reviews for: listing #16233 - Kiawah Island, South Carolina Villa rental

Finest 1-Bedroom Beachside Villa!
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Seascape
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $175 - $240 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,850 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

A sweet stay

Review submitted: August 12, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2014

My wife and I spent a week at "The Shade" and we could not have been happier. The villa was extremely comfortable, clean and well-appointed. The owners were very attentive to our needs. If you are looking for a relaxing, worry-free vacation, this is the place.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Outstanding Villa Rental

Review submitted: April 26, 2014   Date of arrival: April 16, 2014

"The Shade" was perfect for our little vacation. The décor is so tastefully done, and you can tell that every detail had thorough attention. I loved when we walked in for the first time, and the television with music was playing. Also, whatever 'smell' is in the condo is so clean. I asked the owners and found out it is Mr. Clean with Febreze in the Vanilla/Lavender Scent.

The location was perfect for us. Our goal was to tour the surrounding Charleston area, and we did this everyday using our rental car. We particularly liked returning each night to "The Shade" and relaxing in our own little apartment. We did not want to eat-out for every meal and the accommodations made that very easy and doable.

If/when we return to Kiawah we will not hesitate to use Kiawah Island Getaways again for a rental.

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An Amazing Get-A-Way

Review submitted: March 12, 2014   Date of arrival: February 22, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Shade on Kiawah Island for one week of pure relaxation. The condo was beautiful, very clean and all the comforts of home. More than we expected. The location was perfect. A short walk to the beach. We brought our bicycles and spent hours exploring the many miles of bike trails the island offers. We felt like kids again. We decided we would never stay any place else.
The owners responded quickly to all of my e-mails prior to our trip. Great customer service.
I have told all of my friends about the Shade and recommended they plan a trip to Seascape villas.
It was so convenient to have a market and shopping within a bike ride.
We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Kiawah Island is the best!

Review submitted: October 9, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2013

We can't wait to come back. And we will stay at this villa again. There is not a thing I would change. Love the decor too!

Recommended for: tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great al always

Review submitted: May 23, 2013   Date of arrival: May 8, 2013

This was our 5th stay on The Shade. The fact that we have returned 4 times should speak for itself. The owners are organized, communicate well, and most importantly provide an impeccably clean, up to date, comfortable condo. We have been to many different vacation locations, but none beats Kiawah Island and The Shade.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Shade Villa Kiawah Island

Review submitted: April 30, 2013   Date of arrival: April 25, 2013

Great place to stay! Exceptionally clean with lots of amenities. We enjoyed bike rides in the morning and going to the beach in the afternoon. The beach is a very short walk from this condo. The owners go out of their way to provide a great experience for their guests. A lovely condo to rent when visiting Kiawah Island.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A haven

Review submitted: April 6, 2013   Date of arrival: March 24, 2013

Our week at The Shade was excellent! This was our second trip to The Shade and it did not disappoint.it was just as it was depicted and Shawn and Jeanette are wonderful hosts. As always the villa was very clean and well maintained and the kitchen was wonderful to cook most of our meals in. I would highly recommend this villa to anyone!

Recommended for: sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best beach vacation

Review submitted: July 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2012

This was our second time staying in the Shade Villa at Kiawah and we were again blown away. The villa was absolutely immaculate. It has every amenity you need during your stay, and then some, to the point where you truly feel you are "home" even while far away from home. It is just steps from the most amazing beach (which I was thankful for while carrying two beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler, and a bocce ball set every morning) and a short bikeride from everything else Kiawah has to offer. The rental process, itself, could not be easier, right down to the little "extras" like bikes, beach chairs, etc. I could not recommend this place or this company more. We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect Getaway Villa and Location

Review submitted: October 10, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2011

This is our third time to celebrate our wedding anniversary at the Seascape Villa. It's an easy vacation to plan and execute. Days are wonderfully filled with reading on the screened in porch, biking on the beach, watching movies and cooking in the fully-equipped kitchen. The villa is always clean and well-cared for. We'll be back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Perfect Getaway

Review submitted: August 30, 2011   Date of arrival: August 21, 2011

This villa was exactly as represented, and then some! There was not a detail overlooked from a comfortable bed to sleep on at night to a double vanity in the bathroom to spices in the spice cabinet. It felt like home! Beautiful Charleston is very close and offers restaurants, tours, shopping and more. For those who don't want to leave Kiawah, there is no need. Kiawah is like a world of its own. It too offers shopping, restaurants, a grocery store and activities galore! We spent our days walking on the beach, enjoying the ocean, kayaking, playing golf, and riding the beach bikes. Everything you need for a perfect vacation is right there at your fingertips. We are already dreaming about and planning our return trip!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Villa

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 19, 2011

The Shade Villa was the PERFECT "home away from home." It was spotless, beautifully decorated, and had all the little ammenities (even frosted beer mugs in the freezer, which was certainly appreciated) to make for a truly care free stay. We had an incredible time during our first trip to Kiawah, and will be renting the Shade Villa again next year.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome week at The Shade

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Loved our time at The Shade! Rented the bikes/basket and used them extensively on the wonderful trails. Beach chairs were great -- they got a lot of use from us. The amenities of The Shade were detailed, updated and much appreciated. A favorite feature was the screened porch with the ceiling fan and Adirondak chairs. So comfortable!

