reviews for: listing #17121 - Islamorada, Florida Villa rental

Keys Kottage A villa in secluded hammock on Florida Bay
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  Villa
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community  Holiday House
  • sleeps  8
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $1,295 - $1,495 /wk
    $5,000 - $5,700 /mth

sort by:

Guest Comment entered by owner

On September 19, 2013 Elizabeth wrote, in part

Review submitted: November 14, 2013   Date of arrival: August 24, 2013

Dear Bernie,

Pardon the delay in sending you this note. Things have been pretty hectic since we returned catching up with work and getting ready for a move to a new house.
Greg and I want to thank you. We had an amazing time at the Keys Kottage. Both the cottage and the entire property and location are absolutely beautiful. Staying there brought back many childhood memories when my family and I would spend summers at the keys. We enjoyed every single day. We rented a boat and visited various reefs, snorkeled, fished, and just cruised the beautiful waters. We also snorkeled right around the bulkhead and saw giant spider crabs and all types of fish. It was very difficult to leave. The cottage was very comfortable and appealing. We also enjoyed the very friendly widelife. We had a few squirls that practically sat on our laps asking for treats when we sat outside on the cottage terrace.

........I don't know if it is possible to reserve it now for next year........... Please do let us know. We would love to make the cottage our second home in the Keys.

All our best to you,
Elizabeth and Greg

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Great Time!

Review submitted: January 29, 2013   Date of arrival: September 15, 2012

On September 24, 2012 RJ sent the following email:

Bernie,

We had a great time at your place last week. It was a perfect spot for the boat and nicely secluded off the busy road. We will definitely be back again next year likely around the same time…

Best Regards,

RJ

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Perfect Spot

Review submitted: May 8, 2012   Date of arrival: January 7, 2012

This was the perfect vacation. The Villa is lovely, and Bernie is a great guy. It's very friendly and relaxed. Everyone goes to the dock each night and celebrates the sunset. I plan to stay there every chance i get!!!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Review submitted: August 20, 2009   Date of arrival: August 20, 2009

This was our first time renting a place that we had not seen before. We were pleasently suprised on how well the property and cottage was kept. The week went by so fast that we couldn't believe it was time to go. The Kottage was perfect for the four of us. Our two grandsons were able to vacation with us,and with the water access and central location to everything they will have memories that will last a lifetime. We went to the Diving Museum, Founders Park, Indian Key Park, Lignum Vite Park, the sand bar at Whale Harbor cut,and skied every afternoon in the bay. I even cought a shark on one of our fishing trips. We would go back tomorrow. Thank you for the use of your paradise.

Dave & Debbie

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 

Very Nice

Review submitted: July 14, 2009   Date of arrival: July 4, 2009

Great native surroundings, including an iguana. Squirrels ate grapes right out of our hands. House was spotless. Doors a bit tough to secure, tho. Plenty of amenities available(everything we needed and then some) Fabulous cement deck for sunset watching. Boater friendly.
Great food at Wahoo's
What's not to love about the Fla Keys!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Owners response: We're glad Stuart had a good time. This is the first we've heard about the doors, and since we're staying in the Kottage this week we'll be sure to take care of it immediately. Since the doors are all aluminium its probably no more complicated than some lubricant.
Post-script: The doors needed, andd received new hinges. Works like a charm, now.

Bernie

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 

Review submitted: April 27, 2009   Date of arrival: April 27, 2009

Linda and Bernie,

Where do six weeks go? Your delightful Keys Kottage made them fly by again. After staying there the past few years its becoming a second home to us.

We had considered trying different places in the Keys but simply cannot give up the unique facilities, the friendly atmosphere and the wonderful sunsets. As you know, we have already booked for 2010.

Your cottage fits us perfectly allowing us to invite friends for visits and we even got our son to come down for two weeks this year.

Thanks again for a wonderful vacation and we are looking forward to seeing you next year.

Dick & Anne Broyhill
Hopewell, VA

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

April 27, 2005 Gretchen D. sent us this comment:

Mr. and Mrs. Holtzman,

Good afternoon, we just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to stay in
your beautiful kottage last week. We had a great time and couldn't have
asked for anything more in accommodations. The boat basin was so
convenient for fishing and the property was an absolutely relaxing
environment..
We had a great time and look forward to our next trip.


If you have any questions, please feel free to call.

Thank you,

Jeff and Gretchen D.

Gretchen D.
Quality System Administrator
Product Development Technician
Boston Whaler Inc.

and then in a separate email she added:

You can also add in there that all of the
residents were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the great experience!

