reviews for: listing #17215 - Acadia, Maine House rental

Alamoosook Lake-Upscale Waterfront Home With Fabulous View
  • bedrooms  3
  • pool  no
  • type  House
  • baths  2
  • hot tub  no
  • community 
  • sleeps  12
  • pets allowed  no
  • rates (USD) $1,250 - $1,950 /wk

sort by:

Something for everyone!

Review submitted: July 15, 2011   Date of arrival: June 18, 2011

This beautiful home is perfectly located for anyone who is looking for the best of what Maine has to offer. Not only is it well maintained, spotless and complete with "all the comforts of home", it is situated on one of Maine's most beautiful lakes. If you like swimming, hiking, paddling (canoe or kayak), or just sitting with a cup of coffee listening to the birds, you could not choose better accomodations.
Wildlife abounds in this pristine setting. Not only were we lucky enough to have a visit from a bald eagle, we were serenaded each evening by several loons.
Our favorite place to visit in Maine is Acadia National Park. There is so much to do on Mount Desert Island, and it's just 40 minutes away from this wonderful home...well, it's 40 minutes if you don't stop at some of the antique shops along the way.
Of course, no visit to Maine would be complete with out fresh lobster. For that we made a visit to Carrier's Lobster Pound. (Yum!) Not only were the lobsters delicious, the owner and his family were awesome!
If you're like us and you can't take the Maine winter, enjoy a Maine summer!
Thanks, Pam and Brian, for sharing your beautiful home with our family!

Recommended for: adventure seekers, age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, girls getaway, sight seeing, romantic getaway

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Even a Native Mainer ranks this place #1

Review submitted: October 20, 2010   Date of arrival: July 4, 2010

I grew up in Maine and I have now lived in Colorado for 20 years. My family and I rented this cabin in July 2009 and had the best Maine vacation we could have imagined. The location on Alamoosook Lake (the lake I grew up on) is a picture perfect setting with great swimming, great views, and lots of enjoyment fireside each evening. The accomodations are excellent, plenty of comfortable beds, a nice deck overlooking the lake, fun times on the kayaks and the canoe, and a large area to visit around the campfire. The full kitchen and multiple bathrooms are also excellent. The proximity to Bucksport, Bar Harbor (Acadia National Park), and other "down-east" fun is unparalleled, and the camp is not very far off the main road of Route 1. This is THE PLACE to rent if you are considering touring the area, while at the same time looking for some excellent "down time" for relaxation and quiet. The loon calls in the evening are as soothing as the tiny ripples of water lapping up against the waterfront each night. The owners keep this place in great condition and are easy to work with. Take it from a native Mainah' - you will enjoy this property for a great Maine getaway!

Recommended for: age 55+, families with young children, families with teenagers, sight seeing

Helpful votes: 6 / 6

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Sitting by the Campfire

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: August 30, 2008

Thank you for making your lakehouse available for visitors. We needed the calm, peace and solitude that the lake and the loons gave to us. We spent several days exploring the lake, fishing, listening to the beautiful call of the loons and sitting by the campfire each night. We biked the Schoodic Peninsula and the Acadia carriage trails from the visitor's center to Jordon Pond House for popovers! We climbed the Precipice Trail to the summit of Champlain Mountain and made it! We sailed on the Margaret Todd on the most beautiful clear day- it was awesome.

Staying at the lake house was perfect and allowed us to do things at our own pace. It was very relaxing and gave us time to reflect on everything. It is so hard to leave, but the wonderful memories we made this week will be with us forever.

Again, thank you.
Kathy, Peter and Zachary
Norfolk, MA

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Quite and Peaceful

Review submitted: April 19, 2010   Date of arrival: July 19, 2008

We had a wonderful time in your cottage. We enjoyed the peaceful lake, the canoe and 2 kayaks. The spacious cottage was perfect for our families (8 total).

Thanks for the tips on what to do in the area.
-Fort Knox's visit was well worth it,
-The tour to the observatory of the Penobscot Bridge, whow!
-Cadillac mountain in Acadia Park,
-Walking Bar Harbor's shops and stores,
Most of all, again, we enjoyed the quite and peaceful lake.

Thank you for everything,
Louise

Helpful votes: 4 / 4

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Beyond Expectations

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: August 29, 2009

The location/setting is beyond expectations-so calming and beautiful. We enjoyed some special trips out on the lake and it has been a great base for visiting Acadia. It's a shame that we have to leave now-we have just settled into the Maine relaxed pace and could happily spend another week or two. Linda

Yes, a fantastic setting and we've enjoyed lots of swimming, kayaking and canoeing from here. Especially enjoyed sailing, kayacking, whale watching and bicycling in Bar Harbor. Lobster dinner at Dennetts Wharf. Castine was unexpectedly excellent and a trip there is highly recommended. Ashley

I especially enjoyed the misty morniings, eating breakfast on the terrace. Grace

Linda, Ashley, Grace, Sussex UK

Helpful votes: 5 / 5

 
Guest Comment entered by owner

Wind Down

Review submitted: March 16, 2010   Date of arrival: June 13, 2009

We really enjoyed this beautiful home of yours, thank you. We used it as a "wind down" place with a chance to visit Acadia and other attractions. The boats and lake kept us here half of the time!
Your home was clean and contained everything a guest would need.We will recommend this to our friends.

Tom and Kay, Bayport NY
Deb and Sierra, Georgia VT

Helpful votes: 3 / 3

 

Reviews are the subjective opinions of VacationRentals.com travelers and not of VacationRentals.com, Inc.

  vacation rental details         write a review