reviews for: listing #16498 - Rancho Mirage, California Villa rental

Casa Clara - Luxurious hacienda on 1/2 acre
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,750 - $2,500 /wk

sort by:

Super Stay in Casa Clara

Review submitted: September 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed in Casa Clara for one week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The property was everything we wanted and more. Only complaint I have is that we could not stay for longer. We have stayed in many properties over the years and I have to say our stay in Rancho Mirage was by far the most enjoyable. The pool was fabulous as was the entire garden area. The private location meant it was a perfect place to relax and unwind but yet it was walking distance to shops and restaurants. The surrounding area was beautiful and all the amenities provided were top class. Everything about the property was fantastic. The owner of the property was a pleasure to deal with and was most accommodating. I would highly recommend this property to anyone. We hope to return in the not too distant future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"Best Stay in the Desert"

Review submitted: August 18, 2013   Date of arrival: July 3, 2013

Casa Clara will definetly not disapoint! Everything about the home was great. Of all the different types of homes and condos we have rented, this was by far our best experience. The quiet location with easy access to everything was fantastic.

The owners attention to design and detail throughout the house made our trip so convenient. So many little touches that they are too numerous to mention. The luxury linens, towels, fancy soaps and robes make you feel like your staying at a boutique hotel but with the privacy, peace and quiet of a private residence. All of the amenities were first class, it was everything you could want in a vacation home.

Another great feature is the pool/patio area which is a private oasis. The garden has a magnificent pool, spa and top quality patio furniture for sun bathing and is perfectly positioned to provide breath taking views and sunsets.

I would highly recommend this home to anyone looking to get away to relax, entertain or completly decompress. Its versatility will satisfy the needs of a family vacation or a romantic getaway. We are already looking forward to returning again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: September 25, 2012

My family and extended family stayed here for 1 week for my son's wedding. The house was perfect. It felt lived in instead of stuffy or worried about touching anything. The pool was perfect for my 8 yr old niece and all of us too. We had many family and friends staying close by at Las Palmas. It was perfect for people stopping by or barbeques. There were many restaurants close by. We would stay here again except my son bought a house! But we have friends who want to stay here. The pictures on the listing were very accurate. Clare was great with calling and making sure everything was ok.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Stay in Casa Clara - We will certainly be back again.

Review submitted: January 1, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

We stayed in Casa Clara over the festive period and thoroughly enjoyed it. It was perfect for our family for a number of reasons. It was not overlooked and very spacious. We enjoyed the pool side in the day and had a Jacuzzi or two in the evenings. We used the BBQ and the pool side bar which was a bonus.

All in all the house was full of character, well maintained and in a good location..

We will certainly be back again. Thank you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Awesome property and fabulous vacation!!!!!

Review submitted: October 3, 2012   Date of arrival: September 21, 2012

What an amazing property! We had the best time ever at Casa Clara. We were two families looking for a relaxing low key vacation with young kids and we definitely found it. We hardly left the house except to go grocery shopping. We dined on the front patio some evenings and other evenings in the back yard overlooking the pool. The garden was so beautifully lit up with well placed landscape lighting. We just loved seeing the humming birds in the morning by the fountain. The kids did not want to get out of the pool but did enjoy playing hide and seek in the huge garden. We loved the fact that there were 2 bedrooms on each side of the house so we had lots of privacy and the beds were so comfortable. It was great to have a pack and play and high chair provided so we didn’t have to fill the car with baby stuff. Clare was extremely helpful and responded very quickly to any questions we had. Casa Clara was a great find and we hope to make it back soon again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect Family Getaway

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: September 10, 2012

Casa Clara was a perfect getaway for our family and was a real vacation to remember. We enjoyed every minute of our stay at the lovely casa, especially the great backyard and pool. The house is very well equipped and we loved the little touches – gourmet coffee, tea, and cookies and the luxury organic toiletries provided in every bathroom. We loved the peace and quiet of the neighborhood and being just a few minutes from shops and restaurants. Couldn’t ask for better.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Private & Unique Family Property

Review submitted: September 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 19, 2012

Myself and my family of five spent a very relaxing week at Casa Clara this summer. We were pleasantly surprised when we saw the huge private garden. The pictures don't really show how expansive and gorgeous it is! We visit Palm Springs very often and have stayed in many vacation rentals but we found this one really unique and special. We spent most of the time splashing in the great salt water pool and enjoyed lazy summer evenings cooking dinner on the barbeque. We loved the fact that the front garden is so usable and we were able to watch the sun set over the mountains to the sound of the beautiful fountain.The house itself was very charming and in keeping with the Mexican hacienda character of the structure. We ventured out to dinner a couple of times and really enjoyed Piero's Aqua Pazza at the River. They had a huge reasonably priced menu and great selection for kids also. Thanks for the recommendation, Clare. Hope to come back soon!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Another wonderful stay at Casa Clara!

