reviews for: listing #16960 - Islamorada, Florida House rental

Keys Villa. Private Secluded House on the Bay.
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Holiday House
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $895 - $1,095 /wk

sort by:

Our Favorite Home Away from Home

Review submitted: August 10, 2009   Date of arrival: July 25, 2009

The minute you pull off of A1A into the tropically landscaped lane, all our cares evaporate. Our family has enjoyed our stay in the Mitchell's Keys Villa for over a decade and never fail to rebook for the next year, even before leaving. The quaint Keys Villa is perfect for our needs and is nicely equipped for preparing our surf and turf meals! It is immaculate and offers a lovely view of the marina. We can see our boat from the living room! The sunsets are magnificient! I have recommended the property many times and noone is ever disappointed! Can't wait until 2010!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: We have so many regular guests that come back year after year and Jaye and Russell are the best. We love to have so many nice people staying in the Villa and enjoying our Keys

Bob and Phyllis

Helpful votes: 19 / 19

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: August 10, 2014   Date of arrival: August 2, 2014

We were out on the water pretty much every day and snorkeling, too! We had such a wonderful time and the place was great! Jamie was so thrilled that he could just take out the kayak right out back and go fishing as soon as he woke up! We were very comfortable for sure and the location was everything we could hope for! We would love to come back to Islamorada and if we do again next year we would love to stay at the Keys Villa! We just are not sure if we will be next year or not yet. We've been talking about going up north to New England, where I'm from, and spending a week in Maine. But I will definitely let you know if we will be back in 2015!
Again, thank you so much for everything! We really had a great time! And thank you for the star fruit and limes! That was very sweet!
Take care and all the best

Kim and Jamie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: November 17, 2013   Date of arrival: October 26, 2013

Thank you so very much. Your hospitality is par none. See you next year

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 17, 2013

#must sees; Dolphin Research Center, Turtle Hospital, Theater of the Sea, Sombrero Beach, Ma's Seafood.

Bob and Phyllis, If I had to describe our stay in one word, unforgetble. After 33 years of being together I couldn't imagine a more perfect first vacation for everyone. Benny and I loved fishing in the ocean and catching the beautiful fish, admiring the different species, seeing the sharks in the bay, being surrounded by impeccable views of cerulean water, and the picturesque scenery. We met and petted dolphins, kissed Sea Lions, learned a lot about turtles and went to the beach every single day. It was an amazing experience. Thanks for everything especially the fresh avacado, mango and tomato.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: August 31, 2013

Bob and Phyllis, We had a great time. You have a little piece of Old Florida here and we will be back.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: June 29, 2013

Thanks you for sharing the Mitchell's Keys Villa with us. You have a very beautiful and comfortable piece of paradise here. Seeing manatees sleeping in the marina was very cool. (We will send pictures) A little cloudy for the sunsets but we will look for them next year. Really enjoyed the quiet peaceful space outside that allowed the dogs plenty of room to stretch their legs. See you next year and thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: August 8, 2013   Date of arrival: July 20, 2013

Bob and Phyllis, It was once again a pleasure staying at the Villa. We always have a great time. We enjoyed seeing the squirrels, lobster, and iguana on the property as usual. Also all the other visitors were great to talk with. We loved telling stories about where we came from with the others. Can't wait to come back soon. Loved it!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

First visit to the Florida Keys

Review submitted: May 25, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Very comfortable cottage with all the amenities for preparing your own meals, etc. View of gulf from patio and living room. Dock is only footsteps away from door and very comfortable for reading a book or fishing. Caught many fish from the dock and saw much marine life such as dolphin, crabs, lobster and stingray. A family of manatee even visited the dock and stayed for much of the afternoon. Had a lovely time here!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: March 31, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Bob and Phyllis
We had a wonderful time in paradise. Looking forward to next year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: March 23, 2013   Date of arrival: March 23, 2013

