reviews for: listing #17003 - Honolulu, Hawaii House rental

Auntie Mel's House
  • bedrooms  6
  • pool  yes
  • type  House
  • baths  3
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Hawaii Kai
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $695 - $900 /nt
    $4,900 - $6,300 /wk
    $15,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Very Happy w/Our Choice

Review submitted: April 11, 2008   Date of arrival: March 29, 2008

We had three families stay at this house in Spring 2008, incl. six children ages 5 and under and one person in a wheelchair. We all had a great time! The house is very comfortable and convenient with plenty of space both inside and outside, and very close to shopping and restaurants. The owners are very hospitable and provided special items such as a booster chair and a shower chair, as well as fresh mangoes from their tree. The only down side was that the interior doors are rather narrow, so the guest in the wheelchair could only get to the main downstairs bathroom, bedroom and living room by going outside to the pool deck. Nonetheless, a very nice vacation, and we would recommend renting this house!

Recommended for: families with young children

Helpful votes: 11 / 12

 

Tremendously enjoyed our stay!

Review submitted: July 16, 2014   Date of arrival: June 28, 2014

This was a perfect place for our once a year family getaway. The kids enjoyed the pool and all the other little things that Melanie and Mike provided. They both did so much to make sure we had a good time. From the get go, they welcomed us. We arrived a little early, but they were kind enough to let us leave our stuff and hang out the pool while the cleaning crew made there finishing touches. Mike provided us with fresh pineapple and mangoes straight from the tree. When they found out that we liked to fish, they went and procured some fishing equipment for the kids. They also were great about providing recommendations on where to go. They were more than rental property owners, they were true hosts.

Not sure when we'll come back, but we would definitely stay here again!

Owners response: We really enjoyed your family. Thank you for the review and we would love to have your family back again.
Melanie and Mike

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Happy Home

Review submitted: June 25, 2014   Date of arrival: June 6, 2014

Hi Melanie,

So missed saying good bye to you, we had such a wonderful time, the kids so enjoyed themselves. The house felt so like home and so comfortable, it had everything we could have imagined, working in the kitchen was heaven, if we needed it you had it. Thank you. We so appreciated the pineapple delivered by Mike to us, so refreshing. I am not sure how soon, but I am certain we will be back.

Thank you again Mel, you made our vacation as a whole family easy..

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like my home in Hawaii Kai

Review submitted: March 30, 2014   Date of arrival: March 20, 2014

I spent seven days at this home with my family and friends. All of us Max 11 people.
The owners are wonderful hosts and kind, friendly, helpful.
I wish you the very best and thank you so much for a wonderful stay at House.
It is conveniently located off the main highway, only 15 minutes into downtown Honolulu, about 25 minutes from the airport and great dining are just minutes away. Some even in walking distance! The location was close to excellent swimming, boogey boarding and snorkeling.
The property really made our stay the best vacation of our lives.
We spent hours relaxing
We had everything we needed and the owner are so welcoming and kind. Also, we found our stay an excellent value compared to other vacation rentals.
The home is beautifully decorated and well stocked with necessities with all conveniences, clean and very comfortable.
The pool is wonderful for the children. We also had beach chairs, cooler boxes and boogie boards available to bring to the beach with us.
Highly recommend! We would definitely return here and recommend it to anyone who prefers to be out of the city but with easy access.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great place for a group!

Review submitted: March 28, 2014   Date of arrival: March 12, 2014

We had a group of 8 that stayed at this venue for a week in March. Our main purpose for visiting Hawaii at this time was to watch Women's softball at U of H. We were also interested in golf and eating and just getting together. This house was just perfect: eight of us fit in with plenty of room and privacy. U of H campus and a very nice golf course were just a short drive away. Lots of shopping nearby made it easy to get what we needed -- and then some. The pool was warm and inviting and refreshing. Facilities were great and when we had a problem with the giant TV in the living room, Melanie was right there to take care of it. The area was quiet and pleasant and the ocean was less than 5 minutes walk away. We could not have found a better place for our group.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you so much for these comments. Your group was great and I hope you will come again.
Aloha,
Melanie

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful Home and Gracious Hosts in Melanie and Mike

Review submitted: February 6, 2014   Date of arrival: January 26, 2014

We spent seven days at this home and every moment was enjoyable. There were ten of us full time and others that visited as we were in Hawaii Kai for my daughter's wedding. We had gathered from both Michigan and Australia. We enjoyed several sit down dinners and the table held all of us with beautiful tableware. My son in law is a chef and was very impressed with the cooking ware and found everything he needed to prepare meals for our large group. The home is more beautiful than the internet portrays. The location was close to excellent swimming, boogey boarding and snorkeling...as well as excellent restaurants. Every moment of our stay was a delight. Our group consisted of retirement age, young adults and a two year old. Everyone was more than pleased with the home as it afforded privacy for all. Relaxing by the pool at the end of the day was especially enjoyable.

