reviews for: listing #16739 - Cancun, Yucatan Condo rental

Casa Maya Playa. Beachfront and On The Ground Floor!!!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Condo
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Condos Punta Cancun
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $200 - $500 /nt
    $1,400 - $3,500 /wk
    $6,000 - $8,000 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful place

Review submitted: July 25, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

“Michel, Thank You !!!! Your place was amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was everything we wanted and more. Gorgeous !!! I will definitely try to book with you again."

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

family vacation

Review submitted: May 29, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

Hi Michel - we had a truly wonderful time staying in your condo on the beach. We enjoyed swimming, the endless pool and the especially nice security guards at the front gate. We loved the condo size and had a great time cooking. Initially we would have loved an American tv channel but eventually just got used to being without and enjoying each other's company. We took the bus out front to Walmart and that was a great store. Wherever we were, the local people were always helping us and pointing us in the right direction. They even ran after me with a large amount of peso's I left behind. We loved eating next door at Mocambo, taking the ferry to Isle de Mujeres and renting a golf cart there and visiting the beach and ruins; going to Xcaret and eating at Lorenzillo's on the bay. We shopped till we dropped at the mall across the street and found everything we wanted for friends back home and things for ourselves. We all had a truly wonderful time. Next time we go back and we're already getting votes for same time next year, we will be seeking out your condo again. Thanks you so much. Your condo is spacious and comfortable and we all truly enjoyed a great family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 2

 

Amazing Vacation

Review submitted: May 21, 2014   Date of arrival: February 18, 2014

Our family had such a great time at Casa Maya Playa we did not want to leave! 8 days was not long enough! Michel's place is beautiful; just like the description--plus add in the great weather and we had heaven on earth! The setting is even more beautiful in person. We loved the patio. We lived on it! It was so perfect for the kids (2 year old and a 7 month old) as well as the adults. The pool and all the facilities were superb. We also loved chatting with the neighbors at the Punta Cancun Condominiums; some condo owners and some vacationers just like us. They were such a nice, friendly group of people. We were so centrally located we could walk to restaurants and other entertainment. If a place we wanted to go to was too far to walk, we hopped on a bus right down the street for a few pesos.
We look forward to returning for a future vacation. The condo and the location exceeded our expectations! Thank you, Michel, for your helpful correspondence and offering to rent this beautiful place.
The Hagberg Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great Place To Stay! We will Be back!!

Review submitted: May 12, 2014   Date of arrival: April 9, 2014

Michel
Wow, what a vacation! We were a family of six, four adults and two children 9 & 12. This is the perfect location! What more could we have asked for…the view, the sunshine and the water. We were steps from the pool, spa, fitness room and beach. We had such a wonderful time. It was hard to leave. We will certainly be back. We would also like to thank Freddy for all his help; he answered so many of our questions. He is a wonderful man.
Thank you again Michel!
The Meyer Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Fabulous Apartment

Review submitted: May 10, 2014   Date of arrival: April 25, 2014

We have had a marvelous time. Your apartment is fabulous, we have enjoyed our stay very much. We have been very comfortable and have spent many evenings eating our meals on the terrace listening to the sound of the sea rather than going out to restaurants. The congress Centre was so close it took us less than 5 minutes to get there. So easy sometimes we ate at the apartment rather than going back to the conference!!! "

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Great place to spend Christmas!

Review submitted: January 3, 2014   Date of arrival: December 20, 2013

We had a great Christmas at your condo and appreciate you renting it to us. I appreciated the tight security at the condo and the prompt service whenever we called for water or help (we couldn't get the oven to turn on one day because the pilot light went out). We really liked the location as it seemed close to everything we wanted (beach, bus lines, Starbucks, restaurants, etc). Our favorite place to eat was just around the corner - Hacienda el Mortero. Check it out on Trip Advisor. It was nice to have a place where our family could hang out, make meals, play games and get some sun! "

Recommended for: families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

convienent to paradise

Review submitted: November 4, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

We stayed at Casa Maya Playa this past summer and had a wonderful time. The Condo was just as described in the information we collected. Michel helped me feel secure about the location and the surrounding area. Being on the ground floor was such a bonus. I have three children...so it was easy for us to slip in and out of the condo for bathroom breaks and lunches. If someone forgot something it was easy to run up the the condo and get....what a treat!!
The location of the building was very centralized...we walked to dinner every evening...and could slip out for last minute shopping or supplies at any time.
I enjoyed the building because it was not too big....but just big enough.
One thing I was a little disappointed about was the beach...It was not as big as I hoped...and kinda rocky. The pool is so convenient and pretty that it makes up for it...
The people staying in the same building were very family friendly and not a bunch of partiers...they were very classy.
I would recommend Casa Maya Playa to any large group or family!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Beautiful Condo and wonderful view!

