reviews for: listing #17068 - Newport Beach, California House rental

Luxury Beachfront Casa de Balboa 227
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Balboa Island
  • sleeps  5
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $242 - $499 /nt
    $1,600 - $3,800 /wk

sort by:

Will be returning next year!

Review submitted: July 17, 2014   Date of arrival: July 5, 2014

We truly enjoyed our experience at Casa de Balboa. The location was fantastic, steps from the beach and less than a 5 minute walk to the restaurants. The kayak and stand up paddle board rentals were dropped off right at Mothers Beach....so easy and convenient. The place was beautiful and we particularly loved the large, fenced patio (we were downstairs), which was perfect for the dogs. Unfortunately we did have a few issues (place not available at originally scheduled check in time; non-functioning freezer and thus no ice!), but the management was very responsive and did their best to remedy the issues without interfering with our vacation. We have already reserved again for next year!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic Spot!!

Review submitted: January 31, 2014   Date of arrival: January 20, 2014

My wife and I just left this Villa after staying for 10 days. The pictures do not do the views and accommodations justice. Looking out over the bay and the marina with the mountains in the background is truly a fantastic setting. With being only a few steps to the beach , it was a great place to unwind from our busy schedule. The location is great with the bay on our side and the ocean and pier only a couple of blocks away. The owners provided everything and then some to make our stay truly a first class experience. The kitchen was perfect for cooking which we took advantage of. There were also a lot of restaurants close by and we especially liked Mama D's! Overall the Villa provided us with way more than we expected. My wife frequently travels to this area for work and we will definitely stay here again. Scott & Heather

Recommended for: romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Excellent Beach Rental

Review submitted: July 26, 2013   Date of arrival: July 6, 2013

Casa de Balboa delivers everything it promises. The location is excellent; you are directly across from the beach. The unit was fantastic -- very clean, very modern. There was none of that usual "grottiness" you find at most beach rentals. The towels were very white, very clean, very plush; not some hand-me-downs. The kitchen was up to date and clean -- new appliances, granite counter tops.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Wonderful Balboa Beach House!

Review submitted: June 6, 2013   Date of arrival: May 25, 2013

Great location. Home was well maintained and comfortable, Close to town, and close to the beach boardwalk. Also easy access to PCH and all the highways. Support staff was excellent, they were most helpful in every way. We loved it, and will return as soon as we can.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

great time

Review submitted: November 26, 2012   Date of arrival: November 21, 2012

Had a great time, once again at Casa de Balboa. Nice and quiet for kids, but close to a lot of fun stuff for the adults. Beach across the street to the sound and 2 minutes from the big beach on the Pacific. Highly recommended.

Recommended for: families with young children, tourists without a car

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Loved Everything about this Home!

Review submitted: November 20, 2012   Date of arrival: November 15, 2012

This was the cleaned, most well equipped, very modern and comfortable rental home we have ever stayed in. Wonderful location, walking distance to everything. Perfect for vacationing with a pet. We will definitely stay here again!

Recommended for: families with young children, pet-friendly, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Spring Break 2012

Review submitted: April 17, 2012   Date of arrival: April 7, 2012

I was very apprehensive about renting a vacation property that was not at a high end resort but we had little time to plan, the Villas at The Resort at Pelican Hill were sold out, and so I went with my wifes gamble on this rental. l was very pleased with her choice and so were our boys. I think the location is the very best on the peninsula with shopping, restaurants, rentals, the beach and the harbor. Most important for myself is the rental was very clean and well kept. Pam's recommendations and instructions were great and easy to follow and she was always very responsive to our questions when we called or emailed prior to our arrival. I'll recommend the place to all our friends going to Newport and our family for sure plans on staying here again in the near future.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

We loved the Casa!

Review submitted: March 31, 2012   Date of arrival: March 22, 2012

My family stayed here for a week. We have 3 girls (ages 12, 9, and 6). The house is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Fully stocked kitchen and full size washer and dryer (which is a must for me when traveling with kids!). The view from the porch was gorgeous -- beautiful bay view. The front porch was very nice as was the little backyard sitting area.
Very close and walkable to the Newport Pier and shopping. Loved our stay!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Boat Parade 2011

Review submitted: December 19, 2011   Date of arrival: December 17, 2011

This is a great spot to view the boat parade. The location is perfect for beach and bay lovers. Once we parked we could walk to everything we needed including a 7 eleven for last minute things and several restaurants. The home is in perfect condition, updated and very well cared for. The bay was right across the street (it is a dead end street) so no thru traffic. In the opposite direction 2 blocks away is the Pacific Ocean.. We walked a lot including a short walk to the Newport Pier........Would highly recommend this unit...We have stayed in many VRBO & HOME AWAY rentals and this ranks way up there!!!! Thanks to the owners. We will pass the word......

