reviews for: listing #16245 - Encinitas, California Townhome rental

Great 2 Bedroom Oceanfront 180 Neptune
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Townhome
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Encinitas Beach
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $250 - $450 /nt
    $1,200 - $2,950 /wk
    $4,600 - $11,400 /mth

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 5, 2007   Date of arrival: March 1, 2007

If you are looking for a very well equipped, tastefully and comfortably furnished home with a spectacular, unobstructed ocean view from your private patio or bedroom window in a nice, quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of great shops and fine restaurants, look no further - you've found it at 180 Neptune in charming Encinitas!
We had a great stay that will be long remembered!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect location

Review submitted: March 28, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Beautiful ocean view here, very quiet yet close to lots of restaurants and shopping. Would stay here again.

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Come back anytime, it was our pleasure to have you! Chris*

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

You'll Never Want To Leave!

Review submitted: November 23, 2010   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

Photos on the website are very representative of the rental, but they simply cannot do justice to this incredible property! The views alone are worth a special trip to Encinitas for this experience.
Binoculars were set on the coffee table, and once the dolphins came out to play, I understood why they were so graciously provided. While my family and I had planned to do a lot of sightseeing while in the area, most often we found ourself on the patio soaking in all the amazing views this rental offered us ~ from the morning haze rolling in across the Pacific, to remarkable sunsets that took our breath away!
The house is nicely furnished, has two off-street parking places, and is fully stocked with easy to find necessities. A binder giving all the helpful hints you'd even need is placed out in plain sight (no hunting through cabinets and cupboards to find it).
A unusual heat wave during our stay had us wishing the house was air-conditioned, however there was an abundance of fans that circulated cool ocean air throughout the house, keeping us all very comfortable.
My only complaint: I wish this rental property had 5 bedrooms so that I could bring more family and friends to Encinitas with me!
I will definitely be returning to this Neptune Avenue property, and if all goes well, that will happen very soon. We hated to leave this wonderful rental that actually felt like home from the very first day!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 25, 2010   Date of arrival: March 25, 2010

We love being at 180 Neptune, and this was our second time. Great view of the ocean, dolphins, surfers, and the awesome sunsets. The unit is well furnished, and very quiet. Hope we can return!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Spectacular Unobstructed Ocean Views!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

If you are looking for a very well equipped, tastefully and comfortably furnished home with a spectacular, unobstructed ocean view from your private patio or bedroom window in a nice, quiet neighborhood within easy walking distance of great shops and fine restaurants, look no further - you've found it at 180 Neptune in charming Encinitas!
We had a great stay that will be long remembered!
Max K. B, Hamburg/Germany

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Stay at 180 Neptune!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

We had a wonderful 2-week stay at 180 Neptune! If you are looking for a great rental with an unobstructed ocean view from your apt. and patio this is the real deal. We have stayed in the Encinitas/Carlsbad area several times and know what ocean-view means - there are only a few like this! This is a very comfortable, well-equipped place in a beautiful,quiet neighborhood close to beach accesses and downtown Encinitas, and we found it just as described on the website.
John & Marilyn, Athens, PA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

great location, very comfortable!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great views but many, many issues

Review submitted: August 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2009

The listing description for this property is not accurate concerning amentities and care taken to ensure that this property is up to rent standards and up to standards charged for this type of place.

Not well-maintained, i.e., screen door was lying on the ground when we arrived and the rubber gasket was off (fixed but came off again), there was no BBQ when we arrived (but the owner did provide a small one after 5 days), chipped and broken dishes, antenna nailed to the wall, half size refrigerator, chipped and missing paint both inside and out, chairs on patio are rusted and not really something you want to use or sit in and one is completely rusted through, outlets don't work, very small ill equipped kitchen, i.e., a partial set of measuring spoons, one spatula, partial set of measuring cups, one large knife and some small, steak knife type knives, calling card supposedly there for local calls but there was none, phone didn't work, the list goes on. View was great and we could see porpoise, whales,brown pelicans - the price for this place is way out of line. Owner did give a partial small refund but it wasn't enough. The property manager seemed completely unconcerned and out of touch with what this property is - so I wouldn't rely on her for anything concerning any of her other listings. All in all - DO NOT STAY HERE or, if you do, pay very little for this. It is apparent this owner doesn't want to spend money on this place.