-Gretchen

guest name: Gretchen D.
guest city-state/province: Edgewater, FL

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

date entered: 04/11/2009 homeowner-added comment: On December 8, 2009 Ben H sent us the following comments:"Bernie,Just wanted to drop you a quick note to say thank you for the great time we had at your Keys Kottage!!! We Your place was great and the overall layout of the property and dock really was spectacular. We will definitely be contacting you about renting the unit again hopefully in March sometime.Thanks again and we’ll be in touch, Ben

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 11, 2009   Date of arrival: April 11, 2009

date entered: 04/12/2007

homeowner-added comment (although Jim & Sherry stayed in Bayside, their comments are very informative about the area in general):
On Monday, April 9, 2007 Jim and Sherry L. wrote....

"Dear Bernie,
We enjoyed alot the Bayside rental last week. Everything about the rental was as promised or better.

We rented two kayaks for the week from the friendly business next door and used them about every day, going to the lagoon north and to the Lorelei south.

The grocery a little to the south was terrific for us. We ate out one night at Lazy Days, one lunch out at the Lorelei on a kayak trip.

All the other renters were welcoming to us and our children ages 6 and 3 had plenty of playmates.

Thanks for helping our first visit to the Keys to be an extraordinary one.


Regards,
Jim and Sherry L"

And on April 10, 2007 they added.....

"Several comments occurred to me since the earlier note: (i) the nearby dive museum is extraordinary, the artifacts and presentation are worthy of the Smithsonian with the additional amenity that you can touch about everything, (ii) .... there was reliable wireless internet via a network called "Holiday House" the entire visit--it helped us locate Islamorada points of interest, and there was a DVD player though we didn't try to use it, too busy, (iii) we gratefully used your letter of introduction to enjoy a half day at Founder's Park, (iv) we spent a half day also at Theater of the Sea, (v) we chartered a half-day eco-tour with Ann's Easy Adventures (from World Wide Sportsman) to snorkeling at Port Antigua beach and to history and bug collecting at Indian Key, (vi) we walked five minutes to Paradise Yoga just across the street. It was too windy the day we tried to go to Lignumvitae, we are saving it for the return visits.

We hope to thank you in person next time.

Thanks again and regards,
Jim"


guest name: Jim and Sherry L.
guest city-state/province: Charlottesville, VA

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 24, 2009

It is with much trepidation that we comment on the Holzman’s “Keys Kottage” for fear of not being able to get reservations in the future. After painful consideration, we have decided that it would be unfair to not provide remarks on our recent stay for others. The “Kottage” was everything as promised …..and more! The web photos do not do it justice! We have been visiting the Keys since the 70’s, and have stayed at many different accommodations. The week we spent was by far the most relaxing and comfortable because of the cleanliness, prime location (land and water), privacy, boat dockage, option to bring our two dogs (empty nest substitutes), sunsets, landscaping, spacious rooms, comfortable bed,……….. I could go on and on.The only negative about our stay? Having to pack up and head home.Thank you again Linda and Bernie, we are already planning another stay soon!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 24, 2009   Date of arrival: January 1, 2009

It is with much trepidation that we comment on the Holzman’s “Keys Kottage” for fear of not being able to get reservations in the future. After painful consideration, we have decided that it would be unfair to not provide remarks on our recent stay for others.
The “Kottage” was everything as promised …..and more! The web photos do not do it justice!
We have been visiting the Keys since the 70’s, and have stayed at many different accommodations. The week we spent was by far the most relaxing and comfortable because of the cleanliness, prime location (land and water), privacy, boat dockage, option to bring our two dogs (empty nest substitutes), sunsets, landscaping, spacious rooms, comfortable bed,……….. I could go on and on.
The only negative about our stay? Having to pack up and head home.
Thank you again Linda and Bernie, we are already planning another stay soon!

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: October 4, 2008   Date of arrival: October 1, 2008

I'm reluctant to say how nice the Kottage really is in fear I'll have to fight for reservations next year!! LOL Perfect location, quiet, beautiful property and great protected dockage. great job on the remodel. will be back next year!

Helpful votes: 1 / 1

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 15, 2008   Date of arrival: January 1, 2008

This is the first time we've used VRBO and I was apprehensive before we arrived. Once we got there, we found the house and property as advertised and in excellent condition. It was a great vacation for our family and I would recommend it to anyone. Hopefully we will return in the future. Thanks Bernie!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 3, 2008   Date of arrival: January 3, 2008

Bernie,
Just wanted to write and say we had a great time down at the Keys Kottage. The house and property were as advertised and in excellent condition. On top of that, the weather was great and we enjoyed their company of the other guests. The renovations looked great.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: August 31, 2007   Date of arrival: August 1, 2007

Keys Kottage was very enjoyable to stay in. It was clean and quiet. Atmosphere is wonderful. Looking forward to staying there again.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 27, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

