reviews for: listing #165747vb - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Blue Surf Sanctuary with ~AC~, Pool, Kitchen/Steps from Beach
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  yes
  • type  Bungalow
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 129 - $ 209 / night
    $ 1,043 - $ 1,295 / week
  • sleeps  16
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

Lovely and Unforgettable

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

I recently stayed at Blue Surf with 2 of my girlfriends. We were there to learn how to surf, and liked the idea that it was a Billabong sponsored surf camp. We arrived late at night, but the security guard was there to greet us and instantly made us feel comfortable and safe. The room we were staying in ( Sereno) was beautifully decorated with a balcony over looking the pool amidst lots of trees, wild plants and exotic flowers. The whole space they've created at BSS is very airy and open.....and VERY clean! My favourite spot to relax and unwind was in the hammock near the pool, or in the dining room, where we shared a few potluck style meals and a bottle of wine or.... two.Also, BSS is located near many wonderful restaurants and grocery stores, all within 5 to 20 min walking distance on the main road.
Our first surf lesson was amazing! Our surf instructors ( Chito and John O) were really patient and encouraging. Which is what you're looking for as a first time surfer. They also explained safety and surf etiquette thoroughly before we went out....which made me feel like i was in good hands. The beach in front of BSS is ideal for beginners as well as experienced surfers, which is cool, cause you get to watch them and get a better understanding of the ocean and how to catch the waves.
Last but not least, the BSS staff! They were all so special and extremely accomodating. Always there to answer your questions, help with reservations, book a massage (which was btw...the best massage i've gotten in a long time, i truly recommend getting a massage with Daiana) and all that done with a smile! Thanks again to all of you who made my trip so memorable ( Sofi, Toro, Amelia and Juan...just to name a few )
I really feel like i discovered a little piece of paradise in Santa theresa.... where sipping on a coconut by the beach at sunset and doing nothing was better.... than i had ever imagined!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Don't Stay Anywhere Else

Review submitted: June 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 15, 2012

I travelled by myself to Costa Rica for a much needed break from my corporate life. Many people I met were surprised that a woman would travel solo but this was, hands down, the best vacation I have ever been on (and I've been all over the world). Much of this was due to the amazing staff at Blue Surf. I'll admit I was a little nervous conducting all the business via e-mail and sending my money off into cyber-oblivion via PayPal - but everything went perfectly. The staff arranged for a pick-up at Tambor (even though my flight was nearly 45 minutes late, the car was still there to get me). **Piece of advice - don't fly Nature Air. I made the mistake of thinking I could save a few dollars by using this airline on the way into Tambor. It actually ended up costing me more because you have to get a cab from San Jose to Pavas Airport, which is about 30 minutes away or $30. They then charged me extra because my bag was over a certain weight. Totally not worth the headache. Fly Sansa both ways - the plane is bigger and feels safer.**
I was warmly greeted by the staff at Blue Surf. The property consists of 4 bungalows and I believe each one sleeps 2-3 people. There's a safe to keep your valuables and I particularly loved the huge, tiled shower complete with a clothesline to hang your suit apres surf. There's an outdoor (covered) kitchen that guests are free to use to make meals as well as a small pool. The place is wonderfully decorated and kept immaculately clean (which is hard to do in Costa Rica). You're surrounded by amazing wildlife - iguanas (don't worry, they're very shy), frogs, hummingbirds, squirrels and (if you're lucky to spot one), Howler monkeys.
I paid for a package deal which included 10 surf lessons, 2 yoga lessons, fruit/coffee before the surf lessons, and a full breakfast at the hotel down the street. My surf instructor, Chito, was amazing. I seriously thought I'd spend the majority of my time getting tossed off the board - but, by the second or third day, I was riding the waves. I was lucky enough to go at the start of the low season (early May) so all of my lessons were one-on-one. Honestly, if you can plan it, go during this time. All of the tourists had left and we often had the beach to ourselves. The restaurants were also super quiet and I spent much of my time chatting with bar/restaurant owners and finding out the secret to saying "f*** it" to the daily grind of corporate America.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Such a special place!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: February 19, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Blue Surf Sanctuary and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The owners and staff were friendly, and it felt like they doted on all of the guests without being suffocating. The location was perfect- close enough to town that you could walk there for a meal or drink and be part of the community, but far enough to have a little privacy.

