reviews for: listing #17051 - Hilton Head Island, South Carolina House rental

Windswept - 2nd Row w/ Partial Ocean View in N Forest Bch
  • bedrooms  5
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths 
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Oceanwood
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $475 - $800 /nt
    $3,000 - $5,150 /wk
    $8,000 - $19,000 /mth

sort by:

Excellent Home!

Review submitted: November 12, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

My husband, 1 year old son and I stayed at Windswept for two weeks in September 2007. It was an absolutely fantastic vacation and home away from home. Kay has made everything about the home livable for her guests. To get to the beach you simply walk through the pool area and down the adjoining boardwalk - there you are! I would liken the distance to walking from a standard beach front hotel, through its pool area to the beach. The beach directly in front of the complex is enormous at low tide and still nice and wide at high tide. The tidal pools make perfect "kiddie pools". Although we are pet lovers and took our dog with us, there was NO SIGN that pets are allowed to stay at Windswept. It is kept immaculately clean and tidy. It is great for kids too with very family friendly furnishings and highly mounted electronics. We were thankful for the little office that we were forced to use to work a bit. The high speed connection and wireless router made communication very accessible. There are even two adult bikes along with a TON of beach toys and rafts at the house. NO need to bring your own! It is a perfect bike ride to Coligny for a meal or ice cream. From the granite kitchen to the beautiful bathrooms, everything has been considered and appointed with the highest of taste and quality.

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Vacation Paradise

Review submitted: September 15, 2013   Date of arrival: September 7, 2013

This was our second stay at Windswept and we had another perfect vacation. The house is beautifully decorated. It is a wonderful place to relax. Kay always seems to add another little something that will make your vacation special. This time we found lots of beach chairs, floats, umbrellas etc. for our use.
Which is nice so that you don't have to load up the car by bringing your own. The kitchen is beautiful and the family room is spacious and inviting. You need to see all the special touches in the bedrooms and some of showers have 5 shower heads. This is truly a special place to spend your vacation.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

A great place!

Review submitted: April 14, 2013   Date of arrival: March 30, 2013

Our stay at WindSwept was great.
There were 12 of us (3 families) staying together and the house was perfect. It never felt crowded and had plenty of space for all of us. The kitchen is very nicely appointed; the bathrooms are great and it was wonderful having our own laundry center. There were plenty of beach chairs and toys for the kids and the walk to the beach is very short (you can see it from the balcony).
The beach in front of the house is very uncrowded - we sometimes felt like we had it to ourselves.
The location of the house was perfect - away enough from the crowds but only a mile or so from all kinds of stores & restaurants.
Totally enjoyed ourselves. Thank you!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Spring Break

Review submitted: April 18, 2012   Date of arrival: March 31, 2012

We had a great time at this house. I think everyone thought it was the best beach house we have stayed in, and we have been going on beach vacations for 25 years. The house was very comfortable, very close to the pool and ocean, and we had easy access to the walking/biking trail. We loved being able to ride our bikes to the grocery store and shops, it was nice not having to use the car all the time. Awesome weather helped too.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Awesome Family Home

Review submitted: June 22, 2011   Date of arrival: June 11, 2011

This property is nicely laid out and convenient for a large family that needs room for 8-9 people. There are two main bedrooms and three other smaller bedrooms mostly located on the second floor. The owner has many amenities that you can leverage (beach chairs, sun tent, etc.), and the house is a short walk through the community pool to the beach area. It is not a short walk but very doable while toting equipment to the beach. The house is in great shape and has the accessories that a family that stays at the house a lot in terms of cooking, etc. will need. The house is also located deep into a neighborhood that has very little traffic because of it's location.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

WONDERFUL PLACE TO STAY!!

