reviews for: listing #168710vb - Mal Pais, Costa Rica rental

Your Dream House - Luxury in a Stunning Natural Setting
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 195 - $ 360 / night
    $ 1,149 - $ 2,150 / week
    $ 4,250 - $ 6,300 / month
  • sleeps  8
  • pets considered  yes

sort by:

The perfect getaway

Review submitted: February 26, 2014   Date of arrival: February 8, 2014

This is the perfect rental if you want to immerse yourself in the local culture, yet have all the modern amenities at hand. My family of five stayed her for two weeks and had a wonderful time. The home is beautiful, the swimming pool is amazing and the surrounding forest and animals are stunning. Bill and Frank were very helpful and extremely knowledgable hosts, while Graciela the housekeeper and Rolando the groundskeeper were always there if we needed anything. The kids even loved Flaco the dog that would show up every time I would start the BBQ. I could not recommend this home enough. I look forward to coming back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Absolutely Perfect

Review submitted: February 10, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

We picked this location to experience Costa Rica how it used to be with very few tourists. Loved the location due to the surrounding area, very little trafic and lots of wildlife.
We were woken every morning by the howler monkeys and an abundance of bird life which was incredible. Went for walks every morning early, due to the heat, and took different paths to the right and left of the main road(Saw an albino parrot and many other parrots and wildlife down these paths)( Be sure to take some water just in case you get lost and the walk ends up being a little longer). Quite a work out. Went fishing in Malpais with the locals numerous times, horseback riding, waterfalls, etc.
Bill and Frank were excellent and the most helpful guides of all our trips to Costa Rica. They were gracious hosts and organized the excursions we needed.
We will return to this location probably next year and enjoy as much as this trip.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Favorite place in Costa Rica. Period.

Review submitted: January 17, 2014   Date of arrival: December 22, 2013

We just returned home from an amazing trip to Costa Rica, our third. This time we explored areas we had never been before and I can without a doubt that the Santa Teresa/Hermosa/Manzanillo area was by far our favorite and this was likely in part to the fact that we fell so in love with this villa, situated in what I"d call the Garden of Eden.
Everything about our experience there was heavenly. I'm not usually an early riser but found myself up every day around 5 or 5:30am to catch mother nature waking up, All the incredible sounds of the jungle and the beautiful light...looking back it was a highlight of my trip. We'd start each day with coffee in the upstairs open air room, flipping through books and just relaxing with the views.
The villa was enchanting and we tried to enjoy every bit of it. From the beautiful, unique tiles in each room, to the quirky artwork, to the comfortable living areas and lovely bedrooms. The water features in the middle of the house were a lovely touch as well. The kitchen was perfect for us. The house has it all.
But perhaps the best part of all, was the outside space with the pool and the loungers. I will never forget hopping in the pool at dusk and smelling the beautiful ylang ylang tree and relaxing there until the stars came out each night. You can see millions of them. It's so quiet, so peaceful, so out of this world.
I miss this place already but we'll be back. Thank you Bill and Frank for being so sweet and hospitable. We enjoyed your visits and really appreciated all your attention to detail and helping us with any questions we had. I'll tell you some of the best food in Costa Rica is in this area. We ate out a lot and were never disappointed. If you want an extraordinary experience, this is the villa for you.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A magical place, a remote treasure, a perfect vacation.

Review submitted: December 5, 2013   Date of arrival: November 25, 2013

We spent 8 amazing days at Casa Noche del Mono and I would highly recommend this house to anyone seeking a beautiful and interesting place to unwind. If you're looking at the pictures and are intrigued-- book it. It is even better than the pictures! It is one of the most beautiful homes I have ever seen-- filled with gorgeous art and treasures, comfortable and spacious. We filled it up with 6 adults and 2 kids, but it is big enough that we weren't tripping over each other. There are small nooks and hammocks to find a quiet place to read or nap.
We hosted a Tgiving dinner for 12 with delicious local chickens purchased from the housekeeper, Graciela. The kitchen was well appointed with a microwave, blender, coffee and espresso makers, and lots of good pots and pans. The house has water filtration and we had no problem with drinking the local water.
Each bedroom has a full bathroom, and there's a 1/2 bathroom off one of the sitting/living rooms. The bedrooms each have their own porch/balconies, and there are porches and sitting areas on both sides of the house as well as the large back porch looking towards the pool.
The pool was excellent-- sparkling clear with amazing views into the jungle. The howler monkeys were active early in the mornings and evenings, we saw many kinds of birds and lizards and coatamundis. The birdwatchers were very happy with their sightings (reports up soon on ebird!). Although the house is not far from the road there is almost no traffic and the road itself is nice for walks. The winding road north of the house is exceptional, with rolling pasture land interspersed with jungle tracts. The house is about 5-10 minutes from Manzanillo Beach - great for shelling and walks. One beach south is Playa Hermosa, great for surfing and playing in the waves. We had a wonderful sushi dinner at Koji in Playa Hermosa. We also spent days at Playa del Carmen in Santa Theresa- about 1/2 hour away. Roads are bad around here, but the road from the bigger town (Cobano) to the house was not bad at all. It was a great location from which we accessed Cabo Blanco, Curu, a local waterfall, and a sunset horseback ride. But what will bring me back is really the house itself- it was so unique and magical.
Bill and Frank were gracious hosts, there to answer q's and provide advice and guidance on the area. Rolando and Graciela came to take care of the house and gardens and it was fun to practice spanish with them. A wonderful place!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Pura Vida at Casa del mono!!! Superbe maison et super endroit pour de superbes vacances!

Review submitted: December 1, 2013   Date of arrival: November 17, 2013

Superbe maison et super endroit pour de superbes vacances!

