reviews for: listing #16556 - Sandestin, Florida House rental

Dlx Villa, Prvt Beach, Couples Shower, Wi-Fi, HDTV, Pet
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Sandestin Resort
  • sleeps  7
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $196 - $269 /nt
    $1,250 - $1,650 /wk

sort by:

Review for 750 Sandpiper

Review submitted: August 12, 2013   Date of arrival: August 4, 2013

Our time at 750 Sandpiper was excellent in every way. Our home was very comfortable and provided for all of our needs. We do hope that this home will be available next year when we come to Sandestin. The Village was great, as usual. Our favorite place there is Rum Runners (of course). Other restaurants we like include: Mitchell's Fish Market, PY Chang's, Pompano Joe's, Tommy Bahama's, and the Red Bar at Santa Rosa Beach. JL was most gracious in making preparations for our visit and was very professional in handling all paper work. Thank you for a great week. We look forward to returning to 750 Sandpiper next year if available.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad we could work this out on short notice. Sorry we missed meeting you face-to-face. Hope this was the relaxing week you had needed. Look forward to seeing you again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sandpiper 750

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 28, 2013

The house was sooo nice!!! It was clean, cozy and beautifully decorated!!! We had everything we needed including beach toys for my 3 year old. Thank you so much for sharing your house with us!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We try to think of everything. Glad you had a great time. Thanks for the 5 stars!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great condo

Review submitted: July 28, 2013   Date of arrival: July 21, 2013

We had a lovely stay at the condo, it's extremely comfortable and well set up. We had every convenience. Really enjoyed having the beach equipment on site. Another great aspect is that it is huge for a condo and we didn't have to be on top of each other - great with two small kids who want to do different games/watch different shows! Lovely bathrooms too. JL was a great help whenever we had a question too. Would be very happy to stay there again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Glad you had a great time. Looks like you found plenty of things to do despite a couple of days of rain. Thanks for the 5 stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

beach fun!!

Review submitted: July 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

We had a great stay~ Thank you for sharing your home!
It was perfect for our family and we will be back!!....yes, we will refer to others!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having guests who can stay for multiple weeks because they really get to settle in and enjoy the area. Thanks for the review and taking good care of the house. Hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Sandpiper Retreat

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This house is perfect in every way. Spacious, Immaculate and centrally located. We love the fact that it overlooks the golf course. My husband and I look forward to renting this gem of a retreat every year!!!

Thank you so much for opening your home to us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Our favorite guests are the ones who come back every year. Thanks for the great review and your continued loyalty!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place!

Review submitted: April 15, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

This unit was great for our family's vacation. The location was convenient for all sorts of activities, yet away from it all so you could relax, too. It was clean, well stocked, and the grill was a great feature. Our children really enjoyed having their own spaces with TVs/DVD players in every room.The neighbors are great, and the Resort is a fantastic place to eat, shop, play and relax. The beaches are gorgeous, with sugar sand and bright green water, and its nice to have access to the owner's beach area--less crowded.
We did take the resort shuttle one day-if you time it right, it is very convenient. Overall, a great experience, and we'd definately come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great detailed review. We are always so glad to hear our guests had a great time. Good to hear about the SandTram. It is a great addition to the resort. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEAUTIFUL AREA TO VACATION!!

Review submitted: October 10, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

This house is very homey and beautiful. The area of Sandestin and Destin are wonderful with many things to do. There are so many delicious restaurants also. Pomponos, Backporch, Anglers, and Another Broken Egg were among our favorites. The ocean is so beautiful with it's emerald color and very warm water. The sunsets were also out of this world. We would highly recommend this house and area to stay. Pictures are wonderful, but being there in person can't be beat! We are hoping to visit there again. Thank you to J L for her help, and to Dick and JoAnne also for sharing their home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great to meet you. We love when our guests can stay for an extended period. Thanks for taking such good care of the house and for the 5 star review. Hope to see you next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great trip for my family

Review submitted: August 13, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

It is a lovely home. Clean, spacious and in a charming neighborhood. My kids loved biking on all the paths and to the pools and beach. We would highly recommend.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: You guys were out and about all the time. You looked like you were having a blast. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very well maintained Villa

Review submitted: July 29, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Our family of four (and two teen friends) really enjoyed our stay at this Villa. It was very roomy. The furnishings were nice. It had a large screen HD TV in the living area (and other TVs in the 2 bedrooms). All the beds were comfortable. We made use of the gas grill on the patio two nights.

