reviews for: listing #16240 - South Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida House rental

Winter's Past, Upscale Private Oceanfront; St Augustine area
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $2,200 - $3,500 /wk

sort by:

Beach Rental

Review submitted: December 18, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

This house is absolutely wonderful.  The owners have done a terrific job of making you feel welcome.  Everything you could possibly want is provided, including beach towels!  The layout of the home is perfect with a bathroom on each floor, everyone has their privacy.  We had a great vacation and plan to return next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments.

Helpful votes: 29 / 29

 

Another wonderful trip with my girlfriends!

Review submitted: September 17, 2013   Date of arrival: September 6, 2013

Every year a group of friends stays at this wonderful beach house. We love the setting; we love the whimsical decorations; we love the view; and the house has everything you could possible need for a weeks stay except groceries. Everything that was promised in the description was there - and more. The house was clean as can be and everything was in perfect working order. I know I sound over-the-top about this vacation house, but we wouldn't keep coming back if it weren't so ideal. We love going into St. Augustine and shopping in the quaint shops and going to the outlet malls. To be able to look out your back door and see the sun rising over the ocean, hear the waves hitting against the sand - it just doesn't get any better.

Owners response: Thanks. We really enjoy sharing our home with all the girl friends groups that keep coming back for their annual gathering. You are all blessed to have each other over the years; and we are blessing by the happiness you leave in our home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 4, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This was one of the nicest beach houses we have ever rented. My family of adult children and grandchildren thoroughly enjoyed everything about this house. The location was perfect for beach activities, trips into St. Augustine, and family friendly local restaurants. The owners made our stay even better than most, prooviding ample beach towels, chairs, boogie boards, and even kites for the children to fly on the beach. The Seranata Beach Club eas an added plus for the pool and the workout activities. You cannot go wrong in renting this house. It will accommodate 10 people easily.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Waggoner Family

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

what a wonderful home and place to stay. Walk out door to the beach, drink your coffee on the deck or in a room with the view of the ocean. Clean with all you need. The owner was great from the first contact up to the date we departed. This is a place we will go back to.This is a place I would recommend.

The Waggoner Family

Owners response: Thank you. We love sharing our home.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect.

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

We enjoyed a lovely week in your house; "we" being 2 parents, 2 young adults, 2 college students, and 2 high schoolers, with dogs. Every summer we have a family week at the beaches near St. Augustine...this was the best by far. Beautiful house, unbelievable beach, great food...perfect in every way. We will be back for sure!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. It's a joy to share our home with our guests. We love knowing that Winter's Past will always be a part of their family's memories.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Relax and reconnect with friends!

Review submitted: April 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 26, 2011

The Honeycutts could not be more accommodating for their guests! The house is not only beautifully decorated, but it takes in the vast ocean views unlike any beach property I have visited!
Everyone has a place to go and connect or to be quiet and reflect with just the sounds of the waves. You'll feel as though you are really away from it all, yet so close to all that St. Augustine has to offer. Two great restaurants are very nearby which makes dining out easy.
Winter's Past is not only beautifully decorated, it is immaculately clean, comfortable, and you know you are in good hands as guests of the Honeycutt's.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love sharing our home

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

I spent a week with my long-standing girlfriends at this beach house. It has everything you could want. The decor is homey and fun and when you enter you feel like you are at home. The view is gorgeous! I watched the sun rise over the water each morning and the moon rise each night. The house is bright and sunny. The kitchen has all the tools you need for cooking a full meal. It is located close to St. Augustine, which is a delightful trip.
My girlfriends and I created new memories and were surrounded by beauty. I couldn't have asked for more. I highly recommend this vacation home. Can't wait to visit again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your wonderful comments, Kate. We love sharing our home and even our tiaras with "girlfriend" groups. We must get 3 or 4 bookings every year from girlfriends that are having some sort of reunion. Their reunions range anywhere from their 20th to 50th reunion, from their college days or even elementary school days (like your group). They all bless us by allowing Winter's Past to be a part of their tradition and memories. I think the memories and laughter soak into the walls and even bless all our guests. Joe

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Above average in every aspect!

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We stayed for over two months at Winter's Past and enjoyed every minute. We've stayed at other properties in the area and this one is tops on our list. The property was well maintained, spacious, and welcoming. The yard was perfect for our dog. The beach is simply wonderful and only steps away. Because the property is a bit north of the population center, we found ourselves alone on the beach most of the time.

The owners were very responsive to some minor maintenance issues - it's really nice to have them local and involved instead of dealing with a property management company. Joe even called to remind us about the shuttle launch that we could see from the deck.

The property really has it all. Close to town, but not too close. Great fishing, surfing, and beaches. All of the beach toys are available at the house. For those that want to stay connected or watch their favorie shows, the high speed internet and premium cable was a bonus!

Our favorite restaurants in the area are:
Cap's on the Water - great sunset and nearby
Bistro De Leon - yummy French food
Harry's - get the shrimp creole!
City Coffee
Meehan's - oysters Meehan are amazing. Good burgers and pub food.
A1A Brewhouse - great patio to people watch

Stuff to do:
Nothing
Think about doing nothing
Relax
Biking at GTM reserve
Kayaking in Salt Run
Anastasia Island Park
Pirate Museum
Normal touristy St. Augustine things
City Tours (ask for Deon - he's a fantastic guide and quite a character)
Be a foodie - there are NO chain restaurants allowed in the old town!

Thanks Joe and Suzanne for sharing such a wonderful place. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Above average in all aspects.

