reviews for: listing #17050 - Pasadena, California Cottage rental

Polynesian Paradise in Pasadena
  • bedrooms  1
  • pool  yes
  • type  Cottage
  • baths  1
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Historic Highlands
  • sleeps  4
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $200 /nt
    $1,200 - $1,200 /wk
    $3,400 - $3,400 /mth

sort by:

Beautiful Pasadena Guest House

Review submitted: April 16, 2012   Date of arrival: April 5, 2012

We had a wonderful time at the Polynesian Paradise and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great place to stay in the Pasadena area. Last year we rented a house that we thought was in Pasadena and ended up being in a questionable area of LA (think liquor stores, not grocery stores). Our experience this year couldn't have been more different. This property is on a beautiful, quiet, tree-lined street in a nice residential area of Pasadena. It was larger tha we thought and is perfect for a family of 4. The owners were extremely helpful and the spa/pool area is grogeous and very well maintained. We loved staying at the Polynesian Paradise and hope to go back again next year!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2011

This has to be one of the best places that we have had the pleasure of renting. The location is great - the Pasadena area is really lovely. We have rented in different areas of LA in the past but this is definitely the best. We absolutely loved the Polynesian/Tiki theme, the Tiki bar and outside area are amazing, and the pool and spa - what can I say, it really is exactly as it looks in the photos. The place really comes alive in the evening with amazing outside lighting, it really is heaven to sit out with a drink and just take it all in. Jama and Joanne have really created an amazing place, and were on hand if we needed anything but didn't intrude at all during our stay. The one thing that really struck me was how clean and well equipped the house was, it had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. This will definitely be the place we will come back to when we get to visit LA again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A Hidden Paradise in Los Angeles

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: July 2, 2011

We travel frequently to Los Angeles and were tired of the hotel scene. We are so happy and surprised to find this amazing oasis in the middle of Los Angeles...and we could RENT IT! Well upon our arrival the place is even better than the photos. The pool is so welcoming with its sand design bottom and smooth corners. Our daughter is 5, and she was in there everyday. It is so nice to have a private pool for children. The entire place from the outside decor to the intricate tiles on the bathroom walls has a polynesian theme. When you lay on the comfy beds at night there are murals of palm trees and a sandy shores on the ceiling that make you feel like you on a beach. The location is safe and quiet. Several times when floating in the pool we said to each other, Are we really in LA? I feel like I'm in Hawaii! For you those of you who love tiki stuff, the home has an amazing display of tiki fun! The owners Jama and Joanne so sweet and accommodating. We felt like we got 5 star treatment. The place has free internet and parking (a plus) and a HUGE TV with mega channels. The place is also equipped with a large binder of things to do and places to see. Trader Joe's and Wholes Foods are a few minutes drive. Interesting enough if we just stayed there all day we were perfectly happy with the private pool, jacuzzi, sauna, patio, and music. We are definitely making this home a destination when in LA. I'm almost afraid to tell all my friends about it as they may lock us out of a date when we want a place to stay! But alas, we do always want to share good finds.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Superb stay.

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: June 25, 2011

We spent a week at Paradise in Pasadena while sightseeing and visiting in Pasadena and the LA area. The rental was more than we could have expected- in addition to the fun environment, the amenities were perfect for a week long vacation. After a day of visiting the Huntington Gardens or LA Arboretum, we particularly loved relaxing in the pool or spa. The owners were also lovely to work with. An excellent place to relax, both inside and outside- we'll definitely be back whenever we are next in the greater LA area.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

What a Fantastic Place!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: March 30, 2011

