reviews for: listing #16561 - Folly Beach, South Carolina Condo rental

Georgeous oceanfront 4 b/r condo w/ pool
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Charleston
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,550 - $3,350 /wk
    $2,000 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

Great place

Review submitted: August 6, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

This condo was well stocked and had great access to LOTS of good restaurants within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review Kimbra. We hope to hear from you soon.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great week

Review submitted: June 23, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The condo was clean, plenty of sleeping areas and very well equipped for a week. We were worried about having the basics but cupboards and closets were stocked with sheets, towels, dishes, tupperware, washer/dryer etc. SOO close to some amazing restaurants (we did not have a bad meal all week!) and a coffeehouse that brews Starbucks is around the corner. The pool and beach were unbeatable. Great stay, would definitely return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family get away

Review submitted: May 22, 2014   Date of arrival: May 1, 2014

This place was perfect

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our stay at Charleston Oceanfront Villas

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 19, 2014

Our stay at Charleston Oceanfront Villas was spectacular! The condo was perfect with plenty of room for the 8 people we had staying there. The view was beautiful from our balcony and we had a perfect sunrise every morning. The beach and pool were clean and right at our doorstep. The owner's Mike and Debbie were extremely helpful and so friendly. Our daughter was married at The Tides which was right next door and we ate at Locklear's Beach City Grill several times right on the Pier. An easy walk into town with many little shops and just a great easy going beach feel. There are so many sites and things to do in the Charleston area and Folly Beach was the place to stay. We hope to return again and would recommend this property to everyone!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Beach Views

Review submitted: April 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

We stayed for a week and had a great time. Beautiful views right from the deck. Great waking up to the sounds of the serf. Great sunrises right out your window. Clean, spacious and comfortable place to stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Paul. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Review

Review submitted: October 14, 2013   Date of arrival: October 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay. I would recommend the unit and it was very well maintained. It was spacious and in a very nice location. The only thing you need more of is parking passes and key fabs. We had 3-4 cars and we could not use the parking for all of the cars for a unit that sleeps 10. Other than that, location was wonderful. Favorite Restaurant-Hyman's. We enjoyed downtown and no matter where we went if was a 20-30 minute ride.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

GA and CA friends

Review submitted: October 10, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

Five of us stayed in this unit - very comfortably - and, couldn't have been more pleased with everything - the accommodations, supplies, location, etc., etc., etc. Don't have any complaints or suggestions for improvements or anything different. (Except we were unable to open door onto balcony from master bedroom).

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review. Hope to have you stay with us again
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Friends Reunion Vacation Spot!

Review submitted: September 11, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

6 of us recently had a friends reunion in Folly Beach and stayed at this Oceanfront Condo. The view was amazing both morning and night. Couldn't be a better location. The condo was perfect - had everything that we needed and was beautifully decorated. It's within walking distance to all the shops, restaurants and bars - although we had more fun driving our golf cart around the island! I recommend BLU right next door to the condo - we walked there quite a few nights via the beach. Had great live music every day and yummy frozen drinks and apps!
Charleston is only about a 12-15 minute drive, so you can still add some city life to your trip - we ventured there a couple times, but it's hard to leave the island once you're there.
The two pools were great after a day at the beach, and everyone is so nice - we met quite a few residents heading there for the winter.
the carts for loading and unloading were a great help too! All in all was a great time and if we ever get to head that way again, i know where we are staying!
Thanks to Michael for making the process a breeze!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Nancy and Ed Elliott

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Dear Michael,
It happened again...We had a wonderful time this year. We so enjoyed our stay at the "Orange Folly Beach house" as our granddaughter calls it. Everything about our stay was perfect. We LOVED the improvements you have made to the condo. We will be booking again for next year. Maybe not until January. Ed and Nancy E

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Vacation with parents and kids

