reviews for: listing #16476 - Whidbey Island, Washington House rental

Whidbey Beachfront House and Cabins
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  5
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $695 - $1,250 /nt
    $3,800 - $7,500 /wk

sort by:

Paradise Found

Review submitted: May 4, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Five women looked for a place to celebrate the 70th milestone for one of their group. They rented the beachfront cabin at Whidbey Island and found a place remarkably suited to their needs. Spacious, open common rooms meant the group could sit, eat, talk in various locales comfortably. Private bedrooms and the beach cabin gave each the solitude and private moments they desired. The beach welcomed us to stride energetically or dawdle mindlessly, and provided surprising treasures - the wooden teepee on the beach, and stones shaped like Mickey's head. The kitchen, well equipped and laid out, became a creative space and served us well. We left with regret, but carried away with us memories of bocce on the lawn; rabbits munching steadily while dogs careened around the beach; deer welcoming us as we drove down the trail to the house and again on our way out; and a truly wonderful venue in which to celebrate one of life's important moments.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

This is such an amazing home!

Review submitted: April 1, 2014   Date of arrival: March 27, 2014

I couldn't have asked for a more perfect getaway spot for our family reunion. Plenty of gorgeous beach property, the house is perfectly modern and comfortable with all the amenities needed for a group event. The owners were very available and easy to work with.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect House for Friends Weekend Getaway

Review submitted: November 20, 2013   Date of arrival: November 15, 2013

Eleven friends and I gathered at the Whidbey Beachfront Property to celebrate my 40th birthday. We had plenty of room to spread out and be together, and really appreciated having the main house, the beach cabin and the separate room. The entire house is really easy for guests in every way - from the well equipped kitchen, to the pre-prepared fire-pit to the clearly labeled light/electronic switches, we felt right at home and took advantage of all the house has to offer. Even though it poured the first night of our trip and was cloudy the rest of the time, the house and water view was still amazing. Highly recommend!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful!

Review submitted: October 4, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

We had such a lovely time at the house that it was hard to leave! The house and cabins had everything we needed, the view is fantastic, and the property is beautiful. I would definitely recommend staying here (get the beach cabin, it's great!)

Recommended for: girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

natural beauty at every turn

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 2, 2013

this location was chosen for purposes of a photo shoot on the beach and upper deck of the main house. our executive team stayed in the cabins and main house for the course of our 5 day shoot - a treat in and of itself.
the views are stunning, as is the beautiful home and well-kept, cozy cabins. the landscaping was natural and wonderfully maintained, with the hospitality of the groundskeeper and owner going above and beyond. while we did not have an opportunity to enjoy the pool or hot tub, both looked to be in wonderful condition.
the paths for hiking and the expansive beach for long walks exceeded our expectations and allowed us to enjoy our work experience completely.
i would recommend this location particularly to families or couples as the multiple tiers of rooms/cabins allow for privacy and intimacy. the seals swimming by in the mornings and barking at us were a treat as was the bald eagle that sat treetop above the main house, observing us as we ate our meals on the deck. northwest nature at it's finest!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Team Retreat - StrataCore

Review submitted: October 16, 2012   Date of arrival: October 12, 2012

We have stayed at the Whidbey Beachfront property 2 years in a row for our annual team retreat. We love the location and the house is very comfortable with everything you could need. There are plenty of beds for everyone and the kitchen is great for large groups. The WIFI is useful for the working portion of our retreat. The hot tub, pool, beachfront and fire pit are nice for the non-working portion of our stay. Nancy is very helpful in making arrangements and giving all the information you need for your stay on the island. We will definitely be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great place for special gathering

Review submitted: September 30, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

We came here with a ten friends and family for a special gathering and we all just loved the place! It's so accommodating--and spectacular! Everyone could be together or easily find a quiet corner or beach for solitude. Steam shower was a particularly nice and unusual amenity. We love Whidbey Island and this place!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect for multi-generation reunion

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 3, 2012

Our three generation family gathering was held at Whidbey Beachfront compound this month and everyone had a ball. There was plenty of room in the main house and grandma and grandpa claimed the beach cottage. Having the extra cottage bedroom for overflow was helpful. It was unseasonably warm the first part of the stay and the grandchildren made good use of the pool and everyone enjoyed the hot tub. All twelve of us eat dinner outside every night, enjoying the view. With the pool, beach and the state park a short walk away, we had everything we need to make memories. It was a great week.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

An really incredible property

Review submitted: February 15, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

We rented this place for a CEO type retreat and it was nothing short of incredible. Working with the property owners before, during and after the stay was a breeze and our questions were always promptly answered.

