reviews for: listing #169617ha - Sharks Cove, Hawaii rental

Sunset Beach Bungalow
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  no
  • type  Bungalow
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  no
  • rates (USD)  $ 185 / night
    $ 1,295 / week
  • sleeps  2
  • pets considered  ask owner

sort by:

Truly an Aloha Home Away from Home

Review submitted: April 29, 2008   Date of arrival: January 9, 2008

Beautifully appointed with tasteful attention to detail and amenities. Comfortable and spacious yet cozy with nice little yard with grill. Newly renovated, very clean and well maintained. Quiet neighborhood and private setting. Convenient access to property. Short walk to Foodland and healthy walk to Ted's Bakery and all the beaches in between. Wifi a plus. Prompt and professional management of unit and much aloha from owners. Perfect for couples.

Recommended for: age 55+, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 14 / 15

 

Perfect North Shore Bungalow

Review submitted: May 31, 2013   Date of arrival: May 24, 2013

We had a fabulous 4 night stay at the bungalow. It looks exactly like the photos and the description is accurate. It was well maintained, clean and has a perfect location on the North Shore with easy access to everything. I would certainly stay here again and recommend any couple or singler person wanting a North Shore rental to book this property. The owner was very easy to work with and responsive. Thank you for a great Hawaii experience!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!!

Review submitted: October 20, 2012   Date of arrival: October 8, 2012

Perfect home for a couple, everything you need. Close to everything, we loved the bike path. Located within walking distance to all the famous beaches. Very clean. The only downside was the seat would not go down on one of the bikes, the seat post bolt was stripped. For a small girl like me I needed the seat lowered, I wound up renting a bike from the local surf shop at a good price. No biggie. My husband loved his bike. The bed was sooo comfortable, the shower was heaven. Parking was great. Will definetly return.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Mahalo for the feedback on the beach cruiser. The seat was repaired. For future travelers, please contact us to let us know if you have any issues when you check in so you enjoy your stay. Much Aloha!

Helpful votes: 5 / 7

 

Ideal Vacation Rental!

Review submitted: September 19, 2011   Date of arrival: September 3, 2011

This welcoming bungalow is just as described, and was a great place to call home on vacation. My husband and I stayed here for a week, and loved every minute. The location on the North Shore is so convenient to all the places you'll want to go - Waimea, Shark's Cove, Ke Iki, Sunset Beach, Haleiwa, even Foodland and Ted's. And, it really is a pretty easy (and beautiful) drive to get back down towards Honolulu to go to Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head, or over towards Kanoeho Bay and Lanikai. The property is in excellent condition with great amenities - soft towels and good small appliances! The owner was so easy to work with and personally took care of the one (extremely minor and totally inevitable) issue that arose. We enjoyed getting to know her and her insights into the island! Be sure to look for the Impossibles Pizza truck - honestly one of the best (and biggest) pizza's you'll ever eat! Also don't pass by Shark's Cove Grill without eating there - great fresh food for totally reasonable prices! We only wish we'd had longer to spend here. Thank you so much for your part in our amazing first trip to Hawaii! We can't wait to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 9 / 9

 

Beautiful, beautiful, beautiful :)

Review submitted: March 29, 2011   Date of arrival: March 3, 2011

This place is absolutely gorgeous, in a perfect setting. Close to the beach and really centrally located on the North Shore. The bungalow is beautifully decorated and was super clean and the perfect place to relax. I really couldn't fault it. My husband and I will plan out next trip to the North Shore around this bungalows' availability !!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Heaven's Gate

Review submitted: October 12, 2010   Date of arrival: August 15, 2010

We could not recommend Ke Iki Bungalow rentals and this property high enough to anyone who really likes the North Shore. However, It was so convenient to all the things we wanted and needed to do. We could relax when we wanted, we could Surf when we wanted and we could play to our hearts content. THANKS FOR THE MEMORIES!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location! Excellent value on the north shore

Review submitted: April 12, 2010   Date of arrival: April 1, 2010

We stayed for 10 nights in the Ke Iki bungalow and we truly appreciated having the comforts of home in such a perfect location. There were some minor issues with plumbing but owner was quick to resolve and very professional. Walking distance to the major surf spots, beautiful for walks along the beach, and such a clean pristine beach it is. Close to Waimea which is great for chilling out and swimming (in the late spring/summer). Loved having the bikes and took the bike path to the beaches. Saw tons of humpback whales breaching off sunset beach. This is a clean, great value place and I would certainly stay again.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Amazing!

Review submitted: October 23, 2009   Date of arrival: October 15, 2009

We had a wonderful time at this property. The bungalow is very cute. The surf was convinent and accessible. We rode bikes to Rocky Point and Sunset everyday and to Waimea in the mornings for an early swim.
After a few days, it felt like home, and we didn't want to leave!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Just what we wanted

Review submitted: October 20, 2009   Date of arrival: October 9, 2009

The bungalow was just what we wanted for our stay on the north shore. It has a nice little kitchen area (no oven or stove), a very clean BBQ outside, a big bathroom with a great shower, and a nice large flat-screen TV in the living area. It was quiet and close to a grocery store that we could walk to for supplies. It was clean and well-maintained. Though it was not right on the beach, it was a short walk there. We would highly recommend it.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: We really enjoyed having you stay with us at ke iki bungalow and look forward to your return. Although we do not have a stove we do have a large outside BBQ with a single burner. Inside we have equipped the bungalow with a microwave oven, counter top griddle, blender and toaster. We have just added a double hot plate as well as a convection oven. Everything you need to make that special dinner or breakfast before a day of biking or snorkeling out front at ke iki beach.

