reviews for: listing #16680 - North Topsail Beach, North Carolina House rental

Sur La Mer - ocean front paradise!
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  18
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $340 - $560 /nt
    $1,695 - $5,695 /wk

sort by:

Wonderful for family's and pets

Review submitted: January 8, 2014   Date of arrival: December 19, 2013

A very clean, beautiful and well maintained home both inside and outside. The owner has thought of every little thing to make everyone feel comfortable, from the youngest to the oldest. My family spent 16 days without missing anything from home. She answered questions before, during and after our vacation. We felt like we were dealing with a close friend. We would recommend her house in a heart beat.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Duffy's 1st Vacation

Review submitted: October 31, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

Arranging our stay with Kristin at Sur La Mer was easy, and after talking with Kristin a couple of times, we knew that their home would be a place we would enjoy. We were not disappointed. Our stay was wonderful.
The first thing we noticed about their home is it is very clean, well organized, and everything works. The kitchen was perfect for us, as we like to cook dinners with the fresh seafood. It is so well stocked, we found everything we needed. We love this beach area of North Topsail, near the pier. The porch facing the beach on the main floor has a roof over one portion, which is nice when you’re looking for a bit of shade.
One reason we chose Sur La Mer is that it is Pet-Friendly. Our 10 month old Scottie, Duffy, had a great time! He loved the porch, and spent a lot of time watching people on the beach.
Sur La Mer is a wonderful home to visit, and we can’t wait to get back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Vacation week at Sur La Mer

Review submitted: August 14, 2013   Date of arrival: July 27, 2013

What a great week we had at Sur La Mer!! The house was perfect. It had the best stocked kitchen we've ever seen. Very clean. Rooms were exactly as described and just overall great! Toys galore for the kids! We couldn't have asked for anything better...
My 88 year old mom loved the decks, with the chairs high enough to see over the railings, she enjoyed watching the kids play on the beach, and sat for hours enjoying the ocean!

Kristen is a delight to deal with. Always friendly and responsive to anything we asked. This house is a keeper and we will definitely be back!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

The Perfect Beach House

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 13, 2013

PERFECTION! Sur La Mer is ALL that it is described, and then some!

This was our family's second time staying at the house. We rave about our vacation to everyone we know. The house is clean and inviting. Kristin and Tom have thought of it all....baby gates, high chairs, two refrigerators/freezers, televisions in just about every room (although I don't think they were turned on at all). The bathrooms are spotless and the kitchen, well the kitchen is AWESOME! The only thing The DeBates don't supply is the food and beverages! One of my favorite amenities of the house is the outdoor shower. It's nice to come up from the sand and rinse all off before you head in. The weather was so beautiful during our stay, all of my family's showers were taken outdoors :)

Kristin and Tom are fabulous to work with, from the very first inquiry all the way through the end of your stay and years to come. Kristin responded to all e-mails (and I had some, lol!) and inquires that same day if not the next.

If you are looking for a relaxing home to spend your vacation, this is IT! Some mornings we saw dolphins swimming by. The shells and shark teeth that the children collected are countless. The evenings are beautiful and most nights the stars were dazzling over the ocean. Our two golden retrievers even enjoyed their morning and evening walks on the beach (most mornings we were the only ones on the beach!)

Sur La Mer is a little piece of Heaven, thank you for sharing it with us once again!

The Goeckel/Martini/Bligh Family

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great place for a family reunion

Review submitted: June 24, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

The house easily accommodated 12 people from 18 to 87 scanning three generations. During our week at the beach we planned two field trips -- a two hour eco cruise with Captain Tim on ladyswantours out of Swansboro. We enjoyed learning a bit of history, seeing artifacts from native Americans and the civil war, and watching dolphins and an osprey catching fish. We also went to the sea turtle hospital. The rest of the time we read on the porches, watched dolphins, went swimming, kayaked to the pier and in the coastal wetlands (access through the park about 1 mile south) and just had a great time. The bedroom set up worked great for our group. There were enough suites for the couples and then we had a bunk room for the young men and another room for the girls. The kitchen was great and we baked a birthday cake and cheese cake one night to celebrate my Dad's 86th birthday. There were plenty of plates and cups, and serving bowls. The fridge was big. We made several runs to the Food Lion just across the bridge and enjoyed cooking in and watching the sunset each night. The property was clean and easy to find. The outdoor shower was great. We had one question about the internet and called the owner who got back to us right away and we were able to use the wifi without any difficulty. We would love to come back next year. ~Thanks

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great location and house

Review submitted: June 17, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

the location was great. it was not close to the public access so the beach was not crowded.
the house was updated and very clean. the house was stocked with spices and all the essential pots, pans, utensils, dishes. this was the only house (out of 8 others that we stayed at) that was the best equipped, updated and clean.
plenty of beach toys and beach chairs.
the only thing that I would have liked was a gas grill. there is a charcoal grill there.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful home...amazing weekend