Recommended for: sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Attention to Detail Abounds!

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 22, 2011

We were very pleased with the location, the cleanliness, presentation and amenities that were offered. It was obvious that a lot of care went into making sure that everything was provided to make our stay a comfortable home away from home. Attention to detail was greatly appreciated. I would definitely rent from the Lawsons again.

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time at the Shade Villa!

Review submitted: May 3, 2011   Date of arrival: April 25, 2011

We had a wonderful time during our stay. The villa had absolutely everything we could have needed or wanted. We needed a relaxing getaway and we were not disappointed, We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Shawn and Jeannette have thought of everything (Shade Villa)

Review submitted: March 28, 2011   Date of arrival: March 23, 2011

We loved everything about the Shade Villa. The bikes were great-very easy to ride for my wife-and easy handlebars for my back. Everything was provided for us in the Villa. Shawn and Jeannette are very thoughtful and great to deal with. They went out of their way to accomodate us. My highest recommendation.

Recommended for: families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing Mother-Daughter Vacation at the Shade

Review submitted: January 3, 2011   Date of arrival: December 28, 2010

Our stay at the Shade was relaxing and quaint. We spent hours walking the beach, riding bikes and eating Southern fare. The accomodations were neat and nicely appointed. The food at the Sanctuary Hotel was amazing and we followed all the recommendatons that Kiawah Island Getaways made. We especially loved the Fat Hen on John's Island. We went into Charleston, which was much closer than we thought. The history, shopping and food was amazing. Next time we come we are bringing our boys for a family get away.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

June Honeymoon

Review submitted: June 14, 2010   Date of arrival: June 6, 2010

The villa looks just like the pictures. It was a wonderful place to spend our honeymoon. I called the owner a couple times to ask some questions and they were very helpful. This was my first time to an east coast beach. I'm used to the beaches in the gulf with the really white soft sand, but I think I liked this better (especially since the oil spill.) I didn't have sand stuck to me and it was easy to walk and ride bikes on the beach. The Angel oak tree near by was amazing, and we attempted to do the Charleston scavenger hunt the owners provided. We golfed at the Ocean Course one day. It was expensive but so worth it. It was almost like golfing in another country. This was a very romantic and relaxing vacation for me. I hope we can come back for our 1st anniversary!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful place!!

Review submitted: June 2, 2010   Date of arrival: May 30, 2010

The Villa is really nice and clean, three words come to mind. "Attention to detail". Everything is right where it needs to be. The beach is gorgeous and feels very private. Would definitely love to come back!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The Shade

Review submitted: May 18, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

The villa was perfect for my honeymoon...very cozy and romantic! Comfortable for a couple but crowded if more than that. Very clean and beautifully furnished and decorated. The only criticisms are that it was farther from the beach than I expected (maybe a 4 minute walk) and it was very noisy when people were staying upstairs. The people were not necessarily loud, but the plumbing & footsteps were enough to keep us awake. Beware if you like to sleep in! The owners are very strict about their guidelines and were not particularly helpful.

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ideal accommodations

Review submitted: May 11, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

Even nicer than the listing description and photos. Compact, clean, modern with attractive architectural and decorative details. In stocking the Shade Cottage, the owners have thought of everything in the way of conveniences. Open concept living room/kitchen was a joy to prepare meals in even down to the clean-up. Walk or bike-ride the extensive nature trails or meander the beach at low tide. Refresh under the spacious rain-shower after a day in the sun, snuggle into the Shade's comfy bed complete with down duvet and extra pillows. If you really must go out for a meal, take a drive to SNOB (short for Slightly North of Broad) or Magnolias for a truly magnificent meal, then walk the charming streets and alleys of historic Charleston to view some of the prettiest garden landscapes and homes. The Shade has given us some truly lovely memories; we can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 27, 2010   Date of arrival: March 27, 2010

We just experienced our first trip to Kiawah Island, and 3584 Seascape was a major reason why we thoroughly enjoyed this vacation. We loved the cozy cottage feeling, the tasteful decor and the spotless nature of the entire property. Quick and easy access to the beach was also a plus.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Shade Villa is the Perfect Home Base

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

My husband and I loved our stay at the Shade villa. It is beautifully appointed, conveniently located, and quiet. We especially appreciated all the thoughtful details provided by the Lawsons: their restaurant recommendations and advice on visiting Charleston were excellent. The Shade villa is the perfect home base for a great vacation on Kiawah!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Absolutely spotless.

