reviews for: listing #16999 - Destin, Florida House rental

Beautiful Home, 1/2 Block to Beach, Sleeps 14-20
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  4
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Terra Cotta
  • sleeps  20
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $300 - $500 /nt
    $1,675 - $4,675 /wk
    $3,175 - $3,175 /mth

sort by:

Family Christmas 2013

Review submitted: December 31, 2013   Date of arrival: December 21, 2013

We searched many websites and properties in this area and after visiting many houses, we found the place that fit all our needs Chateau Margo is a beautiful house with many amenities allowing a large group to choose togetherness or private time as they wish. It is beautifully furnished, well kept and huge! There are many things within walking distance as well as sports and shopping a short ride away. Bikes, water toys and beach gear are waiting in the garage for your use. This property is highly recommended by all 14 of our family members. The owners are nice and eager to communicate with you. It has been a pleasant experience from the planning phase to the end of our stay. We have made wonderful memories of our family Christmas 2013!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Gorgous beach home!

Review submitted: September 25, 2013   Date of arrival: September 3, 2013

My husband and I had our daughters wedding in Destin FL on the beach. We rented the home for family to stay. The home is gorgeous, with plenty of room for everyone! Had every amenity that you could ask for or need while on vacation. We used the mother in law quarters, my husband and I. It was our own secluded get away to stay away from the hectic activities at times. A very close walk to the beach, which is also where we had my daughters wedding. A big thank you to Betty for suggesting the neighborhood clubhouse for us to hold our daughters reception. It was a wonderful spot, held all 50 of the wedding guests perfectly. Spent a whole day at the outlet mall that is just a few minutes away. Tried all of the restaurants on the scenic 98, they were all wonder. Highly recommend the Crab Shack, we even walked to it one night. Would highly recommend the home and the area, my husband and I both agree it was the best vacation we ever had. Thanks again!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Hi Linda, thank you for all of your kind words. I am so happy the Club House worked out so well. From the pictures Beth sent, it was decorated beautifully! It was a pleasure working with Beth on her wedding, she is a beautiful bride. Having these two houses so close to one another really works out well for weddings. We hope to see you all again very soon!
Betty

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Dr.

Review submitted: June 10, 2013   Date of arrival: May 11, 2013

Wonderfully appropriate accommodation for large family. Unusual number of excellent amenities.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Location, location...paradise!

Review submitted: October 31, 2012   Date of arrival: October 13, 2012

This upscale beach community is ideally located across from the finest beach we experienced throughout the Destin area! Chateau Margo was the chosen destination for our family gathering of eleven, including our 5 grandchildren ages 10 months through 4 years old. The decor and amenities were excellent! The six adults were very pleased with the 3 oversized master bedrooms and other flexible sleeping accommodations for the children. Pop and I enjoyed our own spacious first level "in-law apartment". The living space and well-stocked kitchen were superb for the needs of all. We greatly enjoyed gathering, relaxing and grilling on the spacious back deck among the palms. The owner Betty was wonderfully attentive! She provided high chair, pack and play and everything we could want or need for the beach including the canopy that allowed us to spend so many hours at the beach. We enjoyed spectacular sunrises and sunsets, romping on the sand bar, chasing dolphins via raft boat, kite-flying, tunnel-digging, creating sand sculptures, waving neon wands at the beach at sundown, watching interesting ships and planes, playing in the soft white sand, and easy entry into the warm aqua waters there. It was great fun for all... an ideal setting for making many beautiful memories with our little ones. We hope to return!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 5 / 6

 

What a relaxing place to spend time with friends

Review submitted: October 22, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

The reason that my husband and I love Chateau Margo is because we were able to stay in the upstairs Master Bedroom that is huge and quiet! I loved how open and airy it is. There are 2 very large King Suites on the top floor and they both have extra places for little ones to sleep if you need that type of thing.

However, all of the bedrooms are nice and have very comfortable, quality mattresses and bedding.

The sugary beach is literally a one or two minute walk away and it is gorgeous any time of the year!

The kitchen in the house is large and well stocked. The dining room table can accomodate our whole group of friends. We have happy memories of sitting on the large balcony and hanging out for hours in the evening.