Thank you Melanie and Mike for all your help in locating specialty items we needed for the wedding. You are wonderful hosts. I wish you the very best and thank you for making our stay in Hawaii one we will treasure for a lifetime.

Deb Smith

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Dear Deborah,
You have a wonderful family and I'm so glad that you could get them all together here. I know that was important for you.
Thank you so much!
Mahalo,
Melanie

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

This house was a perfect fit for our family! Melanie and Mike are wonderful hosts and made our stay even more enjoyable! The house has more than enough space inside and out. The outdoor dining next to the pool easily seats 12 and was where we ate our meals at the house. The pool is beautiful and was a huge hit for the entire family; especially the kids! The house is fully stocked and equipped with anything you could possibly need and is very clean. With shopping just up the street it is very convenient to pick up groceries, get to restaurants, and not have the heavy traffic of downtown Waikiki. The house is very close to Hanauma Bay which was perfect for swimming & snorkeling for our family of all ages. We would love to return to Hawaii and would recommend this house to anyone!

Owners response: Thank you so much for staying with me. Your family was wonderful.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Perfect for our family!

Review submitted: January 22, 2014   Date of arrival: January 12, 2014

This house was a perfect fit for our family! Melanie and Mike are wonderful hosts and made our stay even more enjoyable! The house has more than enough space inside and out. The outdoor dining next to the pool has seating for 12 and was where we ate our meals at the house. The pool is beautiful and was a huge hit for the entire family; especially the kids! The house is fully stocked and equipped with anything you could possibly need and is very clean. With shopping just up the street it is very convenient to pick up groceries, get to restaurants, and not have the heavy traffic of downtown Waikiki. The house is very close to Hanauma Bay which was perfect for swimming & snorkeling for our family of all ages. We would love to return to Hawaii and would recommend this house to anyone!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wedding in Hawaii - Perfect Place to Stay for Our Group

Review submitted: November 19, 2013   Date of arrival: November 2, 2013

We had a group of 9 in Hawaii for a week for our son's wedding and the accommodations for us at this house were perfect. Melanie and Mike were exceptional hosts and made us feel very comfortable the whole time there. We had plenty of room for everyone and the house had everything you would need, just as advertised. We were sold on this house because of all the reviews we had read and we were not disappointed. Everything was as we hoped.
The location is also ideal. Close to Hunauma Bay and convenient to stores, supermarkets and restaurants with easy access to downtown and coastal beaches. Having driven near Waikiki area and through the downtown Honolulu area, we were even more pleased with where we were as it was a very pleasant area and more of what we expected Hawaii to be like.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

great location and family friendly

Review submitted: January 21, 2013   Date of arrival: January 8, 2013

The house was exactly as described. It is an older home but well looked after and very well stocked. It is a great home base for everything on the south side of the island. It gets you out of Honolulu and into a quiet residential area.We were there with 4 families with 4 grand children under 6 and had lots of room and the kids loved the pool which was ideal for them. A great place for families and Melanie is a great host. I would recomend this place to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Practical luxury

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: May 27, 2012

With 5 private bedrooms and 3 bathrooms, this house perfectly accommodated our family of 8 adults. The house is fully stocked with everything you could think of -- beach towels, lawn chairs, computer, soap, shampoo, laundry facilities, and every possible kitchen small appliance, dishes, etc. you would need. There is lots of living space and a beautiful pool area where we ate all our meals. The house older but was very clean and well maintained; the grounds are beautiful. We especially enjoyed the fresh mangos that Melanie delivered to the house! The house is located in a great area with lots of very nice homes in the neighbourhood; it's also close to shopping, restaurants and a short drive to Hanauma Bay. The beach which is located a block from the house is not for swimming but there are several public beaches within a short drive. Overall, we had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay...thanks Melanie!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Owners response: I loved having your family. Please come back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Lovely home in Hawaii Kai

