reviews for: listing #167560vb - Dominical, Costa Rica rental

Villa Playa Vista@Canto Del Mar Private Pool - Surf/Ocean View
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • sleeps  6
  • pets considered  no

sort by:

Jungle Paradise

Review submitted: April 8, 2014   Date of arrival: March 8, 2014

We spent a week here as two couples. It exceeded our expectations. We felt like we were tucked right into the jungle, with an amazing view of the Dominicalito beach and gorgeous sunsets every night. Being a wildlife photograph buff, I was kept very busy! We arrived in the late afternoon, and it seemed everywhere I looked I found new, beautiful birds to photograph, including the toucan and vulture sentry that watched over us most days. The sound of the cicadas was deafening at times, but did not keep us awake. The beach below was well worth a visit, something we unfortunately did not discover until our last day. We did not have a vehicle for the first few days, and that was a mistake, because it is a long, hot hike up the steep road if you go down for a walk. We were grateful for the pool. A four wheel drive is definitely recommended.
Dave and Deb were such gracious hosts, always ready to help, and we thoroughly enjoyed our day with them at their "secret beach". It was fun seeing Deb teach my 70 year old brother in law how to boogie board!
One word of caution, the steps downstairs are beautiful, but if you are like me, and don't step towards the front of each step, the rocky edge scrapes your heals. Since that's the only complaint, you can't go wrong here. We even enjoyed sharing with our friends the night a small boa came for a visit outside.
If we have one regret, having traveled south from here and then returning north again to Tamarindo, is that we did not cut our trip south a little and return here for a few more days.
Thanks Dave and Deb for making our stay so memorable.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for the nice comments and glad you had a great time. Wish I had been there for the boa. Thanks for joining us at the "Secret Beach" and be sure to keep it a secret. We look forward to your next visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Honeymoon Wishes Came True

Review submitted: July 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 29, 2013

We wanted a special place for our honeymoon and could not have wished for a more perfect and romantic spot.

We arrived at dusk having driven from San Jose and made it in good time. Dave's instructions to get in worked fine and we were soon in the private pool enjoying the first of many sunsets. The place immediately exceeded our expectations and is simply beautiful.

The villa is perfectly situated within easy reach of both Dominical and Dominicalito. You will certainly need a 4-wheeled drive vehicle to drive up the steep hill and Dave can help you arrange one. The drive is fine, despite being steep, and adds to the sense of adventure and feeling that you're staying in the jungle.

The rooms are plenty big enough and there is more than enough room for two couples. You could also stay here with children no problem; it is enough to suit everyone. The kitchen is stocked with all the things you need and there is a blender for making pina coladas. We made good use of the ice maker in the freezer and what was nice was how there was some spices and things left in the cupboards from previous guests which made it feel even more like home and mean't we didn't have to buy salt and pepper and ketchup. Not a deal breaker, but certainly very helpful.

The pool and patio outside is brilliant and the views are spectacular. The pool is plenty big enough for a cool-off and is in the sun most of the day. We would have breakfast in the morning outside and watch the tide come in, and be treated to all kinds of birds and wildlife. A five minute walk up the hill from the place will lead you to howler monkeys and some capuchin monkeys stopped by one morning on their way to a different part of the jungle.

We didn't bother with the AC apart from in the bedroom which we put on before we wanted to go to sleep. We simply kept all the windows open and enjoyed the sea breeze mixed with tropical warm air. The place is well secure and the guards who patrol are friendly. I personally never felt in any danger throughout the whole trip but it is a nice reassurance. There is a nice supermarket in Domincal which has everything you need and more besides. Be sure to stop on the side of the road and buy some fruit and make your own guacamole with the amazing avocados.

Lastly, Dave and Deb were perfect hosts and arranged all kinds of wonderful activities for us. If you are thinking of renting a place in Dominical then we can highly recommend them and this place. We will be back..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing vacations

Review submitted: January 2, 2013   Date of arrival: December 23, 2012

The place is great for a party of 4 to 5 people. There is a queen and a king bed. The place is fully equipped with all amenities: swimming pool, full kitchen, AC, good Wi-Fi, TV with cable, laundry room and spacious bathrooms with hot water. The location is excellent: is at walking distance from Dominicalito beach and at 20 mins in car from Uvita. We stayed for 10 days and the place really exceeded our expectations.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Pacific Paradise