Owners response: Addressing this review:
1-renter expressed only that the screen door (not lying on the ground) had the rubber gasket hanging from it on arrival, and a repair person was their the following day and fixed it.
2- Property guest had a personal visit immediately to address any and all issues which were only. 1-screen door, 2-no baseboards, cigarette butt on ground outside. Baseboards are never used with saltillo (spanish paver) tiles. Guest was asked by phone for a list of any issues (so that the issues could be addressed immediately), she declined, but would do so when she had the time.
3- three days later received a long list.
4-another visit to address any problems same day of receipt.
a) phone did work, was shown that it did work. (one of two extensions did not work, so extension phone was removed.
b) the charcoal BBQ was not acceptable; a new propane BBQ was delivered the same day.
c) "Outlets" don't work: one outlet did not work in downstairs bedroom; ocean air often causes the outlets to stop working, so they are frequently replaced,
d) Lock does not work on sliding door- guest shown how to work it.
c. No utensils- shown where to find them in pantry closet, d- No phone card on arrival, Offered a phone card, she declined, noting that she did not want any more service at the property. (one week still left) 10 nights booking,

Agreed: patio furniture rust, this has already been replaced- modern aluminum, non-rusting). Screen door- all sliding doors are being replaced with vinyl for ease and minimal salt air damage. note: Oceanfront, the screen doors replaced at least once and often repaired throughout the year- the patio is oceanfront. Some of the owners do not use sliding screens do to this issue but we believe that this is an important feature. Discount $850, plus additional $250 refunded to this guest.
This property owner is always fair, even sharing costs of accidental damages.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 20, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We had a wonderful 2-week stay at 180 Neptune! If you are looking for a great rental with an unobstructed ocean view from your apt. and patio this is the real deal. We have stayed in the Encinitas/Carlsbad area several times and know what ocean-view means - there are only a few like this! This is a very comfortable, well-equipped place in a beautiful,quiet neighborhood close to beach accesses and downtown Encinitas, and we found it just as described on the website.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great escape!

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

We love the quiet get away of this condo. Comfortable sleeping arrangements and decent kitchen and accessories. Great patio for coffee, lunch and dinner hour. Watched the dolphins and surfers each morning and sunsets each night over cocktails. Upstairs room allows for sleeping to the sounds of the surf! The place is always clean.
It's a short walk to Encinitas (North and South) for the shops and coffe bar and variety of restaurants. The beach is accessible about 1 block down follow steps down bluff or go the opposite direction to a playground/volleyball beach area. (These can be steep - not for H/C)
We like that there is a parking area and that you don't have to park in the street.
First trip was in Sept - great weather. Latest trip in February and altho chilly mornings, the afternoons were great! This is our second trip and we'll be there again! Chris is helpful and answers any and all questions.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 13, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

We spen a wonderful Christmas at your great home. We had everyting we needed to make it one of the best holidays we have ever had. Our two sons were able to join us and it was truly a wonderful experience - thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 13, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We totally enjoyed our stay at 180.
The townhouse is very well equipped and the views are spectacular.
Chris and the owner are very gracious and helpful. We would definitely return.
Virginia

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 28, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

My husband and I just spent a week at 180 Neptune and we loved the condo. It is very well equiped and comfortable. We spent long hours on the patio admiring the dolphins, seabirds and the ocean. The house was perfect for entertaining, with everything needed for small gatherings. We are looking forward to visiting again next summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 15, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Our stay in 180 Neptune was so nice! The place was
well stocked, comfortable without being overly
fancy for us surfers that had to bring in our boards
every day. The view was incredible, and I could even
watch my daughter surf from the deck of the house!
the house was located perfectly (not right next to a
main parking lot) so the privacy was great. Also, the
barbeque on the deck we used almost every night
and ate outside in the sunset! The short walk to the
beach was not a problem, as again, the house was
set a part from all the busy beach traffic. Also, as a
side note, the neighbors next door and in the front
house were so friendly and helpful and made us
feel at home. Thanks again Chris, we will be back
soon! Trina.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 27, 2006   Date of arrival: March 1, 2006

We spent a fantastic week at 180 Encinitas this past February. The accommodations were well beyond our expectations! We knew we'd have a great view, be just a short walk to the beach and enjoy the charming town of Encinitas, but we didn't expect all the extras that Chris provided in the rental. The beds were comfortable, there were plenty of extra linens, the kitchen was stocked with everything as was the laundry room. The two bathrooms came in handy and there was so much room to spread out. This was just a perfect base for our travels around San Diego county. The views from the house are fabulous and we saw the dolphins playing several times during our stay. Thank you Chris - we plan to return to Encinitas soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review