The best part about Margo is how spacious it is for a large crowd. It feels luxurious and it is! All of the immenities. Very nice and clean! We plan to go back and spend more holidays with the same group.

Debbie and Gary

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 6 / 7

 

Wonderful, Warm Home Close to Beach

Review submitted: September 12, 2012   Date of arrival: September 1, 2012

My wife and I are recently married with children (and their families) scattered across four states. We wanted to bring all 12 of us together for some quality family time, and Destin seemed like the best option given our locales.

A friend suggested VRBO; we searched and created a short list of 5 properties. After talking with the owners we selected Chateau Margo as our vacation home.

The lay out is perfect for us. One family has a 3-month and two yr old, so they occupied the mother-in-law suite on the first level for privacy (and our night time peace). The suite has kitchen, bed room for the parents, and a small bed for the toddler. The house is equipped with a pack-n-play and high chair.

There are four other bedrooms in the home, all nicely decorated and with comfortable beds. The 3rd floor masters are very spacious and have equally large baths. Both third floor BRs have bunk rooms to the side, perfect for three grandchildren.

The central gathering place for the week was the open kitchen/dining/living room. This is one of our main criteria; we wanted a natural space for our growing family to talk, play games, cook and eat. This area worked perfectly for us, as did the second floor deck.

We cooked all but two of our meals in the kitchen (and large deck grill). Everything we needed to prepare meals and feed a crew of 12 was provided. There are enough dishes and flatware to feed at least 20 folks. Basic spices, some coffee filters (#4 cone), etc are in the cupboard.

Other items:
- Washer/dryer set on the second floor. They was used every day and appreciated.
- Lots of hot water; never an issue.
- Plenty of newer TVs, DVD players and cable.
- Wireless internet; who can live without that?
- Lots of beach toys, chairs, two adult bikes and a great 10' x 10' beach tent. This was a must for the children.
- A five minute walk with (small children) and we were on the beach.
- Clean, quiet neighborhood.

Of our extensive travels, there are no better beaches than the Destin area. During our stay the beach was never crowded and nearly empty mid-week.

The owners were interested in helping us plan for a good experience, and they invest a bit of themselves in this property. It was a joy working the arrangements with them.

Finally, if you seek a place to bring a family for quality time, peaceful and safe beach, and desire to work directly with owners, I recommend you consider this property. We hope to return next year, kids' schedules willing.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much for your wonderful review! After speaking with you about what you were looking for I knew this house was the one for you and your family. We have our children and grandchildren down each year and it is very similar to what you have, so I was certain it would meet your needs with space and sleeping arrangements. We hope to have you all back again next year!

Betty & Jim

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A wonderful vacation home!!!!!!!

Review submitted: July 10, 2012   Date of arrival: June 30, 2012

Thank you so much for the use of your beautiful home! It was perfect for our family. We couldn't wait to get there. Our three daughters, spouses, and grandchildren were able to meet for our first family vacation with all 13 of us in one fabulous home! Each family had their own "hugh" master bedroom with more space than anyone could ever need. The bunk rooms are a bonus! Having 2 kitchens was wonderful. Cooking was a breeze with all the pots and pans. I have never seen a rental with EVERYTHING you could ever think of in a kitchen. We never needed a thing! Your house was very clean, comfortable, and relaxing. This is the perfect place to vacation! We can't wait to come back!!!
Also, Don and his wife were very helpful, friendly, and accommodating to us. Your house is in good hands! Thank you again for a memorable vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Fantastic Family Experience

Review submitted: July 5, 2012   Date of arrival: June 2, 2012

My extended family and I spent a wonderful week as guests. The home is lovely and the hospitality was superb. The house is exquisitely appointed and lacks nothing to enable comfort and fun. I highly recommend this vacation rental. Thanks for a great experience.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

A great place to feel at home

Review submitted: June 13, 2012   Date of arrival: May 20, 2012

This was a great house and location for our extended family of 18 people (including nine under the age of 18). We had more than enough room to spread out when we were tired of each other but great places to come together as a big family unit for meals and evenings on the porch too! It was just a short walk to the beach, so anyone could go when they felt like it. The house was gorgeous inside and out and top to bottom. We took advantage of the beach equipment (chairs, umbrellas, gazebo) provided with the house; used the community pool, tennis court, and volleyball court (we brought our own volleyball); and really felt like we were home. We definitely recommend this for anyone who has a big group and wants to feel at home while on vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent Place to stay that Houses large groups!

