reviews for: listing #17130 - Yosemite, California House rental

The Tree House - solitude and beauty close to Yosemite!
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  yes
  • community  Midpines
  • sleeps  10
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $200 - $265 /nt
    $1,000 - $1,670 /wk

sort by:

Loved the Treehouse well worth the drive

Review submitted: June 27, 2014   Date of arrival: May 20, 2014

Okay I want to qualify my 5 stars based on some other comments. I live in a very nice house that was built in the late 1890s so you can’t make old new but it still can be very nice. The Tree house is not brand new but that does not mean it still can’t be awesome. I read some of the other reviews and I won’t hold it against the house for being lived in. We were there in May of 2014. We needed a place to finish our week at Yosemite and this worked out great. The house was a little big for my wife and I but the price was perfect compared to staying in the park. Travel time even with construction to the valley parking lot was about 50 minutes, but it’s an awesome drive. I made the drive multiple times that week and never got tired of the view. Rent a nice convertible Mustang or Camaro and embrace the drive enjoy the drive along the river and in and out of the Valley floor. I doubt your commute to work is this spectacular. You have to be inside the house to truly appreciate how nice/cool/neat it is. This would be a great place for families. Kids would love this house. Couples would love the great room with giant couch and fireplace. As mentioned by some of the other post Hot Tub was awesome. Loved the view of the stars from the tub even watched a distant thunderstorm one night. As older hikers, making the drive back to a warm hot tub is priceless. If I could talk my teenagers in to going to Yosemite the treehouse would be the perfect family escape. Great laundry room as well. We only used the Master bedroom but the bed was very comfortable. Again old tired hikers appreciate these things. My days of sleeping on rocks and sharing cold showers are hopefully over. The Treehouse is well worth the drive and of course you are paying probably half of what it cost to stay in the park and you have the place all to yourself. My wife and I were celebrating our 8th anniversary and we both agreed this was the best vacation of our lives. Our relaxing evenings at the Treehouse and sunrise breakfast on the deck played a part in that. The owner Todd was very responsive and we had no problems with anything in the house he also gave us great suggestions to help make our first trip to Yosemite a wonderful one.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Fantastic, Tranquil, and Convenient - for people and pets alike!

Review submitted: February 22, 2014   Date of arrival: February 13, 2014

We had a romantic Valentine's Day weekend at the Treehouse. First, Todd was incredibly responsive, professional, and helpful. He was even flexible with allowing us to change our arrival date at the last minute. The house is exactly as advertised. It's on a quiet piece of property right off HWY 140. It makes it easy to get to, and to get to Yosemite (35 mins door to gate), but sits back off a long driveway so you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere. Plus your dogs are safe to roam. The home is clean and comfortable. We had a romantic fire and loved the sunsets and stars from the hot tub. Kitchen met all our needs (we cooked in all except one meal) and the bed was quite comfortable. My only suggestion would be a recycle bin somewhere in he kitchen/labeled in the shed as we weren't sure where to put recyclables. We brought our 2 small dogs and they loved exploring during the day all over the property. We were careful to keep them close/leashed at night due to wildlife in the area. Mariposa is pretty close for shopping or dinners, we enjoyed it one afternoon. We spent 2 days in the park, and it was magnificent as always! Thank you Todd for everything, we would love to stay again sometime!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Owners response: Sarah-

Thanks for the kind words about the TreeHouse! I feel the same way whenever I stay there with friends or family. As far as recycling goes, the Mariposa Co. landfill separates out recyclables from the trash and our trash is picked up by dump truck. So it's easier on our cleaning staff as well as the dump truck employees to lump it all together.

Helpful votes: 0 / 1

 

A great retreat for our week stay near Yosemite!

Review submitted: August 11, 2013   Date of arrival: July 29, 2013

This was the perfect spot to come "home" to after a day of hiking or exploring in Yosemite. It's secluded and quiet. The home was roomy and had all of the amenities of a real home like plenty of dishes and cookware, a nice gas grill, a washer & dryer, and plenty of room to lounge and relax from the living area to the kitchen area, to the deck. Our only hassle were the ants that found our food, but that's not a foreseeable problem for the owners! Our favorite part was nightly soaks in the hot tub watching the stars. It is an hour's drive from the park but we liked being away from the crowds. The garden isn't growing right now and the landscape was brown and dry - very normal for this area this time of the year. We did get to watch 3 young bucks that were sitting in the yard plus a busy chipmunk and a woodpecker that woke us up every morning by 'knocking' on the house. The driveway is a little steep with some loose gravel and rocks - just something to be aware of - we didn't have any trouble getting up it but we did have to 'goose it' a little. A fun place to stay and I'd recommend it to anyone.