Bob and Phyllis, Thank you for a wonderful stay in your little piece of paradise. The Villa was perfect for us and we me delightful new friends as we shared sunsets on the bay. We'll see you again. Regards

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: March 10, 2013

WOW! We love your Mitchell's Keys Villa. Thank you for having such a nice, beautiful and clean accommodation. We hope to be back. We hope to see you all again. Come to see us in Mississippi. Your friends

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 8, 2013

Our accomodations at the Mitchell's Keys Villa were top drawer. The sunsets the weather, the Bay, the ride on Dennys Boston Whaler were seperb. Thanks again

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: March 18, 2013   Date of arrival: February 14, 2013

Bob and Phyllis, Thank you so much for your hospitality. The location of your Villa was perfect. We enjoyed watching the sunsets and all of the great fishing. Thanks again for everything.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: November 17, 2012   Date of arrival: November 17, 2012

The weather was perfect accommodations flawless and the garden tour divine. Bob and Phyllis, Thanks so very much for a week of relaxation. Your garden was great. For those reading this book of gratitude a few good spots. Chad's in Tavernier is fantastic for food of all types, the portions are huge and the staff especially kind. Marker 88 just north of here is great for a seafood choice, for dessert the Baked Alaska Key Lime dessert was perfect. For a burger Shulaburger just up the street is great and if you should happen to end up in Key West for the day the Hemingway House tour is a must, lunch or dinner at Louies, you won't be disapointed. Backcounty Cowboy was well stocked and well for our fishing kayaks. Fshing down to the left was great. Snorkeling on the SPIRIT, great.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: November 12, 2012   Date of arrival: November 10, 2012

Hi Bob and Phyllis,

Thank you soooo much for your hospitality & providing us with such a truly wonderful start to our marriage & the rest of our "happily ever after". We are so thankful for your Villa and the beautiful week we have had together.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: November 3, 2012   Date of arrival: November 3, 2012

Thank you Bob and Phyllis for sharing your piece of paradise with us. This was our first time here and we will definitely be back! The Keys Villa was perfect - spacious and beautifully decorated. Although we had that very windy weather the couple of days, the rest of the week was gorgeous. Loved those flat seas, blue skies and lots of fish. A great place for our boat too. Your native plant garden is lovely. Thanks so much for the tour. See you in 2013.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: October 28, 2012   Date of arrival: October 27, 2012

Staying at the Keys Villa is a choice you won't regret. It's location is incredible for viewing the beautiful sunsets. It's also a great location to get to everything that is Islamorada. The Villa will cover all your basic needs and then some. This is our forth stay in Islamorada is two years and this is the best place we have stayed at yet. In my view it was a positive experience that offered much more space, privacy option than a hotel would. The house overall is well decorated and very comfortable. The Villa was clean and very nice.
Bob and Phyllis are congenial and extremely kind and helpful. For example Bob stops by to see if every thing is alright with the rental or if we have any questions.
All in all staying here is an experience we hope to repeat in the near future. We had a positive and unforgetable vacation here. We love the area and we appreciate all your work to make this trip a success.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 20, 2012

Thank you to Phyllis and Bob for sharing this little piece of Heaven with us. It is so sad to be leaving. But We are so thankful to have had this opportunity. The Villa was just perfect for us. We are enjoyed fishing from the pier and especially Scott and Marvin. I had a much deserved peaceful vacation. The guys enjoyed going out on a chartered fishing trip and I couldn't get enough of Founder's Park beach. I personally recommend the glass bottom boat tour at Pennecamp Coral Reef State Park. So much to do, so much to say, so many happy memories. Our sincere thanks for your hospitality!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: October 12, 2012   Date of arrival: October 1, 2012