Driving in Costa Rica can be a bit of a nightmare, and their staff (Toro) gave us very specific and accurate directions, which we very much appreciated. They offered their phone number for help and support throughout our trip, and made a few reservations for us as well. Overall, service was top notch. They even spent time giving me surf pointers after I declined an official lesson.

In terms of location and ammenities offered- the beach is close, the rooms are immaculate and well thought-out, and the AC was a complete luxury. Can't say enough, looking forward to my next stay.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BEST VACATION EVER!!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 2, 2012

No doubt about it. Great place to stay. Rooms are spacious, clean, and comfortable. Balcony provides perfect place to watch the birds, iguanas and resident squirrel. Great pool to float around in. Quiet and peaceful though the sound of the howler monkeys can be a bit unsettling the first night. Smiling faces everywhere. The staff at Blue Surf Sanctuary adopt you the second you set foot on the property. Friendly, helpful, great food and adventure suggestions, perfect directions. Excellent English is spoken but they are more than willing to help with Spanish practice. Domingo, the night watchman, very pleasantly and patiently helped me out there. Kelly and Aaron were most helpful in all aspects of the trip. Answered all questions immediately and even helped me figure out flights and airports. Two minute walk to the most beautiful beach in Central America. The perfect beach bar and restaurant is a great place to sit and watch the sunset and sip a cocktail. Food is excellent as well. We rented an ATV for the week and that was a perfect way to see a lot of the surrounding area and venture out. It was dusty but well worth doing. The ride to Montezuma was quite entertaining with amazing views. The canopy tour at Montezuma makes a fun but exhausting day trip. This was a great place to stay. We will definitely be back as soon as possible. Thanks to everyone for the best vacation EVER!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We WILL be back!!

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 9, 2012

Thanks to Kelly and Aaron we were able to take a sort of last minute honeymoon! :) We spent 4 days at Blue Surf and it was absolutely wonderful! Learning to surf was so much fun, the instructors are very good! The entire staff makes you feel like you are at home. The bungalows are so peaceful and quaint and the property as a whole is so beautiful. After surfing you can enjoy a nice swim in the small pool that is on the grounds. The beach is only a minute away and the sunsets are like anything we have ever seen. The best part is you can sit at a beach bar and watch it! Food in the area is delicious! We didn't have near enough time to spend at Blue Surf, but we will be back soon...hopefully with a group!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Awesome honeymoon at Blue Surf

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: March 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Blue Surf Sanctuary for two weeks in March. The rooms are beautiful with lovely decorations and comfy beds. The pool and landscaping were immaculate and added to the ambiance. The best part of the hotel is the staff and surfing instructors. We did not do a surfing package because we wanted to relax and spread things out over our two week stay. We are beginner surfers and found the surf lessons very helpful and fun - I would imagine that even experienced surfers would enjoy surf lessons here, as the instructors are top-notch and teach you about local surf spots, conditions, etc. The location of the hotel is perfect - just a short walk to the beach and a lovely beach-front restaurant. There is also yoga within walking distance, but it's worth it to rent a car or atv for a few days to explore a bit (Montezuma Falls were awesome, as well as some restaurants in Santa Teresa that you need a car/atv/taxi to get to). In sum, I would recommend the Blue Surf Sanctuary to friends and hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing and unforgettable