The place was really well stocked in terms of kitchen items, soap, 2 bikes, lots of beach equipment. We did not use their umbrellas (we opted to rent a weekly set up), but they had umbrellas and chairs. Also the condo had clear instructions on everything you needed to know (trash disposal, bike locks, departure etc.).

We also liked the one key in a lock box. We were usually going places in three pairs. But we didn't each have to keep up with a key. The one key stayed in the coded lock box right by the door. It worked great!

The reasons I did not give 5 stars are minor: a) The hot water heater was not the best. We really had to conserve hot water, but maybe that was because there was six of us. I am use to a tankless heater. So running out of hot water was different. b) We would have liked to have had it cooler in the unit (particularly at night) but there were strict instructions not to have the thermostat below 74. c) The beach was a little further than we hoped. I think my GPS put it at 1.1 miles. Plus once you parked at the beach, it was still a good long walk to the actual beach. But we knew we were not getting beach front when we got the place. And it kept our weight in check. ha Plus the villa was located on a lovely quite street within easy walking distance to one of the two nice pools.

We enjoyed our stay. If we opt to not be beachfront again, we will strongly consider returning.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thanks for the great review. I wish you had called about the water heater. I found out the owners had forgotten to remove the timer from the system and you were only heating water about 4 hours a day. Plenty for them to have hot water but not a vacationing family. I could have fixed the problem in 2 minutes. Hope to see you again, you all looked like you were having a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GOOD VACATION HOME

Review submitted: June 3, 2012   Date of arrival: May 28, 2012

Very good condition with extremely quiet neighborhood. Our kids & their friends enjoyed biking throughout the neighborhood & over to the beach. Pools were very good as well. The house was very nice & everything needed was provided. The house is beautifully decorated & well-cared for. Overall was pleased with our stay there.
Would definitely recommend parasailing in nearby Destin. Good location to many attractions.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: I enjoyed meeting your family and thanks for leaving the house in such great shape. Sounds like you had a good time. Thanks for the great review. Hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In need of a family vacation!

Review submitted: April 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 8, 2012

Exceeded our expectations in all areas. The house was perfect for our family of 5. The house was clean, open and roomy, and comfortable. We enjoyed all the community had to offer as well - biking/walking paths, pools, golf, fishing, shopping, and restaurants. The beach was a short drive across the highway and very accessible. Beautiful and clean beaches, too! We would highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: It looked like you were all having a great time. Let me know your dates for next year ASAP. Thanks for the great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best Vacation - Home Away From Home

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

This is our favorite vacation unit. We just love the colors, the warmth and the location is excellent to everything. We appreciate having this to come to every year and feels like our special place every time we go on our vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having you as our temporary neighbors every year. Hope to see you again this spring.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Stress Free Vacation

Review submitted: August 16, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

Hi, J.L.
I just wanted to thank you for everything you did in making our vacation in the Sandpiper retreat so special. It was the most stress-free vacation we have ever been on (drive down wasn't much fun but even that was ok). We all had a great time and thought the Sandestin area was beautiful.

We received the deposit back today for the Villa. Thank you for the quick refund.

I have to tell you, my kids weren't very happy with me when I made them clean the tub and sweep their bathroom before we left :) I thought it was good for them. They complain when they have to do it at our home so all was normal with that.

Have a great year and hope to talk to you next summer

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

BEST BEACH VACATION!

Review submitted: August 7, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful time staying at Sandpiper Village. The Villa was very clean and we felt like home immediately. The price is very reasonable and the home has a lot to offer. The website was very helpful to use and the pictures were very important to us and accurately displayed the Villa. The landscaping is beautiful and well cared for both around the home and throughout the Sandestin Resort. I really recommend this home for your beach vacation. You will NOT be disappointed. I loved the bike path and enjoyed walking my dog and riding my bike around the beautiful grounds. I felt very safe in the Village and left very relaxed and wanting to return again.
J.L. was so great at answering all of our questions and stopped by to introduce herself which made us feel very welcome. We never had a problem but knew if something was to come up, J.L. would have gone above and beyond to help us. The Track is a great place to take the kids for putt putt and Go Karts. My kids loved eating at Fudpuckers and Cheeseburger in Paradise. The owner's beach is very easy to access and was very clean. Can't wait to return!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: You were great guests and neighbors. Thanks for the great review and 5 stars. Hope to see you again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome house

