reviews for: listing #1697 - Cortona, Italy Villa rental

Villa Cuiano fantastic farmhouse with pool - near Cortona
  • bedrooms  12
  • pool  yes
  • type  Villa
  • baths  8
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  25
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (EUR) €75 - €190 /nt
    €500 - €6,360 /wk

sort by:

Gorgeous Villa, Excellent Vacation!

Review submitted: August 7, 2012   Date of arrival: May 31, 2012

My husband and I had one of our absolute best week-long vacations to-date here! Franco, the owner, was beyond caring and a wonderful host during our stay. He was extremely gracious and wanted to make sure that we had a nice stay. The villa is maintained impeccably, and the grounds and views are breathtaking! It is a very peaceful, quiet, romantic location. We used the grill outside and sat by the pool in the afternoons and evenings. We would DEFINITELY stay at this villa again in the future!!! Thank you so much for your hospitality, Franco!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A perfect location for Tuscany escapades

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

Villa Cuiano is a place that I would absolutely recommend to people looking for tranquil place close to the nature. The house is located high on a forest mountain slope with no village or other property seen from that place. But with the car you are able to reach every place in Tuscany and Umbria in one day trip. The owner is a very kind and polite person who keeps the house, pool and garden in a great shape. He made us feeling like extraordinary quests always fullfilling our extra needs. One may always ask him for a valuable information about the local attractions and customs, restaurants worth going, etc. Among many advantages it is worth mention that Cuiano place is never too hot which makes sleeping and resting very comfortable. Despite the facility consists of some six apartments one may never feel the place overcrowded and I am sure that sometime I will visit that place again which is a best recommendation.

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Peaceful retreat in the hills

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: July 20, 2009

We returned this year, having enjoyed our stay last year, and were not disappointed.

The owner, Franco, works hard to keep the area clean and tidy and had clearly been working out of season to continue to improve the facilities and environment.

The apartments are all comfortable and well equipped and the area around the pool can be wonderfully tranquil and relaxing.

We would certainly consider returning
Recommended for: Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Best Villa I Have Ever Rented

Review submitted: December 15, 2009   Date of arrival: June 28, 2008

We rented Villa Cuiano for a family reunion and it was the best villa I have ever rented -- in terms of the accommodations, amenities and the thoughtful concern and attention demonstrated by Franco, the property owner. We have rented villas in France, Italy, Mexico and several Caribbean islands and this one excelled in all regards.

There were 18 of us ranging in age from 9-65 yrs. and there was plenty to do both on and off the property for everyone in the party. The descriptions of the accommodations and property are very accurate (not always true with all property descriptions) and each apartment was outfitted with all the basics that you would need. The furnishings were tasteful and the architecture beautiful. The family would split up and day trip and then end up around the pool (which really had enough chairs,lounges, tables for 18!) watching the sunset and trading stories of our day.

The grounds are extensive and well manicured. It is a working farm and we always had a few friendly, well behaved dogs and cats roaming around which was a great plus for the kids. We'd wake up early some days to the sounds of tractors or roosters but it really just fed into the ambiance. If you don't enjoy that, Florence or Siena may be more to your liking.

Franco was just the most gracious and concerned (yet not intrusive) host. He was tremendously helpful in terms of directions, suggestions and knowledge or the area. Perhaps most telling was his reaction when one of our youngest was ill. When we asked if there was a doctor or clinic, he phoned his personal physician, made an appointment and went with the child and her parents to the doctor to act as interpreter. That type of thoughtfulness transcends a dollar value and we greatly appreciated it.

To celebrate the birthday of one of our family, Franco arranged to have a dinner prepared at the villa in an adjacent room which can accommodate 40. We had an absolutely terrific, reasonably priced 6 course meal (I think 6-- we were provided with wine as well as the meal which results in a somewhat clouded memory) that featured local specialties. In keeping with his attention to detail, Franco asked for a list of any allergies we may have so that the cook could avoid those ingredients.

This is absolutely a great rental. We look forward to another trip to Villa Cuiano.