Review submitted: August 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

The view of the beach and ocean is great from the condo and the balcony was a nice size for a group. Beach had some nice assets, such as lifeguards, volleyball nets, a free pier close by and Wed night movie. This was especially great since we had teenagers with us. We also very much liked that shops and restaurants were within walking distance and that the parking for the condo was great. Loggerheads across the street has very good food. Grocery carts for transporting items to the room were plentiful although the elevators were slow and inadequate for the size of the building. The pool was nice but was a little crowed at times. The condo itself was a nice size but the kitchen lacked some basics some as sharp knives, a muffin pan and plastic storage containers. The closets could also use a few more hangers. We would also agree with another comment that 2 fobs were not enough, especially with older children. I would seriously encourage the owners to take a look at their cleaning staff. Upon initially entering the condo, everything looked nice and clean, although the cleaning staff did leave dirty towels and a half drunk bottle of water on the washer and a Kangaroo mart cup on one of the living room tables. Closer inspection showed a thick layer of dust on the door to the air conditioning closet. We took a broom and swept it off. A few days into our stay we were looking for Lego pieces one of my kids had spilled on the floor. We moved the living room rug and some of the furniture. There was a thick layer of sand under the rug and significant dust bunnies and crumbs under the furniture and the cushions. The vacuum left in the unit did not have significant sucking power to clean any of it. The furnishings in the condo are attractive in appearance but the chairs at the dining room table are miserably uncomfortable. The living room furniture was comfortable and plentiful unlike some other places we have stayed.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Amazing Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 20, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

My family, including my husband, mom, 2 daughters, a son-in-law, and 2 grandchildren, just enjoyed a fabulous vacation in this large 4 bedroom/ 3 bath condo in Folly Beach. We were lucky to have amazing weather our entire vacation which certainly added to our experience. The condo was wonderful. It is decorated beautifully in all of the bedrooms and baths. The kitchen, dining, and great room were comfortable, well-equipped, and also beautifully decorated. The balcony was huge with a super comfortable lounge and table and chairs. We spent alot of time on the balcony enjoying the amazing ocean view and constant breezes. I even fell asleep on the lounge a couple of times. Since the condo is on the first floor above the parking area, there's no waiting for the elevator with only having to take one flight of stairs. ALso, the beach chairs and toys were a nice addition. The condo is great with shaded parking under the building and 2 pools. We love Folly with the great restaurants and shops within walking distance, and the short drive to Charleston. The drive from home is only 10 hrs so that's great too. We definitely want to book this condo for next year as soon as we get our schedules figured out. The owner is great to work with and promptly answered all my questions. The only criticism I have is that 2 fobs were not enough for our group since they are needed for the pool, beach, and to get in the parking lot. We were constantly asking "who has the fobs", "where are the fobs". It kind of became the joke of the vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Folly Beach Get a Way

Review submitted: July 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 23, 2013

My family had a super week during our visit to Folly Beach. Our condo at Charleston Oceanfront Villa was perfect for the 8 of us. The help and direction provided by Michael made our trip run smoothly. The location was great to get to the pier quickly and to some great restaurants, especially Folly Beach Crabshack. My family loved the space the condo had and the two 12 year olds loved the bathroom with double sinks and mirrors. I would recommend this property to my friends and other family members because it was clean with comfortable beds, kid friendly, and had easy access to the beach. My family and I will definitely stay here again when we visit Folly Beach.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Marilyn. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Multi-Generational Family Trip

Review submitted: June 5, 2013   Date of arrival: May 18, 2013

We loved the place! My husband & I, and daughter, husband, & 10 month old child, and son & wife stayed in this spacious and immaculately clean condo. The kitchen was very well equipped. The storage closet contained beach toys, chairs, and an umbrella for beach use. Internet service was readily available in the unit. There was very easy beach access out of the complex. The web site information and pictures were a very accurate description of the condo. The complex grounds were well manicured and the pools were crystal clear clean. The complex provides shopping carts in the garage to help with moving your stuff in & out of the unit. Location - Besides being directly on the beach, the unit is located one block from the pier and the main street with all the restaurants. Locally, we recommend the Wich Doctor and Taco Boy. The Black Magic Cafe had slow service and only moderately warm food. It only took 15 minutes to get to downtown Charleston with all the sites and restaurants. We had a special meal at Hanks that was worth every penny, especially the she crab soup. The BBQ at Jim n'Nicks was outstanding and a very reasonable price. The only downside to the condo location is the bar across the street. It has live music and karaoke that goes into the wee hours of the morning. Three of the 4 bedroom windows face the street side where the bar is located. You may want to consider bringing ear plugs, especially on the weekends.Condo Facilities - Having a washer and dryer in the unit proved to be very convenient. There were hair dryers in the bathroom. There were plenty of towels, including ones that could be used for the beach. I would offer 2 recommendations: 1) the master bath on the ocean side needs a new shower head (many of the orifices are plugged; and 2) the area outside the 3 bedrooms on the street side is very well lit. Room darkening curtains would he helpful. Customer Service - I cannot say enough good things about the condo manager, Michael. He was always prompt in responding to any questions prior to arrival regarding the unit. When the storage closet was missing the beach umbrella, Michael contacted the owner and had it replace prior to our arrival. There was a minor issue regarding parking permits and Michael handled it quickly. My daughter left her bathing suit in the dryer & he tracked it down & had it mailed back. Information provided about unit was very clear. Michael even included links for area info. TY Michael!!!!