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 26, 2012

My husband and I (in our 40's) and my in-laws (in their 80's) stayed at Villa Playa Vista for 6 days and loved it. This was my husband's and my second time staying in this villa as we loved the views so much the first time, we had to come back for more. A typical day was waking to the sounds of the ocean early in the morning and then going for a walk up the jungle road to see if the white-faced monkeys were out (saw them most days). We also looked for sloths and toucans. We would then head back to the villa for breakfast with wonderful Costa Rican coffee and fresh fruit. If we didn't have an excursion planned, we'd sit on the patio with the view of Playa Dominicalito (bring your binoculars) and sip on margaritas or take a dip in the pool. There are so many wonderful restaurants in the area, we only ate in a couple of times (would buy fish at La Marcha just up the road). Domilocos, Azul, Jolly Roger's and Chappy's are some places we ate. There are wonderful beaches for walking (Playa Baru is our favourite) and plenty of activities. Manuel Antonio Park makes for a great day trip. We didn't get out to Corcovado this time around, but had found it an interesting tour the last time we were here.

The house is clean, air conditioned with a fully functioning kitchen with access to the patio. This is a great place for both couples and families (especially with each bedroom having its own bathroom). The hills are quite steep, so we didn't walk around too much (except on the roads behind the villa and on the beaches). We would recommend taking in the view from Azul (Dave gave us great directions as it's not that well marked from the main road). The people were extremely friendly everywhere we went and we've always found this area very safe and comfortable. One day, we had stopped at an artisan's stand on the mountain road near Perez Zeledon (about 10 minutes from Dominical) when our truck wouldn't start back up. The artisan, Francisco was amazingly helpful. He and his wife, Carmen, and daughter, Maria Del Mar, were very hospitable offering us coffee and shade while we waited for our truck to get fixed. His place is on the right-hand side of the road if driving to San Isidro and he has some great pieces at reasonable prices. Muchos gracias!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Great location. Fabulous view!

Review submitted: January 4, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

My wife and I spent an amazing 10 days in Costa Rica with our daughter during her Christmas university break. We flew from Ottawa via Newark on Continental Airlines and arrived San Jose/Alajuela at noon on 20 Dec. After checking into a local hotel for the night, we took our rented Toyota Rav 4 for a tour the Doka Estates Coffee Plantation. The next day we had a great tour of the Poas Volcano before heading to Dominical and Canto Del Mar (we left our luggage at our hotel during the tours; don't leave any personal items in your rental car, unless someone stays in the car with them). Using the Toucan map of CR we bought at the hotel and our Garmin GPS (with EZfind map we bought on-line) we never got lost. The roads in the Alajuela area and to the tour sites are decent, with some pot holes you need to be careful of.
The drive to Dominical was smooth and took about 3 1/2 hours. We stopped in Jaco for a few groceries (I stayed in car), but you can get pretty much everything you will need in Uvita, a short drive south of Canto del Mar.
Dave and Deb's villa was just perfect, and the view of the Pacific was out of this world. The pool was a great place to cool down after a hot day at the beach; Playa Hermosa and Playa Ventanas were our favourites. Dave was a great host in helping us organize our reservations for the zip-line tour at Hacienda Baru, the horseback ride to Nauyaca Waterfalls, a tour of the Manual Antonio Park and a kayak tour of the Damas mangrove. When you add in the great beach time our vacation went by way to fast!
We had rain every night, generally just after sunset at 6 pm. We lost power a couple of times but not for long periods of time. We had a sloth visit us that was perched high up on the top of a tree; he seemed to be enjoying the view of the ocean just as much as we were. The occasional Toucan flew by as well.
If you are planning a trip to CR and you're not looking for a "resort experience", look no further. Villa Playa Vista is in a great location, an easy drive to the beaches or any of the many available activities. You of course could also walk to Playa Dominicalito or to the Poza Azul waterfall.
We left the villa on 29 Dec and stayed at La Riviera Hotel. The directions given by Dave were almost perfect. We had to rely on our GPS to make the proper turn off the main road to the Marriott Hotel.
We'll be back, Dave. You have a wonderful property. Thanks for all your help with our first Costa Rican vacation!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Can't wait to come back again!