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect for large group

Review submitted: December 8, 2009   Date of arrival: October 3, 2005

After quite an exciting ride up the mountain, a right turn into the driveway, your jaw drops. In front of you are Dottie and Pasquilino (the dogs) to welcome you to Cuiano. And Ceca too, the neighbors dog. Ten of us stayed at Cuiano in Oct. 2005. We rented La Loggia and La Stalletta (ajoining apartments). All the rooms were large and nicely furnished. The bathrooms were large and had enough hot water for all of us. The kitchens were well stocked with everything we needed if we wanted to cook. It did take a bit to learn the ins and out of the stove, but once mastered, we had no problem.
To say the area is beautiful is an understatement. Suffice it to say, when my brother-in-law looked out his bedroom window he said "My God, what did we do right". The scenery is magnificent and every morning a sheer joy to see it. We totally enjoyed hearing the bells of our neighbors sheep in the meadow down below, and we were lucky enough to see the two newborn lambs.
Cuiano was a great home base. We were able to go to Gubbio, Arezzo, Siena, Assisi, Camuccia for market day and Cortona we visited 3 times. Cortona was absolutely our favorite, although it's really hard to choose. We dined at Mimmi's twice; if you get a chance make sure you make a reservation, it's not to be missed. No menu, but who needs it, whatever Mimmi cooks is just delicious. Be prepared for a 10 course meal.
Franco, thank you, thank you, thank you. Our home away from home was just the best. Dottie and Pasquilino were welcome visitors and such sweet dogs. For those of you who stay at Cuiano, Pasquilino will lead the way down the mountain at top speed and then meet you again on the way up to lead you back home. Like the mayor of Cuiano.
If you're thinking of a visit to Tuscany, you couldn't pick a better place than Cuiano to stay.
Enjoy the view, enjoy the food, enjoy the wine,enjoy CUIANO.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: July 5, 2009   Date of arrival: July 5, 2009

We were a party of 13 assorted family and friends with ages ranging from 27 to 84 when we visited Villa Cuiano in June 2009. We choose this property for its location and the variety of apartments within it. We rented La Stalla, La Stalletta and La Loggia spending several memorable evenings cooking and eating together in La Stalla which lends itself admirably to this along with the barbecue. The space both internally and externally in the most expertly restored farmhouse enabled us all to enjoy our various interests and we had everything we needed including the pool with ample loungers and parasols. The rural tranquility was completed by the sound of a distant cuckoo by day and an owl by night together with the fireflies up the track illuminated only by the moon.

By day we variously enjoyed energetic walks up the hill, lazing by the pool or visiting the beautiful villages and towns of Umbria and Tuscany. Villa Cuiano is the ideal venue for those who want a friendly informal atmosphere in a stunning location with the attention of three devoted resident dogs who love to accompany guests on their walks and, together with assorted cats, wait hopefully for tasty morsels at mealtimes. The accommodation is very clean and comfortable (quite firm beds) with lots of bathrooms, the pool is maintained on a daily basis and there is a great view down the valley. The small supermarkets and weekly market in Mercatale provide all the essentials for self-catering with two excellent butchers and even a pharmacy. Both in Mercatale and the next village of Licciano Niccone there are good places to eat out including the bustling Fizz Bar with local fish on a Friday. All in all a great place to relax and enjoy a rural holiday yet within easy driving distance of Lake Trasimeno and a boat trip to the island, the lovely hill villages, Cortona, Perugia, Assisi etc and with good train links to Rome and Florence.

Nothing was too much trouble for Franco, the owner and we really appreciated his willingness to turn the groundfloor sittingroom in La Stalletta into a single bedroom for the comfort and convenience of the oldest member of the party. On our first evening Franco, by prior arrangement, cooked and served a delightful meal of local produce and wine and coped admirably with the delay due to late arrivals. This was a great way to begin our holiday and one we thoroughly recommend for a large group.

It is our intention to return in due course as we so enjoyed the relaxing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 18, 2008

We rented Villa Cuiano for a family reunion and it was the best villa I have ever rented -- in terms of the accommodations, amenities and the thoughtful concern and attention demonstrated by Franco, the property owner. We have rented villas in France, Italy, Mexico and several Caribbean islands and this one excelled in all regards.