We stayed 7 nights at Casa Del Mono with our 3 kids (9,5,4) and my parents. It went so quickly... time flyes when you'r having fun! The 7 of us had the vacations of a life time. A real dream house where we saw and heard many animals such as hawling monkeys, splendid birds and weird funny insects around the house. The pool is amazing. Big, warm, speldido! The architecture and the decoration of this castle is amazing. So are the two owners, Bill and Frank who took very good care of us, helping us with all we needed to enjoy fully our stay at the casa and the region's activities. Thanks so much again amigos for being so helpful in answering our questions or concerns?

The villa is almost like a little village in itself with fountains and open terrace in the middle of the house. It is huge and if you forget something at your room it feels like a real but pleasant expedition getting back there from down the magnificent pool deck! The listing photos does not accurately reflect the rental's appearance and amenities... IT IS EVEN BETTER THE THE PICTURES!!!

There is a huge master bedroom on one side of the villa and two medium sized room on the other side so if you have younger kids, I recommend you and your youngsters consider taking these two one on top of the other rooms and keep the master bedroom for whoever is travaling with you. My parents had the luxury of stating in the master bed room and where very pleased about it!

There are so many places to relax and chill-out. You can read in the rocking chairs, take a nap on the roof top terrace or have your prefered afternoon drink watching the active fauna action from the secound floor open air cosy salon.

The three people working in and around the villa (Maria the caretaker, Renaldo the gardener handyman and his wife Graciela) took good care of us. The property was spic and span clean and kept that way by this very friendly team.

We would recommend this rental 110% .. .and we hope to be able to enjoy it again and again and again....

Pura Vida, Pura Vida, Pura Vida!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Even Better Than Expected

Review submitted: July 1, 2013   Date of arrival: June 11, 2013

We had pretty high expectations when we arrived at Noche del Mono and they were all met or exceeded. Bill and Frank were great hosts who had a genuine desire to make our vacation perfect. The property was beautiful and very clean and well maintained. From the quality of the linens to the cook wear in the kitchen everything was great. The pool and surrounding area were exceptional and the view of the rain forest amazing. Monkeys were abundant in the area and came to visit everyday. We loved our stay here and would definitely recommend it to anyone who loves nature and wildlife. Special thanks to Bill for all the recommendations and knowledge of the area. Steve and Cindy from Idaho.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This is a very special place....

Review submitted: May 28, 2013   Date of arrival: June 16, 2012

First of all, consider yourself lucky if you’ve found this house randomly through a rental search or recommendation.
We spent hours combing VRBO and other rental sites for places to stay in Costa Rica and it was this house that helped us decide that Mal Pais is where we would end up.
This is not your typical Mal Pais rental. You have this absolutely gorgeous, immaculately kept, luxury home in the middle of the jungle. You’re surrounded by beautifully kept grounds, where at night the landscape lighting provides the perfect ambience for late night swims. Mornings were particularly special… waking up just before sunrise, you can hear the howler monkeys in different locations in the valley, waking up and starting their day. You see something different every day. In fact, we saw more here at this house, than we did during some of our jungle hikes. In fact, when you’re at the house, you tend to care less about sightseeing.
So you have this house… then you have Bill and Frank, who are the nicest guys, who really take the time to ensure you have a good stay. They checked on us regularly. This was nice and appreciated as every day we would have new questions as to where to go explore, eat, etc. (Sometimes you just don’t know what to ask until you get there and see what the area is like). The house and grounds keepers visit almost daily and keep everything absolutely spotless.
What’s nice about Noche is that it’s centrally located so you are close to the markets and since roads are sparse, you have the best and quickest access to different locations in the area. You really begin to appreciate this once you’re there and start driving around on the very bumpy roads. Sure, you could be down in Mal Pais right on the beach, but if you want to explore, you’ll spend lots of time driving and back tracking. We thought about splitting our stay between here and another location. We’re glad we chose Noche for our entire trip.
We’ll be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

This is It!

Review submitted: February 26, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

After renting other houses in Costa Rica for the past several years, my family and I recently returned to Casa Noche del Mono for a 2 week stay. Upon our return, we immediately remembered why this house is our favorite of all the houses we have rented over the years. First of all, the house itself is spectacular: this is not a typical rental house with sparse furnishing and cheap posters on the walls. The house is impeccably decorated with antiques, oil paintings and gorgeous tile throughout. Second, the surroundings are beautiful with sweeping vistas of the jungle and mountains and only a quick drive to lovely, uncrowded beaches. I should say that because of the secluded location, we saw more animals and birds sitting on the front porch at the house than on visits to nearby national parks. Third, the owners, Bill and Frank, are nearby and ready at a moments notice to answer any questions, help with any arrangements or solve any problems that might arise ... incredibly helpful and informative without being intrusive. Fourth, the location is perfect if you are looking for peace and quiet - close to towns and attractions but private and away from crowds. We were also pleasantly surprised to find that the entire house had recently been updated with fresh paint, new tiles in several rooms and a spectacular new pool deck (hard to believe that the pool could get any better!). I am so glad that we finally learned our lesson and will stop looking for the perfect vacation house ... we have already found it.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absolutely amazing!