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We stayed for over two months at Winter's Past and enjoyed every minute. We've stayed at other properties in the area and this one is tops on our list. The property was well maintained, spacious, and welcoming. The yard was perfect for our dog. The beach is simply wonderful and only steps away. Because the property is a bit north of the population center, we found ourselves alone on the beach most of the time.

The owners were very responsive to some minor maintenance issues - it's really nice to have them local and involved instead of dealing with a property management company. Joe even called to remind us about the shuttle launch that we could see from the deck.

The property really has it all. Close to town, but not too close. Great fishing, surfing, and beaches. All of the beach toys are available at the house. For those that want to stay connected or watch their favorie shows, the high speed internet and premium cable was a bonus!

Our favorite restaurants in the area are:
Cap's on the Water - great sunset and nearby
Bistro De Leon - yummy French food
Harry's - get the shrimp creole!
City Coffee
Meehan's - oysters Meehan are amazing. Good burgers and pub food.
A1A Brewhouse - great patio to people watch

Stuff to do:
Nothing
Think about doing nothing
Relax
Biking at GTM reserve
Kayaking in Salt Run
Anastasia Island Park
Pirate Museum
Normal touristy St. Augustine things
City Tours (ask for Deon - he's a fantastic guide and quite a character)
Be a foodie - there are NO chain restaurants allowed in the old town!

Thanks Joe and Suzanne for sharing such a wonderful place. We'll be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for your nice comments, Tony and Michelle. We loved sharing our home with you. You've discovered some new spots for us. I can't wait to try them out.

Joe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Better than the pictures!!!

Review submitted: December 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 22, 2010

My family and I stayed at Winter's Past for Christmas 2010 and we had an absolutely amazing time. The home is perfect for a rental and we felt comfortable staying in, while there was still plenty to do close by.

The house was clean and was also very cozy. There were 7 of us, plus the dog, and it was plenty big. The ocean view is beautiful, and the patio room is enclosed, but has great views of the beach.

We will definitely come back and highly recommend it to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you. We love sharing our home

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Colorful, fun, funky and wonderful!!

Review submitted: December 22, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Can I give 10 stars for a rating!!!! Our extended family loved this home. Winter's Past is so fun and funky and colorful. Even on a rainy day, tit is sunny and energizing inside. No winter blahs here. It seemed like we were in Bermuda.

It was perfect for our clan of six adults and four kids. We will definitely be back.

We've rented a couple of homes in St Augustine Beach and thought this might be further from historic St Augustine. It iwas a couple of miles further but it took half the time to drive there.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you.

Suzanne gets all the credit for the funky stuff and wonderful colors. It's her skill set and her personality.

It really is much quicker to downtown St Augustine from Winter's Past.

Joe

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Quality Family Time

Review submitted: August 31, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

We found exactly what we were looking for at Winter's Past - peace, tranquility, and rest. My husband and son fished and fished and fished. They would wake up and be out on the beach first thing every morning. My son-n-law said he felt like he was "at home" while he was at Winter's Past. This house has everything one needs for some R&R. I highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Oh, My Goodness!

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

What a week. We walked in to a full view of the ocean out the floor to ceiling windows and doors. Wow. It was just the beginning of a magical week in this beautiful, perfectly equipped home. All we needed to bring really was a toothbrush. I am a gourmet cook and had any tool I needed at my command. (Including a Mickey Mouse waffle maker -- if you can believe that)
We opted to use the Serenada Beach Club membership for the week and felt like jet setters in the exclusive private club.
We loved the beach right off our deck and mornings in the breakfast room feeling like we were floating on top of the ocean.
All of the light hearted appointments were the source of many of our conversations and photos. We loved the ambiance!
St. Augustine was a wonderful surprise. So much to see and do.
A perfect place to make family memories. We will definitely make this an annual trek.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Winter's Past is so charming

Review submitted: August 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 17, 2010

How lovely is it to walk into a house you have never entered before, take one look around and say "Ah! We are home!"

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful beach house with us. Winter's Past is so charming. Thank you for the welcoming bottle of bubbly, which is such a sweet touch. We were so impressed with your attention to detail. Movies, games, baby monitor, porta-crib, and so much more....just like being home. We needed nothing but what we got at the new, very impressive Publix....I'm jealous!

Only complaint is we had to leave. I wanted to stay and move in. I hope we can come again next year.

We love your home!!!
BJ and Sam

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The Best Getaway we've had... ever!

Review submitted: August 22, 2010   Date of arrival: August 10, 2010

Our visit to Winter's Past made us feel like we were staying with family. We were greeted by a very caring host who called us as we made our way to Florida's Ponte Vedra beach to let us know there was food available at the Winter'sPast home allowing us to drive straight there, shower, rest, and relax. The very next day we got our crew together to enjoy the sitesoft St. Augustine which were enough to keep everyone entertained. From a carousel ride and candy store for the little ones to a haunted tour of the city at night for the bigger "kids".

The home offered enough space for our family to spend together or have some downtime of their own. The instant beach access was awesome as we did not have to drive or walk blocks to get to.

We definitely recommend this cozy home to anyone looking to get away from hustle and bustle of the big city. Whether one decides to go to town or just stay inside the comfortable "folds" of Winter's Past... they will feel relaxed, recharged, and content.

Contently,
The Texas Burnouts

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best vacation ever

Review submitted: August 8, 2010   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

Thanks so much. Your home was absolutely perfect for our family reunion. It's beautiful. Sitting on the deck with my morning cup of coffee watching the sun rise over the ocean was the perfect start for the day. St Augustine is so close and is wonderful. Everyone had the best vacation we've ever had.....and we were together. Thank you, thank you. We'll be booking for next year too.
Danielle from Philly

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review