reviews for: listing #16615 - Santa Barbara, California House rental

Eucalyptus Cottage and Guest House - Ocean Views & Gardens!
  • bedrooms  4
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $495 - $595 /nt
    $3,050 - $3,950 /wk

sort by:

Eucalyptus Cottage

Review submitted: September 14, 2009   Date of arrival: September 11, 2009

We had an absolutely wonderful time!! What an incredible property - the cottage and yard are completely captivating and serene! Our only regret is not staying longer! So, we hope to return soon! Francesca, you have a gift ....we felt so welcomed and pampered it will be hard to go anywhere else! Many thanks from the Whitlow Family.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Peaceful Retreat

Review submitted: March 27, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

We so enjoyed our stay. We've stayed at many other rentals but this home was the best by far. The Cottage and guest house were clean and well maintained. The stunning views and lush gardens were so beautiful and serene. The nice little touches such as homemade brownies, fresh fruit, food basket, beverages, etc. were so appreciated and welcoming. We were content not leaving the property our entire visit. A true retreat. We've sent the property link to our friends and family. We look forward to our next visit.

Yolanda M.
Santa Clarita, CA

Owners response: Thank you so much for your review and comments on the many amenities that we provide. Our goal is to pamper you and make your visit special. I am delighted to hear that we have succeeded. Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

THE PERFECT PLACE TO STAY IN SANTA BARBARA

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 2, 2013

Everything about this beautiful cottage took our breath away. We rented the cottage (which is actually two cottages, 2 bedrooms in each) for a mother-daughter weekend and everything was perfect. Francesca stocked the kitchen with coffee, left wine in the frig and brownies on the kitchen counter for us. The bedding is beautiful and luxurious, the art work is stunning, the views amazing. Gardens everywhere, gorgeous landscaping, several outdoor areas for meals and relaxation -- just perfect in every way. I cannot sing the praises of this cottage highly enough!!! Our deposit was also returned within days. Truly a stunningly beautiful place to stay -- a lovely home away from home.

Owners response: It is always incredible to hear back that our guests have had such a magical experience staying at Eucalyptus Hill Cottage and Guest House. It is our hope and goal that each visit will be special and create lasting memories. Thanks so much for coming to visit us and I hope to welcome you back on another visit to Santa Barbara.

Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful stay

Review submitted: March 13, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

Our family of four just stayed at this property and had a wonderful time. From the fragrant garden to the babbling brook/pond, you are immdiately taken away to peaceful relaxing time. The home was very clean and well stocked, but what constantly impressed us was the little details you only get in a home someone cherishes.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Eucalyptus Cottage and Guest House is a magical place and I am so glad you enjoyed it. This house is originally part of the Mannington Estate and the garden was influenced by the very famous landscape designer Lockwood de Forest who designed the garden right next door. Thanks so much for your kind words. The are very much appreciated.

Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful, Comfortable, and Convenient!

Review submitted: February 5, 2013   Date of arrival: January 18, 2013

I stayed at the Eucalyptus Hill Rd. property with a group of 6 girlfriends for a wedding. Francesca had the place looking absolutely spotless and beautiful for our stay (and she made delicious brownies for our arrival!). The house has a gorgeous view of the ocean and a lovely stone deck with reclining chairs and a grill. The beds are very comfortable and everything is incredibly clean. The house is located in a very convenient spot. We were just a few minutes drive from downtown Santa Barbara, the ocean, and some wonderful hiking trails up in the hills. I would recommend Eucalyptus Hill to anyone looking for a comfortable, clean, and beautiful place to stay in Santa Barbara.

Owners response: Dear Kate,
What a pleasure to welcome you and your friends.