There were 18 of us ranging in age from 9-65 yrs. and there was plenty to do both on and off the property for everyone in the party. The descriptions of the accommodations and property are very accurate (not always true with all property descriptions) and each apartment was outfitted with all the basics that you would need. The furnishings were tasteful and the architecture beautiful. The family would split up and day trip and then end up around the pool (which really had enough chairs,lounges, tables for 18!) watching the sunset and trading stories of our day.

The grounds are extensive and well manicured. It is a working farm and we always had a few friendly, well behaved dogs and cats roaming around which was a great plus for the kids. We'd wake up early some days to the sounds of tractors or roosters but it really just fed into the ambiance. If you don't enjoy that, Florence or Siena may be more to your liking.

Franco was just the most gracious and concerned (yet not intrusive) host. He was tremendously helpful in terms of directions, suggestions and knowledge or the area. Perhaps most telling was his reaction when one of our youngest was ill. When we asked if there was a doctor or clinic, he phoned his personal physician, made an appointment and went with the child and her parents to the doctor to act as interpreter. That type of thoughtfulness transcends a dollar value and we greatly appreciated it.

To celebrate the birthday of one of our family, Franco arranged to have a dinner prepared at the villa in an adjacent room which can accommodate 40. We had an absolutely terrific, reasonably priced 6 course meal (I think 6-- we were provided with wine as well as the meal which results in a somewhat clouded memory) that featured local specialties. In keeping with his attention to detail, Franco asked for a list of any allergies we may have so that the cook could avoid those ingredients.

The location, while about 20-30 minutes from truly major highways, was very good. Among our group, trips were made to Siena, Assisi, Montepulciano, Montalcino, Pienza, Orvieto,Civita di Bagnoregio (great by the way), Montone (anothe

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2005   Date of arrival: October 22, 2005

After quite an exciting ride up the mountain, a right turn into the driveway, your jaw drops. In front of you are Dottie and Pasquilino (the dogs) to welcome you to Cuiano. And Ceca too, the neighbors dog. Ten of us stayed at Cuiano in Oct. 2005. We rented La Loggia and La Stalletta (ajoining apartments). All the rooms were large and nicely furnished. The bathrooms were large and had enough hot water for all of us. The kitchens were well stocked with everything we needed if we wanted to cook. It did take a bit to learn the ins and out of the stove, but once mastered, we had no problem.
To say the area is beautiful is an understatement. Suffice it to say, when my brother-in-law looked out his bedroom window he said "My God, what did we do right". The scenery is magnificent and every morning a sheer joy to see it. We totally enjoyed hearing the bells of our neighbors sheep in the meadow down below, and we were lucky enough to see the two newborn lambs.
Cuiano was a great home base. We were able to go to Gubbio, Arezzo, Siena, Assisi, Camuccia for market day and Cortona we visited 3 times. Cortona was absolutely our favorite, although it's really hard to choose. We dined at Mimmi's twice; if you get a chance make sure you make a reservation, it's not to be missed. No menu, but who needs it, whatever Mimmi cooks is just delicious. Be prepared for a 10 course meal.
Franco, thank you, thank you, thank you. Our home away from home was just the best. Dottie and Pasquilino were welcome visitors and such sweet dogs. For those of you who stay at Cuiano, Pasquilino will lead the way down the mountain at top speed and then meet you again on the way up to lead you back home. Like the mayor of Cuiano.
If you're thinking of a visit to Tuscany, you couldn't pick a better place than Cuiano to stay.
Enjoy the view, enjoy the food, enjoy the wine,enjoy CUIANO.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2005   Date of arrival: October 22, 2005

What a great visit! Thank you and your staff for a two very nice weeks.
I learned a lot about Tuscan foods and cooking by eating in many restaurants and also the three excellent meals at the Villa. Inparticular I will miss Mercatale. Very friendly, helpful people in the shops.
Mentally, I am still very much in Tuscany! Images of the flowers, hills, trees and bird songs will be with me for some time. Have a very good summer!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 22, 2005   Date of arrival: October 22, 2005

