reviews for: listing #16430 - Lake Placid, New York House rental

Secluded Waterfront Cottage 1/2 mile To Downtown Lake Placid
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $400 - $550 /nt
    $2,500 - $4,500 /wk

sort by:

Peace and tranquility await you!

Review submitted: August 19, 2014   Date of arrival: August 9, 2014

My husband and I along with our three children and their families comfortably stayed in this home. It was located a short walk from Lake Placid and a grocery store which was very convenient. The kitchen was fully stocked with large pots and pans and bakeware which made cooking easy. The rooms were large and the jacuzzi tub a hit with the grandchildren. The gem in this rental was the gorgeous babbling brook behind the house. The deck over looking the river was a beautiful place for a glass of wine at sunset. The game room was a nice extra to keep children occupied. We have rented houses around the US and in other countries and this one stands out as having all of the amenities you would need. The owner Dave was very accommodating. The only thing the house lacked was a grill so if you can fit it in your car bring it with you! Enjoy!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great summer week!

Review submitted: August 17, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We had a great week in a great home. Very comfortable house in beautiful Lake Placid. All was as promised. Clean, quite, comfy beds...comfy everything! The walk to town was our daily exercise as was the walk around Mirror Lake. The owner was very easy to work with and very prompt to all of our questions. The care taker was easy to contact and very pleasant as well. I would totally recommend this place for a vacation!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The property was simply amazing!

Review submitted: February 11, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Our stay at this home was absolutely amazing. The house had plenty of sleeping space and an incredible view. The best part about it was that it was only a few blocks away from downtown Lake Placid. We make the trip to Lake Placid every year and always go with different homes, but I think we found our place to rent for every year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great 3 night stay

Review submitted: January 30, 2014   Date of arrival: January 23, 2014

Perfect 3 night stay at this property. Owners followed through on everything that was listed, the property was clean and had plenty of everything. Owner was also very responsive and organized. Great location, will definitely return in the future!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend!

Review submitted: January 21, 2014   Date of arrival: January 17, 2014

Recently returned from a relaxing long weekend in Lake Placid. The house was just as described and fit 10 adults very comfortably with room to spare. The layout was perfect for our large group and the location was great for both the skiers and non-skiers. I would definitely recommend this rental to friends and some of us even discussed the possibility of returning ourselves over the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Quiet. Serene . Perfect winter escape.

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: January 1, 2013

Beautiful home tucked away in a quiet nook near a babbling brook in lake placid. The home is so quiet and kept so nice. It was wonderful to be a part of the forest and snow during our stay. The kitchen is fully stocked with all the pots, pans and utensils one would need to serve any meal at home. The TV is nice but really we didn't turn it on - there was too much else to take in! The beds and Jacuzzi also lent to relaxing evenings to thaw out after a long hike in the snow.

Would recommend it to anyone visiting this lush woodland escape with family or friends. For people looking to take in the scenery and still be close to town where things are hoppin'. Thank you for letting us stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great weekend in Lake Placid

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: August 1, 2013

For a year we planned my little brother's bachelor party weekend. We found this property on HomeAway (or as we said, it found us). It had everything we needed and more - the game room was so much fun to have and it is so easy to walk anywhere. We walked to the lake to go out on a pontoon, we walked to town for a nice dinner out and to pick up groceries. Private, beautiful and convenient - plus the owner and home manager were both incredibly helpful and accessible. If this house fits your group, look no further! A++++

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Ski weekend in Lake Placid

Review submitted: February 20, 2013   Date of arrival: February 15, 2013

We brought a group of 12 to stay at Riverview for a ski weekend. The property was clean, comfortable, and well-maintained and perfect size for a trip with this many people. Also fun for a group as it has many games in the house, and has a large, open, fully equipped kitchen and comfortable living room. Large enough to house 12 people and small enough to be cozy and fun.The bathrooms, appliances, and furniture were fairly new and clean. I would certainly return to the house. Great location as well, close to the town, the supermarket, and overlooking a river.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

The perfect end to a 200 mile race!

Review submitted: January 28, 2013   Date of arrival: September 29, 2012

11 crazy friends and I ran a 200 mile relay from Saratoga Springs to Lake Placid and stayed at Riverview at the end. It was exactly what we needed at the finish line and I became captain of the year for finding such a great place :) !

The place was spacious enough that we never felt crowed and the beds were great for a good night sleep after an intense race. The game room was perfect to unleash our inner child and the view was incredible. The location was also great, close enough to the downtown area that you could walk there, yet secluded enough to feel like you are taking full advantage of being the Adirondacks.

