reviews for: listing #16779 - Niagara-on-the-Lake, Ontario House rental

Amberlea House w Pool in Old Town Niagara-on-the-Lake
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (CAD) $375 - $695 /nt
    $1,995 - $3,850 /wk

sort by:

A wonderful family retreat

Review submitted: October 21, 2013   Date of arrival: October 11, 2013

Our family got together at Amberlea House to celebrate my Dad's 65th birthday. The location was perfect as it was walking distance to Niagara-on-the-Lake but on a quiet street. The home was very well maintained and large enough for everyone to be comfortable. The living room common area was large enough for all of us to spend our evenings together, and the dining room big enough for all of us to enjoy our meals. We also enjoyed cooking our Thanksgiving turkey in the large and well equipped kitchen! All bedrooms were large and very well appointed and the house was well stocked. We enjoyed walks to Niagara-on-the-Lake, drives to several nearby wineries, and a few trips to Niagara Falls and the casino. In all a fantastic weekend for everyone! Highly recommended weekend getaway.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

wonderful family vacation

Review submitted: July 30, 2013   Date of arrival: June 14, 2013

My family celebrated our Mom's 60th birthday with a weekend at the Amberlea House. The house was clean, spacious and perfect for all 9 of us to stay comfortably. The property is beautifully maintained and we enjoyed long afternoons lounging by the pool and yummy BBQ. The house is perfectly located in a quiet residential area and is only a short 10min. walk into the heart of Niagara-On-The Lake. Angelo was wonderful and everything was made very easy for us. Thank you for a memorable weekend!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great memories of Easter at Amberlea House!

Review submitted: April 1, 2013   Date of arrival: March 27, 2013

My family from the UK, Toronto and New York all met at Amberlea House to celebrate an early Easter weekend.
The house fit our needs perfectly and was everything we were told it would be (both on VRBO and their own website). All the bedrooms were unique and the Master bedroom was outstanding with a King bed and a fireplace. Really cozy! The Living room has a huge sectional sofa that could fit all of us on it at the same time.While we were there we cooked several meals in (after all that is one of the reasons we always choose vacation homes over staying in hotels). The kitchen was very well equipped and handled making a ham dinner for the 8 of us. The kitchen looks over the backyard which is beautiful, even if the pool is not open this time of year. We will have to come back in the summer when we can enjoy that aspect of the property! Angelo was great to deal with and always available if we had a question.
Memories were definitely made this weekend and we can recommend Amberlea House to anyone looking for a special retreat with either family or special friends.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 22, 2013

The house was clean and had plenty of space for our family. The kitchen was large but appliances could be newer. Backyard was great although we went in winter and could not use the pool. Visiting from Florida in winter was a treat as it was snowing and very pretty. The location is close the lake which was a plus. The master suite had a fireplace and large bathroom, very comfortable. Located close to Niagara Falls, phone signal was poor for phones from the U.S.A while being in the house. With all said, we had a great time and would recommend this home to families, especially with children.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

weekend with friends at NOTL

Review submitted: December 10, 2012   Date of arrival: November 30, 2012

When we arrived at the house we were all amazed at the house. The rooms were big and comfortable.It was nice that everyone had their own room but we still had areas were we all could get together.
Angelo was great to deal with when choosing one of their houses.
I would highly recommend this home to all my friends
Thanks for a great weekend

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Keefe Family Review

Review submitted: November 6, 2012   Date of arrival: November 2, 2012

We came in late fall and had a great time. The house is very well maintained and had everything we needed. The location is great, about a 10 minute walk from downtown. There's a bike rental store about a block away and a variety of local places to ride including a 38 Km bike trail. The people in Niagara on the Lake were the friendliest I've ever encountered and we enjoyed the shops and wonderful restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amberlea House in NOTL

Review submitted: October 8, 2012   Date of arrival: September 26, 2012

Wonderful place/location for our 10 person sibling reunion, actually exceeded expectations and had only a few very minor problems that could be lived with without major inconvenience. This is a beautiful property, as pictured, with a spacious back yard and a very pleasant back deck overlooking the pool which we didn't use due to it being the Fall Season. Bedrooms are very adequate in size and the living and dining rooms are spacious and comfortable and clean. This was in a very quiet neighborhood, easy to locate esp. with a GPS, close to many excellent eating places and not far from downtown, Shaw Festival Theaters and lots of other places to see and explore. NOTL is a beautiful location to visit. The owner was very helpful in answering questions different ones had before arrival.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

House perfect for large groups with children

Review submitted: September 8, 2012   Date of arrival: August 30, 2012

My family and I stayed at Amberlea for a full week. There were 10 of us including 3 children and the size of the house was excellent. The pool was a bonus as it kept the children occupied for hours and was also enjoyed by the adults for a cooling swim. The location was close to all amenities and downtown NOTL was within walking distance. If history interests you there were numerous historical plaques within a few blocks all well worth reading. It was only half a block off the main street into NOTL, but the neighbourhood was very quiet and shady. The house had a well equipped kitchen which enabled us to feed the large group without any trouble and the big screen TV, spacious living room and dining room were a bonus. I would highly recommend this holiday home to anyone wanting to explore the area. We enjoyed our stay.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Texan Pilgrimage to Niagara-on-the-Lake