Review submitted: September 6, 2012   Date of arrival: August 14, 2012

This was our sixth year coming to Casa Clara and I am sorry Clare that it has taken me this long to write a review. Your house is like our home away from home and we so look forward to our annual trips. The property is so unique and special. We love the huge garden and all the privacy it provides. We love the French doors and patios off every bedroom so we can have a quiet coffee in the morning without seeing anyone else in the house. The beds are super comfortable, hard to get up in the morning sometimes. The property is a real sanctuary and so quiet but yet just a few minutes from everything. You have always been such a pleasure to work with. We truly appreciate Casa Clara and hope to continue our trips for many years to come.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful week of R&R at Casa Clara

Review submitted: August 28, 2012   Date of arrival: August 20, 2012

Just got back from a thoroughly relaxing week at Casa Clara. We enjoyed every minute of the vacation. Although it was extremely hot, we were able to enjoy the outdoor areas thanks to the misting system off every patio and the fabulous salt water pool. The backyard is very lush and private and there is plenty of shade. We enjoyed early morning hikes followed by a refreshing swim in the pool. It was great to be so close to The River and shops and restaurants. The house has tons of charm and character and was very well equipped for our extended family and the owner even provided a pack and play for our 1 year old daughter. We look forward to our next trip! Thanks for everything, Clare.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

PRIVATE LOW CASUAL HACIENDA

Review submitted: August 22, 2012   Date of arrival: July 22, 2012

Comments about the villas are made to help future tenants not experience bad stay.

Here's what I experienced this summer.

Arrived at Rancho Mirage, exhausted from 24 hours of travel we have found a house hot and humid. The air conditioning was blocked at 85 ° F, enough for the day but untenable for a good sleep in the desert. Subsequently, the air-conditioning did not work well

The first day started cleaning the house dishes and barbecue

The barbecue had a loss of gas (with flame) between arrival and the device, which almost explode and injured my family, the owner sent us a plumber .very embarrassed he replaced the entire pipe.

The garden is neglected, the lawn is mowed every two weeks not every week. Uncut trees, bringing insect in the pool, palm trees should be trimmed and cut the dead flowers ...

The pool is neglected up and water cloudy !

The garden shed is in a state of disrepair indisputable ,door torn inside and inaccessible by the pile of cushions and mattresses pool!

The view from the terrace of one of the rooms is awfull and sad
The gym is a joke .....

Cabinets in guest rooms filled with baby beds , making them totally unusable.

The bathrooms are small and outdated. Missing here and there a curtain shower, and the control of the spa is missing....

The kitchen: fridge, obviously poorly maintained, has side walls so hot that the power consumption is excessive

The outdoor kitchen: After the loss of gas barbecue, outdoor fridge was unusable, both for its state of filth and to an electrical problem. He was replaced after two weeks or to2 / 3 of our stay.

Mist system exists but is not operational. (Even after taking professional advice)

And to end our stay, we were treated to a fight on the street , the neighbours, ( great neighbourhood) between 2 and 6 am
I wondered why the reviews were so different of my poor experience in casa clara ,I understood reading the dates of those .

These people stayed one night and two nights no more, I realized that I could put into question the veracity of these comments

Thank you very much, Madam, to have ruined my vacation, ended happily in Los Angeles at the Beverly Hilton that I really appreciate for its true luxury and location a few steps from Rodeo Drive .

