reviews for: listing #1691 - Kilauea, Hawaii Cottage rental

Private Beach Cottage on Acreage-Hot Tub, Views, Kayak, WiFi
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community 
  • sleeps  3
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $179 - $199 /nt
    $1,195 - $1,295 /wk

sort by:

Better than Paradise

Review submitted: October 8, 2009   Date of arrival: August 26, 2009

Though we'd like to keep it a secret, everyone should get the chance to stay at Twin Hearts. Upon our arrival we were greeted by the owner bearing gifts in the form of aloha spirit and the best organic pineapple you've ever tasted from his garden. The cottage is so lovely you almost don't want to leave the first few days after a long trip. Situated on a quiet road and secluded by the lush, tropical plants and flowers, it has everything you need and more: a private lanai with hot tub, grill and dining space with views of both the ocean and the mountains, outdoor shower, washer/dryer, comfy king bed (plus good bedding!), modern and fully equipped kitchen, cozy living room with big pane windows for daydreaming and novel-reading. The cottage is very clean and well-maintained by the owners. When you DO decide to leave the cottage, the North Shore of Kauai evokes a feeling of straight-up laid back worry-free existence, and it's our preference to other parts of the island. Within walking distance is Kahili or Rock Quarry beach where you can watch local surfers or frolic at the mouth of the Kilauea River. The adventure highlights for us include kayaking the Na Pali Coast (but avoid the arrogant guides employed by Outfitters on the South Shore), floating in Queen's Pond, snorkeling at Hideaways Beach, and eating lots of shave ice with ice cream in Hanalei - truly a cultural adventure. We're also big fans of the local farmers markets and fish markets (the ahi is phenomenal) dotted along the main highway. They're way cheaper, fresher and tastier than shopping at the Safeway in Kapaa or Foodland in Princeville where prices are obscene and the quality terrible. For packaged goods, swallow your pride and stop at the Wal-Mart in Lihue or Long's Pharmacy in Kapaa. They offer the same product as Safeway for a fraction of the cost.

If we could change one thing about our stay at Twin Hearts, it's that next time we'll stay for AT LEAST two weeks instead of one.

Aloha and Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! We know that most all of our guests adore Twin Hearts, but not all go out of their way to write a sweet and glowing report like Kristin and Matthew have.

There is no need to keep Twin Hearts a secret...just book far enough in advance to assure availability...

Yes, we do try to make everyone feel at home in the most unobtrusive manner we can, which is easy to do on our 7.5 well-tended acres. Our gardens and orchards are growing, and we love when our guests find greens and fruits and even a few eggs to take back to the cottage to enjoy.

If Twin Hearts sounds like the kind of place you would enjoy and if you can relate to what Kristin and Matthew have to say about the cottage and about Kauai, call or e-mail for a booking today!

Aloha, Bruce and Cyndee

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 

Not Completely as Advertised

Review submitted: June 20, 2013   Date of arrival: May 20, 2013

Cottage was nicely decorated and comfortable. The windows allowed for an expansive view of the yard. The proximity to Rock Quarry Beach and the river was a plus. Enjoyed the visits from Curly the cat and the Fehring's dogs. We were disappointed in the Hot Tub, which was one of the main reasons we chose Twin Hearts. It needs to be replaced and a new one relocated in the yard on a cement slab - or removed and not have one. Either way it would be a plus to have more room on the deck to enjoy the outside. The views are of the mountains and not of the ocean from this rental but there is one from the 2-bedroom located further down the road

Owners response: A warm mahalo to Dick and Kathy for taking the time to provide a review of their stay at Twin Hearts.

Upon reading this review, we strolled over to the cottage and did see that vegetation has grown up into most of the distant ocean view, and so we will trimming back to open that up again. Other than that, we are not sure how Twin Hearts is "not completely as advertised" , as all other information is accurate. The hot tub (not a spa) is clean and toasty at 102 degrees, not inexpensive to operate at the nation's highest utility rates, but attractive enough to utilize about 1/3 of the deck space for those who enjoy a soak. There is, of course, a table and two chairs, as well as a gas barbeque on the rest of the deck, and a hammock and deck chairs in the yard which can be pulled under the shade of the royal poinciana tree for those who are sun-sensitive.