My footfalls on the mountain’s gravel roadMake the sound of shadowsWhetted on a stone of late afternoon sunAbove the ruined castle of PierleI startle the lone cuckoo into silenceJust a moment in passingI am relieved to hear the calls againThey had taken me days After our arrival to discover Descending, the slope on my left flattensAnd after all these weeks of walksI realize that the ancient, struggling chestnutsAre uniformly spacedA formation of cultivationPerhaps a century oldRecognition is not often immediate for meYou may understand the timeIt takes to see or hear below the surfacesYou may appreciate the solitary natureOf this exploration left to usYou certainly recognize my disappointmentWhen the elusive calls are lostIn the happy voices around our farmhouse.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 29, 2004   Date of arrival: December 1, 2004

We spent a week at Villa Cuiano in September 2004 and held our wedding
there as well. It was a terrific, memorable week for us and our
guests. In fact, the entire week was as close to the vision of an informal
wedding in a beautiful, foreign setting as we could have hoped for. We
rented the entire villa, which is a great way to spend a week with friends
and family. I think that one could rent an individual apartment and feel
like they had sufficient privacy, though. The apartments were not
luxurious but were pretty, clean, and comfortable. When awake, who would
spend time in them in any event, when you could sit by the pool and enjoy
the wonderful view? If you are thinking of a wedding, we easily
accommodated 50 people for the ceremony by the pool and had two tents with
food and drink in the gravel courtyard nearby. Others have mentioned the
difficult single lane, dirt road, up the small mountain to get to the
villa. Once you learned to keep up speed on a particularly difficult
curve, we were able to get up without a problem even in an underpowered,
compact car with a shift. The villa is a little remote with even Cortona
20 or 30 minutes drive away, so if you are having a wedding or other party
make sure that there are sufficient rented cars. However, we loved the
location with Florence and Siena no more than 2 hours away and Umbria so
close. Cortona really is a nice little city. We also rented Villa Il
Colle further up the hill which is owned by Franco and Fausto's
cousin. That is a beautiful property, as well, though it is even more
difficult to get your car into. Also, I was a little upset by the cousin's
wife accusing us of breaking the refrigerator door as we were leaving and
wanting money for it. The door never stayed shut well even from the
beginning according to the guests that we housed there. I'd advise the
cousin to keep his wife away from the foreign guests. On the other hand,
Franco (I never had the pleasure of meeting Fausto) was as nice, attentive,
and helpful a host as one could want. He really is a very sweet guy, and
he truly made this a spectacular week for all of us. We can't thank him
enough.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

My husband and I rented La Loggia for the month of June 2002. We were joined by one other couple for the first two weeks of the month and by my mother and aunt for the last two weeks. In spite of the fact that we had different expectations and physical abilities, Cuiano was a perfect base of operations for all of us and La Loggia was the ideal apartment. We alternated excursions to the many surrounding towns and villages with days spent in complete relaxation at the villa; it was divine. We drove to most places but used the train for our trips into Firenze, which I would recommend to anyone staying at Cuiano. As indicated in other recommendations, the road up to the villa is a treat. Steep and lots of sharp curves. It is a lot of fun to drive; just make sure you have a car with a bit of spirit. Franco was a wonderful host and takes great care of the property. There was even a garden for the use of the guests. We took as much advantage of it as we could, harvesting lettuce, basil, peas, zucchini and onions. If we had stayed for another couple of weeks, we would have had bushels of green beans and tons of tomatoes, too. Franco was also very helpful in making recommendations for restaurants, shops, etc. Mercatale became our village in no time at all and provided with us with every necessary comestible and many that, although not strictly necessary, certainly enhanced our experience. The village bakery is fabulous, the butcher shop equally good and the grocery stores delightful. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting in Bar Shiela watching Italy play in the World Cup and we tried our best to completely consume the bar's supply of Magnum, Double Caramel ice cream bars (Dove bars pale in comparison). We would highly recommend Villa Cuiano to anyone who wants to experience some of the sights of Tuscany and Umbria while staying in a location that allows one to relax in a quiet, beautiful natural setting. We did, however, have one complaint about our stay. . .we wish we could have stayed even longer.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

