reviews for: listing #16819 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Beachside w/Pool, Hurry! Last minute: $478 for Mar 14-16
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $357 /nt
    $995 - $2,550 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

No surprises, EXCEPT beach was closer than we thought...THIS WAS GREAT!

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: August 3, 2014

This home was perfect for us - 2 small families together and 2 ends of the house - which was perfect for providing our own space for each family, and the area in the middle for us to gather. The home was clean, pool sparkled and connected to the house and the beach was a short and easy walk. LOVED having the option of a pool, on busy days that we didn't feel like packing chairs and umbrellas for the beach it was great, and also taking an evening swim was such a great option.

Recommended for: families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Relaxing week

Review submitted: July 24, 2014   Date of arrival: July 13, 2014

The house was perfect, spent the whole week relaxing, caching up on family news, and enjoying family company. I have stayed at several houses on SGI and this is one of the high lights.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Gene and family, thank you for your nice comment. We are so glad that you had a restful week at Hang Ten. You are not that far away from SGI and we hope you will have an opportunity to come back soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Close to perfect

Review submitted: May 24, 2014   Date of arrival: May 11, 2014

This was our first stay at Hang Ten and we were so pleased! One of the best properties along E. Gorrie. Location to town, lighthouse, beach, and private pool made this someplace we can't wait to return to! With beach access just across the street, it made it pretty easy to get our 2 and 5 year old and all of their toys over without much hassle. The house itself was great for our family, plenty of room, and the screened in porch was really nice. Our only complaints were the pool heater either not working or never being turned on like we had asked and there was also a new mattress delivered during our stay, which was kind of a nuisance. Overall, we had an absolutely amazing time and will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly

Owners response: Katie, Thank you for the comments! We'll try to make it perfect next time. We apologize for not better handling the mattress delivery, and the pool heater diagnosis turned out to be that the thermostat had failed. (A new one is on order and should be in well before the next time it is needed.)
We are looking forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Memories to treasure

Review submitted: April 23, 2014   Date of arrival: April 12, 2014

I only have good things to say about Hang Ten and the owners. What an awesome place to take the family or just a nice get away for you and your love. We will definitely be returning and highly recommend this place above any other that we looked at. Thank you for sharing your lil' piece of paradise with us.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great House1

Review submitted: April 14, 2014   Date of arrival: April 6, 2014

We have been going to St. George for years and this is one of the best houses we have rented. Great floor plan and location to the beach.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Don't Think Twice

Review submitted: March 7, 2014   Date of arrival: March 1, 2014

Perfect beach house with fab view of the gulf directly across the street. Has everything you'll need for a perfect vacation. Big pluses are the big screened porch and the pool area. A lot of pools are right out there for all to see you, not this one. A totally private oasis where you can take a dip or just lay around on the lounge chairs sight unseen. Too chilly for us to actually use the pool but did enjoy relaxing with a book out there.
Would definitely rent Hang Ten again and given the chance so should you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Happy Happy @ Hang Ten

Review submitted: November 18, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Had a great week at Hang Ten and the Island of St George. Although it was just my wife, dogs, and myself, the house had a great set up for multiple couples or families. Excellent location and very easy access to the beach. Nice view of the Gulf right off the deck and what I really liked was the hot, cold shower located at the bottom of the stairs. We had a few cool days and rinsing the sand off our feet with the warm outdoor shower was nice. Pool is very private with a park style grill and picnic table which makes for a convenient area to dine out. We always travel with our dogs so an extendable gate is one of those items that comes in handy. This is a must have on the upper deck as there is not a gate at the top of the stairs. No biggie just a FYI for those staying with toddlers.
Over the years we've stayed in many other properties on St George and will probably stay at Hang Ten again. For the money it's a good value that offers many amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Beach house "by" the water

Review submitted: October 12, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

If you are looking for a big beach house this place is great. Don't expect anything to fancy, just a clean and comfortable house near the beach. The house itself could use a little TLC ( carpets were stained, the sink was rusting, and the door lock was falling off), but it was nice enough to hang out for a few days. Our biggest complaint was the Wi-Fi didn't work...we were able to jump on to one the neighbors a
time or two.
We happened to arrive in time for "Karen". She didn't amount to much, but there was a lot of rain. We spend one of those days in Apalachicola. Cute little town and had a great lunch at Tamera's café. Also a good place to get groceries. The one day it didn't rain, I got to use the pool which was very nice and private.
We enjoyed our trip and the beach and the house was fine for a "by" the beach get-away. Think if we went again we would get a place on the beach, though.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you for renting our house and taking your time to give us the comments! We were sorry to hear the weather wasn't that great during your stay - We also appreciate your answers to our follow-up questions - we always appreciate guests' point of view as our best resource on how to prioritize our TLC.
As our follow-up we can report that the WiFi has been confirmed to be truly fixed now;
We have replaced all the carpet with new ceramic tiles:)
The sink has been fixed too.
We are looking forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