What a great time & wonderful place to stay. We caught many fish off the jetty & watched a shark swim by several times in late evening. The (Backcountry ) kayak people at the top of the drive delivered a kayak. We spent 4 hours touring around the bay. We had several meals at the Lorelei and watched the sun set. Lazy Days is excellent food with a view of the Atlantic. Wahoo's was also good. Went back country fishing with Captain Bruce Stagg (Pick's you up in front of the Villa). Caught 30-35 Redfish. 3 snook and many other fish. GREAT! Made two trips on the "Reef Runner" out of Whale Harbor(They do split charters). Taking home Kingfish, Wahoo, Tuna and Dolphin. Capt Paul and first mate Hal were great. Went birding as well and visited the bird sanctuary. Made two trips to Key West as well. The Villa is all we hoped it would be & more. We slept in like teenagers (at 60+). Coffee on the patio in the morning and nice wine in the evening. When our travels bring us to the Keys, this is where we will stay. Jim and Linda, Columbia SC.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: October 4, 2012   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

It's been a wonderful stay, the location is a great place to be, its so peaceful. We have enjoyed it so much. We look forward to coming again, the weather was kind to us as well. What more could you ask for.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 15, 2012   Date of arrival: September 8, 2012

Bob and Phyllis, Oh my goodness. We just loved it. It is just the perfect little hideways! We are so glad we found you. The sunsets were simply beautiful - like you said. Almost hard to express other than we had a blast & we will be repeats. Thanks so much

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 11, 2012   Date of arrival: September 5, 2012

Bob and Phyllis, We enjoyed our stay here so much. It was nice to relax in our own little slice of this piece of paradise. We saw a manatee, dolphin, and all sorts of fish right off the dock. And it was beautiful to watch the sunsets our there. Thank you for everything.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Hope I can secure a spot

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Hello, I am looking for a nice place for my wife and I to stay in Islamorada, we have never been so reading the reviews of past vacationers really leads me to your place. We were looking to stay in November but see that yours is so popular that you are booked for sometime. Can you recommend a place to stay this year and then I can book well in advance with you for next November. We are 50 years old from North Carolina and wanting to find a place for late fall vacations. Thanks, Mark & Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Gainesville Florida

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: July 21, 2012

Bob and Phyllis, As always, we had a great time. These last two weeks just flew by. Thanks for letting us come again and for the great veggies from Robert is Here. We will see you next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Appleton, Wi

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 16, 2012

Bob and Phyllis, Thank you so much! Your Villa was wonderful. You were not kidding about the sunsets.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Charlie and Celeste

Review submitted: August 21, 2012   Date of arrival: August 10, 2012

Dear Bob and Phyllis,
Charlie & I, & JuJu (the dog) enjoyed the cute Villa. It was so comfortable and we felt welcomed from the minute we got here. Great Hosts. Hope to be back again. Charlie and Celeste and JuJu, Palm Bay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 24, 2012

Simply said - We love this place!
Thanks for everything Phyllis and Bob
Until next time -
We will be following your Mitchell's Islamorada Villas Facebook page

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 10, 2012

Just a little note to let you know how much we loved your Mitchell's Villa. It was everything we hoped for. We loved the location and all the people we me there were very nice. We would also like to thank you for taking the time to give us a tour of your gardens, we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Raymond and Jo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: December 23, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, We enjoyed every minute of our stay. Everything about the Keys Villa is so thoughtfully and skillfully laid out. It's the details that count and you certainly provided those.
Your tour of the gardens around your house and the Villa were a treat. Thank you for your generosity in those small gifts of fruit. The Star Fruit (Carabola) and Canistel and Avacado were thourghly enjoyed.
How lucky you are to live in this tropoical paradise and how fortunate we are to be able to share a brief time here with you. Love to both of you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: December 13, 2011   Date of arrival: December 10, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, What a beautiful place. No detail overlooked. The view from our patio was worth the cost of admission alone. If Bob offers a tour of his garden take him up on it. Fasenating insights into the intresting and diversified flora of the Keys. Hope to return

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: December 8, 2011   Date of arrival: December 6, 2011