Cuiano was perfect! My family and I had the most wonderful vacation. Our expectations were extremely high when we made our plans to visit for one week in August 2000, and yet they were exceeded in every way. The villa was lovely. We stayed in La Loggia and we were extremely impressed with the quality of the restoration (old charm balanced with modern conveniences). The surroundings were beautiful (the garden and pool were especially nice). The views were breathtaking from every window. Tuscany was heaven on earth for us in Cuiano. My only regret was that our stay was so short. Even though just staying in and around the villa was very attractive, we couldn't resist seeing the surrounding areas (Siena, San Gimiginano, Assisi, Perugia, Florence- even Venice!). Next time, we'll return for at least two weeks so we can relax as well as explore. One last note: Franco Cinaglia was the best host. Not only was he exceedingly friendly, but also he saved us when our car broke down. We will never forget his extra effort to make our Tuscan vacation so special.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

Along with another family, we spent a glorious week at Cuiano in September. The property itself is beautiful and very well maintained, and the pictures on the website do little justice to the spectacular views and sense of peace and quiet. It is simple, without TV or telephone, but a great place to escape for a time. It is an excellent location from which to explore the area, both by car and by train, and there are plenty of interesting things to do and see. The hosts could not be better as well. They are incredibly helpful but non-obtrusive. One night, for instance, during a thunderstorm, Franco came driving up from town simply to check we were alright. If you go, don't miss a trip to Cortona, and make sure both to have a meal cooked for you at Cuiano, as well as eating at Mimmi's in Mercatale. We had two toddlers with us, and they had a great time as well.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

This villa is fantastic! 13 of us rented the entire house, and we unanimously agreed that it was perfect. The villa itself is lovely -- recently renovated, comfortable, clean, and well-appointed. Separate instant-on hot-water heaters for each apartment (an important point when 13 people are showering each morning!), a clothes-washer, and several dishwashers. The outdoor patio around the pool was wonderful -- we spent most evenings sitting around the pool enjoying wine and appetizers. And the view... suffice it to say that it's unbelievable. The location is ideal for sightseeing -- roughly an hour from Arezzo, Siena, and Assissi, about 1.5 hours to Florence. We even had one carload take a day trip to Rome. We asked the Cinaglias to prepare our dinner each evening, and we highly recommend future groups consider this too. Each evening Signora Maria, Franco Cinaglia, and Franco's daughter put on a feast of traditional dishes for us using fresh local produce. Different types of bruschetti, a different pasta each night for primi piatti, and tasty and filling meat dishes: italian sausage, shishkebabs, pork chops, roasted chicken, etc. Dessert and coffee finished off the meal. The Cinaglias were wonderful hosts -- extremely helpful when we needed them (extracting lost luggage from the Florence airport, recommending local vineyards, etc.) otherwise absolutely unobtrusive. I can't recommend Cuiano enough.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

Our family of four thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Villa Cuiano. We were in La Stalla apt. for the week of May 28-June 2,2001. The rooms are spacious,with a large bathroom,and very clean. The kitchen is well-equipped and efficient,(with a BIG refrigerator!) The view from the swimming pool is spectacular across the val di pierle below. Franco works very hard on landscaping, resulting in a charming garden around the villa. He was more than helpful with directions to medieval villages and suggested tours into the beautiful Tuscan countryside. A delightful surprise was when Franco took us on a tour of the ruins of Castello Pierle which has been in his family for about 100 years. The people in the village of Mercatale could not be more friendly. We won't ever forget the grocer at the market who told us,as we were trying to scrape together enough cash for our Sat. night groceries, "Oh, you can pay me Monday--you'll need the money for a restaurant tonight." This type of hospitality was apparent everywhere we went during our stay at Cuiano. Don't miss dinner at Mimmi's for a terrific meal, plus the best terramisu we have ever tasted!! The weather co-operated for the entire week--Daytime temperatures averaged 70-75F up in these cool hills, and a light blanket was welcome at night. Just writing makes me homesick to return,which we certainly will do; perhaps next time with several friends. Franco showed us some of the other apts, which can be connected ,and would be great for 6- 10 people. It would be so much fun showing them what we have discovered,including the hair-raising drive up to the villa!! Franco and Fausto are to be commended on their communication skills both in person, and on the internet. We highly recommend this villa. Franco and Fausto are to be commended on their communication skills both in person and in emails.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