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Thanksgiving Week 2011

Review submitted: December 6, 2011   Date of arrival: November 18, 2011

I wanted to thank Pam for a wonderful stay in her home that we rented this past Thanksgiving Week. She was always so quick to get back with me whenever I had a question and she was full of helpful information about the area. The home was very clean and was beautifully decorated. I especially liked the way the morning sun shined on the front patio in the morning. It was wonderful to sit out there enjoying the view and the paper.
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend her place to family and friends!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Our Quick Getaway!

Review submitted: November 8, 2011   Date of arrival: November 4, 2011

A last minute getaway turnout to be fantastic. Your casa was lovely and felt like a home away from home.

One suggestion, please replace the shower head in the guest bathroom.

Kind regards.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write. Although four stars is great..we strive to give our guests a five star experience every time. It is input like yours that helps us attain that goal. The shower head will be replaced pronto! Thanks again!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 

wonderful vacation home

Review submitted: October 18, 2011   Date of arrival: October 10, 2011

PERFECT PLACE FOR OUR FAMILY VACATION. THE HOME WAS IMMACULATE! Very private patios with a beautiful view of the bay and a very short walk to all the beach has to offer. Perfect location easy access to water food shopping nightlife... Beds were comfortable, all linens where provided and of high quality. We have told all of our friends and family, and can't wait to return.
The Stevens

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Ocean Paradise

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

This is the finest luxury rental in Southern California! It has everything....literally! We keep extending our stay(and wanted to stay another week) and were VERY lucky to do so since these units are ALWAYS booked! If you want luxury and ocean and beach and private and quiet and romantic and.........this is IT!! And, this is just not another rental.....Pam the owner treats it like she owns it....oh, she does! The finishing touches are all there and maintained weekly.....supreme customer care and service on top of it all! Thanks so much for an incredible stay....already looking to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Ocean Paradise

Review submitted: October 3, 2011   Date of arrival: September 24, 2011

This is the finest luxury rental in Southern California! It has everything....literally! We keep extending our stay(and wanted to stay another week) and were VERY lucky to do so since these units are ALWAYS booked! If you want luxury and ocean and beach and private and quiet and romantic and.........this is IT!! And, this is just not another rental.....Pam the owner treats it like she owns it....oh, she does! The finishing touches are all there and maintained weekly.....supreme customer care and service on top of it all! Thanks so much for an incredible stay....already looking to come back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Great Place!!! ...for family, couples, dog people

Review submitted: September 13, 2011   Date of arrival: August 27, 2011

We booked for a week this August wanting to get out of our scorching Arizona heat. It couldnt have been better. We have a very well trained dog who accompanies us everywhere and the ground floor was perfect for him. He enjoyed both the spacious backyard and the very quaint front yard area overlooking the strand beach and street. Cozy, modern, contemporary, comfortable...the owner is a fabulous decorator. The other units are stunning as well.I want her to decorate my home! The kitchen had all the moden updated appliances and the cupboards were stocked with utensils and cookware. We arent huge beach-goers, but every amentity for that was in the closets and garage. We had chairs, towels and even an umbrella to shade us from the sun. I loved the quiet location at a dead end street, hardly any traffic which made it quiet and relaxing. I am definately booking for next year!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Karin for taking the time to write. We look forward to your return in 2012!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

5 Star Accommodation Lived Up to Expectations!

Review submitted: August 5, 2011   Date of arrival: July 30, 2011

Casa de Balboa properties are excellent and we would highly recommend them. We had never rented a house/apt abroad preferring hotels and were apprehensive about the quality but Casa de Balboa is superb- beautifully furnished/ fitted out, good bathrooms and kitchen and well equipped and spotlessly clean. We didn't eat out much but Villa Nova and 21 Waterfront are excellent but expensive. We walked the seafront most mornings. The location is not oceanfront but minutes away and we liked the quieter location rather than having a patio on the ocean and no privacy. Patio looks out on bay beach and gets sun in the morning from 6am then shade from 12 on - perfect. We rented bikes and went over on ferry to Balboa island and rented paddle boards from place 1 street north of 7 Eleven. Best surf was at Salt Creek south of Laguna.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers

Owners response: HI Gerry,

Thanks so much for writing a review. I am so glad you enjoyed Casa de Balboa and our beautiful niche.

Newport Beach is well known for it's surfing spots...some streets better than others and some areas are better on certain days due to the weather. The surf was excellent near the pier a couple of blocks away when I was in Newport last (several weeks ago). I don't think it could get any better than that. Of course there is always the famous "Wedge" for body surfing!!

We hope to have you back for your next visit to the US!!