Highly recommend!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: WOW!!! What a great review Colleen. You were great to work with and we sure hope to hear from y'all again.

Thanks so much!!

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Girls Gone Wild

Review submitted: April 26, 2013   Date of arrival: April 18, 2013

Loved the location. The price was right too. We would like to come back again. Although it was too cold and windy during our April trip, the beach was absolutely beautiful there. We enjoyed the downtown Charleston activities. Owner was very nice and helpful.

Recommended for: girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Carole. We look forward to hearing from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

From NC

Review submitted: February 6, 2013   Date of arrival: January 24, 2013

Our getaway to Folly Island was nothing short of wonderful! We all had such a fun, relaxing trip! Staying in this beautiful and very modern villa/condo was a plus! The floor plan was bright, open, and the views were spectaular! Michael was very professional, helpful, and so kind throughout the entire process! I greatly appreciate his care and concern with everything! You can count on me to visit again very soon! I would highly recommend staying at this condo! Thanks again, Michael and Debbie.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Julie,

Thanks so much for your kind review and comments. We look forward to having you stay again.

Take care,
Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Just like home...

Review submitted: November 7, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

This is a great location walking distance to restaurants and amenities in Folley Beach with fabulous ocean views. It was spacious, nicely decorated, comfortable and just like home. The three bathrooms were adequate for five women traveling together. We very much enjoyed our stay and would come back again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Maureen. You and your guest are welcome back anytime.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation!

Review submitted: October 1, 2012   Date of arrival: September 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our time here! The condo was clean and very spacious. The kitchen was fully equiped. The only drawback was there were only 2 tvs, in the master and the living area. This wasn't an issue for me personally because I didn't come to the beach to watch tv but several others were disappointed by this. Overall our experience was awesome! We plan to be back again!

Recommended for: families with young children

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Debbie. I hope you and Wesley come again soon.

Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Jan

Review submitted: August 15, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

This unit lived up to our expectations and communication with Michael, who manages the property, was excellent. The Unit is located on the first floor which is great and was spacious and clean. We would definitely rent this same condo again when returning to Folly Beach. The critical review shown above was mean spirited and if you are considering renting this unit do not pay attention to that one. Some people simply cannot be satisfied with anything.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Janice for taking the time to post your review and comments. We hope to hear from you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Come on back!!

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

From: Ed
Sent: Tuesday, July 31, 2012 9:07 AM
To: Michael
Subject: Re: Folly Beach Rentals

Good Morning Michael,
Our trip to Folly was wonderful! Thank you for having such a great place for our family to stay. We felt like home. In fact, one of my two year old grands kept saying I want to stay at Nana house at Folly .....wish I could say that.. BUT....Thanks for allowing us to stay in such a beautiful condo. Everything was spotless! We will be booking again for next year....will be checking to see when the calendar is open for 2013........Looking forward to coming again..............Nancy and Ed

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great VACATION

Review submitted: July 31, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Thanks Michael for such a wonderful place to stay. We LOVE coming to Folly and enjoyed staying at your condo. Can't wait to book again for NEXT YEARS vacation. Everything was spotless!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Come back anytime!!