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Thanks for a great week at Kiawah. 3584 is wonderful - the updates tastefully and perfectly done. Absolutely spotless. All of the necessities are available - soaps, towels, etc. The dining suggestions are spot-on. Thanks...Johna nd Patti

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Steps from the Ocean...5 star!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

Shade Villa - Inviting home-away-from-home in a peaceful wooded setting, yet only steps from the Ocean. We enjoyed the upscale features the villa and the resort offered. 5 star!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for Our Honeymoon Getaway

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2008

Dear Shawn & Jeanette, We loved the Shade Villa - it was perfect for our honeymoon getaway in Kiawah! The layout and size was perfect for us and we loved your remodeling work - the kitchen cabinetry is beautiful, the floors are great and what a fantastic bathroom! We would love to make a return visit sometime in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Owners were Very Professional and Helpful

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: November 11, 2008

Excellent location near the pool and beach. Very well maintained villa with all the convenient touches for a wonderful stay. The owners were very professional and helpful. Will stay there again in the future....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Place to Spend the Last Week of "Summer"

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 25, 2008

Jeanette, We absoluteley LOVED "The Shade" and we LOVED Kiawah Island as well. We are hoping to look at property in the near future. It is our new favorite place to vacation! It was so peaceful and relaxing. It was the perfect place to spend the last week of "summer" with my family. Gracie met some friends as well. She kept saying "I love it here mommy...I never want to leave". I could stay there forever as well. Thank You so much for sharing your sweet, adorable villa with us. It reminded me of a cottage. It was perfect for the 3 of us. We plan to bring family there next summer for a week. I hope you have something bigger! Thanks again! Melissa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely Rental, Lovely Rental Company!!!!

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: August 4, 2008

The "Shade" villa was the perfect home away from home and we will definitely be back to the same property if at all possible in the near future!!!! Lovely rental, lovely rental company!!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Up-Dated, Nicely Appointed and Very Clean

Review submitted: February 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 15, 2008

The week prior to arriving in Kiawah we spent on Amelia Island. We left the Ritz-Carlton expecting the accommodations at Kiawah to be several levels below what we experienced in FL. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the condo had recently been up-dated, nicely appointed, and very clean. We certainly enjoyed our stay very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 6, 2009   Date of arrival: September 6, 2009

My husband and I loved our stay at the Shade villa. It is beautifully appointed, conveniently located, and quiet. We especially appreciated all the thoughtful details provided by the Lawsons: their restaurant recommendations and advice on visiting Charleston were excellent. The Shade villa is the perfect home base for a great vacation on Kiawah!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 27, 2009   Date of arrival: July 27, 2009

Thanks for a great week at Kiawah. 3584 is wonderful - the updates tastefully and perfectly done. Absolutely spotless. All of the necessities are available - soaps, towels, et. The dining suggestions are spot-on. Thanks...Johna nd Patti

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

The Shade is the perfect getaway! We absolutely loved our stay. Everything was exactly as described and so clean! We will be returning to the Shade! The villa and Kiawah were absolutely beautiful. Such a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 26, 2009   Date of arrival: April 26, 2009

Shade Villa - Inviting home-away-from-home in a peaceful wooded setting, yet only steps from the Ocean. We enjoyed the upscale features the villa and the resort offered. 5 star!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Dear Shawn & Jeanette,

We loved the Shade Villa - it was perfect for our honeymoon getaway in Kiawah! The layout and size was perfect for us and we loved your remodeling work - the kitchen cabinetry is beautiful, the floors are great and what a fantastic bathroom! We would love to make a return visit sometime in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

excellent location near the pool and beach. Very well maintained villa with all the convenient touches for a wonderful stay. The owners were very professional and helpful.Will stay there again in the future....

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

This is a beautiful, convenient condo and the owners add some nice personal touches. We will definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 25, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Jeanette,

We absolutley LOVED "The Shade" and we LOVED Kiawah Island as well. We are hoping to look at property in the near future. It is our new foavorite place to vacation! It was so peaceful and relaxing. It was the perfect place to spend the last week of "summer" with my family.

Gracie met some friends as well. She kept saying "I love it here mommy...I never want to leave". I could stay there forever as well.

Thank You so much for sharing your sweet, adorable villa with us. It reminded me of a cottage. It was perfect for the 3 of us.

We plan to bring family there next summer for a week. I hope you have something bigger!


Thanks again!

Melissa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 4, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The "Shade" villa was the perfect home away from home and we will definitely be back to the same property if at all possible in the near future!!!! Lovely rental, lovely rental company!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 15, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

The week prior to arriving in Kiawah we spent on Amelia Island. We left the Ritz-Carlton expecting the accomodations at Kiawah to be several levels below what we experienced in FL. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the condo had recently been up-dated, nicely appointed, and very clean. We certainly enjoyed our stay very much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review