Kind regards,

Pam

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Pat V

Review submitted: July 2, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

My husband and I just stayed there for 2 weeks. The unit was comfortable and had everything we needed. The beach area across the street is great for children and activities like paddle boarding. The unit was close to restaurants and shopping. We look forward to renting the unit again in the near future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Beautiful apartment

Review submitted: June 20, 2011   Date of arrival: May 21, 2011

The apartment was beautiful and airy. The front patio overlooking the bay was a joy; we had breakfast there every morning and watched the kids splashing around in the bay!

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks so much for writing..I am so glad you enjoyed your stay!!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Excellent beach property

Review submitted: June 10, 2011   Date of arrival: June 4, 2011

Great location! Beautiful furnishings. Will definately be back!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Chris!! We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

The Bensusans easter holiday!!

Review submitted: April 26, 2011   Date of arrival: April 9, 2011

What a lovely place!! It was the perfect location and the facilities provided are definitely 5 star!! It was good to be able to walk everywhere and with such a choice of restaurants and things to do with the kids it was a good choice of location. I will definitely stay here again, 30 minutes and you are in Disney, 1hr 30, you are in Universal or downtown San Diego, the beaches are amazing, although it was only my daughter who ventured into the cold April sea!! Thank you Pam, it was everything you said it would be!! The Bensusan from London UK

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Owners response: So glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your return.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just Perfect

Review submitted: October 17, 2010   Date of arrival: October 11, 2010

Perfect Location and perfectly appointed. We enjoyed our week at the home in every way. The property was exceptionally clean and every amenity was thought out for guests. We felt comfortable from the moment we entered the home. The views to the water were tranquil. , The exceptional location of the home afforded us the ability to have lovely walks, enjoy the local restaurants, and experience the California lifestyle. As soon as we have the opportunity to return we would come back to this wonderful home without any hesitation and highly recommend it to all.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Nicest Place in Newport Beach

Review submitted: October 11, 2010   Date of arrival: October 2, 2010

I looked online at almost every beach rental from Lagoona to Huntington and I was delighted to find that the four units at Casa de Balboa in Newport were even better in person. We began staying there two years ago and loved them so much that we stayed again this year. We've stayed at Casa de Balboa before and will continue to stay there In the future. It's immaculately kept and the nicest place in Newport to rent for a great beach getaway. We spend three days on the beach and three days at local attractions such as Disneyland or the Aquarium of the Pacific (in Longbeach) both times we've been - I would also recommend a great Seafood dinner at the Crab Cooker - only three blocks away. If you've got small children, the beach right out the front door is perfect due to being on the harbor side of the peninsula and has no waves; if you want the big surf, walk less than 60 seconds across the street to the open Pacific. We love this place and Pan ensures that these are the best place in Newport. One last thing, if you love a beautiful sunrise over the harbor - this is the place to stay! Great place!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Thanks Mikel for taking the time to write. We will see you next year!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Just like being at home..........but better

Review submitted: May 4, 2010   Date of arrival: April 23, 2010

My family members have rented at Casa de Balboa 2x now and we have also referred other friends to this rental. All the units are meticulously clean and decorated very comfortably - for the same price as many local hotels you get much much more!! Highly recommended! :)

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, people with disabilities, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, tourists without a car, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Review submitted: March 26, 2010   Date of arrival: March 26, 2010

I am testing changes to the guest book. Currently there is only one email address accepted per guest book entry. Since the majority of guests are repeaters this is problematic. For those that take the time to write...we certainly appreciate it!! For those that take the time to read our guest books..we certainly appreciate that too!! Please let us know what questions you may have regarding Casa de Balboa.See you at the beach!!Kind regards,Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: February 10, 2010   Date of arrival: February 10, 2010

Pam,

We had a wonderful time at Casa de Balboa. The condo was beautiful and a terrific location. Our family was very sad to leave Seaside Donuts behind.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Guestbook Entries Reviews!

Review submitted: February 4, 2010   Date of arrival: February 4, 2010

All of our guest book entries are from a guest book that Vacationrentals and Homeaway owns and manages but for some reason do not forward onto their site on our behalf. We may be changing our guest book as it does not allow more than one entry per email. Since many of our guests are repeaters they are not allowed another entry even if they stay in a different Casa.

All of these entries by our guests can be viewed on our web site.

Thanks for taking a look..and see you at the beach!

Warm regards,

Pam Murray
Casa de Balboa Beach Front Luxury Rentals

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 20, 2010   Date of arrival: January 20, 2010

Dear Pam and Greg,
We Totally enjoyed our stay at your lovely Casa 227 the week of Jan 11, 2010.
From the well stocked kitchen and plenty of freshly cleaned towels, and we even had a high chair for my grandson when he visited. The location was perfect. We enjoyed our walks on the beach boardwalk everyday.
Can't wait to return.
Thank you.

