reviews for: listing #16553 - Bethany Beach, Delaware House rental

Luxurious, spacious Bethany Lakes home with pool, tennis,gym
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Bethany Lakes
  • sleeps  14
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,500 - $3,300 /wk

sort by:

Sunseekers

Review submitted: July 24, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

We are a family of 6 adult couples, a teenager and a toddler who have just returned from spending a week at Bethany at Sandtoes Castle. The home was everything as described and more. Its spacious, openness gave us plenty of room to spread out, relax and connect with one another. We found everything to be in perfect order. The kitchen was very well equipped. The bedrooms were spacious w/ very comfortable beds. The pool table and ping pong tables offered entertainment for the men while the women found cozy couches in the great room and sun room for comfy conversation and quiet reading. (We never needed to turn on any of the TVs offered!) The garage was full of bikes, beach umbrellas, boogie boards and a wonderful gas grill. We lacked no amenities. Once the heat of the day was gone we made use of the outside porches for further relaxation and conversation. What a haven! The gated community was so quiet, offering pools, walking/running trails, quiet streets for biking...who could ask for more. An easy drive to a variety of beaches gave us wonderful access to the ocean. It was easy to come "home" to w/out fighting traffic and there was even a wonderful Harris Teeter across the street for our grocery needs! Everyone of us would give Sandtoes Castle a 5 star rating and definitely hope to stay there the next trip we make to Bethany Beach. Thanks, Sandtoes, for a week of cozy comfort and wonderful memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our new family vacation spot!

Review submitted: August 27, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We absolutely loved this beach house. We do a family trip once a year to Bethany, and your house was by far one of the best! There was 13 family members in our group, and we all perfectly fit in this house, 7 adults 6 kids (youngest 3, oldest 18) . The kids/adults loved the ping pong table and pool table. The kids also enjoyed the bikes provided, they used them to ride to the community pool or just to ride around the housing community. The little ones enjoyed the playground nearby. We ate in 3 nights, and it was great having all cooking utensils available, even a gas grill (most houses we stayed provide a charcoal grill, which the men dislike). There was plenty of dinning space for the whole family. We went to Fenwick Island State Beach everyday, which is about 6 miles away. 6 miles is nothing when it's traffic FREE! The road this community sits on which is off of Route 1 the traffic is very minimal easy access in and out. So getting to the beach, and traveling just in general was no hassel. We have stayed at a house in Bear Trap Dunes, traffic was horrible on Garfield Pky trying to get in and out we spent a lot of time stuck in traffic. So the location is definately a plus! The outside shower was great hot/cold water. Bringing sand into the house was very minimal as we all used it. The older kids even used it to get there actual shower, their choice. The times we were at the house the adults enjoyed using the deck, front porch, or balcony to chat. We finally found our family vacation spot, by far the BEST! We all thank you! :)

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic Home, well equipped

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

Lee Ann and Nancy are the most organized owners for this wonderful house. They really know how
to stock a kitchen with everything you could possibly think of by way of blender, toaster, coffee pot, wine
opener, etc.

The best part is also that you bring your own linens and towels which makes leaving the property
much easier. I have rented houses where you must wash the linens as a requirement and when you
are getting ready to pack and leave, it is really difficult. So they really have this down to an art.

The house was wonderfully appointed and since we were a party of 6 (4 adults and 2 children, 5 and
4 respectively, we had a lot of room. The kids loved the bunk beds the best. It was easy driving to
the beach and we also visited Rehoboth also a very easy drive. Bethany is by far the best beach for
kids and less rough and we all had a wonderful time.

I truly cannot say enough about the house that we rented. I have rented a lot of houses from Mexico to
Puerto Rico and this was by far the best!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great Place for a Family Vacation- best beach house around!

Review submitted: February 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 7, 2010

Sand Toes Castle was the perfect beach house for our families vacation. The house had all of the amenities for adults and kids alike- the kids loved the ping-pong & pool tables and bikes to run around the gated neighborhood. The adults used the gas grill and fully equiped kitchen and we had fun eating around the huge kitchen table. It had room for our whole crew of 12 including 6 adults and the beds are more comfortable than the one I sleep on at home. My favorite feature was the outdoor shower- it is the Taj Mahal of outside cleansing!!

We also loved coming back from the beach and going to the fabulous pool. It is huge and there were usually just a few people there- it is like a country club without the people! The fitness center was perfect for getting a work out in and was like a private work out room.

We used the Bethany Beach parking pass to park for free at the beach (1 mile away) when we didn't go to the State Park, which was only 3 miles away and beautiful. We also dicovered the Salt Pond golf course across the street- great for beginning and seasoned golfers and in great condition. A Harris Teeter just opened across the street as well so shopping was a breeze.

Some of the things we did: road bikes to Sand Crab Beach (1 mile) and Bethany Beach Boardwalk (<1.5 miles), went fishing in the ponds in the community, caught turtles, went to the State Park and flew kites, went to Fenwick Island (<10 minutes), Rehobeth (20 minutes), Lewes (30 minutes), Ocean City (20 minutes).

No more Ocean City rentals for me- this place is just too nice and relaxing and way too convenient- you can't get any closer to the ocean and still have all of the comforts that this place offers.

Can't wait until next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

What an AMAZING vacation!!

Review submitted: January 28, 2011   Date of arrival: July 11, 2010

Your beach house is amazing!!! It is so spacious, and beautifully decorated. It had everything we needed from all kitchen essentials to all kinds of games and actiivites for the kids. The kids and adults had a blast playing pool, ping pong and all the games that were stocked in your family room. We had three families staying for our visit, and there was plenty of room for everyone. Your clubhouse and pool area was magnificent. The clubhouse was beautiful and we were able to work out every morning in the gym during our visit. The pool and playground area was great. We couldn't have had a better time. Thankyou for allowing us to share your beach house with you. We WILL be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Gary Hohne

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

A wonderful place. I would definitely rent from you again. Everyone in my family enjoyed the week. Thank you so much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home for a family vacation!!!

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2010

This is a lovely home that is very spacious and decorated with beautiful taste. There is everything that a family on a summer vacation would need. We especially loved the pool table and I enjoyed the community as well, with a great trail to go for a nice long run. Thank you for such a great vacation home!!!!!!!

Stephanie Murphy

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great family gathering place

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: September 13, 2010

Our family has grown from 2 to 8. For the first time, we were able to get out two married children along with their spouses and adorable 2-year-old daughters together for a vacation. This house was terrific for our needs! Each family had their own bathroom. The kitchen was well-stocked and large enough for group cooking and everyone to sit together. The little girls thought it was very cool to look over the balcony to see other people. We enjoyed having the master bedroom on the main level so the kids could have privacy upstairs while we had it downstairs. The neighborhood is quiet and well-maintained with a nice playground. Pool and ping-pong was a nice addition and we loved the huge porch. The unheated pool was an issue in September, but would have been fine otherwise. The only drawback was the drive to the beach and the need to park and carry things, but there was a parking pass and many things to borrow. The owners were very flexible with our arrival since it was after labor Day. It seemed to be a great value for the price for our family.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Family Home

Review submitted: January 27, 2011   Date of arrival: November 25, 2009

We have stayed many times in this large Bethany Lakes home. Great for family gatherings. Close to Bethany Beach. They just opened a grocery store across the street from Bethany Lakes which makes it very convenient when you need groceries. Great walking path around the development. Many restaurants and stores close by. I highly recommend this home to anyone who wants to rent a home close to the beach

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review