Review submitted: January 27, 2013   Date of arrival: October 25, 2012

I booked this property for a weekend away with friends and we had a wonderful time. The house completely suited our needs and we were able to spend the weekend relaxing and enjoying some much needed time off. We booked a little last minute and Kristin was very accommodating for me and my party.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Matters

Review submitted: January 23, 2013   Date of arrival: December 28, 2012

The perfect place for an extended family winter retreat "get-a-away". Accommodations are just as described with the most inclusive kitchen ever! The property was clean and well maintained. The reverse floor plan makes for alot of stair climbing but is worth the effort to enjoy the breathtaking views "at the top" where the entire "crew" can assemble for fun, relaxation and fine dining!
Owners are fabulous, accountable, reliable and accommodating. The Wilmington children's museum was a big hit. (a car is a must)
Even in the chilly weather beach walking was a popular event. And yes we did see dolphins! The ocean in motion is mesmerizing anytime of the year. This is a great place for families/groups wishing to visit beautiful Topsail Island!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great home, just as described. Clean and comfortable.

Review submitted: August 31, 2012   Date of arrival: August 18, 2012

Excellent stay and accommodations. We enjoyed a great family vacation, private beach. House very large plenty of room forall to gather, great deck with view of ocean.
Highly Recommend, 5 star stay!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Wonderful for Family Reunion

Review submitted: August 9, 2012   Date of arrival: July 28, 2012

Can you imagine sixteen people ranging in age from 11months to 89 having a total blast at a family reunion? We all enjoyed our week long stay at Sur La Mer. In addition to a beautifully kept, decorated and fully functional home just steps from the beach, we were treated to delightful sunrises and sunsets, fishing from the piers, catching crabs on the beach and hours of quiet conversation and reading times on the multiple decks of this lovely place. The kitchen and dining spaces were very well designed to promote family conversation and shared food preparation. Our youngest family member took his first steps to his great grandmother in the graciously appointed great room facing the ocean.
Kristen was very helpful in answering all my questions, even helping to direct us to the home after our GPS became confused. I heartily recommend this property to anyone seeking relaxation and happy memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: July 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Just returned from a week at Sur La Mer. What an awesome beach house for a big family reunion or gathering of friends. The house is decorated extremely well. The layout is fabulous and the amenities are wonderful. Excellently stocked kitchen - high end cookware, plenty of dishes, glasses, etc and also great appliances. Location is great with easy access through Snead's Ferry. The beach was perfect. Plenty of game, puzzles, beach toys, and a great selection of books. The linen service was awesome. Beds were made when we arrived and there were excess bath towels and kitchen towels. We have vacationed at Topsail Island for many years and this was by far the best house we have ever rented. Kristen was excellent and easy to deal with via email and telephone. Our company included grandmothers, inlaws, young adults and friends and two of my beloved grand-puppies. The internet service was a big plus given that we had four laptops and multiple electronic readers. I would recommend this house to anyone who has a big group and wants a fun-filled and relaxing get-together. We cooked all of our meals and only did minimal shopping - but there are lots of fun things and good restaurants around.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at your home. We stopped at the grocery on the way in to get things for breakfast/lunch/dinner, and many of the regular home stay needs (TP, paper towels, dish soap) We were so happy to see that nearly all of our daily need items and many more were already there. The pantry is well equipped, and there were so many great kitchen utensils and kitchen appliances for our use - that was great! There is a large selection of boogy boards and beach toys, and there were many things for the young kids to play with. The house was beautifully taken care of. All in our party were very happy with the accomodations and hope to be able to stay again. We recommend it highly! Thank you so much for sharing your fabulous home!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

AWESOME beach house for 3 families with young kids!

Review submitted: May 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 3, 2012

We absolutely LOVED your house! We have been to a few different beach locations (Sunset Beach, Hilton Head, Isle of Palms, Myrtle Beach,Kure Beach) but this may be our favorite. It was perfect for our group - 6 adults and 7 kids (boys and girls ranging from ages 3 to 8). The kids loved boogie boarding , looking for sharks teeth (which we found a TON of), and lounging in the warm tidal pools on the beach. They called it their "hot tub" since the water would get nice and toasty ! The location of the house in fantastic, and we all loved waking up to the waves just beyond the deck! The kids also LOVED the bunk room with the video games/ legos , etc.....that room was totally invaluable and they would spend lots of time in there winding down from the beach. The dads also took the kids fishing over by the playground/ park and caught a bunch of crabs that we ate for lunch - AWESOME! Your collection of games and books is fantastic. We all kept saying how we felt like we were in a "home", not just a "house" - you guys have done such a great job making the place welcoming and warm - thank you so much for sharing it !
We would definitely return next year :-D
Christine Hancock