Review submitted: July 11, 2012   Date of arrival: June 24, 2012

-----Original Message-----
From: Jody
Sent: Tuesday, July 10, 2012 6:42 PM
To: Michae
Subject: Thanks

Hi Michael,
Thanks again for a wonderful week at your condos. This was a very easy process - you answered all our questions and everything was just as you said. (the kids LOVED the boogie boards!) The condos were exactly as described, very nicely furnished and well equipped.
Thanks again,
Jody

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

WHAT A GREAT VACATION PLACE

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This unit was FABULOUS! Plenty of room for the 6 of us to spread out! Pictures truly dont do this condo justice. For those of us with families who cook, the kitchen was lacking for NOTHING! Being on the first floor, we normally just took the steps down, literally it was a 2 minute walk to the beach and having chairs and toys for us to use...priceless. The owners care about this property, and it is EVIDENT, everything was immaculate when we walked in. The only negative I can comment on, is I wish there was a tv in each bedroom, sometimes the kids just need alone time. We will definetly return to Folly and we will attempt to rent from these owners again. Best place we found while we were here, Reel Screamers tours, best tour money we ever spent!

Thanks for sharing your condo with us!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL!!!!

Review submitted: June 25, 2012   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

This was a wonderful place to stay! I would highly recommend it to anyone looking to stay in Folly Beach. The manager was so helpful during the booking process and answered my numerous emails regarding the villa promptly. All information he provided was found to be correct on our arrival. My family had a wonderful trip. This is a great unit and great manager to book with!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Robin and we hope to hear from you and your family again!!

Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

E-mails like this are never seen

Review submitted: June 24, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

From: Monda
Sent: Sunday, June 24, 2012 8:04 AM
To: Michael
Subject: Re: Your 3 bedroom rentals

Thank you for the informational web links you sent us. We have rented houses and condos before both in your area and in other states, what a nice touch to take the time to include this these links. Most people just take your money and don't take the time to go above and beyond. We have family on Folly and have gone to Charleston many times with them. With the wedding it will be a busy time and we will be exploring on our own so this will come in handy.

Looking forward to coming back to Folly !!

Monda

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Came for a family vacation!!

Review submitted: June 18, 2012   Date of arrival: May 19, 2012

From: gerri Sent: Monday, June 18, 2012 2:00 PM
To: michael
Subject: Review

Michael, we had a very nice visit during our week. You were very professional, and responded to all our needs. Having the baby bouncy already in the unit and not having to worry about it getting returned was so helpful. I have recommended the unit to a friend who goes to Folly Beach every year and has been staying at someone's house, but it is being sold, so she was very interested in our experience. Again, thanks for making our stay very enjoyable. Also, the unit was clean when we were there. Sincerely Gerri

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

If you want to spend the first 3 hours of your vacation cleaning, this is the place for you!

Review submitted: June 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

Only good thing = Located directly on the beach and not far from the pier/restaurants. Upon arrival we immediately noticed the property had not been cleaned. Stains on the counters, sand on the furniture, sand on the rugs (piles), old food on dining table rug, food stuck in dining room chairs, filthy oven, coffee in coffee pot, sand and stains on the floors, no toilet paper on rolls, finger prints on mirrors and windows, no hair dryers and filthy pillows on furniture. This is not to mention a sink that barely drains in the bathroom and a lint return that is a fire hazard. No extra blankets for those that are cold natured and no beach towels. I called the owner to complain and he advised I could go to the local Walmart to purchase a vaccum since his did not work and he would reimburse me. Declining his offer, I did the best I could and ended up rolling up the rugs as they were beyond help. He claimed he could not find a cleaning service then admitted he and his family cleaned it themselves. I explained that was not acceptable, he then graciously suggested I could find something else on Memorial Day weekend and he would give us our money back. (Impossible proposition) Helpful is not in this owner's vocabulary. He eventually brought us ragged, stained tattered beach towels and three hair dryers for the bathrooms two days later. Not one offer to get the place cleaned. I used our money and purchased a Mr. Clean Eraser and supplies, miraculously the stains on the counter erased after owner said they were permanent. There is mold under the sinks and throughout various places in the unit. Upon vocalization of my displeasure through email, he graciously agreed to pay me to clean the unit for his next tenants. Then miraculously our free wireless service went silent. BUYER BEWARE! There are too many nice places in this complex and on the island to rent without the hassle and laziness of this owner. It appears he is on hard times and has done little to add to the comfort of the guest. By the way if he tells you it is non-smoking, there is a dirty ashtray on the entertainment center for your enjoyment. I cleaned for 3 hours until it was habitable and the owner refused to compensate us for our trouble. I will be sure to tell anyone that I can find not to rent from this owner. We are a well travelled family and have never had this kind of trouble with an owner. Save your vacation and keep looking.