Best Place We've Stayed at SGI

Review submitted: October 2, 2013   Date of arrival: September 26, 2013

This house was perfect for our family. We've vacationed at SGI for years and this was our favorite place thus far. We typically stay right on the beach, but you couldn't beat the location to the beach and town with this house! We are definitely returning next summer. Only issue we had was the Wi-Fi not working---but hey, really everyone needs to disconnect for a few days. so it really wasn't a problem. Place is super nice!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you for the comments! It's great to hear that Hang Ten was a good match for your family. We do apologize about the Wi-Fi troubles, but it sounds like you turned that to some good use:)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

September vacation

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This was our second trip to St George Island and second stay at Hang Ten. Although Hang Ten shows some "wear and tear"(carpet is stained in some places and the numbers on the oven knob were worn off), I would definitely recommend this place to people who want the "beach experience" without paying the beach front premium. The view is terrific; access to the beach is right across the street and convenient; and although we biked to every place, you can walk to the "downtown" area in less than ten minutes. The pool in back made for a nice place to lounge in the late afternoon, and is very private. The screen porch made a perfect place to have breakfast with a view of the ocean and a place to enjoy the ocean breeze.
We chose to visit when school was in session, so the beach was not crowded at all. Most of the restaurants were open, and we were able to get many of our supplies at one of the three convenience/grocery stores. My only real complaint with Hang Ten is a very small one: For some reason, ESPN was not available (although both ESPN2 and ESPNU were). Since this is football season, I was disappointed that I could not watch some of the games. A minor annoyance, but definitely not a "deal killer" to me.
My wife and I (and our dog) had been looking forward to this trip for several months, and were not disappointed. I think if you book Hang Ten you won't be disappointed either. We are already planning our return trip for next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We have installed new tile floor for Hang Ten. Being pet friendly, we hope the tile floor will do better than carpet. We also bought a brand new stove.
We are looking forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Excellent Stay

Review submitted: September 3, 2013   Date of arrival: August 23, 2013

We had a great time at your place. The floor plan was perfect for us - me plus wife and two single adult daughters. The house had lots of room (great sized living room, etc) plus a beautifully equipped kitchen. As I think you are well aware, the oven is not working so that was a disappointment. My wife had a couple of egg dishes planned that we had to skip, etc. Also, we found that the wi-fi connection was spotty. Both of my daughters had some work to do that required that they be on line. It just didn't work all the time. We reset the modem many times, etc. It would just come and go. It finally did work well enough for them to transmit documents, etc.
We thought the pool was great and we spent a lot of time at the beach, too. We love the laid back atmosphere of SGI. When/if we return, we'll definitely keep Hang Ten in mind. Loved that our dogs could be there, too. Thank you! Tom Miller

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Tom,
Thank you for your comments! We are surely glad to hear you had a great time! We apologize that you had trouble with the stove and WiFi. We actually did not know that either had any problem, and we appreciate you letting us know. We strive to not let any issue remain unattended, and we will try to contact you to get some more information. We'll arrange to have these fixed as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great beach vacation

Review submitted: June 12, 2013   Date of arrival: June 9, 2013

we really enjoyed this house! its definitely a great location.. very clean and very roomy!
having that private pool was wonderful! sitting on the deck after a fun day at the beach was really great watching and listening to the ocean. thank goodness Andrea only took one sunny day from us..
yes I recommend this home for others .. we love the Owl restaurant in Appalachacola for a good meal
the owner has been very nice and helpful!.. too bad we only had a week there... and I thank you for allowing our doggies to vacation with us too !

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Great beach house!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 17, 2013

Excellent house with a great layout. Proximity to the beach was perfect. Very clean and comfortable beds. We'd definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

My family and I LOVED your home!

Review submitted: June 2, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

My family and I LOVED your home - it was absolutely perfect for us! I've been going to SGI for weekend/weeks for about the past 10-12 years, and the location of Hang Ten was the best one ever!