Review submitted: June 21, 2011   Date of arrival: May 7, 2011

We have stayed at Windswept twice now and have had a wonderful stay both times. The house has a upscale yet comfortable feel to it. I personally like all the little extras that make it feel more like home like a weill stocked kitchen (spices, lots of kitchen gadgets that come in handy) as well as books, toys, and movies. It is a great house for families with kids! Beach towels and toys are on the property and the beach and pool are steps away! If you like to shop or want to eat out or have some icecream Coligny Plaza is right down the street.
The house is very clean and well maintained (I am very picky about this). When we ran into any problems Kay, the owner, was always more than helpful. We locked ourselves out of the house and she helped us right away and when the A/C wasn't working properly she had someone there to fix it immediately. My husband and I both agree that we can't stay anywhere else now. It feels like home!

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

A wonderful place!

Review submitted: July 7, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2010

What a wonderful house in a wonderful town! I was a little nervous when I opened the door for the first time, but with my entire family (six adults, three grandchildren), felt quite overcome by the sheer beauty and spaciousness of the house. It manages to be beautifully appointed without being too precious. Children can relax and play without much danger of ruining its comfortable fixtures. Kay was congenial and caring throughout our stay. It's quite an art to be solicitous without being intrusive. Nevertheless, she has perfected it. I would not consider looking elsewhere in Hilton Head.

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 14, 2010   Date of arrival: April 14, 2010

We stayed for a week over Spring Break and couldn't have been more comfortable. This is our 5th stay at HH and we all agreed that Windswept was the only property we would definitely go back to. The house has a luxurious feel but at the same time is very relaxing and comfortable. It is very open and bigger than how it appears in the pictures. It is extremely close to the beach and the ocean views were better than we expected. Highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 

Review submitted: April 13, 2010   Date of arrival: April 13, 2010

We just spent a week with a total of 7 Adults and 1 child in this wonderful home. Absolutely no compalints, even the weather was perfect! We highly recommend this home. Oh,and the locationis great.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 28, 2009   Date of arrival: September 28, 2009

When our weekend at another house was derailed due to weather, we found Windswept and were extremely satisfied. The pictures on the website do not do the beauty of this house justice. The kitchen, bath, and bedrooms are stock with everything you would need, and if not, stores are close. The owner was easy to talk with even though she was traveling also. I would highly recommend this location.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: September 9, 2009   Date of arrival: September 9, 2009

We had an awesome weekend at Windswept. The house is wonderful.Location is perfect, furnishing are nice, kitchen is stocked generously. Love that it is pet friendly....great decks for our dog to hang out on. Can't say enough positive things about this house. We will be renting again there when we can find time to go back.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 22, 2009   Date of arrival: June 22, 2009

This was our second stay at Windswept and another great time! It is beautifully and comfortably furnished with plenty of room for the adults and the grandkids. It is so close to the beach and the pool, a plus when you have “little ones”. We look forward to staying at Windswept again.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 9, 2009   Date of arrival: June 9, 2009

5/30/09 - 6/06/09...just returned.WELL represented by the photos/description. Furnieshings/ammenities beyond anything we have rented in past!! Kitchen equipped beyond expectation.Very nicely FURNISHED linens incld/g beach towels, chairs, floats, etc. Beautifully decorated. Could not say enough positive things about this property!! Owner is VERY familiar with local area. Breat help with activity planning! This is an A+++ rental. ENJOY!!!!!!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: June 3, 2009   Date of arrival: June 3, 2009

We spent Memorial Day week at Windswept, and had a wonderful time. The house has everything you could need while on vacation, we had parents, children and grandchildren there, and the house accomodated us with no difficulty. This is our second year at Windswept and we just love it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 29, 2009   Date of arrival: May 29, 2009

We had the pleasure of staying at WindSwept mid May, the week it would not stop raining! We were so thankful to be in such a great beach house, it's what saved our vacation. The accommodations couldn't have been better, with a large really nice living room/kitchen/dining area all open with plenty of windows all around. The kitchen had everything you could want. Never have we rented a place where the owner had everything so well thought out. Speaking of the owner, communication was terrific and she was most helpful. If you stay at Windswept, you truly do not even need to bring beach chairs or towels. I would recommend this beach house to anyone.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: May 21, 2009   Date of arrival: May 21, 2009