We are a bit disappointed that this particular couple, who told us that they normally stayed at an exclusive and much more expensive cottage on Maui, chose to award us just 3 stars, but that reinforces the axiom that, despite best efforts, one cannot completely please everyone all the time. Of course, the vast majority of our guests award us 5 stars and, while here, trying to figure out how they could live permanently in such a beautiful accommodation on such an amazing property on such a fantastic island.

It was nice that Dick and Kathy mentioned our other rental property, Hale Kai Kalani, which is just down the street, even closer to the ocean, and does have a fantastic ocean, mountain, river, and valley view. That home can be viewed on VRBO as property 538.

Come to Kauai and enjoy the aloha...

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Perfect getaway

Review submitted: June 1, 2012   Date of arrival: April 28, 2012

Twin Hearts & the North Shore was exactly what my husband and I needed. A small cozy place surrounded by lush vegetation. Twin Hearts was airy, light, clean and perfect for disconnecting from the hectic life. The house was stocked with all the essentials, and some helpful extras - coffee filters, olive oil, beach chairs, etc.... and some awesome outdoor cats:)

Owners response: We are so glad that Kristine and Kent came to stay at Twin Hearts and found the cottage to be perfect getaway. They did not mention the hot tub, tandem kayak, and boogie boards in their review...we're hoping they had a chance to try all three! From the sounds of it, they may not have taken advantage of the WiFi either, but at least it was there if they did feel the need to connect.

Thanks for the stars!

Much aloha.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Going the extra mile

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

My wife and I booked a 15 night stay at Twin Hearts for the 2011 Holidays. We secured the peak time by booking in May. This was going to be the first trip together with our little son and our second visit to the beautiful island of Kauai. Shortly before our planned departure we learned that my wife was expecting! We would have pursued the itinerary, but the OBGYN instructed her to avoid any air travel due to pregnancy related risks. We promptly informed Bruce, the owner of Twin Hearts. With just 12 days left until our planned arrival date finding last minute bookings was challenging. But Bruce was great! He utilized the whole arsenal of modern communication to promote the opportunity - from Craig's List to email blasts. With quite some success. Eight of the 15 nights were re-booked and our refund was quickly processed. We will certainly be visiting Kauai again one day not just to stay at wonderful Twin Hearts (or its larger sister property Hale Kai Kalani...), but to meet Bruce in person who did such a wonderful job for us. We also encourage all visitors of Twin Hearts to purchase travel insurance against unforeseen events, which Bruce generally recommends at the beginning of each rental. Tom P., New York

Recommended for: adventure seekers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Going the extra mile...

Review submitted: January 21, 2012   Date of arrival: December 21, 2011

My wife and I booked a 15 night stay at Twin Hearts for the 2011 Holidays. We secured the peak time by booking in May. This was going to be the first trip together with our little son and our second visit to the beautiful island of Kauai. Shortly before our planned departure we learned that my wife was expecting! We would have pursued the itinerary, but the OBGYN instructed her to avoid any air travel due to pregnancy related risks. We promptly informed Bruce, the owner of Twin Hearts. With just 12 days left until our planned arrival date finding last minute bookings was challenging. But Bruce was great! He utilized the whole arsenal of modern communication to promote the opportunity - from Craig's List to email blasts. With quite some success. Eight of the 15 nights were re-booked and our refund was quickly processed. We will certainly be visiting Kauai again one day not just to stay at wonderful Twin Hearts (or its larger sister property Hale Kai Kalani...), but to meet Bruce in person who did such a wonderful job for us. We also encourage all visitors of Twin Hearts to purchase travel insurance against unforeseen events, which Bruce generally recommends at the beginning of each rental. Tom P., New York

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful getaway

Review submitted: December 22, 2011   Date of arrival: December 15, 2011

We loved our stay at Twin Hearts and would recommend it to anyone who loves peace and quiet, privacy, gorgeous surroundings and convenient location. The bed was very comfortable, the owner Bruce was very knowledgeable and helpful with ideas of things to do and places to eat. The cottage was really clean and beautiful inside and out. My husband ran to the beach and back every day ( it less than a mile away, with some downhill). It is near a beautiful garden open to the public (must make tour reservations). The owners' cat and dog came to visit us occasionally, but other than that and the frog, shooting star, and rainbows, we felt completely secluded. Wonderful, romantic spot!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

My Perfect Honeymoon @ Twin Hearts...

Review submitted: June 25, 2011   Date of arrival: June 12, 2011

My new wife and I stayed at Twin Hearts from June 12-22. It was truly paradise...