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Family Spot for Wedding on the Beach

Review submitted: March 23, 2012   Date of arrival: March 16, 2012

I would like to comment on what a wonderful house, location and setting for my beach wedding. The house was immaculate and the linen service was ample. The owners really intend for their home to be used and enjoyed by their guests and it has every supply in stock with plenty of room for 15 people over a weekend. Having 4 kids there under age 8, none were bored with the entertainment just for them in the kids room and out in the sand with ready toys, games, movies and books at their fingertips for play. The website pictures of the rooms really do not showcase what space and beauty. The master bedroom with the four poster bed was a huge sell as separated a floor above the other bedrooms and the english pub table was just beautiful in design with room for all to enjoy it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Outstanding House, Perfect Place to Relax

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

There's only one word that can describe the owners and Sur La Mer, "Fantabulous." Truly was the most relaxing and enjoyable beach vacation we've ever had. The dogs loved it, too. My best friend even found a sand dollar on the beach and by her reaction one would have thought she'd found the Hope Diamond. Thanks again, K and T, and you can bet we'll be back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 8

 

Best Trip Ever!

Review submitted: August 31, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We comfortably hosted a group of sixteen for a lovely week in May, 2011. The home exceeded our expectations. The quality of the building, the furnishings, and the kitchen was the best. The kids enjoyed the board games and DVDs that were left there for everyone's enjoyment.

The weather was much better than our silly Yahoo weather forecast predicted, (note Yahoo often shows icons of thunderstorms when what we actually got was a beautiful sunny day with colorful clouds and perhaps a drizzle for ten minutes up the coast by Snead's Ferry).

What a nice beach, and it's so nice to be actually on the beach. It's a short walk to an awesome pier where locals and visitors were catching loads of blue fish and whiting. We saw schools of dolphins feeding by the pier too.

Kristin was so responsive to questions leading up to the stay, and when I couldn't find something during the week, she was quick and friendly with the solution.

We took family photos from the middle balcony with a tripod mounted camera perched on the "crows nest" at the top of the stairs going to the beach, and it captured the whole gang's joy being there together. We've made framed copied of those photos for a keepsake for our really extraordinarily lovely stay at Sur La Mer.

Special note on things to do: for a day jaunt, take a drive North up Emerald Aisle to visit the North Carolina Aquarium. Our nieces loved it. I did too; it's a top notch modern aquarium. Then get grouper bites at the Shark Shack in Atlantic City, NC. Then carry on to Harker's Island and see the movie about the outer banks in the ranger station across from Cape Lookout, and also go next door to the museum of the woodworking society. Amazing stuff.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Great Stay at Sur La Mer

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Just wanted to let you know how much we enjoyed staying in this beautiful Topsail home. The house is beautifully decorated and well stocked. We loved the way that the 4 adult bedrooms opened up to the balcony that overlooked the ocean. The views from the front and back of the house are just lovely. The welcome bag with the wine and snacks was a nice added personal touch that really made us feel welcome. My dog, Baci, also had a great time. We took him on many long walks on the beach and he had fun fetching the ball every day.

Kristin is a pleasure to deal with. She always answered my questions and was very helpful. When we discovered the blender didn't work and let her know, she immediately had a new one delivered so we were able to enjoy some frozen mudslides and frozen margaritas.

For anyone who has a large dinner that you are responsible for but don't want to cook.... We ordered a full pan of Lasagna and 1/2 pan of Baked Ziti, along with salad, garlic knots, and canolis from a restaurant called Engleses Italian Restaurant in Surf City and the food was really good... They even deliver if you have a large order... They have a website with a catering menu.

One person in our group took his boat down so we were able to go fishing and on a boat ride. There is a public boat ramp near the high bridge. We also did some surf fishing at the inlet (at the end of the island on the north side) - excellent fishing spot and if you have a four wheel drive, you can drive on the beach.

Did some shopping in Surf City and ate a good seafood dinner at Quarter Master in Surf City.

Anyway, we totally enjoyed our stay... Thank you soooooo much!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Fantastic week!

