reviews for: listing #16267 - Boone Lake, Tennessee Cabin rental

Lake Front Cabin-Boat Dock-Fishing,Swim,Relax
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cabin
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Boone Lake
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $49 - $115 /nt
    $295 - $795 /wk

sort by:

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

Great little cottage in a quiet spot. Owner was very friendly. Very reasonably priced.

Helpful votes: 30 / 37

 

Lovely cabin on the lake

Review submitted: August 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We spent Christmas there and just loved it! Doing it again this Christmas as well! Highly recommend !!!!! The owner was great to deal with!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

RELAXATION STATION

Review submitted: February 11, 2013   Date of arrival: January 4, 2013

Wonderful and relaxing vacation. The lake, the views and the ambience made for the perfect mini vacation. Steep driveway leading to beautiful views! Perfect getaway!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

holiday visit

Review submitted: January 14, 2013   Date of arrival: December 26, 2012

The cabin was beautiful as was the location. Everything in the cabin was very nice which made the stay very pleasant. The only problem we had was the very top of the driveway. Very rough and if we had brought our car instead of truck it probably would have torn up the underside of the car. Other than that it was we had a great time and the location of the cabin was great as well

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

50's plus couple

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 4, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Boone Lake Cabin. The property is cuter than the pics. We went the first week of Nov. and there was still plenty of fall foilage to be enjoyed.
The cabin is perfectly located to sight see and tour neighboring towns.
Must do's: Bristol Caverans, Abingdon Va. for Barter Theatre and dinner(The Tavern), Roan Mtn.,
Gate City is the only little town we found that doesn't have the "big box sprall". Also Big Stone Gap was neat and the museum there. If you have time go to the Carter Country Fold on a Saturday night-what a hoot-real cloggers!!! June Carters family origin- what a cultural experience it was.
Bristol was a sweet town as well as Jonesboro.
We packed way too much into one week, but it was a blast.
People are so friendly in this area.

The only negative thing was the driveway has a drop-off that scraped the bottom of our car every time
we left and returned. I can tell it is a problem issue that will need to be resolved soon.

But, It was a great cabin!!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Words Cannot Describe ...

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

our overall experience. We had paid for 7 nights and after one night and a very enjoyable, relaxing day, received a phone call that my mother had unexpectedly passed away. Fortunately, we were only a couple of hours from home and left very quickly - a few dirty dishes in the sink, food in the freezer and refrigerator and on the table and counter. I contacted the owner by e-mail very early the next morning as I was unable to sleep. I wanted to let her know of what had happened and that we had left the food so that it could be discarded as soon as possible. Her kindness and understanding were such a blessing at this very difficult time. Without even asking or mentioning our "lost" 6 nights, the owner so very kindly offered to let us finish up our vacation when we were ready. The offer really touched our hearts and we knew we were renting from a very special person. Words do not even begin to express how kind and understanding she has been. We are looking forward to going back to the cabin and finishing our vacation - The location is so private and peaceful and everything we expected it to be and more. We can't say enough good things about the owner or about the lovely spot on the lake that she is so gracious to share with others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Dave & Viktoryia Escobar

Review submitted: September 9, 2012   Date of arrival: September 2, 2012

The cabin was so nice and cozy, My wife and I came up for small vacation with our 3 year old and another couple and we had the best time ever. First we rented a boat from Sunny marina off rt 38 it was very close to the cabin and the boat was only $125 per day and we was able to dock it at the cabin so we was on the lake all day fishing and swiming it was so nice to drive boat to the dock and have lunch in the cabin. We cooked out on the grill that was on the deck for lunch, weather was great. The cabin was so nice and clean, at night we could light the fireplace and play board games which was in the cabin there was dvd movies with a big tv and lots of books and magazines. The kitchen was well stocked with everyting we needed to cook with. The mall is very close and the food stores are the best I have ever seen. Bristol Motor speedway is only 20 minutes away and we went to a underground cave I think it was called Bristol Caverns. If you want a nice simple place to getaway this is the place. It was only 6 hour drive from Myrtle Beach through beautiful mountians. We will return every year and hopefully be able to come in the snow:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Vacation spot