First of all, I am never staying at a hotel again if I can avoid it. The simple pleasure of having a home, mixing and mingling as a local, cannot be accomplished at a hotel. I highly recommend that anyone utilize a vacation rental website when booking a vacation, especially a vacation in paradise.

Twin Hearts was perfect. You know that feeling of buying something that is totally awesome, unique AND local??? that is what you get when you rent at Twin Hearts. The owner Bruce is just a great human being, offering up plenty (too much - lol) advice on what to explore based on my interests. However, even though his home is relatively nearby (although it is entirely out of sight), I never saw (or heard) from him. At times, I felt like I might be annoying him (lol!). Also, I am a Dad who took a honeymoon during Father's Day weekend. Bruce was kind enough to invite me over to join him and his family (and a few local neighbors) in a softball game. Bruce is an awesome dude.

Specific to Twin Hearts, it comes with a very comfortable bed, stocked kitchen, nice appliances, is open air, cool decorations, outdoor shower, hot tub, sweet porch, gas grill, kayak, water shoes, hammock, washer/dryer, coffee maker, tv/dvd, wifi and of course everything the subtropics should offer (including lizards you idiots). It is located 10 minutes to a super low key beach (which come to find out is a favorite of many locals I spoke with). In fact, me and my new wife found ourselves alone on the beach (!). Twin Hearts is also located halfway between Princeville/Hanalei and the more populated Kapaa/Lihue, but is still located in the north shore setting.

My highlights:

- Na Pali coast dinner/snorkel tour (AWESOME!)
- luau (we did Smith's)
- kayaking trips (our favorite was Kalihiwai River and the THREE level waterfall with a pool at the bottom of each - my wife and I were alone in the top pool for two hours (!)
- hike Kalalau Trail
- snorkeling at Tunnels, Ke'e and Moloaa
- beach at Secret, Hideaways, in addition to the one near Twin Hearts
- local shops in Hanalei, Kapaa
- hike Waimea Canyon (or just drive there)
- buying local leis, fish, coconut, pineapples, etc at roadside farmers markets (and Kileaua Fish Market too)
- AND hanging out at Twin Hearts... drinking wine in the hot tub while watching movies or just nature in general.

Do the right thing... stay at Twin Hearts!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfecto!

Review submitted: May 16, 2011   Date of arrival: May 10, 2011

My wife and I came to Kauai for 2 weeks and spent the first week down in Poipu and the second here at Bruce's Twin Hearts Cottage. It's our last night here as I write this review and I have to say this has been an awesome vacation. Twin Hearts is extremely special. It's a short hike to the beach, which has VERY low traffic. It is a huge beach and we rarely saw other beach goers, but got to watch some really great surfing. The cottage is very quaint and perfect for a couple looking to get away. The hot tub is super clean and the interior very breazy and relaxing. Satellite and wifi allow you to watch and surf at night while winding down with a nice glass (or multiple bottles in our case) of wine ;)

The location between Kapa'a and Hanalei Bay is very convenient, but DEFINITELY RENT A CAR. Really you should do this regardless of where you stay on the island. You definitely don't want to wait around or pay for cabs.

This entire experience has been amazing. We left no stone unturned, stopping at EVERY town on the entire island over our two weeks here.

Here are the highlights:
-Driving South and West down past Waimea to the white sand beach.
-Hiking Waimea canyon (bring LOTS of water - seriously pack at least 2 camelbacks plus a couple of bottles of water)
-Na' Pali boat cruise was WELL WORTH THE MONEY! We went into caves and had a blast!
-Eating at many of the local restaurants
-RELAXING
-RELAXING
-RELAXING!!!!

We can see why many of the locals are transplants from the mainland. They have it right. This is truly paradise. Thanks to the Fehrings!!!!!!

PS we loved hanging out with the orange cat we named "Robot" and the two sweet dogs from next door. We spoiled them with treats every night, and they kept the roosters from cocka-doodling too early for us :)

PSS the folks that complained about the lizards are crazy! The couple of geckos that cling to the windows at night are super cool to watch.

-Bob and Carly Ullery
www.facebook.com/ullery

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are happy that Bob and Carly came and enjoyed Twin Hearts. We appreciate their many positive comments. It seems like they managed just the right mix of exploration, activities, and relaxation!

Many guests seem to enjoy visits from our pets, and they love the attention. We do, however request that guests do not feed them, as they get plenty in their bowls and we'd prefer that they do not get in the habit of seeking handouts. For those guests who do not enjoy the animals coming by, we provide a large squirt gun which effectively discourages them for the duration of the visit.

