reviews for: listing #16809 - Tahoma, California House rental

Two Morrows Tahoe Cabin Near Skiing & Hoa Beach, Wifi, Pets
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $99 - $295 /nt

sort by:

Two Morrows is for To Day!

Review submitted: April 3, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Had a great family time at Two Morrows this winter. The cabin created a magic environment of warmth, coziness, functionality, entertainment and utility. From a fully equipped kitchen to 3 cozy bedrooms and a neat living area loaded with great movies, Two Morrows offered everything we wanted and then some.

I wholly recommend the cabin for any family looking for a great experience at Tahoe.

Chandar

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Multiple visits to a good cabin.

Review submitted: December 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 14, 2011

We’ve been staying at the 2Morrow’s cabin year after year for about 6 years now and hope to have the possibility to continue doing so in future. The area is beautiful and the cabin is a comfortable and clean ‘home base’ from which to explore Tahoe in summer or winter.

This cabin feels like more of a cozy home than a sterile mountain cabin. Not a bare basics place, it offers the pleasure of a full kitchen (with new appliances…) to cook with friends and plenty to keep us busy when the weather outside in winter was just too difficult to negotiate.

There have been noticeable improvements over the years we'’ve been staying there to bedding, carpet and to furniture both, inside and out on the deck. Up keep on the building and the property is apparent and any contact I’ve had with the owner has been polite and efficient.

I can recommend a stay at 2Morrows cabin and hope anyone visiting will have as good a time as I and my family have enjoyed over the years.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy to have returning guests, and they receive a discount forever, once they have accumulated ten nights of rentals.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

In need of updating

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We stayed here for a last minute spring get away. We had originally planned on camping but opted to rent a cabin instead. The overall feeling of the cabin was very worn-out. Everything from the very old futon to beds that looked to be 30 years old made us feel less than comfortable. The cabin is also very cluttered-- tons of knick-nacks on every surface. Lastly, there was an extensive list of to-dos for guests (despite having paid for a cleaning fee) that included doing all laundry and cleaning the bathrooms. We ended up leaving 2 days early because everything combined did not make this an enjoyable stay.

Owners response: We are sorry that our cabin did not meet this guest's expectations. Our cabin was built in 1977, and the furnishings vary in age; however, we constantly repair and upgrade our cabin. Items added or replaced in the last eight years, for example, include the carpeting, range, dishwasher, refrigerator, toaster, coffee maker, television, stereo sound system, sliding glass door, picnic tables, bedspreads, coffee table, microwave, comforters, pillows, duvets, washer and dryer. Whew!

We calculate the age of our beds by the number of times they have been used rather than their chronological age. Thus, the newest bed, purchased 10 years ago, has been slept in a maximum of 450 nights – less than two years. Judging the age of the futon by its number of uses makes it less than four years old.

This is our home, and we do have personal items here, including a few knick-knacks, although most of them are out-of-reach, on the top of kitchen cupboards, for example. Useful items (such as matches, an oil lamp, coasters, napkin holder, salt and pepper, clocks) are on reachable surfaces.

We wish to accomplish several things with our checkout list: Prevent left-behind personal items, ensure there is no wasted energy while the cabin is unoccupied, prevent damage due to fire or frozen pipes, and ensure the security of our cabin from intrusion of people, and particularly bears that are attracted to scented lotions or shampoos and well as food. Thus, such requirements as cleaning out sinks, emptying the disposal, and wiping up spills as our housekeeper may not be available to clean our home for a few days. Our literature suggests that those who don’t wish to bother with laundry may bring their own sheets and towels.

Private home rentals may not suit everyone. Some people may be more comfortable in less personal surroundings. We strive to have the photographs on our site reflect our cabin’s ambience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great homey cabin!

Review submitted: September 26, 2011   Date of arrival: September 16, 2011

We were looking for a cabin in Tahoma for a friend's wedding taking place just a few miles down the road... Needless to say, we were on a budget but still wanted to stay at a cozy cabin. Lucky for us we found the Two Morrows Cabin, which turned out to be perfect! Three bedrooms with plenty of places to sleep could accommodate way more people than we needed (which would have made it much cheaper per person), but we feel that we got a great deal for the four of us. Definitely a flash back to our youth with the absolutely awesome and EXTENSIVE selection of VHS movies... they are literally everywhere! Great game - take one person and make them the "rate-o-meter" using arm as others cheer for their favorite movie. Always amusing (although when the winner doesn't make it into the tape player, we boo). The kitchen has everything that you would need to use to cook home made meals.... always a fan of the electric skillet. All around, a comfy and great place to stay. Wish we were here in the winter to see the snow! (Guess we'll have to come back...) Only thing I would say is that I am always happy I bring my own pillow and blanket, which makes this cozy little cabin feel even more like home. Highly recommended unless you are looking for a five-star hotel-like place to stay. Thanks Two Morrows!