Review submitted: August 14, 2012   Date of arrival: August 4, 2012

This was my first time ever booking a place using vrbo, and I must admit I was skeptical of the very positive reviews of the travelers before me. What if these people just have low expectations? I have spent many years traveling the world and staying in some very nice places (thanks to nice expense accounts) and am not easily impressed. However, this place is AMAZING. Absolutey one of a kind, exceptional. The house is huge, decorated in a rich and unique Spanish colonial style. It's an open house, so the breezes come right through (and, in downpour, rain falls straight into the pools that run through the house...both surprising and beautiful!). You can see trees full of Howler monkeys while you swim in the impeccable infinity pool. There are many beaches (Montezuma, Santa Teresa, Manzanillo) and great restaurants within a 10-30 minute drive and, in a week, we had plenty of time to explore this area. The entire Mal Pais area is much less developed (in a good way) than we had expected and it was one of our favorite parts of our 2 months in Costa Rica.
I also need to give a shout out to Bill, our gracious host. From the beginning, he handled everything with the greatest professionalism and attention to detail - sending excellent directions, responding quickly, providing us with maps of the area (and extensive restaurant, grocery store recommendations) and happily helping us unload the car when we first arrived. He was there immediately at 4am when the house alarm went off (false alarm, door jarred loose by strong winds) and even came over another night when we needed help getting a critter out of the house (that's another story...). Bill is a warm and genuine person who does an oustanding job of maintaining this beautiful house and doing everything possible to make sure his guests have a great time.
My only caution about the house...it's not designed for young kids. We have a 3 year old and a 5 year old and didn't have any problems, but if you have little ones you should know that there are lots of fragile things in this house, open pools and the rooms are not together (we all slept in the same room). It wasn't a problem for us, but if you have a toddler you should just be aware you'll need to keep a careful eye on them.
In sum, I wholeheartedly agree with my fellow travelers that this place is an absolute gem. If you have been searching VRBO for hours (like I did), just stop searching now and book this place. You won't regret it!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Has It All

Review submitted: April 8, 2012   Date of arrival: February 20, 2012

My husband and I spent two weeks here in the company of two other couples. Other reviewers have described the property's beautiful setting, appointments and convenience, so I will only say "yes, it's all true!" This was our first trip to Costa Rica and staying at this property enhanced the experience immensely. Few roads on the Nicoya Peninsula are paved, and things are dusty in the dry season; but all this only increased our appreciation of the lovely lush and verdant setting of the villa, and our gratitude for the time and attention that the owners have put into making this place immaculate and beautiful. As others have indicated, Bill & Frank are the perfect hosts...providing anything and everything that you may need, but allowing you to feel as though this is truly your own home. The layout of the villa is perfect for travelling with friends, since everyone can have their own privacy, and/yet there are many spaces for gathering as well. The pool was stunnning, larger than most of the pools we saw at resorts in the area; and nothing can top the occasional visits of the howler monkeys in the surrounding trees! We saw more wildlife "at home" than anywhere. Bottom line is....if you are looking for a beautiful and serene vacation oasis on the Nicoya, this is surely it! The location provides a wonderful sense of remoteness; the hosts provide a true sense of security and support; the surroundings provide opportunities for adventure; the beach is only a few minutes away; and there are wonderful restaurants available within short drives. What could be better?!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Finca Noche del Mono

Review submitted: March 19, 2012   Date of arrival: January 22, 2012

Finca Noche del Mono, is different things to different people, but there can be no doubt that for those that are lucky enough to stay here, it will evoke the strongest of emotions. My family and I have stayed at Noche del Mono for three consecutive years, and will almost certainly return again next year. For us, this place is simply, Heaven on Earth.

Answers to some key questions: The location of the house and supporting photographs provided by the owners are very accurate. The property is maintained and regularly cleaned to an exceptional standard. The owners are attentive, extremely helpful and available as much, or as little as is your preference. I would have no hesitation in recommending Finca Noche del Mono to a friend or relative. In fact, I have a queue of people wanted us to take them to this amazing place.

Recommended activities, attractions and restaurants: The beaches of Montezuma, Hermosa & Manzanillo. For restaurants, you should ask the owners, they have suggestions to suit all tastes. Cabo Blanco (the first national park in Costa Rica) and Curu Nature Reserves are both well worth a visit. Upon arrival, the owners provide a very helpful guide of things to do and places to visit.

Why have I rated this rental so highly: Friendly and helpful owners, who take the comfort and enjoyment of their guests very seriously. A rental that offers the perfect balance of peace, tranquillity and stimulation. Accommodation that is of a very high standard, Spanish colonial style but with unique characteristics, and beautifully located. Access to amazing beaches and wildlife literally on your doorstep. Exceptionally good value for money.

This is possibly one of southern Nicoya Peninsula's best-kept secrets!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star House

Review submitted: March 18, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

Our housemates from WI have commented on how much we all enjoyed Casa Noche del Mono, and we agree; so we’ll comment on the daily issues. Our delight was waking each morning, swimming in our beautiful pool maintained by Jonathan. He came everyday to service the pool and manicure the beautiful gardens surrounding the house. Twice a week, Graciela the delightful housekeeper, made sure the house was spotless and washed our linens and towels. We bought fresh fish from Jonathan; eggs, bread, and fresh chickens from Graciela. The fish and chicken were delicious cooked on the BBQ.
Daily, we did our exploring based on where we were going for lunch. Bill, our host, has an extensive list of suggestions for lunch venues. They were all A-1. Several late afternoon swims, we were entertained by many birds and howler monkeys. Evenings started with cocktails and games at 5 p.m. on the second floor Lanai. A simple dinner followed, prepared in the spacious, well-equipped kitchen and eaten on the porch by candlelight. We ended most days with a nightly swim and star-gazing.
Food and drink supplies are available at markets in nearby Cobano. They all take credit cards and there is an ATM close by.
This beautiful house was the centerpiece of our three week stay. There were days when we did not even leave. We thank Bill and Frank for being such gracious hosts and sharing their beautiful home with us. We look forward to seeing them next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Gorgeous private villa in a jungle setting