Kay's property at Windswept is absolutely gorgeous. I can not imagine a better place to spend a relaxing week. The property design is so fuctional and the attention to detail is superb. The property does not leave one thing to be desired.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 19, 2009   Date of arrival: May 19, 2009

This was our second stay at Windswept and for the second time we had a wonderful time. We also brought our parents and our dog, Utley for the week and they all enjoyed it greatly. The house is lovely and spacious. It is also full of accomodations. Our favorites were the luxury showers!! We spent every morning and afternoon walking the beach and playing in the surf. It was so convenient to be able to walk a minute from the house to the beach. We'll be sure to come back to Windswept within the year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: April 21, 2009   Date of arrival: April 21, 2009

We stayed in this wonderful rental home for Spring Break 2009. We had a family reunion of 12 and found the sleeping arrangements very comfortable for 5 kids and 7 adults. There was always hot water for all 4 showers! I have been in other units that I have had a cold shower too often! The living area is large, sunny and accomodating. The kitchen was so well equipped with appliances and gadgets that it was a pleasure to cook on vacation!
The ease of getting to the pool and beach was great...just a short walk down a brick path and you are there. It was nice to have a pool house with restrooms as well.
It is a very convenient location to town as well and we found ourselves biking or walking in daily. Often more than once. Kay the owner was lovely to work with and always available if we had a question or problem. I would highly recomend this home!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 24, 2009   Date of arrival: March 1, 2009

We stayed at Windswept for ten weeks in early 2009. Over such a lengthy stay, you really get to know a
house and learn its strengths and weaknesses. Let me assure you that this is a terrific rental house in
every way! First of all, the layout is exceptional. There is a large kitchen/dining/family room area that is
perfect for socializing. It has a nice, bright open feel that makes your stay very very relaxing. The
bedrooms are quite varied in size and location, so sleeping arrangements are a snap. Overall it is a very
comfortable house.

Secondly, this is by far the most fully equipped rental unit I've ever seen. We quickly learned that if we
ever needed something (battery, tape measure, cooking implement, etc etc) just look around and we
would find it in the house! There are a lot of books, DVDs, magazines, local guides, towels, blankets,
pillows, beach chairs, beach toys, games, etc (including a whole bunch of stuff for the kids). The
attention to detail is amazing (for example, the light switches are labeled, which believe me is extremely
helpful in a house this size).

The location is outstanding: just walk down a short, private path (and I mean short) and you are on the
beach. There is a pool and pool house (with rest rooms) right by the dunes. The house is located at the
end of N. Forest Beach road, which can get very busy at times. But because Windswept is just 100' from
where the road dead-ends, the only traffic in the area is from people staying nearby--there is no
"through traffic."

I would be remiss if I didn't mention how attentive and pleasant the owner is. If we had a question or
need, Kay would respond immediately. However she left us alone completely. No unexpected drop-ins,
phone calls or hovering (if you've had this happen with a rental, you know what I mean).

Windswept is, without a doubt, one of the very best rental experiences we've ever had.

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 11, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

We stayed at WindSwept from 12/27/08 - 01/03/09. Many of our family spent the time with us and the weather could not have been nicer. Our family is from Chicago, so they were captivated with the pool and the ocean, as well as the weather, which was primarily in the 60's and 70's. The decks were particularly inviting and the view from the second floor was exceptional. The house was designed for groups and afforded not only privacy but large open areas for camaraderie. Kay, the owner could not have been more accomodating.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 29, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We truly enjoyed our stay at WindSwept: excellent selection of amenities (very reliable high-speed internet, large flat screen tvs, towels, games, kitchen utensils, etc.); wonderful proximity to the beach and pool; and beautifully situated on a quiet block in a serene setting filled with lush foliage. The layout of the house, including balconies and windows, is great for a large group. Added bonus: the owner to be very attentive and personable.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 28, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