We are so sad to leave Keys Villa! Thank you for being the perfect hosts - it made our stay just that much better. We found that there is so much more to see and do - that we will just have to come back. Thank you again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys VIlla

Review submitted: December 1, 2011   Date of arrival: November 21, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, We are so thankful for this place of paradise. There is no way to relax more than we have and done on this vacation. This place is amazing - the changes you have done are beyond wonderful. My kids love it here, it's our little world under the trees. My son caught over 50 fish from the jetty the last day we were here and he was in heaven. Thank you again for a great experience and we look forward to a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: November 20, 2011   Date of arrival: November 3, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, We enjoyed our short but lovely visit to the Keys Villa and feel lucky we found it. Perfect for a girls getaway and we will be returning. Thanks you for the botanical tour - much appreciated. Jill and Gail

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: October 30, 2011   Date of arrival: October 22, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, Thanks you so much for your wonderful hospitality. We have enjoyed the Keys Villa, centrically locatied near the Galleries, Shops, Fishing and excellent restaurants. It was especially nice having the fenced patio so Sofie could be free to be outside with us.
Recomodations for restaurants, Lorelei (pet friendly)love music and the beach. Island Grill and Islamorada Fish Co. for outside dining (all pet friendly). We have a spoiled golden retriver that will expect same service at home!
Highlight of week. Nick went out on the "Restless Too" Bob Mathais "Captain" and caught a 58" sailfish. First sailfish of the winter for Restless Too and only Nick's second in 33 years! (Smiley Face)
I helped the Islamorada "economy" with my Galley shopping; Gallery Morada, Lizqueeny Gallery 84, and Rain Barrel. Liz is a great gal - lots of fun... Many Thanks

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys VIlla

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, Thank you so much for a wonderful week. We absolutely loved the Keys Villa and we will be back. Darcie and Shamus had a terrific wedding on the property. It was so nice that in the end and on the day the weather was beautiful. Love to you both and good health. Ro and Jay

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful and like being home

Review submitted: October 16, 2011   Date of arrival: October 8, 2011

Bob and Phyllis,
How can we possibly thank you for the wonderful week at the Key's Villa. My daughter Darcie and her new husband Seamus had the most beautiful wedding and all of our guests enjoyed the week. You are both such gracious hosts. Thanks again so much for the fish dip for the wedding, it was delicious! What a wonderful place for a wedding and a great vacation! We can't wait to come back soon!
Ro and Jay Baker

Recommended for: age 55+, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys VIlla

Review submitted: October 11, 2011   Date of arrival: September 23, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, Thanks you so much for the opportunity to stay in your Villa. Hopefully we can find a free week again to enjoy it. The help putting the boat in the water, and garden tour were great of you. Recommendations: Lazy Days, always good cheviche and jalapeno catch of the day. MA's Fish Camp for deserts. Bitton for Gelato. Hog Heaven for simply good food. Mike @ Bud 'N Mary's Marina for fish the flats. He is also a Captain that will go on your boat and show you the "tricks of navigation" - just provide some beers. Sand Bar is always fun. Island Grill to just pull your boat up. Good luck and thanks again for allowing Izzy (boxer rescue) Ward and Janie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 25, 2011   Date of arrival: September 17, 2011

Hello,
Stephanie and Rick here. We're on our way to the airport, we miss the keys villa already! We just wanted to thank you again for providing us with such a lovely experience that we'll never forget. We had an amazing time and just loved Islamorada. We wanted to write in your guest book before we left but we were running late this morning, guess we'll just have to do it next year! Thanks again! We'll keep in touch and let you know as soon as possible what our plans are for next year, and I'll send you those photos as soon as possible.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

Darlings, Once again a lovely time. The improvements on the property just keep getting better all the time. Thank you so much for keeping a piece of the "Old Keys" for us to share with the future generations. You two have a little bit of heaven here. With the news being what it is we all need a place to hide and gather our senses again. Lots of love - we'll check the moon and tides and see you both soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 20, 2011