We have just left the Polynesian Paradise and were very sad at doing so. This place has the 'wow' factor. It easily sleeps 4 - we had 2 children upstairs and we slept downstairs. The interior decor is something to behold. We stayed there 7 days, and even on the seventh day we found something new or intriguing that we hadn't noticed before. The finish is to a very high standard and very comfortable. The pool is a very good size and the spa was nice, hot and relaxing. It is very private, too as the only property which slightly overlooks is the owners. The garden furniture is comfy and clean, the styling out of this world (check out the 4 painted skulls in the bar!!) and if it gets slightly cold (like it did for us) there is a large 'volcanic' looking gas fire which kept me warm into the night. Pasadena itself is a great place to stay. Everything you need is nearby, great food, several high quality shopping malls, nature/walking trails and breathtaking views. Hollywood isn't far and we easily made it to Zuma Beach at Malibu in about an hour and a half. The traffic in LA is diabolical and at one stage we were stuck in a jam at 11.30 at night!! This doesn't detract from Polynesian Paradise, as I can honestly say that we could have spent all 7 days there without leaving. That's about it. If you're thinking of going - do it!! You won't regret it.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

The Perfect Pasadena Getaway!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: November 16, 2010

My friend and I had a wonderful experience at this darling resort. The owner was gracious and helpful. The house was in such a quiet, lovely neighborhood, and had everything we needed to kick back and relax (pool, spa, and great weather) that it felt like we were at a tropical resort! At the same time we were close to the activities of a big city and the Los Angeles area. I highly recommend this spot and plan to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Times!!!

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: October 27, 2010

This place is soooooo Great, Cute, Fun, Relaxing!! Would recommend it for everyone! Familys, Couples get away, Group of friends! It has everything you need!Only problem we had was we didnt have enough time to just enjoy the place. We were visiting our son and want to see LA.ran from morning to night! We will go back for sure!! A big thanks again for everything!! The PA. Gang Rating: 5 out of 5 Respond to Review

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

We would highly recommend this property as a most

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 30, 2010

We would highly recommend this property as a most wonderful retreat away from the hustle and bustle of LA. We stayed for three nights, which formed part of a very hectic road trip, and it was just so wonderful to head back to at the end of a busy day of sightseeing. Outdoors, it comes alive in the evening, with lots of pretty lighting, tikki torches and fires to warm up a cool evening and the whole place has such a magical feel. Indoors, it was very comfortable and had everything we needed, plus lots of clean towels, which always goes down well! Our children; 15 yrs and 12 yrs, loved everything about it, particularly sleeping up in the loft. The owners were extremely helpful and were there if we needed them, but we were left to enjoy it all to ourselves and we were able to maintain privacy. Perfect!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

August 2010

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 16, 2010

On a two week vacation in the USA we stayed for 8 nights, visiting LA and the Disney & Universal Studio theme parks, indeed the property was a little like staying in a Disney film set with all of the themed details the owners have added. Ideally situated for all our needs the property was a welcome retreat after long days at the theme parks. Limited kitchen facilities were not an issue, with many local restaurants offering food as cheaply as you could cook in. When you do decide to cook the nearby stores (maps & directions provided) have plenty of fresh produce to cook on the barbecues for alfresco dining by the pool. Our children (two boys aged 17 & 20) took downstairs whilst we enjoyed the cosiness of the loft space, also leaving the boys full access to the huge 60" TV. Set in a quiet residential neighbourhood, the property is set well back from the road. The pool and spa were great both day and night, with the fire place and fire pit taking the chill of the slightly cooler than normal evenings during or visit. For those of you lucky enough to have the heat, the property does have air-con with a separate unit in the loft area, though we prefered to enjoy the quiet and the cool evening breezes by leaving the screened windows open at night. The owners were friendly and helpful throughout our stay, even at 1am one morning when our broken down hire car (thanks Alamo) was being taken away by the tow truck, and we have no problem in recommending this excellent value property to families or those looking for a couples get away.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

8 days in August 2010

Review submitted: October 4, 2011   Date of arrival: August 6, 2010

We absolutely LOVED this property! -I can't stop talking about it and I can't wait to return! -It's so cool, and so unique and super cozy and private. While you're there you have the pool and hot tub all to yourself, and after spending our days in L.A. (and L.A. traffic), we found ourselves looking forward to bbq'ing and relaxing out by the pool. I would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Relaxing Oasis