Review submitted: March 11, 2012   Date of arrival: February 6, 2012

For countless reasons we anticipated our return visit to this incredible villa throughout the year and we were unbelievably excited when we arrived with good friends for a month's stay. Once again we found an exemplary property that deserves abundant accolades. First, the location is irresistible with a fantastic view of lush flora housing an active ecosystem inhabited by a delightful array of wildlife including howler monkeys and exotic birds. Imagine how exciting it is to view the moon and stars with no light pollution or watch a clan of monkeys gather and consume food in a tree adjacent to the infinity pool as you are enjoying a refreshing swim! A spectacular mountain range towers in the distance and remains a constant source of beauty from the spacious infinity pool which is considerably larger than any of the pools we saw at hotels. Second, Bill and Frank are both charming individuals and ideal hosts who absolutely succeed in providing abundant in-depth information about the local area, including suggestions for sightseeing and restaurant recommendations, and honoring a philosophy that the house belongs to the renters while they are occupying the premises which maximizes utmost privacy. This means that they are always close-at-hand when needed, but they are never ever intrusive. Third, the house is utterly charming in every regard. To find such a magnificent home with so many amenities in this remote yet exquisite location is surely a miracle. We cannot imagine anyone not falling in love with the entire experience at Noche del Mono--it is, in a word, "priceless." We are already anticipating our return next year.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise

Review submitted: February 10, 2012   Date of arrival: December 5, 2011

Our family (including three kids - 9, 7, and 4) stayed at Noche del Mono for a week in December. As the other reviewers have noted, the house is fantastic - it's impossible to convey how beautiful the place is through photographs. We ended up spending half of our time in the house, the other half exploring the area. The jungle comes to your window and doorstep - literally - so you can spend as much time at the beach as you want and not feel that you're missing out on the wildlife experience. In fact, the forest really comes alive at night, an experience you'd miss on a day-tour. Bill and Frank, of course, were great hosts - they are intuitive, and customize their tips and advice to the needs of the guests. They helped us maximize our time and avoid tourist traps. The location of the house is excellent: Cobano, about ten minutes away, is the only "full service" town in the area; Playa Manzanillo, just 10 minutes away, was the kids' favorite, and had a nice beachfront restaurant/bar that we enjoyed at day's end. Noche de Mono is perfect if you're looking for a great place to spend a big chunk of your vacation time; if want to keep the more tourist-centered areas at arms-length (yet still be able to drive to Santa Teresa and Montezuma, both within 20-25 minutes); and if you want to explore a variety of beaches, waterfalls, and towns from a centralized location. It's an an ideal mix of privacy and convenience that should not be missed.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Most Peaceful Place

Review submitted: February 9, 2012   Date of arrival: December 22, 2011

Travel has been a passion of mine for 20 years. I have to say that Finca Noche Del Mono was the nicest, most pleasant place I have ever stayed. I was enamored first with the photos on vrbo.com, but the actual house and surroundings far surpassed my expectations. The owner, Bill, was very responsive and pleasant. He provided detailed directions from San Jose and anything else we needed during our stay.

Bill was at the house to greet us warmly. We walked through the huge wooden front door and could see all the way through the house, past the pool and on to the mountains. The house is very spacious and open. Bill designed and decorated this house with the detail I would expect in an Architectural Design magazine. The tiles are handmade and several rooms had original design tiles. The colors of the house are bright and warm. The kitchen has everything you need, including spices, which I have noted many home rentals do not have. The huge veranda off the back is wonderful to sit and have morning coffee, afternoon drinks and dinner at the table set for four. The gardens are lovely, lush and well-tended. The pool is always the perfect temperature. We spent many hours swimming or just lounging in the pool watching the nearby howler monkeys and variety of birds. Bill stopped over a couple of times to ensure all was well and to see if we needed anything. His outstanding housekeeper comes in twice per week and will do your laundry and clean anything upon request. The house also comes with satellite TV and wireless internet that was surprisingly fast.

I will happily continue to spend my vacations at Finca Noche Del Mono. It is the perfect place for rest and relaxation, a family reunion, friends to reunite, several couples to travel or to enjoy time with your loved one(s). The house is clean, well kept-up, comfortable and most of all peaceful. I highly, highly recommend Finca Noche Del Mono for your next vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome

Review submitted: August 23, 2011   Date of arrival: July 28, 2011

WoW!!!!!!!!!! I stayed here for a week last month....awesome!!!! Bill was a great host and was always there when we needed something! Can't recommend it highly enough!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Best of the best

Review submitted: April 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 14, 2011

My husband and I have been seeking vacation sanctuaries around the world for nearly half a century. After our three-week stay (mid-February-early March) at Casa Noche del Mono, we declared it the "best of the best." Several key features account for this exceptional ranking. First, Bill and Frank are ideal hosts who offer abundant information, including maps and detailed narratives, about the local/regional area and activities that are available. They provide utmost privacy and seclusion for guests and yet they are immediately available if needed. Without their suggestions we never would have been able to find and explore a number of fascinating sites such as remote beaches that are not widely publicized. Second, Marvin the gardener, Sonia the housekeeper, and Josue their 10-year old son add so much to the experience by sharing information about the adjacent gardens and jungle and by graciously extending their help at every turn. Third, the indescribably beautiful house glimmers with understated elegance and yet is comfortable in every corner. We loved preparing meals in the state-of-the-art kitchen and then enjoying them at a candle-lit table situated on the lanai which has a sweeping view of the jungle framed by mountains. Breathtaking! We also were enraptured by the ways the house invites the outside to be present inside by providing multiple balconies with comfortable seating and a rooftop terrace where we began each morning, coffee in hand, gazing at the incredible view and watching the lush environment awaken to the day. Fourth, the infinity pool is a private aquatic wonderland with the best views of all. We eagerly entered the pool the evening we arrived and my husband exclaimed, "This is the most refreshing moment of my adult life." Thereafter we swam several times daily and invariably ended the day under a star-lit sky, especially dramatic because there is no light pollution here. Fifth, we enjoyed the people in the nearby communities who seemed so eager to help us enjoy our time in Costa Rica. Bill and Frank pointed us in the direction of a number of outstanding restaurants where, for a surprisingly modest price, we enjoyed memorable meals. In sum, we enthusiastically recommend this property because we truly believe that it is the "best of the best." We are already booked for next year and four friends will be joining us!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Life Doesn't Get Any Better Than This

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: January 27, 2011

From the moment you walk down the stone cobble walkway, past the giant stand of bamboo, and the blooming pink Gingers.. Through the huge wooden doors that are flanked by blooming orange and yellow Heliconia...And enter beneath the Moorish domed entry..And look straight through the main hallway, and out the beautiful wrought iron doors to a view of a huge terrace, then an infinity pool that is to die for, bordered by blooming Bougainvillas of all colors, to the rainforest beyond and then the Cerro Frio mountains in the distance ... It takes your breath away .