Thank you for a fantastic week!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

I've been vacationing in/enjoying St. George Island for the past 10+ years...and this was the greatest rental. The location is perfect - across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everywhere you'd want to go. The Estuarine was a new discovery, and an ideal hike. The house, yard and pool were clean and well maintained, and I love that there's only a neighbor on one side. The layout is perfect - the bedrooms at the far end are removed so you could have private, quiet time if needed. My family & dog & I have never enjoyed a vacation more!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Wonderful week in paradise!

Review submitted: May 27, 2013   Date of arrival: May 19, 2013

My husband & I just spent a week in your beautiful home & our only regret is that we didnt book it for 2 weeks! We loved the house, it has a great floor plan, & we had everything we could have possibly wanted. The pool was so nice, we had fantastic weather & the water was warm & perfect. We loved the location of the house. It was close enough to all of the restaurants that we walked or rode our bikes to everything. We enjoyed sitting on the deck, & saw dolphins swimming by. This was our first visit to St. George & we will definetly be back . We will be planning our next visit to your home soon. Thank you for sharing it with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for the comments! We know how you feel, our stays are never long enough, and we really hit it lucky with the house and location. We're looking forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Amazing views!

Review submitted: May 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 12, 2013

Thank you for sharing your home with us...the views were breathtaking! We loved the location and the beautiful decks. The pool was an added bonus but was very cloudy which concerned us. The layout of the home was wonderful but we were disappointed by it needing some TLC. Would love to book again if there were some updates (refrigerator rusted, dining table water stains, couches worn, stains and pet hair on carpets, chipped paint, etc.)

You have an amazing home that with some updates/TLC would be one we would highly recommend.

Owners response: Thank you for the comments, we appreciate all feedback. Hang Ten does get plenty of TLC, our regular guests can attest to that. We actually had already ordered a new refrigerator - unfortunately it was back-ordered since we went for a quieter but less-common model. The sofas are top-of-the-line Stanley Chair brand and only 18 months old, but they may appear differently than you expected. We do apologize for any housekeeping issues, we are blessed with a good housekeeper and problems are rare, but we do encourage guests to contact our service immediately if there is a problem. They promise, and have always delivered, prompt action. We note that the previous guest wrote that a cloudy pool condition (common at this time of year, lots of overnight storms) was corrected immediately after the service was contacted. We did discuss your experience with our house keeper and they have taken steps to assure that this won't happened again. We are looking forward to your return, most of our guests are return customers!
******Updated on Dec 2013******
Hang Ten now has beautiful tile floor, new stove and new refrigerator.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

As comfortable as your own homw

Review submitted: May 1, 2013   Date of arrival: April 14, 2013

Our second happy visit to Hang Ten and the photos and listing descriptions remain perfect. The property was ready and cleaned despite a horrible hail and rain storm just before our arrival. No damage to the house or property. The pool is so private and in a wonderful landscaped setting. Had one issue with the water becoming murky soon after arrival but the company maintaining the property responded promptly to resolve the problem and returned for followup. Being able to see and hear the waves even though located across the little street gave us all the benefits of ocean front without the expense of ocean front properties. The owner is very welcoming and prompt in all transactions and you can count on his honesty and reliability.I recommend a visit to Wakulla Springs State Park and take the river boat ride. The closeup interaction with the spring and wildlife is remarkable. I recommend this island and house to all. We spent 2 weeks here on this visit and even the dog is relaxed.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We greatly appreciate comments, especially comments like this that affirm our belief that we have three of the true gems of St. George Island: the house, Hang Ten; our housekeeping and maintenance service; and last but not least, our guests.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Spacious!

Review submitted: January 24, 2013   Date of arrival: January 12, 2013

This is a great beach house. Lots of space and very well equipped. I loved sitting at the dining room table and looking out the big patio doors to the gulf. I was there in January. It was warm enough for walks on the beach. I took a bicycle -- it's a fantastic place to bike.
The area is not so touristy. AND GREAT OYSTERS.
I will deffinetely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We've enjoyed every minute

Review submitted: January 9, 2013   Date of arrival: August 19, 2012

This is our second stay at the Hang Ten & we've enjoyed every minute.
The youngest member of our family - 6 yr. old - learned to swim in the pool this week!
We saw dolphins, played cards, went to the beautiful state park & played on the beach.
We love this place!