Review submitted: June 17, 2012   Date of arrival: June 4, 2012

This house was perfect for a family reunion. There were 8 of us, and more than enough room for everyone. Melanie is a wonderful house owner. She was easy going and shared her mangoes from the tree behind the house with us. The house is fully equipped with all conveniences (fridge, washer, dryer, shampoo and soaps, towels etc) and the pool was wonderful for the children, especially after a hot day out, even after a day at the beach. We also had beach chairs, cooler boxes and boogie boards available to bring to the beach with us. Location wise, it is a 5 minute drive to the supermarket, pharmacy, restaurants, cinema and Costco. Couldn't have asked for more.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: Thank you and please come back again.

Helpful votes: 3 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful Family Vacation

Review submitted: June 16, 2012   Date of arrival: February 17, 2012

I wanted to thank you for making our family vacation an unbelievable family memory. Being with my children and my grandchildren in paradise was made perfect by your hospitality and your beautiful home.

Your home accommodated all nine of us very comfortably. Your pool was absolutely fantastic for the whole family to swim and relax before and after our busy days at the beach.

The location of your home was perfect. We were able to access the beautiful beaches, go to wonderful restaurants, and shop. Everything was so convenient which made our stay all the more relaxing and enjoyable.

We look forward to our next stay in Hawaii at you home.

Thank you so much,


Becky

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Family Vacation!

Review submitted: May 31, 2012   Date of arrival: May 13, 2012

Our family of 12 stayed for a week at this property. We really enjoyed our time, and it was wonderful to all be able to stay together in one house! Our ages ranged from 2 years old to 82 years old with 4 - 19-24 year olds in between and the accommodations suited us very well. With the two large tables, one inside and one outside, we were able to have many memorable family meals together. We all really enjoyed the pool and the fresh mangoes from the tree were a delicious treat!

The house was very comfortable and well-stocked with items for our use. The kitchen had everything we needed and we made use of the snorkel masks, beach chairs, toys, coolers etc. when we went to the beach.

We made several trips in to Waikiki (25 minute drive) and having Hanauma Bay so close was a bonus.

We would certainly recommend this property for a family vacation!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Wonderful time by all

Review submitted: April 10, 2012   Date of arrival: March 26, 2012

Our family just spent 9 days here and enjoyed them all. We had extended family and the house setup made it possible for young and older to sleep or play at the same time. The owners were helpful but gave us our privicy. Thanks so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

This house has everything!!!

Review submitted: February 6, 2012   Date of arrival: January 6, 2012

Perfect!!! The house and Melanie were absolutely perfect!!! It was really nice having Melanie so close (lives in a house on the property) she had great advice for sight seeing and if we needed anything (which honestly we didn't because she has taken care of everything) she was right there.
We stayed for 9 nights and there was 7 adults and 4 children under the age of 5. The house is a great size for large groups. We had such a great time. The location was perfect, only 3 minutes to Hanauma Bay and 30 minutes to Waikiki Beach. Costco and Safeway were 5 minutes away which made stocking up very easy. I would definitely recommend a car rental.
Each bedroom had ample privacy from the other bedrooms and all but the single bedroom had air conditioning. The house is fully stocked!! From beach towels, beach umbrellas, coolers, snorkels, sun screen, laundry soap and shampoo/conditioner. She has thought of everything. The kitchen has everything from a crock pot to a massive coffee/tea thermos. Spices, tin foil, plastic bags....I could go on and on!!! The pool and outdoor area was wonderful and great with the kids.
The house is located in a great neighborhood on a quiet street. The house, grounds and pool were very clean and well maintained. I would recommend this house to my family and friends. Such a wonderful place to stay and I know we made some wonderful memories there...thank you Melanie!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Your family is so wonderful and it was a joy for me to have you all here this year. Please keep in touch and bring your darling family back again.
Aloha,
Melanie

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Excellent property and amenities, great hostess

Review submitted: November 15, 2011   Date of arrival: October 30, 2011

Great Location! This property is well furnished and had all the comforts of home. The grounds and pool are very well kept. The house is stocked with full size toiletries and the kitchen is completely stocked with all the utensils to prepare big meals. There was literally nothing we needed after purchasing our groceries. All the beach supplies were neatly stored, clean and ready to use, including the nice beach towels. The covered porch made it easy for the 14 of us to leave our shoes at the door. The owner takes pride in establishing a comfortable relationship to make your stay more relaxing. Staying here was a great experience for all of us. We would definately recommend this house to families that enjoy staying together.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you. I enjoyed your whole your whole family too.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Best Week Ever!