Every room is painted the most glorious color with muted color tile floors . Each bedroom has it's own terrace (or terraces), that is totally private and surrounded by blooming vines or fruiting bananas or giant mango trees. The kitchen is very well stocked with pots and pans ETC. All that you need to actually cook .(hard to find in a rental usually). There are many nooks to hide out in and read a good book, or relax in a hammock, that you will never feel crowded even with lots of people. The entire house is an Ecclectic collection of fabulous art and artifacts. The house is elegant but very comfortable.
Bill and Frank, the owners, do everything they can to make you feel welcomed. They were both so helpful and gracious and fun to be around. Marvin, the caretaker, was also wonderful. He shared what he knew about edible plants and about birds and politics and all kinds of things. He made a big difference in our stay at Noche del Mono.

Turst me, life doesn't get any better than at Casa Noche del Mono.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape

Review submitted: March 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 7, 2011

I was reluctant to write this review because I really wanted to keep this jewel for myself. But here goes. My family took a week long vacation and stayed at this little bit of paradise in the jungles of Costa Rica! It was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it to any friend, family or you. I believe the pictures do not do the property justice, as it is far more beautiful in real life. The hosts go out of their way to make the holiday easy and carefree, offering their advice and assistance as requested or required! The property is spotlessly clean and perfectly maintained. Be patient in getting there - it is somewhat remote - and be prepared with a four wheel drive vehicle. But once you do get there, be ready for one of the most pleasant surprises of your life. As I write this, I can't wait to get back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Escape - and I was reluctant to review it because I want to keep it for myself!

Review submitted: February 19, 2011   Date of arrival: November 19, 2010

My family took a week long vacation over Thanksgiving and stayed at this little bit of paradise in the jungles of Costa Rica! It was wonderful, and I would highly recommend it to any friend, family or you. I believe the pictures do not do the property justice, as it is more beautiful in real life. Our hosts go out of their way to make the holiday easy and carefree, offering their advice and assistance as requested or required! The property is spotlessly clean (but know that you are living in an open air home, so some jungle friends do visit!).

Be patient in getting there - it is somewhat remote - and be prepared with a four wheel drive vehicle. But once you do get there, be ready for one of the surprises of your life. As I write this, I am now eager to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Private Paradise

Review submitted: January 5, 2011   Date of arrival: December 16, 2010

The photos you have been drooling over do not do justice to the beauty of this house, and it's peaceful and tranquil location. From the glorious pool, to the fabulous kitchen and comfortable bedrooms it is the perfect place to relax and get away from it all. With plenty of room to spread out you won't ever feel like you are on top of each other. Enjoy the wildlife that comes to visit each day by the pool. Whether floating in the pool, relaxing on the veranda or taking advantage of the private outdoor spaces, it all adds up to a Costa Rican paradise. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

WONDERFUL AND AMAZING!

Review submitted: October 30, 2010   Date of arrival: August 18, 2010

We couldn't have asked for anything more! We have 4 kids -- ages 6, 7, 8, and 9 -- and we planned a 2 1/2 week trip to Costa Rica this past summer. Needless to say, we needed to rent a house with a swimming pool! We are frequent visitors to Costa Rica, especially the Malpais area, and were very pleased to find this amazing house on the internet. My husband and I checked out the house when we went down in March, and were absolutely astonished with how beautiful it was, and so we booked it for August with the kids, and believe me, it did not disappoint!!

Bill and Frank, the owners, could not have been more helpful in so many ways. As it was the rainy season, we ended up spending a fair amount of time at the house on rainier days - which was an absolute joy!! Bill made sure that he checked with us before he went up to Cobano for groceries, and always picked up anything we needed.

The house itself -- toucans, howler monkeys so close in the trees, frog eggs on flowers, green iguanas... just so beautiful and interesting and comfortable. Even on the occasional rainy day, there was so much room that we never felt cramped or cooped up. The house is so large and comfortable that even with 2 adults and 4 kids there was plenty of room to escape.

We will definitely be back!!! Thank you so much, Bill and Frank!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Absolutely wonderful!

Review submitted: August 5, 2010   Date of arrival: July 16, 2010

Slightly off the beaten path, but well worth the drive to the most beautiful home! Fantastic views, a gorgeous and totally comfortable home, and wonderful hosts. Every decorating detail was thought of. Bill had many good recommendations that saved us time and set us up with the horseback riding adventure of a lifetime. I couln't have imagined how nice this home would actually be. I am so glad we visited and hope to return again some day. Thank you Bill for your gracious hospitality! We wish you the best.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The genuine beauty and tranquility of this home can not be authenticated in photographs, go there!

Review submitted: June 20, 2010   Date of arrival: June 8, 2010

Breathtaking, comes to mind when I think back to our first sunny morning in this gracious home. A warm welcome and a glass of wine awaited us following a very long travel day with three children. Imagine our delight when all expectations were exceeded at the end of our journey that included car, air, ferry and Costa Rican dirt roads. My children's surf instructor who joined us for the trip pulled me aside instantly and said it was the most beautiful home he had ever entered, what a great way to start a vacation!