This was our 2nd Keys visit, but 1st to Islamorada and Keys Kottage. It sure won't be the last. The whole place is great, very relaxing, we had trouble moving!! Good shopping, great restaurants, the weather in May was perfect. The evening view from the jetty is beyond description. The Kottage is FULLY equipped, just bring shorts, T's, sandals, a hat & sunscreen. Next time, we'll try Bayside.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 25, 2007   Date of arrival: May 1, 2007

This was our first time at Bayside and we stayed 11 days. It was great. We were going to bring our dogs but were glad we didn't because they would have interfered with the wildlife in the area. We fed squirrels,iguanas,birds, land crabs and the fish in the boat basin. The sunsets were beautiful and the accommodations were clean and comfortable. The day it rained we took a day trip to Key West. It was very relaxing and stress free just what we were looking for in a vacation. We will be back.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: April 12, 2007   Date of arrival: April 12, 2007

On March 28, 2007 Connie B. wrote.......

"We had a great time in Islamorada. The cottage was perfect for the four of us. It had everything we needed and we found it clean and everything worked well. The neighborhood was wonderful, quiet and low key. Thanks so much for your help in answering all my questions about the cottage and thanks for your promtness in returning the cleaning deposit. I would definatley recommend the cottages to others who want a quiet place to stay on the water.

Connie B

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: January 4, 2007   Date of arrival: January 1, 2007

This was our third visit to the Holzman's Bayside apartment. We've been vacationing in the Keys for 10 years, but once we discovered Bayside, we knew it was the perfect place.

Once there, there's little reason to leave. You can venture out in your boat from the protected quay. You can watch beautiful sunsets, snorkel in the clear water, or just sit and enjoy the beautiful tropic vistas.

Its the perfect uninterrupted rest, in a well appointed and beautifully kept home that, for the week, becomes yours.

We recommend it.

Elaine and Brian

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: June 8, 2006   Date of arrival: June 1, 2006

We've vacationed in Islamorada for 10 years. When we discovered "Bayside" at the Holzman's, we knew it was where we wanted to be.

Islamorada has rhythm and color that are the best in the Keys, and is a perfect place to branch out from for daytrips.

The Holzman's place has calm, turquoise waters in the morning, and glorious sunsets every night out on the jetty with friendly neighbors. Its a perfect place to get away from the buzz and turmoil in wonderful accommodations.

We're hooked.

Elaine and Brian Klepper

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 18, 2005   Date of arrival: October 18, 2005

April 27, 2005 Gretchen D. sent us this comment:

Mr. and Mrs. Holtzman,

Good afternoon, we just wanted to thank you for the opportunity to stay in
your beautiful kottage last week. We had a great time and couldn't have
asked for anything more in accommodations. The boat basin was so
convenient for fishing and the property was an absolutely relaxing
environment..
We had a great time and look forward to our next trip.


If you have any questions, please feel free to call.

Thank you,

Jeff and Gretchen D.

Gretchen D.
Quality System Administrator
Product Development Technician
Boston Whaler Inc.

and then in a separate email she added:

You can also add in there that all of the
residents were very friendly and helpful. Thanks for the great experience!

-Gretchen

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: October 17, 2005   Date of arrival: October 17, 2005

Janice sent us this email today

Dave and I had such a great time at the Bayside this past summer we are already looking forward to next summer. Could you please email the availability of Bayside and the Kottage for June '06? It would be much appreciated.

Talk to you soon,
Janice M
St. Augustine, FL 32084

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 23, 2005   Date of arrival: May 1, 2005

Best location in Islamorada, Close to the reefs, Everything was near perfect. Even went fishing with the friendly neighbors.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: April 15, 2005   Date of arrival: April 1, 2005

We had a lovely and relaxing vacation. The fishing is great, the water is beautiful. Thanks!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: May 19, 2004   Date of arrival: May 1, 2004

One of our favorite places to stay in the Keys. Close to all the amenities that are important to us while we fish and explore the waters around the area. and.... at the end of the day we always enjoy the beautiful sunsets right there at the seawall with our favorite cocktail...paradise!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 12, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

We had a wonderful two weeks at the Holzman's Keys Kottage. You could catch fish from the sea wall and easily park your boat in the basin. The entire facility was neat and clean and everything functioned.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 7, 2004   Date of arrival: March 7, 2004

From Dan, of Orlando, FL..."Thanks you so much. We had a great time!"

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Guestbook Comment

Review submitted: March 1, 2004   Date of arrival: March 1, 2004

Great Vacation. Private, relaxing, great dockage and access to the water for our boat. We'll be back year after year.

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: February 27, 2004   Date of arrival: February 27, 2004

"Thank you so much for letting us vacation at...the Keys Kottage. Our stay was more than we could have hoped for. You have a wonderful treasure right outside your door. Thank you for sharing it with us."

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review