We invite you to be our guests at Twin Hearts. Please try to book as early as possible to ensure the greatest chance of availability.

Aloha nui loa, e komo mai,

Bruce and Cyndee

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

First Hawaiian Vacation

Review submitted: April 20, 2011   Date of arrival: April 11, 2011

We visited Twin Hearts and the Island of Kauai in April 2011. It was a much-needed vacation after several months chasing deadlines. Following a couple of underwhelming days on Oahu, we arrived at the beautiful and enchanting Twin Hearts cottage, where we instantly felt at home. Bruce and Cyndee have decorated with impeccable taste and an eye toward convenience.

Falling into "chill mode," we prepared many of our own island meals in the well-equipped kitchen and enjoyed the hot tub during a couple of rainy north coast mornings and evenings. We walked to the beach, took a wonderful tour of the Botanical Gardens just up the road from the cottage, enjoyed the little towns of Kilauea and Hanalei, walked the bike trail in Kapa'a, as well as reveled in the best lattes and coolest vibes on the island at Small Town coffee (Kapa'a).

The grounds at Twin Hearts are lovely and private, surrounded by the melodious sounds of shama thrushes and other exotic birds. Curly and Cosmo, the kitties, kept us company, too, and made us feel right at home. It was hard to tear ourselves away on the last day! You can bet we'll be back!

Recommended for: age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are always glad to hear when guests have a memorable visit, and will be happy to host Rick and Melinda again in the future. They came with a great attitude...do some exploring but leave time just to chill out and drink in the beauty of Kauai, and of Twin Hearts. They were lucky enough to find availability for their requested dates less than two months prior to their arrival, and will be thinking further ahead for their next visit to Twin Hearts. We suggest you do the same, and come visit!

Aloha, Bruce and Cyndee

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful honeymoon cottage/vacation rental...

Review submitted: June 30, 2009   Date of arrival: July 30, 2008

Twin Hearts, in my opinion, is the ideal honeymoon setting. The cottage itself is beautifully crafted, and there are more activities close by than we were able to cram into our short stay. The hottub is the icing on the cake. If you are looking for privacy and some serious "alone time", this is the right place. We were visited daily by 2 of the friendliest dogs we've ever met - and felt bad when we had to say goodbye. For those that aren't used to staying in the tropics, there are geckos everywhere. They will get inside the house, no matter what you try to do to keep them out (I don't even bother...). They are harmless, cute, and quite fun to watch on the windows at night. Bring bug spray - Kauai is known for its mosquitios. I would absolutely love to stay here again - and perhaps next time I'll be able to convince my wife to try the kayak...

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We are so happy to have hosted yet another satisfied honeymoon couple at Twin Hearts, and strive to make each experience comfortable, effortless, and special. It is wonderful when our guests return for anniversaries as well! Think ahead so that you are not disappointed by possible lack of availability! Aloha, and e komo mai!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Lizzard Haven

Review submitted: November 10, 2008   Date of arrival: October 22, 2008

The amentities were nice, especially the hot tub. The location was great, partial ocean view and nice 10 min. walk to beach. The setting was gorgeous, just beware of the bugs and lizzards! They liked to come inside the cottage through the screens, especially at night. If you don't mind "roughing it" on a pricey vacation this is the place for you. We ended up leaving early and not being compensated. Just a little warning.

Recommended for: adventure seekers

Owners response: We are very sorry that this particular couple was disappointed with their stay at Twin Hearts. They booked the cottage for a one week stay 6 months before their arrival, and were given a military discount.

After the second night, the husband called me over and told me that they could not stay and longer. Having never had any guest depart early from Twin Hearts, I asked if there was a problem. He apologetically told me that he had a massive phobia about "lizards", having been tortured with them by his older brother and a "friend" in his youth, and that he had seen a couple of them inside the cottage and became "rigid with fear" and had to "eat standing up"..

Of course, I felt badly that anyone was so badly afflicted with a phobia of this nature and magnitude. Naturally, our geckos in the sub-tropics are pervasive and find their way almost everywhere. Most people find them both cute and entertaining, and they appear as harmless characters on t-shirts, mugs, and in auto insurance commercials here. They are also helpful in that they dine on any bugs that find their way into and around the cottage.

