reviews for: listing #16495 - South Padre Island, Texas Condo rental

Penthouse Dahktari - Best Beach Views on the Island
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Aquarius Condominiums
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $169 - $829 /nt
    $995 - $4,595 /wk

sort by:

Awesome place!

Review submitted: December 11, 2009   Date of arrival: November 15, 2009

This property is very clean and very comfortable, like a home away from home. The property is well secured and the onsite staff is very nice. I would recommend this property to all friends and family, infact, we have reserved this place for two more visits since we initially stayed here. Franke Realtors has also been very nice and accommodating. The whole thing has made for a wonderful experience!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks... I'm glad you enjoyed your multiple stays!

Helpful votes: 13 / 13

 

Wonderful vacation

Review submitted: February 24, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

My husband and I spent our second year in a row at the Aquarius Penthouse in January. We love staying there. We have claimed our title as Winter Texans. The condo is as comfortable as our home. The management company, Jill and Will, are very good at answering any questions and poor Will has had to come out at night to fix small problems but he always came in less than an hour and took care of the problem. The views can't be beat anywhere else on the island. We loved the new interior. The new kitchen is beautiful. I can promise that as long as we are able, we will be back every year. We might even try another time of year but this last trip was perfect weather. I would recommend anyone to stay there,

Owners response: Our new management company is very responsive if there ever are any problems.
Thanks!
Bill

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Trip to SPI

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

July 20th-27th 2013-- My husband and I come to
South Padre every year with our 2 children. This
was the first year we stayed at the Dahkarti
Penthouse at the Aquarius, we came with our
children, my mother and father in law, my sister,
her husband and their 2 children. Kids ages are 9,
8, 6, and 4. We loved it, by far the best trip thus
far. The condo was remarkably clean and
comfortable. There was plenty of room,
specifically a large living room area. The pictures
can't do the condo justice. SPI rentals were
fabulous, we only had one small issue with one of
the 3 toilets not flushing, they sent someone over
immediately to fix it. You can view the Friday night
fire works well from the master bedroom balcony.
The children loved their upstairs private loft that
was plenty big for our four and then some. Only
advice I can give is if you are big cookers like my
family, consider bringing a skillet of your own.
There are a few there, but due to normal wear
they can be difficult to cook with, one bows up in
the center, and one leans to the side however, we
made due just fine. The decor of the condo makes
the stay inviting, these owners have done an
awesome job making it a home away from home.
We will definitely be returning to stay here again
in the future.

Homeowner Response:

Thanks for letting us know about the skillets, we will be ordering replacements today!

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Thank you for a Wonderful Family time

Review submitted: March 9, 2013   Date of arrival: February 24, 2013

Our family of 9 had the most wonderful time at the Penthouse Aquraris. The views are breathtaking, access to the beach is right there. The Penthouse was clean, staff very friendly. The management company was easy to work with and responded to all requests very quickly.
The only negative is the loft stairway is not adequate for adults to comfortably use. This is a circular metal and very narrow stairway. Hard to access for older adults.
Other than that, our stay was the best time we have had together.
The pictures are very accurate as to what the Penthouse looks like.
Thank you, we loved it and will be back again.

Owners response: It's true the spiral stairs to the loft is narrow.
We hope you come back every year!!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Not So Hot

Review submitted: September 25, 2012   Date of arrival: September 12, 2012

Unfortunately, we found this penthouse to be dirty, unkept, and musty. Dust was caked onto the plumbing and other areas. It appeared that no real work had been done to improve the unit. The decor and paint were very strange looking. The ceiling showed water damage and in need of major repair. The door knob to one bedroom routinely came off in my hand. The only saving grace was the great views toward the gulf and back to the bay toward Port Isabel.

Owners response: We have just given the Penthouse a major face lift. We have painted most of the interior walls and ceiling. We replaced some of the antique furniture that had a musty smell. Please check out our new pictures as this unit now has a brighter fresh look. We have also changed our rental management company & changed our cleaning crew. *** We have updated again *** 2014 update -New interior paint - Fully remodeled Kitchen w/ new appliances & new cabinets.
The 2 king & 1 queen beds are all brand new sleep number mattresses.
New 4 post bed in the master bedroom.

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Memorial Day Memories...

