reviews for: listing #17156 - Rhinebeck, New York House rental

Private Contemporary Home on Six Acres
  • bedrooms  2
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  6
  • pets allowed  yes
  • rates (USD) $225 - $250 /nt
    $800 - $800 /wk
    $2,800 - $3,200 /mth

sort by:

Awesome Home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This was a wonderful home away from home. Our nephew was graduating in Red Hook and we wanted a place to stay that was not a hotel. Our family has special dietary needs and we needed a full kitchen while on vacation. This home had everything and more. It was charming and had all the amenities we needed. Our children loved the collection of books and games that were provided. And to top it all off, the price was great- less than it would cost for our family to stay at a hotel in Kingston for a week. We highly recommend this rental to anyone who is visiting the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Awesome Home!

Review submitted: August 8, 2012   Date of arrival: June 23, 2012

This was a wonderful home away from home. Our nephew was graduating in Red Hook and we wanted a place to stay that was not a hotel. Our family has special dietary needs and we needed a full kitchen while on vacation. This home had everything and more. It was charming and had all the amenities we needed. Our children loved the collection of books and games that were provided. And to top it all off, the price was great- less than it would cost for our family to stay at a hotel in Kingston for a week. We highly recommend this rental to anyone who is visiting the area.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

5* home base for work in the USA

Review submitted: May 15, 2012   Date of arrival: April 16, 2012

Everything we saw on the web site and all that Mark told us was there and more besides. This is a wonderfull house in the woods very well maintained, clean and tidy.
plenty of towels and bedding provided and a very well equiped Kitchen.

We worked 21 straight days at a property nearby so never got to see much of the surrounding area. But we looked forward to getting back to the house and relaxing.

Absolutly no complaints about the house or service. It was a pleasure dealing with Mark.

All thats left to say is thank you so much for letting us stay at your wonderfull house.

Thake care

Martin

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

house in the woodss

Review submitted: December 14, 2011   Date of arrival: November 22, 2011

A great place, great location, lots of privacy and a well stocked kitchen. We were 4 adults who cooked our Thanksgiving dinner there and found the place has all the comforts of home. Wild turkeys, deer, and woodpeckers added to the winter view of the mountains. We hope to return in the future.

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Amazing

Review submitted: November 19, 2011   Date of arrival: August 18, 2011

This is the second time we have rented this amazing property and we hope to do it again! My family ,all, live in Catskill,and my daughter outside of Poughkeepsie. We live in SW Fl. It has been so great to have use of this wonderful house for when our daughter graduated from Marist and again 2 years later as she got married there as well. This isn't just a "rental", it is someones home that you are staying in. The owners have provided so much extra in comfort and supplies that you feel like you are really in your "home away from home". Thanks!

Recommended for: families with teenagers, pet-friendly, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All around amazing experience

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

I would first like to start by saying that dealing with Mark was an extremely pleasurable experience. Everything was as advertised and there were no surprises or hidden fees.

With that said, the property was an amazing quiet city getaway. The house has a welcoming and cozy feel to it. It was great to get away and barbecue and sit by the fire pit at night and look at the stars. All in all, I can not say enough good things about the weekend we had!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

All around amazing experience

Review submitted: August 22, 2011   Date of arrival: July 22, 2011

I would first like to start by saying that dealing with Mark was an extremely pleasurable experience. Everything was as advertised and there were no surprises or hidden fees.

With that said, the property was an amazing quiet city getaway. The house has a welcoming and cozy feel to it. It was great to get away and barbecue and sit by the fire pit at night and look at the stars. All in all, I can not say enough good things about the weekend we had!

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

Everything we needed!

Review submitted: August 18, 2011   Date of arrival: July 9, 2011

I was attending a conference at Bard and bringing along my husband and 9-month-old to stay for the week, so we needed a place that provided a comfortable place to stay, separate rooms for us and the baby, and cooking facilities, in close proximity to the college and nearby attractions. We found the house ideally situated, but, more than that, we found the property beautiful, the house extremely well-appointed, and the owners accessible and helpful.