Review submitted: July 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Had a great time once again at Sandpiper!! We absolutely love the house and love the great neighborhood. We will definitely come back as soon as possible! Thanks so much for all your help JL. We will call again as soon as we get our dates firmed up to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: It was great having you as part of the Village again this year. Maybe by next year we can find you one of your own. See you soon. Thanks for the great review.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Little Rock family

Review submitted: June 27, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

We had a relaxing and enjoyable time at this spotlessly-clean villa. The location was very convenient to the beach, golf, biking and other activities and served our needs perfectly. The villa was even more beautiful than the pictures on the VRBO website. The beds were extremely comfortable and the kitchen was well-furnished. The beach setup had everything we needed and saved us from packing our own umbrellas and chairs. We enjoyed the shops and attractions at Baytowne Wharf and enjoyed dinner at Graffiti's there. For lunch Mitchell's offering of steamed seafood over sticky rice with ginger sauce was superb. But our favorite dining experience was right there in the villa where we had steamed shrimp from a local seafood shop along with salad and bread from the local grocery store. The week went by way too quickly, and we were sad to leave. But, we hope we can visit again! Thanks for sharing your lovely home with us.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Bob,
So glad you enjoyed the visit. You were great neighbors. Hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Highly recommend

Review submitted: June 23, 2011   Date of arrival: June 8, 2011

The Villa was exactly like the pictures. Very clean and comfortable. I thought I was going to miss being on the beach but actually enjoyed the neighborhood setting. I felt more secure and enjoyed being able to bring our Golden. I would definately like to come back next summer! However, next summer we will skip AJ's. Food and service were definately not worth the money.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Hi Heather,
So glad you enjoyed your visit. I totally agree about AJ's and all his other restaurants. Hope to see you next summer and just call me for a lot of great local food suggestions.
J.L.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Sonnier Family

Review submitted: June 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 28, 2011

This is the third time we have been guest's of this property and make an effort to return each year. The condition of the villa is as pictured (excellent) and all the perks that are associated with this property are above and beyond the typical beach rental. I would highly recommend this property to friends and family without any reservation what-so-ever!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love having you back every year. My favorite part of your visit is watching you hose off you boys in the yard to get all the sand off before they go inside! You take great care of our villa. Thanks. See you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review #12743

Review submitted: June 3, 2011   Date of arrival: May 15, 2011

A Great Place ! Just as it was presented in the listing photos. A Five Star Resort !! Landscaping was beautiful throughout the entire resort. The walking and biking trails throughout the resort were awesome. The Village and the Marina were an added asset. The Village had great shops, restaurants and activities for everyone. The Spitfire Mercantile at the marina had lots of cool things. Best crab cakes I've ever eaten were at Louis Louis restuarant on 98. It was great being able to take my pet on the trip.
I would recommend this resort and I will definetly return.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Owners response: You girls were having a great time, we could tell. Hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Also, walking/biking trail

Review submitted: May 27, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

Wonderful retreat for girl getaway with pet. Furnishings and amenities up to a five star resort standard. Landscape was delightful with view of golf course and villa was nearby to walking/bike trails and view of bay. Within walking distance of the Village with restaurants, activities, shops, and marina. We will be back. Crab cakes at Louis-Louis best ever!

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Next time you need to try the Crab-Cakes from Sarah-K. I think they are even better. Glad you girls had a great time. Hope to see you again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sandpiper Retreat

Review submitted: April 16, 2011   Date of arrival: April 1, 2011

Lovely home for your vacation. We had everything we needed down to 2 bikes to ride, beach chairs, beach towels, etc. The appliances were top notch along with the gas grill. It was a nice location-away from noise, but close even to beach and Baytowne. The home was impeccably clean and we loved the bike paths. We will definitely be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review and 5 stars. We would love to see you back next year.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation 1st week of September

Review submitted: September 17, 2010   Date of arrival: September 7, 2010

Really nice, clean home away from home. Bikes and beach equipment provided.

The price is better than nights at a luxury hotel where you might only get a single bedroom.