Owners response: Glad you enjoyed our movie collection, and found the electric frying pan. We always like to make pancakes at the breakfast table so the cook can participate in the conversation rather than being off in the kitchen. Do come back in the winter. It's fabulous!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Tahoma Cabin

Review submitted: July 29, 2011   Date of arrival: July 1, 2011

Hi Roberta,
We are now home in New Hampshire. We really enjoyed our time at the cabin. It was delightful, fun to see all the Scandinavian decor and well stocked. My grandson thought we should move in and he could ride his bike everyday to visit us. All of us had a great time and SKIING IN JULY was the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great time!

Review submitted: July 27, 2011   Date of arrival: December 30, 2010

We had perfect weather and the house is in an ideal location( tucked away yet still close enough to everything Tahoe has to offer ). We loved the quiet and friendly neighborhood. Thanks again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday at our cabin. We love our quiet neighborhood that is near everything Tahoe has to offer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Tahoe cabin!

Review submitted: July 20, 2011   Date of arrival: July 13, 2011

We had a great time in Tahoe and are so glad to have found your cabin - we hope to rent from you again in future years as my family travels to the area at least once annually :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always happy to have returning renters. After 10 nights at our cabin, our frequent renters get a 10% discount on the rental fees.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

Title: Tahoma cabin at Tahoe
Rating: Excellent!
Content: The Two Morrows cabin at Tahoma was perfect for or family. We are not skiers or lured to the brights of the South Shore. So this cabin (really a house) on the quiet west shore in the fall or late spring was appealing. We have gone back several times and noted that Roberta has continually upgraded all the things that make it more like a home than a rental. The kitchen is well equipped, but there are also some places to eat within walking distance. We wandered into nearby Sugar Pine Point State Park on walks and took advantage to the access to the lake to have a picnic. One year we took along my mother, a tough critic with high standards, and she liked it! Another year, our son, who is a snowboarder, rented the cabin during snow season with some friends. The Homewood ski area was close and convenient and gave them all the winter fun they wanted. We don't know what the Michelin Guide would say about the Two Morrows cabin, but for our family, we would give it five stars.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

Title: You'll Wish You Owned This Cabin
Rating: Excellent!
Content: I have been there twice and plan to go again. Nestled in a pine-forested lot, the cabin feels more like a home than rental property. The rooms are tastefully decorated in themes. There are cozy corners for cuddling up with a book or someone else. A fully equipped kitchen makes meal preparation easy - or walk down to the pizzeria. Lake Tahoe is also walking distance. I hiked part of the Tahoe Rim Trail and also watched the salmon spawn near South Tahoe. Next time I will try the nearby ski slopes.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would definitely recommend it to others

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: June 19, 2009

Our family and three other families had a wonderful stay last week at the Two Morrows' cabin. Roberta, the owner, was very easy to deal with and accomodating. We found the cabin to be clean and cozy--like coming to a second home! There were plenty of towels; we brought our own sheets, blankets and sleeping bags so we wouldn't need to do alot of wash. The side entrance to Sugar Pine State Park was just minutes away, so it was a nice walk with our Border Collie Nellie.

Alpine Meadows Stables is about 25 minutes away--if you get the chance to take a nice ride through a stream and beautiful wildflowers--we would encourage you to do so. This cabin was definitely a home away from home--only better! The kitchen was well-organized as well with silverware, glasses, utensils, coffee-maker, etc. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend it to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Two Morrows is for today!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: December 20, 2007

Had a great family time at Two Morrows this winter. The cabin created a magic environment of warmth, coziness, functionality, entertainment and utility. From a fully equipped kitchen to 3 cozy bedrooms and a neat living area loaded with great movies, Two Morrows offered everything we wanted and then some.
I wholly recommend the cabin for any family looking for a great experience at Tahoe. – Chandar

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Tahoma cabin was an absolute delight

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 7, 2005

The Tahoma cabin was an absolute delight - everything we needed,
more than we expected, clean and comfortable! We added this lovely home to our list of places to return to! – L

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Looking forward to another visit sometime

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 11, 2005

Roberta, Thanks so much- we had a great time. Cabin was well stocked, warm and comfortable. Reservation process was easy too!
Looking forward to another visit sometime.
Alison, Tom, Brian, and Emily

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Roberta....what a perfect place for families

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2005

Roberta....what a perfect place for families. We housed 2 families in your Tahoma home for a weekend in the snow and were very comfortable. The kids were able to roam freely without worry!Your snow plow guy kept the driveway clear for us and we pretty much had everything we needed. We had a great time and hope to see it in the summer sometime! The reservation process was simple and communication with you has been a pleasure. Thank You! Donna

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thanks a lot! We'll be back!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 23, 2004

We very much enjoyed our stay at your cabin in Tahoma over the President's weekend. We found everything we needed. The cabin is well stocked and very cozy. Very "guest friendly" and very "homey". Thanks a lot! We'll be back!
Anonymous

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a great place to stay!