I offered to see what I could do to move the geckos out of the house but the couple had already packed and were determined to leave. They asked that I refund their security deposit, which I did immediately, and in cash. However, we only refund paid dates if we can re-book them, which is difficult at the very last minute, and which we were unable to do in this instance. This is typical of single vacation rental properties, where the loss of income can be devaststing.

I asked if they had geckos in Honolulu and was told that there were plenty of them, but not on the 17th floor of the apartment building where they resided. I suggested that, given his phobia, they always inquire about geckos when booking accommodations in the sub-tropics. Our belief is that where no geckos are in evidence, enough pesticides have been sprayed as to potentially be injurious to your health. We use mechanical methods and contained traps, not chemical spraying, to keep geckos and other pests at bay. Do we get them all? Of course not.

Thus, if you have lizard phobia or if possibly seeing the occasional roach or a few ants will ruin your vacation, you may want to book at a high-rise hotel, and ask for a room near the top. If you are seeking a more realistic stay at a beautiful private cottage on acreage surrounded by nature, please consider staying at Twin Hearts.

Helpful votes: 12 / 13

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 18, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this beautiful cottage
last December (2007) for our honeymoon. It was
the most wonderful vacation we have had. This
cottage is perfect for a couple who wants privacy,
yet access to nice restaurants and a great yoga
studio if you continue north on the road. You will
need a car. There is a perfect private beach that
you can walk to from the house. There are other
beaches nearby north of the cottage and lots of
hiking. I would also highly recommend driving
around to the other side of the island to hike
through the canyon. We spent a whole day hiking.
Near the canyon, there is a very sweet roadside cafe
that serves the best pulled pork sandwiches I have
ever had! The owners have great guides in the
house to help you find whatever it is you want to
do. I would highly recommend this house. One of
my favorite memories was lying in the hammock in
the yard with my husband watching the falling
stars.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Twin Hearts=Comfort & Convenience

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 10, 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our week at Twin Hearts in April 2008! The location was very central. It was convenient for our morning coffee & breakfast at Kilauea Bakery & Pau Hana Pizza; sometimes we ate there, or sometimes we brought it back to the cottage. We didn't cook at all, but the kitchen was nice for leftovers and keeping things in the fridge and warming up bagels & pastries and other snacks & tea. The kayak was a very enjoyable experience. We kayaked up the Kilauea and Kihiliwai streams; easy, scenic and not too long (a lot of bang for your buck!). Bruce was very helpful with instructing us on the kayak, as well as providing us with a lot of other tips and information. All of Kauai's best beach's are around you; from just a few mins. down the road to the end of the road at Ke'e (about 30 mins. drive). Other great things about the cottage included the VERY comfortable bed and the outdoor shower. Bruce and Cyndee really did a wonderful job creating a cozy cottage in paradise!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 19, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We can't begin to describe how absolutely perfect this place was for our vacation. It was like a home-away-from-home, with all the comfort you could ask for and privacy you would want. We'll be back for sure!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 24, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

Twin Hearts is a wonderful, secluded cottage in an ideal location on Kauai. It was perfect for our honeymoon and we will be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 10, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

The cottage is wondeful,the owners have thought through what amenities are needed to enhance you Kauai vacation, from hot-tub to beach chairs. The decor is attractive and functional and it feels like a bit of home away form home. I have no reservations whatsoever about recommending this cottage for those looking for a rental expereince on Kauai.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 15, 2003   Date of arrival: December 1, 2003

Unfortunately, I have not stayed in this lovely home, yet. However, I did want to comment about the speedy, efficient, and friendly reply back from the owners when I did inquire about the property. This alone sais quite a bit for the service that I believe that I will receive when I am able to finally prepare my vacation destination of Kaui. THANK YOU FOR SUCH EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE!!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 4

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 28, 2003   Date of arrival: October 1, 2003

This cottage is a great home base from which to explore beautiful Kauai. We enjoyed all the amenities, from the outdoor shower to the jacuzzi, and from the kayak to the great kitchen. We spent our honeymoon here and loved every minute.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2003   Date of arrival: September 1, 2003

Hi. We are the owners (and designers and builders) of Twin Hearts, this magical handcrafted cottage. We've been in the vacation rental business here on Kauai for 10 years. However, we've just now activated this "guestbook", so you might not see many, if any, entries. We are happy to supply you with names and numbers of prior guests who indicated their willingness to discuss the home with you. Simply contact us and we will provide those references.

Mahalo nui, Bruce and Cyndee Fehring

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review