reviews for: listing #16133 - Lincoln City, Oregon House rental

Oceanfront with Hot Tub! - "First Mate"
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $150 - $259 /nt

sort by:

You can't get any closer to the ocean!

Review submitted: October 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

First off, finding the location to Starfish Manor where you must check in 1st is a bit tricky especially arriving in the dark. Once we arrived to the First Mate location (which you don't get the actual address of until you check in), the entrance is a bit difficult to maneuver for anyone with mobility issues. There are 4 very deep & uneven stairs to get to the 1st entrance door and the front is not well lit making it a safety hazard at night. It has an unusual entrance as there is also a long & steep interior ramp going to the secondary front door. Due to the steepness of both the stairs & the ramp, I would NOT recommend this location for disabled guests or those with mobility issues. (Someone at Starfish Manor forgot to tell us about the 1st set of stairs going to the front door when I initially called the office to inquire about accessibility).

Prior to going inside, we did not get a great 1st impression. The interior entrance is greatly in need of attention with paint peeling above the door, rust showing & spiders & cobwebs directly overhead. Once inside, thankfully most everything else was cleaner than the exterior; however the creases of both sofa's had obviously not been vacuumed in who knows how long???

The big draw of the location is obviously the view. You seriously cannot get any closer on the beach. 12 steps down onto the sand. That was the whole reason for choosing this place, and for the most part the view is truly spectacular. Only 2 big drawbacks, there are no screens on any of the windows or slider door. We wanted to be able to leave the window open to hear the waves, however we were chasing huge mosquito's the entire time if we had the window open. The only other drawback to the view was the hedge directly in front of the living room window/small yard area. You can still see over the hedge when standing but part of the view is blocked when sitting on the sofa. We would've far preferred to not have the hedge there at all.

The "fully stocked" kitchen (except for food -- in the words of the office staff) is not all that fully stocked. No hot pads, no measuring cup, knives were dull, cookware was older & not in very good condition. It is a nice feature to have a full kitchen available if you don't want to eat every meal out, but you may want to consider bringing some of your own cooking supplies for anything important to you. There is also a washer & dryer available for use, though it does get pretty noisy & no door to close it off. Keep

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

It was just……okay!

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 6, 2011

First the good. Great view and couldn’t be any closer to the beach, just steps away. Jacuzzi was very nice also. As for the rest, I would have to agree with others that the pictures are misleading. Bad indoor/outdoor carpet, dirty sliding glass door, none of the windows or sliding glass door had screens on them, so if you wanted to enjoy the sea air you were chasseing bugs all night. Lighting is very poor in all rooms except for the bathroom. TV in living room is very small. Kitchen cabinet doors are misaligned and or don’t shut. We found that the kitchen was not stocked well at all. It was not worth the price we paid per night.

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 18 / 18

 

Vacation with the kids

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2011

I couldn't have asked for a more perfect place to spend a week with my kids. We rented the First Mate, which was the smaller part of the house. It was absolutely perfect. The only thing I regret is that I didn't bring a fold up chair to sit on while on the beach. Easy access right to the beach, extremely private, hot tub out back, and the house was stocked with EVERYTHING we needed. Just went to the grocery store the first day and we were set!

One suggestion, there weren't any screens on the windows and I would have like to have had the slider door open to feel the ocean breeze, but we kept it closed so no bugs would come in. Minor detail and certainly didn't ruin our trip.

We went to Disneyland last year and the kids say Oregon was their best vacation so far!!! We'll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dissapointed

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 20, 2011

With the backgrpound of an experienced VRBO customer, we were very disatisfied with the property. The pictures are misleading as to the layout, one bedroom has no window or ventilation, and the ramp into the entrance is long and STEEP. Light bulbs were missing and the plugs were old and some would not hold contact allowing my lap top to not charge. Had to figure that one out! Management has not kept up the correct TV guide and cable channels were difficult to locate correctly. The view is tremendous and the location is stated accurately with the location being in a good locale and with easy access to stores etc. All in all, the 7 days we spent were enjoyed but we felt the $ value was not represented due to the condition of old and worn and neglect of current info. Will continue with VRBO as a customer. Del S 7/22/2011

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Jeff and Lori (Colorado)