Review submitted: November 1, 2013   Date of arrival: October 19, 2013

We had a wonderful time at this lovely condo. Perfect location and fabulous views!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Absolutely AMAZING Condo!!!!

Review submitted: October 3, 2013   Date of arrival: September 20, 2013

This property is even more beautiful than the photographs would have you believe. The condo is perfectly located close to wonderful shops, restaurants, public and private transportation and has a view of the ocean that will take your breath away. Michel Rubini (the owner) is the BEST person to deal with. He is very professional, friendly and provides his guests with extensive information on how to get to the condo, what to expect when you get there, all the pertinent contact information should you need assistance (we didn't and you probably won't) and a variety of other very helpful suggestions that make your visit to Cancun a memorable, once-in-a-lifetime experience. I would definitely stay at Casa Maya Playa again and highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cancun.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Condo in Cancun!

Review submitted: May 30, 2013   Date of arrival: May 23, 2013

I had an amazing time in Cancun! Not to mention the beautiful pools, the amazing scene of the ocean and the beach from the front patio. The location was perfect not too close and not to far. The condo was beautiful, very relaxing and felt like home. 3 bedrooms 3 bathrooms and 2 out of the 3 bedrooms had their own bathrooms which was perfect for me cause I love my own space. Not to mention how clean and decortive it was. Every room had a diffrent style and beds so comfortable you can sleep all day. The people are so nice and the activities will have you screaming for more! Lol trust me I lost my voice from zip-lining and jet skiing. A vacation worth the stay and a condo worth booking. I can't wait to come backk;-)

J.Boni

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

My most enjoyable trip to Cancun!

Review submitted: May 29, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

I have been to Cancun 10-12 times, every two years or so. Previously, I stayed in the Hotel Zone strip, at the Omni or Ritz. A big fan and frequent user of VRBO in the US, this was my first international reservation, and it was great!

My two friends and I had a girls' getaway, and Michel's condo was perfect. Each of us had our own lovely bedroom and bathroom, with a large living room, dining and kitchen for sharing breakfast, snacks and cocktail hour. The condo property is beautiful, and the location on the ground floor adjacent to the pools and beach is wonderful. The infinity pool exceeded our expectations! Each of us enjoyed the spa services of facials and massages - the spa is lovely and the service is A++.

I loved the location, just a bit out of the normal hustle and bustle, with a charming more local flavor of shopping and restaurants than you get in the typical hotel zone. We traveled everywhere by bus or taxi - Wet N Wild for swimming and dolphins, AquaWorld for jet skiing, La Isla for shopping and dining - the location is very convenient!

Michel is so considerate and thoughtful during the reservation process - answering all questions, and providing thorough instructions via email before departure. Once you arrive he has a comprehensive manual in the condo that walks you through everything you need to know.

When I return to Cancun, I will be checking the availability of this condo first!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful Condo, excellent location

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: April 6, 2013

We a party of 5 had a fantastic holiday at this property, extremely spacious, clean, very comfortable beds with all the appliances you need. Our choice was made because it was ground level, no waiting around for elevators with the added bonus of the large outdoor patio which extended the living area with beautiful views over the pool & out to the sea where we spent most afternoons. The pool is totally amazing again spent a few afternoons just leaning on the wet edge watching the world go by.

The building staff were all really friendly & helpful as are the owners, thanks Michel for all your assistance from booking to all the information & answers to all our questions about the area. I would highly recommend this property.

I would highly recommend Mocambe's restaurant, you can walk down the beach to it, just to the right of the property looking out the beach & the Pirates Tavern, Blvd. Kukulkan Km 4.5 Zona Hotelera, Embarcadero Playa Linda, its a great fun place to get a casual beer, cocktail & food.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A Premium Property

Review submitted: March 14, 2013   Date of arrival: February 25, 2013

My wife and had an exquisite visit to Casa Maya Playa! The listing undersells the property. It is a small condo building, not some giant with 200 or more units. As a result the setting was intimate and private. The beds were first rate and the unit had everything to make one feel at home. Especially appreciated was the internet phone with a US phone number. The staff did everything they could to make us comfortable and we really appreciated the noise curfew which was strictly enforced. The property was clean and well maintained and reflected an owner that really cared not only about their property, but the experience of their guests. Michel was wonderful to deal with and he had many helpful hints regarding transportation and restaurants. I would strongly recommend this owner and property to anyone considering a visit to Cancun, I would strongly recommend this property!!! Thanks Michel..............mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Location, location, location!!!