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

Our group of six semi-retired Texans came to Niagara-on-the-Lake in May, a perfect time when the flowering trees were in full bloom, but the tourists were not yet in full bloom. The Amberlea House was the perfect choice for our party. We appreciated the fact that this property had not yet imposed the full summer rates as many others do at the start of May. The house itself was clean, comfortable, and completely furnished to meet our needs. We took full advantage of the kitchen, laundry, barbecue grill, television, and internet service provided. The immediate neighborhood is very pleasant and well maintained, making an evening walk most enjoyable. The town has the perfect blend of history, scenic beauty, and interesting shops and restaurants. High Tea at the Prince of Wales Hotel was a unique and enjoyable experience for our party. Each of us can highly recommend both the town and the Amberlea House to other vacationers to the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Girls weedend away

Review submitted: May 10, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2011

My Volley ball team spent the weekend at your lovely home. When we arrived we found it to be in excellent condition. It was very clean and smelled amazing. We found the living room was big enough for all of us to sit and watch a movie and the dining table was the perfect size for our group as well. We would all love to return when the weather is hot to be able to take advantage of the beautiful back yard deck and pool area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Dinner Club from Michigan

Review submitted: May 7, 2012   Date of arrival: April 20, 2012

We went with 3 other couples and thoroughly enjoyed this house. It was exactly as we hoped and expected based on the website. Very beautiful yet comfortable and conducive to the size of our group. We enjoyed cocktails on the deck and had wonderful brunches together in the dining room. Plenty of room for all of us and no one felt 'slighted' by any of the bedrooms we had. The property was very clean and well maintained. We would definitely recommend to others and hope to be back someday!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amberlea House - Niagara-on-the-Lake

Review submitted: February 29, 2012   Date of arrival: February 24, 2012

The Amberlea House is in a quiet picturesque street in Niagara-on-the-Lake. We found the property to be clean, cozy, and well maintained. We thoroughly enjoyed our winter weekend stay, and I hope to have a return stay again in the summer time. I would recommend this property to friends and family. I would also recommend some shopping in town and a tour of the wineries in the area. It's a home away from home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great getaway, immaculate house

Review submitted: February 20, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

We stayed for a long weekend and found Amberlea House one of the nicest vacation properties we've ever visited. It was winter so we couldn't take advantage of the pool, but it looked enticing as does the large backyard, bbq and glassed-in deck.

Inside, everything was spotless and well equipped and organized. We especially liked the fireplace in the master bedroom, the high ceiling in the living room, the spacious and comfortable couch and the big tv. Wireless internet made our lives easier.

The house is a few minutes drive to downtown Niagara on the Lake and though traffic was horrendous on a long weekend Friday going there, it only took us a little over an hour to get back to downtown Toronto.

We're going to be coming back!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent place for an inspiring life-long experience!

Review submitted: January 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 29, 2011

Amberlea is the place for memorable days. The house is made beatifully to accommodate honeymooners, couples of all ages, and all those who look for a quiet shelter close to nature and an attractive classy town, in winter or summer. We will definitely go back!

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

An outstanding vacation at Amberlea House!

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 24, 2011

Three generations stayed at Amberlea House last week (June 2011)and we had a wonderful time.
The house exceeded our expectations in every way. The pool is beautiful sitting in a huge treed and private back yard.
The house is very pretty with very large rooms where we could all be together. Every bedroom is unique and the mattresses are very comfortable. The sofa fits 10 people on it!
At the end of the street there is a great bakery called Willows as well as one of the best restaurants in the town called The Stone Road Grill. We never used our car except to go to the wineries and Queen St was less than a 10 minute walk through the town.
Angelo, the owner was great to deal with and always available if we had any questions.
We highly recommend Amberlea House for a high standard vacation with all details looked after.
We will be back next summer! We love Niagara-on-the-Lake!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Home Away from Home

Review submitted: July 1, 2011   Date of arrival: June 23, 2011

Amberlea was a delight. The house was beautifully decorated, welcoming, and extremely clean. Everything you could want was supplied - from hair dryers, towels, linens and paper products to every kind of soap. The fireplace in the master bedroom was beautiful and appreciated on the cooler evenings. The heated pool was enjoyed by all. Plenty of room inside and a nice play area beyond the pool. The location was perfectly between the quaint town of Niagara on the Lake and the hustle and bustle of the Niagara Falls Midway and Falls. I would highly recommend this lovely home away from home.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Weekend at Amberlea House

Review submitted: May 9, 2009   Date of arrival: April 24, 2009

Thank you very much for our time in Niagara-on-the-Lake at your vacation home.
We enjoyed a wonderful weekend with family and friends and a wine tour.
I am so very thankful for the time your home allowed me to spent time with my family as well.
We will surely come back in the future to rent from you.
As we researched vacation homes - you were by far the most professional, understanding, and helpful person we dealt with.
All my thanks!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent

Review submitted: January 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

The house was great! Everything was clean, well taken care of and very spacious. If you were to stay in the niagara area i would definitely recommend staying there. My friends and I are thinking about renting the house again in the summer so we can take advantage of the backyard and pool!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for your positive feedback.
It's good to hear that you enjoyed Amberlea House.
You are welcome back any time!

Best regards,

Angelo

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review