Great vacation. The house was perfect for us and our pups. Thanks to Bob for looking after us and can't wait to return

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: August 13, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, Thanks so much for such a great time here at the Villa. We made many great memories and met new friends. We can't wait to come back again soon. We could not have asked for better hospitality! Our day was never compelete without a visit from Bob! We really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and privacy. Take care and see you soon.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 23, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, We had a great time staying at your place here in Islamorada. The Villa was beautiful and the hospitality was great. We are looking forward to a return trip. Can't thank you both enough for all you do to make our stay a memorable one. Take care and see you soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, We have had a wonderful time staying here and we are already looking forward to our visit next summer. The Villa was perfect and your hospitality was refreshing. Stephen was so pumped up about catching the bonefish and the weather could not have been better. We enjoyed our evenings out watching the sunsets and meeting our vacation "neighbors". Thank you for making this a vacation to remember. Jenkins had fun too. ):. God Bless

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

We didn't get a chance to say goodbye when we left. I just wanted to say thanks for your hospitality. Also you can tell your attention to detail in your rentals. Thanks Again

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Keys Villa

Review submitted: September 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Bob and Phyllis, What can we say? After twelve years of coming and staying at the same place it just gets better. The Villa and the property are just amazing. The improvements you do to the Villa get better each year. Just when we think you have exceeded yourself you suprise us again. The sunsets just get more beautiful. We truly love this place and hope to continue to come for many years. Thank you again for your hospitality.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2011

Our stay here in Islamorada in your Keys Villa was wonderful! The sunsets werre beautiful and the warm hospitality you showed us exceeded our expectations.
We enjoyed visiting Key West for a day
- breakfast at Morada Bay was a beautiful view
-Robbie's was a must! Enjoyed feeding tarpon
-Lazy Days was the best view and food. yummy
-throughly enjoyed boating around the Keys, saw so much - dolphin, bonefish, rays, sharks and the many homes and resorts around Islamorada displaying many architectural details that we loved. Your home property was a horticulturist dream and a spectacular sight to see. Johnathan and Grace. U.S. Army Ft Sill

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 15, 2011

Perfect weather in a perfect location. For three of us it was our first time in Florida and we managed to see a great deal. Looking forward to a longer stay next time. Now back to Ottawa
P.S. Loved the stone crabs and mustard sauce
Loved Key Lime pie
Loved feeding tarpon at Robbie's
Saw the tiny Key Deer and looking for manatee's next time

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: March 5, 2011

Dear Phyllis and Bob

We enjoyed our great stay. Your Keys Villa was lovely and extremely clean. Nick really enjoyed fishing and I enjoyed watching him. You take care of your lovely property and guests. Thank you again Nick and Judy

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

Dear Phyllis and Bob

Thank you so much for your wonderful hospitality. Your property is absolutely gorgeous! We are definately coming back to Islamorada in the near future and we look forward to staying here again. It was such a pleasure meeting you :). Lara and Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 13, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

We will be looking forward to our visit next year (for two weeks). We enjoyed every moment of our short week with you in the delightful Keys Villa. Have a great summer, and see you next year.
Debby and MIke

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A fabulous find!

Review submitted: March 7, 2011   Date of arrival: February 26, 2011

After staying in hotels in Islamorada for over 20 years, we finally decided to try a rental property. We stayed at Mitchell's Villa for a week with another couple, and we had a WONDEFUL time. Bob and Phyllis (owners) are great. The villa is clean, bright and very comfortable. Sunsets are beautiful, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. We will definately be returning!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 19, 2011

Feb 19-26th 2011

We enjoyed out stay at your Keys Villa and will most likely rebook again for next year. Meeting everyone (all were gracious people) was a real plus.
Joe especially enjoyed the good fishing, so I'm sure Islamorada will be on the agenda again
Cordially, Jan and Joe