Review submitted: February 3, 2013   Date of arrival: January 26, 2013

Walk through the patio doors and its like having a backyard with 2 pools and the Caribbean all within 200 feet of your apartment. A spa and gym near the pool complete the picture. "Picture perfect". The owner Michel was easy to deal with and provided detailed information on the apt and the area prior to arrival. We are a family of adventure travelers but, after we arrived, all we wanted to do was linger in the pool and walk on the beach. Thx Michel.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

A wonderful place to stay

Review submitted: May 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 4, 2012

When I first contacted Michel I informed him I had never rented a villa or aprtment before having stayed exclusively at hotels. Michel told me that once I stayed at his villa I would not return to hotel holidays. Like everthing else Michel told me it was bang on. I simply cannot begin to say what a pleasure it was to deal with Michel and the villa is better than he advertises. The only problem we had was leaving. It was just sad to leave such a paradise. Oh well, next time, Thanks once again for everything Michel. Greg

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise in Cancun

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 10, 2012

The condo is in one of the best looking buildings in Cancun. The 3 pools & spa are all great - spent time in all of them. The condo itself is so spacious and had everything you could want. There is a washer & dryer so you don't need to pack a lot of clothes. The location on the first floor with the wide veranda was terrific - you could just run back & forth to the pool so easily.
The condo is right next door to where the ferry leaves for Isla Mujeres, which is a fun day trip.
All in all, Casa Maya Playa totally exceeded my expectations!!! I would only stay there when I return to Cancun.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Absolutely Perfect Condo with Walkout

Review submitted: January 27, 2012   Date of arrival: January 16, 2012

My family consists of two adults and five small children and Michel's property was perfect! We could have spent every day at the condo playing on the beautiful (and private) beach, swimming in the ocean and pools, playing on the playground or just relaxing on our patio and taking all the views in. It was VERY quiet and peaceful and all the neighbors we met were WONDERFUL (especially Jay and Mauricio who shared lunch with us several days while we were there)!!

Walk across the street and have supper at Calyso's (ask for Felipe and he'll take care of you). Or walk less then 50 feet down the beach and hop on the ferry to Isla Mujeres; so fun!!

Book a vacation with Michel and you won't be disappointed. He was very prompt, kind and professional. His property is extremely clean and well cared for; five stars plus and I highly recommend it. We're going to check out his other properties for next year's vacation.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Casa Maya Playa

Review submitted: January 12, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

FIVE STARS *****This property was fabulous, the view was outstanding. We had a wonderful time. The owner is very hands on. This was our first visit to Cancun. Michel was very helpful with his instructions to the Condominium, as well as his insights of Cancun. We were thrilled the moment we arrived at our destination. Not big fans of large Hotels. We were so happy when we found this first floor location. Fearing the description was to good to be true, we were really surprised when Casa Maya Playa more than exceeded or expectations. This property is perfect for all types of vacationers, plenty of room, plenty of sun, and no stairs to climb. The location can't be beat, plenty of great restaurants, shopping and easy transportation. We enjoyed taking the Ferry next door across to Isla Mujeres. We rented a golf cart an drove to the southern tip of the Island (punta sol) and had the best meal ever by the ruins. Totally recommend this adventure -- lots of fun. All I can say is I'm coming back. Michel is proud of his property and it shows. It was clean, large, three bedrooms, four baths all decorated beautifully. I would recommend the property to anyone it's perfect.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

A fantastic home from home

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 23, 2011

Hi there,
I just wanted to let you know that we had a great time over the weekend at
your property in Cancun, amazing is more like. The weather was fantastic and we had a much needed break at a crazy time of the year.

Thanks again for making the property available and we are looking forward to doing business again in the future at this property or some of your others if the opportunity arises.

We especially appreciated your little white book with the recommendations for the area.

Thanks again

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

GREAT VACATION

Review submitted: November 25, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

We stayed at Casa Maya for two weeks from 4th November through to the 18th. We were a party of four Husband and wife and two grown up sons who wanted their rooms.
We arrived at the apartment at around 9.30pm and there was Matt straight away there to help us with our luggage and explain how everything works.
The condo is all as described, spacious, comfortable,fully equiped and a home. And the internet worked perfectly everywhere in the apartment.
We nearly booked an AI Hotel, and were really glad we didn't. On the first day we went to Walmart by taxi (150 pesos) and stocked up on steaks, smoked salmon, drinks etc etc. There is a 7-11 opposite which is useful for things such as drinks/eggs etc.
We know from running our own company that the best way to judge who you are working with is when something goes wrong, well we had two minor problems, one the TV's didn't work but between Matt and Michel they had that up and running asap- we weren't there to watch tv anyway. The second problem was that after emptying the bath tub, water came back up through the drain hole. Well Michel called three times from the USA to make sure everything was fixed and ok- that is service. You can feel totally comfortable that you are renting from someone who REALLY cares and values your custom.
Being a groundfloor condo meant that you could sit by the pool/s and whenever you wanted nip back to the condo for drinks or refreshments.
One tip, We found that the sun went behind the buiding around 2.30pm every day- don't worry, there is yet another pool hidden around the front of the building that gets the sun all day.
The security staff who work here couldn't do enough, the moment you sat on a sun lounger they were out with a cushion and a table.
The Gym while small is ten seconds away and appeared nearly always empty, it had everything you would need like the treadmill, cross trainer, weights etc to run off those extra pounds from the great food.
We went to many great restaurants, but the two that stood out were Peters, which is an intimate restaurant where Peter is the owner and chef and the food is delicous. The other is called Casa Rolandi which is Italian but serves everything from fish to steak and the setting is just wow. Ask for a table on the outside deck, you won't be dissapointed.
Michel, if you are reading this which I am sure you will, knowing your attention to detail. A big THANK YOU, you are a gent and we look forward to working with you again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great stay in Cancun