Review submitted: August 13, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Our family of 15 spent a week at Sur La Mer and it was absolutely perfect for us. The home is very nicely furnished and the kitchen is beautifully equipped!! All 15 of us could sit down for dinner at the table and the counter. The kids loved their rooms and so did their parents. I loved getting up before anyone else and having a cup of coffee on the porch and just watching the ocean - perfect! The beach was great and we spent a lot of time on it - even packing lunch and taking it down. Kristin was terrific in handling the few little problems that arose. Responded immediately. Had a wonderful dinner out at Bella Luna which is just down the street. I, and my entire family, can heartily recommend Sur La Mer for a near perfect vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

The Perfect Beach Vacation

Review submitted: July 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

Kristin and Tom, Thank you so much for the use of your home for our annual migration to the beach. 6 years ago when my granddaughter turned 2 we decided to do an annual beach vacation & establish a tradition. Our family & friends now look forward to going to the beach every June/July. Your home was perfect for the 11 of us. It was the best house we have rented since we started our family tradition. It has everythng you need for cooking in the kitchen, and unlke some families we cooked meals every night at the house. We couldn't seem to tear ourselves away. The size of the house suited us well and we were never in each other's way. The house felt like home & was so comfortable for all of us. I know it sounds crazy but the kids loved that there was carpet in the living room because they played board games every night on the floor and so many houses we have rented have had tile thoughout. The dining room table was also great as it seated all of us for a meal without having overlap to the counter/bar. We had breakfast on the deck each morning & watched the dolphins play and swim out front & saw the shrimp boats in their early morning runs. We also decided it was the best area on the beach. W have stayed further up and down the beach in the same area & where your house is located was far less crowded. I liked the convenience of being able to rent the linens and towels from you and having the washer/dryer was a life saver in keeping up with beach towels. Although I was worried abot the size of the charcoal grill it worked our perfectly and using charcoal was far better than trying to battle the wind on the gas grills we have used at other homes. We did venture out one day to buy some food & we visited the Karen Beasley turtle hospital which my granddaughter loves even if you stand in long lines for a 10 minute look. And best of all the weather was great beach weather. Sunny, hot and a great breeze. We set up our canopy and chairs the first thing each morning & brought them back to the volley ball area at dusk each evening. .All in all an absolutely perfect week at the beach in a perfect house on the perfect beach.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Family reunion

Review submitted: July 6, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

What you see is what you get! We had a wonderful family reunion at this gorgeous beach house. The decks/kitchen and great rooms were spacious and well decorated with adequate furniture so everyone had a place to relax. The kitchenware was well stocked. We found everything we needed to make meals and it was very well organized. As a bonus the dishes were attractive. I know this isn't a big deal but it gave us the feel of our own home not a rental. There is a volleyball court in the back which we put to good use. Waking up each morning with a beautiful view of the Atlantic was priceless. The bedrooms also were well decorated and felt more like our own home than a rental. There was amble parking. We rented kayaks from Herrings Outdoor Sports. They delivered the kayaks and picked them up. They couldn't have been nicer. When you are ready to venture from the beach house there are some great restaurants in nearby Surf City. We really enjoyed Sears Landings and Daddy Macs. Daddy Macs is right on the beach and the food was the best we had during our trip. The owners of this rental are easy going and friendly. I worked primarily with Kristin. We would definitely rent this beach house again. Topsail is beautiful, the people gracious and this house is a dream. We loved it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great time at the beach!

Review submitted: July 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Tom and Kristen,

We really enjoyed our vacation at Sur La Mer in June 2011. We celebrated our parents 50th Anniversary while on vacation. We have four families and nine kids and the house suited our family perfectly. The house is beautifully decorated and spacious. We never felt crowded even when we were preparing meals and eating dinner together. The view of the ocean is spectacular. The sand is white. The beach was not crowded even during prime season. The waves are a blast to play in. We really felt that we found a secret gem of a location to enjoy the beach!

Kristen was a pleasure to work with. All in all it was a beautiful house and a wonderful location to celebrate a very special occassion. We can't wait to go back!

Sincerely,

Dave and Theresa

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Has Absolutely Been Found! (Jim & Martha, Hendersonville, TN)

Review submitted: December 1, 2010   Date of arrival: November 18, 2010

This practically new spacious upscale designer home has it all! The view and nearness to the surf have always been paramount for us and this home's location on the beach Blows you Away. We have been going to the Carolina Beaches thru-out 45 years of marriage and this home is the best ever. Walk into the wide open spacious living/dining/kitchen and take one look toward the ocean and it will take you breath away with its beauty. You just stand there transfixed by the view! The DeBates have thought of everything any family could possibly desire. Just pack a few clothes and come...No need to pack all those other things because they are all provided by your hosts. Toys, high chairs, & crib for toddlers, game boxes for Teens, WiFi for everyone, board games, books to read, DVD players, TVs in every room, beach toys, beach chairs, volleyball court, grill, huge washer & dryer, and a kitchen that has eveything you need to prepare meals for "an army", & even a separate cooler for drinks. There are 5 Direct Ocean Front bedrooms w/4 opening to huge decks & AWESOME views. The sound & intercoastal waterway are on the street side with two covered decks overlooking thoses. Walk to the longest pier on the East Coast & catch your dinner. My son feed 19 of us from his catch of mullet and whiting off of the pier. This is a quiet, peaceful, family beach. The surf is just a few steps off the decks. The photos on the site are excellent & portray the home perfectly.. you won't be disapoointed. But, once you arrive you will find that pictures did not do it justice...it is even more special! Sunrises are spectacular, the porpoises play in the surf so close there is no need for binoculars. We enjoyed a full moon & night walks on the beach did not even require a flashlight. The grocery store is convenient and we lucked upon a neat little "hole in the wall' seafood place in Sneeds Ferry called Uncle Jims. Best seafood I have ever eaten. Nothing fancy, Just totally fresh seafood ..(the boats are just a half a block are so away). Your order is not cooked until you place it! Located on the Intercoastal Waterway. We all are already saying "same time next year"...I can hardly wait to return. If you plan a stay at Sur Le Mer you absolutely have a delightful stay & you will want to come again, and again. It is everything you could possibly hope for. Thank you, Kristin and Tom, for being so easy to work with and offering to share your gorgeous beach home with others.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect get away!