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 2, 2012

I recently stayed at Blue Surf with 2 of my girlfriends. We were there to learn how to surf, and liked the idea that it was a Billabong sponsored surf camp. We arrived late at night, but the security guard was there to greet us and instantly made us feel comfortable and safe. The room we were staying in ( Sereno) was beautifully decorated with a balcony over looking the pool amidst lots of trees, wild plants and exotic flowers. The whole space they've created at BSS is very airy and open.....and VERY clean! My favourite spot to relax and unwind was in the hammock near the pool, or in the dining room, where we shared a few potluck style meals and a bottle of wine or.... two.Also, BSS is located near many wonderful restaurants and grocery stores, all within 5 to 20 min walking distance on the main road.
Our first surf lesson was amazing! Our surf instructors ( Chito and John O) were really patient and encouraging. Which is what you're looking for as a first time surfer. They also explained safety and surf etiquette thoroughly before we went out....which made me feel like i was in good hands. The beach in front of BSS is ideal for beginners as well as experienced surfers, which is cool, cause you get to watch them and get a better understanding of the ocean and how to catch the waves.
Last but not least, the BSS staff! They were all so special and extremely accomodating. Always there to answer your questions, help with reservations, book a massage (which was btw...the best massage i've gotten in a long time, i truly recommend getting a massage with Daiana) and all that done with a smile! Thanks again to all of you who made my trip so memorable ( Sofi, Toro, Amelia and Juan...just to name a few )
I really feel like i discovered a little piece of paradise in Santa theresa.... where sipping on a coconut by the beach at sunset and doing nothing was better.... than i had ever imagined!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

All the perfect ingredients for a family!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: March 6, 2009

We rented 3 of 4 rooms at Blue Surf with our group of families (teenagers). It's on the north side of Santa Teresa, so walking to restaurants was not an option, however. The north end is beautiful and that's the direction we preferred for surf ing and exploring. Helpful staff, good open kitchen bordering the pool, good for hanging out during the non-beach hours. For 3 families, this was a very good arrangement - we made our own breakfasts, lunches, then went out to eat for most dinners. A little close to the road - you can hear the traffic at night but not bad.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Very safe, very friendly and very clean!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 8, 2012

I spent 5 nights by myself at a bungalow at the Blue Surf Sanctuary. It was a great experience. I learned to surf while staying at BSS. I went surfing with my instructor Toro every day. He was very knowledgeable, helpful and patient. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I was also impressed with how clean the accommodations were. I went during dry season and there was dust absolutely everywhere from the road!! Every morning the cleaning staff (normally just one lady) would clean all 4 bungalows and the shared kitchen. She did a great job. Also, at night there is a security guard on site. I always felt safe. Thanks for the great experience!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Good Times!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 27, 2012

Just spent 10 days at Blue Surf and had a wonderful time. The owners happened to be there and were super nice, as were the staff. It is a 30 second walk to the north end of the beach where it is less crowded both on the beach and in the waves. Overall, we had a wonderful time lounging around the pool and relaxing.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

This is a very special place for a family vacation

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: June 7, 2011

This is a very special place for a family vacation on a great
We rented all four bungalows for a family vacation. This is a unique, botique hotel that is ha ybrid of a hotel and a rental house. The bungalows are very nicely appointed and in good condition. We used the kitchen everyday for family meals. Our group spanned a wide age range so it was nice to have the open kitchen and pool area where everyone could lounge, eat or chat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Didn't want to leave!!! Can't wait to go back!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: April 4, 2011

When my group (three guys, ages 27-32) arrived, we were immediately greeted by the exceedingly friendly staff at Blue Surf. From the moment you set foot on the premises, you are treated like an old friend, not some customer that will be gone in a few days. The atmosphere is fun, casual, and free-spirited.

My first impression of the bungalows (there are 4 total) were that they were very well-kept, clean, comfortable, and the perfect size for 2-4 people. While each bungalow is slightly different, they all include a large front balcony porch (perfect for hanging your wet rash guards and swim trucks!), and there are several places to sit and lounge around in the shade. The property includes a small but very nice swimming pool, outdoor hammocks and beds, tiki torches, and best of all, a covered outdoor kitchen/dining/communal area. This was a great way to get to know the other guests and make friends with some of the staff members.