Review submitted: June 5, 2012   Date of arrival: May 29, 2012

Chateau Margo is WONDERFUL! A beautiful large home in a luxury edition right next to the beach. A comfortably beautiful interior with large rooms. The living area and deck space is great for entertaining large groups. Particularly enjoyed the back porch in the mornings with the amazing landscaping. Comfortable beds and nice clean bathrooms. The house came with everything you could need. Would love to stay there again.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: Thank you Kyle - we love the spaciousness of this house and one of my favorite parts is the back deck as well! We hope to have you back again too!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Vacation Home!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 12, 2012

This is one of the best well equiped beach home we ever stayed at! The kitchen has everything you can imagine. We cooked in every night and had enough plates, utensils, and cookware for 13 people. The beach supplies were great! We really made use of them. The owner was very helpful to answer any questions. This home is in a great location and is a short walk to the beach. We all had a great week and hope to return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation

Review submitted: May 14, 2012   Date of arrival: May 5, 2012

We just returned from Chateau Margo in beautiful Destin, FL, last week. Our family consists of 4 grown children in their early thirties, their spouses, and their very young children, ages 4 thru 7 months. Our children are scattered all around the U.S., so this was a precious gathering to have everyone under one roof.

The house accommodated us perfectly. The two master bedrooms on the third floor are so spacious and grand. The one has a beautiful king sized bed, an outside balcony with a beautiful view of the gulf, an adjacent bunk room which our 4 year old twin granddaughters just loved, and a really nice size bathroom with large tub/shower. The other master bedroom has a fireplace, a king sized bed, a very large walk-in closet which our daughter put her 7 month old in his pack-n-play, a huge master bathroom with very large jacuzzi tub, and an outside balcony. There is also a large washer/dryer on this floor.

On the second floor, the main floor, there are two bedrooms with queen beds in each. These two bedrooms share the same bathroom which is a nice sized room with a large walk-in shower. This floor also has the main kitchen, large dining table, and large family room all open to each other. The kitchen is well stocked with everything you will need to include a good supply of spices, plenty of plates, coffee cups, glassware, silverware, etc. to feed an army! There is a nice deck/covered porch outside of this floor with a good-sized gas grill.

The ground floor is the main entry. To the left of the front entry is the garage which has so many amenities for the beach, etc. There are probably 8 to 10 beach chairs, 3 beach umbrellas, a large 10x10 canvas beach canopy, a large cooler, tons of beach toys, a beach wagon and also a beach cart. There are two cruiser bicycles too. They ride really nice and the area is great for bike riding.

If you go thru the garage on this first floor to the back is another whole quarters complete with another large kitchen, king size bed, bathroom, and bunkroom. This extra refrigerator really came in handy.

The pool is just a short walk across the quiet street away. It is a very nice, large pool with plenty of lounge chairs, etc There is also a sand volleyball court and tennis court located near the pool area. The beach is just a short walk from the house across I believe it was Old Hwy. 98. The sand and water are absolutely gorgeous! We just couldn't get enough! Fabulous vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Perfection!

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: April 26, 2012

I cannot even begin to tell you how pleased we were with our stay at Chateau Margo! We were there for our daughter's beach wedding and then stayed the week after for a family vacation. Even with the chaous of rehearsal and wedding it was peaceful and relaxing because our accomodations were so perfect! The house is so spacious and beautiful, yet homey at the same time. Everything you will want or need is there for you...even toys and high chair for our granddaughter!
Betty is the most wonderful person to deal with and makes all the details and arrangents simple! Thank you for allowing others to share in the expierence of vacationing at your beautiful home! We cannot wait to come back!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Owners response: Laurie & Mark,thank you so much! I'm so gladd you all had such a wonderful time in our house. I know how stressful a wedding can be and we are happy to be able to make it a little less stressful for you! We look forward to having you all back again soon....Betty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Beautiful vacation home!