Review submitted: March 20, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

I had the opportunity to visit this property for over a week with great friends for a relaxing vacation - it was so much more.

The property itself was perfect for our group, but would also be great for families, etc. We cooked meals daily, sat poolside for breakfast and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and comfortable setting.

The location is exactly where you'd want to be to experience Honolulu -close to great dining and amenities like grocery stores, etc, action packed beaches or quiet/untouched havens are moments from your doorstep and the neighborhood is where I would live if given the chance.

I would return in a minute were it not for having to return to the real world which after more than 10 minutes, you'll never want to do again!

AMAZING. MUST RENT!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: March 19, 2011   Date of arrival: March 4, 2011

I just spent nine days in this house with eight friends, and it was absolutely perfect for our needs. The house itself is beautiful, spacious, and clean, not to mention fully stocked with enough towels, dishes, and linens for a large group. The pool is located directly on the side of the house and is easily accessible through the living room. The outdoor patio next to the pool has a large table and a grill, which offered a perfect location for relaxing over drinks or dinner. The house is on a quaint, dead-end side street that doesn’t get a lot of traffic, but is still only a short drive to supermarkets, gas stations, and a number of scenic views.

The owner of the house lives in a separate home behind the rental house and was a huge help with navigating the area and finding things to do. She has been in Hawaii for over a decade and is familiar with all the local hikes, beaches, and dining spots. During our stay, the earthquake in Japan triggered a tsunami warning for Hawaii, and the owner of the rental home was extraordinarily helpful with getting us evacuated and finding a safe place for us to go for the night. I would highly recommend this house for a single family or even multiple families looking for a relaxing and fun vacation.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 7 / 7

 

Great property for multiple families

Review submitted: October 16, 2010   Date of arrival: October 5, 2010

Stayed for a week with 2 grandparents, 8 children and in-laws, and two grandchildren. It's a perfect property for this kind of adventure. The pool is wonderful, coupled with the outdoor lanai right outside the living room door. We ate several evening meals on the lanai; barbequed our meats on their nice gas grill; it was perfect. They also supply equipment for the beach activities; beach towels, coolers, chairs, unbrellas, and kiddies pails and shovels. They have a washer and dryer too, which is great for big families like ours. Highly recommend this property.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Absoutly Wonderful!

Review submitted: May 17, 2010   Date of arrival: April 21, 2010

We stayed with Mark & Melanie in April/May 2010 and had a wonderful time. There was 10 adults & 2 small kids (4,7) and there was plenty of room for everyone. There was actually a queen bed and king bed that was not used. The kids love going to the beach during the day and coming back to our Hawaii home and swimming in the pool. The house was very clean, plenty of towels, laundry soap, shampoo, conditioner etc. Also coolers, body boards, beach chairs, tons of beach towels, beach bags to use, stroller - which came in handy when we went to the international flee market as well as the swap meet & pool toys. Right around the corner from Hanauma Bay. Like other guests have said in their comments Mark & Melanie were there when you needed them to be and gone when you did not need them. I would stay with them again in a heart beat. Excellent hosts and answered any questions that you had. Alot of times you rent a house and then if there is a problem there is no one to contact to fix the problem. We did not have any problems but if we would have, it would have been fixed quickly. Close to lots of stores & to Costco. We loved Waimanalo Beach which is just 12 minutes away. Great beaches & great place to body board. Hawaii Kai is a very nice area and not busy like Waikiki but close enough to visit and then come back home. Mahalo!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Owners response: Thank you, we enjoyed having your family too.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Perfect location for multi family vacation

Review submitted: December 19, 2009   Date of arrival: November 23, 2009

Everything is as promised, the owners where wonderful and very helpful. The location is so convenient to get anywhere on the island. very nice, safe neighborhood. We loved the pool. We had our friends come and the house was big enough for two families, I could go on and on, evrything was perfect. We will be back to this house again.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Family Wedding and Vacation

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: June 29, 2009

Our group stayed at this home for one week in July, 2009 with a party numbering up to 11 people as we prepared for and celebrated a family wedding held nearby. The group consisted of family members and some of our son's wedding guests. The house has five bedrooms and additional beds in the family and living room areas that provided sleeping flexibility for everyone. The home is in good condition, well landscaped, and consistent with the listing detail.