The accommodations were very modern, extremely well-kept and very clean. In some ways we felt like the pictures of the property displayed didn't do it enough justice -- once you get there you will know what I mean.

After our stay, many of the execs themselves are considering renting the property for their own family get-togethers. I highly recommend this for business retreats, romantic get-aways, R&R trips, adventure seekers and family outings.

Once again, incredible property!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best of the best!

Review submitted: November 29, 2011   Date of arrival: December 29, 2010

Following an epic health event in our family several years ago, we started a tradition of ending and beginning the years with a family gathering in celebration of our blessed lives. After choosing different beachfront destinations on many of the islands in Puget Sound, we came upon this piece of paradise. We have been grateful guests of this property 4 times I beleive and it is without a doubt one of the most beautiful retreats you will ever find so close to home. We rented pre-remodel and loved everything about it. Then the remodel occurred and we were smitten!! It was possible for it to be even better! The owners have an amazing attention to detail and have thought of everything. We would love to rent in the summer and take advantage of the pool and swimming!! We also want to come back to see the total finished remodel. Sorry we didn't book early enough this year to be ending 2011 and beginning 2012 in this most luxurious of vacation destinations. You won't be disappointed in the least in any aspect of this home. It's like having your own compound. The wonderful thing about it is that you won't feel as though you are renting...you will feel as though you've come home...( with upgrades! )

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your kind words! We would love to have you back again soon. All the best wishes to you and your family for the coming year.
Nancy and Al

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

We'll Be Back Next Year!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

My Bunco group absolutely raved about spending two Autumn nights at this exquisite property!

We are an older group and even though we didn't make it down to the sandy beach, the views of the water, mountains, ships, boats and wildlife from the main house and deck, Eagle's Nest and Beach Front Cabin are to die for!

The main floor includes a bathroom, with view windows from every other room consisting of a living room with an HD TV, dining room with a spacious table (sits up to 12) and roomy kitchen (with an island) which all makes for a homey atmosphere! Impressed with the spacious refrigerator, two dishwashers, a separate freezer which kept us current with ice; the pantry and cupboards have every pan and utensil you'll ever need. The linens and mattresses were heavenly. All bedrooms are downstairs in the main house.The owner is a wonderful person to deal with and made it so easy! I stayed in the Eagle's Nest with my sister and we were very happy there. The view was great, it was quiet and the mattress and linens were so comfortable. No trouble falling asleep, at all.

We had a wonderful visit and we all want to return for our annual Bunco weekend next year. Hopefully in the warmer weather! Thank you for helping us create memories that will last a lifetime.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation spot for multi-family group

Review submitted: May 25, 2011   Date of arrival: February 17, 2011

We had a superb time - wonderful winter or summer vacation spot. Our PEPS group traveled from Seattle and had a great time cooking, laughing, roasting marshmallows, beachcombing -- and in February! Great for toddlers and their parents. The property is beautiful, spacious and we loved the cook's kitchen. We've rented many houses for getaways with our group, and this one is by far our favorite. The main house can easily sleep 3 families, and the other two cabins are close by, so everyone feels together, but not too together. Lovely beach and fire pit too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for coming! We look forward to having you again! - Nancy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fabulous Birthday Getaway

Review submitted: February 2, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We spent 4 nights in January 2011 and loved every minute. There were 8 - 10 of us and the cabins and main house provided privacy but allowed conviviality. Much time was spent around the large dining table eating, laughing, playing games. There was plenty of space for us to all watch movies together in the living room as well as cook together in the glorious kitchen. The beach and the view are the main attraction and they didn't disappoint. We hiked to the State Park, and, from the ginormous deck, watched seals play, eagles soar, bats whiz by. Listened to frogs and owls. Saw more stars than we can from the city. It was magical. We will definitely be renting again!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Terrific getaway