We loved the open plan of the main floor, and even were able to put some friends and their two kids up overnight using the pull-out and the dozens of blankets, quilts and pillows available. The BBQ and deck were wonderful for a small gathering we had for dinner one night. The bedrooms were of a good size, though sound did echo from below because of the open plan. This was only an issue when the baby was napping/sleeping and other children were visiting, in which case we shooed them outside to play on the huge lawn. Everything was clean, there were tons of staple foods in the cupboards and fridge, there was AC and wireless... if it had come pre-baby-proofed (we brought our own gear), it would have been 100% perfect! Note: the stairs to the second level (open ironwork spiral) might be difficult for some older people or small children to negotiate.

The property was a 15m drive away from Bard, and there were plenty of lovely villages and towns within a half-hour radius. You definitely need a car to get about. Dealing with Mark via email was always swift and clear. There is a large binder filled with suggestions for activities and restaurants. We did find that to get proper groceries we had to drive to one of the larger towns (e.g. Kingston), so planning ahead in that regard was important. I have recommended to my employer that if we send more people to the Bard conferences in the future, they might consider using this property as a base instead of living on-campus or in a hotel. In fact, it was less expensive for the week than staying for a comparable time at the Holiday Inn would have been, and with much greater comfort! In all ways preferable!!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with teenagers, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 0 / 0

 

less than expected

Review submitted: August 9, 2011   Date of arrival: July 29, 2011

Pros: Arranging for the rental was very easy and Mark was very flexible with our arrival and departure times. The home has a good energy and is in a pleasant setting. Great deck for morning coffee Cons: Overpriced. We arrived to find a note that the owner had a sudden septic problem he had just addressed. The septic hole in the yard was covered under a blue tarp. The bathrooms worked fine but there was a smell in the air. He never called to inform us of this issue. We still would have stayed but thought he should have called before our arrival and discounted the rental fee. The owner was aware we would be 6 people. However, he provided no linens for the sofa bed. The sofa bed was thin and our 16 yr. old son opted to just sleep on the couch instead. The home is an open floor plan. It would have been easy and considerate for the owner to purchase a room divider/screen so the folks on the sofa bed could at least have some modicum of privacy. The shower had little water pressure. The home was fairly clean but there were cobwebs behind the curtains. The grill was not cleaned and was rusty. I just think it was overpriced for what it was and had to offer.

Owners response: The house has two bedrooms, one with a queen size bed and the other with one full size and one twin size bed. There is also a queen size aero bed and a queen size sofa bed (agreeably not the most comfortable- but the aerobed is very comfortable and the couches are great options for overflow). Linens are always available for all of these sleeping options and be aware that the downstairs does have an open floor plan, so there is no sleeping privacy offered here. The price is comparable with other rentals in the area and we do not charge a cleaning fee! We do the cleaning ourselves and keep the place very clean. Just note, that it is in the country and sometimes cobwebs will appear! The septic issue has been taken care of and all is well on that end. Renters always have our phone numbers to reach us in case of any displeasure or problems (we were not called during the above mentioned rental). I didn't think it would be a problem since everything was in working order. The water pressure on the shower is not the strongest, but we have never had any complaints before.

Helpful votes: 1 / 3

 

perfect getaway!

Review submitted: January 26, 2010   Date of arrival: January 15, 2010

Our stay here could scarcely have been more perfect! We used the house as a long weekend getaway for 6 friends. Getting everything set up was super smooth and Mark was very speedy about making sure we had all the information we needed, even though we were booking only a couple weeks in advance. My deposit check was returned very quickly as well.

When we arrived, there was lots of snow on the ground, making everything look picturesque. The driveway and walkway had both been well maintained so we had no problem parking our 2 cars or carrying our things to the front door.

The house was plenty spacious enough for all of us to sleep comfortably and there were plenty of blankets and towels. The kitchen was well stocked with lots of supplies (one of us is a chef and he only needed to bring a couple very specialized things, the house had everything else) and spices, etc. There was plenty of easily accessible firewood for us to use as well.

You definitely need a car for this property. From NYC, we took the commuter rail to Poughkeepsie, rented a car there, and then drove up. That worked perfectly, and then one person who was arriving later took Amtrak to Rhinebeck and we picked her up there. We did some hiking in the area (the maps in the house were very helpful!), but didn't try any local restaurants or other activities.

I would recommend this property to anyone without hesitation! Overall, it was very well maintained, and just lovely.

Recommended for: families with young children, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 11 / 11

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review