Depending on whether you book a package or not, some guests (including yours truly) get breakfast everyday - gallo pinto (beans & rice), eggs, fresh fruit, yogurt, granola, and coffee - and a private surf lesson. Toro, the guy in charge of the surf school at Blue Surf, is one of the nicest people I've ever met, and he and the other instructors had the three of us (complete novices) comfortably surfing small waves within two days! They have a ton of great surf packages, and they are all worth taking a look at.

In all, Blue Surf is a perfect place if you're seeking comfort, leisure, peace and quiet, and easy access to the beach. if you're looking to learn how to surf or to get even better, I can't imagine going anywhere else. It's no surprise that while I was there, at least two other parties had already been to Blue Surf at least once before - it's the type of place that feels like a home away from home.

This was hands down the best beach vacation I've ever had. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The staff make it worth it!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 5, 2012

My wife and I just got back from a honeymoon spent mostly at Blue Surf. We were truly impressed with the laid-back atmosphere of the communal area, the attention to detail in the rooms and the amazing north end location near a great beach break. However, it was the incredibly warm and helpful staff that makes this place well worth returning too. Excellent, fun surf instruction from Toro and Aaron. Fun and super helpful staff at the lodge from Sofie, Juan, Juan and Lucas. Even the night watchman was fun and helpful. Thanks everyone and Pura Vida - We are going back asap!!

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

BSS equals Surf Paradise

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 25, 2012

We had a total blast at Blue Surf, and it was hands down the best hotel we stayed on our trip around CR. We would definitely come back. We loved the rooms – so spacious, and the bathrooms, esp the star light! The grounds are really well taken care of, beautiful & tranquil, and the close proximity (1 min walking distance) to the beach & Rocamar are fantastic benefits. I loved how we could just hang out in the open air kitchen/ lounge area, making news friends -- what a great communal feeling. Also & importantly, as 3 women, we always felt so safe coming and going at night, knowing the guard was there to let us in and watch over things. I only wish we took more advantage of the awesome outdoor kitchen (next time!). Toro & the 2 Juan’s were so nice and helpful. They helped with everything from surf board rental to ATV rental & negotiation to restaurant recommendations & even helped us hook the surfboard onto the ATV, a task that isn't as easy as it looks!!

We LOVED our experience and BSS and can't wait to return again.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great waves, perfect accommodations!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

My family (2 adults, 2 boys, ages 5 & 7) spent a week at Blue Surf over Boxing Day/New Year's. We cannot say enough wonderful things about our time at Blue Surf.

The relaxed and laid-back atmosphere of the hotel was exactly what we desired. The hotel property was beautifully landscaped and was well-maintained. The staff were always attentive to any of our needs and on-hand to address any requests (Hi! Juan, Sofie, Juampi!) If we needed a reservation or a recommendation, they were quick to help and could do so in multiple languages. We were also impressed that there was someone on the property 24 hrs/day to assist.

Surf lessons for the whole family were better than we could have hoped for. Toro, Aaron and Chito were exceptional especially with the children. We always felt safe and now the boys have a real love for surfing and the ocean.

The beach is a very close walk and is stunning -- the white sands, great breaks and incredible sunsets. The attitude is very laid-back and easy going. The local restaurants were amazing and food delicious.

Much appreciation to the staff and all those at Blue Surf!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful place, amazing staff!

