reviews for: listing #16819 - St George Island, Florida House rental

Beachside w/Pool, Hurry! Last minute: $478 for Mar 14-16
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  9
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $145 - $357 /nt
    $995 - $2,550 /wk
    $2,200 - $2,200 /mth

sort by:

September vacation

Review submitted: September 18, 2013   Date of arrival: September 8, 2013

This was our second trip to St George Island and second stay at Hang Ten. Although Hang Ten shows some "wear and tear"(carpet is stained in some places and the numbers on the oven knob were worn off), I would definitely recommend this place to people who want the "beach experience" without paying the beach front premium. The view is terrific; access to the beach is right across the street and convenient; and although we biked to every place, you can walk to the "downtown" area in less than ten minutes. The pool in back made for a nice place to lounge in the late afternoon, and is very private. The screen porch made a perfect place to have breakfast with a view of the ocean and a place to enjoy the ocean breeze.
We chose to visit when school was in session, so the beach was not crowded at all. Most of the restaurants were open, and we were able to get many of our supplies at one of the three convenience/grocery stores. My only real complaint with Hang Ten is a very small one: For some reason, ESPN was not available (although both ESPN2 and ESPNU were). Since this is football season, I was disappointed that I could not watch some of the games. A minor annoyance, but definitely not a "deal killer" to me.
My wife and I (and our dog) had been looking forward to this trip for several months, and were not disappointed. I think if you book Hang Ten you won't be disappointed either. We are already planning our return trip for next year.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking your time to write a review for us. We have installed new tile floor for Hang Ten. Being pet friendly, we hope the tile floor will do better than carpet. We also bought a brand new stove.
We are looking forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect location!

Review submitted: June 1, 2013   Date of arrival: May 5, 2013

I've been vacationing in/enjoying St. George Island for the past 10+ years...and this was the greatest rental. The location is perfect - across the street from the beach and within walking distance of everywhere you'd want to go. The Estuarine was a new discovery, and an ideal hike. The house, yard and pool were clean and well maintained, and I love that there's only a neighbor on one side. The layout is perfect - the bedrooms at the far end are removed so you could have private, quiet time if needed. My family & dog & I have never enjoyed a vacation more!

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Hang Ten at Thanksgiving

Review submitted: December 1, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The property was fantastic.

Unfortunatly we had to cut it short ... it seems as though we got food poisoning and my wife and daughter became very ill ...

But the proerty was excellent.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Oh my! We're so sorry to hear about the food poisoning!
We thank you for your comments, and hope you will return to the island soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Make a Special Memory

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: October 16, 2011

We brought our two daughters , their husbands and Mother Down for the week
We had a marvelous time staying in your home. Thanks for letting us stay in Hang Ten and make a special memory.

The Andrews Family from Ringgold, GA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Had an Amazing Time

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: August 14, 2011

We had an amazing time at SGI & especially at Hang Ten.
We are already planning for our vacation next year.
Thank you so much for allowing our (son) the puppy to stay with us. It wouldn't be a family vacation without him.
We loved blue parrot, ate there everynight. See dolphins every AM & PM.
Thanks again for renting out your wonderful & amazing place!

The Ellens & Cromjoells

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We Will Be Back

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: July 17, 2011

Hello from the Schweitzers. This is our third time to SGI- we absoloutely love it here. Hang Ten was a fantastic place to stay. The view of the beach- awesome! The pool- an added bonus! I think we stayed in the pool more than the beach! We did get to see the dolphins swim by a couple times. We also did a dolphin tour. The entire family loved that. If Hang Ten is still free the next time we are ready for the beach again, we will surely book it!
On another note please fix some loose boards/spindles as you are walking down the steps as well as the wheel from the top deck. That made me extremely nervous with my 3 year old son.**
Overall, our stay was great!I will reccomend this place to everyone. Well maybe not everyone, I want to be able to book my next trip. :)
Thank you very much for letting us stay in your beautiful house. We will be back.

The Schweitzers
from Missouri


**Note: Thank you for letting us know. The handrails and spindles have been secured. ---owner

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Most Coolest House On the Beach

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: May 29, 2011

Hi, Thank you so much for letting our family stay in Hang Ten. It has been a pleasure. We liked everything here. we are not a picky family. The pool was so warm. My brother had fun taking crabs out of it. I love the way we could watch the ocean from the screened in porch. It was just so peaceful. Lovely home. Lovely setting. We will be back.