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 4, 2011   Date of arrival: February 12, 2011

Feb 12-19th 2011

We truly enjoyed our stay at your Keys Villa. What breathtaking sunsets. On the water we spotted dolphin, rays, turtles and so many species of birds. We enjoyed great food all week. Our favorite was the Hungry Tarpon and Lazy Days. Yum. The Villa had all the amenities we needed and the neighbors are all so friendly and helpful. We will be back. Hope to see you soon. Jason and Rebecca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 12, 2011   Date of arrival: February 5, 2011

Phyllis and Bob, Wow! We had such a great week and don't want to have to say goodbye to all the wonderful folks we've met his week. Thank you so much for everything. The Keys Villa surpassed our expectations and we hope to be back the same time next year. Your home and gardens and this vacation were spectacular. Take care until next time. Debby, Mike,

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Getaway

Review submitted: February 10, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Keys Villa. The place is clean and cozy and newly renovated. Its location is ideal, we went to Key West and the Everglades and it was a good halfway point. We enjoyed watching the beautiful sunsets off the marina and kayaking in the nearby mangrove islands. Conveniently there is a outfitter next door to rent bikes and kayaks from. The owner is very welcoming and helpful offering many great suggestions for dinner and places to visit. I would highly recommend this place to those looking to getaway and experience the Keys.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Phyllis and I enjoyed the visit of Chris and Alicia very much. It is our joy to have our guests appreciate what the Keys has to offer and to appreciate the care we have taken to provide them with a wonderful base for their adventure. We are just two properties away so we are close by when the guests need anything from special needs to suggestions on food, shopping. sight seeing. fishing, diving, kayaking or any of the other Keys attractions. We hope to see them again real soon. Bob and Phyllis

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 6, 2011   Date of arrival: January 28, 2011

Dear Phyllis and Bob

We have been so happy here in your Villa in paradise. The beauty of the surrondings and your outstanding hospitality are awesome. We hope to see you again.

Ben and Carole

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Keys at it's BEST!!!!!!!!

Review submitted: January 26, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2010

When I say "at it's BEST", I mean unspoiled, old Florida. Mitchell's Villa had a nice water view, steps from it's own private marina where we enjoyed many fabulous sunsets with our new friends.

The Villa was equipped with everything you might find in your own home, including two flat screen televisions, washer/dryer, gas BBQ grill, internet and more.

Bob and Phylis, the owners, were very gracious. We were welcomed into their world and treated as if we had been friends for years.

AND now for the best part. We were able to bring our dog and two birds. The whole family got to go.

We had a wonderful, peaceful vacation and would love to go back next year, BUT with all the GREAT reviews the Mitchell's get, finding a time slot might be difficult.

Everything was "TOP SHELF" Keys Time.

Pura Vida

Recommended for: pet-friendly

Owners response: Rick and Michelle, Thanks so much for all of your kind comments and the pictures and other comments uploaded to our Islamorada Villas facebook page. We miss you guys and hope you come back soon. We are having so much fun watching our guests enjoy the care and attention we put into our Villas and my lucky chance of having Phyllis to decorate them. Your will not believe the changes we have made in the Keys Villa since you stayed. Check out the new pictures on all the sites such as www.homeaway/236873 and our VRBO and Vacation Rental site. VRBO has a video. We watched the sunset tonight over there with about 10 people and the sun set over that stand of coconut palms you got such a great shot of. Great time to you both and PURA VIDA

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 22, 2011   Date of arrival: January 15, 2011

January 15-22, 2011
We really enjoyed our stay at your villa. The place was comfortable and a great location. Beautiful view and sunsets off the marina. We enjoyed visiting with other guests down by the water. And really recommend renting a kayak from BackCountry (next door) to explore the mangrove islands. This was a great location to head up to the Everglades or down to Key West. We had a great time snorkeling at Lowe Key, seeing the Key Deer at Big Pine Key and feeding the tarpon at Robbie's Marina. We loved our time here and would like to stay again in the near future. It will be very difficult heading back to the snow tommorrow. Chris and Alicia, Lancing MI