Owners response: Thank you. We look forward to your return!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: January 11, 2010   Date of arrival: January 11, 2010

We have rented plenty of beach houses in the past and the Casa de Balboa was the best so far. It was beautifully decorated, comfortable and well stocked. I should also mention that it was very clean. And, of course, I need to mention the location. It was perfect---We were right on the bay with hillside view and the ocean was a one minute walk away. This was my ideal place to stay....Laura Delman

Owners response: Thanks for taking the time to write Laura. We hope to have you back soon.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 14, 2009   Date of arrival: October 14, 2009

Very warm and cosy escape. Well furnished with taste. Excellent location 2 minutes walk from the main beach with a secondary beach in front of you wich we found is a real advantage making possible to escape the crowd...All the accomodations available nearby.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: October 5, 2009   Date of arrival: October 5, 2009

Hi Pam & Greg:
Thanks again Pam for putting Jane & I up with #227 next to my daughter in #229 on such short notice.
We had a great time.
In military jargon I would have to give your place a 4.0 Cannot improve on that.
In all our travels we have had the best of VIP quarters, cruise ships, resorts, etc. Pam & Greg you are the greatest.
Our little dog Lucky loved the garden but most of all he was able to greet every passerby the front patio with a greeting.
We appreciated the convenience for everything. The Blue Water Grill was Lucky's favorite restaurant.
I told Greg upon our departure "We will see you again".

Owners response: Col. Olson,

It was our pleasure having you and we hope to see you next year! We appreciate the highest military rating!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: August 31, 2009   Date of arrival: August 31, 2009

My family and I had a wonderful 2 week stay at Casa 227. The villa is beautifully decorated and has everything a family could possibly need. The location is great for little ones who don't want to walk miles to beach plus gives you the option of going to the main beach or using the bay beach which never gets busy. Big thanks to Pam and Greg for providing a wonderful retreat for our vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: July 11, 2009   Date of arrival: July 11, 2009

Thank you Pam & Greg! We had such a fun week at Casa de Balboa! The home is just beautiful and comfortable. The location couldn't be better with the bay beach just out the front and the ocean beach across Balboa Blvd. I look forward to many more wonderful stays!
Thank you.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 13, 2009   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

Casa de Balboa is definetly a place to call your home away from home. Great location, very inviting accomodations, the BEST customer service ever experienced in New Port Beach. They made you feel very special and helped your stay be all that memorable. We definetly have found our yearly get a way. Todd, Tricia and Dawson Thompson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 27, 2009   Date of arrival: May 27, 2009

Casa de Balboa is a great place to stay. Beautiful views, very well decorated home and very nice areas for privacy as well as getting together. We would definately come back!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: May 17, 2009   Date of arrival: May 17, 2009

We loved your Casa de Balboa 227 - it is beautifully decorated and very relaxing. Location was close to everything we needed. Hope to be back soon!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: May 11, 2009   Date of arrival: May 11, 2009

Thank you so much for an enjoyable stay. Your Casa was very relaxing and beautifully decorated. We loved the location, it was close to everything. We would love to come back in the future and bring our family. Thanks again for your hospitality.

Patti Hudson

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: February 17, 2009   Date of arrival: February 1, 2009

Pam:

We certainly enjoyed our stay at the Cas de Balboa.

Great location, impeccable organization and cleanliness.

We will be back.

Ron Heinz

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Hi Pam -- when I try to enter a comment I keep getting an "Insufficient Data" error message even all fields are filled out. Here si the comment I tried to enter....

We stayed for a wonderful long weekend. Casa 227 is really a lovely place to stay, especially the patio and location looking at the bay. The owner, Pam, thinks of everything and strives to make sure your stay is the best.


Chris

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 31, 2009   Date of arrival: January 31, 2009

Please note: The guest book we currently use will only accept one entry per email so our returning guests (which are most of our reservation) are not able to post another entry even if they stayed in a different Casa. Some take the time to leave a note...and we thank them!:

Pam,

Thanks so much for another amazing stay at Casa de Balboa. As usual, the duplex was perfect and you have attended to every last detail.

Thanks for providing the ultimate NB experience.

Rhett and Bobbette

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

Another glorious stay at Casa de Balboa. Pam, as usual, goes the extra mile to make certain that each guest feels welcome at at home at this amazing beach get away. The duplex is clean and updated it is a spa experience. We love being steps from the sand and get lost watching the boats coming and going.
Thanks for all that you do Pam!

Owners response: Thanks Bobette. We look forward to your return visit to your beach home!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: December 22, 2008   Date of arrival: December 1, 2008

What a wonderful experience. The unit itself was flawless and included everything that we would have asked for. The location is spectacular. We enjoyed walking right across the street to the beach. This was definately worth every dime!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Love, Love, Love CASA 227, absolutely wonderful. The accommodations and location were excellent for our family of 4. Right at the beach, so close to shopping, golf and of course Mickey Mouse and the Anaheim Ducks. We will be back :)

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 11, 2008   Date of arrival: November 1, 2008

Great location. It is decorated great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 26, 2008

Note: For some reason Sarah was unable to complete her comment through our site. After a few trys...she sent me her comment to post.