From the moment of arrival, our hosts Bill and Frank could not have been more kind or accommodating. Their visits to the property were anticipated and welcome as we always had a running list of questions that needed answers. Simple directions or more complicated requests were given thoughtful response. Additionally, the caretakers, Marvin and Sonia were lovely. The language barrier between us was more entertainment than problematic.

Although we were on a family surfing vacation, we chose to stay a short drive from the beach to experience all this gorgeous countryside has to offer. What a great decision! Butterflies, Monkeys, Giant Frogs and Birds greeted us each morning poolside as we absorbed majestic sunrises over the mountains. We became early risers as we could not wait to enjoy our time at the house before loading up our boards and heading down to Playa Hermosa and Playa Carmen for a full day of great waves.

Our favorite spot in the home was the private sitting porch upstairs off the kitchen. Always cool and breezy with inviting chaise lounges and an amazing view. We designated this area "off limits" to children and indulged in hours of relaxing and reading selections from the extensive library provided.

I could not be happier with the experience we had at this home in Costa Rica. In fact, we extended our stay as our hosts had a few days between guests. Clean, safe, private, spacious, secluded, tasteful and a cute little restaurant down the road .................. what more could you ask for in a vacation rental?!

A little slice of heaven:)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Best Vacation House Ever

Review submitted: June 3, 2010   Date of arrival: April 17, 2010

This house is amazing!! Eight of us went for a week and stayed in the house during Mid-April. We arrived by ferry and were greeted by a family of Howler Monkey's in the trees along with the owner Bill. We walked into this beautiful entrance of palms to find this huge fountain and surreal looking Spanish style home. The design of the home provides each bedroom with an incredible amount of privacy. Every morning we woke up, put on our bathing suits and sat in the pool. If you are a fitness nut you could even do a few laps. The scenery is beautiful and so peaceful with the exception of the occasional frog or gecko. The house is tucked away with a mountain view but the perfect distance from Manzanillo, Santa Theresa, Playa Hermosa, and Mal Pais (10-30 minutes drive). Bill and his staff are awesome and they take care of everything including fresh fruit from the garden every day, clean laundry, and if you need it, they can even set up day excursions. We were able to negotiate a fishing trip for 5 people for 200 US and took home enough Tuna to feed eight people for three nights. There is a full kitchen with all of the necessities if you are up for cooking. Not feeling comfortable with your language skills? Don't worry because this area of Costa Rica was extremely easy to get around with or without fluent Spanish. Overall, if you are looking for a dream spot for a family vacation, honeymoon, or to get away with a group of friends this is definitely the BEST place in the area. Trust me I spent hours looking for a place and this one definitely exceeded my expectations. If you are feeling adventurous and want to save some money I would take the ferry from Puntarenas to Paquera rather than the flight from Tambor. All together it took us about 4-5 hours to drive from the airport in San Jose, take the ferry, and drive through the Peninsula to get to the house. For those that prefer a more direct route you can take a flight from San Jose to Tambor then drive about 1 hour.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

AMAZING/BREATHTAKING/PICS DONT DO JUSTICE!

Review submitted: May 26, 2010   Date of arrival: April 29, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a long weekend. We have traveled to Costa Rica for the last 8 years and this home, by far, made this past visit one of the best. The house is so special...you feel like royalty here. All at home conveinances at your finger tips and a view from heaven overlooking the infinity pool. Bill has a great music selection too, and listening to world music while chopping fresh avocados for the guacamole on a cool evening is a memory I wont forget!Manzanillo is a great choice to get off the beaten track and away from the touristy bustle of Santa Teresa. Empty beaches and local, small tipico places to eat. We invited our family to join us and it was perfect for 4 adults and one 12 year old. More than enough room! While sun bathing a monkey came down one of the many fruit trees on the property and ate a cas not even 4 feet from me. This place is perfect for families, romantics, and small gatherings of good friends. I cant say enough about their hospitality and their house that is truly a piece of art! THANKS SO MUCH! We will hope to visit again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

The most beautiful rental

Review submitted: April 22, 2010   Date of arrival: March 13, 2010

As the title says.. these people have created one of the most beautiful rentals that I have ever stayed at. The scenery off the back pool area is second to none. They have all the amenities, total privacy, and the atmosphere and comfort level at the place is awesome. So glad I was able to stay there. If you stay at this place you will not regret it one bit!! Happy vacationing!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

don't miss it !!!!!

Review submitted: April 18, 2010   Date of arrival: March 12, 2010

this most beautiful house, guest house , and pool shouldn't be missed if you are considering costa rica. it is 10 minutes from the beach and beautiful walks and swimming , but it is hard to tear yourself away from the wrap around porch, the third floor terrace overlooking acres of lush greenery usually containing a troop of howler monkeys and a toucan or two eating the bananas supplied by the owners, for every ones enjoyment . the owners were friendly and helpful, wanting to make sure your stay was more than enjoyable. treat your selves , you will be glad you did !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

My Best Vacation Ever.

Review submitted: April 17, 2010   Date of arrival: March 2, 2010

I just returned from a 2 week vacation in the Noche del Mono house in Costa Rica and it was the best vacation I've ever had. As I lay in bed in the morning, the birds and monkeys were just outside my room making it a joy to greet the day! I went to Costa Rica hoping to get in touch with nature and I did just that: long walks in the early morning, horse back riding on the beach, swimming along quiet beaches, observing birds in the luxurious infinity pool which overlooks the mountains. The house is like a museum: full of fascinating and beautiful artifacts from all over the world and the casita is a small treasure, a joy to be in such a simply charming house in the middle of nature. The attention to detail in the rooms and the grounds is wonderful. You have a sense that these buildings have been there for many many years and that they really belong in this environment.