We stayed at WindSwept from Sept. 20-27 and had a wonderful time. The house is wonderful and has all the amenities you could want. Plus Kay has a pamphlet telling you of area things to do, where area stores are located, and what to do with jellyfish or sting-ray problems (a sting-ray got my husband so this was VERY helpful). We vacation every year with my parents, brother, sister, grandmother, cousins, and dogs. We are spread out across the eastern US and like to get together once a year for a week long vacation. The WindSwept house was so nice, the large open living room and dining room allowed us to play games until late in the evening and really enjoy each others company. Also, its located so close the the beach and pool, it was nice my husband didn't have to go far to visit the beach after his unfortunate sting. Kay, thanks for a great vacation. :-)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 18, 2008   Date of arrival: September 1, 2008

My husband dogs and I had a wonderful vacation at this rental house! We were there 9/6-9/13 and the weather was so perfect for doing anything at all. The house was so big and had everything from dozens of beach towels to rainy day board games and movies.. So close to the beach, we took night walks and laid out at the quiet neighborhood pool almost every day. Couldn't have asked for a nicer vacation home! Thanks Kay (the owner for such a great house)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

Kay, Ed and I (Tom and Vicki)and our other children had such a wonderful week at your home 8-2 to 8-9 this Summer! The last three years we stayed at a place we thought could not be nicer; well, your home was much nicer and more!!! We all loved it and my son-in-law from Germany put it very well when he said "it just feels so warm." We loved the decorating of your home and it was great to be that close to the beach and the pool also. Since our family can't get together often during the year, we always try to vacation together. We all enjoyed it so! And we have already booked for next year. We owe our thanks to Tom, our son-in-law from Pittsburgh for pursing your house!! Many thanks to you. Have a great year!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay at WindSwept. The house is lovely, spacious, very well equipped, and just steps away from the beautiful beach. It was a wonderful, relaxing vacation for the family.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 4, 2008   Date of arrival: July 1, 2008

We had a wonderful time staying at WindSwept. It's a really beautiful home,so very comfortable. We look forward to staying here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 6, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

We had a wonderful stay in April at Windswept. The house was so spacious and well maintained. My 4 children loved meeting new friends at the shared pool. The kids were always finding new treasures left by Kay for the use of guests in her home. What a great vacation with Uncle Rob, Grandma and Papa!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2008   Date of arrival: May 1, 2008

We found Widswept during the 2007 construction. It looked promising even with a dumpster in the driveway.

We subsequently booked for two weeks in April 2008. The children and grandchildren had a great time (yes, I will thank Kay for the bubbles, toys, puzzles, etc). The adults enjoyed the attention to detail (wifi, potholders, multiple peppermills, etc).

This house is a "10" and Kay's communication is supurb! Yes, we expect (children and grandchildren demand) a return visit.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 24, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Working with Kay was just as perfect as her home. We wanted a last minute get away to the beach for spring break. Usually I take care of the travel plans, this time my husband did (sorry honey- I'm slinging mud). He was trying to budget shop so we ended up at a, lets just say, less than par townhome with 3 kids under 8 and a dog at 11:30 on a Saturday night during college spring break. The house hadnt been cleaned from the previous renters and we had no where to go. Once we found a hotel at 1am, we emailed Kay straight away and by 8:15am on a Sunday she called us back and we were on our way to the perfect beach vacation. She was more than wonderful and saved us from packing up and going home.
The home is absolutley priceless- not one single detail was overlooked. We felt more like we were staying at our own home away from home rather than a rental property.
We cant wait until we go back again, we will be staying at Windswept. All I can say, is you get what you pay for and Windswept is worth 10 times that much.
Thank you Kay for saving our vacation and entrusting us with your beach baby!
We cant wait to see you and Windswept again!
Becky Kanawada