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: March 8, 2010

molly long beach island , NJ USA

Review Submitted: March 29, 2010 Date of Stay: March 2010
The Polynesian Paradise is well named. The place could not be more relaxing. Really to make you want to kick back and do nothing! Loved the hot tub and in that setting besides the pool... really felt like paradise. The cottage is decorated in a unique style that transports you to a tropical Island . .I would recommend it and hope you enjoy your stay.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect Paradise Retreat

Review submitted: July 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 12, 2010

We absolutely LOVED this property! -I can't stop talking about it and I can't wait to return! -It's so cool, and so unique and super cozy and private. While you're there you have the pool and hot tub all to yourself, and after spending our days in L.A. (and L.A. traffic), we found ourselves looking forward to bbq'ing and relaxing out by the pool.

I would definitely return.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wonderful week in Pasadena

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: February 13, 2010

The Polynesian Paradise in Pasadena was perfect. From the thoughtful snacks our hosts left us when they learned we would not arrive until 3:00 in the morning, to the comfortable beds, the beautiful pool and spa, and the gas-fired outdoor fireplace to warm the chilly evenings, we couldn't have asked for anything more. The full-on Tiki bar near the pool and the funky collection of antique tourist kitsch from the Hawaiian islands decorating the entire place were fantastic. Don't miss this place!! If we're ever in the LA area again, we'll be back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Polynesian Oasis

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 5, 2009

We were quite nervous about reserving our first home rental over the internet, but no need to fret as it was a huge success. The hosts are very warm and generous in sharing their beautiful home with us. Driving down Topeka Drive, our first impression, was a pleasant surprise as the neighborhood is tree lined with homes set back with much property in a first class area of Pasadena. Upon entering the site, you are welcomed with a pool and spa area hosting quality furnishings that could accommodate many guests. (We did have 12 guests one night) A truly private Polynesian oasis to call home! The house is tastefully decorated and was much larger in person than the pictures on the internet. It is clean and spacious, warm and cozy. Every morning we awoke to the sun shining in and could see the blue sky in the skylights. The futon’s were great to sleep on as they are of the memory foam type. Never had a backache after 7 nights. Because we hit a cold spell, we used the fireplace, the heat, the outdoor volcano heater and of course the hot tub! In the hot tub we realized how quiet the neighborhood was as we stargazed. It was too cold to use the pool, but it sure did look inviting! Maybe next time we will come in warmer weather. The bathroom was also quite large and the showerhead is better than home. If you rent this cottage, you will not be disappointed, but surprised of how spacious and eye appealing every day of your stay will be. We plan on coming back, for sure. The money value is exceptional! The highway is not far away, the shopping is convenient – it is just a great location and beautiful site! Can’t wait to go back!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Paradise Found

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: January 3, 2010

Paradise in Pasadena. This property lived up to all it promised. The pictures of the accommodations and the outdoor spaces were 100% accurate. The property was clean, well-maintained and well stocked for total comfort. We had a beautiful week with sunny skies and warm temperatures, allowing us to spend most of our time outside by the pool and spa enjoying the tropical oasis the owners have created. The owners were friendly and helpful and gave you the privacy you want on your vacation. The location is great, close enough to all the local attractions without being too close to all the craziness of Los Angeles. I would highly recommend Polynesian Paradise to anyone. We plan to return next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Perfect oasis!

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

We stayed there for just under a week and our stay was fabulous. The place was very clean and well maintained. The pool and spa area are so beautiful especially at night time with all the lights. The 2 gas fireplaces are awesome for a relaxing dinner outside or just to hangout. The location is great especially if you want to see everything Southern California has to over. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to our friends and family.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Polynesian Paradise in Pasadena

Review submitted: February 27, 2010   Date of arrival: December 21, 2009

Traveled to Pasadena with my wife and parents for my son's graduation from APU this December. The patio with the outdoor fireplace comfortable furniture and lights helped make the graduation party a lot of fun. We did not use the pool but enjoyed the hot tub. The Polynesian decor is a little over the top but works, the neighborhood is very pleseant and the location convenient. Owners were friendly and helpful, enjoyed our stay very much.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review