Review submitted: June 28, 2011   Date of arrival: June 20, 2011

Thanks for a memorable vacation at your beach house. We had a great time and wonderful weather. The Kite Festival was a pleasant surprise. We didn't expect the fireworks on the beach Saturday night either. We had everything we needed in the kitchen to cook all our meals. The house was clean and comfortable. The only suggestions we have is it would be nice to have some shelves in the bathroom to put your things on and an outlet. The bush in the yard drove us crazy. If it was just trimmed a foot lower you could see the beach from inside the house. I don't know if your aware that everyone in the neighborhood, it seems, uses your stairs for beach access. Most people when they saw us said they didn't realize it was private. Maybe a gate at the top or just a sign would take care of this. This is an issue for renters as the bedroom window is on the side of the house by the stairs. You really have the best location on the beach. When we walked down the beach we notice that your house was the only one, other then your neighbors, that had the rocks for the waves to crash into. It really inhances your view. Thanks for a great 6 days!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 15, 2010

Two weeks ago tonight, my daughter, husband, and I checked in to The First Mate for the following 5 nights! We had the most amazing vacation there that we have had in our lives!!

The First Mate was everything you said it was, and more..............we could never have duplicated the view that came with our "home" away from home! It was absolutely amazing. I cannot say enough good about our stay! We even brought good weather with us. How could we ask for anything more? The beds were the most comfortable that any of us have EVER slept on. We even uncovered the mattress to check on the brand. Will need to look up information on those Serta's!!! Tom and Amy were able to take many long walks on the sandy shore. What fun we all had - together!!!

I cannot tell you just how grateful we all are that we spotted your beautiful First Mate on the website. We were so very blessed. Thanks to you, your husband, and your parents for making this vacation spot the hightlight of our life!!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Family time at the Pacific

Review submitted: July 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 26, 2010

Location is absolutely perfect! Best tidepools in the area! Could make a couple of suggestions to make it more comfortable, but we were very pleased and enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

disappointing

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: March 22, 2010

photos are deceiving, lacked atmosphere, not romantic, place was old and worn, plugs too loose to hold plug in, bath room has no plugs to hold hair dryer etc was old and worn. Kitchen counters old, dirty looking and dirty feeling, appliances old & worn not inviting to prepare meals. Immediate beach access was a positive and hot tub was clean and nice, you are required to wash towels before leaving and take out all your trash. Place need a good update to bathroom and Kitchen. Place should be more like $75-$100 max

Owners response: We always appreciate feedback from our guests. This unit has been updated and the kitchen is completely stocked with everything you will need to make a great meal to enjoy by an incredible sunset. This is a 1100+ sq ft 2 bedroom oceanfront with private hot tub, full kitchen, livingroom with fireplace, washer/dryer - and is less than some hotel rooms on the oceanfront. This is a GREAT deal - you can't beat the oceanfront location and direct beach access!

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Rustic

Review submitted: March 23, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2010

just adequate, no major complains, direct beach access, sea view, very quiet were all positives. 3 story this is the basement type unit, no atmosphere to the place, very old can do with a nice update, you are required to take the trash out and wash the towels thus the question whats the cleaning fee for? Kitchen is very old and bearly stocked, you dont really get a feeling you want to make a meal in it. 2nd bedroom has no window. The bath room fan doesnt work, Your cell phone will no work in the unit but will on the beach.

Owners response: We always appreciate feedback. We have just completed updates and completely stocked the kitchen with everything needed to make a great meal to enjoy with friend and family while taking in the incredible views of the beach. The new pictures will be uploaded by June 18. Cleaning fee is for cleaning the unit, servicing the hot tub, and linens. The only thing we request is that you take your trash out and start a load of towels (but there's no extra charge if you don't do it). Come and enjoy this GREAT lowbank beachfront location.

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Review submitted: March 19, 2010   Date of arrival: March 19, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with my brother and his new wife this past week. It was amazing. Very clean and very comfortable. There was two king beds so there was no fighting over who got the bigger bed, and we slept rocks, the beds were soooooo comfortable. There was private beach access but the best thing was how private the house and the hottub were! We felt like we were the only ones on the beach! Full kitchen so we made dinner a couple of times which was nice. And the washer and dryer was really handy. We had an amazing week. Thank you.

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review