Last but not least, Dave the owner was great to work with, very friendly and easy going! If we decide to do this race again next year, I would be severely disappointed if we couldn't rent this place again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great weekend!

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: January 25, 2013

We stayed for a weekend and had a blast. We'll definitely return. The house is very nice and spacious (we were 11 adults). The living area is fantastic and bright. Lake Placid has a lot of activities to offer. We tried skeleton and bobsleigh and had a blast. Thanks for everything!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Riverview

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Our family had a wonderful stay at this beautifully appointed home. The setting is beautiful, the location ideal- just a very short walk to shopping and restaurants of all types and price points. The game room was ideal for children, and the house was perfect for a family reunion. The kitchen was well equipped with everything from cookware to serveware.

Our only disappointment was that we had to leave. We hope to return soon, and often!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great week with our family

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

We celebrated my husbands 60 birthday with a week in lake placid. Riverview turned out to be the perfect space for us. The house was clean and equipped with everything we would need for the week. We had plenty of space for our married children and our unmarried children. No one lacked for privacy! We walked to town almost every day. We rented a boat on lake placid, and we were able to walk to the marina, as well as walking to the beach on mirror lake. Dave was responsive and easy to deal with, as was Kim ( his local person). We would come back for another week without question.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great House, great weekend

Review submitted: June 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 18, 2012

"Wow!" A word spoken by all of us as we went from room to room though out this house, there were 10 of us in all and we never felt crowded. The house was clean and had everything we needed; plenty of towels, pillows and blankets and the kitchen was well stocked too. We spent a lot of time on the back porch which overlooked the beautiful little river which was so peaceful and quite. A quick little drive down to Lake Placid village and the shops. This was our first time using HomeAway and the owner Dave always responded quickly to our e-mails and questions and made the whole process easy. I would definitely recommend this beautiful home to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

This was the first time our group of siblings (& spouses) rented a house for our annual winter getaway. Riverview was PERFECT! Lake Placid has something for everyone and was easily walkable from the house. We skied, snowshoed, cross-X skied, snowboarded, watched bobsledding, tobogganed, and hiked. There was plenty of parking at the house including garage space. Riverview was spacious enough to allow us our own space while providing ample room for the group to convene for meals, poker, Oscar watching, movies, or fierce competition over the basketball shoot out game in the basement game room. The house itself is clean and well stocked with linens, towels, etc. We had everything we needed for the weekend. We'd happily return to Riverview in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect weekend!

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

This was the first time our group of siblings (& spouses) rented a house for our annual winter getaway. Riverview was PERFECT! Lake Placid has something for everyone and was easily walkable from the house. We skied, snowshoed, cross-X skied, snowboarded, watched bobsledding, tobogganed, and hiked. There was plenty of parking at the house including garage space. Riverview was spacious enough to allow us our own space while providing ample room for the group to convene for meals, poker, Oscar watching, movies, or fierce competition over the basketball shoot out game in the basement game room. The house itself is clean and well stocked with linens, towels, etc. We had everything we needed for the weekend. We'd happily return to Riverview in the future. The owner and property manager were easy to contact and friendly.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great location, comfortable house

Review submitted: January 18, 2012   Date of arrival: January 13, 2012

Our group had a fantastic time here. The house is well-appointed and very comfortable. We had a large group and never felt crowded. The common spaces are more spacious than the pictures might suggest. Everyone also enjoyed the secluded feel while being able to walk to town.

The owner and rental manager were a pleasure to deal with and the whole rental experience was completely painless. This place is first in my mind for ADK mountain vacations from now on.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Ski getaway

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Excellent place for a family reunion. Owner is a pleasure to deal with. House was clean, in order, and everything needed was there. Just bring your food and personal belongings. We had a great time and would recommend this house to anyone.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It Doesn't Get Better Than This!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Wow! What a spectacular vacation we had in this house. We arrived to a perfectly clean and gorgeous home, furnished with lovely couches, flat screen TV, and fully equipped kitchen, all laid out in an open concept floor plan- perfect for friend and family gatherings. The home has a gorgeous jacuzzi tub, and comes with more towels, soap (even shampoo!), than we could have used. We fully took advantage of having our own private lot backing on to a gorgeous little creek, but still being only a ten minute walk into the main strip of Lake Placid. If the house itself wasn't enough- the basement is also stocked with games for the young..or just young at heart. From a full basketball game, to air hockey, to foosball, to tons of board games- we were entertained for hours. As skiers, we loved the location of being right in Lake Placid and having only a short drive out to Whiteface mountain. As soon as we rented, it was very obvious how much the owner cares for this property- he took the time to go through all details of the house, and answer any questions I had via email or phone- the owner made the whole process simple and seamless. I honestly can not say enough nice things about this house and owner- anyone looking to go to Lake Placid in winter or summer I would HIGHLY recommend this home!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

It Doesn't Get Better Than This!!

