reviews for: listing #16855 - Folly Beach, South Carolina Condo rental

Oceanfront Condominium - Right on the Beach!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  Condo
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Seaside Villas I
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,300 - $2,537 /wk
    $1,600 - $1,800 /mth

sort by:

Great view

Review submitted: August 13, 2014   Date of arrival: July 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The location was perfect and within walking distance of everything. The condo itself was okay and comfortable. The wireless internet went out some. The only thing to me that was negative was a service charge for using a credit card which came out of the deposit. I would definitely stay there again but would pay by check.

Recommended for: age 55+, people with disabilities, families with teenagers

Owners response: Hey Penny,
Thanks so much for your review. We hope to hear from you again soon.
I totally agree with your thoughts on the credit card fee. That's why I have the following notes on my response letter and posted on the web site. "Payments may be made by credit card (3.5% processing fee will be added), e-check, bank draft or personal check." I'd much rather our guest have a nice meal than pay that fee.

I think I had mentioned to you that Comcast Cable had an equipment problem but the problem was restored relatively quickly (even for Comcast). Sorry you experience the outages.

We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation 2014

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

WOW! What an amazing place to spend family time. The condo was absolutely perfect the beach, the pier and downtown Folly all within a few steps. We had a little rain so we enjoyed family game night. I thank you for your hospitality and we
definitely plan on another trip soon! Looking forward to our return, The Elliott's

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Theresa. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Vacation

Review submitted: August 3, 2014   Date of arrival: July 26, 2014

We thought the view was lovely and really enjoyed sitting on the balcony. It was really nice being walking distance to restaurants and shops. We had 6 adults and had plenty of room. Having access to beach chairs was nice also. Thank you for being timely in your responses to my many questions.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Marcia & Todd,
Thanks for staying with us and we hope that you return soon.
Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Folly Beach Condo

Review submitted: July 14, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

After spending a week at Folly Beach I am refreshed and ready to go back to work. I took 4 of my grand daughters (three 12 year olds and one 15 year old) and we had a blast. The condo was perfect for our needs. The beds were great and the seating in the living and dining room was right on. The girls could walk to Bert's when I needed something from the store. They also loved the convenience of walking to downtown shops. The view was the best. The owners were very easy and helpful. I would recommend this condo for any vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Laura. You and your granddaughters are always welcome!

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

50th Anniversay

Review submitted: June 24, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

The Condo was in excellent condition and very comfortable. The location was very close to the Beach and within walking distance to excellent eating establishments. The Fishing Pier was a bonus. The Condo was well furnished with everything needed to make our stay very enjoyable. This location is a winner!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Jim,
Thanks so much for your review and we wish you many more anniversaries.
Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful!!!

Review submitted: June 22, 2014   Date of arrival: June 14, 2014

I would just like to say Thank You for making our vacation worry free. This condo was in the perfect location - perfect view, close to the Pier, and Center St.

I also want to say a thank you from my sister who is an amputee. This condo exceeded our expectations for her. Folly Beach is handicap accessible for someone in a wheelchair, there were ramps everywhere. She was able to participate in our vacation, not just watch from the balcony.

The condo had everything we needed (except a pizza cutter, lol). We are already trying to plan for next year, and to make this our go-to vacation place. Thank you so much!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: What a wonderful review and comments Kim. And we're so happy to know that your sister was able to get on the beach. That means a lot to us. I promise to have a pizza cutter for you next time as well as a pizza.......

Take care and we hope to hear from y'all again soon.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Best of the Beach and Charleston

Review submitted: June 1, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

The condo is in a magnificent location on Folly Beach. We've stayed here several times and have always found it clean and well-appointed with everything needed to make it a home away from home. The views of the beach and nearby pier can't be beat. The beds are comfortable (worth mentioning since I've stayed in other beachfront places where this is not the case), and the owners have also taken care to install a shower head that provides good water pressure (another area that can be lacking in some beach rentals). Moreover, this rental gives you all the relaxation of the beach with easy access to some of the best restaurants in America in nearby Charleston just 20-30 minutes away. You can't beat it.

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Gary. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best location and great price

Review submitted: May 31, 2014   Date of arrival: May 24, 2014

Could not be a better location for everything in Folly Beach. 3 bed and 3 bath was perfect for us, with plenty of room for 6 people. All the comforts we what you would expect to have a great vacation. We plan to back again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review David. We look forward to your return.
Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

So cute and fabulous location!