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We celebrated Easter week in 2008 at Windswept. The house was beautiful and great for 12 people. Nice big living space, wonderful kitchen with everything needed plus nice bedrooms and baths. The house is located just a few steps from the beach and the pool. We would definitely stay here again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 30, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Spent MLK weekend at WindSwept and had a great time. The location is perfect, close to everything. Our group consisted of 3 couples and 5 small children. Although we didn't have perfect weather the floor plan worked out perfectly for us. The first level living space made for a great place to watch movies, play games and enjoy some great meals. The bedroom and bathroom layout suited both the adults and all of the kids. The uppper level master and lower level master both have awesome spa showers that need to be seen and experienced to be appreciated. Kay also left a little treat for the kids in her welcome package which helped keep them busy for an afternoon given the bad weather. This was a very nice touch. If you are looking for rental that will accomodate 3 couples plus children for your next vacation I would definitely consider WindSwept.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 27, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

what a wonderful beach house!!
we have told our extended family about Windswept so
the word is out in Atlanta ;)
We plan to visit again soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Untitled

Review submitted: November 11, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The Windswept condo is a dream come true. Luxurious and roomy accommodations set in a perfect beach location. The condo is only steps away from the pool and walkway to the beach. For enviormentalists the location provides a haven for visual beauty as large great oaks with spanish moss grace the condo. All of the bedrooms are supplied with tvs and there is a large screen in the living room. There are plenty of windows which provide a cheerfully bright atmosphere. Granite and tile are used through out the home which provide an upscale feeling along with gorgeous pine wood decor. The towels were surprisingly softer than most found at other hotels and condos we've stayed at. The location provides easy access to many restaurants and golf courses along with convenince stores in case you've forgotten something. I would highly recomend this vacation home and found Kay to be a "gem" to work with. I would love to return to Windswept again next year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Perfect Vacation

Review submitted: November 4, 2007   Date of arrival: October 1, 2007

Windswept was everything that had been advertised on the posting and more!
With a dog in tow, we were concerned that the options available to us would be less than great. We excited when we saw the pics of Windswept and saw that it was pet friendly.
We were even more excited when we arrived at the house. The accomodations were first class. We had never stayed at Windswept before the renovations, but it was clear that everything was brand new with the guests' luxury in mind. The plasmas in each room were a fantastic touch.
We loved the upstairs master BR and the very large bathrooms with tons of tile. The kitchen was huge and very well-stocked all of the necessary cookware and utensils. The appliances were as good as we have at home. It is comforting to know that if you want to prepare a meal for your group, you can do it without concern if everything works!
Finally, the location of the house could not have been better. One of our primary criteria for the house was to be within close walking distance of the beach and Windswept fit the bill being about 100 yards away. It was nice to be able to be at the beach within minutes (and be home within the same time).
We are hoping to make another trip to Windswept in the summer.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

WindSwept was the perfect house and location for our recent family vacation (8/07). We loved our stay, and really enjoyed the house's layout, kitchen, great room, office, two separate master baths, outdoor shower and it's close location to Coligny Plaza. The community pool proved to be much better than a private pool. Not only was it much larger than any private pool, but at it we met nice families and our kids met fun playmates. Everything about WindSwept was great! We loved it.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 15, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Stayed at Windswept 8/11-8/18 for a family vacation. The house was very nice, clean and planty big for all 12 of us. The best thing about the place is it's fabulous location. Steps from a great pool and the ocean. Also, Windswept is very quiet and relaxing, and only a short bike ride to town. Highly recommend for it's comfort, coziness and location.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 14, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

A wonderful house for a large family looking to vacation together. Plenty of spots to gather as a group or find some time alone. The walk to the pool and ocean is only a few steps away which is an added bonus. The owner is extremely helpful and easy to reach with questions before your trip. Overall, an excellent vacation experience.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Paradise on HHI

Review submitted: September 11, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

Windswept is everything promised and more. The renovation to this home has tranformed it into a luxury rental with top-of-the-line features in the kitchen and bathrooms, quality furniture and linens in every room and an attention to detail with the guest in mind. We have rented in Oceanwood before, but not in a home of this quality. And the icing on the cake is that it is pet-friendly, even for our 80 lb. baby!! Don't miss this ideal setting.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Swept Away

Review submitted: September 10, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