We have just returned from a week's stay at Casa 227 and had a wonderful time. The Casa is well presented and spotless. Ideal for families wanting to relax away from the hustle of everyday life. With two young boys having the bay beach just across the road was great. What made it even better was that everything for the beach was already provided, even beach toys to the boys delight. The area is lovely and relaxing and we made use of the private courtyard every night to sit out and enjoy the views over the harbour. A lot of thought and effort has gone into these villas which made our stay that even bit more special. We liked it so much we have already booked for 2009. Thanks for making our visit overseas trip with the boys a wonderful memory.

Will definitely be recommending your accommodation to our friends and families.

Regards,
Sarah

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 26, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

We have just returned from a week's stay at Casa 227. Everything was perfect, well laid out and thoroughly spotless. As a family with two young boys it was ideally located as they could just walk a few steps and be on the bay beach, made even better by the fact that beach towels and beach toys were provided in the casa. At night, it was very peaceful so we could sit out in the courtyard and look over the harbour. Conveniently located to explore the surrounding areas. We have already rebooked for next year and are staying for two weeks this time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 24, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

This is a beautiful Casa with a large walled patio looking out on the Bay and a smaller private patio off the master bedroom. Everything is supplied for the most relaxing of vacations. The ocean is 2 short blocks away, world class restaurants within walking distance, the shortest ferry ride in the U.S. just a few blocks south and the Newport Pier and Boardwalk a few blocks to the north with all kinds of shopping in between! What else could you want?!The Casa itself is beautifully and comfortably decorated. We hope to stay there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 18, 2008   Date of arrival: August 1, 2008

My family and I just spent an amazing week at Casa de Balboa. The place is clean, beautifully decorated, conveniently located and extremely well supplied--it had everything we needed. This is a great location for a family reunion or large family gathering--plan ahead and you can rent all four places. The more the merrier. I would highly recommend Casa de Balboa for either a romantic or family getaway.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 27, 2008   Date of arrival: June 1, 2008

Everything was perfect: the house inside and out from bed linens to yard furniture. It was immaculate and tasteful. The two available beaches - open Pacfic and Bay - were great for long and very short stays. Our German visitors now KNOW that California is fairy tale land.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 22, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

Casa 227 is a wonderful and comfortable place to vacation! We just spent a week there with our two kids and had a fabulous time. The unit is beautiful both inside and out. It has everything you need and more. We enjoyed the great location and loved having the beach right across the street! We will definitely be back. Thanks for a great time!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 11, 2008   Date of arrival: April 1, 2008

We had a great time at Casa 227! My wife had to do some business during our stay so I bought a used bicycle and pedaled along the ocean and the many bike paths in the area. The accommodations were very clean and comfortable.

Great Location!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 16, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

Our family of four spent just under a week in Casa 227, and it was absolutely perfect. The house is beautiful inside and out and very well equipped, the attention to detail is impressive, and the views are spectacular. The harbour beach, which is clean and which the children loved, is just across from the house. We had the beach to ourselves every day when we were there (mid-March). There's also the much bigger Newport Beach just a couple of blocks away. The location is ideal for the beach, all the shops and restaurants of Newport beach, and other attractions like Sea World (about 90 mins drive) and Disneyland (about 30 mins drive). We just wish we could have stayed longer...

Owners response: Thanks Sarah...Disney though...I have driven in 15 minutes..no traffic.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 6, 2008   Date of arrival: March 1, 2008

We spent a month's vacation relaxing & enjoying our stay in Casa 227. It is beautifully decorated, meticulously clean and conveniently located. We particularly enjoyed the lovely front patio with the blooming flowers & shrubs, even though it was February. Pam & Mark are excellent "inn keepers" & fun to be around. It's a great spot!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

Pam & Mark, absolutely everything you said it was and more. My family brought in the New Year (2008) at Casa de Balboa in the upstairs unit of this fantastic 5-star resort. The accomodations were top-notch. The views were spectacular. The casa was well-stocked with everything we needed. We took a lot of day trips and I wish we could have spent more time at the casa more, BUT a large time was had by all. We hope to return in the summer. Thank you for your hospitality.

Vicki Konetzke & Family

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: November 29, 2007   Date of arrival: November 29, 2007

Hi Pam,

We all want to thank you for such a wonderful stay in your beautiful casa. You have decorated so beautifully and your location is perfect for fun in the sun and sand. So nice to have Thanksgiving outside as we returned to temps in the 30's. We hope we can arrange time with you again.