Review submitted: May 13, 2014   Date of arrival: April 5, 2014

What a great spot near the Folly Beach pier. We loved the condo and it's amenities. The location allows you to park the car for the whole trip and walk everywhere. We will be back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review Laura. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for any trip to Folly Beach

Review submitted: April 30, 2014   Date of arrival: April 20, 2014

This lovely condo is RIGHT next to the Folly Beach Pier. It is walking distance to Center street and easily biked from anywhere on the island. The condo has a great beach feel to it and we had a fabulous time. You could not ask for a more fabulous view of the ocean. We took a 2 family trip there for Spring Break with adults and kids from 7-14 years old and it was great for all of us! We will definitely stay again and my 7 yo is trying to pin me down to go back next year! Thanks for sharing this great place with us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Tara,

Thanks so much for you review. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great beach front property

Review submitted: October 16, 2013   Date of arrival: October 5, 2013

We were very pleased with our stay at this rental. It was very close to the restraunts. It was nice to be able to walk right out onto the beach from the property. We would definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your review Aimee. WE look forward to your return.

Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Vacation to remember

Review submitted: September 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

The condo was all you could ask for. Spacious, comfy, great location. It was the groups first time to the Charleston area and Folly Beach.We all had a great time, the view from the deck was magnificent. Very convenient to the beach and within walking distance to eating, drinking and shopping establishments.
The only thing you needed to take to the condo was personal items and groceries and you were set. Stay at home and cook or walk to your favorite restaurant for dinner, take a walk on the beach, what ever your heart desires its what you could do. That is what a vacation is all about. I felt so relax after being there for a week I truly did not want to go home. Folly beach is pet friendly and many people had their dogs and cleaned up after them. It is a short drive in to downtown Charleston with lots of things to do. The Aquarium was great, the market was fun and the boat tours around the harbour gave you insight to the history. I recommend this place to anyone and will be coming back for more.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Regina. We look forward to your return.

Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Great time!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We had the most wonderful time, with the most relaxing view of the beach and water. We are totally grateful for the time with our family at a spot we all could enjoy.

The condo fit our needs perfectly, right down to your selection of porch furniture (tall chairs were comfy and allowed unobstructed views of the beach). The place was clean and comfortable--your website depicted it well. Your price was very fair and affordable. Thanks for your effort in providing a great place! We all agreed we would like to come back.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Joan. We hope to hear from you again soon.

Michael & Debbie

Helpful votes: 3 / 5

 

Amazing Time!

Review submitted: September 1, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

We loved our condo and the location! It was convenient to walk into town and Charleston was only a quick 15 minute drive. We wanted to stay longer and we can't wait to come back next year. I just wish the condo was dog friendly, since we would gave loved to have our dog with us! Michael made the process seamless and gave us all the info we needed. Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Dawn. We look forward to your return.

Michael & Debbie

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Sea Side Villas 102

Review submitted: August 5, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Our stay was nice. The Condo was right on the beach. The condo itself was nice - it had all the amenities needed for an enjoyable stay. The only thing that was a little bothersome was that the condo had no carpets/throw rugs and the sand got dragged in from outside no matter how much you rinsed off or wiped your feet. This made for sand getting every where - even in the beds and on the furniture. Other than that our stay was pleasant.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for your review Mary Ann. Your suggestion is one we will act on.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Wonderfuld Condo

Review submitted: July 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

My family of six really enjoyed this condo. It is set up perfectly for everyone to enjoy. It really is the closest unit to the pier - which can be good or bad depending on what you are looking for. Beach access is right next to condo. Life guard on beach. Umbrella and chair rentals right outside - but all of that also brings in more people so beach was a little more crowded. Add to that we were there over 4th of July holiday so more crowd for that. Fireworks from balcony were a added treat. They set them off from the beach at the 2nd Street entrance (about a half a block away) gave us a great view with no traffic!!

The owners of this condo think of everything. It was very well equipped. My favorite part was the tall chairs on the balcony. I am short and usually with the chairs provided my view is blocked by the rail - not so with tall chairs, I had a perfect view all week.

I would definitely return to Folly Beach and this condo. Next time I would like to be a little further away from the pier because they leave the lights on all night and sometimes its nice to really be in the dark and see the ocean. We will be back though.