Review submitted: May 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

The Penthouse at the Aquarius was a great place to stay on the Island. You have a great view of the gulf and the bay from the balconies. There was plenty of room for 12 people to stay comfortably. We loved having the washer/dryer so we could put on a clean bathing suit each day. The staff at the Aquarius does a good job maintaining the grounds and pool and they are very friendly. The agents with Franke Realtors were very helpful...even providing phone #'s for reputable fishing guides (even though we didn't get to go due to the very windy conditions during our stay). Also due to the very windy conditions, the water at the beach wasn't as clear as we remembered from the prior year...but the temperature was great..and not much sea weed either. Hopefully next year it won't be as windy, so we can see our toes when we go out chest deep again. The beach was super clean and we really enjoyed just relaxing and playing in the sand/water. We cooked for each meal and found the kitchen was nicely stocked...just make sure to bring seasoning (salt/pepper etc.)and coffee filters and the such. You should also bring extra trash bags as only 2-3 were provided. The a/c worked great and kept us cool and comfortable in most rooms...there were no ceiling fans, so if you like to sleep with a fan, you might want to bring yourself a stand fan. Even though it was a busy Memorial Day weekend...the Island didn't seem overcrowded like one might expect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Yes do please bring your own salt, pepper, coffee filters (regular ones) & extra trash bags (if you think you need more than a few). ;)
Thanks!
Bill

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Memorable Stay--As good As It Gets-No Cedar!

Review submitted: April 13, 2011   Date of arrival: January 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed here in mid-January for great off season rate. It is even better than the pictures. Had all kinds of plans but rarely left this elegant, comfortable respite with every amenity. Did go to the S.P.I. nature boardwalk twice and saw many rare birds but later realized many of these same rarities we flying eye-level off the great surround Penthouse balconies. Very close to the ocean because of way building is angled-ocean and island views/sunsets/sunrises here are amazing and the water and beach was crystal clean and beautiful--even made us glad we cancelled our Florida trip and stayed here. Only ate out once-great fried Mahi Mahi and music out over bay where locals go called Palm Street Pier. The rest of time cooked in Condo kitchen with a wow! view. You feel like you are floating cause all you see is the sea. (Well-equipped dish wise but bring Everything else from coffee filters, oil, to salt and pepper.) Thanks Bill, for the memories..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed it :) we hope you come back every year!
Take Care,
Bill

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Five Weeks in Paradise

Review submitted: March 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 23, 2011

We had a relaxing time while in this condo. The property management team was excellent, taking care of things immediately (a special cudo to Vinnie). The staff in the building was also very helpful and friendly. As well, other 'Winter Texans" at other units on site were very warm and friendly. We entertained a lot and there was always plenty of space for 4 to 6 people to roam about the Condo. But, the balconies are the most spetacular thing about the condo. As my 12 year old grandaughter said "totally awesome". From the balcony off the living room one can see straight down the beach to the channel (several miles) and then if you look to your right you can see the bay side too. Then from the southern balcony of course you get the warm sun in the afternoon and evening, which in the winter is a godsend. Our highest recommendations!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We too enjoy those great views! ;)

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Another great holiday at the penthouse

Review submitted: May 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

I can't believe we only have 2 more days here after a wonderful month-long vacation. We rented the penthouse last winter not knowing what to expect. We loved it so much, we booked for a month this spring. We had 2 sets of friends come down to visit us who were overwhelmed by the beauty of this place. Our kids and their friends/families also visited for a week during which there were 11 of us here in total with plenty of space for everyone. We are from Vancouver, Canada, which is a beautiful place in its own right and when we tell people where we are vacationing, they have no idea what we're talking about. Most have never heard of SPI. We're coming back next year for the same month, with family, friends, whoever wants to join us since there is plenty of room at the penthouse. Bill and Franke Realty are a pleasure to deal with. We investigated a couple of other properties while we were here, but didn't find a place that filled all of our requirements for space, amenities and price. We've even come to love the quirky design of the place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We're glad you're coming back again next year!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Fabulous 2 week stay

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Just got home last night from a fabulous 2 week stay at the Dhaktari penthouse. We hated to leave, the location is wonderful, views to die for, and the weather was great! There were 11 of us in total, from 2 to 52. We hope to go back next year and stay longer. We had no idea what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. Excellent value for a beachfront vacation.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very clean and very comfortable

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 28, 2009

This property is very clean and very comfortable, like a home away from home. The property is well secured and the onsite staff is very nice. I would recommend this property to all friends and family, infact, we have reserved this place for two more visits since we initially stayed here. Franke Realtors has also been very nice and accommodating. The whole thing has made for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2009   Date of arrival: December 28, 2009

This property is very clean and very comfortable, like a home away from home. The property is well secured and the onsite staff is very nice. I would recommend this property to all friends and family, infact, we have reserved this place for two more visits since we initially stayed here. Franke Realtors has also been very nice and accommodating. The whole thing has made for a wonderful experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

Just got home last night from a fabulous 2 week stay at the Dhaktari penthouse. We hated to leave, the location is wonderful, views to die for, and the weather was great! There were 11 of us in total, from 2 to 52. We hope to go back next year and stay longer. We had no idea what to expect and were very pleasantly surprised. Excellent value for a beachfront vacation.

Owners response: Thanks Cathy... we hope to see you again next year!
Take Care,
Bill

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 9, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

My family stayed here Christmas 2004 and had a wonderful time. The place was very kid friendly, while being adult oriented as well.

Helpful votes: 8 / 14

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review