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 19, 2011   Date of arrival: January 19, 2011

It looks like you are booked up for ages, but I was so taken with the reviews of your property that I thought I'd ask if you know anyone else with similar places who might have any time available the last week in March. I spent 10 years in Miami, and love the Keys when it's a real, honest, Keysey place, and yours looks like just that. We are looking for something family-friendly -- any advice you have would be much appreciated!

Jane

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 30, 2010   Date of arrival: November 20, 2010

Good Day Bob and Greetings from North Florida.....

We would like to thank you for the wonderful accommodation your villa provided which enhanced our keys vacation experience. Biscuit loved meeting all her new friends and slept all the way home to Jacksonville....more than likely dreaming of the daily boat adventures and the dog friendly Island Grill trip ....she even got served her own water dish.
Chase ended up catching the biggest fish of the trip and Marcy and I both came home very refreshed and relaxed from our trip.
We hope to stay a Mitchell's again soon

Thanking you again and wishing you all the best

Stephen,Marcy,Chase and of course.....Biscuit.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 25, 2010   Date of arrival: November 13, 2010

Rosie and I along with Rosie's friend Sheri has a super wonderful time at the Villa. It was very clean and comfortable and the weather was fantastic. We also enjoyed the marina and sunsets. The fishing was great and so were the neighbors. We are considering coming back again and will bring Sheri's husband Dave this time. We'll check with you on availablity... when we can come down.

Thanks you again for helping us enjoy a great vacation.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

The best vacation ever!!!

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 15, 2010

The Mitchell's Villa is the great place to stay. Our family of 2 adults and 2 kids love it! It has everything you might need, very clean, modern, quiet and has enought room for everybody!
The owners are the sweetest people you might ever meet! You must see their garden!
We spend our time fishing in the dock, watching sunsets (absolutely amazing!) and doing everything that Islamorada has to offer! We will be back again and we will highly recommend this place to everybody! You will love it too, we promise!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 30, 2010   Date of arrival: September 30, 2010

Dear Bob and Phyllis,

I wanted to express my appreciation to both your phone call this morning, then later with your e mail. I work for the U.S. Air Force as a civilian and have travelled extensively around the United States. I've used many different motels and hotels in my travels. I've found, in most cases, the only real difference in rooms is the customer service that is offered to their customers. In all my time- no one has offered competitor properties when they didn't have a reservation available, usually will not offer any help with other properties and when they do it is usually a "sister" property owned by the same management company. To me- this indicates your customer service is second to none. Thank you for being customer oriented!

You certainly impress me with your help! The last five years I have travelled to the Keys in June and this past year in February. The first two years I stayed in motels that are best described as a high class dump. The last three I've used either Craig's List or VRBO for my stay and found that places like yours were more comfortable and within my budget of around $100 a night, the same as the dumps or even cheaper. I don't know why, but I truly like staying in Islamorada, which as you know is the most expensive area of the Keys. I come to the Keys to relax and recharge, and to do as much fishing as I can afford. I was attracted to your property because it was on the Bay, I could just imagine drinking a cold adult beverage while watching the sunset in front of me. Nothing compares to a Keys sunset!