Review submitted: April 27, 2012   Date of arrival: April 18, 2012

We just returned from a week stay at the Chateau Margo. The home is even more beautiful that the photos show. The rooms are very spacious with suites for each of our three families that stayed there and even more room to spare for larger groups or families! It was spotless and had every amenity that you could want. We cooked almost every meal at the house and found it very well stocked with everything you need....just add groceries! We spent lots of time on the large decks and enjoyed grilling and dinning out there. We had two toddlers in our group, so our activities were family oriented. We visited the splash pad in Destin Commons, the kids rode the children's train there and loved the playground in the Commons also. My daughters rented the bikes with a trailer for the toddlers to ride in and they love that too.

The owners are great to deal with and even called to make sure everything was going well. It was a wonderful place to stay and would highly recommend it to large groups are families.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Thank you Mary - when our guests are happy, we are happy! Our favorite thing at the end a great day at the beach is to relax on the decks too! I'm glad you made a trip to Destin Commons mall - our grandkids always love taking a little beach break there too. Thank you so much for taking such good care of our home and we hope to have you back soon. Betty

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Spring Break

Review submitted: April 9, 2012   Date of arrival: March 17, 2012

We went as a large group of girls from spring break. The weather was perfect and the beach is where we were every single day thanks to it being so close. There were beach chairs for all of us that were in good condition as well as a wagon to help carry our stuff to and from the beach. The house was beautiful and super clean. We ate there every day and night and we never had a problem finding things to cook with. The house is vary spacious. We ended up having extra space even with the number of people we had. Having a washer and dryer saved us a few times when we started to run out of towels. Overall we had a great time and the house worked perfectly for us so we hope we will be back sometime in the future!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, tourists without a car

Owners response: We are glad you ladies had a great time in Destin and enjoyed our home. We are always appreciative of Spring Breakers who take care of our house, and you all did just that and we thank you! We hope to see you again soon.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

No other name to describe: Ch√Ęteau!!!!!

Review submitted: March 24, 2012   Date of arrival: February 4, 2012

We rented this house among three couples from New Brunswick, Canada for the month of February 2012 and couldn't ask for better accomodations, lots of space and we had each a king suite with private bathrooms. So easy to get by and close to everything. I really wish to rent this house in the near future, maybe a little later in winter to take more advantage of the beach and pool and maybe have my kids and grandkids coming up for a vacation, but even though it wasn't beach weather all the time, it was still very nice, I had brought my bicycle and did the 17 km route every morning. Had a wonderful stay!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Owners response: Monique, I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love for you to bring the entire family to our home!

Betty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Debbie in Franklin

Review submitted: January 30, 2012   Date of arrival: January 19, 2012

My husband and our friends and had a lovely time staying at Chateau Margo early this winter. When we arrived we could tell that the house was spotless because it smelled so fresh and everything was shining! It is open and spacious and has a very large and elegant but comfortable living room/kitchen/dining area that is definitely fully equipped. Little extras that we appreciate are nice area rugs, a new fridge that has filtered water and ice in the door as well as linens that are high quality and comfy! The beach is literally 90 seconds from the front door and of course the long and wide sidewalk on Old 98 proveds plenty of room for walking and bike riding. If you need and want a spacious house for plenty of people, including kids, this is the place with a very large master suite with bunks and a kitchenette downstairs. The huge King suites with full mater baths upstairs are a treat and not what you'd normally find in a beach house! Beyond expectations and we will surely rent Chateau Margo again! Thank you!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you so much Debbie - I can see you appreciated all the things we love about this house too! We hope to see you again soon...Betty & Jim

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Christmas Vacation

Review submitted: January 8, 2012   Date of arrival: December 26, 2011

Our Christmas vacation at Chateau Mago was wonderful! The house is beautiful, well furnished, and convenient to the beach, many restaurants and shopping. There is plenty of room for a very large family to stay and never get in each others way. We enjoyed the large master bedrooms, fireplace and many outside decks and patio. The owner was wonderful to work with and we look forward to returning to Chateau Margo!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Owners response: Thank you Debbie. It was a pleasure working with you. I'm glad you enjoyed all that our house has to offer. We especially love the roominess of this house too. We hope to hear from you again soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Ver ecstatic renter:))