Review submitted: September 21, 2011   Date of arrival: August 29, 2011

We were very impressed by the quality of the apartment. We found it to be spacious and well laid out and in a complex with a great feel and look.

We would not hesitate to recommend the apartment to anyone looking for a peaceful and relaxed stay in the heart of Cancun.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Breathtaking!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

With four kids on vacation ranging from 8 months to 11 years old, it can be a challenge to please everyone. As each day passed at this beautiful property and condominium, we felt so blessed to have discovered it. Matt, the property manager, is like having your own personal concierge on hand 24/7 and he has great tips about what to do and not to do to make your experience even more special. He also is a very positive kind person who does not make you feel badly for getting lost and calling him three times in a row ;). We left for home feeling like we were leaving a place we wanted to call home; therefore, I immediately convinced my husband to go back as a family for summer break. We raw counting the days for our extended stay in August! Thank you Michel for sharing your home with our family!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Our recent stay 4/20/11

Review submitted: April 28, 2011   Date of arrival: April 20, 2011

This condo was really incredible. Far exceeded our expectations and even our teenage kids said that they loved it. Initially toyed with the idea of an all inclusive but didn't want to be "married" to a resort for 6 days. Too much to do in Cancun for that. We opted for this condo and it was fantastic. Very large and spacious, tons of bathrooms and the bedrooms were huge. The beds were like sleeping on a cloud!. And to be able to walk out your door and be ground level with the pools, spa, gym and ocean literally steps away was fantastic. We hated to leave. Michel the owner, and Matt the property manager, were incredible and efficient... always reachable and willing to answer any questions. We would go back without hesitation. Very safe and secure 24/7. Unbelievable!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

An exclusive paradise!

Review submitted: April 17, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Our vacation was more than we had even hoped for! The condo was meticulously maintained and immaculate and the service from the staff was super. Although the condo is in the center of the hotel district and walking distance to shops and restaurants, we always felt secure and isolated from the noise of the boulevard. Amazing!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

FANTASTIC PLACE!!!

Review submitted: March 27, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

My friends and I just returned from Casa Maya Playa in Cancun. This condo is absolutely stunning. It is everything that the pictures show it to be! The condo is at ground level, and all we had to do was walk out our patio door to access the beautiful grounds, pools, and beach. The location of the condo is also great. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within walking distance. There is also alot of shopping (huge flea market where you can barter and a big mall). The condo is on the busline, and there is a taxi stand at the Riu Cancun Hotel right next door. The staff at the condo was wonderful to us. They tried very hard to communicate with us despite our language barrier. You will also love Matt, the property manager of the condo. He was there to greet us upon our arrival, and checked on us throughout our stay. Besides being a lot of fun, Matt was invaluable to us as far as where to eat, how much to spend for bus/taxi rides, and what companies to use for our activities. In addition, the condo owner, Michel, called us from California on the day of our arrival to make sure everything was going smoothly. He also gave us a list of restaurants!! If you are going to Cancun, you MUST stay at Casa Maya Playa!!

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Our Cancun trip

Review submitted: February 9, 2011   Date of arrival: February 1, 2011

GREAT time!!!!! Beautiful condo. Matt (property manager) is a JEWEL!!! Was a HUGE help.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: February 8, 2011   Date of arrival: January 21, 2011

We were very happy with our stay at this condo. The location is really perfect, we felt very safe with security around all the time and the staff is very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the fact that we could cook breakfast at the condo and then in the afternoons walk to a place for dinner or take the bus which was right outside the gates.
We had a total of 6 people staying with us there was a lot of room and did not feel crowded. It had a washer and dryer and that helped us to keep up on the clothes and towels from laying out.
The pictures really do not do this place justice I know speaking from all of us it was a very enjoyable trip. Matt was a huge help he lets you into the condo and helped us with taxi's and explained the lay of the land which was amazing he was on call 24/7.
Only issue we had was the cable was not working but its not like it was a huge deal we were on vacation and so it would have been nice to watch before bed.
I think this place is great for family vacations it was a great trip thank you Michel for everything.. Your home was very much loved by us.
Douglas Family

