreen! Thanks so much for "sharing" your beautiful home with us. It truly was a home away from home. Hopefully, we will be able to visit again this ski season.

Warmest regards,

Steve, Kendra, Steven, Jessica and Matthew

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2004

Dear Deb and Joe,

We wanted to say again how much we enjoyed your mountain "nest." It is so nicely decorated and outfitted that we felt at home from the moment we arrived. The new deck, hot tub and Jen-Air outdoor grill are all wonderful. We'll recommend your unit and hope to visit again soon. --The Kirchner Family, Fredericksburg

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: April 5, 2004

Thanks Deb and Joe for letting my friends and myself stay at your beautiful home can't wait until next year to take the family again thanks Scott Wilson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2004

We had such a wonderful time the two days that we stayed in your home. Though it rain, we made the best of it. The weather cleared at 5:30 pm after the slopes closed, but the view was beautiful. We are looking to come again in December for four nights. Hope you'll have us!!!! Thank you again!!!!

Michelle and Friends :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2004

We stayed in your beautiful home during the first week in February. Our family has been visiting Wintergreen and staying on the property for many years. None of the other occommodations can compare with the comfort and convenience of this home on the slopes. It is unique in that it has every comfort of home and is so nicely decorated! The views are fantastic, and being able to ski on and off the slopes is a huge advantage, especially with children. One of our favorite things about the home is the awesome deck that surrounds the entire house. The skiing was great also. Thank you for making your home so perfect for guests and for your wonderful hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 16, 2004

We stayed over Valentines weekend. This is a wonderful house. My three boys had a wonderful time skiing almost out the door. The house was so comfortable and very nicely furnished. My teen didnt even have to miss checking his e mail.... He loved having his own loft complete with a little lap top. The owners are some of the nicest people, I have ever spoke with. They made us feel wanted and welcome...Even when a small problem arose, They were right there bright and early to help us solve our small problem. Thank you so much Joe and Debbie. We appreciated your hospitality greatly. We had a dusting of snow...just enough to make everything really pretty. It sure was cold...8 degrees this morning. Cant wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: February 4, 2004

We stayed Jan. 28-30th and had a wonderful time. My daughter,son,son in law,daughter in law and grandbaby went with us and we played in the snow, skied,tubed, went to the pool, exercise room and hot tub. Had a great time and would recommend this place to anyone that wants a great time.The owners are very nice and very helpful.
The kithen has everything you need and the furniture was very comfortable.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2004

We stayed week of 23-26th We all are in agreement this is the best place we have stayed.It snowed while we were there and could ski to the front walk of the deck.The house was nicely decorated very homey feeling, Everything you could need or want was there.Usually we ahve to bring pans or towels or Tissue or detergent or when we get there we have to purchase things.This house was more then well equipped this great, the kithchen had everything you can imagined and things matched (Us girls liked that!)The owner called and asked if we need anything just to call her. We were floored by her hospitality,You could stay inside niot even go skiing and have a great time.Thanks for opening up your home to others ,We had a great time.We left a doz eggs a couple of rolls of paper toewls We had brought our own tissue and dish det.,garbage bags, because they have never been avail. before so we used ours first.Also in the freezer there are some potato pattys and a few biscuits,Thanks again,we have been coming for 8 years and this was the best by a longshot ,Thanks and hope to come up again ! The Falls,The Spaleks, and the Falls

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 13, 2010   Date of arrival: May 13, 2010

Hello to both of you,I just want to let you know that we had a great time last April at Eagle’s nest, Wintergreen. You got a real nice home, very comfortable, well equipped and nearly on the top of the mountain. We were there for a bike training camp and the weather was simply perfect. Nice roads to ride our bikes on and nice climbing to reach the top of Wintergreen. We particularly appreciated having a good diner and relaxing in the hot tub after hard training days. We did not hesitate to recommend your home to our cyclist friends.Émie, Linda et Alain Québec, Canada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 1, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

We had a delightful stay at this lovely home the 2nd week of February. Our 7 year old was thrilled that she could master the blue slopes well enough so we could ski in and out. The house had everything we needed and the "spaceman" kids suite was heaven for our 4 year old boy! The fireplace and sofa was a cozy setup for enjoying the Olympics and we were crazy enough to brave the 3 foot snowdrifts to enjoy the post-ski hot tub. It was awesome to enjoy it in the snow-- and pure comedy racing back inside in wet suits in 15 degree temps. We will be back! PS: The lack of any steps to get to the house was a REAL PLUS (especially given the amount of snow). It really made a big difference!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 8, 2010   Date of arrival: February 8, 2010

We rented the 3 bedroom home for our Feb vacation at Wintergreen. The home itself had everything we could possibly need and was only several hundred feet from one of the slopes at Wintergreen. The private hot tub was a big plus....we would recommend this rental to anyone...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 6, 2010   Date of arrival: January 6, 2010

Eagle's Nest is perfectly situated just steps away from Eagles Swoop and Tyro intermediate ski slopes.It was perfect for our group which included two first time skiers who were able to ski in and out by the end of our first day here. The house is beautifully furnished and quite comfortable for our group of six. We found everything we needed in the well equipped kitchen including spices and condiments! One hint for the non boy scouts among us; bring your own kindling and you will find everything else you need for a blazing good fire in the evenings. We enjoyed our family time here very much and are happy to recommend it to others!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

Your home was wonderful! What a great weekend we had. You have truly thought of everything to make guests comfortable and that will certainly make us return to your house in the future. The very well stocked "loft" was perfect for our boys and a nice surprise. The 4 yo is all about Buzz Lightyear now! Although, when asked his favorite part about the weekend, he says it was grilling and eating outside on your deck!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: March 16, 2009

We had a great time in your home. The slopes were close by and easily accessibly but your home was "hidden" enough to allow privacy. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub. Hurry up next winter! Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 8, 2004   Date of arrival: November 8, 2004

Hey Deb and Joe,
Thank you for a beautiful week vacation at you mountain home. We had a great week with all of the comforts of home. Thanks for all of the special details and touches. We took advantage of all of the wonderful thingsWintergreen and the surrounding area has to offer during the off season. The weather was just gorgeous and the sunsets were incredible from the view of your home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review