Best regards,

Candy Kirsch

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 20, 2007   Date of arrival: November 1, 2007

The location is excellent. The unit was very clean and well maintained. Restaurants, shops, the beach, and bike trails are all close by. There is a small fenced patio in front that was ideal for our small dogs during the day.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2007   Date of arrival: July 1, 2007

My family, with kids ages 10,8,5 and 2 really enjoyed staying at Casa de Balboa. The bayfront beach just in front of the home was perfect. The ocean is just a few blocks away, giving a guest the best of both-bay and ocean. Newport is really neat. There is so much to do it is difficult to fit it all in. We would certainly recommend Casa de Balboa to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 29, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

Hi Pam & Mark,
We can't thank you enough for such a wonderful vacation we had. We just rented Casa#227 a couple of weeks ago,
and it was the nicest place we've been.We can't wait to come back next year. Several of my friends are interested in renting from you, because
I can't say enough great things about you and your properties.YOU'RE AWESOME!
Best Regards,
Sandie and Randy
Meridian, Idaho

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

I could not have asked for more wonderful
accomodations - or delightful hosts! The setting
was so peaceful it was like we learned all over again
how to relax. The bay beach is QUIET which
surprised and delighted us. The house was
beautifully appointed and within walking distance
to the Newport Pier and its restaurants and shops.
While we love the Newport area, we'll be back just
for Casa de Balboa. Its a marvelous find!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 7, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed the property and location. The furnishings were comfortable and very clean. The kitchen was stocked well. The patio was extremely nice both in the morning and evenings!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Such a beautiful and peaceful place. Tucked away in a quiet corner where you have the best of all worlds. I could have sat on the patio and watched the boats forever. Beach and boardwalk are just across the street. Everything is right at your fingertips. The home is beautifully decorated and clearly well cared for. I'll be back - again and again...

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 12, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Wonderful location, lots of thoughtful touches (beach towels, chairs, umbrellas, bath robes, hair dryer!). Excellent location! Steps from fun restaurants, a path to run/walk along the beach and close to shopping and a grocery store. Will be returning! Highly recommend to others.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 4, 2007   Date of arrival: April 1, 2007

Well, Pam has certainly done a beautiful job renovating, decorating, and equipping this condo both inside and out - and the location really was excellent. The four of us loved sitting on the patio and watching the boats in the bay go in and out; we also enjoyed and admired the private rear yard patio and garden area. The kitchen was fully equipped and beautiful; the 2 bedrooms were nice-sized; there was plenty of room in the living and dining area to spread out and make ourselves at Home. We borrowed the nice beach chairs from the garage (and easily walked the two short blocks to the ocean beach) and did laundry as needed in the brand new washer/dryer. I would highly recommend Casa de Balboa to those with discerning tastes and high standards! Cheers!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 13, 2006   Date of arrival: October 1, 2006

We really enjoyed our stay in Casa 227. The condo
was warm and inviting and the location couldn't be
better. We are looking forward to returning next
year. Many thanks.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 23, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Dear Pam,
It has been several months since our stay at Casa de Balboa. We are still talking about it!! The quality and attention to detail were impressive. The extras that you regularly provide were greatly appreciated, especially the very clean high chair. We were so pleased with the beautiful furnishings and decor. The Heavenly Bed was very nice extra, too! The location was perfect. Our day trips to Disney and Laguna Beach took less than 30 minutes. We enjoyed watching our daughter search for shells at the bay beach, while we watched from the patio. Thank you for a wonderful stay. We look forward to a return trip. We hope you and your family are doing well.
Fondly,
Carrie Kielty

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 5, 2006   Date of arrival: September 1, 2006

Dear Pam,

This is the fourth year we have rented the same house, same time of year. We have loved our stay each time and plan to come back year after year. The location is wonderful. The house is so clean and beautifuly decorated. It feels like having our own beach house. Thank you so much making our say each year so wonderful. We love it, and plan to see you next year! Love Chris, Jeff and Francesca

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 31, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

We highly recommend this rental home. It is extremely clean and well kept. The location is perfect. We spent the week here with our three girls (7, 3 and 1 year). We can't wait to rent again!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 8, 2006   Date of arrival: July 1, 2006

Our extended family just spent a wonderful week on Balboa Peninsula - after having rented many vacation properties over the years this was among the best experiences - older parents loved the unit, young children loved the patio & proximity to the children's beach and being able to swim so nearby. The 4th of July activities were fun and close. Outdoor bar-b-que was a terrific addition. Unit is very well appointed and was a great meeting place for a memorable reunion. Pam was a great help & resource and we plan to rent again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 10, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

I enjoyed staying with your site, will
surely come back to learn more

Owners response: If you have any questions, please email or phone us.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 5, 2006   Date of arrival: June 5, 2006

Sent in an email:

Hi Pam,

Thank you so much for the great weekend--my mother had a fabulous birthday, and the kids especially loved playing on the little beach outside the house. Everything was lovely, and we are already recommending it to our friends (and planning on coming back next year!).