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: I want to thank you for your lovely review. I always strive to insure that my valued guests have the best vacation experience possible and I'm very happy that you had a good time while you were vacationing in my home. I do want to apologize for the cable outage problem, but that was beyond my control. The cable company said that they would fix the problem as fast as possible, but it took longer than any of us expected and so we were without it for 4-5 days, but it was fixed and hopefully we will not experience a cable outage like that again for many years. Once again, many thanks for your lovely review. You were wonderful guests and I look forward to your return anytime in the future.
Aloha,
Michel

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

GREAT PLACE, GREAT STAY

Review submitted: October 25, 2010   Date of arrival: August 17, 2008

Casa Maya Playa is wonderful! The owner and property manger have taken great care to have everything you want and need. Our party (2 families and 1 child) could not have found a better place to experience Cancun and the surrounding area. Restaurants, entertainment, Mayan ruins, beach, turquoise ocean, we can seriously recommend it to all. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Everything you need and more

Review submitted: October 14, 2010   Date of arrival: September 8, 2010

Our stay at Casa Maya Playa was outstanding. The condo was beautiful. We would stay there again. The property manager, Matt, was there to greet us, directed us to our parking spot, helped us get our luggage to the condo and spent time with us to give us the details about the condo. You couldn't have asked for better assistance. We particularly enjoyed the convenient access to both pools. The grounds were lovely and the security staff friendly and helpful.Our stay was extremely enjoyable. We cooked some of our meals and ate at conveniently located restaurants. The kitchen was equipped nicely. My only negative, and this was minor, was that the mattresses were firmer than we were used to. The owner, Michel, has put a lot of thought and care into making his guests welcome.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Vacation of a LIfetime

Review submitted: August 14, 2010   Date of arrival: July 22, 2010

This was our first time in Cancun. This trip was in celebration of my mom's 80th birthday and also had my 5 year old son with us. We had a wide range of ages and everyone had a spectacular time. The condo was perfect in that it was conveniently located to restaurants and Starbucks! Having the condo on the ground floor was perfect in that we were able to go in and out to the pool. The early morning sunrises and sunsets on the deck overlooking the ocean was unforgetable. I would highly recommend this condo and location to anyone. Truly a dream come true vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise Found

Review submitted: July 22, 2010   Date of arrival: July 13, 2010

We absolutely fell in love with the condo. The location was on the ground floor in sight of the pool and great views of the Carribean. The staff was great and Matt was very helpful in letting us know the best places to go. THe location is in the center of the hotel zone with many places within walking distance. If you go, keep some 10 or 20 Peso coins/bills in your pocket to give the ladies and kids selling bracelets and pocketbooks. If you have a big heart, give the kids a 20 Peso bill and dont buy anything. Their face will light up. Go to the Mayan ruins at Tulum and Chichen Itza. Barter with the local vendors for their wares. They expect it and you will enjoy the game. Don't drink the tap water but it is OK to eat fruits and veggies. We had no problems at all. Great place. Great fun. Great time...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome vacation in Cancun!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2010   Date of arrival: June 11, 2010

This was our first trip to Mexico and boy did we choose the RIGHT place to stay!! My husband and two boys (ages 13 and 7) loved the condo, the pools and the beach. The condo was perfect and way more space than a family of four needs...but we all enjoyed the amenities in the condo. We enjoyed cooking in the kitchen and eating on the beautiful patio all while watching the sunset and the pirate ship passing by on the sea! The resort was safe and quiet and the kids enjoyed the playground area and trampoline. The shopping (and Starbucks) across the street from the condo were all convenient. We enjoyed meeting Matt, the property manager, and he was helpful throughout the trip! I'd recommend the Cancun Shuttle for transportation from and to the airport - they were professional, timely and reasonably priced. We also enjoyed the restaraunt called Mocamba's (spelling?) right next door..or a brief walk on the beach will get you there too.
We LOVED our time in Mexico and plan on making this a routine vacation stop!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

LOVELY BEACH + WONDERFUL CONDO = GREAT VACATION!

Review submitted: June 19, 2010   Date of arrival: June 2, 2010

We visited in early June and it could not have been better. The condo is beautiful, spacious, and the views are magnificent, better than the photos on the web. We had massages, laid by the pool, walked the beach, swam in the ocean, and ate dinner on a pirate ship! Also many thanks to the staff who treated us so very well. We'll be back next year.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We Loved It!

Review submitted: June 5, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

This was the best of them all. We have been to Cancun several times but Casa Maya is absolutely the best of the best. The ground floor terrace is bigger than most other condos living rooms, and we ate outside at the granite dining table almost every day. We could watch our children go in and out without a worry. It is absolutely beautiful and cared for expertly by Matt the property manager (who was just excellent). We can recommend this condo to everybody.
Thank you so much.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Luxury In Cancun

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: May 18, 2010

My wife and I and two of our friends stayed in Casa Maya Playa May 18th - May 25th. We had a great time. The condo is exactly as described. Very luxurious. We enjoyed the (very large) patio, great for coffee in the morning. Matt, the property manager was waiting for us when we arrived. He showed us everything we needed to know and was always available to handle any problems (not that we had any!!). What a hard worker he is. The infinity pool is beautiful and a great spot to work on your tan. There is also a lap pool as well as several hot tubs and a gym which my wife took advantage of. There are many excellent restaurants within easy walking distance. We loved being able to make breakfast each morning and have cocktails and appys each evening before venturing out for a great dinner (which explains the 5 pounds I now have to get off!!) Michel has a really wonderful condo and we highly recommend it.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

BEST TIME EVER!