Sincerely,
The Carleys
Atlanta, GA.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We loved everything!

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: May 9, 2011

Sheer perfection, the pool was so great...felt so wonderful after a hot day at the beach...I loved being able to relax & relax & relax...Thank you for sharing your home with us. Also great fishing and we loved watching the dophins!
Thanks for all
Hope to be see you again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Very relaxing

Review submitted: October 29, 2010   Date of arrival: October 17, 2010

Our stay at Hang Ten was very relaxing and ejoyable. We were very comfortable in the house and the property was exactly what we had hoped for. The location and ameneties, such as the very private pool and the proximity for the beach were fantastic. The only snag in our vacation was a misunderstanding between Collins Realty and us concerning the pool heater fee. Prior to our booking the property, I specifically asked Collins by e-mail what additional fees aside from the rental price were associated. My e-mail specifically asked whether there were additional fees for heating the pool and housekeeping. The response from Collins was that everything was included in the rental price and Collins forwarded a list of ameneties and indicated that everything checked off on the document were included in the rental price. When we got to the property, we found out that there was, in fact, an additional fee to have the pool heater turned on. I was a little upset at first, but since we wanted a property with a heated pool, we would have paid the fee either way and considered this a misunderstanding and a very minor issue. We would definitely stay at Hang Ten again and recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Our Stay at Hang Ten

Review submitted: October 9, 2010   Date of arrival: October 3, 2010

We were most happy with our stay at Hang Ten on St George Island. The house was very appropriate for our group, very clean, well equiped nice private pool, and good location. We liked the short walk to the beach without the beachfront price. There is ample parking, and the street traffic is light. All in all a very nice stay. If I could change one thing it would be the late check in time 4:ooPM ??? We think that 2:00PM would be much better. I undrstand that house keeping needs time to work but 4 hours should be enough. More...

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hang Ten ~ Awesome!!

Review submitted: September 22, 2010   Date of arrival: September 20, 2010

We have been coming to SGI for close to 10 yrs now and always had our "eye" on Hang Ten, but it was always rented. This year we were able to book it 8 months out. It has the most perfect layout for 2 couples. We traveled with as 2 couples and invited a friend to come along. Each couple had their own master bedroom/bathroom and our friend had the 3rd bedroom and hall bath. The rooms are set up in a way where they are totally quiet and private from each other. My husband called our side of the house "The West Wing". Hee! It has a screened in porch with a nice table that was perfect for morning breakfasts and the uncovered deck was great for water views and of course, dolphin watching, which we saw almost every day. The pool was nice and very private. It pretty much had some sort of shade and sun during most of the day. The shade helped to keep the pool nice and cool for the hot, hot days we had. The beauty of Hang Ten is it's location, privacy, and layout. We love to rent different houses every year, but it looks like Hang Ten may have to become our official home away from home! Excellent home, well stocked, perfect vacation. Thanks Collins and Hang Ten! P.S....As always, Collins' staff was friendly and helpful. Can't wait til next year!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Hang Ten Awesome

Review submitted: August 29, 2010   Date of arrival: August 26, 2010

We went to the Island for my son's first birthday and had agreat time. The house was wonderful and was perfect for everyone there. We loved sitting on the screened in porch at night listening to the waves across the street. We were already talking about coming back next year before we ever left. Very highly recommended.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Real down time

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We (Cel & Wanda) spent a week at Hang Ten with both of our dogs and we all had a wonderful time. The pool area is great and very private unlike all the others we saw. The beach was only a shell toss away and not crowded. The mornings were quiet and the evening bike rides were soothing. The house is really made for a lot more people but we did enjoy being in a big house all by ourselves. The lay out is great if you wanted to have guest or partner with friends. I would stay at this property again and plan to in the future. The location is great and easy access to all shops on the island. I look forward to coming again. We met the wonderful family that runs the produce stand just as you come off the island, they shared with us this wonderful easy way to travel back to Marietta that took off at least an hour or more. Plus they have great veggies.

Hope all that stay here have a great time like we did. Precious and Belle enjoyed it just as much. Oh and the screen porch was great at night for relaxing. More...