I am so glad that this magical property was able to provide you with a memorable visit. Looking forward to your return....Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Setting for Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 14, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

My wife, our 3 adult children and I stayed at the Eucalyptus Cottage for a week over the fourth of July. What a wonderful experience. When we walked through the gate and into the garden filled with citrus trees and butterflies, we suspected we had chosen well. The inside of both the house and guest house were true to the pictures, but what we hadn't expected were all the thoughtful touches. The basket of snacks and organic fruits, the well-stocked kitchen cupboards, the wines and juices in the fridge, and even a liquor cabinet. The kitchen itself has everything a cook could want - from food processor to juicer to a high-end gas range. I could go on and on, but suffice it to say - if the number of bedrooms and baths is what you're looking for, you couldn't do better.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Dear Bruce,
I am thrilled to hear that you and your family had such a delightful visit and enjoyed our wonderful home. It was a great pleasure to welcome you and provide the perfect vacation. Thanks so much for your comments and kind words of encouragement. I look forward to welcoming you back. Francesca

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Eucalyptus Cottage - near paradise...

Review submitted: August 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our ten days at Eucalytus Cottage were wonderful: an absolutely quiet neighbourhood, a lovely house and above all a fantastic garden where you can find peace and poor nature. We loved the huge bedroom and the stylish bathroom with all the kind details very much.

The way to the beach is a ten minute drive, so very handy especially when travelling with children.

So we can highly recommend this place - it´s just wonderful and we`d love to come back as soon as possible.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Katrin,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at our beautiful home. It was an pleasure to have you experience the Santa Barbara lifestyle and all we have to offer.

We are looking forward to your return.
Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

3 couples shared a relaxing weekend here

Review submitted: October 5, 2010   Date of arrival: September 24, 2010

The property was lovely and very comfortable. The owner was professional and attentive. Rooms were cozy but the multiple patios allowed us to enjoy the beautiful Santa Barbara climate and outstanding views of the water. We were there during a record heat wave (Whoever heard of 113 degrees in LA?) but once doors and windows were open, the cross breezes on this hilltop location made it comfortable.
The two bedrooms with en suite bathrooms in the mainhouse were great. In my opinion, the arrangement of the guest house works best with a family or girls getaway rather than two unrelated couples since the shared bathroom and privacy could be an issue. It is essential that you have a car at this location, though it is a short drive to beach and town. The televisions are small but you do not visit Santa Barbara to park yourself in front the the TV. There is a stairway from the driveway to the house, so people with mobility issues need to be aware. My 82 year old Dad handled it but we had to be careful.
We would definitely visit this property again. We felt like guests in a private home.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful visit and enjoyed our beautiful property! Many thanks for coming to see us and we look forward to welcoming you back.....

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Keep Coming Back!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: February 7, 2009

We have stayed at this property 4 times. We have brought friends and family with us and each of them has nothing but good to say about the experience. I highly recommend Eucalyptus Hill and John and Francesca. We hope to return in 2009. The extra touches have been greatly appreciated. Fresh brownies, upscale linens and toiletries, etc. Very nicely done! Mesa, AZ

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Exceptional Family Vacation!!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Every year we have a "family vacation" in which 8 of us rent a house for a week. This year we had an exceptionally good time staying at the lovely Eucalyputus Cottage and Guest House. The gardens are truly extraordinary and since we had wonderful weather, we spent much of our time outdoors enjoying them. The fresh flowers, brownies, snacks, fruit, champagne, etc. didn't hurt either! We would highly recommend this fabulous house to anyone who is looking for a memorable and most comfortable place to stay. Jean, El Cerrito, CA

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Eucalyptus Cottage is Amazing!

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

Our family found the Cottage w/guest house and amenities to be an extremely pleasant experience. The accommodations were amazing and comfortable- everything we needed inside, with an exceptional atmosphere outside. The cottage and guest house were very clean and organized and the grounds well- maintained. The neighborhood was quiet and the view breathtaking. We felt at home right away! John, San Diego

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Couldn't have hoped for any better!