The Brouns and The Bryants
(Ringgold, GA and LaFayette,GA)

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hang Ten at Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The property was fantastic.

Unfortunatly we had to cut it short ... it seems as though we got food poisoning and my wife and daughter became very ill ...

But the proerty was excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh my! We're so sorry to hear about the food poisoning!
We thank you for your comments, and hope you will return to the island soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We love Hang Ten

Review submitted: January 6, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

This was our second stay at Hang Ten and it was even better than last year. The 2 sleeping areas are perfect for me and my husband with our 3 adult children + our four-legged family members. If all goes well we'll be back next year for another great get-away. Thanks for sharing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make a Special Memory

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We brought our two daughters , their husbands and Mother Down for the week
We had a marvelous time staying in your home. Thanks for letting us stay in Hang Ten and make a special memory.

The Andrews Family from Ringgold, GA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had an Amazing Time

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We had an amazing time at SGI & especially at Hang Ten.
We are already planning for our vacation next year.
Thank you so much for allowing our (son) the puppy to stay with us. It wouldn't be a family vacation without him.
We loved blue parrot, ate there everynight. See dolphins every AM & PM.
Thanks again for renting out your wonderful & amazing place!

The Ellens & Cromjoells

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Hello from the Schweitzers. This is our third time to SGI- we absoloutely love it here. Hang Ten was a fantastic place to stay. The view of the beach- awesome! The pool- an added bonus! I think we stayed in the pool more than the beach! We did get to see the dolphins swim by a couple times. We also did a dolphin tour. The entire family loved that. If Hang Ten is still free the next time we are ready for the beach again, we will surely book it!
On another note please fix some loose boards/spindles as you are walking down the steps as well as the wheel from the top deck. That made me extremely nervous with my 3 year old son.**
Overall, our stay was great!I will reccomend this place to everyone. Well maybe not everyone, I want to be able to book my next trip. :)
Thank you very much for letting us stay in your beautiful house. We will be back.

The Schweitzers
from Missouri


**Note: Thank you for letting us know. The handrails and spindles have been secured. ---owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Coolest House On the Beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Hi, Thank you so much for letting our family stay in Hang Ten. It has been a pleasure. We liked everything here. we are not a picky family. The pool was so warm. My brother had fun taking crabs out of it. I love the way we could watch the ocean from the screened in porch. It was just so peaceful. Lovely home. Lovely setting. We will be back.

Sincerely,
The Carleys
Atlanta, GA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Sheer perfection, the pool was so great...felt so wonderful after a hot day at the beach...I loved being able to relax & relax & relax...Thank you for sharing your home with us. Also great fishing and we loved watching the dophins!
Thanks for all
Hope to be see you again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

St George is the Best!!!!

Review submitted: May 24, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

We loved the layout of the house. Easy beach access. The owner was real helpful. The pool was real nice. Not much traffic, or noise..we enjoyed it very much.
The livingroom sofa's need updating. The kitchen is well stocked with everything.
We loved the location too.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Owners response: We appreciate your feedback. A set of new couches is on the way!

New couches have arrived. Come and enjoy! Plus we have installed new tile floor for Kitchen and dining area!

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time

Review submitted: January 25, 2011   Date of arrival: January 1, 2011

My husband and three adult children enjoyed a restful week at Hang Ten. The weather was beautiful our entire stay. The two separate living areas made it easy to get away from each other when needed and the easy walk to the downtown area was very convenient. More...
By Lynn Hart from Decatur, GA on 01/01/2011

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Our stay at Hang Ten was very relaxing and ejoyable. We were very comfortable in the house and the property was exactly what we had hoped for. The location and ameneties, such as the very private pool and the proximity for the beach were fantastic. The only snag in our vacation was a misunderstanding between Collins Realty and us concerning the pool heater fee. Prior to our booking the property, I specifically asked Collins by e-mail what additional fees aside from the rental price were associated. My e-mail specifically asked whether there were additional fees for heating the pool and housekeeping. The response from Collins was that everything was included in the rental price and Collins forwarded a list of ameneties and indicated that everything checked off on the document were included in the rental price. When we got to the property, we found out that there was, in fact, an additional fee to have the pool heater turned on. I was a little upset at first, but since we wanted a property with a heated pool, we would have paid the fee either way and considered this a misunderstanding and a very minor issue. We would definitely stay at Hang Ten again and recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Stay at Hang Ten