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 7, 2010

House, or should I say houses, provided all the amenities.....understated and comfortable elegance. Obviously the owners have put a great deal of thought into making this a welcoming place to celebrate nature

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Memorial Day Weekend Get Away

Review submitted: June 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 28, 2010

Our family had a wonderful time at this amazing home! We had a number of kids with us who absolutely LOVED the beach and having the lower beach cabin was perfect so they had somewhere to hang out and the adults could have some "quiet time"!! The views are gorgeous, the house is beautiful, plenty of space for everyone, wonderful updates to the home throughout. The hot tub was awesome...only wish it was warm enough to enjoy the pool! We'll definitely be back!!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing place!

Review submitted: August 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 31, 2009

The website is absolutely an accurate reflection of how beautiful this place it. The Beach cabin is a wonderful choice if you want a private cottage with privacy. The master bedroom is magnificent. The views from the deck can't be beat. It is a great place for a family reunion and there are so many things to do on the Island. Make sure you eat a meal at the Oystercatcher in Coupeville.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 22, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

What a great week! We have just returned from a
family reunion - and what a success that all 4 sets
of families loved the place I chose! I had stayed at
the "complex" 4 yr ago before the remodel -- and
what a difference the upgrades made. Each family
had their own private place to sleep, we all loved
being on the beach, with a hottub for relaxation
after a chilly morning by the water. Even the young
kids adored the sunsets from the deck. We
recommend this place highly, with the additional
bonus that Nancy was so helpful with any question
we asked. Enjoy your trip....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A wonderful corporate planning retreat

Review submitted: February 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

I run a technology company in Seattle and wanted to get our management team together to discuss our plans for the year ahead. We chose this home because it was close enough to Seattle to easily get to, but far enough to feel like we got away from the office.

The house was a perfect choice! There were enough beds for eight of us to sleep comfortably with a few beds to spare. The living room, where we did our planning, had sweeping views of Puget Sound and the Olympics. We didn't save enough time to take full advantage of all the home had to offer -- hot tub, private beach, steam room, fire pit, big flat panel TV, pool and more.

The decor hits that sweet-spot (at least for me) of modern yet traditional; Asian yet western; stylish but comfortable. The attention to detail in the place was very impressive. Little things like dimmers on the lights, heated floors in bathrooms and so on.

And the home was stocked with everything we needed. Towels, linens, basic toiletries (soap, shampoo, etc.) so you didn't have to worry that someone on the team was going to need something that expected would be there but wasn't. The owners even put in wireless Internet just because we needed it. This is clearly a home owned by people proud of what they've built, who want to share and want their guests to have a wonderful time.

Thanks for making it a memorable offsite meeting. I think my family may well be back sometime for a visit that is all about enjoying what the place has to offer without the distractions of business :-)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 30, 2008

I went searching online for a beach house on Whidbey Island where my brothers and I could gather with our families to celebrate our mom's 80th birthday. When I stumbled on Nancy and Al's place, it looked ideal: right on the beach, with lawn, a fire pit and a pool--and two cabins in addition to the main house: perfect for kids and various family constellations. Well, I'm now my family's hero for having found this place...and I quote (when I asked on my way up how the place was), "You just won't believe this place!” No one could get over how special the place was; the pictures on the website don't do it justice. The house, a portion of which was just remodeled, has some stunning features (check out the master bedroom and bath with steam/double-headed shower). We lacked for absolutely nothing in the kitchen, every convenience was there. Nancy and Al managed to furnish the house and both cabins in a way that made us feel warm and at home, at ease with kids there, and at the same time completely pampered. And there is a close to 180 degree view of the water--we almost lived out on the deck… when we weren't on the beach or in the pool or playing highly competitive games of croquet on the lawn. We enjoyed 4 days of September's perfect Indian Summer weather and some of us never once got in the car. Magic, having all of us gathered for dinner at the big table on the deck as the sun set. So many great conversations, so much fun, such a happy time in a gorgeous setting. Everyone wants to make it an annual event. Our mom loved every minute and we are so grateful. Thank you, Nancy and Al!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 30, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