I look forward to staying with you on one of my trips to paradise! And when I visit this summer, I will stop by and meet you. Thank you for proving customer service is not dead!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Charming

Review submitted: September 3, 2010   Date of arrival: August 21, 2010

Perfectly located for a vacation of boating, fishing, diving and good restaurants. Bob & Phyllis will check up often enough to keep you happy, but you feel you have the place to yourself. So convenient to have the marina out back, just pop you're under 20' in and your off. Perfect "Keys" bungalow, not the Marriott but just what we wanted. Thank you for a wonderful time, we'll definitely be back.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: John and Debra were a delight to have as guests. Our joy is having people enjoy themselves in the worderful place we discovered over 20 years ago. This is the laid back atmosphere that you just don't get in a motel. We are constantly upgrading and this fall we plan new windows, tile, new interior doors, trim and window coverings. A new computer desk will go in shortly. Bob and Phyllis

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: October 12, 2009   Date of arrival: October 12, 2009

The Mitchell’s Villa was the ideal location for our two-week fall getaway. We have been coming to the Keys since 1985 and to Islamorada in particular for the past 21 years. Over the years, we stayed at several different places but were thrilled to find the villa. We invited some friends to spend a few days with us. This was their first visit to the Keys and they too thought the villa was the perfect place to stay. We found it well appointed with everything you could possibly need and then some. The beds were very comfortable, the shower fantastic, and the ambiance perfect “Keysian.” We couldn’t have asked for more.As a Horticulture student here in the mid-Atlantic, the lush tropical foliage around the property captivated me. The mahogany tree (Swietenia) just outside of the dining porch is indeed one of the largest in south Florida. It seems that large trees like that are scarce because thieves often poach the trees for their valuable wood.The sunsets were the most beautiful we have ever seen. We took a number of pictures on different evenings and cannot pick a favorite. They are all spectacular. The wildlife was indeed very friendly, including the two squirrels who greeted us at the door each morning. We also observed a large crab in the boat basin but were unable to identify the species.We hope to return to the Mitchell’s Villa only next time we want to stay longer!

Owners response: Toni and Ed: Thanks for your great comments and having a great time with us. Next time you need to visit our personal property just to the north two doors and see what we have done with the native tropical plants. Just want you to know that we will be buying another place on the propetry if the villa is rented. We look forward to seeing you another time. Bob and Phyllis

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: July 18, 2009   Date of arrival: July 18, 2009

The Mitchell’s Villa is a wonderful place to stay! It has everything you need to be comfortable and relaxed for a few days or a few weeks. Nestled back from the dock area, it offers the perfect amount of privacy with a view. The surrounding grounds are full of interesting native plants and local wildlife. The private marina is equipped with tables and chairs, offers aquarium-like attractions, and faces west for some incredible sunsets...it's very difficult not to gather here each evening.For anglers with boats, the marina offers excellent protection from wind and other boat traffic. There is plenty of space for dockage, several fresh water hoses, electrical outlets, and a fish cleaning table. The Atlantic is just minutes away, the back-country is even closer, and World Wide Sportsman is just down the street. The water is beautiful and the snorkeling fantastic. Yes, this is fishing/boating heaven!The Mitchell's are gracious hosts and excellent ambassadors for Islamorada. If you want to become immersed in the Keys lifestyle, this is the place to stay!

Owners response: Eric and Gwen are exactly why we get so much joy renting our little piece of paradise in Islamorada. They come to enjoy the many aspects of the Keys that we love so much. We are just two properties away, and delight in passing along any tips that we have learned in our 25+ years in the Keys. We hope they will be back many times as most of our guest are

Bob and Phyllis

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

Dear Future and Past Guests

We have been renting our Villa on the bay in Islamorada with pride for many years. We take that pride in our property, the Villa, and showing our guests a great time in the Keys. OUr full time home is just two properties away and we are there and ready if need us at any time. We fish and can advise you on offshore and inshore fishing and guides. We can also advise you on shopping and restaurants. We can show you a wonderful variety of native plant on the Villa property. If you like tropical native plants we would enjoy giving you a tour of our tropical hammock next door on our property that we have spent the last 10 year landscaping with the Florida and Keys Plants

We are just starting this Guest comment section July 2010 and welcome your imput.

Come on down to the Keys

Bob and Phyllis Mitchell
Mitchell's Key Villa
866 664-4163

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review