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Review submitted: July 6, 2009   Date of arrival: July 6, 2009

We had a Wonderful time in the bungalow.
Our Favorites included.
-Jameson's for Dinner
-Romy's Shrimp truck
-Walking down the beach access to watch the sunset and turtles.
-Riding bikes to Ted's for Breakfast

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

The perfect place to stay

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: May 18, 2009

I searched for months to find the perfect place to stay on the North Shore and never thought I would find a rental home this amazing. The bungalow is just the right size for two people, impeccably clean, and had everything you could ever want on vacation - but our personal favorite was the hammock!

The North Shore is great for adventure - and far away from touristy Waikiki. So this home's location couldn't be better. It's just a two minute walk to Sharks Cove for snorkeling and scuba diving, a cruisy bike ride to Waimea Bay, or quick drive to Haleiwa for paddleboarding and kayaking.

And despite all the action, we often felt like the only two people on our beach. Perfectly romantic! After two weeks, it truly felt like home and I can't say enough wonderful things about this place.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2009   Date of arrival: April 14, 2009

Great Getaway!
This bungalow was the perfect getaway for my wife and I. The location was excellent just steps to the beach and right on the bike path for morning rides to starbucks. The beach was amazing for whales watching and swimming. Don't miss the chance to stay at ke iki bungalow it the best place you could stay on the north shore.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Keiki bungalow stay

Review submitted: February 20, 2009   Date of arrival: February 10, 2009

We chose this bungalow after reviewing many other places to stay in Oahu and it was just as it was described: clean and well-maintained, ocean front, with access to Foodland just a block away. Two bikes were great to get around with, two beach chairs light to carry along..
The kitchen was surprisingly well stocked with salt, spices,towels, paper toweling, and icecubes in freezer, the laundry had soap and
the barbeque was great because surprisingly, the bungalow has no stove (how to boil eggs???) It has tv, internet access and telephone. The furniture is sturdy ad beautiful, although I wished for a comfortable easy chair to sit and read in at night, and also for a couple of fold-away night stands bedside the bed to put a watch, a book, morning medication, water...on and a reading light over the bed. The bedroom has just a large bed, nothing else, with barely enough room to get in and out sideways along the wall.

The beach is hauntingly beautiful, not visible from the bungalow; it is attached to a larger apartment in front, and it is within a few steps from the beach, which is rugged, not swimmable because of the sharp lava rocks and heavy winter surf, so we drove to Punalu and Kailua Beach, and to Hanauma Bay for swimming and snorkeling, and found delicious plate lunches on the way, best one Giovannis!!
Sunset Beach and other nearby beaches offer great entertainment with great surfers and big waves.

Because of its location away from the hustle and bustle of city life
we really loved our stay. (I personally would like you to add a couple of board games such as Scrabble or Monopoly for evenings ).
Thanks for your obvious and appreciated efforts to give us a comfortable stay! We will be back! two mainlanders.

Recommended for: age 55+, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for choosing to stay a ke iki bungalow. This property does not have a stove, however we do have a microwave, toaster, griddle and blender. We have just added a double hot plate as well as a convection oven. Everything you would need. We look forward to having you return soon.
Mahalo.

Helpful votes: 8 / 9

 

Perfect setting!

Review submitted: February 12, 2009   Date of arrival: January 26, 2009

The bungalow was just as descibed and as we had hoped, a great place to stay for a relaxing vacation in the North Shore. Centrally located among great beaches, spots to eat the grocery store.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 29, 2009   Date of arrival: January 29, 2009

We had a wonderful time in keiki and loved the northshore! The bike rides and the sunsets were beautiful.
Mahalo!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Simply the best bunglow with amazing energy flow

Review submitted: January 21, 2009   Date of arrival: January 16, 2009

We just got back from spending 5 days in this amazing bungalow.
Description and layout were just as good as it was specified here. Everything was clean and well maintained, quite and peaceful.

I Can't wait for our return.....

Mahalo

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 1, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

" We had the most amazing time here" We shall return real soon.
"Mahalo"

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 28, 2008   Date of arrival: December 28, 2008

" We found the perfect house "

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: December 1, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

This was perfect, Just what we needed!! Merry Xmas and a Big Thank you.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Simply a fantastic place to stay

Review submitted: November 25, 2008   Date of arrival: November 6, 2008

The bungalow was better than we had expected - beautifully decorated and in a great location (we liked that it was tucked away but still walking distance to everything -quiet at night too which was good).

We had everything we needed (the kitchen was great and cable and wireless Internet was a bonus). We used the bikes several times - we had so much fun cruising up and down Sunset just checking out the beaches and watching the surf.

It was a great way to start our honeymoon!

We'll be back!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 20, 2008   Date of arrival: November 20, 2008

Honeymoon! We loved the energy of this place. Thanks and Aloha.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: September 1, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

Perfect spot for our honeymoon.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Living Local in Style

Review submitted: July 2, 2008   Date of arrival: June 20, 2008

My five day stay at the Ke Iki Bungalow was incredibly oustanding from many perspectives - the property was exactly as described and more. Everyday was filled with private and peaceful afternoon barbeques of fresh fish, oysters, and teriyaki beef with nice red zin (from 2 min walk to Foodland); enjoying a cold Kona Longboard beer after snorkeling Shark's Cove around volcanic reef shelves with tons of fish, a few morays, and two turtles grazing on algae, and there were even caves to swim through; early morning bike rides down to Halawei after a Kona coffee latte from Starbucks up the road; finishing the day reading a book while the sunset over Sunset Beach - you'll be the only one there too - just like a local. These are a few of the memories I've come home with and have Ke Iki to thank. I look forward to coming back some day.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

KEIKI beach bungalow

Review submitted: January 8, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2007

Appreciated the clean, new environment to stay. Close to all major surf breaks, bus stops and shopping.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 6 / 8

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review