You can walk to all restaurants and stores. Charleston is a short drive away.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review Cheryl. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Perfect Location

Review submitted: June 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this lovely condo with our 10-year old son. The location can't be beat. The condo is right on the beach, and within easy walking distance to the shops and restaurants of Folly Beach. Charleston is a short and easy drive for those days when you want to enjoy the city. The condo was clean and comfortable; everything was in good working order. We really appreciated the owners providing comfortable beach chairs and boogie boards. Our son loved learning to catch the waves on the boogie board! We did get a bit of noise intrusion from the hotel parking lot next door, but this was a minor annoyance. Overall, we had a wonder stay and hope to return soon!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Linda. We look forward to your return.

Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Great location and wonderful view!

Review submitted: June 19, 2013   Date of arrival: June 8, 2013

This is a perfect location on Folly especially if you have young adults who like to have quick access to beach and shopping areas. The condo was very nice. There needs to be more bath towels and silverware so the renters are not constantly doing dishes and laundry. We loved the view from the deck!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thanks for your review Christie. We look forward to your return.

Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Folly Week

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

We just completed our annual week at Folly and we were not disappointed. Our condo was great, location is perfect and we plan on returning in 2014! The condo has some new paint and new sofa and chairs, which is great.....hope by next year the queen mattress gets replaced! However, it wont keep us away if it doesn't! We love, love, love it!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review Nancy & Garry and your continued returns. Look forward to you staying again next year.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 5

 

Very Comfortable Condo!

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

This unit has a great location, just blocks from the pier and shops, restaurants, etc. in Folly Beach. It is oceanfront, and the back deck has a perfect view of the beach. The deck furniture was extra-large, which my 6-4 husband really liked! The rooms were comfortable, and the kitchen was well-equipped. It has a large washer and dryer, which was very convenient. I liked the keypad entry option so we didn't have to keep up with keys. The outdoor storage shed was great too. The only reasons I gave 4 stars instead of 5 is slightly slow plumbing in the toilets (a plunger was provided, however), and someone had left a small bag of garbage under the kitchen sink, which I discovered on the second day.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your review Steve. We hope you will return soon.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Otay

Review submitted: June 9, 2013   Date of arrival: June 1, 2013

Pluses by far outweigh the minuses. Great view, tall deck chairs great for a tall man, bed comfortable, convienent to town ..for teens, and geezers. Nice to have two parking spaces off the main road.
Downside....toilets are two flushers.....door handle on master br to deck is broken, garbage left under sink from last tenants attracted ants.
Would be happy to return

Recommended for: families with teenagers

Owners response: Thanks for your review Steve. We look forward to your return.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Folly Beach

Review submitted: May 21, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

My family and I love coming to Folly Beach. You have the best of both...the beach and Charleston which is approximately 10 minutes away. The condo we stayed in was clean and well kept. We enjoy going out on the beach, walking on the pier and eating the delicious food at the restaurant located on the pier. We also enjoy looking/buying items at the store that is also located on the pier. There are also many restaurants/shops within walking distance that we also enjoy going to--which includes Rita's and Snapper Jack's. We normally go into Charleston at least twice--everyone needs to go to the Battery, the Waterfront Park and take a carriage ride. Shopping at the Market and on King Street is always fun. There are so many things to do that we can never get it all in. We have already recommended Folly Beach to family and friends. We hope to continue our annual trip as well. It is truly something to look forward to time and time again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your review and comments. We hope you stay again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Location!!!!

Review submitted: November 29, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My family and I vacationed at Folly Beach for the first time this past summer. The condo is in excellent location! Easy access to the beach (especially with 2 small children), very clean and well maintained. We arrived early (before scheduled check in) and were able to bring our stuff up to the room and get the kids ready to hit the beach. This was truly one of the best vacations we have ever had! I highly recommend this condo.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for your comments Tricia. We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back. Have a great Holiday Season!!

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beach fun

Review submitted: September 22, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at Seaside Villas in Folly Beach. The linens were clean and new. We did have to change the filter for the heating and ventilation unit as it was very dirty and my niece has allergy issues.
Being so close to the pier was nice for walks and the wonderful restaurant. We liked all the local restaurants we tried in town. The parking at the condo was convenient with space for two vehicles and the condo was within walking distance to town.

Recommended for: age 55+, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Kathy. We hope to hear from you again.

Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

The Condo was even better than the description and pictures showed. The property was very clean and comfortable. Working with the owners was easy and stress free, they were willing to answer all questions and were very accommodating. When we first arrived I was a little unsure if we were going to like Folly Beach because it was so different from the beach in Georgia where we enjoy going. We loved Folly Beach and this condo because we could walk everywhere we went. The car only left the parking garage once the entire week. My family tried several places to eat downtown and on the pier and had good food everywhere we went. Charleston has always been a favorite destination for us and the drive from Folly Beach was easy. We intend on returning to Folly Beach again next summer.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your comments Katy. We hope to hear from you next year.

Michael

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Folly in Condo 202

Review submitted: September 21, 2012   Date of arrival: May 26, 2012

We love our week at Folly and our Condo is perfect for our stay. It is truly the best week of the year for us. If we could make any changes we would ask for four ..or at least two...adirondeck chairs for the porch...the high chairs are great for the guys, but they are hard for us girls to sit on for any length of time. And, considering we spend hours reading, relaxing, laughing and watching the ocean, the beach and the people on the pier..we put in lots of porch time, in addition to our beach time. We reserve this week for re-energizing and actually have been bringing our own plastic chairs to make our stay exactly what we want. Michael is wonderful to work with and has always taken care of any problems that have come up during our stay.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much Nancy & Garry. We look forward to your return!

Michael

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Come on back!!!

Review submitted: June 6, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

Michael,

Wanted to drop you a note to let you know we had a great time at your condo. The view was everything I had hoped for, we walked in and just were amazed. Loved it! We will rent it again!

It was so relaxing, quiet, town was 1/2 block away, and to be right on the beach...All I can say is thanks!

Erin

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Very Nice Condo

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2011

I would highly recommend this condo. It is very nicly decorated and great view. We have had a vacation that will never be forgotten. You are right on the beach and close to all the action of downtown. You are within steps of eating and entertainment. This is a place we will return to each time we want to come to the beach if it is avaliable. If you want a nice vacation I will recommend this condo.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you very much for taking time to submit the review. You are always welcome!!

Thanks,
Michael

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Oceanfront Condo

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Wow! What a great place to stay, clean, spacious and everything we needed. It was so easy to get to Charleston and enjoy all the history there and return to such a wonderful place to relax at the end of the day. It is right on the beach!! My family sat on the deck every evening and watched the people on the beach and the pier. Most nights there was music on the pier, not loud just nice music! We also enjoyed being able to walk to the main street and enjoy the shops and restaurants there. We would stay at this lovely condo again for sure (hated to leave!) Making the arrangements went smoothly and the owner was VERY helpful. We would give it a 10+!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for staying with us and taking the time to send the review. Hope to hear from you again!!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Would rent again

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

This condo is nicely appointed, well-maintained and clean. The owners were easy to work with and responsive. The condo is located very near the pier and within walking distance to "downtown" Folly Beach restaurants, shops and entertainment. Red and White grocery/convenience store a block away. Its location near the pier and public access means that the beach is a bit more crowded on the weekends with local beach goers than some other areas of the beach. While our teenage sons loved being near the action, I was worried that the pier would be loud at night. However, it was no problem. The elevator, oceanfront porches and central location make this a good place for a multi-generational vacation. Youngsters can find enough action and oldsters can enjoy a relaxing view. We didn't try to do much cooking. Serious cooks might want to bring a favorite pan as the kitchen was very well-stocked with dishes but not particularly well stocked with pans, cooking utensils. Easy and quick drive to Charleston and the sites, restaurants and shopping it offers.

Recommended for: families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thanks for your comments and we will inventory and re-stock the cooking pans & utensils.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Loved it

Review submitted: April 14, 2011   Date of arrival: April 6, 2011

My family and I loved it. It IS right on the beach, less than a 100 feet. It has everything you need from coffee to laundry soap/dryer sheets. I think the only thing we found that it didn't have was sugar. It was a very short to shops and eating establishments. We enjoyed it and will be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks for your kind words. Hope to hear for you again.

Debbie & Michael

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Folly Condo

Review submitted: November 16, 2010   Date of arrival: November 4, 2010

The description of the property is accurate. The is a beautiful, top floor condo that is truly right on the beach. There is a beautiful view from the Master bedroom as well as the den. It is very nicely furnished and in a great location on a quiet beach. It is in easy walking distance of the Folly Beach pier which is the second longest on the east coast. Several restaurants are also close by. Highly recommended. From Folly Beach it is only a short drive into Charleston for a lot of history and sightseeing as well as many outstanding restaurants.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 17 / 17

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review