This is first time we had used a rental and everything went as inidcated.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love to hear that we met all your expectations and everything went smothly. Hope to see you back again next year.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Sandpiper Village

Review submitted: August 9, 2010   Date of arrival: August 2, 2010

We had a very enjoyable family vacation to the Sandestin area! We loved this particular villa and the people around the villa were very kind and super-helpful! We enjoyed the close proximity to nearly everything. We wished that the beaches and ocean had been rid of the june grass as that was not great for the kiddos! But overall, we loved everything about our vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: OH, if we could only control the seaweed and the weather. Glad you had a good time and hope to see you back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

750 Sandpiper

Review submitted: August 2, 2010   Date of arrival: July 29, 2010

We have stayed in Sandestin many times and in many areas. 750 Sandpiper is one of the better accomodations we have found in this price range. It is very clean, updated, and comfortable and it is wonderful that you can included your 4 legged family member on your trip (though I do think the extra deposit is a little hefty though it is refundable). We were attending a family reunion so we did not do a lot of cooking but the kitchen was very well supplied and its so nice to have starter supplies of coffee, snacks, etc, and to have basics like salt and pepper. Having the bikes was a real plus as well. The weather was extremely hot so we did not get to enjoy the screened porch or patio, but it would be very nice in better weather.
I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend to family and friends.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: We love having the "4 legged family members" as our guests. Many private rentals change a big non-refundable pet fee. We never thought that was right. A sizeable but refundable pet deposit is our solutions. Owners with good dogs never hesitate because they know the deposit if fully refundable. It is a great deterent for those with dogs they can't trust. It is also good protection for the home owners. We actually had a dog who had always been perfect at home but had never traveled. He actually ate 3 sets of window blinds while the owners were at the beach one day. We loved having you and hope you come back when you can stay longer and enjoy more than just your family. Hope to see you next year. Thanks again for supporting the Florida Gulf Coast.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay at Sandpiper Village

Review submitted: July 28, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Sandpiper Village! We had all of the amenities that we have at home. The Villa was very clean and comfortable. We absolutely loved the Sandestin Resort and spent great family time, riding our bikes, walking and running on the 11 mile bike/foot path. We used to live in the area and have stayed at various places but would Sandpiper Village will now be our 1st choice!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We love it when a former local choses us! Glad you had a good time and hope to see again next time.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What a great time with Family!

Review submitted: July 5, 2010   Date of arrival: June 21, 2010

This was the perfect place to stay on our first family trip to the Destin area. We absolutely loved this condo, the area it was located in, the amenities and the lovely golf course and walk ways! We so enjoyed bringing our spoiled dogs with us and they too enjoyed the beautiful surroundings, we did not want to leave and will surely visit and stay again! Thanks for everything, we couldn't have asked for more!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the great review! Sorry your dogs thought it was too hot to run. Down here they just stroll lazily in the sun. Glad you had a great time and hope to see you again. Thanks for supporting the gulf coast.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

750 Sandpiper

Review submitted: June 22, 2010   Date of arrival: June 12, 2010

This is a clean, comfortable place to stay. We found Henderson State Park to be more private for going to the beach. You can shop forever here. J. L could not have been more helpful. This was our first time to not be directly on the beach due to our concern over the oil. We saw no signs of oil. The beach was beautiful. Thank you J.L. for answering all of our questions and being so patient with directions. I won't forget that you were willing to assist us, if our stay had to be extended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: We were so glad to have you and be able to accommodate you at the last minute. Your family was great and we would love to have you back in the future.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 15, 2009

Hi JL,
Well, I'm back at work after a fun-filled, action packed week on the beach! Sorry we didn't get to meet up with you, we were on the go from sun up to sun down.
We enjoyed our stay and the unit was lovely.
Thanks again and have a wonderful day.

Sincerely,
Kay

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

Hi JL,

Well, the week is up and as usual, we can't believe how fast it went by! The
place has been fantastic and was just as described on line. I would imagine
that when we return, I'll be contacting you again to see if you have any
availability. There were no problems with any thing. Once again thanks and we are on our way home!

Butch, Dari, Barrett and Connor

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: April 29, 2008

Hello to all our past and future guests. We encourage each of you to log in and record your comments for our guestbook. We constantly strive to improve and enhance each of our guests stay.

Thanks again,
Dick & JoAnne Marty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review