reviews for: listing #16548 - Traverse City, Michigan House rental

Beautiful Home on 100 feet of West Bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Small
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $195 - $295 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful Vacation in Traverse Bay!!

Review submitted: July 20, 2014   Date of arrival: July 12, 2014

We just got home from a week at this wonderful cottage! The view is fantastic! There is so much to do and the location is great! We boated, tubed, water skied, biked, sailed, floated, put-putted, and even had s'mores. Duane and Vicki are great hosts. The description is accurate. We would love to come back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Place For a Morning Coffee

Review submitted: November 16, 2013   Date of arrival: September 22, 2013

Our first trip to Traverse City was 3 years ago. Since then we have been HOOKED!
It's not just that TC and surrounding areas are amazing, it's the cottage that completes the package.

I loved waking every morning and having coffee on the porch. Some days I was lucky enough to watch the sunrise with breakfast.

The cottage is well cared for, and extremely clean. The kitchen is well stocked with dishes, utensils and there is equipment to make a wide variety of meals.

Everything that has been listed on Duane and Vicki's listing overview is accurate. We found having a dryer very handy, especially after a rainy day run.

Being able to store our bicycles and kayak in the garage was a relief. Other VRBO's do not provide such luxuries.

I did read on one of the previous reviews that another renter found the water "smells like rotten eggs". During our time at the cottage there were few times when the smell was noticed. We also drank the water from the taps. The smell has never been an issue for us during our stays.

The T.A.R.T. trail is just a hill away. It's easy access for a car-less ride into town. The T.A.R.T. trail is also a great paved trail for a nice long run. On our latest stay we explored the VASA trail on mountain bikes and running shoes. What a sandy delight!

There are so many places to explore that are either a quick drive, bike ride, SUP, or run away. Duane and Vicki's cottage makes for a perfect home base.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pure Michigan......Location, Private, SERENITY

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: October 4, 2013

We all have those moments during the year when we need to escape, disconnect and rejuvenate ourselves. My wife and I decided that the first weekend of October was our moment. We were blessed when we decided to rent this cottage. The location is fantastic, only 15 mins from downtown Traverse City. Private setting, phenomenal views, a wonderful beach and very clean. Over the weekend my wife and I explored Traverse City, the Wineries on Old Mission Peninsula, drove the 20 mile Tunnel of Trees in Harbor Springs and experienced too many great restaurants. While these were all wonderful moments our favorite time was relaxing in the morning and evening at the cottage.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

A wonderful place to stay. Clean and in a prime location!! I would definitely rent from this owner again and will recommend to friends. Very professional!!

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Nice Stay!

Review submitted: August 2, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Spent a great week here!

Pros:
*Extremely clean, well maintained home. Nice furnishings, equipped kitchen, very comfortable!
*Duane was very hospitable and friendly!. Welcomed us with a bottle of wine, gave us great recommendations for restaurants etc.
*Beautiful setting, right on the lake front. Nice little beach area, although rocky. Bring your water shoes!
Small deck overlooking the water to enjoy your morning coffee or afternoon cocktail hour.
*Great location! Good local restaurants without the long waits in Traverse City. Suttons Bay near by ~ cute little town with shops and good eats!

Cons:
*No washer. When linens are not furnished and you need to bring towels for beach and baths, you really miss not having a wash machine. If you spend lots of time at the beach, towels get wet and sandy. Who wants to go to a laundry mat on vacation!? Bring lots of towels.
*Not a big fan of well water. Smells like rotten eggs. We just bought bottled water and took quick showers.
*One window air conditioner in small bedroom. Doesn't cool the entire house. We brought along a small fan to use in the living room and it was fine.

The pros far outweigh the cons. If you stay here, you won't be disappointed!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Summer Stay

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

We had a fabulous time at your beach house this week! What a treat to have our own little piece of paradise to get away from the hustle and busle of our daily lives.

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 31, 2010

What a perfect beach house. It was everything I wished for and more. Waking up to perfect sunrises, the sounds of the water and pure relaxation; what more cound one ask for. Your place is so warm, inviting and
so clean, it was a pleasure to stay here. Thank you for sharing your little piece of heaven here on earth.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: September 21, 2010   Date of arrival: September 11, 2010

we had the most relaxing vacation ever! description of property was 100% accurate, was spotless and homey when we arrived, plenty of room, great kitchen, and nice sized rooms. We would absolutely stay here again and would recommend to all our friends and family. Great location between Sutton's Bay and Traverse City, beautiful view from deck and beach. Make sure to bring water shoes because the water is stony/rocky and a little rough on the feet. Lovely and quiet. Try to visit the Happy Hog Cafe on us-31 past downtown traverse city...BEST french toast and waffles we have ever had!!!!!! We loved every minute of our vacation. Our only complaint is that we didn't stay longer.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review