Review submitted: September 13, 2010   Date of arrival: August 28, 2010

It was a pleasure to work with the DeBates. The home was everything they said it was and more. We were impressed with the well equipped kitchen, fantastic view from inlet and ocean side of the of the house. Lots of space, comfortable beds and cross breeze. Loved watching the turtles hatch on the beach. Enjoyed picking out fresh seafood at " The Seafood Shack". Hope to come back next year. Thanks for a memorable week; Would highly recommend to all!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The Bache Family Reunion

Review submitted: June 30, 2010   Date of arrival: June 5, 2010

What a great place to stay and enjoy a week. Our reunion included five generations arriving from all places across the country, Sur La Mer could not have been better. The descriptions and pictures were accurate and helpful and Kristin could not have been any better to work with. The home was very clean, well maintained and included a very well appointed kitchen. We would recommend this home to anyone looking for a worry free, relaxing trip to NC.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 4

 

Family Reunion at Sur La Mer

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2010

What a great place to hold a family reunion! The facility was luxurious - clean and bright with many amenities you'd find at a four-star hotel. There were 14 of us from time to time, and no one felt crowded or clostrophobic. The owners were delightful with which to deal, and they kept us "in the know" at every step of the rental process: when deposits were received, how to access the property at time of rental, and when the security deposit was to be returned, etc. We'll look forward to returning to Sur La Mer the next time we take a beach family reunion.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

"It doesn't get much better than this."

Review submitted: May 10, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

What a wonderful time we have just had at Sur La Mer! This is a home that has everything... panoramic views, an ideal layout, comfortable furnishings, and more amenities than we ever expected. My wife and I celebrated a major birthday and anniversary for nine days at Sur La Mer, and for four of those days we were joined by the full clan of fourteen children and grandchildren. The setting was perfect whether we were alone or surrounded with the wonderful chaos of multiple families. The pictures give you a glimpse of this beautiful home, but can't begin to describe the daily pleasure you get when staying there. Kristin is a joy to work with, and we are already planning our return. What a gem!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: December 4, 2009   Date of arrival: December 4, 2009

My husband and I just returned from a little getaway at Sur La Mer. It was such a wonderful couple of days. The house is exactly as advertised...clean and beautiful. Kristin was a pleasure to deal with and genuinely cared about our comfort. All in all a terrific house and owner.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 23, 2009

We have rented for years on Topsail and North Topsail -- this is the best home with the best layout we have ever rented. We had 7 adults and 4 very young children -- worked perfectly - only the weather was iffy -- but that made the amenities of 'Sur le Mer' even better. Kristin is wonderful to work with.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

We just returned from a week at Sur La Mer, Topsail Island. It was so wonderful I don't know what words to use that would even come close to describing our time there. The home is beautiful, the view is beautiful, the entire place is wonderful. It is comfortable, clean, welcoming and I felt like royalty staying there. Working with Kristen making arrangements was a pleasure. She immediately makes you feel like you have known her for years. The only problem was having to leave and come home. Thank you Kristen for allowing us the time and pleasure at your home on the beach.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 30, 2009   Date of arrival: August 30, 2009

We have just returned from a fabulous week at La Sur Mer. Neither Hurricane Bill nor Tropical Storm Danny could dampen our spirits. The storms were on the first few hours of our vacation and the last few. But in between was magnificent. Nothing like waking up to the sounds of the ocean right outside your bedroom! What a wonderful family vacation we had!
The Ottolinis and The Hakers

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Review submitted: July 12, 2009   Date of arrival: July 12, 2009

Thank you for a wonderful week! This was our third time at this house over the past 6 years and we enjoyed our visit very much. The house is very well taken care of and the beach is great. We all had a great time playing volleyball in the evenings. We all had a wonderfully relaxing vacation and enjoyed the home, the beach, and the volleyball court!!
We will definitely consider returning in the future!
Thank you for the use of your home!
The Thiel, Turner, Wood, and Weisgerber families