Owners response: We average approximately 35 rentals per year in this unit. That amounts to about 250 guests per year. We also manage 9 other units and have similar number of guests per unit and we have been managing these units for over eight years. That accounts for nearly 20,000 guests. We do our best to provide clean and well maintained accommodations and most guests are very happy with our services. Many of our guest return yearly. My wife, daughter and I cleaned the unit that day and it took us 2 1/2 hours. We know the unit was clean. This tenant told me that she makes $250/hour and wanted a refund of $750 for her 3 hours that she cleaned. Occasionally, we have a guest that is unhappy and very difficult to satisfy. This is one of those the cases. After receiving her review, I contacted the past three guests that were in the unit before her. Please see their comments below. From: Pat Sent: Friday, June 15, 2012 3:10 PM To: Michael Subject: Re: Folly Beach Condo Michael, We loved the unit 106 and had a wonderful vacation. When I did call you about not being able to figure out the cable in the unit, you came within an hour or two and fixed the problem. We had a wonderful time and would definitely rent that same unit again. Patty From: Dennis Sent: Friday, June 15, 2012 3:32 PM To: Michael Subject: Re: Folly beach condo Hi Michael, We were very satisfied with the condo and didn't have any issues with you or your service. Dennis From: starfish Sent: Friday, June 15, 2012 5:14 PM To: Michael Subject: unit 106 Dear Michael, I am sorry to hear that you had a negative report for the condo. If someone complained about your unit, they didn’t come for a vacation. That’s sad! We love the unit, plan to come back and appreciate all the attention you provided us. Sincerely, Brenton & Suzanne

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Welcome back!!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I wanted to let you know that we loved your condo and had a wonderful time staying there! Next time we return to Charleston, I'll be sure to contact you again!

Thanks, Michael!

Best,
Danielle

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Terrific Time

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

Hello Michael,
Just wanted to drop a note to say thanks and how much we enjoyed our visit.
The condo was perfect! We had a terrific time in Folly and visiting our daughter at CofC. We will definitely be back.
Thanks again.
Sandy

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Couains by the sea

Review submitted: April 2, 2012   Date of arrival: March 25, 2012

This condo was exceptional in location, appearance and very clean and well maintained. The sheets were placed on the beds with military precision. We did cook our meals and found the kitchen was very well equipped to do so. The restaurant across the street, Loggerheads, was excellent as well and situated for walking only a short distance. The condo is well equipped for handicapped access as well.
Would definately recommend this location and this specific condo.


Mr. and Mrs. Robert W. Burgess, Columbia, SC

Mr. and Mrs. Stuart Harris, Henderson, NC

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Relaxing Stay

Review submitted: March 25, 2012   Date of arrival: March 19, 2012

We were looking for something right on the beach, and this unit is certainly that. Sleeping with the sound of the ocean was truly a relaxing stay. We enjoyed the proximity to town, easy walking distance, as well as the ease with getting into Charleston. The condo was very well decorated and very large. We found it clean and comfortable, all of which provided a very enjoyable visit.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great review!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: March 15, 2012

-----Original Message-----
From: Kate
Sent: Saturday, March 24, 2012 2:25 PM
To: michaelutsey@bellsouth.net
Subject: Security Deposit Received and Comments

Dear Debbie and Michael,

We enjoyed the condo so much that we will be making reservations again next March! Clean and so very comfortable, both couples declared it to be one of the nicest condos ever rented for a vacation.
Thanks for your prompt responses as well and making us feel right at home!
See you,Kate

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good stay!!

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 25, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Folly Beach and your condo was great. Good location and a terrific view. We had no problems and were able to walk the beach and around town.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

living on the edge

Review submitted: February 21, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

let me try to express the pleasure we had every day with the view of the beautiful atlantic ocean and the continuous relaxing sound that that it made. you are so close that you can almost fell it from the large balcony,where we enjoyed a lot of our meals! then there is this wonderful condo that is furnished to the 10th ,from the sheets on the king bed to the fluffy soft towels. the kitchen is complete and so is the living area with those lushes leather sofas. we didn't want to leave.
a great place and value.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Beautiful and Memorable Family Vacation!