Review submitted: November 1, 2011   Date of arrival: September 10, 2011

I really don't know where to begin in reviewing this property since it was so wonderful. I'll begin with the house itself...pictures don't do it justice! The welcoming main living area has a beautiful open kitchen/living room that is oh so comfortable. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you could ever need from plenty of dishes & cookware down to a any spice you could possibly use for cooking! We usually bring a bin of spices & extra cups, etc with us because most houses skimp on this...not chateau Margo! The two bedrooms on this level are beautifully decorated & I swear these beds are more comfortable than my own. The upstairs master bedroom has an extra large bathroom with a walk in closet & a gorgeous fireplace! We had a couple with a small baby who used this room & converted the large closet into the "nursery" for the week...AND the house came with a pack & play so that was one less item they had to travel with...perfect!!! The bottom floor was ideal for our parents because it's like a studio apartment complete with a full kitchen & private deck. It was nice for them to be able to get away from all the chaos upstairs;). We used the main patio almost every night for cooking out on the gas grill, which had plenty of gas for the whole week! Getting to & from the beach was no problem...a very short 5 minute walk...& don't bother bringing ANY beach toys or chairs because this house has everything you need for a day at the beach, including a large gazebo/tent & a wagon for hauling your stuff!!!! The kids were in sandcastle heaven! The house is really close to several restaurants. Our favorite family place was Captain Dave's because there is a public playground right on the beach & right behind the restaurant. We could literally eat dinner overlooking the ocean while the kids played on the playground!!! Awesome! Pompano joes is also within walking distance & right on the beach...the grilled crab legs are amazing. There is also a strip mall that we biked to with a huge splash pad & kid play area. Bike rentals are quite cheap & come with child seats either on the back or the pull behind type. Also, for the absolute best milkshakes of your life go to Shakes...it will become a daily stop, I promise! I could go on & on...you must check this house out for yourself. The owners, Jim & Betty offer the best & friendliest customer service, you will not be disappointed!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Wow! Thank you for such a great review! I can see you all enjoyed this house as much as we do. We just added memory foam mattress toppers to some of the beds, I'm glad you liked them. We add beach items all the time and are happy to know they are being put to good use. We love having families with children stay in our house and try to make it as easy as possible for our guests. I like the idea of setting up a "nursery" in the walk-in too! We always go the the same restaurants you mentioned as they are both within walking distance of the house. We hope to see you all again soon.

Betty

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Chateau Margo Destin

Review submitted: October 28, 2011   Date of arrival: October 19, 2011

If anything, the pictures don't do the house justice. It has an incredibly spacious feel and the downstairs (2nd) kitchen area I don't think was even pictured, so I was even more surprised when I first saw it. Quite a few great beach and bike items in the garage - some of the others in our group used them. The house is centrally located, so anywhere in Destin was easy to find. A great vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you Peter...we are glad you enjoyed your stay. We have had some new photos taken and are now posted, we had other similar comments! The second kitchen really comes in handy for large groups. We are always looking ways to make our guests as as comfortable as possible. Again, thank you and we hope to hear from you again.

Betty

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Combs - Cook Trip June 2011

Review submitted: July 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

Home was absolutely beautiful. Owner was very nice and even called during our stay to see if we needed anything. The kitchen was completely stocked with plenty of cookware, silverware, plates, etc. They provided plenty of bath towels and a washer and dryer was available if we needed to do laundry. Also home was furnished with a highchair and pack n play which was nice because we didn't have to bring one from home. Also, a tent, chairs,bikes, and cart are available.


Our inital rental process was started by the previous home owner who listed the home as steps away from the beach. I do see that the new owners have listed as half block away which is more accurate. There are quite a few steps from the road to the beach but this is typical for this area.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Tricia, Thank you so much for your wonderful review! And yes we did make a few changes to the description as we do not want to mislead anyone even though we are very close to the water we are not on the water. We tend to do a lot of cooking when we visit with our family so we like to have most things in the house for our guests as well. I'm glad you put it to good use! The same goes for beach stuff. You will likely find something new every year. We do hope you visit again soon!

Betty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What an Amazing House!