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 9, 2009   Date of arrival: July 9, 2009

Our whole family had a great time during our week at Sur La Mer. The house is well maintained, clean, and as beautiful as depicted in the photos. Our family consists of 16 people and 2 dogs and there was plenty of room for all. This is hands down the best home we've ever had the pleasure of renting. The owners are very much involved with their house and it shows. Thank you for allowing us to stay in your home.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

We spent a great week with our family at your beautiful home. We loved the house. The layout of the home worked well for us as we had our 14 month old grandson, two daughers, two son-in-laws and grandma in tow! We still had unused bedroom space. We had a great time in the house and on the beach. Lots of cards and lots of sharks teeth. We enjoyed the lack of crowding on the beach. We had great walks and enjoyed riding our bikes. We enjoyed the well stocked kitchen and the open floorplan. North Shore Country Club was within five minutes of the house and provided a great golf course at resonable rate. We give you two thumbs up and will definitely want to return nest year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Sur La Mer provided a fantastic setting to celebrate Charlise's parents 50th wedding anniversary. The home is nicely appointed, and the oceanfront setting is spectacular.

Pride of ownership shows through with not only the quality of the furnishings, but the upkeep and cleanliness of the home as well.

Thank you Kristin, for all your help in making our stay such a memorable occasion.

Best regards,

Daniel & Charlise

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 18, 2009   Date of arrival: April 18, 2009

Bob and I just returned from spending a week celebrating our 30th anniversary at Sur La Mer. The home is lovely - in design, furnishings, comfort, and decor -and is probably the cleanest beach home we have ever stayed in. The home overlooks the ocean and has 180 degree views of the ocean from the family and dining areas. Making arrangements with Kristin was as if we were talking with an old friend. We will definitely be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

Our visit was not only exactly what we had hoped for - but well beyond our expectations! The location in North Topsail was ideal - very private. The home was RIGHT on that oceanfront! And it was beautifully decorated and extremely well cared for! How often does a vacation exceed your expectations? We will definitely be back again! Kristin was so very nice! We were thrilled to be their guests! THANK YOU!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 8, 2008   Date of arrival: October 8, 2008

Well, we loved it so much the first time we came back again! Your home is so wonderful and comfortable. We love coming with friends, family and our four legged girl. Thank you for providing such a welcoming home that is pet friendly. It is so clean and has everything we need. Love love love Sur La Mer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 2, 2008   Date of arrival: October 2, 2008

This property is ideal for relaxing. The home was nicer than the pictures. It has a very homey feel which is supported by the hospitality of the owners. They were very reachable and eager to please. We had 12 adults in the home and there was plenty of room. It is set up in such a way, that everyone had privacy. The views are awesome, the margarita recipe was great, and we would definately reccommend this house. Thanks Kristen!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 30, 2008   Date of arrival: June 30, 2008

Sur La Mer turned out to be the perfect place for our children and their spouses and all of the grandchildren. Everyone kept saying this house is just "perfect". The beach at Top Sail is beautiful, not crowded, but necessary stores (Food Lion) are very accessible. The house is nicely decorated and very comfortable. We loved the decks especially, as well as the magnificent views every where you looked. We would certainly choose this home again and recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 23, 2008   Date of arrival: April 23, 2008

Sur La Mer made our first trip to Topsail Island a wonderful experience. The Ocean views from the house are unbelievable! When I requested an Ocean front home, I really get one with this beautiful home. The location is just perfect and if you get tired of the beach, Wilmington, NC is just a short drive away. The restaurants in the area are great too! Tom and Kristin are great to work with and I highly recommend this home to anyone!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: April 3, 2008

We truly enjoyed our stay at your home! It was a week where our family could truly relax in a beautiful environment. The early spring wind and waves of coastal Carolina were both pleasant and invigorating. That was true whether we were enjoying brunch on the wonderful top floor deck or walking along the shoreline.

Your home lived up to everything that was written about it. The dolphins playing along the beach were not just an isolated event but several times a day, numerous dolphins made their swim directly in front of the home in search of food and what looked like fun.

It was clearly a home where our family really felt at home. We left very few times during the week and definitely did not want to leave when our week was up.
We hope to be back soon and intend to bring the entire family. The home will clearly handle our eight people with tons of room to spare.