Review submitted: July 19, 2012   Date of arrival: July 4, 2012

Had a great time at Lake Boone. Cabin was very neat and tidy. Will be going back as soon as we can. Would reccomend highly!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: July 7, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We had a great time. The house was nice and the lake was wonderful. We had a john boat and canoe that went with the house. We relaxed while swimming and floating around on the lake. It was the peaceful and relaxing vacation that I needed.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Our Stay

Review submitted: April 23, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Our stay at the cabin of Boone Lake was great! The cabin was so cozy, neat, and clean. It was exactly what was described and we enjoyed it so much. We hope to stay here again when we return to the area. Thanks so much for everything!!

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pam and Dale (Florida)

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: August 24, 2011

This cabin is the BEST! We have stayed so many times and always look forward to coming again. Paula does an excellent job of providing anything you may need and maintaining this property!! This is our favorite place to stay. We love the location and everything about this place. EXCELLENT place to stay!!!! Thank you Paula for everything.

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

What's that smell!?

Review submitted: October 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

Staying at this little cabin was a very bad experience. The drive is very steep down to the cabin, and coming in at night it was not so easy to find. There was a very fool and pungent smell in the cabin when we arrived. It was too late and too far out of the way to find another place to sleep so we stayed the night. Waking to the smell in the morning was almost nausiating. We never figured out the source of the smell, but I think it was the carpet.

Next I tried to take a shower. About midway through the shower the shower head just broke off and nearly hit me in the head as it fell. I tried numerous times to contact the owner regarding this issue, to no avail.

As if this was not enough... Upon arrival two large dogs followed us down to the cabin from the neighbor's house and camped out outside the front door the entire weekend. The dogs were very attention starved and rambunctious. Then came the most annoying cat ever. It sat with the dogs and cried incessiantly and tried to run in the house any chance it got. The sound of the cat crying could be heard from the bedroom all night. These animals were cute for about the first thirty minutes but even as an animal lover they quickly became a nuisance.

I tried to contact the owner several times during and after our stay regarding these issues and she did not answer or return my call. Very disappointed that someone feels good taking people's money for an experience of this sort.

Owners response: The cabin can be difficult to locate at night and the drive is somewhat steep, as are many drives leading to cabins located on mountain lakes. I rent this cabin often and rarely receive any complaints. When I do receive complaints, I quickly resolve whatever the issue may be. I can only say that the cabin may not be for everyone, as is the case with any rental property.

I did receive one phone call from this lady regarding a broken shower head. The message left me with the impression that she had somehow broken the shower head and just wanted me to know about it. I returned her phone call but did not hear anything else until this review was posted.

I have several people who come back 3 and 4 times a year and even have numerous requests from guests that if I ever want to sale to please call them because they love our cabin and would love to buy it....

Paula Calloway

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Great Vacation

Review submitted: June 24, 2011   Date of arrival: June 13, 2011

This was the first in a long time that I explored taking a mountain vacation. We where more than pleasantly surprised that everything was as presented to us about the rental listing. The cottage was clean, cozy and included all the modern amenities and then some. The location is ideally located for most activities in less or around 1 hours ride.Every well known restaurant a few minutes away. I would highly recommend this vacation spot to everyone. I also appreciated the owners who did as they promised and answered promptly if we had a question, this was first class. Bill S.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 7 / 9

 

Great place to get away!!

Review submitted: July 29, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2010

My sorority sisters and I stopped here for our first taste of Tennessee and it was GREAT! It would be perfect for a couple, but we still had a blast. Everything was basically there, Paula was FANTASTIC. We loved everything about it :)

Recommended for: sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 9

 

Weekend getaway

Review submitted: March 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

This is a great place to getaway from it all and you’re still close to stores, restaurants and attractions. Me and my husband spent the weekend and had a great time on the lake. We took a drive over to the Biltmore Estate and came back to the lake house a watched a movie by the fire. We lake was just a few feet away from the house and it was beautiful. The house was clean and tidy, with plenty of thick comfy towel. We didn’t want to leave and plan to visit again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 12

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review