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 3, 2012

My wife and I visited Blue Surf Sanctuary with the idea of experiencing the Santa Teresa area and improving our surfing. The accommodations were really good and we got comfortable as soon as we arrived. The hotel is nicely appointed, is always very clean and secure and the staff were extremely helpful with everything from helping us check it to making our dinner reservations and arranging any local activities we wanted to try. While we were there the surf instructors had a challenging time finding suitable conditions given what nature was offering but they did an amazing job and on our final day we scored some good rides and definitely learned a lot. We would stay there again and would recommend Blue Surf Sanctuary to anyone looking for accommodation/surf school in the area.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great place, great people

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: February 23, 2012

I spent a few nights at the Blue Surf Sanctuary and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The owners and staff were friendly, and it felt like they doted on all of the guests without being suffocating. The location was perfect- close enough to town that you could walk there for a meal or drink and be part of the community, but far enough to have a little privacy.

Driving in Costa Rica can be a bit of a nightmare, and their staff (Toro) gave us very specific and accurate directions, which we very much appreciated. They offered their phone number for help and support throughout our trip, and made a few reservations for us as well. Overall, service was top notch. They even spent time giving me surf pointers after I declined an official lesson.

In terms of location and ammenities offered- the beach is close, the rooms are immaculate and well thought-out, and the AC was a complete luxury. Can't say enough, looking forward to my next stay.

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: July 1, 2009

"Sanctuary Indeed!"

There are two really good things about the Blue Surf Sanctuary, the actual grounds and the service.

Blue Surf Sanctuary is as described, a boutique hotel. It has four free standing bungalows, a pool, and an indoor/outdoor lounge and kitchen. The bungalows are definitely the nicest hotel rooms I have stayed in pretty much anywhere especially on a surf trip. They have nice beds, lots of room, A/C!!, powerful showers, and a locking safe!! It's nice to be able to put your passport and credit cards in the safe for the weekend and never worry about them again. Outside the bungalows the grounds are very manicured and you can tell someone is definitely doing the up keep on this place.

The staff is awesome. We mostly dealt with Pia and Eric but everyone was wonderful from the ladies making the breakfast to the night security guard. Pia directed us to all the best food and surf breaks for our groups abilities. Eric would make sure our evenings were going well and would get us a taxi or order food for us. They both surf and we saw both of them around town and in the surf.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: September 18, 2009

Gloria & Pia,

Thanks so much for accommodating my friend and I at the last minute for our surf trip. You certainly pulled out all the stops by not only arranging the surf package we wanted, but by ensuring we had an activity-packed adventure in Costa Rica all throughout our stay! Between the Incredible Surfing, ATV Rides, Snorkeling, Rainforest Zip Line Tours, and Waterfalls, we always looked forward to our dai1y retreats at the even more serene Blue Surf Sanctuary. Your staff always made us feel more than welcome and the music, movies, and fresh coconuts were an unexpected plus! The foods both served by the Sanctuary and by the places chosen for us were truly out-of-this-world! I now have a pantry full of Costa Rican Salsa by Lizzano thanks to these experiences.

Too, I have a new found an appreciation for the so commonly used Costa Rican phrase “Pura Vida.” The true worth of this phrase is now indelibly etched into my psyche and for this could not be more grateful. Though it’s already been several days since our return home, I have already found myself imploring my friends and family go to Costa Rica and book their stay with the Blue Surf Sanctuary. All the concerns of traveling abroad such as safety, reliability, comfort, and trust, are all covered under the umbrella of mindfulness that is ever-present at your Sanctuary. What’s more, your attention to detail in both form and function throughout grounds was truly impressive.

Your surf package was as incredible as the beaches of Costa Rica. The smiles of every instructor coupled with their amazing individual, yet collectively similar spirits have made a lasting impression. Moreover, their skill level is that of what one would expect from a certified Billabong Surf Camp.

The result of doing business with Blue Surf Sanctuary was simply as it should be; a master class operation. The irony of which, seemed as if all the while, my dealings with your establishment was not business in nature and instead one of pleasure; the type experienced with that of extended family. From the moment we arrived to the moment of our departure, the spirit and warmth of your staff was omnipresent. It Must be the Fauna!