Review submitted: October 24, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

Our family had a wonderful time here!! We have children ranging from 8-21 and they all had a great vacation. The condo was very comfortable for all seven of us. The kitchen was well equipped for cooking meals in, if you don't like to eat out for all your meals. Having beach chairs and toys available was convenient and prevented us from having to pack them. Every evening my husband and I enjoyed sitting on the balcony listening to the ocean and sipping wine. Being located so close to town was a real plus as well. I highly recommend Michelle's Spa.....best massage ever!!

To add to our awesome vacation my son got engaged to his girlfriend during our stay!!

We will definitely return!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review and your comments.

Again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to hear from you again.

Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Mostly Good Week

Review submitted: October 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

We loved the location and space! It was wonderful to step out onto the balcomy and watch the ocean. The pools were convenient and their proximity to the condo made it easy to go back and forth between the two. We also walked to Folly several times for coffee and breakfast. The owner was easy to work with and answered my questions promptly. We had to call him the day we arrived in order to secure extra parking permits, and he returned our call quickly. There were a few things that were frustrating, however. The power went out about halfway through our stay due to the bill not being paid (according to the red tag the power company had placed on the box). It took a while to reach the owner, but after a few hours the electricity was working again. We had been very concerned because we have a 3 month old and the temperature was becoming very hot. The two twin beds were very uncomfortable to the extent that my husband and I were both waking up quite sore, so we ended up getting an air mattress to sleop on. There was also mold in the kitchen and one of the bathrooms. This property was nicely priced for it's location and amenities, however I would recommend bringing an air mattress if adults will be sleeping on the twin beds. It was overall a nice vacation time for our family.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review and your comments. The mildew has been removed and we are addressing the mattresses on the twin beds.
As mentioned when we spoke about the power outage, the power company inadvertently turned off the wrong unit’s power. Our unit’s power bills are always paid timely.
Again, thanks for staying with us and we hope to hear from you again.
Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

disappointed

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: July 16, 2011

Arrived at the condo around 11pm on Saturday, only to find out that I had to make up every bed in the place, before we could even go to bed. What a pain! Went to use the oven, and it was filthy! The automatic oven cleaner had been turned on, but it was too filthy to clean. My 77 year old mother ended up cleaning it, because she just couldn't stand to cook in it like that. Went to use utensils, and there were little dead bugs in the drawers. The towel hanger in the bathroom was barely staying in the wall. The bathroom sinks were draining slowly, probably due to build up of sand in the u-pipes. The floors had not been cleaned properly, because we found someone elses phone charger under the couch, and it was filthy under every bed. Whomever was supposed to have cleaned the place, did not do a good job at all. I personally have rental properties, and deal with rental property maintenance daily, so I was VERY disappointed in the condition of this property. The location of the condo was awesome. Loved the view from the deck, loved the swimming pool. As one property mgr to another, you need to get a new crew that will do a THOROUGH cleaning of the unit, after each visitor. We paid far too much money for our one week family gathering, for this unit to be so filthy and have deferred maintenance.

Owners response: I only wish that the tenant would have notified me of her concerns at check-in as noted on posted information in the unit. The cleaning staff would have been able to address her concerns immediately. My phone numbers and e-mail address are on all of the correspondence that she received.

I’m sorry that the unit didn't meet her standards.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Place to Stay!!

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 6, 2010

We were part of a very large wedding party and many of the guests rented condos in the same building; everyone in the party who came by said the decor was what a beach house should look like on the inside -- beachy. This was a super place -- it was conveniently located so visiting Charleston and the other beach areas and sites was a snap. The condo was immaculate and the sleeping arrangements were the best we have had (there were 7 people, 3 of them children) in all of our beach rentals over the past 20 years (the number of bathrooms was also a big plus). It is within walking distance of Folly Beach night life and restaurants. I would definitely rent this condo again and again -- no one wanted to leave we enjoyed it so much!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 4 / 5

 

charleston oceanfront villas

Review submitted: October 19, 2010   Date of arrival: October 9, 2010

The condo was excellent, right outside the folly beach pier where we spent alot of time fishing and there was a really good restaurant at the pier too. The condo owner was so easy to get along with. When I asked him if there was a highchair there for my 18 month old grandchild that would be travelling with us, he immediately got one and put it there for us. Very smooth dealing with him.
Would recommend the area, the beach and this condo owner/unit to anyone.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

We had a blast.

Review submitted: September 15, 2010   Date of arrival: September 4, 2010

I could not have asked for a better location for my family vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review