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

I can't describe our first family reunion at this house other than FABULOUS!!! I arrived on Friday night in the middle of a severe storm and entered the house and was amazed. All the furnishings are beautiful. The linens on the beds is so nice. There is so much silverware and dishes in the kitchen you couldn't ask for more, plus you have the extra kitchen in the basement. There were 11 of us with 3 children under the age of 6. They had so much room to play. The pool is directly across the street from the house and there were never more than 2 other people in the pool. It only takes about 3-4 min. to walk to the beach, of course Destin beach can't be beat. The TVs were all good but there was only one DVR which didn't work but who cares, no one wanted to watch it anyway, too much other stuff to do. All the bedrooms had outdoor porches to enjoy. The main deck and the deck downstairs had tables and room for all of us. The brand new grill was wonderful and we used it every night. We cooked 3 meals a day and no one's diet was in force. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone, big or small. The eleven of us fit in nicely and had beds to spare. The towels were so plush you just wanted to soak or shower and then enjoy fluffy towels to dry. The garage had lots of beach stuff to use (although we brought a lot of our own which we won't the next time). There were 2 bicycles in the garage for our use and we sure used them. It was so much fun to bike around the neighborhood. The Crab Shack and Pompano Joe's is so close you could walk to them for lunch or dinner. Jim and Betty were very accommodating and we will look forward to coming back to this house for many years. I told Betty she would have to get a lawyer to physically remove me from the house cause I wasn't going to leave. I did but sure didn't want to. Thank you so much for making our reunion a wonderful experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Long Weekend with Friends at Chateau Margo

Review submitted: July 19, 2011   Date of arrival: May 26, 2011

Our stay was a blast. We had a group of eleven adults and two kids. The efficiency was a great spot for the couple with the kids. There was enough space to have some privacy, while still being a part of the group. The house was stocked with everything we possibly needed. They had a brand new grill, enough dishes to accommodate all of us, and plenty of beach supplies. My favorite thing about the house was sitting out on one of the many decks with friends. There was a pretty good restaurant/bar about two blocks away. As far as the owners, Betty was great. She was very responsive to emails and didn’t seem to be bothered by all of my calls. Only complaint I have is the pictures of the house online don’t do it justice. If the opportunity came up, I would definitely rent out the house again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

Wonderful vacation home!

Review submitted: July 17, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

My family and extended family stayed at Chateau Margo the week of July 9, 2011 and had an amazing trip! The house is beautiful...so many decorations and amenities! The gas grill made my husband jealous! We had everything we needed at the house and literally everything you could possibly need for the beach!!! The trip to the beach was only a few minutes and so convenient for running back and forth. Betty and Jim were great to work with and so timely with responses. We had a maintenance issue with one of the bathrooms and a crew was there to fix it within hours. The area is beautiful and there is a great jogging/walking path all along the road parallel to the beach. Manyh restaurants are within 2 miles. Our favorite was the Crap Trap (try the Redfish!). We loved our trip to Destin and Chateau Margo!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Owners response: Amy, thank you so much for your kind words. Tell you husband that my husband is envious of the grill too - it's better than the one in our house! We are so glad you all had a wonderful time in Destin and happy that you loved our house. I'm glad Don took care of the maintenance issue so quickly - he's wonderful and we are lucky to have him. We are always adding beach items and looking for ways to improve our guests stay. We hope you all come back next year! Again, thank you for choosing Chateau Margo for your vacation.

Betty

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A Place You Can Call "Home Away From Home"

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful and relaxing time at 46 Terra Cotta Way. Great location for those wanting to go to the beach or the pool. This home has alot of details throughout each room. If you ever need to host a get-away party for your family or friends, I would recommend anyone to try this place out.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Great Location and Relaxing Home near the Beach!

Review submitted: June 7, 2011   Date of arrival: May 30, 2011

My family and I had a wonderful time at this home near the beach! The owners of the property were very friendly and professional. We could not have had a better experience in renting the home! Everything was great.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

What an amazing house!!!