Review submitted: May 30, 2010   Date of arrival: March 3, 2010

We stayed in Casa Maya the first 2 weeks of March and had a great time. Matt, the property manager was ever so helpful with information and tips about where to go and what to see and the condo was spectacular. The views and the condo are even better than the photos, the beach and ocean were absolutely gorgeous. We couldn't have had a better time. Thank you so much. We will return!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Had a great time!

Review submitted: May 19, 2010   Date of arrival: April 24, 2010

We had a great time in Cancun and really enjoyed staying at Casa Maya Playa. Casa Maya Playa is a secure, modern, well appointed condo - perfect for a relaxing vacation! The pool area and beach are great. We will definitely request this unit next time we are in Cancun!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Place – Wonderful Stay

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 5, 2010

My family and I stayed here in February, and we couldn't have been happier. Matt greeted us and treated us like kings the whole time we were there, and the condo could not have been better, just like the photos only prettier. The views are fabulous, the grounds are kept immaculate, and the condo has everything we could ask for and more. Thank you again, we will definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: March 6, 2010   Date of arrival: March 6, 2010

We just got back from a wonderful stay at Casa Maya. Right from the beginning I found Michel to be very informative and helpful. The booking process was very simple and stress free. He gave me a lot of really valuable information that would end up helping us a lot on vacation. We chose Cancun Shuttle for our transfers (as he suggested) and not only were they very reasonably priced, but very clean and prompt as well. Now on to the condo and Punta Cancun. Let's just say we will never do all inclusive again! From the minute we pulled up to our condo and met the 24 hour security to the very second we left we truly loved every minute. The condo is exactly as promised and is far more space than we could ever use (it's actually alot bigger than our house at home!. The four bathrooms were awesome as well as the full kitchen and the washer and dryer. We wondered why anyone would ever want to stuff themselves into a hotel room when they could have this. The condo is on the ground floor and that proved to be the ultimate in convenience as we could leave the door open and our kids could run in to get a snack or drink without us having to take them. Truly Awesome.!We had a huge patio that we sat on as much as we could and enjoy happy hour looking out at the sea. Magnificent views! As the condos are all privately owned and many proved to be unoccupied during our stay we felt like we were staying in our own private resort! There are many common deck and patio areas that usually no one was even on just steps from the beautiful infinity pool and the ocean. We walked around all week not quite believing our wonderful good fortune for having found this place. The location is the best in Cancun. We were on the calmer side, so we were still able to swim in the ocean and enjoy the beach. It was very windy during our stay and anyone staying on the Caribbean side really would not have been able to use the beach. Not so for us! There is also a nice and clean gym and spa for guests to use as well. We were literally steps from shopping and restaurants and had no need of a car, although we did take the bus several times downtown and to Walmart. You must stay here. You will never regret it. I only hope that we will have the opportunity to stay here again some day.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: January 30, 2010   Date of arrival: January 30, 2010

What a wonderful vacation, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Cancun. Casa Maya Playa has everything you could want and more. Spacious, beautiful, convenient and very relaxing. Can't wait for my next trip. Thank you, Michel, everything was as you depicted and we couldn't have been happier.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 29, 2010

Michel:I can’t begin to tell you what a pleasure it was to be at Casa Maya Playa. I found the condo most comfortable and everything you said it would be. The weather was most great compared to that in the Midwest, the people were warm and friendly, and the swimming, whether in the pool at the condo or the Caribbean, was wonderful.I didn’t realize that there was so much night life activity in Cancun, but we found it delightful to be out late at night among all the people who enjoyed partying. It was equally nice going back to the condo for the peace and quiet it afforded us. Suffice it to say that after our stay at Casa Maya Playa, we felt refreshed and ready to tackle our other world’s duties back in the Midwest. Please be assured that we will be saving our pennies so that we may revisit your condo in Cancun. It was the best vacation we have had in many, many years, and have already penciled in the dates we would like to reserve for next year.Sincerely,Janet and Doug Watson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A MUST !

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: September 29, 2009

Michel's home, Casa Playa Maya, is a real nice place to spend your vacation. Its very spacious and well located. The condo has two very nice pools which are right in front of the terrace. The views from the living room are outstanding ! The beach is at the door steps and great to go swimming. My two kids loved the place and its child friendly. We need to find the time to return !