Review submitted: February 21, 2011   Date of arrival: January 16, 2011

We (my husband and me) stayed in Villa Playa Vista for a week in January and the property was everything we dreamed it would be and more.
The location and accessibility are as described in the listing. We drove a 4x4 rental from San Jose on good roads and made it in about 3 hours. The pictures in the listing are accurate but in reality the views are the best. What a great place, the villa is very comfortable, open and large; it is much bigger than the pictures show. This place is the most beautiful, peaceful place we have ever been. The patio and pool area is the perfect place to relax and enjoy breathtaking views of the ocean. We highly recommend this place for a couple or two couples of friends who want to get away. The way the villa is thought out is perfect as it allows everyone to be together and also gives everyone privacy of their own rooms and balconies.
Dave and Debbie were there to answer any questions we had and offer up great recommendations. Best hosts ever! They welcomed us and provided excellent information regarding the activities and navigation of the area.
If you are interested in the Dominical general area - we highly recommend this property and working with Dave and Debbie. You will be delighted! Don't miss the sunset from the veranda! Watch for monkeys and all the colourful birds in the morning! We had a wonderful, relaxed family vacation. It was a great way to start the New Year together in paradise at Villa Playa Vista! Thanks Dave and Debbie! Best wishes in 2011! Pura Vida!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: One of the pleasures of having a vacation rental in a great place like Dominincal is the great people we get to meet that use our villa as their home while they are visiting and we always hate to see them leave. We look forward to thier next visit.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2010

I have had the opportunity to travel to beautiful Costa Rice five times in the past 2 years. Every time I have such a new amazing experience and this trip was not exception. My husband and I stayed in Villa Playa Vista @ Canto Del Mar. We love this location as is has spectacutlar views of both ocean sunsets and jungle life. Also giving us easy access to travel north or south on the costanera highway to a variety of fun activities and excellent restaurants.
This visit we experienced many jungle animal siteings. On are arrival we spotted a beautiful mature sloth. He was so cooperative (his very slow movement) allowed us to view his climb over a 45 minute period. We have seen sloths before, but not so close and personal as this viewing. Later in our trip we easily spotted a second sloth (we dubbed her the "the sunset sloth") as she was in a very large tree at sunset every night of our visit. We enjoyed the incredible vista right along with her.
We had a pair of lovely Toucans that arrive every morning around 7am and every afternoon at 4PM. The animal life is very routine so if you're paying attention you can see them daily on their time schedules. We also spotted white faced monkeys, extremely beautiful blue butterflys and many other birds at Canto Del Mar.
You won't find a better host than Dave & Deb. They know their Costa Rica and are very accommodating to your every desire. Trips and activities, massage, restaurant and food advise, you name it they have it available for you.
We thank Dave for his hospitality, service and fun ride to "Movies in the Jungle" ... now you will have to contact him
for your own adventure. (As seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 27, 2010

The house is beautiful on both the outside and inside. It is designed very well for comfort and some of the most spectacular views we have ever experienced. The outside terrace and pool area add a delightful respite and the best breakfast, lunch, and dinner spot in the area. You will never want to leave. If this all wasn't enough, Dave and Debbie are the most accomodating hosts with whom you will feel an immediate kinship. Enjoy. (As seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: January 14, 2010

Wow, what an experience. Everywhere you are in the villa you will have a magnificent view overlooking the ocean. From your bedroom when you wake up, from the kitchen, from the sitting area and off course on the terrace. On the terrace there is a BBQ, a table and seats to enjoy the sunsets and just enjoying the gorgous surroundings, a hammock and last but certainly not least a pool. The villa has air conditioning and two bedrooms with both a bathroom around the corner of your bed. It is a very clean house. All the facilities you are looking for are there. The owners are great people. They will give you ideas what to do and where to eat in the area when you ask them. They will take the time for you and will invite you to join them for a drink or even dinner. So I will say, go there and enjoy the magnificent experience. (As seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 15, 2010