Thanks for everything and most of all Pura Vida!

Ricardo

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2009

Great property with outstanding service
We arrived on Christmas Eve not knowing quite what to expect. After being warmly greeted by Sophie and shown to our room, we knew we had made a great decision to stay at BSS. I'll try to summarize our opinions on Blue Surf Sanctuary below.

There are 4 bungalows at BSS. We stayed in the Tranquilo bungalow and were very impressed with the quality of the construction and the interior finishes. The beds were high quality, pillow-top mattresses with good quality linens. The room was decorated in a tasteful, african theme with dark wood furniture. There isn't a closet, but along one wall there is a clothes rod to hang garments, several long shelves, and a small nightstand with a couple of drawers to store some things. The bathroom has a big, tile shower, toilet, and really cool hand-carved stone sink. There is also a balcony facing the common kitchen/dining area with a couple of comfortable chairs and coffee table. There are many windows, some with blinds and some with curtains. The blinds do not offer complete privacy or block the morning sun, but it wasn't a problem for us at all. There is an air conditioning unit and ceiling fan which are great to keep things cool. We kept the AC on at all times when we were in the room. An electronic safe large enough for a laptop, cameras, and other valuables is mounted under the sink in the bathroom. Overall, we thought the bungalow was excellent.

BSS has a very nice common, open-air kitchen and dining area. There is refrigerator for guests to store food and drinks, and a sink, stove, toaster, coffee maker (complementary coffee in the morning), and plenty of dishes and cooking utensils. There is large dining table, a small sofa, and a comfortable hammock for relaxing. There is a TV with satellite service, and a dvd player with movies and surf videos. The pool was great to cool down in after returning from the beach. There are several nice lounge chairs and umbrellas to relax in around the pool also. The outdoor shower is also nice for rinsing off sand (and dust).

BSS is on the northern end of Santa Teresa. It isn't really close to many restaurants or shops, but since we had a car this wasn't a problem for us. The rooms do back right up to the road, so you get some noise from the ATVs and cars that pass by. However, that didn't really bother us and given that the property isn't right in the middle of things, the noise was less than what I'd expect

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 21, 2010

I can't believe I'm sharing this gem with anyone else
... however Blue Surf Sanctuary really deservs a fantastic review and so I find myself sharing this gem I'd rather keep a secret.
Our family with children 6 and 2 where looking for an easy going place to stay and found Blue Surf Sanctuary over the internet. We where expecting a leasurly place with not to high a standard and relaxed staff and a closness to a beautiful beach. Blue Surf Sanctuary definetly lived up to our expectations and more, providing some of the cleanest and nicest rooms/houses we stayed in when visiting Costa Rica (and we stayed at about 5-6 places)! The rooms where also nicely decorated with local (?) art and the airconditioning was quiet and effective. The hotel is small in the manner that it consist of four houses/rooms, a small pool and small garden and an outdoor kitchen/eating area/living room for all guests and personel to meet in.
All staff where lovely, especially I would like to mention the receptionists Pia, Sofia and Paula - all very good with the English language and very knowledgable about activities, ferry scheduales, shopping, doctor-visits or restaurants. Other staff spoke only Spanish but where always helpful and naturally smiling!
As breakfast was not included in the price of Blue Surf we bought our own food and used the kitchen as our own when preparing fresh fruit and fried or boiled eggs with toast, the food was kept in the big kitchen fridge for quests. We ate lunch and mostly even dinner at Roca Mar (a simple but very Pura Vida style beach front restaurant) that lay on the magnificent Santa Theresa beach about a 100 meter walk from Blue Surf.
The beach by Blue Surf, Sancta Teresa was not just magnificent but I belive we lived by the best part of it - close to a reef for beach combing and ALSO close to beautiful long sandstrips for bathing or surfing AND it was close to Manzanillo beach (to the north) with fantastic views of beautiful rock formations and also holding a tidal pool for snorkling at low tide.
Blue Surf lies a bit away from the more busy parts of Santa Teresa which we appreciated - but just a short car ride away if needed. Also, within walking distance of 10 minutes one can find about 5-6 restaurants and a market.
I was crying on the beach before we left - because of having had such a lovely and harmonious time. We stayed 7 days but could well have stayed 7 more.If I would go back to Costa Rica I would definetly go back to BSS!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 25, 2010

LOVE LOVE LOVE!!!!