My husband and I recently rented the Windswept property from Kay along with two families that we are friends with. In our group we had 6 adults, 2 year old twins and 4 other children between the ages of 6 and 10. I should begin by saying that there was plenty of room for everyone!
You walk in the front door and immediately to the left is a small room with a desk and pocket doors (the study). We primarily used this room to store shoes and games/toys that we brought along. To the right are the stairs that lead to the second floor. A couple of steps further into the foyer and you see a hall to the right that leads to a half bath, the laundry room and the queen bed master with a small deck and private bath. Straight ahead you see a large open area with the family room to the left, the kitchen table straight ahead and the kitchen to the right. This open design left plenty of room for the 12 of us to eat and hang out together.
If you had gone up the stairs in the floyer to get to the 2nd floor you would see a door straight ahead at the top of the steps that leads to a queen bedroom with private bath. To the right is a door for the bunk room with 2 twin beds and a full bed (the 4 older kids shared this room comfortably). As you walk down the hall you come to another queen bedroom on the left and a bathroom that it shares with the bunk room on the right. At the end of the hall is the king master bedroom with a private bath and deck.
The house looked is exactly like all of the pictures that Kay provided to us after the renovations. It was clean and had a convenient floor plan.
The pool and beach are both very close to the house. Picture a small culdesac with 4 or 5 house on each side of the street and then 3 or 4 at the end. Windswept is one of the last houses on the right. You just walk down the steps, cross the driveway and go between 2 of the houses and you're at the pools. There's a pavilion area with bathrooms and a walkway to the beach which is clean and pretty.
We were completely happy with our selection and have already recommended the house to friends who have reserved it for next spring. Happy house hunting - this one is a safe, enjoyable choice!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Amazing Windswept

Review submitted: September 8, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

The home was beautiful - something truly out of a magazine! Each and every room was amazing from the bed linens to the closet space. The views from each deck offered endless beauty and at different times of day offered different sights for viewing ~ the ocean, the lush landscape, the sights and sounds of paradise!
The town offers great shopping and dining experiences. There is also an interactive children museum, The Sandbox, about 8 minutes from the home for the little ones to enjoy for a small fee. A great place for a rainy day or just for something different to do.
I would highly recommend this home for an amazing experience both inside and out! The owner of the home has great vacationing tips and was an absolute pleasure to work with during this entire process. She truly makes the entire experience memorable!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 2, 2007   Date of arrival: September 1, 2007

We had a wonderful time with our family at WindSwept. The house is simply beautiful and situated just so nice. More beautiful than the pictures can express. We loved the location because it was quiet and secluded. At first, we weren't crazy about being 1 mile from Coligny Plaza, but we rented bicycles and riding back and forth to Coligny was one of the highlights of the week. Highly recommended. We hope to be back next year.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We have stayed here many times and have always been happy, but this renovation knocked our socks off! It was really a quality job, and as each new family member showed up, they "oohed" & "ahhhhed!" Kay is great to work with, the location can't be beat, and we, too, love that we can bring our dog.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 25, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

We had a WONDERFUL time at Windswept! It is truly a beautiful vacation home, with everything you could imagine. Our family (10 of us)enjoyed the pool and the beach, and were happy they were so close! We have stayed on North Forest Beach many times and love the area. Very close to shopping and restaurants. We would HIGHLY recommend staying at Windswept and hope to stay there again ourselves, very soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 10, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

My family, my brothers family and my parents (total number was 12 + my dog) enjoyed a beautiful 4th of July week at Windswept. The house is truly a spectacular retreat. The pictures on the web do not do it justice. It is beautiful inside and out. The house has everything you could possibly need and was only made better by the close proximity to the community pool and beach. Shopping was just a short 2 minute drive away. There was plenty of room for everyone and my kids 13,11 & 9 loved that they could go the pool by themselves or play outside. The only downside was that we had to leave..haha