The owners of the home live in a cottage at the back of the property and were extremely helpful throughout our stay. They made us feel like family without being intrusive, and we quickly felt like the house was really our home away from home. They offered help with shopping, directions, transportation, and several other personal items that made life easier and expedited our wedding preparation and related events.

We found this home to be well equipped, including extra cutlery and dishes, which was well used for our group meals.

Many beach items such as coolers, toys, towels, umbrellas, mats, etc. are available. Our diverse group used many of these as they engaged in a variety of recreational activities during our stay. The pool is nice for quiet recreation and relaxation on the property.

We accessed the home with a rented car. The home is well located for shopping, access to beaches, and golfing. Waikiki about 15 minutes away, and Hanauma Bay 5 minutes.

We recommend this home for families looking for a friendly, relaxed, and comfortable vacation.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 22 / 22

 

Fun for all ages in Hawaii

Review submitted: August 10, 2008   Date of arrival: July 22, 2008

This was a great property. There were 12 of us in our group ranging in ages from 11 years old to 75 years old. This house was big enough that we never felt under each other's feet. The property was clean and well cared for and just as described in the advertisement. The location of the house is central to everything on the island, nothing seemed too far away. Safeway, Costco and other amenities were literally a few blocks away. The owners Melanie and Mark were great! They were attentive when needed and invisible when not. Some our family members visited Pearl Harbor, golfed, went to the Swap Meet, learned to surf at Waikiki, snorkeled at Hanauma Bay and toured the Dole Pineapple plantation, but most of the time we checked out a new beach everyday. The swimming pool was great to come back to in the afternoons. We ate all our meals at the house and that cut down on costs a lot. We barbequed almost every night. The house had everything we needed for the beach. They had 5 or 6 boogie boards, 6 beach chairs, beach mats and an endless number of beach towels. The washer and dryer made it easy to bring less clothes along now that the airlines are charging for the second checked bag. Each family had their own rental car and we had now problem parking three cars at the property. In the evenings we played games or watched TV. I would definitely return to this property the next time we visit Oahu. Everyone had a wonderful time and went back to the Mainland with great memories.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect!

Review submitted: February 26, 2008   Date of arrival: February 1, 2008

This property is very clean, fully stocked, and perfect for 8 adults, 2 young children and 2 babies. I would highly recommend this property and plan on staying there again in the future. The home is located in a quiet neighborhood and is only a 5 minute walk to the beach - perfect for children to play in the sand and look for hermit crabs! We were no more than a 5 minute drive to Hanauma Bay, Costco, local grocery stores, and plenty of restaurants. The owners live on site and are only there if needed. They provided a large binder full of places to eat and things to do. We took some of their suggestions and went on the whale/dolphin excursion and had a fabulous time. I highly recommend this home for anyone traveling with a large group or have children. You can't beat the price by staying at hotel or condo - especially with the private pool, laundry room, barbeque, kitchen, total privacy and location!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 17, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Mark & Melanie's lovely, spacious home was perfect
for our 3 families traveling together (10 people).
There was plenty of room for everyone. The space
is situated with bedrooms tucked away in areas
separate from the dining/lving room, so we had
privacy with the ability to cook, dine and socialize
together. The kitchen is fully equipped with
utensils, a coffee maker, rice cooker, pots/pans,
and BBQ tools. Also provided are beach towels/
bags/mats, sand toys, boogie boards and ice
chests. There is a large-capacity washer/dryer
which was very convenient. The private, heated
pool was wonderful for the kids to play in while we
barbecued on the brand new grill. Hawaii Kai is
close enough to Waikiki to visit without having to
stay in the heart of all the noise and chaos. We
spent several days at beautiful Waimanalo and
Bellows beaches...only about a 10 minute drive
from Hawaii Kai. These beaches are cleaner and
much less crowded than Waikiki beaches. Being so
close to Hanauma Bay, we got there early and
snorkeled before the big crowds arrived. We did all
our food shopping at Costco and Foodland...both
only a couple minutes away.