Elizabeth Wydra

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 22, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Pam and Mark,
Thank you so much for a wonderful Mothers' Day weekend. Even though we only live 20 minutes inland, it was good to come to the beach for the weekend. Your condo was perfect for us and close enough to the beach that we could let our 3 and 1 year olds take a nap and still be at the beach with the baby monitor. We have rented several beach houses before and this has been the best experience, very clean, felt like we were at home. The little dock is perfect for fishing with my 3 year old sone, he just loved catching the bait fish, too bad that was all we caught, better luck next time. Keep us in mind if you have any last minute cancellations, we'll throw the kids in the car and be right down. Best wishes!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 17, 2006   Date of arrival: May 1, 2006

Pam, We enjoyed staying at Casa de Balboa. Your place is perfect. Nicely decorated and clean. The view is beautiful. Nice walk to the beach and restaurants. You are so nice, thanks for making sure we had everything we needed. Hope to visit again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 25, 2006   Date of arrival: April 1, 2006

Pam, We had a wonderful time at Casa de Balboa! We rented both units and not only did they have wonderful appliances and beautiful furnishings but everything was so clean. The location was exceptional so we were able to take many day trips. The beach across the street was wonderful for our 5 year old niece- a beautiful seal even entertained us one day! The weather was beautiful and with a beach so close whenever anyone had spare time they would just hit the beach. We as well as 2 teens stayed in this unit because it provided us with some privacy. The patio off the master bedroom was so nice to enjoy. The majority of the family stayed in unit 225 because it has a great common space for entertaining large groups. Thank you also for all of the small things that made it special- beach chairs, towels, umbrella, fishing rod and toys. We really had a wonderful time!!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 3, 2006   Date of arrival: April 3, 2006

Dear Pam, I tried your website but could not connect so am sending you ourrecommendation so you can forward to the right place. Recommendation:Casa de Balboa was just the perfect place for our recuperation from thedamp and chilly North West. The warm sunshine and the very pleasant condowere the perfect antidote. All amenities were included and the décor wasvery welcoming. We thoroughly enjoyed sitting out on the terrace, walkingalong the shore and even some basketball on the large screen t.v.!!!!Tom and Kathy Kelley

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 5, 2006   Date of arrival: January 1, 2006

Pam,

We had a wonderful Christmas holiday with our family staying in Casa de Balboa 227. The house is lovely and the Christmas tree was a nice addition. We are planning on returning to Casa de Balboa soon. Thank you again.

Owners response: thank you Michellw. We'll see you in March!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 31, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

We really enjoyed #227 and the
location. Wish it hadn't rained, but
for us we needed a restful place to get
away. We miss our own beach house at El
Morro in north Laguna, so this was a
great substitute. Hope we can do it
again.

Owners response: Thanks. We hope to have you return on our typically sunny California days!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 6, 2005   Date of arrival: October 1, 2005

Hi Pam....
Celeste and I enjoyed our stay very much and look forward to returning again in the near future.

Thanks again.
Bruce White

Owners response: Thanks Bruce. Hopefully, we will see you this coming year!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 26, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Pam and Mark,
Our trip to Newport Beach was very special and memorable thanks to the beautiful and clean home you provided. Your attention to detail is very much appreciated. We will definitely be back. Thank you for the opportunity.

Owners response: Hi Kathy,

Thanks. I'm glad it was a memorable vacation. Please visit again soon!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: September 9, 2005   Date of arrival: September 1, 2005

Dear Pam,

Thank you for your hospitality and a wonderful two weeks at Casa De Balboa. All of us felt right at home thanks to all the efforts you've put into every detail. We would highly recommend your property over any other choice. We look forward to spending time there once again.

Best Regards,

The Enlow family

Owners response: HI Enlow family! You were wonderful guests and look forward to your return!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 30, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Pam and Mark,

What a wonderful time my family had staying at Casa de Balboa. The unit is beautiful and the location could't be better. It was great to be able to walk to the beaches , shopping and dining. Your hospitality was greatly appreciated.We look forward to coming back next year.

Pam Westin

Owners response: Thank you for taking the time to write in our guestbook.

The location is great, isn't it? The water and sand a mere 30 feet away! It doesn't get much better. We hope to have you back soon!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 27, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Pam,
Greg & I had a wonderful time at your property. Our family has many wonderful vacation options, with your place moving right to the top of the list. Thank you for a peaceful week in a beautiful Casa. We felt like house guests instead of renters. We hope to stay again next summer.

Loree Church

Owners response: HI Loree,

It was our pleasure. You are reserved for the same week 2006.