We felt very nervous, traveling to a foreign land, a relatively large financial commitment and only one week vacation! Fortunately we encountered this wonderful, responsible and honest owner, whom we trusted and, who met our highest expectations.
Now, we arrive, Oh My God! We stood in the Living Room and we unable to believe the 270 degree panoramic view! We stared over the edge of the Balcony, watching the Eagles sore 100' away and the fishermen in small fishing boats bobbing in the golden-hued pacific. We finally went on a tour and found a spotless accomodation with every amenity in two complete and fully appointed Master Bedroom Suites, each with Luxury designer baths and 10' high glass sliding doors opening to the 75 degree Costa Rican air and caress of the westerly Pacific Breeze. Quickly changing, we headed to the upstairs, Cathedral ceilinged, backlit and Luxuriously appointed Living/ Kitchen/ Dining area. Fixing a snack and a drink we slid into the private 120 sq ft, 4' deep, soaking pool, in complete privacy, not even aware of any neighbors. The Nearby Town of Dominical and the numerous, completely free, World Class Beaches, are all but a few minutes drive from your own Nirvana. We would stop at the little roadside stands, offering the finest fruits, vegetables and home cooked delicacies imaginable (I think we both lost 5 lbs in a week, we ate so well! :) We never encountered anything quite like this two level Designer Villa. Approximately 400' above the Ocean and perhaps 1000' from the Breakers, but perched on a stable steep hill overlooking The Pacific and incredible "Lazy Fluorescent Gold Sunsets".
The owners of the Villa, Dave and Deb allowed us all the Privacy we requested. We were met with instructions and all of our questions were handled professionally and timely. In addition, they were a fantastic resource to local attractions and we found they are greatly respected in this Community. We have every intention of returning to this Property for other Vacations. (as seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: March 5, 2010

Have you ever dreamed of sipping your morning coffee overlooking the ocean above the canopy and watching an array of wildlife including Toucans and monkeys? Neither did we, until we vacationed at Villa Playa Vista in Costa Rica. What an experience we had during our 8 day stay there. Owners, Dave and Debbie West made our vacation one of the best experiences ever and one we will always remember. Before we even arrived at the villa, Dave had answered over 100 email questions my husband had sent making us feel comfortable and secure with our travel there. When we arrived, Dave and Debbie were most amazing hosts, making sure our every need was met, from arranging a private boat tour to setting up surfing lessons. We loved the pool and privacy of the villa, yet were very close to many restaurants, shops and down town Dominical. We thoroughly enjoyed our time and felt as if we left good friends when it was time to say ‘until next time’. (As seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 27, 2010

My family and I stayed at Villa Playa Vista this past summer and had the most amazing experience. We were lucky that Dave was in town the day we arrived. He proved to be a wonderful host, personally taking us to the villa and showing us around the town of Dominical. His knowledge of the area, and timeliness in response to questions or needs really made the trip feel like a vacation. The Villa has a beautiful view of Dominicalito, which the boys preferred to surf over Dominical which is a bigger break. We felt secluded in the midst of the jungle, with the beaches and town a short drive away. Having a pool was not a requirement for us going into the trip, but absolutely will be going forward. The surf is not always in condition for swimming, having the pool was a great alternative for keeping cool. The outdoor area next to the pool is covered, creating the a great outdoor space to enjoy afternoon storms or just take in the wildlife. We saw monkeys jumping through the trees several afternoons/evening...very cool! The villa has a full-size washer and dryer, a huge convenience while traveling. The main floor of the villa is a great-room, perfect for relaxing. The full-kitchen was great for cooking when we didn't feel like going out. We found a nearby waterfall, which we had to ourselves, and typically the beaches were all ours as well. Lots of surf spots can be found off of the main road, and my sister and I always felt safe on the beach while the boys were in the water surfing. Sandra, in Dave's office, helped set up a zip-line tour that we thoroughly enjoyed. Lots of other activities are available, depending on your interests and time. Not only was the location great, and the villa ideal...but Dave really helped make us feel safe and secure, leading us to have a true vacation. Feeling at home, away from home, is important to my family. Dave helped create just that. (As seen in Trip Advisor)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 16, 2010   Date of arrival: February 20, 2010

We had such a wonderful vacation at Canto Del Mar,my husband, my daughter and her husband, our two grandchildren, ages 10 and 3 and me. The view was spectacular, ever changing, blue ocean view from the kitchen, from the gathering room, from the bedrooms.
The villa was immaculate and spacious. The kitchen contained all our needs. The two and a half bathrooms served our group well. Right outside the livingroom is a fabulous deck with that lovely ocean view and a swimming pool...all our own. The beach is also nearby, actually several beaches. Just down the hill is a wonderful waterfall with a refreshing swimming hole.
The villa is an easy drive to many restaurants, shops, and down-town Dominical. There is so much to do and see.
It was such a special vacation with hosts who welcome you
so genuinely. And if you're really lucky, perhaps you'll receive a visit from them with refreshing drinks in hand and the best guacamole you've ever tasted.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review