The owners are attentive to one's needs and questions. The amenities offered make your stay there very comfortable, from cable tv to thick towels, to a collection of good books. You are close to several small, delicious and inexpensive restaurants as well as to several towns, like Montezuma, which offer a great variety of eating and shopping establishments.

I would recommend Noche del Mono to anyone interested in a peaceful vacation in a beautiful, natural environment.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

You Have to See It To Believe It - Perfect

Review submitted: April 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

What an amazing trip we had and Noche Del Mono, Bill and Frank were the reasons! We actually felt like we were living in an episode of "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous"! Accommodations were top notch, the pictures on the web site does not do this amazing villa justice at all!!! From the views, to the tranquil sounds of the fountains, to the amazing decor, to the fabulous kitchen, we felt at home and well taken care of. We didn't have to go anywhere to see the nature and wildlife that Costa Rica has to offer because it was all right there at our front door. Bill and Frank took care of everything for us. They helped us with hiring a taxi, they made horseback riding reservations for us, they told us where some of the best restaurants and beaches were and made us feel very taken care of. We will certainly be back!!! Hurry up and reserve time in this amazing vacation villa, you'll really be missing out if you don't.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing Villa / Amazing Location / Amazing Hosts

Review submitted: January 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 2, 2010

We had a terrific stay. The Villa is absolutely beautiful, the location, nature, exotic animals, all the comforts, plus amazing hosts!! Can't wait to go back. The beaches nearby are fantastic, there is so much to see, and explore. We went with 5 of our kids who are all in different colleges. They were disconnected form cell phones, laptops etc., we saw them interact as family, and they enjoyed every bit of the trip.
I highly recommend this beautiful villa, and it's amazing location, couldn't say enough about the hosts, and their wonderful staff

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beyond Words

Review submitted: January 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 12, 2009

Putting into words our experience at Casa Noche del Mono is very difficult. No words or photos can actually convey how special this property is. It is one of those places that actually leaves you breathless. Waking up every morning to the sound of a troop of monkeys and flocks of parrots outside your bedroom is a very special experience. The house is HUGE with wonderful nooks and crannies everywhere. While it is filled with beautiful antiques and artwork, there is nothing stuffy or pretentious about the house. The entire place is welcoming, open and airy, a perfect tropical house. The pride the owners take in the house and property is obvious, everything was immaculately clean and well cared for. We particularly loved the huge pool and rooftop terrace and spent countless hours on the rooftop terrace watching the stars. During our vacation we went surfing, horseback riding and hiking, but the highlight of every day was returning to the house and pool. Nothing else around could begin to compare to it. If you are thinking about renting Casa Noche del Mono, just remember that, while beautiful, the photos do not begin to capture what a magical place this is. A very big two thumbs up!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: January 12, 2010

Simply superb! The pictures do NOT do it justice! Can't say enough good things about it!!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful, Relaxing and Adventurous - Great Time!!

Review submitted: January 12, 2010   Date of arrival: November 29, 2009

Wonderful, relaxing and adventurous and a great time!!...
Our 3 nights’ stay here was the highlight of our Costa Rica visit. (We were on a 2nd honeymoon after 21 years of marriage and also drove to Monteverde and Tenorio National Park-Rio Celeste). It seemed remote but is only a few kilometers from the Pacific. Bill gave very detailed directions for the ferry and roads from San Jose, plus we had a GPS (which was very helpful all over Costa Rica), and we drove right to the house, although we questioned whether we could possibly be on the right road a time or two. The house is surrounded by forest/jungle and is strikingly unique, beautiful and private with lush landscaping and amazing views. On the second day a troupe of more than 9 howler monkeys including a mother and baby entertained us in the trees right by the cabina and we were grateful that Bill and Frank made sure we did not miss the show. The roads are dirt and rough so a 4 wheel drive vehicle is recommended (really!). We went horseback riding (and galloping unexpectedly-an adventure!) on the beach at Playa Manzanillo one morning and driving down the beach crossing a creek another day. Bill provided directions to a waterfall where we had to drive across a couple of cow pastures to get there and that was another enjoyable adventure. There is a local restaurant (Dayka) about 3 km from the house where we ate at least 3 times because it was so convenient (the whole fish and the fruit smoothies are good). We enjoyed hanging out at the house and pool as much as anything, it is so relaxing and comfortable. Unfortunately for us it rained intermittently two of the three days we were there but with the end of the rainy season you get the luck of the draw with weather. And coming from Georgia, we were surprised that there were virtually no mosquitoes or biting insects! Bill and Frank were extremely hospitable and friendly and excellent hosts. We have only good to say about our stay and highly recommend it here. Makes us want to move to Costa Rica!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Experience!

Review submitted: January 8, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

Being frequent visitors to Cost Rica, and having
spent many hours researching houses and villas for
our stay this year (2009) – our expectations for
‘Noche del Mono’ were already very high. We were
not disappointed!

My family and I spent a week at the main house, 6
adults in total.

The house is styled to a Spanish colonial look,
standing amongst 25 acres of beautiful lush green
tropical vegetation. The back of the property has
a spectacular uninterrupted view of the forest,
bleeding gently into the distant mountain range.

On entering the house, you are immediately struck
by its large internal spaces and the unique
character of its individual design. Packed with
interesting features and rooms to explore; this
house continually stimulated our senses.

We particularly enjoyed the charming rooftop
terrace: ideal for breakfast, evening cocktails or
some amazing stargazing. The infinity swimming
pool was superb and put to good use on most days.

By far the most attractive appeal of this house is
its private location and intimate connection with
the surrounding countryside. Built sympathetically
within its environment, the house plays host to a
multitude of different animals, insects and birds.