Review submitted: May 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 14, 2011

I can't describe our first family reunion at this house other than FABULOUS!!! I arrived on Friday night in the middle of a severe storm and entered the house and was amazed. All the furnishings are beautiful. The linens on the beds is so nice. There is so much silverware and dishes in the kitchen you couldn't ask for more, plus you have the extra kitchen in the basement. There were 11 of us with 3 children under the age of 6. They had so much room to play. The pool is directly across the street from the house and there were never more than 2 other people in the pool. It only takes about 3-4 min. to walk to the beach, of course Destin beach can't be beat. The TVs were all good but there was only one DVR which didn't work but who cares, no one wanted to watch it anyway, too much other stuff to do. All the bedrooms had outdoor porches to enjoy. The main deck and the deck downstairs had tables and room for all of us. The brand new grill was wonderful and we used it every night. We cooked 3 meals a day and no one's diet was in force. I would definitely recommend this house to anyone, big or small. The eleven of us fit in nicely and had beds to spare. The towels were so plush you just wanted to soak or shower and then enjoy fluffy towels to dry. The garage had lots of beach stuff to use (although we brought a lot of our own which we won't the next time). There were 2 bicycles in the garage for our use and we sure used them. It was so much fun to bike around the neighborhood. The Crab Shack and Pompano Joe's is so close you could walk to them for lunch or dinner. Jim and Betty were very accommodating and we will look forward to coming back to this house for many years. I told Betty she would have to get a lawyer to physically remove me from the house cause I wasn't going to leave. I did but sure didn't want to. Thank you so much for making our reunion a wonderful experience.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway

Owners response: Carolyn, thank you so much for your kind words. I so enjoyed talking to you and hearing about what a wonderful time your family had in Destin and in our house. We take pride in making our guests happy and hope they want to come back year after year. Thank you for letting us know about the DVD player. We are replacing it right away. We look forward to your next visit to our home.

Betty & Jim

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: March 19, 2008

the view was great, house clean, no problems at all, and apartment downstairs was great for the children, had 2 kitchens which was needed

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 22, 2011   Date of arrival: May 24, 2010

Our family and friends had a wonderful time in this home. 12 adults arrives at various times for our son's wedding on the beach walking distance from Chateau Margo. The owner was very helpful and considerate of our needs. A memorable stay! .

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

A Gorgeous Home and a Wonderful Vacation

Review submitted: August 26, 2010   Date of arrival: July 10, 2010

My family and I stayed at Chateau Margo just last month in July, 2010. First let me say that it is right next to one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. From the first moment we stepped into the home, we knew we had made a terrific choice, as the home is absolutely gorgeous and beautifully furnished. The design of the home was also great for our large family group. It actually had three floors. The top floor had two wonderful and huge master bedrooms where you could actually see the waves coming in. The second floor which is the main floor had two more bedrooms with a beautiful living area and kitchen and huge deck which was great for our family get togethers, a few barbeques, and relaxing and enjoying each others company. There is a seperate portion of the home downstairs which made it a delight for the children. They felt like that had there own little vacation home. The home is located close to everything you need, including some great restaurants and shopping.
Margo, who was terrific person, was there to greet us at check in and even brought us a beautiful vase of fresh flowers, and to let us know if we had a problem or had any questions to call her. She was great to deal with and obviously does a great job taking care of her renters.
We all had a terrific vacation and look forward to going back soon!!!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

You will never stay in a more beautiful home!!

Review submitted: March 29, 2010   Date of arrival: January 16, 2010

This is our second trip to this beautiful home. This is the perfect vacation home,if you have teenagers. The first floor has its own "apartment",with full kitchen,patio and private outside door. The home is much nicer then the pictures show. The main kitchen has more items for use then your own home,with enough pots,pans and dishes to feed a small "army". It was cooler then normal,but we had a fire place in the main livingroom,plus a marble fire place in the main master bedroom. The bath off the main master,was truly remarkable,with its own deck on the 3rd floor. The views from the top 2 floors are wonderful,with a short walk to the most beautiful beaches in the world. We have traveled worldwide and the beachs and water are more beautiful then The Caymans. The swimming pool is near the home,and gets very little use. We where told most of the homes are non-rentals in this area,with most owners living out of state. The lady who owns the home was most helpful and was a pleasure to deal with. She treats this home as if she lives in herself. The home is a perfecf location for golf,boating,shopping,it has EVERYTHING. We hated to leave,we normally would not take time for a review,however the owner was so nice and the home so beautiful,we thought it was worth our time to tell "the World" about this perfect vocation home.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 10 / 10

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review