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 20, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Our ten person family, grandparents, parents and grandchildren all had a wonderful time at WindSwept. This was our first time and it was perfect for all ages. We particularly liked that it was so close to all amenities, yet totally private on a six house cul de sac, one block from the end of North Forest Beach Dr. which is a dead end street. So, it was perfectly located. The community pool was never crowded and we met some very nice people there, some of whom gave us excellent dinner recommendations since we had not been to HH in about fifteen years and did not know what was good. The house is beautifully decorated, extremely well kept and very clean. We all thought it is the perfect beach house.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Windswept had exceded all our expectations! We loved the house the location and the outside decks. Everything was so beautiful and the ability to bring our pets made it all the more special. We will most definitley be staying here again.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 5, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

Windswept is a gem. We were the first to rent after the recent renovations and were delighted by the beautiful decor, plush beds and spacious living areas; Don't be deterred by the idea of a community pool! It really was a 30 second stroll with plenty of lounge chairs and a private entrance to North Forest Beach - plus a fun way to meet other people! We had a wonderful week at Windswept and highly recommend the property to anyone interested!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 4, 2007   Date of arrival: June 1, 2007

The house is gorgeous and in a perfect location within steps of the pool, a view of the beach and a mile from Coligny Plaza for shopping and groceries. Our family was one of the first to stay at Windswept after the '07 renovation and our stay was fabulous. It's wonderful to be able to go on vacation and feel spoiled like we did at Windswept and best of all it's pet friendly!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 30, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We had such a wonderful time at WindSwept. The house is excellently equipped and very very well decorated. We really appreciated the additional bath towels and all the nice things to take down to the beach. It is also great that the house is so close to the beach. Thanks so much for the wonderful vacation we've had, we'll definitely will be back!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 20, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

My family stayed at this wonderful beach on Oct 7th-13th 2006. Its was wonderful time and the house is amazing. Very well kept and clean. We felt very much at home and love its location to the beach and shopping areas. We have vacation at HH many times and this is by far the best we have stayed at. We hope to come back again next year perhaps with some friends due to the new addition. Definitely recommned it..

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 6, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

It has been a few years since we stayed at Windswept and the changes are wonderful. The new kitchen is so nice as well as the beautiful tile floors and bath. I am excited to know that WindSwept will be a five bedroom house soon so we can take the whole family. Thank you too for making it pet friendly. It's so hard to find a place that will accept our 4 legged daughter. We look forward to staying in the new 5 bedroom Windswept. Best of luck with your renovations. Kaye Davis

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

It was a real treat to stay in this lovely home -- a perfect location, so nicely decorated and maintained, and every amenity. We will certainly stay here again, and will recommend this home to our friends. Thanks Kay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 24, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

My family has been spending our summer vacations staying at Windswept for the past several years. I have and will continue to recommend this beautiful house to everyone I know and meet. The house, pool, location, owners, etc. everything is perfect. We look forward to many more years spent staying at Windswept.

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 22, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had an absolutely wonderful time at Windswept. The location is very close to the beach, and the community pool is an added bonus. The new kitchen renovations are great and we enjoyed fresh shrimp there many evenings. Being only 1 mile from Coligny Plaza is nice for shopping and groceries. We had a great week in June of 06!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 20, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We had a wonderful family vacation at Windswept. I was amazed at how close the home was to the beach. You could hear the ocean waves and seagulls from the deck! We rode bikes everyday to Coligny plaza where there was always some form of entertainment going on. The home was clean, bright,and spacious and located in one of the best sections of Hilton Head. We only wish we could of stayed longer. Thank you Kay!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 17, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Our family vacationed at Windswept the 4th of July week and had a marvelous time in a very beautiful home - just steps away from the beach. Our family has been staying in the houses at Oceanwood since 1982 and have never had a bad experience. However, our best experience was this year in Windswept. The house renovations are beautiful, the house is the best equipped, the owners are the most congenial and easily accessible we've ever had. It was a 100% pleasure to have stayed at 106 Oceanwood. I would highly recommend this house to any and all. Not one negative thing to say. For the perfect vacation at the most beautiful beach - call Kay. You will thank me for the suggestion.
Pat

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review