Thanks again.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 8, 2005   Date of arrival: August 1, 2005

Pam,
Thanks so much for having us at your location. Your place is so beautiful and CLEAN with a great location to the beach. We didn't have far to lug all of our stuff which is so great when you have small kids. It also seemed so quiet and safe at night- we couldn't have asked for a better spot to vacation with our family. Thanks again for your kindness and hospitality.

Owners response: Thanks so much. It was great to see all of you have such a good time!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 10, 2005   Date of arrival: July 1, 2005

Dear Pam,
Your home is beautiful and the location is perfect for a relaxing, wonderful get a way! We had a wonderful time!
Thnak you!
Tina & Jack

Owners response: I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hopefully, you'll return each year!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 14, 2005   Date of arrival: June 1, 2005

Had a wonderfull time staying at Casa de Balboa. My mom, 2yr old daughter and I had a great girls vacation. Everything was so nice and clean and we felt right at home. We would like to come back again soon.

Owners response: And...we'd like to have you back!

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 29, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

Dear Pam,
Our stay at Casa de Balboa was absolutely perfect. The condo was beautiful and so comfortable. The decor was so very attractive. The view is the best in Newport Beach by far. Reasonably priced and well worth every cent. You went out of your way to make sure we were comfortable. Thank you for being so friendly and accomodating. We will definitelly be back.

Owners response: Thanks Scott. We enjoyed you and your wife. Hopefully you'll be back soon.

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 23, 2004   Date of arrival: August 1, 2004

Dear Pam: You have a great flair for renovating and decorating, and we were the happy recipients of your efforts. During our stay from Aug 7-14 I found my eyes drawn to the bay day and night, to the boats and lights refflected on the water. Since we enjoyed ourselves so much, we have asked you to reserve both 227 and the 3-bedromm casa above it for us and our children and grandchildren next summer. We look forward to enjoying your hospitality again.

Owners response: Thanks for the kind words. You are reserved for your requested weeks. We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Pam

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2004   Date of arrival: July 1, 2004

In deciding on a family vacation this year, we looked for local accommodations close to the beach. We were fortunate to come across the most gracious hosts in the area - the Murray's.
Every detail was attended to making the week stay in Balboa the most enjoyable for our family. I give them 5 stars!
If you are considering a vacation at Casa de Balboa, think no more - you will absolutely enjoy the experience.

Owners response: It was our pleasure having you. We look forward to your return visit!

Pam and Mark

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 28, 2004   Date of arrival: January 1, 2004

We had the pleasure of two weeks at Casa de Balboa and could not have been happier. The unit is immaculate and we felt at home the minute we walked through the door. The location is great and the owners are extremely friendly. We will definitely be back! Thats a warning, Pam!

Owners response: We're looking forward to your stay in 2005!
Best regards,
Pam
Casa de Balboa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: November 3, 2003   Date of arrival: November 1, 2003

I just recently stayed here last week and it was wonderful. The view is great and the place is very relaxing. Everything is within walking distance and the place is very neat and super clean.These pictures on the website does not do it justice seeing is believing. Thanks, Pam

Owners response: Thanks Kristin, we enjoyed having you. I agree that the pictures do not do it justice. We'll be adding more photo's with the addition of 3 new waterfront Casa's soon (including three bedroom units)! Remember to make your July 4th reservations early! Thanks again.

Pam
Casa de Balboa

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 29, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

This is a beauftiful property located steps from the sand and minutes from the Newport Pier. It's amazing how peaceful and serene the neighborhood is. The house is extremely clean and decorated perfectly. We were relaxed the minute we arrived. Thanks to Pam for a wonderful vacation.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: July 21, 2003   Date of arrival: July 1, 2003

beautifully decorated, great location with beautiful views, relaxing, 1st rate, child friendly, walking distance to many activities and restaurants, friendly neighborhood and friendly owners!. would definitely rent again, wished we lived there. what a great part of california.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Review submitted: June 12, 2003   Date of arrival: June 12, 2003

After spending 10 days in a cramped space on Balboa Island, I found Casa de Balboa. I moved from the island to this spot on the peninsula, and couldn’t have been happier with the move. It felt like a home, parking was much easier than on the island, and it is on a short quiet street. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance, the bayside beach out the front door, and a short walk to the ocean. Truly a great vacation spot.Thanks!Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 12, 2003   Date of arrival: June 1, 2003

After spending 10 days in a cramped space on Balboa Island, I found Casa de Balboa. I moved from the island to this spot on the peninsula, and couldn’t have been happier with the move. It felt like a home, parking was much easier than on the island, and it is on a short quiet street. There are numerous restaurants and bars within walking distance, the bayside beach out the front door, and a short walk to the ocean. Truly a great vacation spot.

Thanks!

Ken

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review