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Michel's home, Casa Playa Maya, is a real nice place to spend your vacation. Its very spacious and well located. The condo has two very nice pools which are right in front of the terrace. The views from the living room are outstanding ! The beach is at the door steps and great to go swimming. My two kids loved the place and its child friendly. We need to find the time to return !

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: January 8, 2010

Enjoyed our stay very much. Unit is right
next to the pool and beach. Very safe and
clean. We walked walked to all the local
attractions. Cooking instead of going out
to eat is a plus.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: August 10, 2009

What a wonderful place to vacation! This lovely condo exceeded our expectations and was exactly as the owner described it.

We traveled with our daughter & son-in-law and their two children. One child is 8 years old and the other is 11 months old. The set up was perfect for us with everyone having their own bedroom and private bath. It was ideal for traveling with an infant. The ground floor was a real plus, especially with the baby. Even with the baby napping one of us could sit on the patio and enjoy the view (which by the way is beautiful) and the weather and not feel like we were missing out on anything.

Matt, the property manager, was very friendly and helpful. Michele, the property owner, was very professional, organized and a dream to work with. We felt very safe on the property as it was patrolled 24/7 by friendly security guards. We also felt perfectly safe walking around town, on the bus, at Wal Mart, etc. This was our fifth trip to Mexico in 10 years but our first stay in a condo. We loved it and can't wait to go back. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Our first Cancun vacation

Review submitted: August 7, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Wonderful vacation!!We loved the comfortable layout of Michel's home.Very relaxing atmosphere with the private terrace.Convenient to EVERYTHING!!! The three pools were our oasis many hours of each day.And they ane indeed only a few steps away.Michel and property manager Matt were wonderful and answered all of our questions.Macombo's restaurant next door became our favorite place to dine in the evening. Look forward to a return trip next year with the kids!!!!!
Greg&Lorie
Willowick,Ohio

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Stay in Cancun

Review submitted: July 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 8, 2009

Just wanted you to know we had a great stay at the Condo. It was everything we hoped for and then some. Thank you so much for all your info and help in planning our vacation. We even met a local person who lives on the property. The kids hung ut with him and he even took us into Cancun for dinner and showed us a few things. Made the trip that much better. Girls and I did get a message at the spa while the boys went fishing and of course we enjoyed the infinity pool every day.We also enjoyed some tours and learned a lot about mexico. It did take us a few days to figure out the area and the locals but once we did it was a piece of cake.Loved that all those great restaruants and shopping were within walking distance. It was a great help that I speak spanish. My family was grateful for that.Overall our trip was a complete success. Thank You so much and we look forward to doing it again as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 1, 2009   Date of arrival: April 1, 2009

Hello, We just got back from Cancun and we had an excellent time. We swam in the pool, got a massage, exercised in the gym, ran and later walked on the beach, swam in the beach, drank and laughed on the terrace. We walked to Coco Bongo (highly recommended!, a must see!). The Condo is located right near all the clubs (5 min walk) and shopping. There is a small mall across the street(with good prices on some souveniers). There is also another mall about 5-10 min from the Condo (you have to drive towards the airport and you will see it on your left). The Condo was clean, spacious and ultimately very quite. The facility was perfect, with the infinity pool within feet, the beack close by. This is a great Condo! Michel was great and Matt helped out a lot! Thanks!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Picturesque getaway w/easy pool/beach access

Review submitted: March 21, 2009   Date of arrival: February 28, 2009

The first floor access was perfect for us to get to the beach/pool easily. Security was friendly and really amazing; it gave us tremendous peace of mind. Our children even made some new friends with the security guards! Your condo was such a peaceful respite from the local hustle & bustle. We loved the parasailing found along the beaches, our children enjoyed hunting for hermit crabs, body surfing, and as advertised, the spa was terrific and very affordable. Day trips to Tulum and Xcaret were hits with us too. What a beautiful and comfortable condo! Matt, the property manager, was very helpful and accessible. He stopped by on Day 2 to make sure we didn't have any questions and adjusted a few minor things for us. And he arrived promptly as promised on our last day for the final walk through. So pleasant and helpful! Thank your for graciously allowing us to enjoy your home. We have very fond memories, and the children are already talking about returning to Mexico.