Owners response: Dear Marc, I appreciate your comments, howver they are in stark contrast to other reviews posted here and the 50+ reviews in my guestbook at the house. These reviewers' stays ranged from a few days to several months.
I understand you arrived tired and hot after a long trip from Europe and were frustrated at not understanding a lot of the operational items at the house. I did provide a detailed info sheet to you prior to your arrival. Due to vrbo space constraints I cannot respond in detail to every issue you raise, but I will do my best. The AC workd perfectly fine and was just serviced prior to your arrival. I arranged for someone to stop by and show you the operation on the day of your arrival but you had gone to dinner. He returned the next day and the issue was resolved.The spa and misters work perfectly fine, in fact you never even mentioned this to me. Misters were servied in June. The pool is maintained beautifully with twice weekly service and is definitely not cloudy. The garden is maintained weekly but we purposely are not very aggressive in trimming during the summer months as the shade is very useful. with the intense sun. The pool house is filled with floaties for guest guest, not sure the problem there. The twin bedded room is used mostly for kids so we leave a pack and play and high chair in the closet but there is still plenty room for clothes. Families with young children really appreciate having use of these items. Since there were only 4 of you at the house at any one time, I am not sure why this was an issue. Within one hour of learning of the gas issue I had a plumber at the house who fixed the problem right away. Outdoor fridge was replaced but you apparently told my electrician you were not going to use it anyway. The gym is small, we refer to it as a mini gym on the website with a cardio machine and some free weights and bench. In 10 years nobody has complained about any noise or fights on the street but I suppose there is a first time for everything. Magnesia Falls Cove is a very quiet and residential neighborhood.
As you know, I responded promptly and professionally to every issue you brought to my attention and even went as far as responding in French to make things easier for you. Unfortunately, your stay seemed to start on a bad note and after that the glass was quite simply half empty. I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Beverly Hills. I wish you and your family the best. Sincerely, Clare

Helpful votes: 14 / 18

 

Wonderful relaxing vacation in fabulous property!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 18, 2012

The best vacation ever - couldn't ask for better. We loved the back yard and salt water pool and lazy afternoons on the hammock . The house was ideal for us with bedrooms on all four corners. We enjoyed morning coffee on the front patio and watched the humming birds by the fountain. The house is very well equipped and clean. Looking forward to our next trip .

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 12

 

Casa Clara - A charming and beautiful Sanctuary

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 20, 2012

Casa Clara is a real sanctuary and was a great getaway for our family. The gardens are so private and lush, you really feel like you are in a private resort. The house had so much charm and characrter, we hated to leave. Every bedroom had its own private patio, which worked well for our extended family. We especially liked walking to the River and the local trails. Clare, the owner provided us with great recommendations for local restaurants and was a pleasure to deal with.

Paula Whelan

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 13

 

Rancho Mirage - A Little Piece of Heaven

Review submitted: July 27, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

I was just recently thinking about my vacation in Rancho Mirage last month. It was such a wonderful and special place. Myself and my family enjoyed every minute. The house itself has so much character with French doors and patios off every room that open onto the huge garden which is completely private. It was very tastefully furnished and super clean. We enjoyed breakfast on the front patio every morning and again drinks in the evening as we watched the sun set behind the mountains. The backyard is even larger and we couldn't see any neighbors, which was great. The beds were really comfortable and bedrooms very spacious. We really liked the layout with a queen bedroom and twin on one side, which was great for kids and mom and two other bedrooms on the opposite side. Clare is a true professional and responds to any questions and concerns very promptly. Can't wait to go back. Thanks again for a great stay, Clare.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 12

 

A little piece of paradise

Review submitted: May 23, 2012   Date of arrival: May 14, 2012

My husband and I were in need of a relaxing getaway, Casa Clara provided the perfect secluded, beautiful place, but still within a mile or so of El Paseo, fine dining and shopping. TryTommy Bahamas which is great for lunch, and Pacifica is a great seafood restaurant.

We enjoyed breakfast in the private front yard, under the shade and listening to the fountain. The very private back yard, with pool, several seating and dining areas was perfect when our friends joined us for the long weekend. Our dogs also seemed very relaxed at the end of the vacation.

The home itself was tastefully decorated in keeping with the Mexican style of the home, but with lots of modern touches, we particularly loved the mexican floor tiles.

Hard to leave, but would definitely recommend to anyone, and we will be staying again for sure.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 8

 

A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

My friends and I have just returned from a ten day golfing girl's getaway at Casa Clara. What a wonderful place - just as described and what we had wanted and hoped for - even nicer that the photos! Casa Clara is in a great location, very private, and very central within walking distance of The River, with all it's restaurants and shops - no need for car or cab! But, despite it's convenient spot, it is extremely tranquil and peaceful. The grounds are truly gorgeous. Coffee in the front garden watching the fountain and the birds against the backdrop of the mountains is just a perfect way to start a day! Sunning by the pool and hot tub in the back garden was also a wonderful way to spend an afternoon! Casa Clara is very clean and well-equipped, and Clare is very accommodating and easy to do business with. We can't recommend this peaceful oasis highly enough! This was our fourth annual getaway, and the best place by far that we have stayed - will surely become our 'home away from home' - we can highly recommend this property. Thanks, Clare, for sharing your wonderful house with us!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 7

 