I went searching online for a beach house on Whidbey Island where my brothers and I could gather with our families to celebrate our mom's 80th birthday. When I stumbled on Nancy and Al's place, it looked ideal: right on the beach, with lawn, a fire pit and a pool--and two cabins in addition to the main house: perfect for kids and various family constellations. Well, I'm now my family's hero for having found this place...and I quote (when I asked on my way up how the place was), "You just won't believe this place!” No one could get over how special the place was; the pictures on the website don't do it justice. The house, a portion of which was just remodeled, has some stunning features (check out the master bedroom and bath with steam/double-headed shower). We lacked for absolutely nothing in the kitchen, every convenience was there. Nancy and Al managed to furnish the house and both cabins in a way that made us feel warm and at home, at ease with kids there, and at the same time completely pampered. And there is a close to 180 degree view of the water--we almost lived out on the deck… when we weren't on the beach or in the pool or playing highly competitive games of croquet on the lawn. We enjoyed 4 days of September's perfect Indian Summer weather and some of us never once got in the car. Magic, having all of us gathered for dinner at the big table on the deck as the sun set. So many great conversations, so much fun, such a happy time in a gorgeous setting. Everyone wants to make it an annual event. Our mom loved every minute and we are so grateful. Thank you, Nancy and Al!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We just spent a wonderful week on Whidbey with
friends and family (including some small children)
and can't say enough about the property. The
newly remodeled bedrooms/bathrooms in the main
house were fantastic. My husband and I stayed in
the master bedroom - the views were incredible
and the bathroom was lovely (huge tub and
spacious shower with two shower heads). We all
had tons of fun playing in the pool, relaxing in the
hot tub and eating meals on the deck of the main
house, which, again, has spectacular views (the
"railing" is made of glass, which means the view is
almost completely unobstructed). Given that we
had family visiting as well, it was so nice to have
the privacy afforded by the two cabins. Everyone
felt that there was plenty of comfortable space to
gather as well as plenty of privacy. I'm hoping we
can visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 22, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Comment Text: We spent our week vacation together at your beautiful home and had a great time. We usually travel to the Oregon Coast because everyone loves the water but everyone's lives have become so busy we needed to choose a place closer to home. I couldn't believe when I found your place. Then again couldn't believe it was so perfect for our needs. Everyone had something to make them happy. The sleeping arrangements for big families and privacy was perfect. The small cabin snuggled in between the house and large cabin was perfect for teenagers. We fished, swam, and had meals together. The kids built a fort on the beach and sandcastles. I enjoyed just relaxing and watching everyone have a great time. The sunsets and view from the deck and master suite were fantastic. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with all of us. We definitely plan on returning next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We spent our week vacation together at your beautiful home and had a great time. We usually travel to the Oregon Coast because everyone loves the water but everyon's lives have become so busy we needed to choose a place closer to home. I couldn't believe when I found your place. Then again couldn't believe it was so perfect for our needs. Everyone had something to make them happy. The sleeping arrangements for big families and privacy was perfect. The small cabin snuggled in between the house and large cabin was perfect for teenagers. We fished, swam, and had meals together. The kids built a fort on the beach and sandcastles. I enjoyed just relaxing and watching everyone have a great time. The sunsets and view from the deck and master suite were fantastic. Thanks again for sharing your wonderful home with all of us. We definitely plan on returning next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 27, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

My senior class went th Nancy's beachfront house for our senior trip and absolutely had the time of our life. waking up to The sound of the ocean hitting the beach and the seclusion of the houses. We left with Many memories and enjoyed our time there.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 10, 2006   Date of arrival: November 10, 2006

Our knitting group came for a WONDERFUL weekend of knitting, gabbing, eating, walking, and just enjoying each other's company! We had two unexpected visitors- a bird flew in and a gecko walked in. Since they did not know how to knit they left quickly. Thank you for sharing your beautiful home with us! We loved our weekend here and look forward to returning. ** Thank you for sharing a great view, waves, wind, and mountains. It was a perfect place for our Knitzvah Knitting Retreat. ** I had a great time in our beautiful house w/my fabulous friends. Sleeping in the Eagle's Nest was a true treat! Can't wait to return! Best, Ruth, Maggie, Rita, Carol, Sis, Dee, and Barbara