We would absolutely recommend this home to
families/friends traveling together. Thank you
Mark & Melanie!

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 16, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

We had a group of ten, needed many bedrooms, and a pool. This is often difficult to find. After looking through many houses on-line, we were referred to this house by another realtor. We were not disappointed at all upon our arrival nor during our stay. Mark and Melanie were gracious hosts. Making sure that we had what we needed and respecting our privacy. This is definitely a great location. Close enough to Waikiki, but far enough away from the hecticness of the city. There are also many restaurants and grocery stores available close by. We had three separate families sharing the home. One family had small children and one family had teenagers. Everyone had enough privacy when they needed it. We found that the home could have easily slept more than the ten of us. You are close to golf courses, Hanauma Bay, Sea Life Park and other beaches. The only down side was that we eventually had to leave our piece of paradise and come home to snow. We would definitely recommend this home and would also come back if we found ourselves in Oahu again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 7, 2006   Date of arrival: August 1, 2006

Thank you Melanie and Mark for the wonderful stay in your home.
To Future Prospective Guest: Do not hesitate, or be worried, this is a very good home, in a very good affluent and safe area in Hawaii Kai. It is not far from Waikiki or the beaches. This home has all the amenities of home, the only thing missing if you need it is a blender. This is a home, not rural or cottage like, or rustic looking. Great mango tree in the back, a real treat for us, fresh mangoes to eat all day long. We looked at the other area such as the north shore and Kailua, we concluded that this was the right home,absolutely wonderful. We were a combined family of 11, and found the home spacious enough for everyone to have their own down time. There is a good bbq, pool, and enough bathrooms for us all. If we can in the future, we will come back. If you have any question email me.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2006   Date of arrival: February 1, 2006

There were fourteen family members from 8 months to 69 years old that spent a week in this lovely home. This prime location is tops for convienience to shopping, restaurants, travel, beaches and safety. The house allowed plenty of privacy for the couples and the children. The furnishings and household goods were in top condition and plentiful. We did not want for one thing. The arrangement of the kitchen, washer & dryer, storage for groceries and dining area were efficient. The pool is lovely and CLEAN and with a barbeque and tables we enjoyed our diner by the pool a few nights. Melanie and Mark were great hosts and made us feel relaxed and comfortable with the 6 children. We have traveled the world and I would say this home, plus, Melanie Mark, made us place this particular vacation as one of our best. We hope to put together another trip at the same spot in the future.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 1, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

My wife's family and I (12 of us, in all) recenty stayed at the beautiful Portlock estate. We can all honestly say that it was one of the greatest vacations of our lives - thanks in no small part to Melanie and Mark and their PERFECT home in "paradise". The location was perfect, the hospitality was second to none (Melanie made some fantastic suggestions!) and the convenience and privacy of our own house was exactly what we needed after our action-packed days on Oahu. The pool was the perfect oasis for us all and the house itself provided more than enough room for our large group. I would highly receommend this house to anyone looking to experience Hawaii.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 1, 2005   Date of arrival: February 1, 2005

As a once upon a time resident of the beautiful state of hawaii I would recommend the portlock residence to everyone,,, especially to those with children,, it is a very safe neighborhood,,, and "PORTLOCK" is the address to have.It was almost as if we went on vacation and took our house with us,, It had everything we have and more,,, we dont have a cable modem,,, it does.. Mahalo

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 19, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

We had a family reunion total of 14 people stayed in the Portlock residence from 1/8/05 to 1/15/05. The house provided everying we are looking for including toliet paper...The owner Melanie and Mark are very friendly and helpful. We all enjoyed the stay in the place. I would highly recommend this house to others.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 14, 2005   Date of arrival: January 1, 2005

We stayed at this property for three weeks over the Christmas and New Year holidays. It was spacious and comfortable, furnished in island style decor, with air-conditioning and cable televisions in most rooms. Part of the master bedroom is a bit dated and three of the other bedrooms have to share one small bathroom. However, those slight inconveniences are more than compensated for by the rest of the house and the beautiful, large solar-heated swimming pool. The kitchen was also well-equiped even though we didn't have to cook due to our proximity to local eateries. The property's location was great -- near shopping centers, Hanauma Bay and beautiful sandy beaches further on. The owners live behind the property and were very friendly and responsive to our
needs.

We would not hesitate to return to the property and would definitely recommend it to friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review