Thanks again for making our spring break outstanding.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 11, 2007   Date of arrival: December 11, 2007

What a delightful place for a family gathering! We had children and grandchildren from various parts of North Carolina and Texas for a family Thanksgiving together. The beach house meet or exceedeed all expections. Having a large dining room table that could easily seat ten was a major factor in our selection. Put us in the POSITIVE category!
Marv & Missy Pixton

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 24, 2007   Date of arrival: August 24, 2007

Our family, ages 4-70, had one of the best holidays ever with our 2 weeks on N. Topsail Beach. Sur la Mer exceeded our wildest expectations after we rented it sight-unseen, which we said we'd never do. The house is so quiet and lovely, the furnishings just right, and the kitchen almost better than home. The low-key activities were a great change of pace and we found we mostly stayed at the house and on the beach. Area business people are friendly and the seafood is beyond compare. We are all eager to return next summer! Bob and Elaine Jacobsen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 29, 2007   Date of arrival: July 29, 2007

What a great beach house! I was really surprised by the quality and taste of the decor - it wasn't the inexpensive, tacky kinds of decor that are often seen in a rental (often for the good reason that other people won't treat your stuff well). There was a great selection of books, comfy chairs, the kitchen was well-stocked with cooking equipment and even some of the basic spices and baking needs. The layout was very good with wonderful views of the beach and the marsh from almost every window. The volleyball net was an added plus and the kids/dads enjoyed it very much. I loved having the pier in walking distance and the sand was so soft and pleasant. We found the largest shark's teeth in the surf! and we look every year at each beach trip. The only down to the whole thing was how much of the beach disappeared at high tide; fortunately, it was usually at a good time for the kids to take a rest from the sun and surf. Overall, a wonderful house on a beautiful beach.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: July 25, 2007   Date of arrival: July 25, 2007

Sur La Mer is full of quality and comfort. Our group of 8 adults and 6 kids never felt crowded, and the furnishings in the home were superior to any we've seen in other beach rentals on Topsail and several other N.C. beach communities. The private volley ball court was great after a day at the beach. And the beach at N. Topsail is never crowded. We give this property a big "thumbs up."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 10, 2007

WOW! This was the most fantastic house we have stayed in at Topsail! It is so well designed and so well stocked. The decking was nice with no splinters. It was great to have a dining table that most of the family could sit around. NO ONE wanted to go back home to work!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2007   Date of arrival: May 21, 2007

We just returned from a wonderful week in a great oceanfront house. There were 5 family groups there, with 4 kids, and we were never crowded. The kids loved the bunk room and spent a lot of time in there watching TV, DVD's, playing games, and climbing around on the bunk beds. The bedrooms are very comfortable and nicely decorated. The views are fantastic! The decks are wonderful. The outside shower is so convenient after spending time on the beach or in the water. We spent a lot of our time walking the beach and looking for sharks teeth. The kitchen is great, there is a huge dining table, and the living room is very comfortable. I can not say enough about how wonderful this place is!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 16, 2007   Date of arrival: March 16, 2007

Beautiful home! Execellent view and great beach! This is truly OCEANFRONT!We had 15 people in our group and it never felt crowded! Would highly reccomend for families or large groups! Val W.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 6, 2006   Date of arrival: December 6, 2006

This was the best Thanksgiving ever! What a perfect escape from the big city stress! From the beautiful beach to the stunning sunrises and sunsets to the quaint small-town peace and quite, this was the perfect getaway. The house is beautiful and comfortable and the kitchen is fully accomodated. Our Thanksgiving Feast was every bit as good as Mom used to make. And there was plenty of room, and things to do, for both the kids and the adults. Although mostly we did nothing...which was absolutely heavenly. We're looking forward to coming back as soon as possible!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 4, 2006   Date of arrival: September 4, 2006

Sur La Mer is a gorgeous beachfront home away from home, but alot BIGGER! We enjoyed a full house with family for a rare, totally relaxing vacation! The views of the ocean on one side and the sound/intracoastal waterway on the other were beautiful! When visiting Sur La Mer in North Topsail Beach, be ready to enjoy your private beach and maybe some surf fishing. Our young son learned to ride his bike there on our beach. The DeBates have truly provided all the comforts and advantages of home, including baby items, games, toys, books and VERY comfortable beds! We all were sad to leave. The Dayton Family Reunion

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 2, 2006   Date of arrival: September 2, 2006

We rented this house right in the middle of the season. It was very worth the money. The house fit every characteristic that we sought; we had 2 families with 5 kids in total. Two of the kids were younger than 12 months. This house had plenty of room to have quiet areas while at the same time it allowed for group activities. That aspect was critical and turned out to be excellent. You can rent this place with confidence.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 28, 2006   Date of arrival: August 28, 2006

Sur la Mer was fabulous!! Proximity to the surf was ideal. Little to do in North Topsail but sea and sun. Perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2006   Date of arrival: May 21, 2006