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 24, 2006   Date of arrival: October 24, 2006

What a wonderful surprise for our 60th birthday! All were here from tiny Morgan to we aging parental units- the food was amazing, the wines splendid, the laughter constant, small kindnesses abounded, siblings sitting up late under a starry sky catching up w/each other's lives, cousins all tumbling like puppies and sleeping all warm and slightly sandy, firepit flames highlighting each happy face- reluctant good nights as we peel off to our various cozy nests of duvets and soft pillows. Daughters and daughters-in-love sneaking back to main house for just an edge of b'day cake, patient uncles being used a jungle gyms- beach exploring creating new "rivers" to the sound- And oh the sunset- splendiferous indeed- container ships slipping sliently thru the fog and emerging to gie small boys a delighted peek a boo. All this and more in this enchanted place- the perfect setting and your gracious home(s) provided the most wonderful backdrop to a fabulous family frolic. We shall return! P.S. We sure needed the extra day to recover from all that fun. C. Regan and co.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 21, 2006   Date of arrival: September 21, 2006

The Olsen, Conrads, Polellos, Panoths were here and enjoyed the beautiful scenery, the fresh air, and good food and lodging. Don't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 15, 2006   Date of arrival: September 15, 2006

Bill, Judy, Britta, David, Sierra, Darius, Jared, Marena Nathan, Danny, Kyrie, Nate, Nigel, and Dylan enjoyed a family filled, game battled, hot tub splashing, story told, laughter filled, beachcombing, 1000 piece puzzle completing, pancake eating, birthday celebrating, ocean crashing and dreaming, Coupeville side-tripping, city shedding weekend.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Just a quick note to tell you how much we loved it! It was the perfect place for our families to share some togetherness in a beautiful, peaceful, and fun setting. The pool was a big hit, as was the fire pit. Children and adults were fabulously accommodated. There really is something for everyone there.

Thank you for sharing this magical place!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 4, 2006   Date of arrival: September 4, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed your famtastically appointed "compound" for our family gathering. 3 generations came from such exotic locales as Mt. Vernon, Bellingham, Cleveland OH, and Atlanta. Your "homes" offered something for every member of our family- 2 infants, a one year old, 2 four year olds, the parents and grandparents... From the wide variety of books of the shelves (not 1 but two copies of Ho Chi Min and the Tufts yearbook where we knew someone!) to the baby toys and even bath toys- every detail had been thought of! The highlights included midnight kayaking, marshmallow roasts (introducing Reese's peanut butter cups as a key ingredient!) and mud wrestling for the daddies. And of course wine, beer, vodka tonics, and fabulous food! Thank you so much. Mark, Diane, Donna, Matt, Holly, Josie...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 4, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

We had a large party of friends go in and split the cost of the house plus the cabins. we used the pool, the hot tub, the beach, everything. we had the best time. very kid friendly. i definately want to make it an annual trip. anyone who chooses this for a getaway, its worth the money.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 11, 2006   Date of arrival: August 11, 2006

Best 40th birthday party EVER! And a magnificant location to have it! I have the best wife, baby, and crew of friends a man could hope for! Tim Nebel

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 28, 2006   Date of arrival: July 28, 2006

Thank you for the use of your fabulous compound. Three generations of our family and numerous friends enjoyed our stay tremendously. What a great location and facility. The kids loved playing on the beach and pool and appreciated all the toys and games. Loved the little cottage in the middle and beach and pool delights! We hope to come back again. (NR: have rebooked for summer 2007)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 10, 2006   Date of arrival: June 10, 2006

Enjoyed; hikes, boats, family time, BBQs, and your fantastic CD collection. In short, we thoroughly enjoyed everything. Thanks, Ralph, Dorothy, Jennifer, Brett

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 27, 2006   Date of arrival: April 27, 2006

The Tacoma Wheelmen's Bicycle Club had a great time at your gorgeous cabins. We bicycled to Langley and Coupeville on the backroad, shopped, talked, read, played Scrabble, and enjoyed watching the passing ships. Thank you so much for the opportunity to stay here and your support of the Bicycle Alliance. It has been a memorable trip for all of us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 14, 2006   Date of arrival: April 14, 2006