· By Wanda Bazanta from Marietta, Georgia on 5/13/2009 for a stay in 4/1/2009

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

fun times

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

My daughters and I loved this house, especially the private pool. You could suntan in your birthday suit if you dare to bare, it was that private. The bedrooms were set up nicely. The beach view was unobstructed even though the house sat across the street from it. There was a footpath that lead to the beach across the street that was easily accessable.

We love St. George Island, and have been faithful customers of Collins Vacation Rentals. I wouldn't rent from anybody else. The people at Collins are very friendly. We get great service, and the website is easy to navigate.

When we plan a stay at St. George Island, be it over a long weekend (4 days) or a week or so, we can always count on Collins Vacation Rentals to accomodate us beautifully.

We look forward to more great St. George getaways and will be calling on Collins Rentals again and again.

Thanks as always for great times at the beach!

Carol Harwood and family and friends More...

· By Carol Harwood from tallahassee, florida on 5/21/2009 for a stay in 4/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

St. Georgia Island is about as close as it gets to

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

As always, Collins and its emplyees were great. This is the tenth year we have vacationed on St. George Island. Each year has left us with wonderful memories and so anxious to come again. The house, Hang Ten, and its location, were perfect for our family. The living room, dining rooma and kitchen were central to the house and gave the family the ideal place for togetherness. The master bedroom was to the right of the central area and also opened onto a screened-in porch, which was perfect for enjoying the early mornings and late evenings, without having to worry about the bugs. The other two bedrooms were to the left, giving privacy to everyone when needed. The thing we like the best was the opportunity to come once again to this great island and this house was super. The pool was excellent, and the fenced in area included a grill and picnic table, which was super for our Fourth of July cookout. The thing that we liked least was having to leave. See you next year!!!
P.S. Please let Aunt Ebby's still be here on the island.

· By A vacation filled with lots of fun and lasting memories from Hang Ten on 7/21/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Location, Location, Location!

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2009

We stayed 7 nights and the accommodations were great for 8 people. The 3 bathrooms are a definite plus! The pool came in handy for those times we needed a change of pace from the beach. We utilized the Kitchen, outdoor grill and fish cleaning sink also. Those support items added to the enjoyment of out trip. I almost forgot..the screened porch as it became a shaded breezy reading station for all. In addition we discovered a crab that would appear each evening from a small hole in the sand just infront of the screened porch. He seems to enjoy bits of fish left at his burrow! Hang Ten is a definite consideration for a return visit!

· By Browningsrus from Gray. GA on 8/5/2009 for a stay in 7/1/2009

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great house, great location

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

I can't say enough great things about Hang Ten. The lcoaiton is perfect. Although you're not right on the beach, the path is immediately across the street and less than a minute to the surf! The pool is fantastic and totally private. the best part of the house is the layout - two masters make it perfect for two couples to share without either having to sacarafice the "nicer room" - plus there is a third bed/bath that is perfect for little ones. The house is spacious and the kitchen is well-stocked.

This is the third house we have stayed in on our many trips to St. George, and it was by far our favorite.

· By Kcmitc from Atlanta, GA on 10/22/2009 for a stay in 10/1/2009

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

very comfortable and affordable

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: October 1, 2009

We enjoyed the house very much and the off season rate made it affordable. The location was very convenient to the beach and the pet friendly was nice for the dog although the sand spurs required we carry him from the house to the beach. The pool was nice for getting out of the wind. The numerous windows were nice for cross ventilation and the fans all worked and were quiet. Suggested upgrades would be more comfortable chairs in main room for people with low back pain, couches were too low and soft. The AC unit could be improved before summer, it barely kept up during the day in October. The location was very convenient for travel to the mainland and the island grocer.

· By Bob & Susan, Aubrey, Phil, & Megan from Columbia Tn on 11/12/2009 for a stay in 10/1/2009

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hang ten Awesome

Review submitted: August 15, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

WE had a fantastic time and were quite lucky the weather cooperated. Even tho our family was from Tallahassee, Fl. we still felt like we were a million miles away. We needed a pet friendly house and it certaily was as much fun for the dog as well. The view was wonderful and the sound of the ocean still didn't seem far away even tho we were across the street. Thanks for a great week.

· By judy from Hang ten on 4/7/2010 for a stay in 4/1/2010

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review