Review submitted: January 2, 2012   Date of arrival: December 30, 2011

Wow! What a spectacular vacation we had in this house. We arrived to a perfectly clean and gorgeous home, furnished with lovely couches, flat screen TV, and fully equipped kitchen, all laid out in an open concept floor plan- perfect for friend and family gatherings. The home has a gorgeous jacuzzi tub, and comes with more towels, soap (even shampoo!), than we could have used. We fully took advantage of having our own private lot backing on to a gorgeous little creek, but still being only a ten minute walk into the main strip of Lake Placid. If the house itself wasn't enough- the basement is also stocked with games for the young..or just young at heart. From a full basketball game, to air hockey, to foosball, to tons of board games- we were entertained for hours. As skiers, we loved the location of being right in Lake Placid and having only a short drive out to Whiteface mountain. As soon as we rented, it was very obvious how much the owner cares for this property- he took the time to go through all details of the house, and answer any questions I had via email or phone- the owner made the whole process simple and seamless. I honestly can not say enough nice things about this house and owner- anyone looking to go to Lake Placid in winter or summer I would HIGHLY recommend this home!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Hiking the Peaks

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

“We stayed at this property for a trip we took to hike some peaks. It was a great place to stay – we were close to the hikes we wanted to do and conveniently close to the Olympic skating center and town business district with its shops and restaurants with views of the lake. The house was roomy and very comfortable with everything we needed and the Jacuzzi tub hit the spot after a long day’s hike. The kitchen, dining area and back deck overlook and allows access to a beautiful, secluded part of the river, and provides a peaceful spot for a drink after hiking or just chilling out. We’ll definitely come back to stay for our next visit.”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

"Great Place for Hiking the High Peaks"

Review submitted: October 19, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

“We stayed at this property for a trip we took to hike some peaks. It was a great place to stay – we were close to the hikes we wanted to do and conveniently close to the Olympic skating center and town business district with its shops and restaurants with views of the lake. The house was roomy and very comfortable with everything we needed and the Jacuzzi tub hit the spot after a long day’s hike. The kitchen, dining area and back deck overlook and allows access to a beautiful, secluded part of the river, and provides a peaceful spot for a drink after hiking or just chilling out. We’ll definitely come back to stay for our next visit.”

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place for Hiking the Peaks!

Review submitted: October 14, 2011   Date of arrival: October 5, 2011

“We stayed at this property for a trip we took to hike some peaks. It was a great place to stay – we were close to the hikes we wanted to do and conveniently close to the Olympic skating center and town business district with its shops and restaurants with views of the lake. The house was roomy and very comfortable with everything we needed and the Jacuzzi tub hit the spot after a long day’s hike. The kitchen, dining area and back deck overlook and allow access to a beautiful, secluded part of the river, and provides a peaceful spot for a drink after hiking or just chilling out. We’ll definitely come back to stay for our next visit.”

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Warm and Comfortable Home

Review submitted: September 15, 2011   Date of arrival: August 17, 2011

My wife and the 2 couples that stayed in the home were very pleased with how clean and warm the accomodations were in LP. We were all drawn to the outdoor deck in the back over looking a brook. How relaxing it was to sit on the deck and listen to the running water as we enjoyed the beautiful setting and the numerous birds that appeared including a crane. The home is close to many of the local attractions that we visited and given the location we were able to take a day trip to Montreal. The kitchen is well equiped as we enjoyed cooking a number of meals after a visit to a new super market within 2 miles from the home. All are looking forward to returning to the home again, perhaps this year to enjoy sking on the nearby White Face Mountian.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great place for a little escape

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: September 2, 2011

Visited this rental property for a long weekend in the Lake Placid area. Good location, not on the lake but on a small river and about 1/2 mile to lake placid and close to town. House offered all we needed, no frills but perfect. Game room downstairs was a hit!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A great place to enjoy the Fall Colors

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: September 30, 2006

A great place to enjoy the Fall Colors. Easy to relax with kids and grand kids. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved the house so much!

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 25, 2007

We loved the house so much. We enjoyed the game room. There was so much to do here! Thanks for letting us stay here!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

House is wonderful!

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: February 15, 2011

House is wonderful. Ski weather was great. Thank you for everything!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a terrific time

Review submitted: May 28, 2011   Date of arrival: August 31, 2010

We had a terrific time here. The kids had a blast in the game room. It was a perfect house for us and very clean and nice. Thank you for the wonderful time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review