We had a wonderful time enjoying a family reunion over Easter. Family arrived from Vancouver BC and Reno, NV and despite the stormy weather we managed to have a fabulous time. The property is gorgeous- perfect for a family get together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 7, 2006   Date of arrival: April 7, 2006

The Weaver family of Seattle area celebrated the 50th anniversary of Bill and Ruth with their 3 children, 7 grandchildren (all here)- great family time- great food, great memories. Thank God for families! Age 80 down to one year. This place lended itself well to such a group! 14 people- variable age groups. Thank you for such accommodations as these!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 10, 2006   Date of arrival: March 10, 2006

Although our stay was brief, the casual atmosphere and beautiful scenery made our vacation one to anticipate again. 3 sunny clear days added to the enjoyment The hottub was great, as were hiking Deception Bridge area and the town of Langley. Thanks Nancy, your home is wonderful.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 2, 2006   Date of arrival: January 2, 2006

Our second trip to Nancy and Al's beach home. Wonderful changes since we were here in 2003! This year we enjoyed a frightening but exciting wind storm- beachfire and dinner in the shelter by candlelight. What a fun space to both relax and play with the family. The four of us adults and two children have loved the getaway- the games, great woodstove, good company and exciting weather have all been delightful. We'd love to come again when we can just rent the house or bring more people to fill up the spaces!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 25, 2005   Date of arrival: September 25, 2005

How fast time flies when you are having fun. We all did our thing- exploring- everybody loved the beach. We advirmed the driftwood- Huge! Would have looked great in our frontyard in dry New Mexico! Went for a long hike in your beautiful forests, so different from back home. Speaking about home, what a great place to stay. There was not one thing missing. The first days we fumbled around, now it's time to go. Hard to let go of the view and the sunsets and the comraderie of the family. (Another family member: "We can only echo waht Berta describes. This place and the area are indeed idyllic. We wish we had more time for exploration. But we'll be back! Many thanks for your hospitality. Great family reunion!" - Margo and Daytone Thorne)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2005   Date of arrival: August 25, 2005

I got all I hoped for and more from the week at the beach. A time to watch cousins from two continents play in the sand. A chance to drink coffee in the sun with seldom seen brother and sister. Sweet dreams at night to the sound of waves.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 25, 2005   Date of arrival: August 25, 2005

Beautiful country here- a very nice house but best of all was the water, the beach, sunsets, sea lions and porpoises, and skimming stones, bright fog at dawn and deep colors thinning out at dusk. It reminds us of Moray Firth where we visited a few weeks ago (only it was warmer here with better weather!) I also really enjoyed your tastes in books, music (Dineson, Jarrett, Kronos, etc) and pictures. It would be lovely to return sometime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Nancy!
Thank you again for having a lovely place. I know I was a hurting unit because of my foot, but my family had a great time. We did forget my son's walkie talkie and my coffee cup there. They were birthday gifts, because we both have the same birthday july 28th. Thank you again,

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 19, 2005   Date of arrival: August 19, 2005

Thank you Nancy and family for a beautiful home on Whidbey Island. Our parent's 50th anniversary party weeklong vacation was wonderful. The view is spectacular! Aloha from Hawaii- we hope to return again someday! PS. (ed: in kid font): This is a wonderful place to stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 15, 2005   Date of arrival: August 15, 2005

The Conroy/Baiter/Beeaker reunion was a huge success at this wonderful home. I think we took full advnatage of every square inch of this beautiful property. Our favorite was the beach and firepit where we gathered nightly for seafood dinners, a bonfire, ship watching, and meteor showers. The kids had a great time running, sand castle building, fishing, and swimming. Finally, the mountains, ocean and forest were spectacular. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 30, 2005   Date of arrival: May 30, 2005

A perfect getaway. This family has 7 kids plus spouses and 4 grandkids. Our family is spread out everywhere from Pensacola FL to Hayama, Japan so it is a rare occasion that we all get together. We hiked, went to Pt. Townsend, Deception Pass, and Seattle. Thank you for giving us such a wonderful place to spend a week. With many thanks,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 19, 2005   Date of arrival: May 19, 2005