We recently returned from Sur La Mer. The house
was better than I could have imagined. Each room
was carefully decorated with beautiful fabrics and
furniture. Kristin and Tom have carefully assured
that every detail is taken care of. We were in NC for
the UNC Wilmington graduation and the house
worked out perfectly. We were close enough to
Wilmington yet at the beach and felt like we were
able to spend some time relaxing between the
festivities. The weather was great and having decks
on all levels of the house was a real bonus.
We would absolutely love to come stay again and
would recommend both this house and the gracious
owners to all who are interested in a fantastic
vacation spot in Topsail. Leslie, Gary and Kevin
Wyatt

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 5, 2006   Date of arrival: May 5, 2006

Only 3000 characters??? How can I express how beautifully decorated each room is, how comfortable our large family of 8 adults and 4 kids fit, how every amenity was thought of and made available in the large kitchen with upgraded appliances (loved the quiet dishwasher), how the TREX decking kept slivers from our feet when we walked with no shoes the short distance to the beach, how convenient it was to have the outdoor shower, then how wonderful it was to sit out at night and hear the ocean and soothing background music from the outdoor speakers, all in 3000 characters or less. Well....I guess I just did. We've visited this home two times and I can guarantee we'll be going back!!! Thank you, Kristin and Tom, for making this a beautiful and peaceful place to help us get away from our chaotic lives.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: November 16, 2005   Date of arrival: November 16, 2005

I may have a biased opinion as I am the owner's "GREAT" Aunt. However, I have to say that I had a "GREAT" vacation in a "GREAT"-ly decorated home with "GREAT" amenities on a "GREAT" beach with a "GREAT" view from a "GREAT" porch. Be sure to take advantage of a "GREAT" opportunity to spend "Great" relaxation time in a "GREAT" spot. The owners are "Great!"
Grateful Thanks.
Great Aunt Jeanne

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2005   Date of arrival: October 12, 2005

My family just returned from a week at Sur la Mer, and I cannot say enough about this wonderful beach house. It is truly first-rate in every aspect. The owners have gone above and beyond to provide a beautiful home-away-from-home. The house if cleverly designed and wonderfully decorated, and of course, North Topsail Beach is terrific. I could not possibly be more pleased. Thanks again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2005   Date of arrival: September 28, 2005

What a fantastic place to be. Everything is first rate! My family and I stayed for one week, and it was not enough time. The beach is beautiful! The beach has more wildlife than people! At times, we were the only people on the beach in the middle of the day! The house is wonderful. Everything is very upscale. We can't wait to spend another week at Sur La Mer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 27, 2005   Date of arrival: September 27, 2005

This is a great house and location. The pictures do not do it justice. We had a large group and there was always plenty of room to find a quiet spot to read a book or have a family meal. The rooms are tastefully and beautifully decorated. The volleyball court is great and the kids had a great time playing all week. The beach is great for walking or running on with enough surf for riding the waved but not to much for the younger children. The pancake and syrup gift basket was a nice touch and really made us feel welcome. I would gladly stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: September 26, 2005   Date of arrival: September 26, 2005

The house was absolutely gorgeous. The owneres did a great job of decorating each of the rooms making it look and feel more like a home rather than a beach house. It was wonderful to come back into the house to relax after spending time on the beach.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 3, 2005   Date of arrival: July 3, 2005

Beautiful house, tastefully decorated, and great ocean views. We thoroughly enjoyed our week. We would stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 16, 2005   Date of arrival: June 16, 2005

What a wonderful house!! Sur LaMer is so much more than your average beach house. Every window has a gorgeous view of the ocean or the waterway. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. Everyone has their own bedroom and bath. We were able to cook wonderful meals is your great kitchen and after dinner, relax out on the deck with the music!! We have been coming to Topsail Island for 20 years and have never stayed on the north end of the island, what a mistake. We just loved it and can’t wait to come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 31, 2005   Date of arrival: May 31, 2005

We absolutely LOVE the Sur LaMer Beach House! We have been staying at the house since it was completed in 4/2004. The beaches are beautiful and private and the house is perfect. 'We' are 4 couples who all have a beachfront view and deck from our bedrooms, as well as our own bathrooms - can't ask for much more than that! A great and beautiful house to relax and put 'life' on hold. We return every year and look forward to it! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 7, 2004   Date of arrival: June 7, 2004

Wow - I don't know how to express how good of a time we all had. We had a
wonderful time! The house is beautiful and I love the location away from
condos and other crowded areas. The bedroom arrangement worked out perfect
for our crew. One of the guys had never been to Topsail and is going to
recommend it to his parents and siblings for a family re-union.
Specifically, he's going to suggest staying in your home again. You put a
ton of extras into the house. Everything was an upgrade - from bathroom
accessories to the kitchen. We really felt spoiled - "big shots" for a week!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 13, 2003   Date of arrival: November 13, 2003

We love the pristine beaches of North Topsail and hope you will enjoy our home.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review