Review submitted: November 10, 2009   Date of arrival: November 6, 2009

We ended up booking this property after a previous property (under different management) cancelled on us last minute. And what a lucky break for us! The property is beautiful! The extra amenities (like freshed baked brownies and well stocked kitchen and bathrooms) are above an beyond! The beds were comfortable, the living area spacious and grounds spectacular. We have already decided we will be returning and I will recommend this property to anyone who will listen and wants to spend time in Santa Barbara.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Gem

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 6, 2009

I have nothing but good memories about our stay at Eucalyptus Cottage. The welcome we found for us when we came into the house we totally unexpected. Anyone who is looking for the comfort of a home while spending time in Santa Barbara would be much happier staying here then in a hotel. The place has fantastic views of the ocean and the mountains. It's only minutes from the waterfront and State Street. The house furnishings are very nice and the kitchen has everything anyone would ever need. Both the main house and the cottage are very comfortable. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Lovely Eucalyptus Cottage

Review submitted: October 3, 2009   Date of arrival: September 23, 2009

Thank you, Francesca and John, for creating this idyllic oasis for the enjoyment of your fortunate guests. We can only echo the sentiments previously stated. The Views! Landscape! Location! Patio! Welcoming Basket! All Superb.

One particular highlight of our visit was breakfast on the patio while watching humming birds nearby and scrub jays drinking from the bubbling fountain while taking in the beautiful ocean view.

Appreciated the convenience of our proximity to State Street ... Yogurtland is a must as is Jeannine's. Also pleased the cottage was nestled on a private street with other lovely homes.

My husband and I and our friends from Chicago, Robin and Frank, are all very particular ... we found the photos accurately conveyed the charm and elegance of The Eucalyptus Cottage and guest house. We will definitely return.

Thank you for everything ... your gracious touch was everywhere.

Bonnie and Carl
Bonita Springs, Florida

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 14, 2009

Every year we have a "family vacation" in which 8 of us rent a house for a week. This year we had an exceptionally good time staying at the lovely Eucalyputus Cottage and Guest House. The gardens are truly extraordinary and since we had wonderful weather, we spent much of our time outdoors enjoying them. The fresh flowers, brownies, snacks, fruit, champagne, etc. didn't hurt either! We would highly recommend this fabulous house to anyone who is looking for a memorable and most comfortable place to stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 3, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We have stayed at this property 4 times. We have
brought friends and family with us and each of
them has nothing but good to say about the
experience. I highly recommend Eucalyptus Hill and
John and Francesca. We hope to return in 2009. The
extra touches have been greatly appreciated. Fresh
brownies, upscale linens and toiletries, etc. Very
nicely done!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 30, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

During Thanksgiving week, six adults and three babies were delighted with the upscale yet comfortable accommodations. We lacked for nothing in the kitchen, bathrooms and living room. The grounds and views are beautiful. Plus two washers and two dryers came in handy. You can't go wrong renting the main cottage plus guest cottage.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 15, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

Our family found the Cottage w/guest house and amenities to be an extremely pleasant experience. The accommodations were amazing and comfortable- everything we needed inside, with an exceptional atmosphere outside. The cottage and guest house were very clean and organized and the grounds well- maintained. The neighborhood was quiet and the view breathtaking. We felt at home right away!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

We had an absolutely memorable and enjoyable time surrounded by a truly beautiful and serene environment with gorgeous views and accomodations that were spotless, well organized and thoughtfully arranged to give visitors the most enjoyable experience.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 1, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

The guest house and cottage were wonderful for our family event. Every bedroom was beautiful with its own connecting patio. The cottage was equiped with top name appliances (Wolf stove, soundless Miele dishwasher) ample dishes for a variety of table settings, lots of implements for my budding chef son and daughter to create feasts. We loved all the amenities from trails for the grandchildren to play on to sound system, games, books. A lovely, comfortable and beautiful place for our family gathering with a batch of welcome brownies even.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

So wonderful, we stayed in every night!

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: May 26, 2008

Your delightful property was the perfect place for our family vacation. There is plenty of room for 8 people, the view is exquisite, and our twin 4-year-olds absolutely adored exploring your magical gardens, dipping their toes in the peaceful stream, and picking fruit from your all your trees. Making lemonade from the lemons they picked was a highlight of their trip! Despite all the fine dining available in Santa Barbara, we almost always chose to stay "home," cook out on the grill (overlooking the Pacific!), and eat our dinners at the cottage. We also enjoyed happy hours on your sunny patio every afternoon. My husband and I and our children came from Arizona, my parents came from Florida, and my brother came from L.A., so we really appreciated being able to spend some quality family time together in such a lovely environment. Thank you!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review