Recommended for: families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly

Helpful votes: 2 / 2

 

A very special place

Review submitted: July 31, 2010   Date of arrival: July 5, 2010

We were really excited at the prospect of staying at the Tree House, and we were certainly not disappointed. The house is beautiful, in an amazingly peaceful and lovely setting. It really is unique, yet really homely and very well equipped with such a friendly feel to it. The information about hikes and swimming holes is great, and we spent a very happy couple of days on the Merced, as well as visiting Yosemite. The local amenities in Midpines are just what one would need - the Pioneer market is large, and the hardware store very friendly. The only disappointment? Our teenage son and friend did not find any rattlesnakes! This did not disappoint the rest of us! We will definitely return. Thank you so much.

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with teenagers, girls getaway, pet-friendly, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 8 / 8

 

Review submitted: March 28, 2010   Date of arrival: March 28, 2010

The Tree House was a wonderful spot for our large group. The setting is as secluded and beautiful as advertised. The house was clean, modern, and comfortable. Most of the house's square footage is communal living space, so it was easy to cook and serve large meals and to spend time together as a group. The hot tub and fireplace were my group's favorite amenities. The hot tub sits about 10 yards from the house, so although one must walk up a gravel path to reach it, the reward is an uninterrupted view of the sky and surrounding foothills. The house is beautiful, so if you were to spend all of your time hanging out there and on the surrounding grounds, you would not be disappointed. With a 15 minute drive, you can reach the amazing Merced River canyon, which has numerous hiking options as you make your way toward the Yosemite entrance. Speaking of Yosemite, we visited in the late winter / early spring, which is a great time to visit the park. Snow is mostly confined to the higher elevations (above the valley floor), the waterfalls have good flow, and the crowds are non-existent. Overall, the Tree House and its setting are highly recommended!

Helpful votes: 11 / 13

 

Review submitted: August 18, 2009   Date of arrival: August 18, 2009

Fantastic place! We had a great week relaxing and enjoying the region!

Helpful votes: 4 / 6

 

Review submitted: July 26, 2009   Date of arrival: July 26, 2009

What a beautiful place to stay!! It's out in the country, close to Yosemite and has all the amenities. If you get a chance to stay there, do it!! You won't be disappointed.

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: March 5, 2009   Date of arrival: March 5, 2009

Thanks so much for sharing your beautiful, welcoming home with us. A writer by profession, I find there is truly only one thing to say -- a week is not long enough!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: August 9, 2008   Date of arrival: August 9, 2008

What a wonderful home to return to after the beauty of Yosemite! Loved the house, the artwork and the hot tub after hiking. Saw a fox, two wild turkey hens in the garden, a doe and her twins, birds, etc. Loved our visit!

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: July 26, 2008   Date of arrival: July 26, 2008

We really enjoyed the Tree House and the nice touches for small children. We loved swimming in the watering hole and eating popsicles at the general store. Your home is a wonderful place to relax and restore. Until next time...

Helpful votes: 2 / 3

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: June 28, 2005   Date of arrival: June 28, 2005

What an exquisite retreat! Wild Oak Farm was the perfect escape that my new husband and I needed. We truly enjoyed start gazing at night from the hot tub and the awesome wrap around porch! It was the perfect romantic getaway. Your home is quite a tresure! I really enjoyed walking to your garden in the mornings. Thanks so much for the wonderful Escape and Retreat.

Helpful votes: 1 / 2

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Review submitted: January 5, 2004   Date of arrival: January 5, 2004

The Tree House is filled with so much warmth, fun and love. We have so enjoyed our stay. No one wants to go home. My eight year old daughter fell asleep last night saying, "I really love this place, mommy." We all have. Thank you for sharing your home and little slice of paradise with us. These last three days have been a gift. From our family to yours, we wish you a wonderful new year.

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review