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We were most happy with our stay at Hang Ten on St George Island. The house was very appropriate for our group, very clean, well equiped nice private pool, and good location. We liked the short walk to the beach without the beachfront price. There is ample parking, and the street traffic is light. All in all a very nice stay. If I could change one thing it would be the late check in time 4:ooPM ??? We think that 2:00PM would be much better. I undrstand that house keeping needs time to work but 4 hours should be enough. More...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hang Ten ~ Awesome!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We have been coming to SGI for close to 10 yrs now and always had our "eye" on Hang Ten, but it was always rented. This year we were able to book it 8 months out. It has the most perfect layout for 2 couples. We traveled with as 2 couples and invited a friend to come along. Each couple had their own master bedroom/bathroom and our friend had the 3rd bedroom and hall bath. The rooms are set up in a way where they are totally quiet and private from each other. My husband called our side of the house "The West Wing". Hee! It has a screened in porch with a nice table that was perfect for morning breakfasts and the uncovered deck was great for water views and of course, dolphin watching, which we saw almost every day. The pool was nice and very private. It pretty much had some sort of shade and sun during most of the day. The shade helped to keep the pool nice and cool for the hot, hot days we had. The beauty of Hang Ten is it's location, privacy, and layout. We love to rent different houses every year, but it looks like Hang Ten may have to become our official home away from home! Excellent home, well stocked, perfect vacation. Thanks Collins and Hang Ten! P.S....As always, Collins' staff was friendly and helpful. Can't wait til next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Beauty of Hang Ten.

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2010

This home was private for each of our family..we each had our own bedroom / bathroom. The layout was open and spacious. The pool " made" a perfect accentuation. The beach was within seconds from our front door.The ocean view from the deck was incredible as we were able to see the dophins swimming daily.Everything about Hang Ten makes you want to return. More...

· By Thomas Swogger from New Castle, Pennsylvania on 8/25/2010 for a stay in 8/1/2010

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great get a way

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

The weather was not the best, but with a great family the stay was wonderful. Would stay hear again and Collins is the best.
More...

· By RBWlizard from Monroe, Louisiana on 5/28/2009 for a stay in 8/1/2008

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great for Kids

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

This home was ideal for kids and pets. Just across the street from the beach but with a wonderful view of the gulf. It had room for the boat and a great pool for the kids to enjoy with privacy. More...

· By arnieg from Auburn, AL on 5/23/2009 for a stay in 6/1/2008

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Dream Vacation

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

This was a wonderful place to stay with 3 teenagers, the way the house is laid out we all had some privacy. We also loved having a pool when we wanted a break from the beach.I loved the screened in porch for family fun at night. Just a short walk to the beach and the view of the ocean from the house was also better than I expected, I wish I was there right now. More...

· By McDaniels from Hoschton Ga. on 5/22/2009 for a stay in 5/1/2008

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house-Good for multiple families

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This is a really nice house. Located right across the street from the beach. Nice layout with two master bedrooms on separate ends of the house. Nice pool. Perfect location. Unobstructed views of beach. More...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Best Rental for the Money

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

Hang Ten is nicely furnished and has great layout with two master bedroom suites. Kitchen is opened to living room area so the cook/chef is part of the action. The cottage has excellent beach access. The pool is small but very private. It is an excellent value for the rental price. More...

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Beach Vacation Home

Review submitted: September 1, 2010   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed in this house and we love it. Although it is big for only two people, my husband and I like it because of it's proximity to the beach and that it has a private pool. The house itself is nicely kept-up and fairly spacious, though the decor is becoming just a little dated. All in all we plan to stay here again and I would recommend this house to other vacationers ! More...

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Hang Ten Awesome

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

We went to the Island for my son's first birthday and had agreat time. The house was wonderful and was perfect for everyone there. We loved sitting on the screened in porch at night listening to the waves across the street. We were already talking about coming back next year before we ever left. Very highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Real down time

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We (Cel & Wanda) spent a week at Hang Ten with both of our dogs and we all had a wonderful time. The pool area is great and very private unlike all the others we saw. The beach was only a shell toss away and not crowded. The mornings were quiet and the evening bike rides were soothing. The house is really made for a lot more people but we did enjoy being in a big house all by ourselves. The lay out is great if you wanted to have guest or partner with friends. I would stay at this property again and plan to in the future. The location is great and easy access to all shops on the island. I look forward to coming again. We met the wonderful family that runs the produce stand just as you come off the island, they shared with us this wonderful easy way to travel back to Marietta that took off at least an hour or more. Plus they have great veggies.