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 3, 2004

The cabin was warm and cozy, the layout was just right, the furnishings were comfortable, and we found everything we needed. It definitely felt good to be there. We'll be back. Thanks Roberta!
-Sebastian, Dana & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at this cabin

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 13, 2004

As we are avid snowboarders, we definitely found the big snow we were looking for this holiday season. It was also very nice to have the Homewood Ski area just a few miles down the road. Thanks again, we had a great time.
-John P

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great cabin in nice quiet location

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 7, 2003

Great cabin in nice quiet location. Very good area for bicycles! Our whole family rode back and forth to the beach. Look forward to visiting again!
Zane & Emily

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time at your cabin

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: July 6, 2003

We had a great time at your cabin. The interior was very inviting and the deck was great for our barbeques with the kids. We hope to be back before the year is out. It was also very handy having the general store so close.

Thanks

Bill & Mercedes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Thank you so very much

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2003

After our long drive in a snow storm up to Tahoe, we were very excited to find our cabin to be so warm and welcoming. It was easy to make ourselves at home since the cabin was so spacious and everything was fully equipped. The cabin was also conveniently located near several ski resorts, which made our stay and snowboarding experience all the better. Roberta, Thank you so very much.
-Boramee & Friends

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The cabin is wonderfully cozy and comfortable

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: November 8, 2002

The cabin is wonderfully cozy and comfortable. My family had a great time relaxing in front of the woodburning stove. And with the fully-stocked kitchen, we saved a lot of money not eating out!
Thanks, we really enjoyed our trip.
Mollie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We had a great time

Review submitted: January 4, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2002

We had a great time at your home in Tahoma. The cabin was centrally located near the beach, bike trail, laundry, PDQ market, etc. My husband especially enjoyed the bike trails. He went on some marathon bike rides! We split our beach time between Chambers and Meeks. We come up here every year and have a great time! I am glad we found your rental this year on the internet! Lilly August 2002

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Two Morrows Cabin

Review submitted: June 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 18, 2009

Our family and three other families had a wonderful stay last week at the Two Morrows' cabin. Roberta, the owner, was very easy to deal with and accomodating. We found the cabin to be clean and cozy--like coming to a second home! There were plenty of towels; we brought our own sheets, blankets and sleeping bags so we wouldn't need to do alot of wash. The side entrance to Sugar Pine State Park was just minutes away, so it was a nice walk with our Border Collie Nellie.

Alpine Meadows Stables is about 25 minutes away--if you get the chance to take a nice ride through a stream and beautiful wildflowers--we would encourage you to do so. This cabin was definitely a home away from home--only better! The kitchen was well-organized as well with silverware, glasses, utensils, coffee-maker, etc. The price was very reasonable. We would definitely recommend it to others.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

The Tahoma cabin was an absolute delight - everything we needed,
more than we expected, clean and comfortable! We added this lovely home to our list of places to return to!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 11, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

Roberta, Thanks so mcuh- we had a great time. Cabin was well stocked, warm and comfortable. Reservation process was easy too!
Looking forward to another visit sometime.
Alison, Tom, Brian, and Emily Parker

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 16, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

Roberta....what a perfect place for families. We housed 2 families in your Tahoma home for a weekend in the snow and were very comfortable. The kids were able to roam freely without worry!Your snow plow guy kept the driveway clear for us and we pretty much had everything we needed. We had a great time and hope to see it in the summer sometime! The reservation process was simple and communication with you has been a pleasure. Thank You!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 23, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

We very much enjoyed our stay at your cabin in Tahoma over the President's weekend. We found everything we needed. The cabin is well stocked and very cozy. Very "guest friendly" and very "homey". Thanks a lot! We'll be back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 3, 2004   Date of arrival: February 1, 2004

What a great place to stay! The cabin was warm and cozy, the layout was just right, the furnishings were comfortable, and we found everything we needed. It definitely felt good to be there. We'll be back. Thanks Roberta!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 13, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

We had a great time at this cabin. As we are avid snowboarders, we definitely found the big snow we were looking for this holiday season. It was also very nice to have the Homewood Ski area just a few miles down the road. Thanks again, we had a great time.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 7, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

Great cabin in nice quiet location. Very good area for bicycles! Our whole family rode back and forth to the beach. Look forward to visiting again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 6, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

We had a great time at your cabin. The interior was very inviting and the deck was great for our barbeques with the kids. We hope to be back before the year is out. It was also very handy having the general store so close.

Thanks

Bill & Mercedes

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 2, 2003   Date of arrival: January 1, 2003

After our long drive in a snow storm up to Tahoe, we were very excited to find our cabin to be so warm and welcoming. It was easy to make ourselves at home since the cabin was so spacious and everything was fully equipped. The cabin was also conveniently located near several ski resorts, which made our stay and snowboarding experience all the better. Roberta, Thank you so very much.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 8, 2002   Date of arrival: November 1, 2002

The cabin is wonderfully cozy and comfortable. My family had a great time relaxing in front of the woodburning stove. And with the fully-stocked kitchen, we saved a lot of money not eating out!
Thanks, we really enjoyed our trip.
Mollie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 21, 2002   Date of arrival: August 1, 2002

We had a great time at your home in Tahoma. The cabin was centrally located near the beach, bike trail, laundry, PDQ market, etc. My husband especially enjoyed the bike trails. He went on some marathon bike rides! We split our beach time between Chambers and Meeks. We come up here every year and have a great time! I am glad we found your rental this year on the internet! Lilly August 2002

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review