Perfect Place + Perfect Location + Perfect Price = Casa Clara

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 25, 2010

My husband and I and another couple thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Clara. We stayed for a week but wished it were 2....The golf was great, and the location to shops, malls and restaurants was perfect. (I highly recommend "The Yard House" at the River for lunch). Casa Clara has the best backyard ever !
It's fully tree'd with lime trees, grapefruit trees and others providing lots of privacy while we swam in the beautiful pool. The beds were so comfortable and boasted high quality linens. The kitchen was well equipped with beautiful dishes, glasses, stemware etc. The house itself was very, very clean. The second day we arrived the temp hit 117 degrees and we took advantage of the professionally installed "misters" that are installed on all "5" of the patios. Clare the owner could not be a more gracious host. If and when we travel again to Rancho Mirage we would not hesitate to stay at Casa Clara ......in fact it's because of Casa Clara that we will return to Rancho Mirage.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 6

 

Long weekend

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: May 7, 2010

Very pleasant home, quiet, tastefully furnished, well appointed kitchen, bbq area. Lovely pool for morning swim, great front patio to watch the mountains in the evening. Bedrooms spacious and comfortable. Spotlessly clean. Nicely located just off of the highway and close to shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 7

 

Wonderful

Review submitted: April 20, 2010   Date of arrival: April 3, 2010

Everything about this home was perfect. It was very comfortable and well cared for. The yards and outdoor living spaces made the house feel so much larger than it is. We can't wait to go back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 6

 

Casa Clara April 2010

Review submitted: April 9, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

Being familiar with the area, I searched VRBO in the Casa Clara neighborhood for a family Spring Break. We were seeking a place for two families with a golden retriever. We selected Casa Clara because it looked and sounded very nice, was available and would allow my golden retriever. Coming from hundreds of miles away, we coincidentlly arrived within minutes of each other to find Casa Clara exceeding our expectations. The landscaping provides the Spanish Style home with a secluded feeling. The front yard has great mountain views. The neighborhood is wonderful for morning and evening walks. One aspect I really liked about the home is that the four bedrooms are situated at the 4 corners of the home providing privacy and space. Each bedroom has french doors to the outside. The pool and spa area is spacious and private. Plenty of sunning and seating is provided on the raised decks or patios surrounding the pool area. I have rented several places in the local area and in the future Casa Clara will be my #1 choice.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 6

 

Review submitted: March 4, 2010   Date of arrival: March 4, 2010

The place was absolutely wonderful and so homey. The rooms were decorated lovely and there was lots of room for us my son and his family. The children enjoyed the pools and having some yard space was helpful too. The whole house was well equipped with linens, kitchen utensils, dishes and lots of extras in the pantry. It was very clean and will come again, can't say enough good things about it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Review submitted: June 18, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Nestled in a quiet residential area in Rancho Mirage, Casa Clara is our home away from home…minus the kids. This past June, we were four Mom’s in need of a break and a space to relax where we could flip through magazines, sip margaritas and nap uninterrupted. Yes…our idea of heaven on earth. The house is beautifully decorated as the photos will attest and it has all the modern conveniences with plenty of space to get away from each other when we needed to make a call to check in on our husbands and kids, or to just grab some “me time.” Each evening we walked over to the River and enjoyed choosing from the many restaurants. There is definitely something for everyone at the River. The whole experience left us relaxed and recharged. We plan to make our visit to Casa Clara an annual pilgrimage.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2009   Date of arrival: June 16, 2009

Casa Clara in Rancho Mirage is truly a desert oasis. Walking through the garden gate was like ending up in a different world of serenity and comfort. We spent 7 glorious days in the most beautiful Spanish-style surroundings, including a fabulous pool encircled with lush vegetation. This beautiful home is within a short walk of civilization though you have no evidence of it until you venture down the street a few blocks to Highway 111 and walk across to the River where there is a great array of restaurants where you can sit outside and watch the world go by. If you are looking to escape in a luxurious setting yet still want to have access to the convenience of local shops and restaurants, Casa Clara is definitely the place for you. We will definitely be back. This place is without a doubt a treasure.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 20, 2008

I was just starting to think about spring break 09 ,jumped on VRBO when I saw the Casa Clara ad. It brought a smile to my face just to see the name and I was surprised I had not posted a comment before. If you are looking for a stunning, perfectly appointed,FUN rancho mirage house within walking distance to shopping and dining-then look no further! My family of 5 along with our 2 tiny Chihuahuas stayed at Casa Clara April 2007 and would have stayed there again April 2008 if it were not for our daughters 5th grade Washington D.C. class trip ...it really is a fab house..and we have rented many in the area!Hope to rent it in 2009.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review