Jean & Bill

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Great Family Vacation

Review submitted: March 16, 2009   Date of arrival: January 11, 2009

My wife and I spent 1 week at Casa Maya Playa with our 3 sons (ages 6,4,and 2) and their grandmother. The condo was exactly as described and all of the staff were extremely professional and courteous. We especially liked the ground floor layout with direct access to the large private terrace and the pool area. The childrens' playground located in the grassy area beside the condo turned out to be a huge hit with our 3 kids. The owner Michel, along with his excellent property manager Matt, provided us with all of the information and help we needed to make our vacation a perfect experience and we look forward to returning in the future. Thanks Michel.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Condo

Review submitted: March 14, 2009   Date of arrival: January 4, 2009

We spent a wonderful vacation in Casa Maya Playa. The condo was spacious and filled with light and it had everything we needed, and more. The atmosphere at the pool, the gym and the spa was discreet and relaxed and we never felt crowded. The condo is equally fitted for families with children or a group of friends looking to have fun. The affordable rates allowed for an unforgettable family vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Casa Maya Playa Review

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 4, 2009

Wife and I, daughter, son-in-law, two young grandchildren spent 8 days at Casa Maya Playa in Feb. '09. Very nice accomodations, roomy, great location. Walkout to pools, a few feet to the ocean beach. Very convenient location, many shops within easy walking distance. Public transportation, taxi's and car rental at the entrance to the condo. Great vaction, would do again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

THIS IS THE PERFECT PLACE IN THE PERFECT LOCATION

Review submitted: March 2, 2009   Date of arrival: February 13, 2009

Cory W.--We just got back from a beautiful week in Cancun and we were so happy with Casa Maya Playa. It is exactly what it says it is, a few steps from the ocean and infinity pool, and there were always plenty of lounge chairs. What a beautiful view we saw every day from our patio. Big bedrooms with lots of room (when we did stay inside). Perfectly located a couple of blocks from some of the biggest clubs (Coco Bongo, Hard Rock, Senior Frogs). Matt, the property manager, was gracious and very helpful on any local information. If you aren't looking for all-inclusive, Casa Maya Playa can't be beat for location and ammenities!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most relaxing vacation we've ever had!

Review submitted: March 1, 2009   Date of arrival: February 20, 2009

What a wonderful place to vacation! This lovely condo exceeded our expectations and was exactly as the owner described it.

We traveled with our daughter & son-in-law and their two children. One child is 8 years old and the other is 11 months old. The set up was perfect for us with everyone having their own bedroom and private bath. It was ideal for traveling with an infant. The ground floor was a real plus, especially with the baby. Even with the baby napping one of us could sit on the patio and enjoy the view (which by the way is beautiful) and the weather and not feel like we were missing out on anything.

Matt, the property manager, was very friendly and helpful. Michele, the property owner, was very professional, organized and a dream to work with. We felt very safe on the property as it was patrolled 24/7 by friendly security guards. We also felt perfectly safe walking around town, on the bus, at Wal Mart, etc. This was our fifth trip to Mexico in 10 years but our first stay in a condo. We loved it and can't wait to go back. Thanks again for sharing your beautiful home with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 17, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We spent a wonderful vacation in Casa Maya Playa. The condo was spacious and filled with light and it had everything we needed, and more. The atmosphere at the pool, the gym and the spa was discreet and relaxed and we never felt crowded. The condo is equally fitted for families with children or a group of friends looking to have fun. The affordable rates allowed for an unforgettable family vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 12, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had an incredible time in Casa Maya Playa. It exceeded our expectations- a beautiful condo and complex right on the beach. Peace and quiet with plenty of restaurants and activities in walking distance. Matt, the onsite manager, was terrific. Thanks Michel, for a great vacation!

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Casa Maya Playa

Review submitted: January 13, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Just returned home from our wonderful cancun vacation. This condo was fantastic. Very spacious , accommodating, and nicely decorated. The ocean and the pools were awesome and both just steps away. The ground floor was perfect. No fussing with elevators. Great views from your patio, which by the way was huge. The staff were extremely friendly and always available for questions and directions. The grounds were spotless at all times. Couldn't have been in a better location. Restaurants and shopping all minutes away. No rental car needed. Mr rubini was great in helping to plan our trip. Whenever we had a question, he responsed immediately. We wish him many years of luck with his beautiful home and are looking forward to staying at one of his other homes in the future.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 15 / 16

 

CASA MAYA PLAYA

Review submitted: August 9, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

THE MOST AMAZING TRIP WE HAVE EVER TAKEN. WE COULD NOT HAVE ASKED FOR A BETTER PLACE TO STAY IN. EVERYTHING THAT WAS PROMISED WAS DELIVERED. THE CONDO FAR EXCEEDED MY EXPECTATIONS. THE LOCATION WAS TERRIFIC. THE STAFF WERE AWSOME. THE CONDO WAS IN PERFECT CONDITION. I WILL BE HONEST IN SAYING THAT IF I WERE TO TRAVEL TO ANY OF THE PLACES THAT MR. RUBINI HAS ACCOMADATIONS I WILL STAY AT HIS LOCATION OVER A HOTEL!!!!!!!
IT WAS ABSOLUTELY THE BEST VACATION I HAVE EVER HAD,
THANK YOU FOR ALLOWING US TO SPEND OUR VACATION IN YOUR HOME.
SINCERELY,
KELPI

Helpful votes: 19 / 25

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review