The house was ideal for our purpose, offering
privacy and seclusion when required but with good
access to some terrific beaches and the small town
of Cobano. It is worth mentioning that the 30-
minute drive from Cobano to the house is by dirt-
track road and should only be attempted with a 4x4!

Our stay at ‘Noche del Mono’ was made even more
special by the wonderful hospitality, helpful
advice and friendship extended to us by the owners,
Bill and Frank.

‘Noche del Mono’ surpassed all of our expectations
and we are already looking forward to a return
visit. We particularly recommend this place for
nature lovers and those looking for a relaxing
retreat. 10/10

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A Memorable Time in Paradise

Review submitted: December 13, 2009   Date of arrival: November 16, 2009

My family and I rented this amazing 3 bedroom house for our first visit to Costa Rica. I cannot begin to describe how perfect everything was. First of all, the setting of the house is spectacular: surrounded by pristine jungle and beautiful gardens, with mountains rising in the back ground. We felt like we were on the set of Jurassic Park. Second, the house itself is amazing: from the décor to the plush towels, nothing has been overlooked. There are so many places to relax that we never felt on top of each other, even with 7 people (including kids). The pool is also amazing. Lastly, the location was ideal: a short drive to beautiful Manzanillo beach, Mal Pais, etc. I have to add, that the owners were unbelievably gracious. No request or question was too much and they were always available to help with arrangements or offer suggestions on restaurants, activities, etc. I would absolutely recommend this house to anyone who is planning to visit the area.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 29, 2009   Date of arrival: March 29, 2009

This was the most wonderful house we've stayed in in Costa Rica with the most wonderful hosts. The caretakers, Marvin, Sonia and their little boy Josue were great people. The pool, living areas and bedrooms and baths were great for our family of six. We had a blast and saw every bird and animal in Costa Rica while visiting here. Thanks to Bill and Frank.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2009   Date of arrival: March 28, 2009

We have been renting homes in Costa Rica for eight years and this home is by far the most incredible,hospitable,relaxing yet adventurous place we have stayed.The wildlife is so abundant we danced with the Howler monkeys daily,rode quads to the beaches and were able to see shooting stars from the rooftop terrace at night.The owners gave us the best of all vacation worlds at this marvel of a home.From a super family gathering to just chill'in at the pool you have it all at Noche Del Mono.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 8, 2009   Date of arrival: January 8, 2009

WOW..the pictures on the website cannot capture the beauty of this jungle property. Beautifully decorated and meticulously cared for, Bill and Frank's home made us feel like royalty. Our family (there were 7 of us) loved being able to cook and entertain ourselves each morning and night on the beautiful outdoors veranda and porch. The sounds of the howler monkeys in the morning and at night were an extra treat to wake up and end the evening with. Our coati friend, squaking parrots, iguanas, and Senor froad (not sure if he was a frog or toad) added to the ambiance of the jungle experience. The beautiful and less visited beaches of Manzanillo and St. Theresa make this a very special place for the first time (or frequent in our case) visitor to Costa Rica. We will definitely be back. Bill and Frank are most gracious hosts and made us feel welcome and comfortable in their beautiful home. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who wants to experience Pura Vida!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 2, 2009   Date of arrival: January 2, 2009

An oasis in the jungle would be the best way to describe this villa. The home is beautiful and immaculate as are the grounds and pool. Wildlife is everywhere - howler monkeys, coati, birds, iguanas. Plenty of spots to relax - the rooftop deck is amazing. The three separate bedroom suites were all fabulous with their own private balconies. Bill and Frank, the owners, were WONDERFUL. They made us feel so welcome and were a wealth of knowledge. Marvin was nice enough to take us on a hike through the jungle which was one of the highlights of our stay. We didn't want to leave! So, if you want a unique vacation in a gorgeous location, this is the place to come. We are definitely planning on coming back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: December 17, 2008   Date of arrival: December 17, 2008

Returning home after a 2 month Sabbatical traveling to Guatemala, Costa Rica, Belize and Mexico we must comment that our stay at this amazing Villa was a highlight. The home itself is very comfortable (all the western conveniences) and absolutely beautiful.From furnishings to decor this home is special. Bill and Frank, the owners, are exceptionally kind and helpful and made every effort to provide us with information or services when needed. We were thrilled with the jungle setting as we daily enjoyed visits from a clan of 10 or so Howler monkeys and were delighted by the care and effort that has gone into the lush gardens. The fresh water pool was especially nice, always clean and well tended. This home is certainly the place to stay if you are going to be visiting this area.
We undoubtedly will return one day!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 21, 2008   Date of arrival: July 21, 2008

My wife and 2 boys (7 and 13) stayed at this beautiful Casa. This
house actually made the trip. After an adventerous day of exploring, it was
great to be able to come back to Casa Noche del Mono and get a way from it all.
An infinity pool with howling monkeys and toucans, a great kitchen to cook the
fish that we caught the 2nd day, sky satelite TV for the kids, the fountains
inside the house, Bill and Frank being incredible hosts, and Marvin - taking us
for an eco tour around the 25 acres of the property, made this vacation the
best for our family. It was way better than described on VRBO. We will be back
next year. Scott, Jeanette, Tay and Blake...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 7, 2008   Date of arrival: July 7, 2008

My husband and I stayed here with our two children and my teenage sister in June of 2008. Where do I begin?!?!? The pictures do not even begin to do this property justice! Not only was I in awe of it's natural beauty and surroundings, but the home itself was beautiful and very comfortable. Add to that the hosts/owners were so friendly and welcoming. Their home was our home away from home and they made every effort to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The pool was magical as it overlooked the mountains and lush gardens and almost every day we awoke to the howler monkeys. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who is looking for a truly relaxing vacation, but still have all the adventure of the outdoor activities, ocean and good restaurants in close proximity. Thanks Bill and Frank, we miss you...Pura Vida!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review