Our annual (sometimes semi-annual)family gathering was so much fun at your incredible property. The volleyball, firepit, and hot tub were a hit with everyone! We saw a lot of wildlife, cruiseships, submarines, and barges aplenty! God blessed us with beautiful weather and an even more beautiful family... Thank you for letting us share each others company in your incredible houses. Lots of great music, lots of laughs, and even a few tears (good ones!) Hope to make it back next year for another amazing weekend. We all enjoyed oursleves and were able to relax and enjoy the true blessings the Lord intended for us. Thank you so much and blessings to you and yours as well!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 12, 2005   Date of arrival: May 12, 2005

A beautiful spot for a family gathering- the "McCloskey's" travaelled from Vanciouver and New Hampshire to enjoy Whidbey Island. A cool and rainy stretch of weather didn't discourage us from appreciating this delightful place and cathcing up with each other. Deer on the beach, birds everywhere, rabbits at every turn, and views that are spectacular. We did manage one delightful sunset, but the beauty of this spot shines through no matter the weather. Great day trips to Langley, Coupeville and Port Townsend. The ladies loved shopping! This is a special little gem that we all felt fortunate to have to ourselves. Thanks for sharing your piece of paradise with us!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 6, 2005   Date of arrival: May 6, 2005

We always have such a relaxing time. And we never see the kids! Great beach fun! Thanks Bunches!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 1, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

The Johnson Family reunion was a smashing success at this beautiful location! Four generations enjoyed a relaxing 3 day weekend. We saw eagles, a whale (some of us) and beautiful scenery. The weather was perfect, the food delicious and the fellowship fabulous. Thank you so much for sharing your beautiful place with us. We loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2005   Date of arrival: April 11, 2005

Dear Nancy -
Our group of 7 women loved our long weekend getaway on the west side of Whidbey. We are so happy to have found such a welcoming and peaceful hideaway so close to civilization. Thank you for sharing it with us.
Highlights from our weekend include:
- watching adult and juvenile eagles soaring over the cliffs
- admiring a large variety of ducks and seabirds that played in the surf
- walking along the beach searching for the perfect rock or getting squirted by clams
- gazing at the magnificent Olympics as they played hide-n-seek with the clouds
- sitting in the hot tub and watching the stars
- sleeping in absolute peace and quiet in warm and cozy beds
- sitting around your large dining room table knitting, beading, scrapbooking and sharing meals with friends
- walking through the lovely Meerkeek rhododendron gardens
- hiking on the short but breathtakingly scenic trails thru South Whidbey State Park
Thank you so much! - Ann S., Ann W., Barb, Beth, Peggy, Robin & Wendy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 15, 2005   Date of arrival: March 15, 2005

It was a perfect weekend! The weather couldn't have been nicer; hard to believe that it was February with the daffodils up and the sun shining. Everything was great and I want to thank you so much. (NR: deleted info about lost item and microwave operation)

Anyway, many thanks--it was just a magic 3 days. Your home is beautiful. Marianne DeMarco

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 15, 2005   Date of arrival: February 15, 2005

The following are comments from our guest book at the house...
"Dear Al and Nancy,
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful place with us. It was really perfect for our annual winter getaway. Our group is 5 couples who "getaway" at the beginning of each year without our kids or he stresses of daily life. We really enjoyed being able to cook-in (in fact the men did the cooking!) Joel made halibut tacos and oyster and breakfast Sat morn. Kap made honey nut fried cheicken and succotash saturday night- we played games, visited and laghed all weekend- it was great! We decided you should have some guest books so people could share their experiences with you. Hope these cute books will give you a start. Thank you again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 14, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

Nancy-
We had a great time with my teenage sons at your house. The weather was great in the spring and we look forward to visiting again. You made everything so easy for us. While the boys were on the beach I loved being able to quilt from the upstairs and enjoy the view.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 7, 2004   Date of arrival: December 7, 2004

"...we enjoyed our holiday very much. The weather held until just as we were leaving, we had beautiful views of the mountains morning and evening, and had a great time with our family in your very comfortable house. I think it is perfect for sizeable family gatherings and the beach and views are really wonderful."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 3, 2004   Date of arrival: December 3, 2004

Dear Nancy & Al,

I meant to e-mail you sooner but it was kind of hard to get back into our "work routine" after such a relaxing week at the beach house!

