reviews for: listing #16426 - Crescent City, California Cottage rental

South Fork of the Smith River Vacation Rental
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hiouchi
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $95 - $95 /nt
    $665 - $665 /wk
    $2,660 - $2,660 /mth

sort by:

Very comfortable and safe!

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 30, 2013

Just got home from spending Labor Day weekend at this wonderful cottage/cabin. There were supposed to be four of us, but my Son had to work. So, my Daughter-in-law, Grandson and myself spent the weekend without him there. I am a pretty brave lady, but when it comes to the safety of my family, I am very cautious! This cottage is pretty remote, which I prefer. Quiet, clean, and the best part for me was that we felt perfectly safe! Would have loved to have met Brenda, maybe next time. Nice meeting you Dale, and thanks for the great place to stay!

Lori D./Amador County California

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Fun place to visit

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

This was a fun place to stay. Our family had a great time visiting the nearby Redwoods, Crescent City, and the Beach. Beautiful area in the forest surrounded by trees and the Smith River below. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Fun place to visit

Review submitted: April 2, 2013   Date of arrival: March 28, 2013

This was a fun place to stay. Our family had a great time visiting the nearby Redwoods, Crescent City, and the Beach. Beautiful area in the forest surrounded by trees and the Smith River below. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful getaway for our family

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 15, 2011

Loved our stay and the owners were very helpful. The weather was sunny and warm and we enjoyed our swim in the majestic Smith River. We had a great barbecue on the back deck and enjoyed the birds singing tunes to us. We found the cottage very clean with fresh towels and linens. The beds were wonderful and the owners said they had just bought new bed last year and hoped that we enjoyed them. we had a great nights sleep. The carpets had just been cleaned and the satelite tv kept us updated of news events. The yard was freshly mowed and the flowers smell wonderful. We had a very relaxing stay and would reccommend this cottage to everyone. We will definentley be back and can't wait for our next trip.
thank you Brenda, Dale and Loyal for making our stay so great. Your friendship was beyond what we expected to recieve.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 15

 

Could have been 4 stars

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 27, 2011

The area is very scenic, however, I think we would have been better off staying in a hotel. There were spiders all over the place and it was not cleaned very well at all. The floors were dirty which is very troublesome for people with a crawling baby, and there was someone else's toilet paper in the toilet when we arrived. The satellite TV listed under the amenities did not work and the propane in the gas grill only had enough fuel for 5 minutes of cooking. These are very easy things to take care of. If it would have been cleaned properly like you would expect when paying a cleaning fee and the other amenities were actually available then I would have probably given 4 stars.

Helpful votes: 9 / 11

 

Wonderful Getaway

Review submitted: August 12, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2009

Our family enjoyed three days here over labor day weekend 2009. It was so wonderful to be out of town and near the river. The drive there was relaxing, and the setting serene. There was plenty of room for 6 adults and two children. I loved the warm fires we made every day, and the berries we picked just outside we made a cobbler with. It was charming and very much a cabin in the woods appeal. Would definately return to stay here again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review