reviews for: listing #16605 - White Haven, Pennsylvania House rental

Charming Lakefront Cottage
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Penn Lake
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $400 /nt
    $2,100 - $2,100 /wk
    $5,000 - $6,500 /mth

sort by:

Highly Recommend this Home

Review submitted: June 17, 2014   Date of arrival: June 13, 2014

This home is actually nicer and bigger inside than it looks in the pictures. Very well stocked and Very accommodating and informative owners. Unbelievable view from the porch and the kitchen. Relaxing sunroom and hammock outside. Easy to get to the home. And there are no "community" fees which is definitely a plus. Easy fishing too. Not too many "keeper" fish but a lot of bites. Definitely have a fishing license though because the game board comes around to check and apparently there is a $200 fee if you don't have a fishing license. We had a great time!!!
Would go back to this home in a heart beat.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing views, relaxing backyard and great fishing

Review submitted: May 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 23, 2014

Perfect for all ages, enough space for a party of 10,we barely stayed indoors. The backyard was a hit with everyone. From using the canoes, boating, fishing and lazing on the hammock as well as the late nights hanging around the fire on the pit. We were warm at night, lots of blanket, games for the kids, movies for the teens and fishing for everyone. The kitchen was fully stocked with pots and dishes and the views were just wonderful. Tons of sunlight,the weather was good to us, so we all spent many hours playing outside sports and late nights sitting around the firepit. We actually told ghost stories and made some long lasting memories for the teenagers and younger ones. People were very friendly, walking around the lake late evening was just too perfect. I will certainly like to come back again very soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Skiing For 10 weekend

Review submitted: March 14, 2014   Date of arrival: March 7, 2014

The listing for this property was accurate, had more than we expected. Everything was clean and well taken care of, and the customer service was great. We had a group of 10 for a skiing birthday weekend, everyone found it comfortable.We all said we would like to try this place during the summer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Family Rental

Review submitted: June 7, 2013   Date of arrival: June 4, 2013

My 10 person family had a GREAT time here on vacation. Kids had a great time fishing and on the boats. The road around Penn Lake was a lot of fun for all of us to bike ride. Seniors enjoyed the great views and peaceful area. We had 2 sunny water activity filled days. The 3rd day was rainy so we went to H20ooohh Indoor waterpark. It was fun for all. Water and fun for the kids. Shopping and ice cream parlor for the seniors. We had so much fun! The home was clean and well organized. There were plenty of blankets and pillows, all we needed to bring were sheets. The kitchen was fully stocked with all the kitchen gadgets that we needed. I would recommend this property to families, seniors etc. Kristen was a great help through the whole process. Start to finish she answered all of my questions. We had such a great experience. We can't wait to go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Weekend

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 1, 2012

A few friends and I rented the cabin for the weekend and had a great time. The cabin is very nice and clean. The owners are excellent to deal with. Check in and and out could not have been easier. I hope to be returning to the cabin one day and I highly recommend it to anyone.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Relaxing family week!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

My family and I enjoyed spending our vacation on Penn Lake in such a wonderful and relaxing home! The lake was clean, and beautiful with sunsets and sunrises seen only in the movies. We enjoyed relaxing on the porch and on the dock taking in the amazing scenery! The kayaks were an added bonus! Each night we talked and reminisced around the nice campfire. There were 9 of us ranging in age, but the house provided enough space to move comfortably around. We enjoyed our cookouts at night as well. The owner's provided us with more than enough information about the area and everything was labeled in the house. Thanks so much for letting us make memories at your home! Can't wait until next vacation!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great location!