Everyone commented on what a beautiful location it was and how comfortable the house & cabins were. My friend, Valerie, is a real estate agent & leads a very hectic life. So we put her & her husband Kurt (along with their 12 year old son) in the cabin on the beach. She was so relaxed...she said she felt like the vacation had lasted a day or two longer than it actually did. The weather cooperated beautifully so we had fresh crab on the deck one day & another afternoon we enjoyed s'mores around the fire pit. Also...the gas fire places & the down comforters...heavenly!! Thank you for the improvements!

As long as you make it available as a vacation rental we will make our visits there an annual event. =)

Thank you from all of us,

Olsons, Conrads & Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 7, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

We couldn't have been more pleased!! I hated to leave your slice of paradise and come back to noisy urban life. A wonderful time was had by everyone in our group...thank you!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 7, 2004   Date of arrival: October 1, 2004

Whidbey is a beautiful retreat not far from the city. This setting is right on the beach with beautiful views from the house. We saw lots of wildlife and had a great time, bonfire by the beach is highly recommended.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 27, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

We had such a wonderful time at this house. It more than enough accomodated my family of 5 along with my husbands brothers, sister and their families. The hot tub was so relaxing and the view off of the deck was amazing. The swing above the house was a nice touch, too. It was very kid friendly. The owner even mailed back a lost item to me. I would HIGHLY recommend this place.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 26, 2004   Date of arrival: September 26, 2004

Nancy,

We had an amazing time. We had a real relaxing time. Our team really connected and the setting helped develop creative thinking for the future of our company. Of course seeing 20 - 30 Orca whales jumping in front of the cabin also helped.

Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2004   Date of arrival: September 1, 2004

What a wonderful & beautiful place! The main house, the 2 cabins, the pool, the beach pit, the landscape, mother nature. Thank you for giving us the opportunity to share in it.
The Gang

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 17, 2004   Date of arrival: August 17, 2004

Dear Nancy,

Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful Whidbey Island home with us. The setting was absolutely gorgeous and the accomodations very comfortable. It was our good fortune that the weather was terrific, the beach provided both sand and solitude, and the blackberries were ripe. It doesn't get much better than that.

Sincerely,

Sarann Graham

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 24, 2004   Date of arrival: May 24, 2004

"You own a piece of heaven that brings peace to an annual event for us, our children, and grandchildren."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2003   Date of arrival: December 16, 2003

"Thank you, Nancy and Al, for your hospitality. You have a beautiful place, and we all appreciate your generousity."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2003   Date of arrival: December 16, 2003

"The salt air, the sun dancing on the water, the doug firs and the mountains across the sound- what a beautiful way, and place, to return again to the Northwest I love."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 12, 2003   Date of arrival: November 12, 2003

" Dear Nancy and Albert,

First of all, we want to tell you how much we enjoyed your home on Whidbey Island. We had a grand two days. The view is magnificent, the beach wonderful to walk and the accommodations perfect for a family get together. There was space for all generations to be together and apart (especially for the grandparents to find some quiet time)."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 14, 2003   Date of arrival: May 14, 2003

From Susan Butler, weekend guests on 5/9/03

"We found it to be one of the best places we have stayed in a long while. The interior is comfortable, inviting, tastefully decorated, well appointed, and surrounded by astounding views of the ocean. Outside, you feel as though you have the entire island to yourselves. Furthermore, the beach is full of wildlife: seals, otters, eagles, heron, rabbits, deer, and we got to see it all in one weekend. I would definitely come back and recommend this vacation spot to anyone with finicky tastes and requirements. I really can't imagine finding a better spot so close to Seattle yet so far away from the hub-bub of city life."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 18, 2003   Date of arrival: March 18, 2003

"Nancy,

The place was fabulous! We have been doing this ladies weekend for about 6 years now and this was by far the nicest place we have rented. Thanks, it is a beautiful home with everything we could have needed.

Thank you for sending the deposit back.

Polly"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review