Hope all that stay here have a great time like we did. Precious and Belle enjoyed it just as much. Oh and the screen porch was great at night for relaxing. More...

· By Wanda Bazanta from Marietta, Georgia on 5/13/2009 for a stay in 4/1/2009

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fun times

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

My daughters and I loved this house, especially the private pool. You could suntan in your birthday suit if you dare to bare, it was that private. The bedrooms were set up nicely. The beach view was unobstructed even though the house sat across the street from it. There was a footpath that lead to the beach across the street that was easily accessable.

We love St. George Island, and have been faithful customers of Collins Vacation Rentals. I wouldn't rent from anybody else. The people at Collins are very friendly. We get great service, and the website is easy to navigate.

When we plan a stay at St. George Island, be it over a long weekend (4 days) or a week or so, we can always count on Collins Vacation Rentals to accomodate us beautifully.

We look forward to more great St. George getaways and will be calling on Collins Rentals again and again.

Thanks as always for great times at the beach!

Carol Harwood and family and friends More...

· By Carol Harwood from tallahassee, florida on 5/21/2009 for a stay in 4/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

St. Georgia Island is about as close as it gets to

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

As always, Collins and its emplyees were great. This is the tenth year we have vacationed on St. George Island. Each year has left us with wonderful memories and so anxious to come again. The house, Hang Ten, and its location, were perfect for our family. The living room, dining rooma and kitchen were central to the house and gave the family the ideal place for togetherness. The master bedroom was to the right of the central area and also opened onto a screened-in porch, which was perfect for enjoying the early mornings and late evenings, without having to worry about the bugs. The other two bedrooms were to the left, giving privacy to everyone when needed. The thing we like the best was the opportunity to come once again to this great island and this house was super. The pool was excellent, and the fenced in area included a grill and picnic table, which was super for our Fourth of July cookout. The thing that we liked least was having to leave. See you next year!!!
P.S. Please let Aunt Ebby's still be here on the island.

· By A vacation filled with lots of fun and lasting memories from Hang Ten on 7/21/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We stayed 7 nights and the accommodations were great for 8 people. The 3 bathrooms are a definite plus! The pool came in handy for those times we needed a change of pace from the beach. We utilized the Kitchen, outdoor grill and fish cleaning sink also. Those support items added to the enjoyment of out trip. I almost forgot..the screened porch as it became a shaded breezy reading station for all. In addition we discovered a crab that would appear each evening from a small hole in the sand just infront of the screened porch. He seems to enjoy bits of fish left at his burrow! Hang Ten is a definite consideration for a return visit!

· By Browningsrus from Gray. GA on 8/5/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

I can't say enough great things about Hang Ten. The lcoaiton is perfect. Although you're not right on the beach, the path is immediately across the street and less than a minute to the surf! The pool is fantastic and totally private. the best part of the house is the layout - two masters make it perfect for two couples to share without either having to sacarafice the "nicer room" - plus there is a third bed/bath that is perfect for little ones. The house is spacious and the kitchen is well-stocked.

This is the third house we have stayed in on our many trips to St. George, and it was by far our favorite.

· By Kcmitc from Atlanta, GA on 10/22/2009 for a stay in 10/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very comfortable and affordable

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We enjoyed the house very much and the off season rate made it affordable. The location was very convenient to the beach and the pet friendly was nice for the dog although the sand spurs required we carry him from the house to the beach. The pool was nice for getting out of the wind. The numerous windows were nice for cross ventilation and the fans all worked and were quiet. Suggested upgrades would be more comfortable chairs in main room for people with low back pain, couches were too low and soft. The AC unit could be improved before summer, it barely kept up during the day in October. The location was very convenient for travel to the mainland and the island grocer.

· By Bob & Susan, Aubrey, Phil, & Megan from Columbia Tn on 11/12/2009 for a stay in 10/1/2009

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hang ten Awesome

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

WE had a fantastic time and were quite lucky the weather cooperated. Even tho our family was from Tallahassee, Fl. we still felt like we were a million miles away. We needed a pet friendly house and it certaily was as much fun for the dog as well. The view was wonderful and the sound of the ocean still didn't seem far away even tho we were across the street. Thanks for a great week.

· By judy from Hang ten on 4/7/2010 for a stay in 4/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review