Review submitted: July 30, 2012   Date of arrival: June 18, 2012

Our group of 5 adults and 4 children ages 6-12 had a great time at this truly "Charming" cottage. The lakefront location was perfect and our gang made great use of the provided kayaks and rowboat. The fishing was plentiful and we even spotted a couple of beavers in this peaceful lake. The children enjoyed the nearby beach (just a short walk or paddle away) and jumping off the floating dock. When they needed a break from the water the spacious yard was ideal for kickball and soccer games. Nightly campfires were a perfect way to end the day. Kristen was great to work with and provided ample information about the surrounding area. We took a few hours one morning to hike the Hawk Falls trail at Hickory Run State Park and would highly recommend it--it's a short hike with a lovely waterfall at the end suitable for beginners.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

It's Perfect!

Review submitted: June 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 25, 2012

We had a party of 11 and still had tons of space. There are 2 bedrooms, a full bath, huge living room with large TV, Netflix is hooked up (for those rainy days) downstairs and 2 bedrooms, a loft area with TWO futon beds,sitting area, bathroom w/standup shower, washer/dryer, and game area with a foosball table upstairs and still had room to dance around. Ages ranged from 2 years old to 60 years old and everyone had a blast. Cooking though out the day was a bit distracting with such a gorgeous view of the lake. My kids couldn't stay out of the water with the use of the kayaks and rowboat at their fingertips. Some of us took advantage of the warm water and swam in the lake until we pruned! LOL We cooked up some "Smores one evening in their firepit and it was awesome.The house was stocked with the essentials and there are major stores nearby for any kind purchases. We all can't wait to come back and wish we could have stayed a bit longer. The owner was very pleasant and speedy with responses when I had any questions about the area or household questions. Definitely recommend to those who want the feel of home and at an affordable price with all that is included! Thanks Mike and Kristen!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect Get Away

Review submitted: March 1, 2012   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

My family and I could not say enough about this charming cottage. From the minute we arrived we were in love with all aspects of this rental. The house was very clean, incredibly spacious and the location was exactly what we were looking for. The owners have provided the house with all the details once could ask for, directions to nearby attractions, your own boats, board games, you name it! I can not wait to go back and would highly reccomend this rental to anyo.e.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A Perfect Weekend

Review submitted: February 27, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

I rented this property for a secret birthday getaway for my wife. I invited a few friends and we all had a blast. My wife was more than elated with the property and all that the area had to offer. The grill provided the perfect setup for a mid-winter BBQ. The house was very well maintained and more than stocked with enough necessities. The heat upstairs and the fireplace downstairs were perfect. We didn't get to do many activities but we made do with the groceries we bought, games and friends. I would definitely recommend this property to anyone who is interested and I plan on revisiting very soon.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Amazing.

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

I can't honestly believe that I'm the first one to write a review here, but this house couldn't have been a more perfect choice for our weekend away. I threw my boyfriend a surprise birthday party here and invited 10 of his best friends and the house was perfectly accommodating for all of us. There was plenty of room for us all to hang out and there was enough room for all of us to sleep very comfortably. The house is literally right up against the lake and the scenery was arresting when you got up in the morning. At night, the weather was excellent for roasting marshmallows by the fire pit.

When we came, it was right before the leaves started turning, but I bet if you came around that time, there's no way you would want to return to reality (work, life, etc).

The owners made it very easy to reserve the house and to pay for it. Next time I'm looking for a place to stay out here, it'll be a return visit to this Penn Lake house.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Amazing.

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

I can't honestly believe that I'm the first one to write a review here, but this house couldn't have been a more perfect choice for our weekend away. I threw my boyfriend a surprise birthday party here and invited 10 of his best friends and the house was perfectly accommodating for all of us. There was plenty of room for us all to hang out and there was enough room for all of us to sleep very comfortably. The house is literally right up against the lake and the scenery was arresting when you got up in the morning. At night, the weather was excellent for roasting marshmallows by the fire pit.

When we came, it was right before the leaves started turning, but I bet if you came around that time, there's no way you would want to return to reality (work, life, etc).

The owners made it very easy to reserve the house and to pay for it. Next time I'm looking for a place to stay out here, it'll be a return visit to this Penn Lake house.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review