The setting is stunning. The villa is located high in the Umbrian hills and provides a breathtaking view of valley and neighboring mountains. There is a small price to pay for the view, though - the access road is quite steep and would be difficult to reckon with for an inexperienced standard ("stick") transmission driver. The surrounding area is sparsely populated, so there is plently of privacy. The villa itself has been completely renovated and provides a surprising amount of comforts including a first-rate plumming system with a lot of hot water and brand new sinks, toilets and showers. The kitchens are conveniently equipped, as well. I found the villa far more comfortable than a hotel room. Lastly, the pool is very well maintained and has been surrounded by a broad concrete area with chairs and tables which is perfect for sampling the day's wines and cheeses while marvelling at the view. The nearby village of Mercatale provided any necessities we forgot to bring, and excellent bread, meats, cheeses and wines. The proprietor of the store we used took special care to help us select our wines and cheeses. In addition, there are a few "bars" and a pharmacy. All the locals were extremely friendly and kind to us. Perhaps the best aspect of Mercatale was the lack of tourists. Aside from a couple friendly local English residents, we did not meet a non-native Italian in Mercatale. The villa and the family that owns it (especially Franco) greatly exceeded all of our expectations. I recommend Cuiano without reservation. Dan Schmedlen Charlotte, North Carolina

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

Cuiano will always be a special place for my fiance and I (the perfect spot for our engagement). Our expectations were far exceeded. From the beautiful drive up the hill, the morning views of the Castle Pierle and valley from our bedroom window to all the comforts of home that were available. We stayed in the spacious Apartment 1 (La Loggia). The bedrooms and bathrooms were spacious and nice. The kitchen came in quite handy as we did manage to enjoy some home cooked meals - the large dining table in front of the huge fireplace was a perfect spot for hanging out, as was the loggia for dining al fresco. Mercatale is a great little get away town. We had fun getting to know the locals (the butcher, the baker, the banker, etc.). We were also able to cover a lot of ground in just a week - Cortona (one of our favorites), Montepulciano, Assisi, Perugia, Siena, San Gimignano and of course Lake Trasimeno. The Cinaglia Family was so helpful and nice - we couldn't have felt more welcome. We were so sad to leave our little getaway and would love to return if given the chance. Even though there were only two of us, it was so nice to have the spacious Apartment 1 which probably has the most amenities and definitely the best views. We couldn't have enjoyed our engagement any more - it was perfect!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 19, 2002   Date of arrival: October 19, 2002

I was a member of a group (including Dan Schmedlen and John Walker, whose reviews appear below) that vacationed together in Tuscany in late spring, 2000. We had a wonderful time at Cuiano and I can recommend the villa to other travelers without reservation. The villa is located high in the mountains near the Tuscany/Umbria border. While, as Dan mentions, this made for an adventurous drive on the mountain road each day, the benefits of the arrangement were many - freedom from the oppressive heat of the Italian lowlands, near-absolute silence and privacy, and absolutely breathtaking views. The accommodations were clean, comfortable, and spacious, with ample living rooms and a picturesque poolside patio to complement the cozy bedrooms. The proprietors of Cuiano were wonderful to us, and perhaps our single best strategic move was to take advantage of their offer to prepare dinner for us each night. Before the trip I had contemplated that there would be few group dinners as different people sought out individual dining experiences in the various Italian cities, but after the first experience of dining at Cuiano that prospect was discarded by all. Each night we all gathered around the long dining room table for a sumptuous five- or six-course meal, prepared before our eyes and attended by endless bottles of fine Italian wine. I will long remember and not soon forget the hospitality of Franco and his family, to whom I would like again to express my fullest gratitude.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review