Blue Surf is THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN SANTA THERESA!!!! unbelievably gorgeous place to stay. the rooms are amazing, gorgeously built, designed, & decorated. Super clean!
it feels tucked away sanctuary, so nice and quiet, private, but so close to the beach as well.
i think the best part of the beach too, with great surf amenities and restaurant on the beach open under the shade trees. the STAFF at Blue Surf are the best i have every seen. Sophie, Pia and Paola, (and of course Toro!!) all took wonderful care and attention to myself and my friends who stayed there. every single need we had was taken care of with enthusiasm, grace, speed, and fun! Really, those amazing gorgeous woman are the reason my stay there was so great and memorable!! i will miss you all! BUT, will be back as soon as i can. And of course, the surfing lessons and boards, & bikes for rent. highly reccommend the surf lesson with Toro!!! Book thru the girls. worth it!!
i highly recommend Blue Surf to anyone travelling either alone, or with a group of friends. this is the kind of place where you can feel like you have your own intimate place to enjoy being social or not. there is a kitchen and dining area that feels like home, but in a Cost Rican way, and a great great pool surrounded by lush flowering plants and butterflies and humming birds. you can make your own meals or have them made for you. there is a fridge for guests as well. all in all, the best stay i've had anywhere. thats me!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Amazing!!!

What an amazing place. This lovely little place is comprised of 4 small bungalows lovingly decorated and very comfortably equiped with AC, beautiful bathrooms and adoreable little patio with french doors. Pia, Sophia and Paolo (the fantastic ladies who usher you into your vacation and help with absolutetly everything) are the nicest you'll find. We will be back for sure and would highly recommend you visit!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Love Love Love!

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: February 14, 2010

Blue Surf is THE BEST PLACE TO STAY IN SANTA THERESA!!!! unbelievably gorgeous place to stay. the rooms are amazing, gorgeously built, designed, & decorated. Super clean!
it feels tucked away sanctuary, so nice and quiet, private, but so close to the beach as well.
i think the best part of the beach too, with great surf amenities and restaurant on the beach open under the shade trees. the STAFF at Blue Surf are the best i have every seen. Sophie, Pia and Paola, (and of course Toro!!) all took wonderful care and attention to myself and my friends who stayed there. every single need we had was taken care of with enthusiasm, grace, speed, and fun! Really, those amazing gorgeous woman are the reason my stay there was so great and memorable!! i will miss you all! BUT, will be back as soon as i can. And of course, the surfing lessons and boards, & bikes for rent. highly reccommend the surf lesson with Toro!!! Book thru the girls. worth it!!
i highly recommend Blue Surf to anyone travelling either alone, or with a group of friends. this is the kind of place where you can feel like you have your own intimate place to enjoy being social or not. there is a kitchen and dining area that feels like home, but in a Cost Rican way, and a great great pool surrounded by lush flowering plants and butterflies and humming birds. you can make your own meals or have them made for you. there is a fridge for guests as well. all in all, the best stay i've had anywhere. thats me!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Amazing

Review submitted: April 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

What an amazing place. This lovely little place is comprised of 4 small bungalows lovingly decorated and very comfortably equiped with AC, beautiful bathrooms and adoreable little patio with french doors. Pia, Sophia and Paolo (the fantastic ladies who usher you into your vacation and help with absolutetly everything) are the nicest you'll find. We will be back for sure and would highly recommend you visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review